The Infamous Black Bird Southern Oregon History, Revised

Who Was Who in Southern Oregon

Historical Record of the Early Settlers of this Valley.

    We copy the following history of the pioneers of Southern Oregon from the records of the society as kept by the Secretary--S. J. Day. A number of the members have failed in furnishing their biographies up to this time, and as a full record is desired, those behind should give it in at the next annual reunion to be held in Jacksonville next September:
    John E. Ross, born in Madison County, Ohio, on the 15th of February, 1818. Emigrated to Oregon, in 1847, from Illinois, engaged in farming.
    James M. Sutton, born in Morgan County, Illinois, June 29, 1830, emigrated to Oregon in 1851, from Illinois, arrived in Rogue River Valley in 1854; died November 1879. Editor.
    Frederick Heber, born in Wirtanberg, Germany, July 26, 1811. Emigrated to the U.S. June, 1823, and emigrated to Oregon in the fall of 1852 from Weston, Missouri. Engaged in farming.
    Alexander M. Berry, born in Lancaster County, Pa., January 16, 1817. Emigrated to Lancaster, Ohio, in 1820, thence to Indiana, in 1832, thence to Oregon in 1852, arrived at Portland Sept. 4, 1852 and at Jacksonville Oct. 21, 1852. Engaged in farming.
    Lucius Danforth, age 53 years. Emigrated from Rock Island County, Ills., and arrived in Oregon Oct. 20, 1847. Physician.
    James Hamlin, born in Lewis County, Kentucky, April 1, 1815. Emigrated from Marion County, Iowa, and arrived in Oregon, Oct. 12, 1852. Engaged in farming.
    James N. T. Miller, born in Kentucky Oct. 10, 1826, and emigrated from Missouri to Oregon in 1845. Engaged in farming.
    John B. Wrisley, born in Bennington, Vermont, August 16, 1819. Emigrated from Ills. to California Aug. 22, 1849, and arrived in Oregon Oct. 15, 1852. Engaged in farming.
    Burrell B. Griffin, born in Kentucky, 1808, and emigrated to Missouri in 1835, and arrived in Oregon in 1848 and in Rogue River Valley in June 1852; died in 1881. Engaged in farming.
    Granville Naylor, born in Jackson County, Ind., Feb. 16, 1822, and emigrated from Iowa to Oregon in 1851. Engaged in farming.
    James A. Cardwell, born in Jackson County, Tennessee, Feb. 22, 1827, and emigrated from Iowa to Oregon in 1850. Engaged in farming.
    William M. Mathews, born in Westmoreland County, Pa., Nov. 1, 1829, and emigrated from Pa. to Oregon and arrived in Rogue River Valley in 1852. Engaged in farming.
    Samuel D. Van Dyke, born in Pa., Aug. 7, 1809. Emigrated to Iowa in 1845 and from thence to Oregon and arrived in Rogue River Valley Sept. 22, 1852; died August 13, 1880. Engaged in farming.
    Emerson E. Gore, born in Windham, Vermont, and emigrated from Lee County, Iowa, to Oregon and arrived in Rogue River Valley Sept. 22, 1852. Engaged in farming.
    David Dunlap, born in Logan County, Ohio, Dec. 24, 1828. Emigrated from Iowa and arrived in Oregon Oct. 5, 1852. Engaged in farming.
    Joseph P. Parker, born in Wooster County, Mass. Emigrated from Missouri and arrived in Oregon in Sept. 1852 and in Rogue River Valley in 1854; died June 17, 1882, aged 66 years, 7 months and 22 days. Engaged in farming.
    Haskel Amy, born in New Hampshire in 1826 and emigrated to Oregon in 1852. Engaged in farming.
    John Watson, born at St. Stephens, New Brunswick in 1823. Emigrated via Cape Horn in 1849 and arrived in Oregon in 1852. Engaged in farming.
    James McDonough, born in Green County, Pa. and emigrated from Washington County, Pa. and arrived in Oregon in April 1852. Engaged in farming.
    Andrew Davison, born in Fountain County, Ind. in 1832 and emigrated thence and arrived in Oregon Dec. 13, 1852. Engaged in farming.
    James W. Simpson, born in Elizabeth Town, Hardin County, Ken., Aug. 16, 1827. Emigrated from Mo. to Cal. in 1849 and arrived in Oregon in Oct. 1851. Engaged in farming.
    S. C. Taylor, born in Mass. in 1828 and emigrated from Winnebago County, Ills. and arrived in Oregon in 1853 and in Rogue River Valley Oct. 27, 1853. Engaged in farming.
    Jerome B. Coats, born in Carter County, Penn., Nov. 8, 1829, and emigrated from Springfield, Ills. and arrived in Oregon in Oct. 1854; died Dec. 12, 1881.
    William Hoffman, born in the city of Baltimore, Maryland, Sept. 7, 1801 and emigrated from Covington, Fountain County, Ind. across the plains and arrived in Rogue River Valley Oct. 27, 1853. Notary.
    Thomas Smith, born in Kentucky, and emigrated from Texas to Cal. in 1849, and from thence to Oregon and arrived in Oregon June 7, 1851. Engaged in farming.
    L. J. C. Duncan, born in Blount County, Tenn., Nov. 1, 1818, and emigrated from Georgia to Cal. in 1849, to Ogn. in 1850, and to Rogue River Valley in Dec. 1851.
    Kaspar Kubli, born in Nestall, Canton Glarus, Switzerland, Aug. 1, 1830, and emigrated to the U.S. and arrived in New Orleans in 1852 and from thence to Oregon about Oct. 1, 1853. Merchant.
    E. Dimick, born in Morgan County, Ohio, July 21, 1836, left Rushville, Schuyler County, Ills. April 6, 1852 and arrived at Portland, Oregon in the fall of 1852. Hotel keeper.
    Lewis Calhoun, born in Muskingum County, Ohio Dec. 25, 1820, and emigrated to Oregon in 1849. Laborer.
    David Linn, born in Guernsey County, Ohio Oct. 28, 1826, and emigrated from Ills. and arrived in Ogn. in Sept. 1851. Cabinet maker.
    John M. McCall, born in Washington County, Penn., Jan. 15, 1825, emigrated to Iowa in 1842 and crossed the plains to Oregon in 1850; wintered in the Willamette Valley and went to the Yreka mines in 1851 and has resided in Jackson County since 1852. Merchant.
    C. K. Klum, born in New Trenton, Franklin County, Ind. Sept. 2, 1829, and emigrated from Louisa County, Iowa to Oregon in 1847. Saddler.
    E. J. Farlow, born in the state of Ills. April 24, 1851, and emigrated to Oregon in 1852. School teacher.
    James C. Tolman, born in Washington County, Ohio March 1, 1813, and emigrated from Ottumwa, Iowa to Oregon in 1852. Farmer and tanner.
    Oliver C. Applegate, born in Yamhill County, Oregon June 11, 1845.
    Theodric Cameron, born in Madison County, New York June 21, 1830, and emigrated from Iowa and arrived in Oregon Aug. 14, 1852. Merchant.
    Eli K. Anderson, born Monroe Co., Ind. Dec. 20, 1826, and emigrated to Cal. in 1849 and arrived in Ogn. Jan. 5, 1852. Farmer and miller.
    Jasper Houck, born Aug. 27, 1829 at Wallse on the Rhine, Germany. Emigrated to the U.S. and arrived at New Orleans in 1839, from thence to St. Louis, Mo. and to Cal. in 1849 to Oregon in 1852. Hotel keeper.
    B. F. Dowell, born in Albemarle County, Virginia Oct. 31, 1826, and emigrated to Oregon April 27, 1850. Attorney at law.
    James J. Fryer, born Oct. 19, 1828, in the city of Norwage, Eng., and emigrated to Long Island, N.Y. in 1837, to Wisconsin in 1848, to Iowa in 1850 and to Oregon 1851 and Jacksonville June 1852. Engaged in farming.
    Levi Tinkham, born in Rochester, Mass. in 1821, and emigrated to Oregon in Sept. 1850; died Dec. 2, 1880. Engaged in farming.
    P. J. Ryan, born in Tipperary County, Ireland May 1, 1830, arrived in Oregon in 1852. Merchant.
    D. Hobart Taylor, born in Ashtabula County, Ohio, Sept. 4, 1831, emigrated to Oregon (Rogue River Valley) Oct. 27, 1853. Engaged in farming.
    Peter Britt, born in Switzerland March 12, 1819, emigrated to the U.S. in 1845 and to Oregon in the spring of 1852, arrived in Jacksonville Nov. 9, 1852. Photographist.
    Joseph F. Ruark, born Oct. 15, 1827 in Henderson County, Kentucky; ranger in the Mexican War, crossed the plains to Oregon in 1850.
    Mrs. Rhoda T'Vault, born in Warren County, Ky. Nov. 19, 1810, arrived at Oregon City Oct. 14, 1845.
    Wm. L. Colvig, born Sept. 19, 1814 in Louden County, Virginia, emigrated from Platt County, Mo. and arrived at Portland, Oregon Sept. 22, 1851. Physician.
    Helen M. Colvig, wife of Wm. L. Colvig, born at Hartford, Conn. Sept. 16, 1816, emigrated from Platt County, Mo., arrived at Portland, Oregon Sept. 22, 1851.
    William M. Colvig, born in Ray County, Mo., Sept. 2, 1845, emigrated from Platt County, Mo., arrived at Portland, Oregon Sept. 22, 1851.
    Rufus Ball, born in Cambridge, Mass. May 20, 1812, sailed from Boston Jan. 14, 1849, sailed from San Francisco in 1851 for Trinidad, formed a party (Geo. T. Vining being one), started for Oregon over the mountains and arrived at Fort Perkins in this valley Dec. 8, 1851, only two houses in the valley at that time. Engaged in farming.
    Wm. Bybee, born in Clark County, Kentucky April 20, 1830. Arrived in Cal. July 17, 1852 and got to Rogue River Valley in 1854.
    C. C. Beekman, born in New York City Jan. 27, 1828, emigrated from Dundee, Yates County, N.Y., to Cal., and from thence to Jacksonville, Ogn. in March 1853. Banker.
    Alexander J. Watts, born Oct. 29, 1831 at Brashear Furnace, St. Lawrence County, N.Y., from whence he moved to Sangamon County, Ills. in autumn of 1833, thence to Oregon in 1851, crossing the plains and settled in Josephine County, Ogn. in 1853 and resides there still. Surveyor.
    Rial Benedict, born Mar. 21, 1822, in Genesee County, N.Y., moved to Crawford County, Penn. in 1837, thence to Kane County, Ills. in 1843 and emigrated to Ogn. in 1852. Engaged in farming.
    Henry W. Clayton, born in Perry County, Ohio April 13, 1812, went to Iowa in 1837 and from there to Ogn. in 1853.
    N. H. Clayton, born Dec. 18, 1845, Van Buren County, Iowa, and came to Ogn. in 1853.
    Isaac Miller, born Feb. 8, 1806 in Carter County, Tenn., thence went to the Territory of Ind. in 1808, thence to Montgomery County, Ind. and from thence to Ogn. in 1848. Died, he and his wife Elizabeth Miller, Feb. 26, 1878.
    Gilbert G. Anderson, born July 15, 1853 in Monroe County, Iowa and emigrated from thence to Oregon in 1854.
    William G. Parker, born Ills. July 18, 1845, arrived at the Dalles in Ogn. in the fall of 1852 and to Rogue River Valley in 1854.
    Claiborne Neil, born in Claiborne County, Tenn., arrived in Ogn. Sept. 1853.
    William Kahler, born in Louden County, Virginia, emigrated to Oregon in 1852, was raised in Morton County, Ohio, from which state he left for Oregon. Engaged in farming.
    J. H. Chitwood born in Jefferson County, Ind. in 1824 and emigrated to Oregon in 1853.
    B. F. Miller, born July 31, 1832 in Hamilton County, Ohio, from thence to Morgan County, Ills., from thence emigrated to Oregon in 1854 to the Willamette Valley and in Dec. 1854 arrived in Rogue River Valley.
Oregon Sentinel, July 8, 1882, page 3

Historical Record of the Early Settlers of this Valley.

