Norton L. Narregan, April 25, 1912 Medford Mail Tribune
Finley Dixon is our new principal. He is lately from Washington Territory and comes well recommende
d."Medford Doings," Valley Record, Ashland, January 10, 1889, page 3
Now is the time to come to some definite arrangements about that fine brick school house. What say you, progressive citizens of Medford? More room will be needed next year and we cannot afford to spend any more money on the old building. Let us have a brick, and that this year.
J. N. Hockersmith, clerk of school district No. 10, informs your reporter that as soon as the money has been collected and land secured either by lease or purchase, work will be commenced on their new school house. The district has no title for the land where the old school house stands, and it is well to secure and get a title to a small piece of land before putting in several hundred dollars in a building. Miss Emma Coleman is now teaching a good school in the old school house.
"Medford Doings," Valley Record, Ashland, May 9, 1889, page 3
The school meeting, which was announced to be held on the 15th inst., for the purpose of passing on the question of building a large, new school house, came to naught, as there was some defect in the notices which had been posted. Owing to the stringent times, it is doubtful whether the people will vote in favor of the large tax which would be necessary.
"Medford Squibs," Democratic Times, Jacksonville, July 18, 1890, page 3
The impression that the Medford school directors expel young gentlemen who dance with Central Point maidens is entirely erroneous. The case in point, where three youths were excluded from the Medford school for nine days for dancing with a girl at the other town, was owing to the fact that the young miss was smitten--with scarlet fever--the day after the dance whereat the young gentlemen exposed themselves. The able-bodied citizens of Medford or any other town in the valley would be only too glad to expose themselves in a similar fashion, for the Central Point maidens rank high in the scale of grace and beauty, but consideration for the welfare of the little folks dictated the action of the school directors at Medford.
"Here and There," Democratic Times, Jacksonville, December 12, 1890, page 3
N. A. Jacobs will continue as teacher in the second department of our public schools for the remainder of the year. Miss Coleman, on account of ill health, was compelled to give the school up.
"Medford Doings," Valley Record, Ashland, March 5, 1891, page 3
The breaking of a scaffold at the new school house one day last week precipitated three painters and the contents of the paint pots to the ground, a distance of more than twenty feet, but fortunately without injuring anyone seriously.
It is proposed to publish a school paper by the pupils of the public schools during the coming scholastic year, and as there is much talent in that line displayed among the growing generation here and it is a useful branch of training, the scheme is highly commendable.
"Medford Squibs," Democratic Times, Jacksonville, October 2, 1891, page 2
Medford's New Schoolhouse Dedicated.
MEDFORD, Or., Dec. 4.--The fine new $10,000 schoolhouse was dedicated at 2 o'clock with appropriate exercises. A large crowd was present, which completely filled the large assembly hall. The school, under the supervision of Professor N. L. Narregan, is one of the best in Southern Oregon, and the erection of the structure dedicated today will prove the best investment Medford ever made.
Oregonian, Portland, December 5, 1891, page 3
The public school opened Monday in the $15,000 school house with Prof. Narregan principal, N. A. Jacobs vice-principal. the two Misses Griffith [and] the two Misses Sackett as teachers. Prof. Rigby's business college opened with about 30 pupils.
"Medford Items," Valley Record, Ashland, September 8, 1892, page 3
MEDFORD PUBLIC SCHOOLS.
N. L. NARREGAN, PRINCIPAL.
Report for month ending Oct. 28, 1892:
First grade--Miss E. J. McGuire, teacher; number enrolled 46, daily attendance 3d [sic--36?], tardiness 3.
Second grade--Miss Lila Sackett, teacher; number enrolled 46, daily attendance 3g [sic--38?], no tardiness.
Third grade--Myrtle Nicholson, teacher; number enrolled 37, daily attendance 31, tardiness 2.
Fourth grade--M. E. Griffiths, teacher; number enrolled 46, daily attendance 38, tardy 1.
Fifth and sixth grades--Carrie Sackett, teacher; number enrolled 60, daily attendance 54, no tardiness.
Seventh and eighth grades and high school--number enrolled 88, daily attendance 77, tardiness 3.
Total enrollment 323, daily attendance 275, days taught 19, cases of corporal punishment one.
The monthly examinations closed Friday night. More hard work was done and a greater interest manifested in results than any previous examination in the history of the school.
The Holt sisters are quite ill.
Miss Cordelia Keizur is a member of the high school and preparing for the teachers' work.
The boys of the school have organized an athletic club with boxing gloves, sandbags, etc. They are soliciting funds to build a school gymnasium.
Southern Oregon Mail, November 4, 1892, page 3
The public school at Medford celebrated Washington's birthday in a most appropriate manner last Tuesday afternoon. There were recitations and songs by the students and an open air concert by the school band. There was quite a concourse of town and country people present, and all were very much pleased with the entertainment.
"Medford Squibs," Democratic Times, Jacksonville, March 3, 1893, page 3
The public exhibition of the work of our district schools won many encomiums from visitors, and our people are agreed that school matters here are under most efficient management.
"Medford Squibs," Democratic Times, Jacksonville, March 24, 1893, page 2
There are five school marms living on adjoining farms in the vicinity of Roxy Ann.
"Here and There," Democratic Times, Jacksonville, March 24, 1893, page 3
The teachers' institute set for the closing days of the last week in April, to be held in Medford, is attracting its due share of attention from the hands of our citizens, who are always glad to welcome the school teachers--especially the female portion--with open arms.
"Medford Squibs," Democratic Times, Jacksonville, March 31, 1893, page 2
A District Institute.
MEDFORD, Or., May 4.--The district institute met here with over 100 teachers in attendance. State Superintendent E. B. McElroy is present and is assisting Superintendent C. S. Price in conducting the institute. Much enthusiasm is manifested, and the institute will no doubt be the best one ever held in the district. Miss Elva Galloway, of this city, read a most interesting paper on "Moral Elements in Teaching." Professor N. L. Narregan, of the Medford public schools, presented the subject of "Music in the Public Schools" in a good, practical talk. An interesting program at the opera house last evening drew a large audience. A lecture was delivered by Professor T. A. Hayes, of the Ashland public schools.
Evening Capital Journal, Salem, May 5, 1893, page 1
The late public school entertainments were among the most satisfactory ever held in Medford, and all trust that they will be repeated at the close of school.
"Medford Squibs," Democratic Times, Jacksonville, May 12, 1893, page 2
Report of Medford Public Schools
School report for the school year ending May 19, 1893.--Total enrollment 437; average attendance 306; number days taught 173, cases corporal punishment by principal 4; number of suspensions or expulsions, none; number of visitors 200.
Class leaders, Fourth Grade B class--Francis Davis 98; Mary Hanson 97; Gertie Beaver --.
A Class, Fourth Grade--Fannie Hall 96; Frank Crouch 95; Alex. Anderson 93.
Grammar Grade, A Class--The names of all this class deserve honorable mention for the percentage won, Grace B. Davis leading with 100 percent.
The following named pupils, together with their general average percent on the final examination of the 7th grade, N. A. Jacobs, teacher, were promoted, and which required an average of 75 percent to pass:
B Class, 7th Grade to A Class, 8th Grade--Helen Holtan, 100 percent; Katie Fries, 98; Lula Newton, 97; Jessie Wait, 96; Herbert Crouch, 95½; John Gainey, 91½; Alfred Walter, 93½; Brace Skeel, 93; Ida Weaver, 92; Iva Purdin, 91½; Della Surran, 91; Charles Higinbotham, 89½; Alvin Squires, 89½; Archie Fries, 89; William Isaacs, 88; Emma Engledow, 82½; May Phipps, 76½.
A Class, 7th Grade to B Class, 7th Grade--Prudie Angle, 100 percent; Ollena Holtan, 100; Abe Bish, 98½; Gracie Odgers, 98½; Oley Oviatt, 98; Edgar Van Dyke, 97½; Virgie Parsons, 96¾; Cora Bates, 96; William Griffis, 95½; John Johnson, 95; Frank Tryer, 94¾; Archie Sargent, 94¾; Scott Davis, 91½ ; Bert Brown, 91½; Eva Bunch, 90¾; Charles Culp, 88½; John Plymale, 83½.
In the A Class four prizes were offered. Prudie Angle was awarded the first prize, having stood 100 percent in all her studies--written arithmetic, geography, mental arithmetic, and language--and her papers being the neatest and best. Ollena Holtan the arithmetic written and mental prize, 100 percent in each. Gracie Odgers the language prize, 100 percent, which requires seven pages of legal cap to write out the examination. Virgie Parsons the geography prize, 100 percent, which included a map of the southern and southwestern states to be drawn from memory.
Helen Holtan received the prize in the B Class for excellence in scholarship, having attained 100 percent in all her studies--physiology, history, geography, language, written and mental arithmetic.
Medford Mail, June 2, 1893, page 2
The commencement exercises of the Medford high school were all that was promised and reflected credit alike on the pupils and teachers.
"Medford Squibs," Democratic Times, Jacksonville, June 2, 1893, page 2
The school directors did well in re-engaging the services of Profs. Narregan and Jacobs. They are first-class teachers and labor hard for the success of our school.
"Medford Squibs," Democratic Times, Jacksonville, July 14, 1893, page 3
The Tax Levy.The total levy for state, county and school taxes for this year is $90,312.08; for towns and cities, $12,463.07; school districts, $13,388.76; total $116,163.91. Ashland, Jacksonville and Medford have each made a municipal tax levy of 10 mills. The following school districts have levied taxes: No. 1, Jacksonville, 5 mills; No. 5, Ashland, 7 mills; No. 6, Central Point, 5 mills; No. 28, Steinman, 3 mills; No. 49, Medford, 10 mills; No. 70, 5 mills; No. 73, Boulevard, 8 mills.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, February 8, 1894, page 3
The Jacksonville-Medford public school union picnic May 5th will be allowed round trip tickets on the railroad for 10 cents.
"Medford Items," Valley Record, Ashland, April 26, 1894, page 3
The school board has chosen the teachers for next year's term of school in the Medford public schools. Prof. N. L. Narregan for principal, Miss Elva Galloway, assistant principal; Miss Della Pickel, sixth grade; Miss M. A. Crouch, fifth grade; Miss Bursell, fourth grade; Miss Minnie Worman, third grade; Miss Viola Brandon, second grade, and Miss Minnie Coleman, primary and kindergarten. Three of the above named teachers are new to the schools this year. Miss Galloway is a daughter of our much respected townsman, Frank Galloway; Miss Crouch is a daughter of another of our worthy townsmen, B. F. Crouch, and has been engaged in teaching in Klamath County for some time. Miss Brandon is a Salem lady. The board feel that they have made a very good selection and that the schools in their hands will not lose any of their heretofore redeeming features as model places of education and culture. It will be noticed that seven teachers are engaged for this year instead of six, the number engaged last year. The growth in our school population made the addition compulsory. The rooms were all full last year, but to accommodate all who attend this year another school room is to be fitted up in a part of the building basement. Clerk Jones is now at work arranging all details for the commencement of school, about the first or middle of September. One feature in connection with the continued success of our schools is that nearly all teachers employed hold state certificates, or have paper entitling them to such certificates.
"News of the City," Medford Mail, July 6, 1894, page 3
A Stranger: "Your school building is too crowded. You ought to have at least one more building, and two more wouldn't be any too many."
"News of the City," Medford Mail, October 19, 1894, page 3
The measles are still making lively times among the kid fraternity of Medford. The public school keeps open, however.
"Medford Items," Valley Record, Ashland, November 1, 1894, page 3
The Medford public school observed Arbor Day with appropriate exercises.
"Medford Items," Valley Record, Ashland, April 18, 1895, page 3
The Medford school board has elected the following teachers for the ensuing year: Principal, N. L. Narregan; vice-principal, Miss Elva Galloway; assistants, Misses M. M. Coleman, R. L. Warner, Viola Brandon, Ellen Bursell, Bessie Wait, Adele Pickel and C. Grace Foster.
"Medford Items," Valley Record, Ashland, June 6, 1895, page 3
In the election of teachers for the state university at Eugene Prof. N. L. Narregan, for many years principal of the Medford public school, was chosen dean of the preparatory department; Prof. Letcher of Corvallis state agricultural college, professor of mathematics; Prof. Washbourne of same place, professor of biology; Prof. Young of Albany college, political economy; Prof. Friedel of Leipzig, physics; Profs. Bailey and Collier, professors emeriti.
"Medford Items," Valley Record, Ashland, July 25, 1895, page 3
Medford is to hold a school meeting Aug. 31st to vote on the subject of a new school house and the bonding of the district for the same.
"Medford Items," Valley Record, Ashland, August 22, 1895, page 3
Medford's Incendiary Fiend.Medford's public school house and its furnishings were burned to the ground just after midnight on Sunday night. The building was erected about five years ago by Geo. Catchings, a Riddle contractor. The origin of the fire is believed by all to have been incendiary and the work of a fiend who burned several barns last year and made two unsuccessful attempts to set the school house on fire. Much uneasiness and indignation is felt at Medford at the presence of such an unwelcome reprobate in their community. The Monitor gives the following account of the affair:
The fire was discovered shortly before 1 o'clock Monday morning. G. L. Schermerhorn was returning to town and drove in from the west. When within a block or two of the school house he noticed a light in the rear but drove past the front to ascertain the cause. Not a glimmer was visible from that point so he returned and passed down the side street and when just past the building be saw flames climbing the posts of the rear porch. Whipping his horse into a run he was soon at the hose house ringing the alarm. Enough fire boys were soon on hand to attach the hose cart to his buggy and the horse was started back to the fire on a run. Within eight minutes from the time the fire was first noticed the hose was attached to the hydrant and the water turned on. But, oh, what a disappointment to the fire laddies, there was no pressure. Only 12 feet of water in the tank and no steam to pump with. A bold break was made for the building, however, but the heat prevented their approach.
By this time the flames had broken through from the rear porch to the lower hallway and then spread like a flash to the upper hallway and front. In a moment the middle of the structure was all on fire and the pine and fir material finished in hard oil made a fierce heat. Seeing a stream could not be made to reach the fire without pressure the firemen turned their attention to saving the M.E. church, south, across the street. The hose was divided and two nozzles used, but the water scarcely reached the eaves. The roof was smoking several times and had five minutes more elapsed before the engines began pumping all efforts to save the church would have been futile. As it was, the building was badly scorched outside and some damage done the interior.