    We copy the following history of the Pioneers of Southern Oregon from the records of the society as kept by the Secretary--S. J. Day. A number of the members have failed in furnishing their biographies up to this time, and as a full record is desired, those behind should give it in at the next annual reunion to be held in Jacksonville next September:
    Margaret J. Miller, wife of B. F. Miller, born in Morgan County, Ill. December 1838. Emigrated to Oregon in 1854 and arrived in Rogue River Valley in 1857.
    J. B. Thomas, born August 22, 1821, in Cooper County, Missouri; emigrated to Oregon in 1847 and resided in Linn County twenty years and came to Jackson County in 1867.
    Addison Helms, born in Montgomery County, Virginia August 20, 1825, went to Illinois in 1848 and from thence to California in 1849 and thence to Oregon in March 1855.
    Charles W. Savage, born in the state of Maine December 8, 1826; spent several years in seafaring and crossed the plains with Col. Fremont's company, to California, in 1845, and from thence came to Oregon in 1846.
    Daniel F. Fisher, born in Augusta County, Virginia December 28, 1817; moved to Missouri in 1836, thence to Louisiana in 1840, thence to California in 1849, thence to Oregon in 1851.
    Thomas F. Beall, born in Montgomery County, Maryland August 27th, 1827 and moved to Illinois in 1835, thence to Rogue River Valley, Sept. 27, 1852.
    Paine P. Prim, born in Wilson County, Tenn. May 1, 1822, and emigrated to Oregon in the fall of 1851 and arrived in Rogue River Valley in the spring of 1852.
    Robert V. Beall, born in Montgomery County, Maryland, from thence parents moved to Springfield, Illinois in 1835 and thence I came to Oregon, arrived at Oregon City July 18, 1852 and in Rogue River Valley in September, 1852.
    J. W. Manning, born in Richland County, Ohio May 3, 1838, from thence to Missouri, from thence to Rogue River Valley in 1852.
    James Thornton, born in Tippecanoe County, Indiana May 29, 1827; emigrated to Iowa in 1835, crossed the plains in 1850 and arrived in Rogue River Valley in 1851.
    Thomas Wright, born in Kentucky Oct. 22, 1822, emigrated to Missouri in 1824, and thence to Oregon. Arrived in Oregon in 1851 and in Rogue River Valley in March 1852.
    George W. Mace, born in the state of Maine August 21, 1828; emigrated to Pike County, Illinois in 1836, thence to California in 1850 and thence to Rogue River valley in 1853.
    J. P. McDaniel was born in Hickman County, Kentucky, May 14, 1840, arrived in Oregon October [illegible date], 1852.
    [illegible name], born in the town of Munson, County of [illegible] in the state of Vermont on the [illegible] day of February 1808; emigrated to the state of Illinois in 1834, came across the plains in 1853 and arrived in Rogue River Valley October 9, 1853.
    Silas J. Day, born in Anne Arundel County, Maryland, April 3, 1826; emigrated to Oregon July 5, 1853.
    J. H. Huffer, born in Washington County, Maryland August 12, 1834; in his infancy his parents moved to Tippecanoe County, Indiana, came to Oregon, Rogue River Valley in October 1852.
    Samuel R. Taylor, born in Mount Carmel, Illinois February 16, 1828; emigrated to Oregon and arrived at Portland in the fall of 1852 and came to Rogue River Valley in the spring of 1853.
    David L. Hopkins, born New Brunswick, [omission] September 19, 1823, emigrated to California in 1850 and came to Oregon in October 1850, and to Rogue River Valley in 1851.
    James H. Russell, born in Tennessee, April 5, 1823, emigrated to California in 1849 and came to Rogue River Valley in the winter of 1850 and '51.
    Asa G. Fordyce, born in the state of Illinois in the year 1816, emigrated from Iowa to Oregon in 1853, to Rogue River Valley.
    Milo Caton was born in Cayuga County, New York, January 27, 1827. Arrived in Oregon October 17, 1852.
    A. K. Williams was born February 8, 1819 in Ohio; came to Portland, Oregon in 1849 and to Jackson County in 1854.
    Miles S. Wakeman was born on the 25th day of Oct. 1829 in Dutchess County, New York; same to San Francisco in 1850 and to Oregon October 5, 1855.
    Mrs. Zany Ganung was born in Madison County, Ohio February 15, 1818, and emigrated from Illinois to Oregon in 1847.
    George W. Isaacs, born in Lincoln County, Middle Tennessee, January 12, 1831, came to Oregon in 1852, first to this valley, then to Benton County, and returned here in 1858.
    Thomas G. Reames was born in Hart County, Kentucky in 1839. Arrived in Oregon September 1, 1852.
    Evan R. Reames was born in Macoupin County, Illinois April 5, 1850. Arrived in Oregon September 1, 1852.
    E. D. Foudray, born in Fleming County, Kentucky January 8, 1823, came to California in January 1850, and to Rogue River Valley September 1852.
    R. A. Cook, born in Blount County, Tennessee, on [the] 31st day of May 1833, came to Oregon in June 1853, and to Rogue River Valley June 18, 1859.
    J. P. Tuffs, born in Washington County, Maine, January 12, 1825, came to this coast June 28, 1850, and to Rogue River Valley in 1851.
    Simon Bolivar Hull, born in Ypsilanti, Michigan March 20, 1833, thence to western Iowa, and crossed the plains to Yamhill County, Oregon in 1853 and arrived in Rogue River Valley Nov. 13, 1854.
    John O'Brien was born in County Galway, in Ireland, May 15, 1828. Emigrated to U.S. in 1847; landed in New York, from thence to Vermont some year, from there to Wisconsin, left Wisconsin and arrived in Oregon in the fall of 1852.
    John B. Griffin, born Jackson County, Oregon September 14, 1853, joined the Pioneer Society July 28, 1881.
    Arthur Langell, born in Nova Scotia, June 6, 1829. Arrived in Oregon in the fall of 1851.
    Albert Alford, born in Sheridan County, Missouri May 4, 1833. Arrived in Oregon in the fall of 1850.
    Catherine K. Alford, wife of A. Alford, born in Sheridan County, Missouri. Arrived in Oregon in the fall of 1850.
    Almira A. Cook, wife of R. A. Cook, born in Christian County, Kentucky February 27, 1833. Arrived in Oregon June 1853, and in Jackson County June 18, 1859.
    John Beeson was born in Lincolnshire, England Sept. 15, 1803. Emigrated to New York in 1830, and to Rogue River Valley in 1853.
    Thomas Snee, born in Pittsburgh, Pa. August 1821. Came to California in 1849 and arrived in Rogue River Valley in 1853.
    M. Hanley, born in Guyandotte, W. Va. June 1824, arrived on this coast 1850 and in this valley 1852.
    R. J. Cameron, born in Madison Co., New York June 27, 1829; emigrated to Iowa in 1839 and to Jackson Co., Oregon in 1852.
    J. Leslie, born Longford Co., Ireland in August 1814. Came to California in 1849 and to Rogue River Valley in 1851.
    W. C. Myer was born in Jefferson Co., Ohio April 22, 1818. Emigrated from there to Van Buren Co., Iowa April 1843, arrived in this valley overland Sept. 3, 1853, crossed the plains twice on horseback, nine times by rail and twice over the Isthmus of Panama.
    U. S. Hayden was born in Saybrook, Conn. July 8, 1810, sailed from New York around Cape Horn and arrived in San Francisco in 1849. Came to Oregon in 1850 and arrived in Rogue River Valley in 1850. Died in Jacksonville, January 31, 1879.
    John Holton was born in Westminster, Windham Co., Vermont, July 6, 1817, where he remained until Sept. 9, 1835, when he removed West, arriving at McDonough Co., Illinois Dec. 16, 1835, remaining there until the spring of 1837, when he removed to Burlington, Iowa, remaining in Iowa most of the time until he crossed the plains, arriving in Rogue River Valley Oct. 9, 1853, remaining until April 1847. Went East and returned, crossing the plains in 1860, arriving at Wagner Creek Aug. 25, 1860.
    Veit Schutz, born in Bavaria, Germany, Nov. 1, [blank], came to Oregon in the spring of 1852.
    Sam'l. Phillips, born in Wayne Co., Kentucky in March 1819. Emigrated to this coast overland in 1853 and arrived in Rogue River Valley in 1854, where he still resides. Engaged in farming and stock raising.
    Mrs. L. J. Plymale, born in Platte County, Missouri June 3, 1845. Crossed the plains in 1846 and arrived in Oregon October of that year and arrived in Southern Oregon in 1850, and [has] been a resident here since.
Oregon Sentinel, July 15, 1882, page 3

Our Legislators.
    The Statesman has published a brief biography of the members of the legislature, from which we take the following:
    Snider, A.--Lakeview, Lake and Klamath, age 60, born in Stuttgart, Germany, came to Oregon in 1868, merchant, postmaster, city councilman. Wants another judge for the first district. Boards at Z. M. Parvin's, corner Capitol and Chemeketa.
    McCall, J. M.--Ashland, Jackson, age 65, born in Washington County, Pa., came to Oregon in 1850, merchant, was member of house in '76. Is keeping his eye peeled on the road bill for Klamath and Jackson. Boards at E. B. McElroy's, Court Street, opposite the statehouse.
    Merritt, J. W.--Central Point, Jackson, age 38, born in Syracuse, N.Y., came to Oregon in 1875, merchant. Has no pets.

    Furry, Samuel.--Phoenix, Jackson, age 67, born in Pa., came to Oregon in 1860, farmer and stockraiser, been county commissioner, representative in 1882.

    Cameron, Theodric.--Uniontown, Jackson, age 61, born in Madison County, N.Y., came to Oregon in 1852, merchant and postmaster. State appropriations for wagon roads his hobby. Boards at Willamette Hotel.
    Cogswell, C. A.--Lakeview, Crook, Klamath and Lake, age 47, came to Oregon in 1869, born in Rutland, Vt., served during war as scout under General Logan, attorney, been county judge of Lake. Wants his labor bill to become a law. Boards at Prof. Parvin's, Chemeketa and Capitol streets.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, February 13, 1891, page 1

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 

Civic Leader
b. Shawnee Mound, Mo., Sept. 7, 1892; son of Henry Clay and Mary Belle (Skillman) Adair; educated Shawnee Mound, grade schools, Clinton, Mo., high school; m. Eva Coffinberry of Grants Pass, Oregon, April 7, 1919; began in retail store of B. G. Phillips Dry Goods Co., Clinton, Mo., 1912-15; with Golden Rule Store, Grants Pass, 1915-41, partner and manager, men's department; partner, Lee Coffinberry, the M M Dept. Store, Medford, to 1946; former councilman, Grants Pass; served U.S. Army, 1917-19; member state champion bowling team, 1941 tournament Klamath Falls which team had highest score on any state championship event; one of donors of 20-acre park to City of Medford, 1944, which is now being improved for an outstanding development in parks; member Chamber of Commerce, past president, Izaak Walton League; Rotarian; Legionnaire; Elk; Mason (past master Grants Pass, past High Priest Royal Arch, past Commander, Commandery); Hillah Shriner; past Patron Eastern Star; Republican; Baptist; home 924 W. Main; office, 218 E. Main, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 18

    DR. G. H. AIKEN: was born in the town of Ipswich, N.H., January 6, 1845; is one of the leading physicians of Jacksonville; here he arrived in 1871; in 1879 he married Miss Ida Martin of this county. Their only child, True, was born March 15, 1882.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 501

Businessman; Ex-Mayor of Medford; Civic Leader
b. Amanda, Ohio, May 18, 1881; m. Ina C. Cunningham, Oct. 25, 1908 (Mrs. Alenderfer served as confidential clerk of Selective Service throughout World War II); began as insurance salesman, St. Louis; later in electric business; with new business dept. California-Oregon Power Co., Medford, 1910-20; owned Peoples Electric Co. 1920-38; life insurance underwriter, Aetna Life, 1939-46; established Home Appliance Co. Jan. 1946 (partner of Mark Goldy and R. V. Finch); mayor Medford 1924-28; member city council 1922-24; president Chamber of Commerce 1929-30 (two terms); twice Exalted Ruler of the Elks, 1920 and 1930 (chairman Elks bond drives, World War II); potentate Hillah Shrine 1934; member Selective Service board, two years during World War II; Republican; Christian; home 139 N. Ivy; office 115 E. Main, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 23

    ALBERT ALFORD.--The subject of our memoir is a native of Chariton County, Missouri, and born May 4, 1833. Here he was educated. In 1850 he crossed the plains to Oregon, accompanying his parents, who settled in Linn County, where he married Catherine Brinker, on December 18, 1853. She was born in Missouri, on December 24, 1838. Mr. Alford continued to reside in Linn County up to 1869, when he came to Jackson County, Oregon, and settled near Table Rock. In 1874 he moved to Talent, and is now a resident of the place. He was elected county commissioner from Eden precinct in 1880, and re-elected in 1882, which office he still holds. A view of his residence can be found in another part of this work. His children are: Russell A., born March 16, 1855, Masas L., born April 27, 1857, Alice, born February 13, 1859, and Amanda O., born February 7, 1862.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 522

Albert Alford    ALBERT ALFORD is one of the early pioneers of this state and during the Indian wars of 1855 and 1856 he was one of the ready volunteers to expose himself to the dangers and hardships of camp life among the unsettled, mountainous districts in which the savage red man of the north had established his almost inaccessible haunts. He was born in Sheridan County, Missouri, on the 4th of May, 1833. and is the son of Thomas and K. (Culp) Alford, both of whom were natives of Tennessee. His mother died when he was but a small child. In 1850 Thomas Alford emigrated to the state, crossing the plains with ox teams. He arrived in Oregon late in the season and at The Dalles the members of his party took boats down the Columbia River and made their first settlement in Linn County. The cattle were driven down the trail from The Dalles. On reaching Linn County Mr. Alford filed upon a donation claim of three hundred and twenty acres, upon which he established his home and continued to reside until the time of his death, which occurred in the ninety-third year of his age. He was three times married. He chose as his second companion in life Miss Polly Williams, who unfortunately met her death on the plains during the time of their emigration to this state. He later was united in marriage to Miss Gaily, of Linn County.
    Albert Alford was reared in his father's home and acquired a limited education in the common schools of Missouri. He remained under the parental roof until he attained his twenty-first birthday. He then filed upon a donation claim of three hundred and twenty acres of land in Linn County. On this land he established his home and for many years was devoted to its development and agricultural pursuits. While a resident at that place the Rogue River Indian Wars became a menacing element to the settlers on the Pacific seaboard and he at once became a volunteer, enlisting in Captain Keeney's company, of which he was an orderly sergeant, and later became a part of the command of Captain Blakeley's company in 1856. This campaign was often attended with great hardships, and at one time during the winter of 1855 his company was snowbound in the mountains and for seven days were without food supplies of any kind. At the close of his service in the Indian wars he returned at once to his home in Linn County and reengaged in the improvement of his place. Here he continued to reside until 1869, when he disposed of the property at a handsome profit and removed to Jackson County and for five years lived upon a rented place at Tolo. He then purchased a farm of one hundred and sixty acres adjoining the town of Talent and on that place he continued to live until 1910, at which time he sold the property and built for himself and family a handsome home in Talent, where he is now living a retired life. He is one of the principal stockholders of the First National Bank of Medford.
    In 1853 Mr. Alford was united in marriage to Miss Catherine Brinker. Mrs. Alford is a native of Missouri and from that state emigrated to Oregon in the same train in which Mr. Alford was himself an emigrant in company with his parents to the Pacific coast. To Mr. and Mrs. Alford four children have been born: Russell, now at Klamath Falls; Moses, the first cashier of the First National Bank of Medford; Alice, the wife of L. F. Willetts, of Klamath Falls; and Ollie, the wife of C. W. Wolters, of Talent, this state.
    Mr. Alford is affiliated with the Republican Party and has served two terms as county commissioner and was a member of the county board at the time of the building of the new courthouse. Both he and his wife are members of the Baptist Church. Albert Alford is indeed one of the hardy pioneers of this state and among all his associates and friends he is known to be a man of integrity. His moral influence upon the community in which he lives is distinguished for its salutary and helpful nature in maintaining and building up a healthy community life among the people.
Joseph Gaston, The Centennial History of Oregon, vol. III, 1912, page 140

ALLEN, Albert Cooper, author, horticulturist; b. Nashville, Tenn., June 18, 1875; to Ore., Feb. 1904; University of Utah; m. Bessie McCann 1927; children--Mary Allen, Albert C.; commissioner Oregon State Board of Horticulture; Spanish American Water veteran; Republican, Protestant. Address, Medford, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930,
Oregon City Enterprise, page 23

Author; Horticulturist.

b. Nashville, Tenn. June 18, 1875; son of Col. L. C. and Kate Allen; educated public schools and army post schools; University of Utah; m. Bessie McCann, Portland Dec. 18, 1926; children Mary Allen and Albert C.; began as printer in Salt Lake City; later teller Wells Fargo Bank, Salt Lake City; associate Salt Lake Herald and Salt Lake Tribune; also correspondent Army & Navy Journal of New York; many years wildlife motion picture cameraman for Gaumont, Fox, Universal, Selznick Studios; to Medford in 1906; engaged in horticulture, owning, developing and operating Hollywood Orchards; active in Southern Oregon affairs; one of organizers of the Rogue River Fruit and Produce Association, serving as director, vice-president, president and manager; also operated a summer resort on Klamath Lake for two years; two years Postmaster, Rocky Point, Klamath County; 17 years member Oregon State Board of  Horticulture; now rancher, Lafalot on the Rogue; Sergeant Utah Volunteer Artillery 1898-99; corporal in infantry 1899, later 2nd lieutenant; served one year active duty Philippine Islands; one of organizers and first directors Medford Commercial Club; writer many short stories and articles for various publications; author "King of the Wilderness," "Little Shepherd of Lava Lake"; another book, "Meeko," in process of publication and soon to be distributed; Republican; Protestant; address Rt. 1, Box 480, Central Point
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, pages 23-24


Farmer and Author.

b. near Medford, Oregon, March 20, 1906; son of Albert Cooper and Lillian K. Allen; educated in public schools in Medford; m. to Eva Mae Jester, Rocky Point, Oregon July 10, 1929; son Albert Cooper III; was Horticultural Inspector for Jackson County; at present principal business is farming, two ranches, one near Ashland, and home ranch is "Lafalot-on-the-Rogue," Central Point; author of many articles to papers and magazines and of many short stories to various national magazines; Republican; Protestant; address Rt. 1, Box 480, Central Point
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 24

    JOSEPH ALNUTT: was born in Clay County, Missouri, 1833; he moved to California in 1853 and to Jackson County in 1874; Mr. Alnutt follows the occupation of salesman and is thus engaged in Ashland, where he resides with his family; in October, 1882, he was married to Nattie Mitchell. Children Wm. C. and Alva J.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 501

J. W. ALNUTT, manager of the planing mills of Ashland, was born in Ray County, Missouri, June 10, 1833. His father, William R. Alnutt, was born in the Bluegrass State and was of Scotch extraction. The mother, née Catherine Holman, was a native of Virginia, and her people were among the early settlers of that state.
    J. W. Alnutt, the third in the family of twelve children, is a California pioneer of 1853, having removed to the city of Sacramento in that year. He was engaged in teaming until 1854, the next five years followed mining in Sierra and Plumas counties, in 1858 engaged in farming near Clear Lake, Napa County, in 1871 he began the stock business in the Sierra Valley, thirty-five miles west of Truckee, and in 1874 came to the city of Ashland. For the first seven years our subject was employed in the Ashland Flour Mills, then the property of Jacob Wagner, but since that time he has devoted his time to fruit-raising. His property is located near the town, and the orchard consists of a general variety of choice and deciduous fruits. The products are sold to the local trade. Mr. Alnutt took charge of the planing mills as manager September 16, 1891.
    He was married in Ashland in 1882 to Mrs. Hattie Mitchell, née Youmans, a native of New York. Mrs. Alnutt has two children by her former marriage: William C. and Alvia Mitchell. By the last union there is one child, Joseph M.  Socially, Mr. Alnutt affiliates with the A.O.U.W., of Ashland, in which he has passed all the chairs. He takes no active part in political matters, but casts his vote with the Republican Party.

Rev. H. K. Hines, An Illustrated History of the State of Oregon, 1893, page 419

AMES, Lucile Perry (Miss), born Ashland, Wisconsin, November 30, 1892, daughter of Albert Strong and Lena Lancaster Perry Ames, a resident of Oregon for 15 years. Writer. Has published verse and articles in periodicals. Home: 423 Park Avenue, Medford, Oregon.
Max Binheim, ed., Women of the West, Los Angeles 1928, page 156

AMES, Lucille Perry, writer, composer; b. Ashland, Wisc., Nov. 30, 1892; to Oregon 1913; Republican. Address: 423 Park Ave., Medford, Oregon.

Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930,
Oregon City Enterprise, page 24

    HASKEL AMY.--Born in Vermont, on August 19, 1831. When quite young his parents took him to Knox County, Illinois, where he was reared on a farm and educated in the public schools. In the spring of 1852 he crossed the plains to Oregon, and settled at that time in Jackson County. In the fall of 1858 he purchased his present farm and took up his residence thereon, where he has continuously lived to the present time. He went to Illinois on a visit via the ocean route in 1866, returning the same year overland with a team. He married Mahala McDaniel on May 3, 1859. She died on September 19, 1861. The maiden name of his present wife was Jessie Bledsoe, to whom he was married in 1874. One child by his first wife, whose name is Frank. Two children by his second marriage, Laura and Albert. A view of the residence of this old settler is in this history.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 522

    E. K. ANDERSON: lives near Phoenix; is a farmer and miner; was born in Monroe County, Indiana; came to California in 1849; and to this state and county in 1852; was married January 9, 1856, to Elizabeth N. Myer. Children Laura V., Mary H., George N., Lena, Anna Bell, Dora E. and Sarah E.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 501

    ELI K. ANDERSON. Fast disappearing are the men whose pickaxes awoke the California echoes in 1849, and who subsequently lingered in the wake of the gold miners, and led such lives of peculiar hardship and adventure as will never again be possible in this great country of ours. Jackson County has its representatives whose courage seems almost incredible in the light of subsequent events, and it is safe to say that among them none is more truly typical than Eli K. Anderson, now engaged in farming, stock-raising and mining a mile west of Talent. Mr. Anderson arrived in California in the fall of 1849, at that time being twenty-three years old, an age particularly impressionable, ready to give hearty cooperation to new and promising schemes. He was born in Monroe County, near Bloomington, Ind., December 20, 1826, and when thirteen years old removed with his parents to Putnam County, Ind., where he lived on a farm until twenty years old. He then prepared for the future by learning the carpenter's trade, and was thus fitted to follow a useful occupation when the fever of unrest came to his neighborhood and made the slower occupations of farming and carpentering pale before the splendid promise of gold in the West.
    With two companions Mr. Anderson made the start in the spring of 1849, their equipment consisting of a wagon and three yoke of oxen, provisions and the necessary clothing. The outfit represented about all that the fortune seekers had in the world, and all went well until they reached the Sweet River. There one of Mr.Anderson's companions succumbed to cholera. Arriving in California Mr. Anderson went directly to the mines at Redding Springs. About Christmas he and three companions cut timber and paid $75 for a saw with which to whipsaw lumber. They then built a little skiff, with which they proceeded down the Sacramento River to the mouth of the Cottonwood, and there met Ben Wright and Nathan Olney, with some Oregon Indians. The men in question were notorious Indian fighters and were on the trail of other Indians encamped on the east side of the river. With the assistance of the new arrivals the capture was effected with little difficulty, every Indian with the exception of a squaw being killed by the steady aim of the white men. At this time the Sacramento was very high and the town was entirely under water, so that Mr. Anderson and his companions had little difficulty in disposing of their skiff, which netted them $500. They then proceeded to San Francisco, where they purchased a whaling boat, and after loading it with flour, took it to Marysville. This proved a remunerative undertaking, for they received fifty cents a pound for the flour and had no trouble in disposing of the entire lot. For six weeks Mr. Anderson hired out to build houses in Marysville, receiving $16 a day for his services. He and his friend, Mr. Templeton, next went to Clear Creek to put in a dam to prospect the bed of the river, but their project proved a failure, and they soon made their way to Trinity River, where they made $16 a day in the mines. In July a party of twenty joined them on the Trinity in a prospecting tour on the North Salmon River. Not finding what they were looking for, they started northward and discovered the Scott River digging. The 1st of September they went back to Shasta and spent the winter and in March, 1851, Mr. Anderson raised a company of twenty men and went to Scott River. On their arrival they found the mine overrun with miners, and turned to the North Salmon. About the middle of the month a heavy snow fell on the mountains, covering the trails. Provisions became scarce, and in the extremity of facing starvation they were obliged to eat their mules or anything they could find to sustain life. Although grouse abounded in great numbers, they were shy and hard to get. There was but one trading post at this place, kept by a man named Bess. The miners believing he had flour stored away, they appointed a committee to search his building, but found nothing. Bess went over the mountain to the South Salmon and there found a Spanish pack train loaded with flour. He secured the full amount and made a contract with the packers to deliver small quantities, for which he realized $3 per pound, limiting three pounds to each person.
    At Yreka, during the fall of 1851, an organized gang of horse thieves made the lives of the miners wretched, for they could never tell when they would wake up and find their trusted animals gone. Mr. Anderson became one of a band of twenty to follow and apprehend the men, among whom were three white men and two Indians. When the scouting party reached the head of the Deschutes River they found the Indians had killed the white men and taken the Indian trail down the Deschutes to the Columbia River. The vigilance committee were successful in their quest, finding sixty head of horses in an Indian camp, twenty-five miles above The Dalles on the Deschutes River, and at The Dalles they also found one of the Indians for whom they had been searching. The other Indian was captured on the Yakima River.
    In January, 1852, Mr. Anderson and his brother, James F., came to Jackson County and took up adjoining claims, Eli K. Anderson settling on the farm which has since been his home. The brothers built a cabin which both occupied, and which was so constructed that each half rested on a different claim. The brothers went to the Willamette Valley for garden seeds and grain, and that fall sowed some wheat and oats, which they brought on pack horses from Yamhill County. In the season of 1853 they had twelve acres under wheat, which brought them $8 a bushel. This wheat was tramped out with cattle, and fanned with a sheet. Mr. Anderson and his brother bought an interest in the flouring mill at Ashland. This proved a losing venture, for they were at a great expense refitting the mill. They paid $5 a bushel for wheat to convert into flour, which was sold for fifteen cents a pound. It is worthy of mention that this was the first flouring mill erected in the Rogue River Valley.
    In 1856 Mr. Anderson married Miss Elizabeth Myer, and about this time built a more pretentious house on his claim, this being in time succeeded by the present comfortable farmhouse in which the family live. Improvements were made as the harvests increased and met a more ready sale, and for a number of years they had the largest orchard and finest apples, peaches and pears in Southern Oregon; and Mr. Anderson's farm gives evidence of the years of faithful devotion to its cultivation. He is engaged in general farming and stock-raising, and has also engaged quite extensively in both placer and quartz mining, and at present owns the Forty-Nine Mine, and what is known as the Davenport and Fairview mines. Since 1860 he has been extensively engaged in building water ditches and now owns the Anderson Ditch, which takes water from Ashland Creek, three miles above the town of that name. Mr. Anderson was engaged in the merchandise business for a number of years in Ashland, with J. M. McCall, Wilshire and Atkinson, and also in the Ashland Woolen Mills, which were the only mills of the kind in this part of the country. He and his son, George N., owned the mills at the time they were destroyed by fire in 1896.
    Mr. Anderson cast his first vote for Zachary Taylor and has ever since been a staunch Republican. He has filled many of the local offices and serves as commissioner from Jackson County. He is a member of the Masonic lodge at Ashland. Eight children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Anderson, six of whom are living. Though approaching the age when retirement is considered by many men who have labored so zealously to acquire a fortune, Mr. Anderson still enjoys the best of health and has entire supervision of his farm. No man in his neighborhood bears a more honored name nor has any reached success through the exercise of finer personal traits.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 707-709

ANDERSON, Helen C., educator; b. Portland, Oregon., Sept. 4, 1897; B.A. University of Oregon; graduate work University of Oregon and University of California. Taught high school Oregon and California since 1919; dean of women, head of English department San Rafael, California 1924-26; dean of women Southern Oregon Normal School; State Teachers Association; Kappa Kappa Gamma; Rebekah. Republican. Protestant. Address: 1018 [Siskiyou] Boulevard, Ashland, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 24

    W. T. Anderson, county judge nominee, is a native of Virginia, and was born in the year 1835, and emigrated to Oregon eight years ago, and is a resident of Phoenix. He is a man of sterling qualities and true to the cause of reform. His name is a valuable acquisition to the ticket, and in his election the county would be well served.
"The Nominees," Medford Mail, April 22, 1892, page 1

ANDREWS, William Rudolph.