The school house burned furiously and in less than three-quarters of an hour nothing was standing above the walls. Hundreds of people were attracted to the scene and watched the progress of the fire with mingled feelings of regret and anxiety. Anxious lest the spirit which prompted some archfiend to perpetrate the dastardly act of firing the cherished property of all the people of Medford, might continue the depredations until our little city would be considered an unsafe home.
When the first parties reached the scene the fire could have been controlled easily had water been available. There was a box room about 10x12 feet, 10 feet high under the rear porch which was easily accessible from either side of the steps, there being no doors except the one from the room into the basement, which was locked. The most plausible theory is that the incendiary passed under the steps to this room where with the proper arrangement of combustible material fire would burn unnoticed until it broke through the porch above and allow one ample time for escape. The building was constructed with two main parts, with the hallways on the upper and lower floors between and the observatory and cupola over the middle. When the fire broke from the rear porch into the building it extended to the front and all over the middle portion upstairs as well as below almost like a flash.
Joe Frizell of Ashland was one of the first to see the fire. He was coming down the side street near the church when he noticed the light and started running to give the alarm. While making inquiry at the hotel for the location of the fire bell Schermerhorn passed him. He started back with the fire boys, and fell near the depot from exhaustion, the wheel of the hose carriage striking the calf of his leg below the knee, badly bruising the muscle. He is about on crutches.
Medford was all excitement again the next night, about 3 o'clock Tuesday morning, when the barn on Geo. Justus' residence, a few blocks from the burned school house, was all ablaze and was nearly burned to the ground when put out by the fire department with a full head of water. The loss was $300, covered by $200 insurance. The same incendiary is suspected.
Valley Record, Ashland, August 22, 1895, page 3
The special meeting of the taxpayers of Medford School District, Saturday afternoon, to consider the matter of constructing a new school building to take the place of the one recently destroyed by fire, was unanimous for a new building at once, and the directors were instructed to go ahead on a new brick building according to plans submitted by W. J. Bennet, the architect. the directors were authorized to borrow $7500, which with the $7000 received from insurance on the burned structure, it is thought will build and furnish the new school house, the cost of the building being estimated at $12,000. Architect Bennet's plans provide for a building 65 feet front by 85 feet deep, with an L 45x35 feet, two stories high, with ten rooms. The practical unanimity with which the proposition for undertaking to build such a creditable structure was received speaks volumes for Medford's interest in the public schools.
Ashland Tidings, September 5, 1895, page 2
As stated in The Mail last week Medford is going to have a new school building, and it is going to be a good one, too. One has only to glance over the plans and specifications which have been prepared by Architect Bennet, and which have been accepted by the school board, to convince himself that Medford is going to have as good a school building as can be found in any district in the Pacific coast states, outside, perhaps, of some of the larger cities.
By the kindness of Mr. Bennet a Mail representative was shown the plans and the details of the new building, and each and every particular explained.
The foundation of the building will be of stone and laid on the bed-rock. It will be two and one-half feet from the ground to the first floor. The building walls will be of brick and each story will be fourteen feet in the clear.
The division between the principal's room and that of his assistant will be a "rolling partition." It will be so arranged that it can be easily rolled up or down. Should the principal wish to leave the room he has only to roll up this partition and the two rooms are thrown into one and can be under the direction of the vice-principal during his absence.
Washington School, Medford--site of today's Jackson County Courthouse.
The principal's room will be to the northwest corner of the building, and near his desk will be a speaking tube running to the teacher's closet in each of the other rooms, supplied with proper signaling appliances. This brings the principal within speaking distance with all the teachers and is a great convenience to all.
On the north side and near the east end of the building will be located a tower sixty feet in height. In this tower is the main entrance, which will be eleven and a half feet in width. This entrance opens into a hall with stairs eight feet in width, leading to the upper floor. There will also be an entrance at the north-west corner, with stairs six feet wide leading to the second floor. In each flight of stairs there will be a landing half way up. This will prevent a jam in case of a rush down the stairs. The halls on the upper floor are narrower than the stairs—this also to do away with a jam in case of a rush.
All in all Medford will have a school building of which she can justly feel proud. It will be a structure unequaled by any in architectural design and modern conveniences. Mr. Bennet will have personal supervision of the work and it will be the aim of the directors and all who have the work in charge to see that it is done in a first-class manner and nothing but first-class material used.
"A Good, Grand Structure," Medford Mail, September 13, 1895, page 1
Butler, Barrett & Stewart of this city were the lowest bidders and were awarded the contract for the erection of the new school house, have given the bonds and commenced work. The district has also purchased 260 desks and other furniture at an expense of $1900.
"Medford Items," Valley Record, Ashland, September 26, 1895, page 3
OREGONMedford will erect schoolhouse. Write Arch. W. J. Bennet.
"School Building Notes," The School Journal, October 5, 1895, page 299
Duties of Pupils.
The following rules relating to duties of pupils attending the public schools of Medford have been passed by the school board.
They will commend themselves to the good judgment of the patrons of the school, and to every pupil who desires to make the most of his time and opportunities while in school.
The issuing of these rules does not indicate that our school children are in special need of them, but that Medford is growing so fast that it is better to anticipate contingencies than to wait until necessity urges action. The good do not object to wholesome laws; others, who are wise, acquiesce. Patrons may care to keep this paper for future reference.
1. Due attention shall be given to personal neatness and cleanliness. Any pupil failing in these respects may be sent home to be prepared for school. Any pupil infected with any contagious disease shall not be allowed to remain in school.
2. Willful disobedience, habitual truancy, vulgarity or profanity, stealing or carrying deadly weapons, or violating the criminal or civil laws of the state or city, the use of intoxicating drinks or of tobacco in any form or of smoking any substance whatever on or about the school premises or on the way to or from school will subject the offender to suspension or expulsion.
3. Pupils who shall mark, cut or write upon any property used for school purposes or in any other way deface or injure it shall pay for the damage and be liable to punishment, suspension or expulsion.
4. No pupil shall be allowed to be absent from school during regular sessions for the purpose of receiving any kind of instruction.
5. No books, papers or other literature of any sort can be allowed in the school rooms unless directly connected with school work.
6. Pupils must not enter other school rooms than their own unless granted permission by the principal.
7. Pupils may be temporarily suspended from class exercises by the teacher, who shall immediately report with reason to the principal.
8. Pupils detained from school must bring a written excuse from their parents on their return.
Medford Mail, October 18, 1895, page 4
The design, plans and specifications for this fine building [Washington School] are the product of Architect W. J. Bennet, of this city, and to him is due, and is given, credit for the splendidly arranged and commodious new building. No person is there who visits the building and well inspects it in detail but that will speak words of compliment for the architect and superintendent.
excerpt, Medford Mail, March 6, 1896, page 1
Washington School, on the current site of the Jackson County Courthouse.
Medford Mail, March 6, 1896
The Medford school board has engaged teachers for the ensuing year, and fixed salaries as follows: Professor Gregory, principal, $100 per month; Miss Elva Galloway, vice-principal, $50 per month; Miss Minnie Coleman, primary, $25; Miss Elsie Roof, assistant primary, $25. All the other teachers, except Miss Grace Foster, who resigned, were retained at a salary of $20, namely, Misses Bessie Wait, Mary Davidson, Adella Pickel, Ellen Bursell, Robin Warner and Mrs. Mary Peter.
"Oregon Notes," Oregonian, Portland, June 10, 1897, page 3
The Medford schools opened Monday with the following corps of teachers: North primary, C. Grace Foster; south primary, Emma Reed; second grade, May Phipps; third grade, Jessie G. Wait; fourth grade, Fannie Haskins; fifth grade, Grace Amann; sixth grade, Julia Fielder; eighth and high school, Miss Gertrude Sutton, Latin and mathematics; N. L. Narregan, German, English literature, history, civil government, penmanship and drawing.
"Medford Squibs," Democratic Times, Jacksonville, September 28, 1899, page 2
School Clerk Garl T. Jones has completed his work of taking the school census of this district. The total number of children of school age is 714; of this number there are 361 boys and 353 girls. Last year the census showed 673, the increase this year over last therefore being 43.
"Additional Local," Medford Mail, March 16, 1900, page 2
The school trustees for this district met last Monday night and elected the following teachers for the ensuing year: Prof. N. L. Narregan, Misses Gertrude Sutton, May Phipps, Elsie Wiley, Lizzie Ferguson, Emma Reed, Minnie Hockenyos, Mabel Jones. No selection has yet been made for the first primary grade, the selection being left open until later in the season. All the old teachers who applied for positions were reelected. Misses Grace Foster, Fannie Haskins and Julia Fielder did not make applications.
Medford Mail, April 19, 1901, page 2
There are but four students in the high school graduating class this year, and these are all boys. They are Leon Haskins, Ward Webber, Eugene Rhinehart and Roy Mickey.
"Additional Local," Medford Mail, May 10, 1901, page 6
SCHOOL CLOSED LAST FRIDAY.
A Most Successful School Year Terminated with a Splendid Entertainment--
All Participants Acquitted Themselves Admirably.
With the entertainment on the evening of June 6th, and the commencement exercises on the evening of June 7th, another very successful school year was closed in Medford. On the first-named date the "Kingdom of Mother Goose" was presented by the school children in a very entertaining manner. The opera house was taxed to its full capacity to accommodate the large audience assembled. The stage was beautifully decorated with a wealth of roses and evergreens, and the fifty or more little girls and boys arrayed in costumes appropriate for the parts assumed by them made a very interesting picture. They performed their work in a very credible manner, reflecting much credit upon themselves, and also upon those who drilled them for the occasion. It would be a difficult task to undertake to say which one of the participants excelled. The little girls, dressed so becomingly as fairies, were very pretty, and many were the compliments bestowed upon them as they carried through their parts, some of which were difficult, with an ease and composure which would have done credit to those more experienced in such work. The comic characters seemed to vie with each other as to which could create the most merriment, and that they all succeeded admirably was evidenced by the applause with which each was greeted in his turn. Jack Sprat and wife apparently were oblivious to the fact that they were only acting their part; the wise man did his turn to perfection; Tom, the piper's son, could not have been far excelled by the original Thomas; the man who jumped into the bramble bush, Jack and Jill and the little Brownies all did their part toward making the entertainment the grand success that it was, while Mother Goose presided over all just as she has been depicted in the fairy stories for ages and ages. The commencement exercises Friday evening were also very interesting. Leon B. Haskins, R. J. Mickey, D. P. Webber and Eugene J. Rhinehart were the members of the graduating class. After the rendition of the program they were awarded high school diplomas, the presentation being made by D. T. Lawton, president of the school board. The high school orchestra furnished excellent music for each evening, and are deserving of much praise for the efficiency which they have attained as musicians. The net proceeds from the sale of seats was about $80.
The principal and his assistants, together with the friends and patrons of the school, worked hard to make the entertainment a success, and all should feel amply rewarded for their work from the many hearty words of commendation heard on every hand.
Taken all together, the past year has been one of the most pleasant, interesting and successful in the history of the school. The greatest harmony has prevailed between the teachers, school board and patrons, excellent work has been accomplished and the high school course has progressed very satisfactorily. During the past few years a large and well-selected library has been provided for the school, the greater part of which has been purchased by the pupils with the funds received from their entertainments.
Medford Mail, June 14, 1901, page 2
The Medford high school will open on September 16th. The teachers for the coming year are N. L. Narregan, principal; Gertrude Sutton, assistant principal; Emma Reed, south primary; Gertrude A. Wilson, north primary. Teachers in the intermediate grades are Misses May Phipps, Grace Amann, Lizzie Ferguson, Mabel Jones, Minnie Hockenjos and Jessie Wait.
"City Happenings," Medford Mail, August 23, 1901, page 7
The public schools will open Monday, September 16, 1901.
The teachers are: Gertrude Wilson, north primary; Emma Reed, south primary; Mabel Jones, 2nd grade; J. G. Wait, 3rd grade; Minnie Hockenyos, 4th grade; M. Grace Amann, 5th grade; Lizzie Ferguson, 6th grade; L. May Phipps, 7th grade; E. Gertrude Sutton, 8th grade and high school; N. L. Narregan, high school.
All primary pupils must enter at the beginning of each term.
Monday will be given to the exchange of textbooks. Bring your old books to school and there you will receive instructions as to the books you will need and the price of exchange.
All new students and those who may wish examinations of subjects in which they failed last May will be examined on Monday.
Medford Mail, September 13, 1901, page 2
The Medford Schools.
This being the last week of the term it has been a very busy one for the teachers in the Medford schools, for with grading examination papers, making up term reports and assisting the pupils in their rehearsals for the entertainment and commencement evenings, they have had every minute of their time fully occupied and they will appreciate the rest and change that their vacation will bring them. Already the teachers are planning for their vacations, and next week will find several of them bidding adieu to Medford for the present at least. Prof. Narregan will go prospecting on the Applegate for a hearty appetite, renewed strength and incidentally for a paying gold mine, if such should be his good fortune. Miss Gertrude Sutton will spend a short time at her home in Ashland, after which she will leave for Portland and Knappa, on the lower Columbia, where she will visit friends and enjoy the bracing air of ocean beaches at the mouth of the Columbia River. On her way home she will come by way of the West Side Road through the Willamette Valley, stopping off at some of the towns for a brief visit with friends. Miss Emma Reed will begin next week a term of school near Prospect. Miss Minnie Hockenyos will enjoy a quiet rest at home, after which she may go to Portland or to the mountains. Miss Lizzie Ferguson stated that the chances were good that she would spend her vacation in the quietness of her home in East Medford. Miss May Phipps will remain at her home for some time, after which she may take a trip to the mountains. Miss Grace Amann will enjoy her vacation at home, as will also Miss Mabel Jones, and Miss Gertrude Wilson spend the greater part of their vacation at home, with a possibility of a trip to Crater Lake or to the mountains somewhere later in the summer. Miss Lutie Ulrich will return to her home in Alton, Ill., and will not come back to Medford unless she can induce her parents to come too. In the year that she has been in Medford she has become greatly pleased with our little city and thinks the Southern Oregon climate almost perfect. Of the Medford schools Miss Ulrich stated that when she came here she expected to find our schools somewhat behind the times as compared with eastern schools, but to the contrary she found it both in its appointments, and in the thoroughness and high grade of work carried on, the equal of the best city schools in Illinois and the other states whose schools are considered models.
Medford Mail, June 6, 1902, page 6
The Medford school band has been engaged to play on the Fourth at Grants Pass. The band numbers twenty-one boys, ranging in age from ten years to sixteen years, and in their jaunty new uniforms of dark green, trimmed in silver, and naval caps, they present a decidedly handsome appearance. The boys for the past month have been practicing each evening, and they now can handle quite a number of high-grade selections, which they render in excellent time and with a snap and spirit that would be a credit to a band of mature experience.