Lawyer. Res. 1722 First St.; office City Hall, San Diego, Cal. Born in Adrian, Mich, Nov. 23, 1850; son of Lyman Beach and Jane Lydia (Rowley) Andrews. Married to Hattie D. Frank in 1876. Attended public schools at Napa, Cal., 1859-61; Seattle Univ., 1866-69; studied law and was admitted to the bar at Seattle, Wash., in 1874. Engaged in practice in Spokane and in Cheney, Wash., 1881-84; moved to Medford, Ore., and continued practice until 1886, when he returned to Seattle, where he remained until 1897; moved to San Diego and has since continued in the practice of his profession. Deputy dist. atty., 1903-05; city atty., 1905-11. Member Masonic fraternity. Democrat.
Who's Who in the Pacific Northwest, 1913, page 324

    DWIGHT R. ANDRUS. To many active business men farming serves as a relaxation and diversion, its peace and general healthfulness contrasting helpfully with the mental worry and strain of other occupations. Such a man is Dwight R. Andrus, whom success has marked as her own, and who has made his home in Medford since 1896, having arrived in the state one year previously. Mr. Andrus occupies a home adjoining fifteen acres of land in the city limits, and is the owner of a fine ranch of sixty-five acres, probably one of the best-paying fruit ranches in the county. Devoting his land principally to apples and pears, he has seventeen hundred and seventy-five apple trees, including such well-known varieties as the Spitzenberg, that spicy and rare apple so long indigenous to the Hudson River country; the Newtown pippin, red cheek pippin, Ben Davis and other kinds equally well known. In the pear line he makes a specialty of Bartletts and Howells, having about two hundred pear trees. As before intimated, Mr. Andrus makes but a side issue of fruit-raising and small farming, and mention thereof serves but to locate him in a community of which he is a comparative newcomer as regards time, but as regards substantial standing and influence he is an old resident. One of the experienced mining men of the coast, he is at present superintendent, secretary and treasurer of the Bill Nye Gold Milling and Mining Company, incorporated for $600,000, and operating three miles south of Gold Hill on Galls Creek. Coal mining has also come in for a share of his enterprise, and in 1897 he was the fortunate discoverer of a coal mine on Evans Creek, now being operated by a company incorporated by himself and known as the Medford Coal Mining Company. The stock is owned by three men, and promises its promoters large profits, amply justified by the immense amount of coal already mined. In Klamath County Mr. Andrus owns three hundred and twenty acres of yellow and white pine, the preparation of which for the markets constitutes yet another industry in which he is extensively engaged.
    If Mr. Andrus' life in the state has been a busy one, it is but a continuation of an equally energetic existence elsewhere. He was born in Macomb County, Mich., July 23, 1844, and comes of an ancestry which has furnished incentive for well doing. His great-grandfather followed the banner of Washington in defense of colonial independence, enlisting in the state of Vermont, where he died on a farm which had long been in his possession and the home of his large family of children. His son, Elon, the next in line of succession, was born there, his patriotism finding vent in the War of 1812, in which he served as a corporal. Upon establishing his independent career he located on a farm in Cattaraugus County, N.Y., where Loren, the father of Dwight R., was born, and from where he removed to Macomb County, Mich., in 1828. Michigan was as yet a stranger to agricultural development of any importance, and the giant industries of fruit and lumber were as yet undreamed of in connection with its eventual supremacy. In the wilderness he made a home, tilled his land, and came to be a man of influence in the locality. In time the village of Washington reared its buildings and industries upon his land, and no name anywhere around carried with it greater weight than his, being associated with strong personal characteristics, exercised as an Abolitionist, Whig and Republican, and as a deacon and trustee of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In his youth education had not played an important part in his training, but his mature mind recognized its importance, and he left no stone unturned to place himself in touch with the literature and happenings of his time.
    Loren Andrus was six years old when his father moved to Macomb County, Mich., and his early training included hard work on the wild farm and a fairly good education in the early pioneer schools. Later he became interested in both mercantile and farming enterprises, and at the same time acquired a reputation as a Whig and Republican politician. The last five years of his life were spent in retirement in Detroit, Mich., where his death occurred in 1900, at the age of eighty-eight years. He married Lucinda Davis, a native daughter of New York state, and who died on the old home place in Macomb County in 1892 at the age of seventy-five. Louis Davis, the father of Mrs. Andrus, was born in Vermont and became an early settler of Cattaraugus County, N.Y., moving in after years to Macomb County, Mich., where he engaged in farming for the rest of his life. Mr. Davis met an accidental death at the age of forty-five while clearing his land. At the time he was holding a spike while his sons rolled a log onto the heap. Instead the log rolled on him, crushing his life out.
    The oldest in a family of three sons and four daughters, Dwight R. Andrus completed his education in the public schools, and at the outbreak of the Civil War was preparing to enter college. Much against the wishes of his father, he enlisted at the age of eighteen in Company B, Twenty-second Michigan Volunteer Infantry, and as a soldier in the Army of the Cumberland participated in the battles of Chickamauga, Chattanooga, all of the battles of the Atlanta campaign, and in spite of being present at twenty-six different encounters his only wound was a scratch across the knuckles, which failed to even leave a scar. He was mustered out at Nashville, Tenn., and discharged at Detroit, Mich., in 1865, afterward returning to his home with the firmly rooted belief that war was a terrible thing and ought to be avoided at any cost. The following year, in 1866, Mr. Andrus removed to Colorado and engaged in mining at Central City, and in 1868 pursued a similar occupation at Cimarron, N.M. In 1869 he arrived at Golden City, Col., engaged in a draying business a year, and then made his way to Macomb County, Mich., where he engaged in the hotel business at Junction until 1871. In 1872 he started a butchering business at Everett, Wash., and in the summer of 1873 went to the timber regions of Lake Superior, the same fall coming west again and locating on Fishermans Bay, Sonoma County, Cal. Here he interested himself in saw-milling and also clerked in a hotel, later filling the offices of deputy sheriff and constable. From 1875 to 1877 he mined in the Little Maud district, Mariposa County, Cal., and then, with the money he had accumulated, he located in Tuolumne County and became manager for the Clio Mining Company for a year. A return to Macomb County, Mich., resulted in his again settling in California in 1880, and in Inyo County he had charge of a group of mines for Frank Collins, of New York, for about four years. In 1884 he again visited Michigan, and soon after assumed charge of the San Miguel Mining Company's property at Telluride for five years.
    In December, 1889, Mr. Andrus engaged in the grain and wool-buying and shipping business in Macomb County, Mich., and was very successful, and remained there until coming to Oregon in 1895. For a year he lumbered in Crook and Polk counties, and in 1896 settled upon his present property at Medford. In Michigan he married Ellen Waterman, who died in Michigan, leaving a son, Charles, now living in Macomb County, Mich. In Medford, in January, 1902, Mr. Andrus married Mrs. Sarah Whitman, who was born in Indiana, and who as a child removed to Iowa with her parents. Mr. Andrus is public-spirited and socially inclined, making friends readily and retaining them by his sincerity and consideration. He is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic, thus representing the third generation of his family to fight for American independence and honor. Fraternally he is connected with Blue Lodge, No. 63, A.F.&A.M., of Michigan. After a resume of his life, to refer to the ceaseless activity and many-sidedness of Mr. Andrus were entirely superfluous. Of him it may also be said that he has invested all of his enterprises with characteristic energy and thoroughness, and that honesty and integrity have been his guiding watchwords.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 878-880

    Each community has its substantial citizens, representative of the spirit of enterprise that has been the dominant factor in the upbuilding of this great state. Actively associated with the mining interests of Southern Oregon was Henry E. Ankeny, deceased, who was the owner of the Sterling gold mine and was numbered among the most successful mining operators of this section of the state.
    Mr. Ankeny was born in West Virginia, April 29, 1844, a son of Alexander P. and Anna Ankeny, natives of Pennsylvania. They came to Oregon in the late '40s and located in Portland. The father became interested in the Wells Fargo Express Company and also engaged in the real estate business, in gold mining and in the lumber business and through the successful conduct of these various lines of activity he became the possessor of a substantial fortune, being classed with the men of wealth and prominence of his community. Whatever he undertook he carried forward to successful completion, and he knew no such word as fail. Long a resident of the state, he was an interested witness of its development and upbuilding and at all times lent his aid and cooperation to plans and projects for the general good. He passed away about 1890, having long survived his wife, who died about 1846.
    Coming to this state in his early boyhood, Henry E. Ankeny acquired his education in the schools of Portland, and when his textbooks were put aside he assisted his father in the conduct of the latter's extensive business interests. He was the possessor of large farm holdings at Klamath Falls, Oregon, and also owned and cultivated a farm of four thousand five hundred acres near Salem, to which he devoted his efforts and energy for a period of nineteen years, and he also operated a dairy and cheese factory. Upon the death of his father he took over the management of the Sterling gold mine in Southern Oregon, and for seven years he resided in the vicinity of the mine, bending every energy to its further development and winning substantial success in its conduct. In September, 1896, he removed with his family to Eugene, where he erected a fine modern dwelling at No. 212 North Pearl Street, which is still the family home. About a year prior to his death Mr. Ankeny retired from active business, owing to failing health, and he passed away on the 21st of December, 1906, at the age of sixty-three years. He had led a busy, useful and active life and in the conduct of his extensive and varied interests he not only won individual success but also contributed in marked measure to the upbuilding, development and prosperity of his section of the state. Being a man of resourceful business ability, he extended his efforts into various lines and in all business affairs readily discriminated between the essential and the nonessential and discarding the latter utilized the former to the best possible advantage.
    On the 10th of June, 1866, Mr. Ankeny was united in marriage to Miss Cordelia L. Stryker, a daughter of Henry F. and Mary A. (Hart) Stryker. The father was born in Auburn, New York, April 20, 1821, while the mother's birth occurred in Montgomery County, Wisconsin, July 3, 1827. The father was a physician and practiced at Kenosha, Wisconsin, until 1852, when ill health compelled him to seek a change of occupation. Thinking the milder climate of Oregon might prove beneficial, he crossed the plains to this state and located in Portland, where he engaged in the mercantile business for a time and then went to Vancouver, Washington, where he engaged in general merchandising the remainder of his life. He passed away December 31, 1861, while the mother's death occurred on the 2nd of December in the preceding year. Mr. and Mrs. Ankeny became the parents of nine children, of whom three are deceased: Alexander, Ruby and Rolin. Those who survive are: Cordelia R., the wife of John S. Orth of Medford, Oregon; Cora B., who is the widow of Frank Crump and resides in Medford; Nanie M., the widow of Roscoe E. Cantrell and a resident of Klamath Falls, Oregon; Frank E., also residing at Klamath Falls; Dollie A., who married Alfred H. Miller and resides at Medford; and Gladys, at home.
    Mr. Ankeny was a Mason of high rank, having attained the thirty-second degree, and at the time of his death the honorary thirty-third degree was about to be conferred upon him. He was likewise a member of the Mystic Shrine and in the work of the order took an active part, his life being an exemplification of its beneficent principles. In politics he was a Republican and in religious faith a Christian Scientist. He came to this state during the period of its early development and reclamation, and as the years passed his contribution to the work of progress and improvement became a valuable one. A patriotic and public-spirited citizen, he took a deep interest in everything relating to the welfare of the district in which he lived and was most earnest in his support of those projects which are a matter of civic virtue and civic pride. In his death Eugene lost one of its most honored and valued residents, one whose life history should prove of inspirational value to all who read it. Mrs. Ankeny still occupies the family home in Eugene and is one of the highly esteemed residents of the city. Like her husband, she is a Christian Scientist, and in her work as a practitioner of that faith she has been very successful.
Charles Henry Carey, History of Oregon, 1922, volume II, pages 538-543

    CHARLES APPLEGATE.--This early pioneer of Oregon and Douglas County was born in Henry County, Kentucky, January 24, 1806, and died in Yoncalla, Douglas County, Oregon, August 9, 1879. If all the events and experiences of this pioneer could be chronicled they would make interesting reading for the occupants of the happy homes that now dot the country which he found a wilderness and inhabited by little else than the savages and wild beast. Suffice it to say that now that his labors are ended, let the thronging thousands who shall enjoy this beautiful land remember that his strong arms helped to subdue this far western wilderness and prepared it for civilized man. When he was 15 years of age Mr. Applegate's parents moved to St. Louis County, Missouri, and in 1829 our subject was united in marriage to Miss Malinda Miller, and with her and a small number of emigrants started on May 15, 1843, for Oregon. The fall of that year found them settled in the Willamette Valley where he resided until 1850 when he came to Douglas County locating near the present site of Yoncalla, where he resided until his death.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 523

    DANIEL A. APPLEGATE. Throughout western Oregon the name of Applegate is honored and respected, being closely associated with the pioneer development of the state, and everywhere synonymous with thrift, enterprise and prosperity. A resident of Ashland, Jackson County, Daniel A. Applegate, the special subject of this sketch, holds an honored position in the municipality, being now, in 1903, president of the city council, and the acting mayor. Distinguished both for his own substantial life record, and for the honored pioneer ancestry from which he is descended, he occupies an assured position in the community, and is numbered among its valued and trustworthy citizens. A son of the late Daniel W. Applegate, he was born in Yoncalla, Douglas County, Ore., January 28, 1868, of good old Revolutionary stock, his great-grandfather, Daniel Applegate, having served as a boy fifer in the Revolutionary War, being with General Washington at Valley Forge, and at the siege of Yorktown.
    Jesse Applegate, the grandfather of Daniel A., was born in 1811, in Kentucky, and was there reared and educated. Removing to St. Louis, Mo., he followed the profession of civil engineer for several years. In 1843, as captain of a company, he crossed the plains to Oregon, settling in Polk County at first. In 1850 he located at Yoncalla, taking up a donation claim near Boswell Springs, where he improved a homestead and carried on a large business for those times in stock-raising and dealing. He was the pioneer civil engineer of the state, being the very first surveyor to locate here, and surveyed the road from Wallace to Fort Hall, which is now known as the Applegate Cut-off. He was very prominent in the early settlement of the state, and was a member of the first constitutional convention of Oregon.
    Born in Polk County, Ore., Daniel W. Applegate removed with his parents to Douglas County, and for many years was engaged in agricultural pursuits in Yoncalla. During the Civil War he served as second lieutenant of his company in the First Oregon Volunteer Infantry. Returning at the close of the conflict to Yoncalla, he continued farming for several years, and was subsequently employed in the railway service, first as mail clerk, and then as express messenger. On resigning this position he resumed farming, and was also engaged in mining until his sudden death, in 1896, at the age of fifty-two years. His death was probably due to heart failure, he having dropped dead while mining at Central Point. He married Virginia Estes, who was born in Iowa, and came, in 1853, to Oregon with her father, the late Elijah Estes, who took up a donation claim in Comstock, Douglas County, and there spent his remaining years. She survived her husband, and now resides in Drain, Douglas County. Of their union seven children were born, namely: Daniel A., the subject of this brief biography; Mrs. Minnie Barker, of Yoncalla; Roy, a former postmaster of Drain, where he is now carrying on a substantial banking and drug business; Ralph, of Drain; Mrs. May Scott, living near Roseburg; Alonzo, engaged in mercantile pursuits at Gold Hill, this county; and Cynthia, living at Drain.
    After completing the course of study in the public schools of Yoncalla, Daniel A. Applegate entered the Central Oregon normal school, at Drain, and was there graduated, in 1888, with the degree of B.S. Entering then the employ of the Wells, Fargo Express Company, as porter, he was stationed at Portland two years. Being then made express messenger, he was employed on different routes running from Portland, holding the position until 1899, when he was appointed agent at Ashland, an office that he has filled most satisfactorily ever since.
    While a resident of Drain, Mr. Applegate married Ella Cellers, a native of Missouri, and they have two children, namely: Mildred and Gladys. In politics Mr. Applegate is actively identified with the Republican Party, and takes a prominent part in municipal affairs. In December, 1902, he was elected to the city council from the second ward, and on assuming the duties of his office, in January, 1903, was elected president of the council, and is now acting mayor of the city.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, page 540

    APPLEGATE, HON. ELISHA L., of Ashland, is the oldest son of Hon. Lindsay Applegate, and came to Oregon with his parents in 1843. He was one of the founders of the Republican Party in Oregon, and was nominated for state treasurer on the first Republican state ticket, in 1858. He has been a member of the legislature, was a member of the first state central committee, a presidential elector in 1880, and frequently a member of state conventions, and for years was an effective campaign speaker.
Republican League Register, Portland, 1896, page 174

    HONORABLE LINDSAY APPLEGATE.--The subject of this sketch, whose portrait appears in this work, was born in Henry County, Kentucky, September 18, 1808. In 1820 the family emigrated to Missouri and settled near St. Louis. then a small French village. Educational advantages were poor, and as a consequence young Lindsay had received but little education up to his fifteenth year, when, with a few young associates, he escaped from home and enlisted under General Ashley, of St. Louis, for a trapping expedition to the Rocky Mountains. One division of the expedition with the heavy baggage ascended the Missouri River, while the remainder with pack trains proceeded by land. At the Pawnee town the river party was attacked and defeated by the Indians and driven back to Council Bluffs. Here young Applegate and others were taken sick and sent with the wounded back to St. Louis. After this he returned home, but his restless spirit longed for a more adventurous life than was there afforded him, and he followed trading on the Mississippi River for a time, then worked for a while in the newly discovered lead mines at Galena, Illinois, and afterwards served as a volunteer in the famous Black Hawk War under General Whiteside. In January, 1831, he was married, in Cole County, Missouri, to Elizabeth Miller, and soon after moved to southwestern Missouri, where he erected the first sawmill built in that part of the state. In 1843 he crossed the plains to Oregon, and became a settler in Polk County, where in 1844 he served as a member of the first volunteer company organized to protect the new settlements against the Indians. In 1846 he was one of the fifteen men who hunted out the South Road from the Willamette Valley to Fort Hall. He went to the newly discovered gold mines in California in 1848, making the trip by land, and returned the same year by water. In 1850 he raised a company and went with General Lane in pursuit and to the capture of the deserting regulars from Oregon City. In 1850 he moved to the Umpqua, where he served as special Indian agent under General Palmer. Captain Lindsay Applegate raised a detachment of Mounted Oregon Volunteers and was mustered into the service of the United States for the war against the Rogue River Indians on the 22nd of August, 1853. The detachment marched on the 24th of August from Winchester, Umpqua Valley, to Camp Alden near Table Rock, Rogue River Valley, the headquarters of General Lane, and thence to Myrtle Creek, Umpqua Valley, where September 7, 1853, it was discharged from the service. Mr. Applegate was mustered as captain of the company and was with General Lane when the treaty was made with the Indians near Table Rock. In 1859 he moved to the Toll House, Siskiyou Mountains, Jackson County and took charge of the toll road from that place to the California state line, which he then owned. In 1861, as a captain of the Rogue River volunteers, he went to the plains east of the Siskiyou Mountains to protect the emigrants coming to Oregon. Mr. Applegate was selected from among his compeers to represent Jackson County in the assembly of Oregon in 1862, and acted under Superintendent Rector as special Indian agent for Southern Oregon. In 1864 he was interpreter at the Klamath and Modoc treaty and in the ensuing year was appointed sub-agent and served at Klamath until 1869, when he was removed to make room for a military agent. As a proof of Mr. Applegate's unswerving honesty while acting as Indian agent we quote from his final discharge and last settlement. "Your account for disbursements in the Indian service from January 1, 1868, up to January 1, 1869, has been adjusted and a balance found due you of $42.01, differing that amount from your last account, as explained in the accompanying statement. Signed, E. B. FRENCH, Auditor."
    There are those who believe had Lindsay Applegate remained in charge of the Lake Indians all would have gone well and that the bloody drama of the Modoc War would never have been played. Mr. Applegate resides at his old home in Ashland, Jackson County, Oregon. He has one of those restless and strong spirits which hew out the way for civilization in the wilderness and who are nevertheless willing to aid liberally in promoting the refining influences of an advancing people.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, pages 522-523

    APPLEGATE, LINDSAY, was born in Henry County, Kentucky, September 18, 1808. In 1820 the family moved to near St. Louis. At the age of fifteen years he went with General Ashley on a trapping expedition to the Rocky Mountains. He also served as a volunteer in the Blackhawk War. In 1843 he crossed the plains to Oregon and settled in Polk County. In 1844 he was a member of the first volunteer company organized to protect the settlers from Indians. In 1846 he was one of fifteen who explored the southern emigrant route through the Modoc country to Fort Hall. In 1848 he raised a company and went with General Joe Lane to capture the deserting regulars. The same year he moved to the Umpqua and served as Indian agent under General Palmer. In 1853 he raised a company of mounted volunteers and was mustered into the United States service to fight the Rogue River Indians. He was present when the famous Table Rock treaty was made. In 1861 he was captain of a company that guarded the emigrant trail. For quite a number of years he was special Indian agent and sub-agent at Klamath. In 1869 a military agent was appointed, and three years later the Modoc War broke out. Mr. Applegate was one of the leading pioneer Republicans of Oregon, and helped organize the party in the state. In 1862 he was a member of the legislature from Jackson County.
Republican League Register, Portland, 1896, page 175

    APPLEGATE, CAPTAIN O. C., of Klamath Falls, is a son of Hon. Lindsay Applegate and a native of Oregon. He was captain of a volunteer company during the Modoc War. He has been a Republican all his life, and has continuously been a member of state and county conventions and central committees and delegate to league conventions. In 1892 he was a delegate to the national convention, and in 1894 a prominent candidate for nomination for the office of secretary of state. Captain Applegate is now the Republican nominee for joint senator for Klamath, Lake and Crook counties.
Republican League Register, Portland, 1896, page 175

    PETER APPLEGATE. As one of the oldest of the native-born citizens of Oregon, and the son of one of the earliest and most prominent pioneers of the state, Peter Applegate well merits honorable mention in this biographical work. A man of scholarly attainments, able and energetic, he holds an assured position among the leading men of Jacksonville, his place of residence. He is an expert civil engineer, and in the pursuance of his chosen profession he has surveyed a large part of Jackson County, and is familiar with the topography of various portions of the state. A son of the late Jesse Applegate, he was born near Yoncalla, in Douglas County, Ore., November 8, 1851.
    Jesse Applegate was born July 5, 1811, in old Kentucky, and died at his home, near Yoncalla, Ore., April 22, 1888. In 1830, before attaining his majority, he removed to Missouri, locating on the Osage River, where he was engaged in farming and surveying until 1843. He was largely self-educated, and was a self-made man in the highest sense implied by the term. Having a thirst for knowledge, he studied hard in the intervals of work, after he went to Missouri being for a time under the instruction of Edward Bates, surveyor general, in St. Louis. He made a specialty of mathematics, in which he became very proficient, and was an expert accountant and one of the most correct and efficient surveyors of the Northwest. During his entire life he was a student, and a reader of good literature. Leaving Missouri in 1843, he came across the plains with ox teams, and located at first on Salt Creek, in Polk County. Removing to Douglas County in 1849, he took up a donation claim near Yoncalla, where he improved a farm of six hundred and forty acres. Removing to California in 1872, he followed his profession as a civil engineer for a number of years. Returning to his homestead farm, near Yoncalla, in 1883, he resided there during the remainder of his life. He was one of the earliest and most prominent surveyors of Oregon, and became thoroughly familiar with the country. In 1846 he explored the trail from Fort Hall, Wyo., to the Willamette Valley, Ore., and it is now considered the best road across the Cascade Mountains. In 1852 he served as a guide to the army of regular soldiers. He subsequently was a member of the Constitutional Convention, representing Douglas County, which was formerly known as Umpqua County. He married Cynthia Parker, who was born in Tennessee, August 15, 1814, and died in Yoncalla, Ore., June 1, 1881. Of their union thirteen children were born, six sons and seven daughters, Peter, the subject of this sketch, being the eleventh child in order of birth and the youngest son living.
    Obtaining the rudiments of his education in the pioneer district school, Peter Applegate subsequently studied with his father, and further supplemented the knowledge he had acquired by judicious reading. Taking up civil engineering as a profession in 1879, he has since filled many government contracts, surveying throughout Jackson County, and sectionizing and surveying in the Cascade Mountains. From 1890 until 1892 he served as county surveyor of Jackson County. In 1898 Mr. Applegate was elected recorder of Jackson county, being re-elected to the same position in 1900 and in 1902, and is now filling his third term.
    In 1872, in Drain, Ore., Mr. Applegate married Josephine Estes, a native of Douglas County. Her father, E. H. Estes, was born in Illinois, and crossed the plains to Oregon in 1858. Locating in Douglas County, near Drain, he took up a donation claim, and there improved a good farm, on which he resided until his death, at the advanced age of eighty-three years. Nine children blessed the union of Mr. and Mrs. Applegate, three of whom died in infancy, and six are living, namely: Mark, residing in Jacksonville; Daisy, wife of E. W. Voyle, of Jacksonville; Susie, wife of W. R. Stansell, also of Jacksonville; Clyde, Jesse and Blanche. Politically, Mr. Applegate is an unswerving Republican. Fraternally, he is a member of the Ancient Order of United Workmen and of Roseburg Lodge No. 326, B.P.O.E.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 880-881

    ARMSTRONG, A. P., of Portland, and principal and proprietor of the Portland Business College, is a native son of Oregon. He was born at Jacksonville, January 17, 1855. He learned all he could in the public schools, and at the age of seventeen began his career as a teacher, earning money with which to procure a higher education. He subsequently became principal of the National Business College, at Portland, and in 1881 purchased the school, changing its name to Portland Business College. It is the largest institution of its kind in the Pacific Northwest, and ranks among the first in the country. Mr. Armstrong has always been an earnest Republican and an advocate of clean politics and honest government. He is the nominee of one wing of the party for county superintendent of schools.
Republican League Register, Portland, 1896, page 175

W. H. ATKINSON.--Among the prominent settlers of Ashland is the subject of this memoir; he was born near Bradford, England, November 30, 1844. When two years old, his parents emigrated to the United States, and settled in Onondaga County, New York. In the year 1849 the family settled in Racine County, Wis.; thence to Walworth County in that state in 1856, where he was married to Eugenia L. Curtis, November 15, 1868. In the year 1874 with his wife he crossed the plains by rail, and settled at Ashland, Jackson County. On his arrival here, he purchased an interest in the "Ashland flouring mill," and soon after entered into partnership with General J. M. McCall, in the mercantile trade. In 1879, he became one of the partners and business manager of the Ashland Woolen Manufacturing Company, which position he has maintained to the present writing. He has held prominent offices in the Masonic fraternity, and was one of the instigators in bringing about the erection of the Masonic block of Ashland.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 523

WILLIAM H. ATKINSON, president of the Bank of Ashland, and prominent in the financial circles of Southern Oregon, was born near Bradford, England, November 30, 1844, the eldest and only son in a family of nine children. His parents came to America in 1846, locating first in Onondaga County, New York, and a few years later removing to Burlington, Racine County, Wisconsin. There our subject attended the common schools and later entered an academy of Madison, and then in 1861 took a thorough course in the Eastman Commercial College of Chicago. After returning to Walworth County, Wisconsin, he engaged in milling and was connected with that branch of industry until 1874, when he came to Ashland. Since that time he has been closely identified with many of its important enterprises, both public and private. Soon after his arrival Mr. Atkinson became a stockholder in the Ashland Flour Mills, representing a one-third interest, which he held until 1881. In 1878 he became identified as a stockholder in the famous Ashland Woolen Mills, and is now its secretary and manager. The mills have formerly employed upward of twenty men, and has been very profitable to the stockholders, but of late its output has diminished, being at the present time temporarily idle. In 1884 the Bank of Ashland was incorporated, with a paid-up capital of $50,000, since increased to $100,000. Mr. Atkinson was one of its chief promoters, and has been its president since the doors were first thrown open to the public. He is one of the stockholders in the electric light system, which was incorporated and is said to be the finest in any town in the state. He owns valuable business property in the city, located in the business center, and also has a beautiful residence on Main Street. The house is a two-story frame, of modern architecture and design, containing all the conveniences that go to make a comfortable home. The lawn is beautifully set to plants and ornamental trees, making it one of the most desirable homes in Southern Oregon.
    Mr. Atkinson was married in Walworth County, Wisconsin, in 1868, to Miss Eugenia L. Curtis, a native of Monroe County, New York. They have one daughter, Ruth. Politically, our subject is a staunch Republican and takes an active interest in political matters. Socially, he is prominently identified with the F.&A.M., Ashland Lodge, No. 23, also of the Chapter and Commandery, and has held the position of Worshipful Master for seven years. He was one of the organizers of the Blue Lodge in 1874, of the Chapter in 1882, and its first High Priest and the Commandery in 1890. The lodge has a membership of seventy, and is in a flourishing condition. The Commandery, Malta, No. 4, has a membership of thirty, and Mr. Atkinson is the present Eminent Commander. Mr. Atkinson is a prominent member of the Presbyterian Church and has been identified with the growth and prosperity of the First Presbyterian Church of Ashland since 1875.