"City Happenings," Medford Mail, July 4, 1902, page 7
List of School Books.
List of books required in the Central Point Public School:
Chart Class--Slate and pencil.
First year--Primer, slate and pencil, writing No. 1, drawing No. 1.
Second year--First reader, slate and pencil, drawing No. 2, writing No. 2.
Third year--Writing No. 3, second reader, elementary arithmetic, introductory language, drawing No. 3, tablet and pencil.
Fourth year--Elementary geography, elementary arithmetic, third reader, writing No. 4, drawing No. 4, physiology "Primer of Health," introductory language, speller, tablet and pencil.
Fifth year--Fourth reader, elementary geography, practical arithmetic, writing No. 4, drawing No. 4, introductory language, physiology, "A Healthy Body," speller, mental arithmetic.
Sixth year--Fourth reader, advanced geography, writing No. 5, drawing No. 5, graded lessons in English, physiology, "A Healthy Body," elementary history, speller, mental arithmetic, practical arithmetic.
Seventh year--Fifth reader, geography, practical arithmetic, writing No. 7, history (U.S.), speller, mental arithmetic, "Graded Lessons in English," drawing No. 5, fifth reader.
Eighth year--History, civil government, "American Citizen, practical arithmetic, grammar, "Higher Lessons," mental arithmetic, speller, writing No. 8, drawing No. 5.
I will be at the public school building during the forenoons of Sept. 11 and 12 for the purpose of examining and classifying new pupils. School opens Sept. 15th. High school textbooks to be announced at opening.
At a meeting of the school board Sept. 2nd, they ordered a globe for the school, also ten copies, per week, of "The Little Chronicle," to be used in the study of current events.
A. J. HANBY, Principal.
Medford Mail, September 5, 1902, page 2
School will commence in Medford next Monday. Last week in these columns was published a list of the textbooks required in the Central Point schools. This list of books is applicable to all graded schools of the state.
"Additional Local," Medford Mail, September 12, 1902, page 6
The Medford High School opened Monday with a good attendance, 400 pupils being enrolled. The assignment of teachers is as follows: Prof. N. L. Narregan, principal; Gertrude Sutton, vice-principal; May Phipps, 7th grade; Mae Earhart, 6th; Minnie Hockenyos, 5th; Lizzie Ferguson, 4th; Anna Jeffries, 3rd; Grace Garrett, 2nd; Gertrude Wilson and Fannie Haskins, primary.
Medford Mail, September 19, 1902, page 2
Public School Report.
Following is the report for the Medford public schools for the month ending November 7, 1902:
Number days taught, 20; total enrollment, 416; average attendance, 390; cases corporal punishment, 0; teachers' meetings, 2; visitors, 16.
N. L. NARREGAN, Principal.Medford Mail, November 14, 1902, page 6
School Report.Following is the report for the month ending Dec. 5, 1902: Days taught, 19; holidays, 1; total enrollment, 452; average attendance, 360; cases corporal punishment, 0; visitors, 40; teachers' meetings, 2.
N. L. NARREGAN, Principal.Medford Mail, December 12, 1902, page 2
Additional Teacher for Medford.
MEDFORD, Or., Dec. 26.--Owing to the crowded condition of the Medford school, the board has found it necessary to add a teacher after the holidays, which will make 11 teachers in the school. Miss Helen Wait has been selected for the position, and her pupils will be taken from the third grade, Miss Jeffery, of this grade, having 76 pupils.
Morning Oregonian, Portland, December 27, 1902, page 4
Medford City Teachers Chosen.MEDFORD, Or., April 17.--(Special.)--At a recent meeting of the School Board of Directors, of this city, the following teachers were elected for the ensuing year: Professor N. L. Narregan, principal; D. C. Mathews, vice-principal; Miss Minnie Hockenyos, Miss Annie Jeffrey, Miss Fannie Haskins, Miss Julia Fielder, Miss Helen Wait, Mrs. M. G. Hoge, Miss Zuda Owens and Miss Clara Poley, grade teachers.
The grade teachers' salary has been raised from $30 and $35 per month to $40 per month.
Morning Oregonian, Portland, April 18, 1903, page 4
The following teachers have been selected for the Medford school: Fannie Haskins, Gertrude Wilson, Mrs. M. C. Hoge, Minnie Gowland, Lizzie Ferguson, Julia Fielder, Helen Wait, Mary E. Talbert and Roberta Rippey.
"General School News," Oregon Teachers' Monthly, May 1904, page 46
Next Year's Medford Teachers.MEDFORD, Or., April 12.--(Special.)--The school directors met this afternoon and elected the following teachers for the ensuing year: J. K. M. Berry, of North Yakima, Wash., principal; Bessie Hill, Portland, vice-principal; Mrs. H. C. Stoddard, Misses Mary E. Talbert, Olive Huffer, Minnie Gowland, Gertrude Wilson, Julia Fielder, Fannie Haskins, Lutie Ulrich, Echo Nason and Etheylend Hurley. All teachers except the principal and Misses Ulrich and Nason were re-elected..
Morning Oregonian, Portland, April 13, 1905, page 4
The 1896 Washington School, circa 1912
A Visit to Medford's School.
By J. G. Martin
I have been promising myself a grand treat from time to time by paying the popular public schools of our growing city a brief visit, but unforeseen circumstances would apparently arise about the time I was ready to go and prevent me from availing myself of that visit I so much coveted, until Wednesday of last week, when I made my start and as I strolled along the street I asked myself the question, How is an entire stranger going to get admission to this beautiful, strong institution of learning, where six or seven hundred pupils of all ages and sizes are gathered for their mental, moral and physical culture? I looked upon buildings a model of beauty and loveliness, surrounded by clean, well-kept walks and outbuildings with a cool, green, shady playground. I took notice as I entered all the doors and windows were thrown open and so many sentries were walking to and fro apparently on the alert, but I put on a bold front and not receiving any challenge I soon reached the top of the winding stairway and knocking at the door of the fifth grade room, I politely made my business known and the teacher, Miss Talbert, kindly invited me to a seat. Right here, Mr. Editor, I must confess I felt not a little abashed on coming in so very suddenly and meeting and looking over this little sea of clean, bright, promising, fidgety faces of fifty-two boys and girls; but after listening to a number of the exercises, which were both interesting and instructive to me, my fright gradually wore off and I became reconciled and grew easy and comfortable, and wished I was young again, for my thoughts began to wander back into the dim past and the pleasant memories of my boyhood school days began to return to me when I surveyed the old blackboard and heard that familiar whisper from boys and girls. The same antics and spirit of restlessness pervades the school room among the children of the present day as of the past, no improvement along these lines as I could see from the old method, but not for a moment do I wish my readers to imagine I would have the world, our world, set back to the old days, for the present as a whole is always better than the past. I found the school room of Miss Talbert's clean, bright, cheerful and comfortable and the teacher, I should judge, to be an industrious, painstaking instructor and her method of conveying her ideas to others simple, plain and practical, and her order and discipline excellent. At recess I was much interested in the pupils marching into their respective rooms with so much military precision, order and quietness, which reflects much credit upon teacher and children. I met Prof. Signs by accident as I was about leaving the school room. An introduction to this well-known educator I considered quite an honor, but from his warm handshake and the bright, cheerful welcome he gave me, persuades me to believe he is a gentleman and worthy of the high and honored position he is entrusted with, and if there can be any advancement and improvement along the educational lines of Medford's popular schools they will, as in the past, continue to advance with the assistance of his able corps of teachers keeping the progress, popularity and high standard it now enjoys, both in moral and educational training, always in the lead.
In conclusion permit me to say since vacation time is over and the new school year has begun in earnest, Hurrah for Work should be the motto and watchword from each grade, and I hope sometime in the near future to be permitted to visit each grade of our city school and get acquainted, which I think is an individual duty required and should be more generally practiced by both patrons and friends, for without their assistance and encouragement and the industrious, punctual perseverance of the pupils of each grade there can be but little harmony or noticeable improvement and advancement with your children.
Medford Mail, October 20, 1905, page 4
Hereafter pupils missing monthly tests will be required to take the same or a similar one on return to school. We have also adopted the plan of allowing those who make a general average of 92 percent and who do not fall below 80 percent in any branch to be excused from the monthly examination. Deportment is to be considered in making the general average and must not fall below 85 percent.
Our young people should be kept off the streets at unseasonable hours. The parents should hold their children responsible in this matter. It is out of place, damaging in character for school girls to sit in the public park with young men. The teacher's authority holds until a pupil has been home from school. Then the parent is responsible. Let us cooperate in every way to inculcate right ideas in the minds of our young people in regard to such things. We cannot afford that ONE shall go wrong because we are neglectful.
"School Notes," Medford Mail, December 15, 1905, page 4
It has been patent for some time to those who have paid attention to the matter that the Medford school building is overcrowded, and that the time was soon to come when measures must be taken to relieve the congestion in the interest of teachers and pupils alike. An article on another page of this paper by Hon. M. Purdin, one of the directors of Medford school district, details the situation in such a way that the needs of the district for more room become immediately apparent. That there must be additional school room provided goes without saying. The main questions are ways and means, the kind of building to be constructed and its location. Whether an addition shall be made to the present building, a new building erected on the present grounds, or one built in some other portion of the city are matters which must be decided by the people of the district. The right conclusion can only be arrived at by the interchange of opinions on the matter. This much is certain, something, whatever it is, must be done. Conditions such as those described in Mr. Purdin's communication should not be allowed to exist longer than absolutely necessary. The teacher is handicapped in an endeavor to impart knowledge; the pupil is handicapped in the search for knowledge, and the unsanitary condition which is bound to come from overcrowded school rooms--no matter what precautions are taken--is a menace to the health, not only of pupils and teachers, but to that of the whole community. Let us take up the matter of more room for our school children, and let's do it now.
Medford Mail, February 23, 1906, page 4
Will Have a New School House.
It was the unanimous sense of the meeting of the citizens of Medford school district which was held at the school house Wednesday afternoon that a new school building should be erected to accommodate the rapidly increasing number of pupils. It was also the sentiment of the meeting that the board of directors should have charge of the matter, and it was recommended that block 7, on B Street, between 3d and 4th streets, should be the site of the new building, if the property could be purchased at a reasonable price. The building to be erected will have eight rooms, with all modern conveniences.
Medford Mail, May 18, 1906, page 1
NORTH MEDFORD SCHOOL HOUSE.
After thoroughly canvassing the situation, the Medford school board decided to purchase the tract of ground owned by Dr. Adkins, immediately east of Paul Theiss' residence, as a site for the new school house, and closed the deal a day or two ago. The contractors have looked over the ground, ordered in a carload of cement for the foundation and will at once proceed to go forward with building operations. The building will be of brick, on cement foundation, and the contract calls for same to be completed by the first of next January. As the additional room is so badly needed for school purposes, a few rooms will be fitted for occupancy as soon as possible, it being the design of the board to have the high school remain in the present quarters, the lower departments being divided between the south school house and the new building.
The location selected is about an acre of ground on which Dr. Adkins made very favorable rates and is a pretty situation for the school and in about the right place. It is the intention to run a sewer to the creek from the site. The city water works already reach the vicinity. The plan for the building is a fine one, and the appearance is all that could be desired. The location is fortunate for a large number of people, and values will advance somewhat in the vicinity.
Medford Mail, August 10, 1906, page 1
North School- (later named Lincoln School) circa 1911
NORTH SIDE SCHOOL BUILDING
IS NEARING COMPLETION
Work on the new north side school building is progressing rapidly, and before the spring term opens Prof. Signs will be enabled to relieve the congestion due to the increased enrollment and lack of room in the high school building.
The new structure is of handsome design, and the residents of the north side naturally view it with feelings of pride.
The building will contain eight study rooms, each with its individual dressing room; wide roomy halls and broad stairways provide ample room for such evolutions as the fire drill and afford ample means of egress in case a hasty exit should become necessary. A large basement affords ample play room for the pupils of the primary departments during stormy weather; also the necessary storage and furnace room.
The building will probably be ready for occupancy by January 1st, yet this is a matter of conjecture, as so much depends upon the supply companies and the dilatory freight service of the S.P. Company.
Medford Mail, October 26, 1906, page 1
The new school building will not be ready until the middle of January owing to the dampness in the walls preventing kalsomining, and the fact that sewer connection cannot be made for lack of pipe. This is an added inconvenience, since as two rooms occupied at the Christian Church must be vacated. The grades fourth and fifth which have been meeting there will meet in the main building, afternoon only, for a short time. The A divisions of fourth and fifth will meet forenoons only until the new building is ready.
"City Happenings," Medford Mail, December 28, 1906, page 5
NORTH SCHOOL COMPLETED
Monday was a day of rejoicing for many school children of Medford, and we have no doubt that many older people consider the day well worth remembering. To all who have the welfare of the children and the growth of our prosperous city at heart the opening of the new North School on Jan. 21, 1907 is a matter for self-congratulation. There is no finer building of its kind in Southern Oregon and few elsewhere. If you haven't seen it just make up your mind to visit the school some day. By so doing you will please the teachers and also please yourself.Medford Educationally.
Every thing is modern, from the sanitary toilets in the basement to the well-arranged library room on the second floor. Without a doubt the school board is to be especially congratulated on the able and businesslike manner in which this worthy monument to the prosperity of Medford has been brought about. At this writing there are still a few things to be done--the laying of a walk all around the building and the partitioning of the furnace room from the boys' basement. But to all intents and purposes it is finished, and already nearly 250 of Medford's bright boys and girls are settling to their work with a spirit that says that the lost time and inconvenience of the first part of the year will not show when final examinations come.
For the present there will be seven teachers employed at the new building--Miss Gowland, Principal, and Misses Cameron, Johnson, Phipps, Hurley, Bell and Talbert, assistants. Mr. Signs will have the general superintendence of both buildings.
We hoped that these new accommodations would settle the question of room for school purposes for some time to come, but a rush order for seats was necessary the first day, and several grades at the main building still number close to 50. Perhaps, however, the paint will be dry on the North School before we have to have the South School or the East School. There is no better indication of a city's growth than the growth of its schools. We are surely growing.
Medford Mail, January 25, 1907, page 1
Second to No City of Oregon in Spirit and in Achievement.