Rev. H. K. Hines, An Illustrated History of the State of Oregon, 1893, pages 410-411

BAKER, Charles Theodore, b. Montesano, Washington, Jan. 2, 1901; to Oregon 1920; B.A. University of Oregon 1924; m. Margaret Anderson, July 7, 1924; children--Elizabeth Ann. Executive Secretary Medford Chamber of Commerce; World War, Convoy Service, U.S.S. Rochester; Pacific Northwest Regional Advisory Board; Chairman Fresh Fruit Commission 1927; Secretary Rogue River Valley Traffic Association; Fruit Growers League. Elks; American Legion; Kiwanis; Phi Gamma Delta; Alpha Kappa Psi. Republican. Address: Chamber of Commerce, Medford, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 29

Manager of J. C. Penney Co., Medford, Oregon.
b. Joplin, No., Nov. 14, 1905; son of Wesley and Eva (Smith) Baker; educated public schools of Vancouver, Wash.; University of Washington, 2 years; member U. of W. Tillicums; m. Dorothy J. Evans of Vancouver Dec. 27, 1924, children Ramon (Jack) and Betty Lou; entire activity in mercantile business, beginning as clerk in retail shoe store, Vancouver; with Nordstrom's Department Store, Seattle; with J. C. Penney Co. 1927-; assistant manager, Bellingham, Wash. 1927-35; manager Yakima, 1935-37; manager Medford 1937-; also ranch owner since 1938, extensive dairy operations 1938-44; chairman, Camp White Dairymen's Association 1941-43; chairman Retail Merchants Association since 1940; director local YMCA; active in War Bond drives; member Chamber of Commerce; Elk; Mason; Republican; Methodist; home Rt. 1, Central Point (Table Rock Road); office 41 S. Central, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 39

    WALLACE BALDWIN. During the many years of his residence in Oregon, Mr. Baldwin has seen the development of the state from a wild and unimproved condition to a foremost rank among the commonwealths of our nation. Particularly has his interest been keen in the southern part of the state, where he makes his home, being one of the business men of Klamath Falls. A native of Philadelphia, Pa., born October 6, 1833, he is of English descent, his parents, Robert Thompson and Elizabeth (Hitchcock) Baldwin, having been natives of Huntingdonshire. His father, who was a son of James Baldwin, a lifelong resident of England, was born on July 13, 1795, and there learned the harnessmaker's trade. Taking passage from Liverpool he arrived at New York July 22, 1830, his wife and children joining him the following year. For some time he followed his trade in Philadelphia. In 1838 he moved to St. Louis, where his family joined him the next year. Subsequently he came to Oregon, and died at Klamath Falls June 21, 1889. His first wife died in St. Louis, in 1849. Born of their marriage were Robert, Harriet, Joseph, Robert (2nd), Mary, Harry and Alfred, all of whom died in infancy or middle life; Wallace, a business man of Klamath Falls; and Harriet (Mrs. J. P. Roberts), formerly of Klamath Falls, but now deceased. After the death of his first wife Robert T. Baldwin married Isabelle Hammond, by whom he had a son, George T. Baldwin, in whose sketch on another page will be found further mention of the family history.
    During his boyhood days Wallace Baldwin was a pupil in the schools of St. Louis. When nineteen he left home and crossed the plains to California, starting in the spring of 1853 and consuming six months in the trip, which was made with oxen for motive power. From San Francisco he traveled by boat to Portland, where he arrived on Christmas Day. In the spring of 1854 he came to Southern Oregon, and the next year settled on Wagner Creek, Jackson County. Two years later he bought a right to one hundred and sixty acres and embarked in farm pursuits. During the years that followed he met his share of good fortune and reverses, on the whole, however, getting a little ahead with each season. In 1880 he moved from Wagner Creek to Ashland, where he secured work. In 1885 he came to Klamath Falls, joining his father, with whom he worked at the harnessmaker's trade. After the father's death he continued the business alone and still has it in charge, being engaged in general harness making and repair work. Included in his possessions are eleven city lots in Klamath Falls, and a residence adjoining his place of business.
    While living on Wagner Creek in 1875, Mr. Baldwin married Phoebe Alice Million, who was born in Ashland, this state, in August, 1855. Mention of her family appears in the sketch of William Million. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Baldwin are as follows: Dorothy Laura, wife of John Erlings, of Klamath Falls; Robert Thompson and Herbert Wallace, both of whom are with their parents. Fraternally Mr. Baldwin is connected with Lodge No. 137, I.O.O.F., at Klamath Falls, in which he has passed through the chairs and is inside guard. In politics a Republican, he has frequently been elected to the town council on that ticket, and has also been chosen to serve as school director. When a young man he was a member of the Oregon militia. After having been a private for two years, June 18, 1866, Governor A. C. Gibbs tendered him the appointment of second lieutenant of Company A, First Regiment, First Brigade of State Militia, and this commission he held for one year.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 499-500

    FREDERICK BARNEBURG: lives three miles north of Phoenix; is a farmer; was born at Hesse-Kassel, Germany, 1836; came to America in 1838 and to this county in 1854; he was married January 1, 1860, to Electa Norton, a native of Iowa. Children Laura A., Samuel P., Daniel H., Ida J., Mary and John.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 501

BARNEY, William Virgil, clergyman; b. Greenville, Texas Oct. 14, 1895; to Oregon 1899; A.B. Eugene Bible University 1927; m. Kathryn Isabel Baker June 3, 1923. A.E.F.; 1st lieutenant; chaplain O.R.C. Republican. Church of Christ. Address: 115 High Street, Ashland, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 30

H. F. BARRON resides at Barron and is a farmer, stock raiser and hotel keeper. He was born in Lee County, Virginia, and came to Jackson County, Ogn., in Oct., 1851. He was married August 18, 1856, to Martha A. Walker. Their children are Alice, Edgar, George and Homer. Mr. Barron, whose two residences are elsewhere illustrated in this book, possesses large landed and stock interests, his stock being mainly horses, cattle and sheep.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 523

    WILLIAM H. BASYE: lives on Missouri Flat on Applegate Creek; is a farmer; post office address, Applegate; was born in Tippecanoe County, Ind., in 1830; came to state in 1847 and to county in 1862; married, March 3, 1850, to Elizabeth Streithoff. Children Thomas E., Miranda (deceased), Cecelia, Charles H., Theodore, Jenette and Lucius C.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 508

    HERMAN V. BATCHELLER: resides in Ashland and is a saddler by trade; he was born in Madison County, N.Y.,  1835, and was married in 1864 to Mary A. Fuller, who died soon after their marriage; Mr. Batcheller is a pioneer of 1854.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 501

    GEO. H. BAYLEY: is a native of London; came to America in 1841 at the age of nine years; he resides six miles east of Ashland and is engaged in farming and stock growing; Mr. Bayley is a pioneer of 1854; came to county in 1871; he was married in 1862 to Julian Johnston. Children Hattie and Henry.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 501

    ROBERT VINTON BEALL was born on the 15th of June 1831, in Montgomery County, Maryland. He with his parents moved to Sangamon County, Ill., in 1834. Here he was educated. With his brother T. F. Beall he emigrated to Oregon, arriving at Oregon City July 18, 1852. He came to this county on the 27th of September of that year and settled on his present farm south of Central Point. Here he has lived ever since with the exception of six months. He has been engaged in farming and stock raising. He married Ann Maria Riddle, on the 19th of April 1864; she was born in Sangamon County, Ill., on April 19th, 1847. Children Mary and Robert V.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, pages 523-524

    ROBERT V. BEALL. Under the influence of the spirit of progress and appreciation in the West the name of Beall has taken on a varied significance, in the first generation represented on the [Pacific] Slope, farming and stock-raising being brought to its highest development, and in the second generation the art of photography finding as true and fine an exponent as may be found in any part of the country. The personal characteristics behind the various attainments of the family are radically the same, and bespeak a broad and comprehensive view of life, augmented by the desire to make the best of opportunities and abilities placed within reach of the respective aspirants for wealth and influence.
    In Maryland, around which is centered so much of the early historic aristocracy of America, a Scotch ancestor settled many, many years ago, and presumably aided in establishing one of the large plantations for which the state was justly famous. The home in Montgomery County was the birthplace of both Robert V. Beall and his father, Thomas F., the former having been born June 15, 1831. Dorcas (Beadow) Beall, who died when her son Robert was a year old, and who was the mother also of seven other children, of whom Robert V. and Mrs. Sarah Sampson, of Springfield, Ill., alone survive, was born in Maryland, and spent her entire life in her native state. Her husband survived her for many years, his death occurring July 3, 1851. He was a practical and successful farmer, and as a youth shouldered his musket and defended his country against the English in the War of 1812.
    As Robert V. Beall grew to manhood the world of business appeared more interesting by far than tilling the soil, and in order to pave the way for future success he learned the carpenter's trade in Springfield, Ill., afterward working thereat for a couple of years. His entire family became interested in the emigration to the West, and in the spring of '52 Robert V. and his brother, Thomas F., came to the coast with mule teams, setting out March 1, arriving at St. Joseph, Mo., May 3, and in Oregon City July 18, 1852. This was the fastest trip as yet accomplished by any of the settlers, seventy-eight days being the time required for the journey. The boys had two mule teams, and there were only six wagons in the train, thus minimizing the possibility of hindrance from illness or other causes. Stopping at Oregon City for a month, the brothers purchased provisions sufficient to last for some time and packed them across the mountains to Josephine County. Here they followed mining for a couple of weeks, but not finding anything to justify a continuance of their search they came to the Rogue River Valley September 17, 1852, and took up a donation claim of three hundred and twenty acres. The town of Central Point now occupies a portion of this land, and in June, 1853, they added to their possessions an adjoining farm the same size, for which they paid $600.
    They built a small cabin on the farm, proceeded to clear and till their land, and kept bachelor apartments until the marriage of Thomas F., November 10, 1859. After that Robert V. lived with the young people until his own marriage, April 19, 1864, to Maria Riddle, a native of Illinois, and who crossed the plains in 1851 with her father, William H. Riddle. For full information concerning the Riddle family reference is made to the sketch of George W. Riddle, of Azalea, Douglas County, this state.
    The year of his marriage Mr. Beall built the most modern house as yet constructed in his neighborhood, and that it was well put up is evident from the fact that it is still in a fair state of preservation, in spite of its half century of usefulness. The house now occupied by the family is indicative of the prosperity which followed in the wake of the owner, who progresses with the times, and is a believer in all that tends to increase the well-being and happiness of the human race. The Beall home stands in a grove of walnut and fragrant locust trees, ideally sheltered from the winds of winter and the fierce heat of summer. Needless to say that a model garden contributes to a well-set and tempting table, or that books and pictures and the comforts of existence minister to a household pervaded by a spirit of peace and good will and prosperity. Mr. Beall has devoted his land to grain and general produce, and fine stock have added their quota to a yearly income in keeping with the energy and resourcefulness of one of the most popular and well-known farmers in Jackson County. Years ago Mr. Beall engaged in freighting from the Willamette Valley to the Rogue River Valley, and at one time, with his brother, conducted a meat market at Jacksonville. Many incidents of importance mark these careers of pioneer and later usefulness, for Mr. Beall and his brother brought the first threshing machine into Jackson County, and also introduced to the farming population the first McCormick mower. It will thus be seen that progress has been their watchword, and has led them on to accomplish things of lasting value in the community. Mr. Beall has the best of barns and general improvements, and he raises in large numbers Jersey cattle and Poland-China hogs. Two children have been born to himself and wife, of whom Mary, the oldest child and only daughter, is the wife of Charles Strang, of Medford, Ore., and R. Vinton has developed a remarkable talent for photography.
    Special mention is due to the younger Mr. Beall because of his more than creditable work as a photographer. He has availed himself of every advantage in his chosen calling, and is a graduate of the Illinois College of Photography. His work compares favorably with that of the foremost masters of the art in this country, he being particularly proficient in posing and in the manipulation of lights and shadows. Already he has attained to prominence among the men whose reproductions delight the eye and perpetuate the memory of friends, and who bring to their interesting occupation the soul of an artist and the heart of a lover of all things beautiful. Mr. Beall has his studio on the home place, and its furnishings and accessories are such as to permit the greatest scope for arrangement. His patrons include the most exacting in town and country, and it would seem that his future is assured in an appreciative and delighted community. Of one thing his friends are convinced, and that is that Mr. Beall will know no resting place as far as his life work is concerned. Believing in interminable vistas, he will proceed always with renewed vigor, sounding every fascinating possibility and creating new methods. To the gifted and far-seeing, photography, perfect as it has become, is yet in its infancy, and therefore is an inspiration to the ambitious and painstaking.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 876-878

    HON. THOMAS FLETCHER BEALL; born in Montgomery County, Maryland, on the 27th, of August 1827. He with his parents, moved in 1834, to Springfield, Sangamon County Ill. Here was educated and resided until 1852; he crossed the plains with his brother R. V. Beall, with mule teams, arriving in Oregon on July 18, 1852, and settled in Rogue River Valley, at Central Point, September 27, 1852, on a donation claim. He purchased his present place, south from Central Point, in 1858, where he has since lived. In 1853, he was engaged in packing between Jacksonville and Scottsburg. On one of his return trips from Scottsburg, a Spaniard stole one ol his mules. He followed him into Lane County, caught him and got possession of the mule, chastising the Spaniard, and on his return to Rogue River Valley fell in company with General Lane, Pleasant Armstrong, Michael Hanley and others, taking the Kearny route. After making a three days' journey, the party found themselves without provisions, and although it was strictly against orders to discharge firearms, Mr. Beall came across a deer--after they had camped--and, disobeying orders, killed the deer, brought it to camp, and fortunately for him was not punished other than seeing his companions partake of the deer meat. They proceeded on their journey safely to Rogue River Valley. Mr. Beall continued the packing business until 1856, and has followed farming and stock raising since that time, he and his brother being the largest wheat growers in Jackson County, owning jointly and severally 2,548 acres of land. He was elected to the Assembly of Oregon in 1864, holding the office one term. He married Ann Hall on November 10, 1859; she is a native of Champaign County, Ohio, and was born January 3, 1838. Children Benjamin, Asbury, Clara, Carrie, Thomas, Lee, Tyson and Lucinda.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 523