(Special Dispatch to The Journal )
Medford, Or., April 12.--At the regular meeting of the school board resignations were accepted from the following teachers: Miss Minnie Gowland, Miss Della Shunk, Mrs. M. L. Daily, Miss Mary Talbert, Mrs. M. B. Signs and Miss Olive Huffer. The following were reelected for the coming year: Miss Olah Mickey, Miss Jennie Cameron, Miss Mae Roberts, Miss Iva Shirley, Helen M. McCoy, Miss Camilla Cameron, Miss May Phipps, Miss Ethelyn Hurley and Miss Donna Bell, in the grades, and Miss Bessie Hill, Miss Gertrude Johnson and Miss Jennie Snedicor in the high school. Superintendent M. B. Signs has been retained at an increase of salary and placed on a 12-month basis instead of nine. The minimum salary fixed for the grades is $50 and for the high school $60, the maximum in each case being left to the discretion of the board. The teachers elected to fill vacancies are: Miss Olive Jones of Iowa; Miss Gussie M. Burns of Junction City, Oregon; Miss Lutie Ulrich of St. Louis, Missouri; Miss Pearl McElhenie of Denver, and Miss May Farrel of Oldham, South Dakota. James W. Shirley, principal at Shedds, Oregon, was elected to the principalship of the North School. A complete commercial department will be added to the high school, offering bookkeeping, shorthand, typewriting and allied subjects. Several applications have been filed for this position, but the sense of the board is that a man is desired for the place if a desirable one can be secured.
Medford now has six teachers in the high school, which will allow for a broadening of the courses and a special teacher for each general course. Manual training is also being seriously considered.
Oregon Daily Journal, Portland, April 12, 1907, page 6
We note in a recent issue of the Portland Journal an item under the above heading accompanied by the statement "Second to none in Oregon." The article commented on the election of teachers, the broadening of the high school course and the addition of a business department, that manual training was being discussed. It is indeed gratifying to the board of directors and to the public in general to note these elements of progress. There seems however to be one thing lacking. We talk of electric railroads, steam railroads, coal, copper and fruit, and multitudinous resources which will make Medford a city variously estimated at from 10,000 to 20,000 inhabitants in ten years. Few are inclined to discredit these statements. Yet with all the other improvements we fail to consider the needs of a city of the size of Medford in regard to a separate building for the high school. In most cities of importance such building is considered an absolute necessity for several reasons. In the first place high school students are young men and women and are [omission] ceed from the regulations governing the control of small children. These different methods in the same building conflict, leading the grade pupils to desire the freedom of older pupils thus rendering control a matter of effort which otherwise it would not be. In the second place hours of recitations differ, and passing of classes numbering in the aggregate over a hundred pupils of the high school interfere with the work of the grades in rooms below. In like manner the recess periods of the grades with several pupils playing on the grounds interferes with the work of the high school. In the third place, adequate room for the best grade of high school work cannot be found in a ten-room building where light rooms are given up to the grades. The plans for the high school next year include a department of mathematics, one of history and Latin, one of English, one of science and one of business. The two latter need two rooms each, one for physics and one for chemistry, and one for bookkeeping and one for typewriting respectively. Each department should consist of a classroom capable of seating at least forty pupils. In all seven classrooms are necessary to avoid crowding and make the best work possible. The statement that three classes have been able to meet but half time during the past year owing to the fact that the classes numbered forty while the classrooms would seat but twenty lends color to the above fact.Medford Schools Will Again Overflow.
We should be done with temporary arrangements except insofar as they pave the way for a permanent structure suited to the needs of the school and the growing community. The high school this year has enrolled a total of 102. One hundred fifty is a conservative estimate of next year's number when we consider the large quota that will be drawn to the business department. The present assembly room seats 80. What is to be done with the other 70? True, we could allow pupils to come only for classes, but the effect of such a plan on school work and attendance would be indeed deplorable. The essential qualities of school life would be lost, namely, quiet, orderly routine with all pupils at all times during school hours in contact with their instructors and not walking the streets between classes because there was no place to go. An adequate assembly room is also absolutely essential.
These are a few points which will suggest much to thoughtful citizens who have the best interests of our city at heart.
Medford Mail, April 19, 1907, page 1
An observing visitor in our city remarks that Medford's school facilities are behind the requirements of a city of its size. An observing patron states that the basements of the churches must again be utilized to house the overflow. In regard to the first point, all towns the size of Medford have several ward schools. Two buildings accommodating the eight grades and several primary schools scattered here and there through the city. Statistics show a probable enrollment in the grades of about 800. This means an average of 50 per teacher. With the congestion falling in grades below the sixth. The necessity of dividing three or four of the lower grades seems unavoidable. The overflow could be accommodated if several of the rooms of the main building were not given over to the high school department. This brings us to the question "What has the new board done to carry out the motion made at the annual meeting to provide estimates of a suitable high school building to be built with an eye toward the future, such estimates to be laid before a special meeting of the voters?" It seems to us not the time to delay such matters. Since we need more school facilities let us have them instead of forcing our children to occupy any old building available without regard to its heating, lighting, ventilation or sanitation.HIGH SCHOOL IN NEW QUARTERS
A further consideration is that even the rooms formerly secured in the churches are not now available. It will be necessary to move and to move quickly if we are to save ourselves the inconvenience of the past seasons.
Medford Mail, July 26, 1907, page 5
A frame building, one story high, is being put up by the school board to accommodate the overflow from the West Medford primary rooms. The building is being erected on the school grounds and just south of the high school building. It will have two rooms, which will necessitate the hiring of two more teachers.
"City Happenings," Medford Mail, September 27, 1907, page 5
A Kindergarten for Medford.
A number of mothers have been planning for a kindergarten for their children. Much interest has been manifested, and it is hoped to mature plans so that the kindergarten may be in operation in the near future.
All parents who are interested are asked to meet at the opera house, Saturday afternoon, at 3 o'clock. It is necessary that a good number cooperate in order to assure the project.
Medford Mail, October 25, 1907, page 1
NEW SCHOOL BUILDINGProfessor Smith says that most of the children who have entered since the opening belong to families who have come to Medford since that time, and that most of them are from the East. The school figures are as a rule considered to be a very reliable means of figuring the population of a city. That being the case, Medford must certainly be increasing in population at a very fast rate.
The school board met Monday evening in regular session and transacted considerable business. The crowded condition of the schools, particularly north side school, was discussed at length. The fourth and fifth grades in this school are particularly crowded, and in each room there are eight or ten pupils more than can be accommodated with the present seating arrangements. To provide for these pupils it was decided to seat the 1 room which has been used as a library, and in this way these youngsters will be taken care of. A new teacher who will have charge of this room will be engaged. No definite selection of a teacher has been made.
The annual school meeting was called for December 23, at which time the question of providing funds for the construction of a new high school building will come up for consideration. The matter of a suitable site will be brought before this meeting, as well as a number of other details connected with the proposed building. The fact that both of the present buildings are badly overcrowded makes the construction of a new building the coming year an imperative necessity.
Medford Mail, December 6, 1907, page 1
J.G.M. Visits School.I felt pretty despondent, sick, blue and lonesome Tuesday of last week so I hiked away for new scenery and a brief visit with Mrs. Logan, the popular teacher, and her forty clean, bright, promising, industrious pupils of the 6th grade of our North School, but I must confess on the start I have neither space nor language at command to express the pleasure and satisfaction enjoyed in that brief space of time. I was surprised at the magnificent order kept by this teacher with so little effort and friction, and I became much interested while there listening to the methods of teaching many class exercises and would briefly suggest to the parents and guardians of the training and educational development of their children's future to pause for a moment in their busy lives and say I will give a couple of hours to mingle socially and inquiringly with the departments and learn the progress of my children in their various studies in this bright, clean, cheerful place of learning, and should you have any of the many symptoms your humble writer was afflicted with Tuesday they will quickly be dispelled and should. you be so fortunate as to be in a healthy, happy mood you will still be made happy by your presence and a kind cheerful word of encouragement to teachers and pupils which we think is a plain duty we justly owe to our city schools.
J. G. Martin.Medford Mail, February 7, 1908, page 1
Site for New School.
At a meeting of the school board Tuesday afternoon it was decided to purchase the Phipps residence property at Fifth and A streets for the site of the new $40,000 school building. The price paid was $7,500. The block will be improved by grading and the planting of trees and lawn and will make a fit setting for the new building.
The board expects to have the work of erection under way soon so that the building will be ready for use during the next school year.
Medford Mail, March 6, 1908, page 6
CONTRACT LET FOR SCHOOL BUILDING
The school board has accepted the bid of the Medford Brick Company for the construction of the new high school building, the figures being $29,872. By the terms of the contract, which was signed on Wednesday morning, the contractors agreed to have the building complete on October 1st.
There was some misunderstanding between the board and architect Burggraf of Albany as regards the cost of construction. The board gave directions to the architect that the building cost not more than $27,000. When the contractors, however, figured upon the work they found that it would be impossible to construct the building for that amount of money. The architect was summoned from Albany, and upon his arrival several details were changed as regards the building so that the building will be erected for $29.872.
The board intends to select a competent person to supervise the work of the contractors and see that the building is constructed according to the specifications. The superintendent of construction will take the place of the architect.
G. W. Priddy, who is practically the Medford Brick Company, intends to go to work at once on the grading of the lot, preparatory to the excavating for the foundations. He states that he does not contemplate any difficulty in having the building ready for occupancy by the time specified.
The plans for the building call for twelve large classrooms. In the attic a gymnasium is to be constructed, and in the basement will be bicycle rooms, lunch rooms and the like. The building will be of brick with granite trimmings. The assembly hall will be modern in all respects and will contain a balcony. When completed the building will be as fine as any of a like nature in the southern part of Oregon.
Medford Mail, May 22, 1908, page 1
SCHOOL PLANS DECIDED UPON
The board of school directors have decided to accept the plans for the new school house submitted by Charles Burggraf, of Albany. The cost of erection according to the plans will be in the neighborhood of $27,000.
The directors tried in every way possible to favor local architects, but they were unable to do so and still do their duty to the school district. The plans submitted to the board by Mr. Burggraf were superior in many ways to the plans submitted by local architects. The plans have been returned to Albany for the detail work, and as soon as this is completed by the architect they will be returned to the board here and the bids for the contracting will be called for. The board wants the contract to go to local contractors.
The plans as adopted are for a three-story school building containing twelve large classrooms. In the attic a gymnasium is to be constructed, and in the basement will be the lunch rooms, bicycle rooms and the like. The building is to be constructed of brick with granite trimmings. The assembly hall is to be modern in all respects and will contain a balcony. The heating plant is to be carefully constructed, minimizing the chances of fire. The rooms are to be ventilated thoroughly so that the windows are not depended upon for ventilation.
The architect has been ordered to finish the detailing of the plans as rapidly as possible so that the bids can be called for. The board wants the building completed in time for the next term of school, and they realize that they must hurry the work along in order to have it completed.
Medford Mail, March 27, 1908, page 1
The plans for the new school house have arrived, and the local contractors are busily engaged in figuring upon them. There is some talk of building the school building out of sandstone instead of brick, however this matter is not as yet settled. It is expected that the school board will soon advertise for bids.
"City Happenings," Medford Mail, May 1, 1908, page 5
The cement sidewalks around the west school building are well under way.
The new high school building is progressing finely, with the brick nearly all laid for the first story.
"Improvements Are Many," Medford Mail, August 14, 1908, page 4
Since the Medford public schools opened just two weeks ago yesterday the attendance has increased 63. This, in the opinion of Professor U. G. Smith, the superintendent of the city schools, is a percentage that has never been equaled in any other city, to his knowledge.
When the schools opened September 7, the enrollment was not finished, but it was the following day, and the figures showed a total of 733 pupils in both the West and North schools. Yesterday Professor Smith added up the number again, and although he was well aware that there had been an increase, he was somewhat surprised to find the enrollment to be 796--an increase of 63.
The attendance at the West school at the opening was 456, and it is now 493, making an increase of 37. At the North school the attendance at the opening was 277, and it is now 303, making an increase of 26. This makes the total increase, as before stated, 63.
The number now enrolled in the different grades are as follows:
High school . . . . . . . . .125
Eighth grade . . . . . . . . . 36
Seventh grade . . . . . . . . 36
Sixth grade . . . . . . . . . . 33
Fifth grade . . . . . . . . . . 45
Fourth grade . . . . . . . . . 48
Third grade . . . . . . . . . . 57
Second grade . . . . . . . . 42
First grade . . . . . . . . . . . 71
Total . . . . . . . . . . . . .493
Eighth grade . . . . . . . . . 13
Seventh grade . . . . . . . . 40
Sixth grade . . . . . . . . . . 34
Fifth grade . . . . . . . . . . 40
Fourth grade . . . . . . . . . 34
Third grade . . . . . . . . . . 45
Second grade . . . . . . . . 43
First grade . . . . . . . . . . . 54
Total . . . . . . . . . . . . .303
Grand Total . . . . . . . .796
Medford Mail, September 25, 1908, page 1
The Medford Cement Company are this week preparing the ground and having gravel hauled for putting down sidewalk on the street and about the grounds of the new high school building.
"Local and Personal," Medford Mail, December 18, 1908, page 6
MEDFORD SCHOOLSMedford has one of the most progressive and complete school systems in Oregon. There are three fine public school buildings, built of brick and modern in all appointments. The public schools enroll over 1,200 pupils and offer a broad course of study, including drawing, watercolor work and music under a special director. Sloyd and manual training are also receiving some attention. The high school offers full literary, scientific and commercial courses, laboratory work, stenography and typewriting being special features.
The teaching force is carefully selected, and many progressive Eastern teachers supplement the number from the energetic West.
Any inquiries will be cheerfully answered by the City Superintendent of Schools.
The Sisters of the Holy Names have completed an academy. The building cost $40,000, and it contains every modern convenience and comfort. This, with the splendid new high school, insures for Medford ample educational facilities. High school graduates are accredited to the state university.
The educational facilities provided here will appeal to all right-minded men, and men who are moving to better their condition are apt to be right minded in all things that lead to betterment. Education is undoubtedly one of the most important of these.
"Medford, Oregon: Rogue River Valley," booster booklet published by the Medford Commercial Club, Portland, 1909.