    THOMAS F. BEALL. It is eminently fitting that the farm of that honored pioneer, Thomas F. Beall, should be managed by his widow, who, with three of her children, is benefited by the unquestioned success of one of the bravest and noblest of the early settlers. Thomas F. Beall should be given a permanent place in history, and his name and deeds have found place in many works calculated to perpetuate such as he, and a brief outline only is necessary to recall the lessons taught by his exceptionally worthy life.
    Born in Montgomery County, Md., August 28, 1828, Mr. Beall was one in a family of many children, and he lived at home near Springfield, Ill., whither his parents had moved in 1832, until crossing the plains to Oregon in 1852, accompanied by his brother, R. V. Beall. Starting in March, the brothers made the quickest time then on record, reaching Oregon City seventy-eight days later. Coming to Josephine County, they mined for a short time, and then took up a claim of three hundred and twenty acres, upon a part of which Central Point has since been built. Mr. Beall afterward bought the place of two hundred acres now occupied by his widow and children, three-fourths of a mile south of Central Point. August 20, 1850, Mr. Beall married Ann Hall, who was born in Champaign County, Ohio, and who came across the plains with the family of William H. Riddle, settling in Douglas County in 1851. In 1872 Mr. Beall built what was then a mansion, so great was the contrast between his own and the humbler homes of his neighbors, and the house still retains marks of its former substantiality and imposing appearance. For many years in the early days Mr. Beall engaged in freighting with his brother, and otherwise assisted in work which the members of the present generation will never be called upon to perform. Although not an enlisted soldier, he took an active part in the Rogue River War of '55-'56, and he always showed great interest in the development of the Democratic Party in the state. He was twice elected to the state legislature, in 1864 and 1884, his service being characterized by zealous efforts for the best welfare of his community. He was for many years a Mason, and was a genial, whole-souled man, helpful to those less fortunate than himself and invariably kind in his judgment of others. Of his twelve children, seven are living: Benjamin; Asbury, a farmer of this vicinity; Thomas, living at Lakeview; Lee, also at Lakeview; Tyson, at home; Clara, the wife of I. M. Lewis, of Reno, Nev., and Lulu, at home. Mr. Beall died April 19, 1886.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 875-876

    JOSHUA BEAUMONT: is a resident of Ashland and a cloth finisher by trade; he is a native of Yorkshire, England; in 1855 he went to California and came to this state in 1857.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 501

Business Executive.
b. Germany, Feb. 27, 1894; son of Michael and Frances Beck; educated schools of Germany; m. Edith M. Peyton of Tacoma, Wash., Nov. 27, 1915, children Alfred M. (served, U.S. Army Air Corps), La Murle (Mrs. Richard Witt), D'Ann; immigrated to U.S. 1910; naturalized 1918; bakery business in Tacoma with brother 1912-18; Bellingham 1925; Marshfield 1926; established and sole owner Beck's Bakeries, Medford, since 1926; large-scale operations, wholesale and retail; owner plant at Klamath Falls (built new building 1940 with new additions 1946); Lakeview since 1942 and Grants Pass since 1940; active as worker in civic and war drives; member Chamber of Commerce, Lions Club (ex-director); Mason; Elk; Republican; Protestant; home Rt. 2, Box 448; office 1414 N. Riverside, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 52

Benjamin Beekman, 1910, History of the Bench and Bar of OregonBENJAMIN B. BEEKMAN.
    Residence, Hotel Portland; office, 308 Commercial Block, Portland. Born August 3, 1863, at Jacksonville, Oregon. Son of Cornelius C. and Julia Elizabeth (Hoffman) Beekman. Received his education at the public schools of Jacksonville, at the University of Oregon, from which he graduated in 1884 with the degree of A.B., and later at Yale University, from which institution he graduated in 1888 with the degree of LL.B. Was admitted to the bar of the state of Connecticut June 27, 1888, and to the bar of Oregon March 5, 1889. Was associated in the practice of his profession with Edward B. Watson and  James F. Watson, under the firm name of Watson, Beekman & Watson, from 1893 to 1897, having been previously associated with Judge R. G. Morrow from 1890 to 1893. Upon the decease of James F. Watson, in  1897, the firm name became Watson & Beekman, and continues so to date. Member Company K, Oregon National Guard, 1889-1892. Instructor Agency in Law School, University of Oregon, 1907 to date. Member University Club, Portland Commercial Club, Oregon Chapter, Sous of American Revolution, Oregon Commandery, No. 1, Knights Templar, Oregon Consistory, No. 1, A. and A. Scottish Rite, Al Kader Temple, Mystic Shrine. Republican.
History of the Bench and Bar of Oregon, 1910, page 88

    BEEKMAN, B. B., of Portland, was born in Jacksonville, Oregon, August 3, 1863, and was educated at the public school and the University of Oregon, from which he graduated in 1884. He was then elected a tutor at the university, but a year later resigned, and in 1886 entered the law department at Yale College. He graduated in 1888 and was admitted to the bar of Connecticut. In 1889 he located in Portland, and in 1893 became a member of the firm of Watson, Beekman & Watson. Mr. Beekman takes an active interest in politics on the broad principles of the duty as an American citizen, and not as a spoils politician. He stamped the state in 1890. In 1892 he was chosen vice president of the Republican League of Oregon, and in 1894 was elected its president. Under his administration the league grew from a feeble organization of a few clubs to the powerful working body it is today. At the last meeting he declined reelection, on the ground that such honors should not be absorbed by one individual.
Republican League Register, Portland, 1896, page 181

    HON. C. C. BEEKMAN.--The reminiscences of the early pioneers of the Pacific Coast must ever possess a peculiar interest for the Oregonian. Green in their memory will ever remain the trials and incidents of early life in this land of golden promise. These pioneers of civilization constitute no ordinary class of adventurers. Resolute, ambitious and enduring, looking into the great and possible future of this Western Slope, and possessing the sagacious mind to grasp true conclusions, and the indomitable will to execute just means to attain desired ends, these heroic pioneers, by their subsequent career, have proved that they were equal to the great mission assigned them, that of carrying the real essence of American civilization from their eastern homes and planting it upon the shores of another ocean. Among the many who have shown their fitness for the tasks assigned them, none merit this tribute more fully than the subject of this sketch, whose portrait appears in this work. He was born in New York City, January 27, 1828. He received his education in the public schools, and while yet in his minority he learned the carpenter's trade. In the year 1850 he sailed from New York, coming via the Isthmus of Panama, and arrived in San Francisco in the fall of that year. He went to Sawyer's Bar, where he was engaged as a miner; thence to Yreka working at his trade, after which we find him at Scott's Bar, mining; returning to Yreka, where, in 1853, he entered the employ of Cram, Rogers & Co., as express messenger between that place, Jacksonville and Crescent City. He was often obliged to cross the Siskiyou Mountains under cover of darkness on account of hostile Indians. He retained this position until the failure of Adams & Co. in 1856, which carried down with it the house of Cram, Rogers & Co. He then commenced carrying express on his own account, resuming his perilous trips across the mountains until a stage road was built and the stages of the old California Stage Company put on the route. In 1863, when Wells, Fargo & Co. completed their overland connections with Portland, they tendered Mr. Beekman the agency at Jacksonville, which he accepted, and has been retained up to the present time with credit and ability. During Mr. Beekman's term of service as express messenger on his own and others' account, he has handled millions of money, and, in fact, more than any other man in Southern Oregon; and his retention and promotion by his employers is a sufficient guarantee for his unswerving honesty and integrity. Investing his earnings judiciously, Mr. Beekman has amassed a fortune, not by miserly conduct; not by oppressing the poor; not by taking advantage of the necessities of his fellow men, but by strict observance to business principles, and a careful management of his own affairs. As a financier and a man of ability, he is the peer of any man in Southern Oregon. To prove this, if proof was necessary, we call the attention of our readers to the facts that Mr. Beekman has been repeatedly elected one of the trustees of Jacksonville, and for several terms held the honorable position of mayor, or president of the board. He has also held the office of school director for nine years, and it was mainly through his business tact that the commodious school building was erected, and, withal, his love for educational advancement has placed the standard of education for the young on a plane that would do credit to a larger town. The year 1878 will be ever memorable to him, for, without the slightest effort on his part, he was selected by the Republican Party from among his compeers and placed in nomination for Governor of Oregon. This was a closely contested and hard-fought battle. Mr. Beekman's popularity was so great that he was supported not only by Republicans, but by a large number of Democrats in Southern Oregon. He was defeated by his Democrat opponent, Gov. W. W. Thayer, by forty-nine votes. The closest scrutiny into the life of Mr. Beekman demonstrates the fact that no man can find a blemish in his character. Notwithstanding he is wealthy, you could not observe that from his conduct. He is not like many men of means--supercilious. He knows himself, and that is half the battle of life. He tries to do no man wrong, having lived up to the golden rule all his life. He resides in Jacksonville, Jackson County, one of the prettiest spots in Oregon, where he has made many warm friends and keeps them. He often says with Sydney Smith: "Let every man be occupied, and occupied in the highest employment of which his nature is capable, and die with the consciousness that he has done his best." It were well if our young state had many such generous and enterprising men as C. C. Beekman. He married Julia E. Hoffman, daughter of William Hoffman, and by this union they have one daughter and one son.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 524

    BEEKMAN, C. C., of Jacksonville, was born in New York City, January 27, 1828. In 1850 he came round the Horn to San Francisco. He went to the northern mines, and in 1853 became an express messenger between Yreka, Crescent City and Jacksonville. In 1856 he embarked in the express business on his own account. In 1863 he became Wells, Fargo & Co.'s agent at Jacksonville, where he has resided ever since, and is engaged in the banking business. Mr. Beekman is a successful business man, and is recognized as the leading man of affairs in Southern Oregon. He has been repeatedly school trustee, city trustee and mayor. He has been a prominent and active Republican, and in 1878 was the Republican nominee for Governor, being defeated by only 49 votes. He has held many positions of trust in the party, and is considered as one of the strong, clean men to whom it can turn in time of need.
Republican League Register, Portland, 1896, page 182

    CORNELIUS C. BEEKMAN. No name in Southern Oregon is better known than that of Cornelius C. Beekman, who for more than half a century has been closely identified with its commercial, financial and political status, and through his many years of experience has become known as one of the leading financiers of the Northwest. While contributing to his own success, Mr. Beekman has not been unmindful of the best interests of his adopted county and state, and with a true patriotic spirit he has contributed towards the furtherance of all enterprises intended to promote the peace and prosperity of the community wherein he has so long resided. In the commercial world Mr. Beekman is best known through his long connection with Wells, Fargo & Co., one of the oldest institutions of the West, while in financial circles he is known through his many years of service as a private banker.
    The Beekman family came originally from New Jersey, which was the birthplace of Cornelius Beekman, the grandfather, and of Benjamin B. Beekman, the father of Cornelius C. Cornelius Beekman moved from New Jersey to New York City, where he spent the last years of his life. Benjamin B. Beekman removed from New Jersey to Yates County, N.Y., in 1830, and became a successful contractor and builder. He died there in 1879, in the age of seventy-six years. He married Lydia Compton, who was born in New Jersey and who died in Dundee, Yates County, N.Y., at the age of eighty-five years and six months.
    Cornelius C. Beekman was born in New York City, January 27, 1828, receiving in his youth a limited education in the common schools of his native state. When quite a young man he was apprenticed to learn the carpenter's trade and was thus equipped to earn his own livelihood. In 1850 he came west via the Isthmus of Panama, arriving in San Francisco in the fall of the same year. He went at once to Sawyer's Bar, where he engaged in mining, going from there to Yreka and later to Scotts Bar, where he continued his search after the precious metal. In 1853 he returned to Yreka, Cal., and entered the office of Cram, Rogers & Co., who shortly afterwards sent him to Jacksonville, Ore., as their representative at that point. About 1854 Cram, Rogers & Co. closed their office at Crescent City, Cal., transferring their agent at that point to Jacksonville, and Mr. Beekman was put upon the road as traveling express messenger, in which position he remained until the failure of Adams & Co. in 1856, which also caused the failure of Cram, Rogers & Co.
    Mr. Beekman then engaged in business for himself until the stage road was built in 1863, and Wells, Fargo & Co. completed their overland connections with Portland, Ore. He then accepted the position as agent for Wells, Fargo & Co. at Jacksonville, with which office he is still connected. During the past forty years many thousands of dollars have passed through his hands, and the responsibility which his position entails has indeed been great, but with keen business judgment and conservative methods Mr. Beekman has always brought about the most satisfactory results. In 1857 he opened a private banking business, which has contributed no little amount to his financial success, buying gold dust for many years and receiving no deposits until his association with Thomas G. Reames in 1887. Since the death of his partner, in 1900, Mr. Beekman has conducted the business alone. Mr. Beekman has also been connected with many other important business enterprises of Jackson County, in all of which he has put forth his reserved force and power and has clearly demonstrated his ability to lead in all matters of commercial and political moment. He was one of the original incorporators, and is now serving as president of the Jackson County Land Association, which has in its control large tracts of land in Southern Oregon.
    In his political affiliations Mr. Beekman has always been a staunch supporter of the principles of the Republican Party. His earnestness and honesty of purpose soon became evident to the citizens of Jacksonville and at many different times he has been called upon to serve the public interests, serving as mayor of the city and many times as a member of the city council. In 1878 Mr. Beekman was the Republican nominee for Governor of Oregon, but was defeated by Hon. W. W. Thayer by only sixty-nine votes, and this in spite of the fact that he put forth no effort to accomplish his election. The cause of education has also found in Mr. Beekman a true and sincere friend, as well as a liberal contributor. He has served many years either as president or member of the school board and for fifteen years was a member of the board of regents of the State University at Eugene, Ore.
    Mr. Beekman was united in marriage January 29, 1861, to Miss Julia Hoffman, who was born in Attica, Ind., the daughter of William Hoffman, a native of Baltimore, Md. He was an early settler of Indiana, and crossed the plains to Oregon in 1853, settling near Jacksonville, Jackson County, where he engaged in farming and merchandising, and served for several terms as clerk of this county. He died at the age of eighty-four years.
    Mr. and Mrs. Beekman are the parents of two children. The son, Benjamin B., an attorney of Portland, Ore., graduated from the University of Oregon with the degree of B.A. and after teaching in that institution for one year received the degree A.M. He next entered the Yale Law School, from which he was duly graduated with the degree of LL.B. The daughter, Caroline C. Beekman, who is at home with her parents, is a graduate of Mill's Seminary.
    In his fraternal associations Mr. Beekman is an honored member of Warren Lodge No. 10 A.F.&A.M., of which he was elected master for twelve consecutive years, and has long been a member of Oregon Chapter No. 4 R.A.M., in which he is now serving as Royal Arch captain and treasurer.
    In making a permanent record of the lives of the builders of the commercial fabric of the Northwest, it is but just that Mr. Beekman should be given a place in the front rank. His life has been one of labor, and while ascending the ladder of fortune he has ever been mindful of the rights and privileges of others, endeavoring at all times to emulate the teachings of the Golden Rule. His seventy-five years are crowned with all that makes life worth living, and he is respected most where he is best known--the highest tribute paid to man.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 207-208