There has been quite a number of schoolteachers stopping with us during the past week, and one of them, a young lady, reared and educated in one of our mountain districts, who has just closed a term of school in one of the rural districts in an adjoining county, gave her experience in said school during the first few days' sessions. She was apprised of the fact that she had a hard school to manage, so was prepared to a certain extent for any emergency. It appears that the school had never been under strict discipline. The children had been in the habit of coming into the schoolhouse on a run and going out in the same way, and she undertook to turn over a new leaf by having them march in in regular order and retire the same way. So the first thing was to train them to march into the schoolhouse in regular order, take their places at their desks and be seated at the tap of the bell. The first effort they broke the line. She rearranged them again; again they broke, and again they were placed in line, and in the third effort was successful in getting them seated, but they were unruly and very much inclined to beat back into the old way, but things went fairly well until it came time for dismissal, when she gave them instructions how to proceed, having them put away their books first tap, rise second tap, march third tap. I will here remark that there were six boys in their 'teens who were very unruly and had been in the habit of running the school, and that it was warm weather and the windows of the schoolhouse were open. Well, at the third tap when the order was given to march, one of these boys jumped out of the window, and no quicker done than the teacher jumped out of the door and after him, he running for dear life and she after him. The race lasted for about 100 yards, when the teacher grabbed him by the back of his shirt collar and the jig was up. She marched him back. She said that she choked him half to death by the time they reached the schoolhouse, and then she put him down in his seat and renewed the exercise of marching. That afternoon she supplied herself with a good supply of switches and gave each one of the half dozen leaders a good thrashing, with the result that she had a good order from that time on. She said she didn't call in the directors or suspend or expel from school, but simply let them know that she was mistress of the situation. When asked how the parents of the children took such a course, she said they patted her on the back and said "Good!" The result is that they propose to raise her wages $10 on a month and have her teach their spring school.
A. C. Howlett, "Eagle Point Eaglets," Medford Mail, January 15, 1909, page 8
From a 1909 booster booklet.
Will Be Ready for Business on Monday in New Building on B Street
On Monday morning the high school pupils will find their new places in the new high school building ready for them. All of the paraphernalia is being moved today and being straightened about in the new building.
The auditorium will be used as the assembly room, and aside from this, some six rooms will be occupied by classes. The high school staff is now composed of six instructors, and the roll embraces some 135 names.
The library will open off of the assembly room. The commercial department will be in the south wing of the building downstairs, while the science department will be directly over this.
Today throughout all the schools of the city proper programs have been arranged for the observance of the centenary of the birth of Abraham Lincoln.
Medford Daily Tribune, February 12, 1909, page 1
ONE ON THE SOPHS.Class spirit has many manifestations, and the other night the sophomores at the high school got out in the stilly hours and painted the walks near and around the high school with their class numerals and with the word "soph." The members of the other classes let it become known that the following night they intended to come out in force and remove the visible signs of superiority of the class of '11. However, they had no such intention, but the members of the soph class were not mind readers, and they turned out in force and spent several hours of a rainy day in guarding their handiwork. Members of other classes profess to believe that the laugh was on the second-year men.
Medford Mail, February 12, 1909, page 3
WEST SCHOOL RENAMED; PROF. SMITH RE-ELECTED
The West School was renamed by the scholars Friday afternoon and will hereafter be named as the Washington School. Each pupil cast one vote, Washington receiving over 100 of the 300 cast, Lincoln nearly 100, while the remaining number was scattered among other statesmen.
Medford Daily Tribune, February 27, 1909, page 1
Medford's School System
By Mrs. E. E. Gore
From ancient Egypt to modern America, the story of advancement is the story of adding and subtracting, of accepting and rejecting, the story of change. Progress in education has been the story of the new becoming the old, the old giving way to the new in a continuous circle of ever-widening horizons.
In a very large measure the schools of a city or state are typical of the prevailing intelligence and culture of the residents, and it is with pleasure and pride that the loyal citizens of Medford view the practical workings of their public school system.
When the four-room brick school building, then adequate to the demands of the village children, was destroyed by fire some fifteen years ago, the district felt the loss as a heavy blow, and for several months the children were assembled for instruction in a few wooden buildings on Front Street, and in the various churches of the town. Here, with no centralized government, but very little equipment and amidst overcrowded conditions that would tax the most heroic spirit, the self-sacrificing teachers toiled to advance the children in their studies. However well-educated and efficient the succeeding corps of teachers employed in our schools may be, they can never excel in unselfish devotion to duty the loyal band of girls and young women who gave instruction at that time and even returned to the district, for the purchase of much-needed equipment, half of the small salary received.
It has ever been the policy of the board of directors to employ the best teachers obtainable, and with the completion and occupancy of the present West School [i.e., Washington School], built on the site of the old building, conditions rapidly improved. The new quarters were amply commodious and fitted up in modern style, with eleven rooms available for class use. In order that the educational interests of the town might keep pace with advance in every other line, it soon became necessary to build another school building, and in 1906-7 the present North School, a fine building of eight rooms, was completed. At the time, it appeared that further construction could be put off two or three years, but school had no more than opened in the north building till it became evident that a high school building would be an imperative necessity before a suitable one could be erected. Plans and specifications were at once taken under consideration, and in less than a year from the time the contract was let the new high school was ready for acceptance by the school board.
This building will be formally dedicated April 9, while it has been occupied since the first of the year. The adaptation to educational needs is perfect. A large assembly hall with gallery has the library and commercial rooms opening off from it, while the superintendent's offices are across the hall. There are in all twelve large, sunny class rooms, and most inviting quarters in the third story for a much-needed gymnasium.
The educational work of the school is on a very firm basis, with a constant advance in the standard of scholarship necessary in the teacher as well as in the pupils. The older residents of the city remember with pleasure the efficient work of N. L. Narregan, for many years re-elected superintendent, and G. A. Gregory, who was subsequently county school superintendent and is now superintendent of city schools in Crete, Neb. M. B. Signs, the predecessor of U. G. Smith, also did much in his term of office as superintendent to advance the interests of the school. Both Mr. Narregan and Mr. Signs have felt the call of nature and have retired to valuable fruit farms and are living the "simple life," while on the high road to comfortable fortunes.
In Professor U. G. Smith, who is serving his first year as superintendent, the school board and patrons feel they have secured the services of one who possesses tact, judgment and wisdom, and he has recently been elected for a term of three years.
Mr. Smith was born in Pennsylvania during the later part of the war and was raised on a farm in Indiana. He attended the district schools, and when he was seventeen years of age began to teach. In 1884 he entered Denison University, Granville, O., teaching school and pursuing his own studies as funds would permit. He graduated in 1892, having completed the seven years' course in [omission] Smith began teaching in the high school of Franklin, Pa., continuing till 1894, when he entered upon his duties as supervising principal in Union City, Pa. After six years' service, he resigned to accept the superintendency of schools in Meadville, Pa., which position he held till coming to Medford. Mr. Smith spent two summers in the University of Chicago and two in Harvard College, studying school organization, administration and principles of teaching. The vital principle in his educational work, and the central idea which he urges alike upon his subordinate teachers and the pupils in the class room, is concentration of effort, thoroughness, discipline and a mastery of both oral and written expression as related to the subject under study.
Medford's Magazine, April 1909, page 4
MEDFORD'S MONUMENTS TO THE CAUSE OF EDUCATION
The small building to the left in the group printed on this page was Medford's first school house. It was built in the [spring] of 1884 by W. F. Williamson, who was the first teacher. The building was 16x20 and had a seating capacity of 30 pupils. The building was built on the east side of Central Avenue South, between Eighth and Ninth streets, is now owned by R. A. Knipps of Canyonville, Or., and is occupied by J. E. Ashton as a residence. [The building survives to this day as part of the former Yellow Submarine sandwich shop at 135 South Central.] It was used in 1884 as a place of worship as well as school purposes, and the first sermon ever preached in the town was by Rev. M. A. Williams, Presbyterian. Two weeks later Rev. Martin Peterson, Christian, held services in the same building. The first school directors were J. S. Howard, D. H. Miller and [C. W.] Broback; J. L. Johnson, clerk.
In the summer of  the building shown in the center of the cut was built. [This building also survives, though it was moved from the courthouse site where it was built to 517 W. Tenth.] There were two rooms with a seating capacity of 80 pupils. In 1886 this building was remodeled into a four-room building. It is now, having been remodeled beyond recognition, the residence owned and occupied by A. A. Davis.
The building to the right in the cut was built in 1891, having eight rooms and a seating capacity of 320. This building was destroyed by fire in August 1895 and stood upon the site occupied by the Washington School, on West Seventh Street.
The Washington School was built in 1896. The main building is 64x86 feet, with a wing 35x50 and an annex 12x24. The foundation is quarried rock three feet in thickness at the base, two and one-half feet at the top and three and one-half in height, being 18 inches above the ground. The walls are of brick and the height of the building from ground to tower roof is 68 feet. The architect was W. J. Bennet, and the cost of the building was $14,000; it is heated by a combination of steam and hot air and is equipped with electric fire and burglar alarms and has a gravity system of ventilation. The school directors at the time of its erection were J. H. Whitman, E. P. Geary, W. H. Parker; Gail T. Jones, clerk.
The North School was built in 1906-7 and is a modern, well-built structure, provided with eight classrooms, though at present the library is also used as a schoolroom. The seating capacity of the building is 425, and the cost was $20,000.
So rapid was the growth of the town during the summer and fall when this building was erected that in a few weeks after its opening, the schools were nearly as overcrowded as the year before, and steps were at once taken toward building a high school, and the beautiful and commodious building dedicated last night is the result. At every point in the preliminary considerations the board of directors was confronted with the problem of adapting the plans of schoolhouses costing from $50,000 to $60,000 to the $30,000 or $40,000 deemed sufficient by the district. That they succeeded in securing the greatest possible equipment from the amount expended is most apparent upon thoughtful comparison.
The structure is a model of architectural beauty; the walls are of brick, relieved by a trim of granite blocks, giving a plain and very substantial appearance. The main entrance is approached from Bartlett Street and, ascending broad steps, one enters the large entrance hall, from which opens the assembly hall, the commercial rooms, the library, superintendent's office, the teachers' assembly room and large, well-arranged classrooms.
The assembly hall has a graduated floor which affords a good view of the rostrum from every point in the room, while the system of prismatic lighting is ample and practically ideal. The room is seated with patent adjustable seats, as are all the rooms, and will accommodate 148 pupils. The balcony, which is a most attractive feature of the room, is seated with opera chairs and at least 150 people can be seated here. By using every available bit of space, filling in with extra chairs, probably 500 were seated last night.
The second floor is given over to class rooms and the chemical laboratory, while in the third story is ample space for a very necessary gymnasium. There are 11 class rooms and all sufficiently spacious, well lighted and sunny, while the plumbing, system of electric call bells and lighting are well adapted to the needs of the school. There are three modes of exit on the first floor, and the halls and stairways are sufficiently wide to minimize the danger of panic, should fire break out.
In the cement basement a steam heating plant and gravity ventilating system are installed, and there is also sufficient room for the use of the manual training and domestic science departments which will probably be added next year.
The present school directors are: J. E. Watt, L. G. Porter, H. C. Kentner, J. H. Cochran and Chas. Strang. The school clerk is Oris Crawferd.
Medford Mail, April 16, 1909, page 6
Medford is justly proud of her schools, which are now under the supervision of U. G. Smith. With him is a competent corps of teachers. The School Board consists of J. H. Cochran, J. E. Watt, Chas. Strong, L. G. Porter and H. C. Kentner, with Oris Crawford, clerk.
Their new high school building was dedicated on April 19th with a carefully prepared program. It is a roomy two-story brick structure with large basement and attic. It is substantial and well lighted and ventilated. The plan throughout presents a happy combination of convenience and pleasing effect.
There is an auditorium, octagonal in shape, with sloping floor, a spacious elevated platform and a balcony. The room has a seating capacity of about five hundred. The main floor is furnished with adjustable school desks and the balcony with opera chairs. This room is used for general assembly and a study room. The high school library occupies a well-lighted and comfortably furnished room just off the assembly room.
The commercial department occupies two rooms on the first floor, and the laboratories of the science department occupy two rooms on the second floor of the building just over the commercial department. There are three rooms on the first and second floors in the opposite end of the building from the commercial and science departments, equipped especially for recitation purposes. The Superintendent's office and the office of the School Board are on the first floor. In addition to these rooms, there are two school rooms on the first floor and three on the second floor, each sufficiently large to accommodate fifty pupils if necessary. The gymnasium occupies a spacious room in the attic.
The basement, which extends under the entire building, is high and well lighted. In it are placed the toilets and baths, and the boilers for the steam heating plant. Besides the fuel room, there is sufficient space for well-lighted rooms in domestic science and art, manual training and mechanical drawing. The basement floors are all to be cement.
The halls of the building are wide and light. The stairs are broad and constructed according to the most modern ideas for convenience and ease in ascending and descending. All in all, the building comes as near to the ideal as can be hoped for in any school building.
Reuben F. Robinson, "Medford," The School and Home, May 1909, page 9
Medford School in Court.MEDFORD, Or., June 12.--To force a board of education of this city to issue a diploma to Clarence W. Gore, member of the high school graduation class of 1909, mandamus proceedings were today begun before Judge Hanna in the circuit court, Attorney Porter J. Neff representing Gore, who with two other students claims to have been unfairly dealt with at commencement. Gore and two other students failed to appear at the formal graduating exercises and the board of education refused to deliver the diploma to which each was entitled.
Judge Hanna Asked to Mandamus Issuance of Diplomas.
The absence of the students was intended as a protest against alleged favoritism and discrimination by one of the instructors against Carl Glasgow, a member of the class, who was said by George Merritt, his instructor, to have "flunked." Glasgow had expressed exception to a certain conduct on the part of Merritt toward certain girls, members of the graduating class, also.
The actions of Instructor Merritt were so grievous, it is stated, that Miss Warner, principal of the high school, informed Superintendent Smith of the city schools, that she could not overlook them, whereupon she was quietly asked for her resignation. Things were getting warm in education circles when Merritt tendered this resignation at suggestion of the board. Added to the complication came to the organized effort on the part of the graduating class to rebuke the actions of the faculty, or at least a member of it, in not allowing Glasgow to pass the examination and take his diploma with the class.
Petitions asking the board of education to reinstate Miss Warner are being signed by nearly all the students of the high school, and citizens are loudly denouncing the arbitrary methods employed in the controversy. Perhaps no case parallel to this has been recorded in the history of Oregon, particularly the actions in court, and it will be watched with interest. The school trouble has aroused public feeling generally, and promises to be fought out bitterly.
Ashland Tidings, June 14, 1909, page 1
Medford School Teachers.
The following teachers have been chosen and assigned for the Medford schools:
High school--U. S. Collins, principal, mathematics; George W. Taylor, commercial work; science, to be filled; Miss Edna Cummings, Latin and German; Miss Ethel Lawson, English; Miss C. W. Liddell, history and English.
Industrial work--Miss E. M. McDermott, domestic science and art; manual training, to be filled.
Washington School--H. S. Stine, principal, teacher in eighth grade; Miss Marian White, eighth grade; Miss Bertha White, seventh grade; Miss Stella Schuler, sixth grade; Miss Alice Elder, fifth grade; fifth and fourth grades to be filled; Miss Jessie Wilson, third grade; Miss Julia Fielder, second grade; Miss Anna Beeson, second and first grade; Mrs. P. H. Daily, first grade.
North School--Miss Ulrich, principal, seventh grade; Miss Vora Storey, sixth grade; Miss Millicent Potter, fifth grade; Miss Mary Kittridge, fifth and fourth grades; Miss Lotta Luke, fourth grade; Miss May Phipps, third grade; Miss Fannie Haskins, second grade; Miss Kate Stine, second and first grades; Miss Maude Philbrook, first grade.
The following schedule of salaries for teachers has been fixed:
I. For first, primary, seventh and eighth grades--First year's service $65 per month; second and third years' service, $70 per month; fourth and fifth years' service, $75 per month; sixth and subsequent years' service, $80 per month.
II. For second, third, fourth, fifth and sixth grades--First year's service, $60 per month; second and third years' service, $65 per month; fourth and fifth years' service, $70 per month; sixth and subsequent years' service, $75 per month.
III. Principal, teacher and librarian in grade schools--First year's service, $80 per month; second and subsequent years, salary to be fixed by the board.
I. Principal, teacher and librarian, first and subsequent years, salary to be fixed by the board.
II. Commercial, science and English departments: First year's service, $90 per month, second year's service, $95 per month; third and subsequent years' service, $100 per month.
III. Mathematics, history, Latin and German; second year's service, $75 per month; second year's service, $80 per month; third year's service, $85 per month; fourth and subsequent years' service, $90 per month.
Ashland Tidings, June 21, 1909, page 3
MEDFORD VOTES ON BONDS
One New School and Addition to Another Are Demanded.
MEDFORD, Or., April 25.--(Special.)--An election will be held tomorrow to decide on bonding the district for $50,000 for building an east side high school and adding an annex to the Washington School.
The east side of the city has spread so far that too long a walk for the children to come to the west side schools results. The Washington School has been so crowded it was necessary to place desks in the halls to accommodate the pupils.
Morning Oregonian, Portland, April 26, 1910, page 7
24 PERCENT IS GROWTH IN SCHOOLS
Superintendent Collins Makes Report for Past Month--
Increase Over a Year Ago Is Nearly One-Fourth--
Over 1100 Children Now Enrolled in Medford Schools.
Twenty-four percent--nearly one-fourth--is the growth made by the Medford schools over one year ago, according to the first monthly report filed by Superintendent U. S. Collins with the school board. At present 1102 pupils are enrolled in the schools of the city. At the close of the first month, one year ago, the total enrollment was 891. The increase is 211 or 24 percent.
The report of Superintendent Collins shows that 25 days school was taught during the month ending October 10; that the number of days' attendance totaled 24,163; days of absence, 796; whole number times late, 1205; number pupils neither absent nor late, 615; average daily attendance, 97; visits by parents, 21; visits by school board, 1.
Medford Mail Tribune, October 11, 1910, page 1
Our Public Schools.
To the Editor: Education here in Medford! I am one of several mothers who are nearly frantic at the knowledge of the wasted years our children are putting in in school. We have been here two years--last year my child's teacher said "have did"; this year she is one of a class which has had five teachers since September. To be sure, one of these five stayed but half a day.
Two of these teachers were experienced teachers; the others are dear, sweet girls but wholly inexperienced. She is now in a class where the pupils talk aloud, are rude, and one little boy especially takes delight in answering his teacher without permission and striking the little girls.
It's not the fault of these girls that they are teachers. What business have they with a license and no training?
Then the awful condition of the Washington School. The toilets are a disgrace to Medford. I understand the building has been condemned, yet these children are jammed in here; in one instance a dirty old recitation room is used as a schoolroom.
Some of the patrons of this school are among the heaviest taxpayers of the city, yet see the unsanitary conditions to which our little children are subjected.
Another thing, a little boy who has just started to school at one of the new buildings told his father that the toilets were "simply filthy." How's that for the plumbing?
Let us have a new school building for the Washington School pupils, and for heaven's sake have it planned by an architect who knows something!
Then, won't someone who knows please tell us why trained teachers are not demanded? Why aren't the standards higher in this splendid big state, and why haven't these girls had a chance to properly fit themselves for the grandest of all callings?
"Communications," Medford Mail Tribune, February 12, 1912, page 4
Jackson's Population Climbs.
MEDFORD, Or., Aug. 10.--(Special.)--According to the annual school report of county school superintendent Wells, the population of Jackson County is increasing at the rate of 6 percent a year. In 1910-11, there were 6969 pupils enrolled in the schools of the county, while during the past school year there have been 7381, an approximate gain of 6 percent. Four new schoolhouses have been built and $103,383 has been paid out in salaries, while $85,966 was paid out a year ago. In making his official visits to the schools Mr. Wells declares that he has traveled 7176 miles in a year without going out of the county.
Sunday Oregonian, Portland, August 11, 1912, page 6
TOO MUCH TIME ON NONESSENTIALS IN PUBLIC SCHOOLS
To the Editor:
I see in yesterday's paper a criticism of the various so-called "supernumerary" textbooks in use in the fifth year of the grammar school. While the writer was a little facetious at times, it seems to me there is much merit in his criticisms. We are told the average school life of a child in Oregon is about six years. Now, if that be true, the fifth year must be the end-all of school life with many.
I have observed the work of many pupils of this grade, and I am convinced much, too much, of their time is spent in studying microbes, diseases and their causes, courses and treatments; the philosophy of history and economics. Large encyclopedias are brought into use, and their investigations are made to cover a university range. Also I have observed that reading and spelling are severe tasks for them, and when children are away on vacation their letters home glitter with misspelling of the most common words. When struggling with a difficult problem, it often seemed as difficult for these children to perform the operation as to know what operation to perform.
The textbooks forced upon our long-suffering children and their teachers seem to call for culture, culture, culture. The system ignores largely the foundation, while already the beautiful, artistic outside and upper finish is being laid on. Too much veneering before the body structure is built.
I rather incline toward the old-fashioned way of teaching reading. Every student read each day. Reading was done with mathematical precision as to pronunciation. There were contests in reading, also much concert reading, and many classic selections were learned by rote and used as basis for further drills and to build up perfect pronunciation with perfect articulation, and for the further purpose of weeding out crudities and mishaps in naming words. Of course, this required time, much time. This left but little time for a fifth grade boy to run down the atomic component parts of a molecule of an organic compound, and but little opportunity to trace out the germs of the Magna Carta in the various ramifications of the history of the Anglo-Saxon world. Neither did it leave many hours each day to acquire the power to force every mouthful of food into its proper classification as nitrogenous, carbonaceous etc.
Reading is the great implement by which most knowledge in the schools and ever after is acquired. An able and delicate use of this implement ought to be the heritage of every man or woman, and it must come to such in the early years of school life. There are few good readers in this day and age. If present methods are pursued there will be almost none a generation hence. Good reading seems in course of ultimate extinction.
The same may be argued with regard to the teaching and study of arithmetic. To acquire skill in adding and subtracting seems to be relegated to manhood years. A great banker told me that young men must invariably learn anew the fundamental operations of arithmetic on entering the bank as an employee.
The teachers have no time for drills. A child gulps down a case of problems and hurries to the next, and so on to the end. Involution and evolution engage his attention while he remains an imbecile of inaccuracy in everyday calculations. No, I am not faulting our teachers. They work like fighting fire to "make the grades." The course of study is packed with big books treating with university subjects, and the law must be upheld that positions may be held. Culture will follow in due course, but true education must begin with a solid mastery of reading, writing, arithmetic and spelling. That is the way Abraham Lincoln began.
PATRON.Medford Mail Tribune, September 9, 1914, page 5
Medford papers announce the closing of the Washington School in that city for fumigation, following the discovery of four or five cases of smallpox. The disease is said to be of such light form that it causes but slight inconvenience to the patient.
"Local News," Jacksonville Post, March 20, 1915, page 3
NAMPA EDUCATOR CHOSEN
V. Meldo Hillis to Be Superintendent of Medford Schools.
MEDFORD, Or., April 7.--(Special.)--V. Meldo Hillis, of Nampa, Idaho, has been unanimously chosen by the school board as superintendent of the schools of Medford for the approaching year. Mr. Hillis is a graduate of Indiana State University and Normal School, 38 years old, and a man whose life has been devoted to education. He spent Sunday and Monday in Medford and will return in the early summer to begin preparations for the pending school year.
Mr. Hillis will succeed U. S. Collins, who has held the position for six years.
Morning Oregonian, Portland, April 8, 1915, page 14
BOUNDARIES FOR MEDFORD SCHOOLS IN COMING YEARFor the benefit of patrons and students who are not familiar with the school districts of the city, Supt. Hillis has submitted for publication the boundary lines of each district.
Washington SchoolBeginning at the western extremity at Locust Street, the line extends east on Fourth Street to the intersection of Grape Street, thence south on Grape Street, thence east on Main, thence on Central Avenue south to the limits of the district.
Jackson SchoolBeginning at the western extremity of Locust Street, east on Fourth Street to the intersection of Grape Street; thence east on Main to the S.P.R.R., thence north to the limits of the district.
Lincoln SchoolThe Lincoln district comprises all that territory lying between the S.P.R.R. and Bear Creek and north of Main Street.
Roosevelt SchoolBeginning at the northern extremity of the district on a line following Bear Creek; thence west on Main to the Intersection of Central Avenue south; thence south to the limits of the district.
Enrollment on MondayIt is urged that all pupils report for enrollment Monday morning in the district in which they live except the eighth grade of the Roosevelt School, who will report at the Lincoln School, and the eighth grade of the Jackson School, who will report at the Washington School. The Washington School will be able to take care of all the grades in its district from the first to eighth inclusive.
High School Registration SaturdayA slight change has been made in the opening routine of the high school. The freshmen, irregular pupils and pupils transferring from their high schools should register Friday before 2 o'clock if possible. The general registration will take place on Saturday from 9 to 12 and from 1 to 2:00. School will open Monday for a short session; all pupils are expected to be on hand promptly at 9 o'clock.
Medford Mail Tribune, September 9, 1915, page 6
Medford School Board Post Filled.
MEDFORD, Or., Jan. 6.--(Special.)--At a recent meeting of the school board, J. W. Berrian was selected to take place of B. F. Mulkey, who recently moved to Portland. Owing to the crowded condition of the high school it was decided to use certain rooms in the grade schools for the overflow. It is probable that a junior high school will be formed.
Morning Oregonian, Portland, January 7, 1916, page 6
Supt. V. Meldo Hillis of the Medford schools has tendered his resignation, to take effect June 30. Lack of harmony with the school board is assigned as the reason for the resignation.
"Local News," Jacksonville Post, February 16, 1918, page 3
Superintendent William Davenport of Park River has been elected superintendent of schools in Medford, Oregon, a city of about 15,000. He will have about sixty in his teaching force. We are sorry to lose Supt. Davenport from the state, but wish him every success.
"News and Personals," The School of Education Record, University of North Dakota, June 1918, page 76
Superintendent William Davenport of Medford, Oregon, formerly of Park River in this state, has been re-elected at Medford on a two-year contract at salaries of $2750 and $3000 respectively. Supt. Davenport expresses appreciation of the Record. His friends in North Dakota are glad to note his success.
"News and Personals," The School of Education Record, University of North Dakota, June 1919, page 76
School Budget Again Rejected.
MEDFORD, Or., July 11.--By a vote of nearly 4 to 1 the citizens of Medford defeated the 1919 school budget for the second time at yesterday's election. Members of the school board threaten now to close two of the city school buildings.
Morning Oregonian, Portland, July 12, 1919, page 11
H.S. GIRLS START CRUSADE AGAINST MODERN STYLESA back to normalcy movement has been started in the high school through spite work on the part of the girls towards the boys and the youths on their part retaliating in kind, and there is no telling just where the feud will end, but so far it has convulsed all Medford with laughter. The superintendent and faculty try to put on serious faces and frown on the extravagant action of both sides, but ever and anon glide into some out-of-the-way nook to give vent to their real feelings.
Recently Miss Margaret Cottrell, member of the faculty who has charge the Y.W.C.A. activities, asked the boys to write their opinions of the modern garb, style and facial makeup of the girls. The masculine element of the school went at this very distasteful task with avidity and use of strong and superlative language. What they didn't say about the girls wearing short skirts, low necks, hair over ears, fancy stockings, paint and powder would not be worth reading.
These written answers were read to the girls by Miss Cottrell yesterday with the consequence that the fair ones waxed more indignant the longer they talked and thought over the horrid criticisms. Hence it was that [as] a rebuke to this masculine criticism and to show the boys that they were not so smart as they thought themselves, about fifty of the young ladies came to school this forenoon garbed in the plainest and most old-fashioned clothing they were able to find, hair done up plain and carefully brushed back from the ears, and with an absence of powder, paint and rouge from their faces.
Did this faze the boys? Far from it. They had a card up their sleeves, owing to the fact that someone had tipped them off last night to the girls' plans. Hence they, too, appeared at school today in a very plain garb, wearing ranch or hunting boots, old-fashioned turndown collars and the like. Some of them were so grotesquely costumed that they were ordered home by the faculty.
The next move is up to the chagrined girls.
"I fear it won't last," said Miss Cottrell today, "but the girls look very sweet and the absence of makeup is particularly refreshing."
Medford Mail Tribune, March 24, 1921, page 8
SCHOOL BOARD BUYS MEDFORD BASEBALL PARKAnnouncement has just been made that the Medford school board, through its special committee, John C. Mann and Joseph O. Grey, has contracted for the purchase of the former Medford baseball park from Court Hall and Mrs. Chas. Young at a price of $3700, on which a payment has been made, the balance to be paid for in two years' time.
In making this purchase for use as a public school athletic field and eventually to be the site of a new high school building when conditions become imperative for such a building the board killed two birds with one stone. The grounds, three or four acres in extent, are located on Second Street off North Holly St., and constituted the last available space of land close in which was suitable for an athletic park.
It is planned to use the funds contributed last spring to build bleachers at the Jackson School athletic ground, together with other contributions, which will be sought from the public, to fence in the grounds just purchased and erect a grandstand or bleachers before next fall, in time for the opening of the high school football season.
Medford Mail Tribune, June 22, 1921, page 8
STUDENTS ISSUE APPEAL TO BUILD NEW HIGH SCHOOL
We want a new high school!
We want a new high school!
The public seems to think that as long as we "get along" with the present building, and seem not to raise much of a fuss, that it will be all right not to build a new high school.
It may do, but as far as being convenient, commendable and comfortable it is far from it.
The rooms and assembly are too small; with large incoming classes, everything is entirely too crowded. Even the teachers have to divide their rooms with each other. The rooms are poorly lighted and the heating is very irregular.
The stage is too small for the high school plays that are presented, so extra money must be spent in renting the Page Theatre. The Natatorium must be rented for use as a gymnasium, as there is none in the high school building. This entails an expenditure of twelve hundred dollars a year.
When the rainy days are here the roof of the building leaks; crocks, jars and buckets have to be placed on the floor to catch the drops. The ceilings of some of the rooms look as though they might fall any moment.
Outsiders say that we are lacking in "pep," but we are not the only ones. The directors and public in general must be worse than we are in this line or they would have built a new high school building when it was first needed. If we had a new high school building we would be more enthusiastic, because pride produces contentment.
For amusements the public will pay plenty of money. Fairgrounds, race tracks and armories are voted plenty of money, but when it comes to building a new high school building they cease to smile, turn their backs, and close their purses with a snap.
Let the public get behind this proposition and--push.
Let's have a new high school in Medford!
THE STUDENTS OF THE MEDFORD HIGH SCHOOL.
Medford Mail Tribune, February 23, 1922, page 3
The Need of a New High School
To the Editor:
For many winters our old brick high school has stood, and we have watched the gradual growth of our little city and vicinity. During recent years many fine buildings have been built around us, for instance, the public library, a new hotel, several garages. Recently the people as a body completed a campaign for building a large fairground and race track. This is all very splendid for the betterment of our industry and progress, but what about our educational system?
We have a highly trained faculty, we have up-to-date instruments and books to use in our study, but our school building is of the type that leaks so badly when it rains that we have to borrow buckets and watch the teacher spend her time in placing them so that the floors will not become water-soaked. It might yet be possible with several hundred dollars expenses to create a new roof making the building fit for a warehouse.
On the other hand our school is very poorly equipped. Our rooms are so few in number and we have no basement or place for a gymnasium. Every time a team practices basketball or football they have to go out in the suburbs or rent the use of the Natatorium. Here is another obstacle. If the school did not have to rent the Nat floor and if we had one of our own, we could easily improve the financial affairs of our school.
The football boys must go miles to practice. It is almost supper time when they arrive at the field. Much valuable time is lost in this way.
If we had a gymnasium in our school much of the time the boys spend standing around in the halls could be used in practicing shooting baskets. Inconvenience of this kind tends to decrease the efficiency of our basketball team and thereby impairs their chance for victory. Then the people wonder why Medford High School doesn't win more basketball games. It is because we haven't the same opportunities to employ our skill as other schools have. The public must help to bring about modern conveniences as found in other up-to-date institutions and then we can put Medford on the map. Now our hands are tied and our brains cramped.
Medford Mail Tribune, March 4, 1922, page 4
Medford Mail Tribune, February 23, 1922, page 3
A New High School for Medford
By B. F. Lindas.
The most important duty of any community is to properly educate its children. A city may boast of its commercial importance, of its bank clearings, of its hustling citizens, of its many natural advantages, but unless along with it, it has the means of taking care of the educational training of the youth it will not be attractive to the best class of people, it will not long appeal to the highest type of citizenship and it will soon deteriorate to a third-class town.
It is true that Medford has a wonderful future before it. It is well advertised along many lines; it has natural advantages, both scenic and commercial, that will help it grow into a real metropolis, but unless it gives more thought to education, it will miss developing that subtle atmosphere of refinement and culture that is half the charm of living.
It is difficult in this day and age to properly educate without the proper facilities. With a crowded school, a poorly equipped school, with students and teachers alike harassed by the inconveniences of disorganized classes, there is a lowered morale that does not speak well for the town.
Medford has some real spirit among its pupils and teachers. It does one good to attend an athletic contest and listen to the enthusiastic support given the teams, but how much better it would be if the people of Medford could catch some of that same enthusiasm and say to the boys and girls, "We are going to give you the finest high school that our money will buy. We are going to give you every advantage that you could get in any town of the state. We are going to make you as proud of us as we are of you." Do this, and I'll venture to say you will create a debt of gratitude in the hearts of these men and women of tomorrow that will return a hundredfold all that we do for them.
It is true that many will say that we can't afford it, that we have a heavy indebtedness now, etc. But what are the facts of the matter? Here is a list of the cities of the state about the size of Medford and here is how their bonded indebtedness for school districts stands.
Now how can we, in the face of this showing, keep insisting that we cannot afford a new high school? Suppose we do put an additional burden on our shoulders. Can't we do what other towns have done? Are we to be so parsimonious that we can afford to see the splendid young men and young women of Medford crowded into a poorly equipped, out-of-date, and dilapidated structure, while the other cities of Oregon are giving their youth every attention?
We can put over things in Medford if we desire. We have one of the best paved and best lighted cities in the country; we have recently raised money for a fairgrounds and an armory, now let us all pull together for a new high school; for a school that will place us on the map as alive educationally as well as commercially. It will be the best investment we ever made. If necessary, let us prune our expenses in every other line, but let us be open-handed and liberal when it comes to such an important matter as education.
So we want to ask for the cooperation of every live citizen of Medford. We want you to take an interest in this; to agitate for it; to work for it; to insist on it. Don't say a few words about it and forget it. Keep at it constantly until we can say to every prospective newcomer, "You can come here with your children, you can make a home here and enjoy the beauties of the surroundings, can partake of the hospitality of the splendid people who live here, can make a living here and build a business here, and better than all else you can give to your children every advantage along educational lines that they can get anyplace else in the West." This is the one missing link in the wonderful chain of golden opportunities that lies all about the metropolis of the most beautiful valley in America.
COMMITTEE OF HIGH SCHOOL PARENT-TEACHER ASSN.
B. F. Lindas, Chairman.
Medford Mail Tribune, March 16, 1922, page 3
The installation of fire escapes at the Jackson and Roosevelt schools was completed yesterday. Until this year the lower rooms of these two buildings were all that were put into use, but with the completion of the rooms upstairs fire escapes had to be provided. They are the spiral fire escapes and should eliminate practically all danger of accidents in a rush.
"Local Briefs," Medford Mail Tribune, October 3, 1924, page 3
Aubrey Smith, former well-known superintendent of Medford's public schools, is now principal of the Daniel Webster grade school, which has 18 school rooms, of Oakland, California, having assumed that position which pays him a salary at least equal to the one he received as head of the Medford schools last September. The family removed to Oakland from here that month.
"Local and Personal," Medford Mail Tribune, November 7, 1926, page 2
With construction already under way for several weeks, the rebuilding of the Howard School building between Medford and Central Point on the Pacific Highway is showing good progress. Wooden forms are now being removed from a large concrete addition to the original brick structure, which has been partially razed. The increase of families in the surrounding district made a larger school necessary.
"Local and Personal," Medford Mail Tribune, June 14, 1927, page 2
Howard School To Be As Modern As Any in the Valley
After an expenditure of $10,000 in addition and improvements, the Howard School in Berrydale will be an up-to-date educational institution. The present space is being doubled, and some conveniences are being installed that will be welcomed by instructors and students.
The new addition is 66x37 feet in size and has been divided into two classrooms opening out into a long corridor on the west. Other innovations and additions are making the Howard School an attractive and commodious seat of learning.
The brick portion will be kalsomined. New entrances are being made and the entire building is being completed with an artistic design to the end that the the $10,000 is being wisely spent. Gus Guddatt is the contractor in charge.
Medford Daily News, June 26, 1927, page 1
April 10, 1927 Medford Mail TribuneOn the highway adjoining Hollywood Orchard stands Oak Grove School, or District 69. This fine building is the pride of the district, as it is one of the most modern district school buildings in the county. It is an attractive structure finished in stucco, one story and full high basement (half above the ground), in which are an assembly hall and a kitchen. Improvements were recently completed on the school building involving an expenditure of $14,000. The officers for the past year, I was informed, [are] Mrs. George Andrews, Alva Brockway and Dr. G. B. Dean, C. A. Hiles, clerk. Mrs. Ruth Hood was principal, assisted by Mrs. Mabel Thornton and Miss Murl Coffeen. The Parent-Teachers' Association furnished a model kitchen in the basement, buying utensils, electric range, silverware and banquet tables, which were presented to the school. It is a grade school, graduating the pupils from the eighth grade. It is thought that another teacher may be needed next year and the rooms increased to four.
"Prosperous Ranches, Nice Homes Along the Jacksonville Highway," Medford Mail Tribune, July 9, 1927, page 3
January 1, 1928 Medford Mail Tribune
The Modern New Howard School
Furnished with the latest equipment, the new Howard School on the Pacific Highway between Medford and Central Point is one of the most modern rural schools in Jackson County.
Approximately $14,000 was expended to make the new building possible, the old brick structure erected in 1922 being used as the south end. A remarkably increasing school enrollment made the expansion necessary.
The structure is 124 feet long and 40 feet wide, contains four classrooms and a basement in which is located a large recreation room, heating plant and water plant. The ceilings are twelve feet high, and new ventilating systems, which operate through specially constructed cloakrooms, have been installed in each of the classrooms, which are equipped with new blackboards having a cork strip along the top for the pinning of papers and special chalk holders along the bottom to eliminate all unnecessary chalk dust.
The outside walls are finished in cream with green trimmings. Two small cupolas on the building, where they are used for ventilation purposes, have gold-colored tops surrounded by gay-colored fireproof asbestos shingles. The yard is to be attractively landscaped with a lawn and shrubs.
A flagpole donated by the Owen-Oregon Lumber Company was raised directly in front of the building. The installing was done by the California-Oregon Power Company. It is 72 feet high and is set on a specially constructed concrete base which does not allow the pole to rest in the ground. The people and the school board are highly appreciative to the Owen-Oregon company for the gift and the Copco for raising the same.
While only three teachers have been employed for this year, it may be found necessary to add another to meet an enlarged enrollment. The faculty is composed of Mrs. Minnie Law, principal; Mrs. Alice Owens, intermediate grades; Mrs. C. C. Goldsberry, primary grades. The first two named are residents of Medford, while the latter is a resident of Central Point.
The school board is composed of Mrs. Ellen Benson, chairman; E. G. Miller, E. E. Stump and Mrs. A. C. Walker, clerk. The district boundary goes as far south as the Owen-Oregon logging railroad tracks, taking in a portion of the sawmill, including the office building near the highway, and on the north runs near the Central Point city limits. Its boundaries on the western and eastern sides are more or less irregular.
The district was established in 1912 and took in territory which was formerly served by the Medford and Central Point school districts. When the school was opened the enrollment was small, and for some time only one room in the two-room building was used. Six years ago, when Mrs. Walker took over the duties of clerk, the school had only 28 pupils, and the present figures show there are 139 children of school age in the district.
E. E. Stump had charge of the construction of the new building.
Medford Mail Tribune, October 6, 1927, page 3
There are 16 one-room schoolhouses in operation in Jackson County, according to figures at the county school superintendent's office, where it was also revealed that there are 11 schools with two rooms and four schoolhouses in the rural districts with more than two. Schools of larger size, including high school, are located in 11 districts.
"Local and Personal," Medford Mail Tribune, February 19, 1929, page 2
Valley School Will Open with 50 Pupils Sept. 8th
The Valley School, a children's day school on Siskiyou Heights, will open Monday, September 8, with about 50 pupils enrolled. This is the sixteenth year the school has been conducted, and will be the third year in the new building. The studio, built during the last school year, provides a place for presentation of dramatic and musical programs.
The school has grown rapidly in the past several years, having originated when three parents desired that their children have individual attention. The first school was conducted in a room at the Hotel Medford.
Since then the attractive five-room building has been erected at Groveland Street in the Siskiyou district. A recreation shelter is also a part of the school, where physical activities may be carried out on rainy days.
Faculty members include Mrs. W. L. Van Loan, principal; Miss E. Marie Foss, Miss Katherine Starr and Miss Naomi Hohman. All the members have had special training in connection with their duties at the school and are quite capable of directing the students' education.
Miss Foss, a graduate of the Oregon Normal School, who took advanced work in the University of Minnesota, will be in charge of the pre-primary and primary children. She has had five years' experience in primary work and has had special work in art.
Another graduate of Oregon Normal School as well as the University of Oregon is Miss Starr, who will have charge of the music and dramatic work, and has already made a number of plans for programs during the winer, which will make it possible for all pupils to participate.
French and nature study will be the special work conducted by Miss Hohman, who has her degree from the University of Oregon. She will also have charge of the intermediate grades.
Mrs. Van Loan, principal, has had advanced work at the University of Oregon, having graduated from the Oregon Normal School. She will teach the advanced group and supervise all playground activity. Mrs. Van Loan was formerly with the Salem school system.
Alfred S. V. Carpenter is chairman of the board of trustees, the other members being Floyd Hart, F. Corning Kenly, Dr. George Dean and David Rosenberg. Members of the board of managers are Mrs. Wheldon Biddle, chairman; Mrs. Alfred S. V. Carpenter, Mrs. Milton Feasley and Mrs. Floyd Hart.
Medford Mail Tribune, August 30, 1930, page 8
Public Bids Farewell to Washington School,
Once Building Pride of City
Through a doorway opened for the last time to the public, residents from all sections of Medford entered the Washington School Friday evening to view again the rows of desks from which they graduated, one to another, in the early days of their education, before they fall under the hammers of wreckers next week, when the seat of learning will give way to the affairs of court.Haskins, Isaacs, Warner Made Music History
Hostesses for open house were Miss Amy Harding, principal of the school, and her staff of teachers. Hundreds of guests were led from room to room, up stairways and down, over boards more accustomed to the trudging of smaller feet.
Vine-framed windows, through which many leading citizens gazed longingly upon the neighboring park back in the old days, were glimpsed again. Lost spelling bees, forgotten tardy slips, and marbles "for keeps" returned to importance. And the cares of the present-day business world faded away in favor of remembered baseball games.
Dreams of touchdowns, followed by glory, returned to many; success in the world of art and letters to others. Hopes of uniforms, some of them realized, were recalled, along with first fears of the echo of Teacher's voice.
Mothers and fathers of children who recently started down the pathway of learning in the old brick building, which has maintained its position in the heart of city traffic, joined the visiting throngs.
Next week the vines which have protected it from the hurry-scurry of the business world, attempting to conceal its purpose, will be torn away, and brick by brick the Washington School will be razed.
Its successor is already under construction on Dakota and Peach streets and will house the many children who have added, subtracted and taken their morning stretches on Main and Oakdale when school opens for the fall term.
The new Jackson County Courthouse will stand on the old Washington School plot.
Medford Mail Tribune, May 31, 1931, page 6
in Washington School Band
(By Eva Nealon)
Brick by brick the Washington School is disappearing under the hands of hurrying wreckers, whose work is only halted by rainstorms which howl about its lowering shell. Walls which cast a proud shadow over fields of foxtail and chaparral back in '96 are giving way to civilization. Jarred by the vibration of heavy traffic down Main and Oakdale, they take their place upon the ground, soon to be occupied by a new courthouse.
On one jagged side the lower half of a group of letters remains to spell for a few more hours the title of the building to the public.
The belfry is completely gone, and with it the echoes of "noise" Leon Haskins brought from his old bass horn. And the boards on which Wilson Wait sat to sound his trumpet as Medford's best-known citizens marched into school with pockets loaded with paper wads and nails.
"There weren't any dirty chords in school then," the former students stated this morning, "but there was some band."
Wm. F. Isaacs played the baritone horn, and Wm. Warner played the snare drum. Saxophones had not invaded the student ranks, and there were no "Piccolo Petes" in the gang.
The school building housed all grades from the first through high school, and the principal ruled all.
The shoes of N. L. Narregan, one of the most frequently mentioned masters of the early days, will never be forgotten, especially by Clarence Meeker, he admitted yesterday.
A short time before Mr. Narregan joined the staff a principal had been thrown from the windows of the building which preceded the Washington School, by student force. Mr. Narregan took the new job prepared to meet the offenders and continued to command their respect.
He traveled from room to room for inspections, and all the "timid" boys feared the approach of his squeaky shoes, which sounded a warning. Then one day Mr. Narregan joined the rubber-heel fad, and his approach was not announced. That day holds a prominent place in Mr. Meeker's memory.
Several similar events are recalled by Frank Isaacs, who says he got a licking every day and had it coming. He helped transport more than one cow to the belfry on Hallowe'en nights and contributed his share of paper wads to decorate the ceiling.
Several worn spots in the official "blacksnake" of the school are also accredited to Shorty Miles.
The jackrabbits which inhabited the neighboring chaparral bushes furnished the boys and girls much fun until the lot was cleared for a baseball diamond, several report. The wooden water tower, which stood where the city library is now located, also distracted many eyes from readin', writin' and 'rithmetic.
Several teachers share first honors in memory with Professor Narregan, according to interviews with local business men. They are Della Pickel, Alba Galloway, Professor Gregory and Grace Hall, who is now superintendent of schools in Lake County.
The list of fellow pupils, whose names are woven into various stories of the old days in the rapidly disappearing building, reads like a social and business directory of the city.
Among those who watch the razing of the structure, crowded from its location by the progress of the business district, and recall first struggles with the multiplication tables, are John Wilkinson, James Stewart, Clara Wood, Ralph Woodford, Fred Strang, Virgil Strang, Mrs. J. H. Cochran, Miss Mae Phipps, Mrs. "Doc" Butler, Mrs. Volney Dixon, Mrs. Dade Terrett, Mrs. Hal Platt, Treve Lumsden, Vernon Vawter, Mrs. E. C. Gaddis, William Vawter, Mrs. Leon Haskins, Scott Davis, John Johnson, Mrs. Leon Howard, Mrs. C. A. Meeker, Mrs. George Kunzman, and hosts of other well-known people.
Medford Mail Tribune, June 17, 1931, page 3
LINN, GLENN L.
Principal, Medford Junior High School.
b. Portland, Oregon April 5, 1906; son of William E. and Maud D. (Morton) Linn; educated public schools; Pacific University A.B. 1929; University of Wisconsin; Alpha Zeta, Phi Alpha Tau, Blue Key; m. Lucille Davis of Sherwood, Oregon Aug. 22, 1931; children Penny, Cheryl; began as science instructor Tigard (Oregon) Union High School 1929-37; superintendent of schools Umatilla 1937-40; principal Medford Junior High School 1940 to date; Lion (past secretary, president, director); past president Junior High School Principals Association; director YMCA; vice-president Jackson County Oregon Education Association; Mason; Republican; Episcopalian; home 119 Washington; office 2nd and Oakdale, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 346
Details of School Openings in Medford Told by SuperintendentAll Medford public schools will open Monday, September 19, City School Superintendent E. M. Hedrick reminded parents today.
Pupils for grades one through six will report to their respective schools at 8:50 a.m. for registration. Elementary enrollment is to be completed by noon and pupils will be dismissed for the day. Regular grade school classes will commence on Tuesday.
High Schools Start
On the other hand, Hedrick reported, junior and senior highs will start Monday with their regular programs throughout the day. Students in the secondary schools had been registered previously. Classes begin at 8:30 a.m. at the senior high and at 9 a.m. at the junior high.
New additions on several of the four elementary buildings will not be completely ready for the opening day of school, according to Hedrick, but temporary measures will be used to handle all students in a full daily program.
Two elementary school districts will transport children to Medford. Dewey will deliver pupils to Roosevelt School. Kenwood will deliver to Lincoln.
Textbooks are furnished to pupils of the elementary and junior high schools. These will be distributed at time of registration in the several schools of the city. In high school a rental system for textbooks is maintained.
Medford city schools provide several forms of special education to serve needs of handicapped pupils in the district. Parents having children who are physically handicapped, or who need any form of special education and who were not in Medford last year, should call the city school offices (phone 4068) next week so that provision may be made for them.
The room for the physically handicapped will be moved this year from the junior high school to Washington School but will not open until September 26. Mrs. Catharine Walker is the teacher.
Two other special adjustment rooms for remedial instruction will be open this year. One taught by Mrs. Loma Hanson for grades 1 to 6 will be located in Jackson School; the other for grades 7 to 9 will be in the junior high school.
The following elementary schools house grades ones to six: Roosevelt, Lincoln, Jackson and Washington.
Roosevelt School serves all territory east of the center line of the Pacific Highway. Lincoln School serves that portion of the city west of the Pacific Highway and east of the Southern Pacific railroad track.
Jackson School serves the northwest part of the city, that portion which lies west of the Southern Pacific railroad tracks and north of the center line of West Main Street and the Jacksonville Highway.
The Washington School serves the southwest part of the city or that territory lying west of the railroad tracks and south of the center line of West Main Street and Jacksonville Highway.
Report To Schools
All elementary pupils should report to their own schools Monday morning as determined by their residence. The junior high school serves the entire city for grades seven, eight and nine. The senior high school likewise serves the entire city for grades ten, eleven, and twelve.
At the senior high new teachers are Helen Coulter, Jean Harlow, Valborg Duckstad, Paul W. Parr, Frank E. Roelandt. Arthur E. Scott and Vern F. Wolthoff. New at the junior high are Clifford McLean, C. Gordon Morris and Leslie Palfrey.
New Elementary Teachers
New elementary teachers are Norma Elder, Mary Howell, Lucille Hulburt, Anna Reed, Ruth Jablonski and Ernest Ludwig at Roosevelt School; Mary Gestring, Zola Jordan, Robert Raymond and Catherine Walker at Washington School; Robert Baccus, Kathryn Crandall, Donald D. Lavis, Loma Hanson, Faye Manley, Ruth Meniketti, Alice Ward and Margery Wilson, Jackson School and James Akerill, Letha Backes, Myndret C. Busack, Hazeldean Hohensee and Marion Rice.
Other faculty members are:
At the high school, Principal Lester D. Harris, Josephine Kirtley, Constance Schauer, Juanita Anderson, George Barnum, Louise Basford, Robert J. Bennett, Grace Berg, Ryder Berg, Scott Brill, Elsie Butler, Marjorie Butler, Melba Chehack, Olivia Claypool, H. F. Cope, Delphie Cox, Olive Curry, Gertrude Fredrickson, Paul Gasparotti, Ruth Gray, Hazel Hatley, Yvonne Keith and Alberta Loiland.
Alex McDonald, L. A. Mentzer, I. A. Mirick, Jacquoise Moore, Mabel Nansen, Robert Newland, Laura Phillips, Lee Ragsdale, Leslie B. Robertson, Elizabeth Settle, Jo Anne Smith, Fred Spiegelberg, Robert Stedman, DeVere Taylor, Johnnie Van Scoy, Lorraine Veidt, Delie Whisenant, and Dorothy Wilson.
At Junior High
At the junior high, Principal Glenn Linn, Ethel C. Scott, Ann Drysdale, Maxine Berryman, Melvin Boldenow, Hazel Bosshard, Larry Brunette, Don Darneille, Darrell Davis, Louise Davis, Agnes Deaver, Ruth Ella Dickerson, Lois Dorland, Annette Gray, Cecelia Gustin, Thelma Halverson, Lucille Hill, Gertrude Holmes.
Albert Huntemann, Bernice Kunzman, Ray Lewis, Gladys Loyd, Ruth McCollister, Maude Robinson, Mildred Rogers, Maxine Smith, Niles B. Smith, Dorothy Sneed, Ethel Thompson, Vern Voss, Marjorie Votaw, Virginia Wait, Marvel Yung and Dolores Yunker.
At Roosevelt, Principal John Childers, Edamae Adamson, Mary Coffin, Esther Fliegel, Eleanor Hamilton, Norman Hillyer, Elizabeth Rice, Louella Schneider, Kathleen Silver, Frances Weaver.
At Washington, Principal Kenneth Hulburt, Marion Beeson, Ruby Clark, Leona Crane, Georgia Davis, Roy Gilbertson, Lysle Gregory, Benita Gundry, Grace Kirtley, Kathryn Larison, Alice Lynch, Frances McNeil, Myrtle Patterson, Dora Mae Shepard, Jennymae Sherwood, Gertrude Watzling, Margaret Wilson and Laura York.
At Jackson, Principal H. W. Gustin, Ruth Bolton, Nina Carlon, Eunice Gray, Alliean Maxwell, Precia Medley, Shirley Mitchell, Ivah Murray, Ruth Stewart and Della Weber. At Lincoln, Principal Vincent P. Bevis, Yvonne Dugan, Norma Ebnother, Ann Laura Honts, Esther Keen, Mary Norvell and Marjorie Shelton.
Medford Mail Tribune, September 16, 1949, page 6
Old St. Mary's School Building To Disappear
The St. Mary's School building's 44-year service as a high school and convent is soon to end. Building inspector's office records show that a permit to demolish the old school has been taken by Sacred Heart Church.Original Enrollment 116
In 1908 the academy, as it was known until recently, was moved to the then-new building at 321 West 11th Street, according to the Very Rev. John M. Berger. Previously St. Mary's Academy had been in Jacksonville, where it was established in 1865. It was moved when Medford became more heavily populated than Jacksonville.
The school's original enrollment at the 11th Street site was 116, with 23 boarders and 93 day students, Father Berger said. The registration this year was over 400.More Floor Space
The old building is giving way to a new, larger school being built on the same property. Father Berger said he expected the new building to be completed and ready for operation by fall.
The new building has been built virtually around the older building. The L-shaped building has been constructed along Ivy and 11th streets between the old school and the sidewalks.
Although the old school had one more floor than the new one, it had hardly half the floor space. The building under construction will have nearly an acre of floor space--43,000 square feet. The building soon to be demolished had only 25,000 square feet.
Father Berger said demolition of the old building will begin when salvage arrangements are completed.
The new building, he added, will accommodate 18 resident sisters and two guests.
Medford Mail Tribune, July 4, 1952
CAN YOUR BABY SITTER PASS THIS TEST?
By LESLIE CAMERON
The city of Medford, Oregon, with a population of about 25,000 people, probably can honestly claim that it has the most competent and reliable baby sitters in the country.
They are all teen-agers and graduates of a high school baby-sitting course that has been taught since 1955 by a "faculty" made up of a police captain, the director of safety and first aid, the dean of girls, the school nurse and a member of the P.-T.A.
Before a teener can become a certified sitter, available only through an employment office in the high school, he or she must be able to cook and serve simple meals, prepare a variety of baby formulas, bathe, dress and diaper a baby, apply first aid for cuts and minor injuries, and give artificial respiration.
And before the would-be sitter gets a "diploma," he or she must pass a written examination and two oral tests with a mark of at least 85 percent.
How do you think you, or the sitter you hired last week, would make out on the following questions taken from these tests? Score 5 points for each correct answer. If you score less than 40 you'd have a hard time getting a baby-sitting job in Medford, Oregon.
Are these statements true or false?
1. If you hear strange noises, or think someone is prowling about the house, don't call the police until you're sure you're right.
2. It's all right to let a stranger into the house if he tells you that he is a friend of the family.
3. If you get lonely, don't call some of your friends on the phone and hold long conversations.
4. Leave the latch off the door so your employers can get in if they arrive home late and you should fall asleep.
5. In an emergency it is all right to leave the child alone for a few minutes.
6. In case of fire, first call the parents and then the fire department.
7. If the phone rings while you are bathing the baby, wrap the child in a blanket and take it along with you while you answer the call.
8. If you have given a child a dose of medicine and he doesn't retain it, give it another dose.
9. It is not necessary to check on a sleeping child oftener than once an hour.
10. Give a restless child any toy he wants if it will help him get to sleep.
Answers1. False. Always call the police if you are in doubt about strange noises.
2. False. Never allow anybody but members of the family into the house.
3. True. Don't tie up the phone. Your employers may want to reach you.
4. False. Always keep doors locked and shades drawn when you are alone.
5. False. In an emergency, always take the child with you if you leave the house.
6. False. Get the child, or children, out of the house, call the fire department, then the parents.
7. True. Never, under any circumstances, leave a baby alone in its bath.
8. False. It might be dangerous to repeat the dose.
9. False. The sitter should check up on the child at least every half hour.
10. False. Never give a child sharp toys on which he could hurt himself, or toys small enough to be swallowed.
American Weekly, March 2, 1958, page 2
Last revised July 19, 2021