    WELBORN BEESON ESQ.: whose residence is on Wagner Creek near Talent, was born in Lasalle County, Ill., July 23, 1836, is only son of John and Ann Welborn Beeson of Lincolnshire, England. At the age of 17 Welborn came to this state and county in 1853. In 1866 he was married to Mary C. Brophy. Children Ira E., Welborn J., Jessie E., John D., Fannie E. and Annie M. John Beeson, father of our subject, is also a native of Lincolnshire, England. Was a man of some literary ability and somewhat radical in his views.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 501

    JOHN H. BELLINGER. The son of one of Oregon's honored pioneers, Merritt Bellinger, and himself a native-born son of this state, with whose farming and stock-raising interests he has been continuously identified since youth, John H. Bellinger justly occupies a high place among the residents of Jackson County. On the old homestead of the family, one and one-half miles east of Jacksonville, he was born February 4, 1866, and his education was obtained in the public schools of the neighboring town. As a boy he aided his father in the development of the home place, and during that time acquired the thorough, practical knowledge of agriculture that has been of inestimable value to him in later years. At the age of twenty-one he began to work independently and for four years followed ranching. The following four years were spent in the draying and transfer business, after which he rented the old homestead of his father and has since made his home two miles east of Jacksonville.
    The pleasant country home of Mr. Bellinger is presided over by his wife, whom he married October 14, 1900. Mrs. Bellinger was born in Walla Walla County, Wash., and bore the maiden name of Jennie Arthurs. Her father, William Arthurs, was born in Nashville, Tenn., and crossed the plains in 1861, settling in Jacksonville, Ore., and there following the blacksmith's trade. A later location was at Brownsville, and while residing there he married Sarah McCallister, who was born in Knoxville, Ill., and came to the Pacific coast in 1858. After marriage, in 1872, they removed to Washington and settled in Walla Walla County, where Mr. Arthurs conducted a ranch of nine hundred and sixty acres, and there he resided until 1897, when he moved to Applegate Creek, where he is engaged in raising alfalfa and sheep. For ten consecutive years he took the first premium at the Oregon State Fair for making plows and ironing buggies and carriages. In the working of iron and steel he is a genius, and had it been possible for him to devote himself to that industry in his earlier years he would undoubtedly have attained a widespread reputation.
    Since settling upon his present farm of one hundred and sixty acres Mr. Bellinger has not only carried on farm pursuits, but has made a specialty of raising Percheron and Clydesdale horses. Besides his stock and farm equipment, he is the owner of one hundred and sixty-eight acres on Rogue River, near Prospect. No resident of Jackson County is more interested in its growth than he, and none is a firmer believer in its future prosperity. It is his belief that Southern Oregon is now but in the infancy of its development, and that future generations will witness a condition of affairs surpassing the dreams of our most enthusiastic optimists. While he has not yet held public office or sought such honors, he is a pronounced Republican and a staunch supporter of his party. In fraternal relations he is connected with the Woodmen of the World, and in religion, though not identified with any denomination, is a supporter of the Christian Church, with which his wife is actively connected.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 861-862

    MERRITT BELLINGER: came to Oregon in 1830; he is a native of Pennsylvania; born February, 1833; is one of the earliest pioneers of this county, having first arrived in Oregon in 1850 and in this county in 1852, finally settling where he now lives, two miles east of Jacksonville; in 1861 married Caroline Ritter. Children Lucinda, Rachel R., Emma and Eva, twins, John and Francis.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 501

    MERRITT BELLINGER. Through the long period of his residence in Oregon, covering more than one-half century, Mr. Bellinger has retained the confidence of his associates among the pioneers now so rapidly passing away and has also won the respect of the younger generation now coming to the foreground in life's activities. Especially in Southern Oregon are his friends numerous, for it is here that much of his active career has been passed. After many years devoted to agricultural pursuits, in 1901 he removed to Medford, where he now conducts the largest real estate business of any resident of that town.
    A native of Princeton, Canada, born February 2, 1833, Mr. Bellinger is a son of Honicle and Catherine (Holt) Bellinger, natives of Pennsylvania. In 1832 his father removed to Princeton, Canada, and in the fall of 1834 settled in St. Joseph County, Ind., afterwards making his home in Berrien County, Mich. At the time of discovery of gold in California he was one of those brave adventurers who periled the hardships of a trip across the plains. With him the object was not to search for hidden gold, but to till the soil of the new country beyond the mountains. With oxen for the motive power he came west in 1849, but stopped during the winter in Andrew County, Mo. May 7, 1850, he crossed the Missouri River and from there proceeded via the Platte River, Fort Hall and Fort Laramie. On the 22nd of September he landed at Foster's place on the Barlow road. Fourteen miles east of Albany, Linn County, on Crabtree Fork, he took up a donation claim of six hundred and forty acres. A year later he sold his right and took up another claim of the same size, on Oak Creek, near Lebanon, Linn County. In the spring of 1853 he again sold, this time coming to Jackson County and settling two miles east of Jacksonville, where he took up a claim of six hundred and forty acres. On that farm his death occurred in 1865 when about sixty-five years of age. In politics he voted with the Republican Party. During his residence in Michigan he served as clerk of Berrien County. His wife survived him two years and died in eastern Oregon at the age of sixty-seven years. They were the parents of four children, namely: Simicoe, deceased; Francis, who crossed the plains with his family in 1855 and settled in Linn County, where he died; Merritt, of Medford; and Edward, who lives at Bellevue, Idaho.
    When the family crossed the plains Merritt Bellinger accompanied them and assisted his father in the arduous task of securing a home for wife and children. In 1853 he took up a donation land claim of one hundred and sixty acres in Jackson County, one mile from Medford, where he engaged in farming. In 1858 he traded that place for his younger brother's interest in the home place, the balance of which had been willed to him. Selling that property in 1870, he bought three hundred and twenty acres nearby, but soon sold, and for two years operated a rented farm. Returning to his former home, he bought one hundred and twenty-five acres adjoining his father's old homestead, and there remained until his removal to Medford. During the early years of his residence in Oregon Indians were numerous and often hostile, attacking the white settlers with such ferocity and cruelty that drastic measures were necessary to suppress them. May 27, 1856, he served for three months as third sergeant of Company D, and took part in the Rogue River Indian War. Three years before that he had also served for three months under Capt. John F. Miller and had assisted in quelling some warlike Indians. In politics he votes with the Republican Party, in religion is connected with the Baptist Church and fraternally is a member of Warren Lodge, No. 10, A.F.&A.M., at Jacksonville. Frequently he has been chosen to serve as road supervisor and his service in that responsible position has invariably been satisfactory.
    In Linn County, Ore., Mr. Bellinger married Caroline Ritter, who was born February 16, 1844, and crossed the plains in 1853, in company with her father, John H. Ritter, a native of Indiana. He settled in Linn County, where he died at the age of sixty-five years. The family of Mr. and Mrs. Bellinger comprises the following named sons and daughters; Lucinda, wife of Alonzo Slover, a drayman of Medford, Jackson County; John H., who occupies one hundred and sixty acres situated two miles east of Jacksonville; Rachel Catherine, wife of John T. Talent, of San Francisco, Cal.; Emma and Eva (twins), the former married to I. A. Merriman, of Jackson County, and the latter the wife of Dee Roberts, also of this county; and Frank R., of Jackson County.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 860-861

    RIAL BENEDICT: lives on Applegate Creek; is a farmer and stock raiser; post office, Applegate; was born in Genesee County, N.Y., 1828; came to state in 1852 and to county in 1853; was married January 1, 1845, to Mary J. Congle (deceased May 6, 1880).
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 508

    RIAL BENEDICT. No country stopping place in Jackson County is better known than that of Rial Benedict, who has occupied his present farm since 1859, and during all that time has kept open house for the travelers from Crescent City to the Rogue River Valley. In the early days this hospitable little tavern furnished refreshment to both man and beast in much larger numbers than at present, for all of the freighting passed along the road in front of it, and glad indeed were the tired wayfarers to accept the good cheer and hear the friendly greeting of the genial host. Distances seemed longer then, and roads were rough, houses far apart, and friendly voices rare. Hundreds were seeking to establish homes, and the difficulties were great, especially in transporting household goods and farm machinery. Naturally Mr. Benedict played an important part in this settlement, and knew almost everyone who came into the wild country.
    Mr. Benedict is not only a pioneer of Oregon, but he was also a pioneer of DeKalb County, Ill., removing there from his home in Genesee County, N.Y., where he was born March 21, 1822. In Illinois, which he reached overland, and by canal, he purchased government land at $1.25 an acre, and having one hundred and twenty acres, it took him quite a while to clear it. Nevertheless, the ten years spent here were prolific of good results, and he also established a home after his marriage with Mary J. Cougle, also an early settler of Illinois. Reaching there in the spring of 1842, Mr. Benedict lived on his farm until the spring of 1852, when he sold out and outfitted with ox teams to cross the plains to Oregon. His journey was a fairly pleasant one, and upon arriving at Oregon City, he went at once to Corvallis, where he ran a hotel until December, 1854. He then moved to the Applegate road and ran a hotel there during the winter of 1854 and until the spring of 1855, and by this time had changed his mind as to the great possibilities of Oregon as a place of residence. Returning to Illinois for the purpose of making it his permanent home in 1856, he remained there until 1859, and then, yielding to the longing which had never forsaken him since he stepped from the Panama steamer, made his way up the Mississippi River to his former home in Illinois. Again purchasing ox teams and wagons, he crossed the plains with even fewer troublesome experiences than before, and in the fall of 1859 purchased his present farm of four hundred and fifty acres skirting the Applegate River, at Applegate post office, and fourteen miles from Jacksonville. He has carried on general farming and stock-raising in connection with the running of his hotel, and no man is better or more favorably known in these parts. Everyone has a kind word to say of the venerable and genial Rial Benedict, and all are glad to stop and pass the time of day with the man who has done so much for the comfort and happiness of hundreds of travelers.
    Mr. Benedict has missed few of the experiences which were characteristic of the early days. During his first sojourn in Jackson County he had considerable trouble with the Indians, and actively participated in the Rogue River War of 1855-56. Indians often came to his hotel during those times, but it was always his policy to treat them kindly, and endeavor to promote a good feeling between them and himself. His life has been a comparatively peaceful one, possibly for the reason that he looks on the bright side of life and thus wins to himself brightness and esteem, and many of the comforts and pleasures of life.
Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, page 354

Lawyer; State Representative; Executive, savings and loan association.
b. Telluride, Colo., Oct. 4, 1904; son of O. Daniel and Anna G. (Anderson) Bengtson; educated public schools of Colorado; University of Denver, LL.B., 1929; Phi Alpha Delta; m. Luola Benge of Heppner, Oregon, Aug. 2, 1931; children Brenda, Brent; admitted to Oregon Bar 1930; private practice, associated with Harry Skerry, Medford, 1930-; manager, secretary, director and attorney, Jackson County Federal Savings and Loan Association, 1945-; director, Jackson County Insurance Agency; director, Medford Escrow Co.; state representative for Jackson County, 1945, 1947 sessions; captain, Oregon State Guard; secretary, treasurer Sheriff's Posse (former captain); member, American, Oregon State and Southern Oregon Bar Associations (past secretary); member Chamber of Commerce; Kiwanian; Elk; Odd Fellow (past noble grand); Mason; Shriner; Republican; Episcopalian; home 122 Oregon; office 126 E. Main, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 55

    JUDGE MILTON BERRY. The thriving city of Ashland has been particularly fortunate in the selection of its municipal officers, prominent among whom is Judge Milton Berry, who has served as city recorder since 1889, and for the past ten years has been justice of the peace. As a soldier in the Civil War he had an excellent military record, and as a public official he devoted his entire time and energy to the duties of his position, being mindful of the best interests of the city and its people, and always just and impartial in his decisions. A son of James Berry, he was born January 13, 1837, in Cass County, Ill., near Virginia, of pioneer ancestry. His paternal grandfather, Thomas Berry, spent the earlier part of his life in Virginia, the state in which he was born and reared, living there a number of years after his marriage. Subsequently removing to Illinois, he was engaged in tilling the soil until his death at the age of eighty years.
    Born, reared and educated in the Old Dominion, James Berry settled in Cass County, purchasing land near Virginia, where he improved a homestead, and was for many years actively engaged in general farming and stock-raising. He took great interest in political affairs, and for many terms served as county clerk. Although a man of strong mental and physical vigor, he died at the early age of fifty years, his death being caused by typhoid fever. He married Sarah Taylor, who was born in Kentucky, and died in Illinois at the age of fifty years. Her father, Peter Taylor, a farmer by occupation, removed from his native state, Kentucky, to Illinois, settling in Cass County, where he spent his last years. Of the six children born of the union of James and Sarah (Taylor) Berry, five are, now living, Milton being the only one on the Pacific Coast. One son, James, now a resident of Iowa, was a soldier in the Civil War, serving in the regiment with his brother, Milton, the special subject of this sketch.
    Living on the home farm until eighteen years of age, Milton Berry obtained his preliminary education in the district schools, afterwards entering the Illinois College, at Jacksonville, where he was graduated, June, 1861, with the degree of A.B. He was subsequently principal of a graded school in Macoupin County, Ill., for a year. Responding to his country's call for volunteers, he enlisted, in August, 1862, in Company D, One Hundred and Fourteenth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, being mustered in at Camp Butler as first sergeant of his company. Sent directly to Memphis, Tenn., he took part in the siege of Vicksburg under command of General Sherman. Subsequently, while on a raid from Memphis, in June, 1864, he was captured by General Forrest's cavalry and taken to Andersonville prison. December 1, 1864, he, with other prisoners, was transferred from Andersonville to Savannah, Ga., where he was exchanged. Going by boat to Annapolis, Md., he was taken to the hospital in that city, being unable to join his regiment on account of the hardships of prison life. Being afterwards removed to the St. Louis hospital, he remained there until the close of the war, when, in May, 1865, he was mustered out of the service.
    Returning immediately to Cass County, Ill., Mr. Berry resumed his professional labors, and taught school in that part of the state for several years, afterwards being engaged in agricultural pursuits until 1882. Coming in that year to Oregon, he was engaged in teaching for two or three years, first in Salem, then in Albany, going from there to Gervais, in 1884 coming to Ashland, where he taught school one term, and has since been a resident. Elected city recorder in December, 1888, he took the oath of office m January, 1889, and has served continuously since, having been reelected each succeeding year. In 1890 he was chosen justice of the peace, and with the exception of four years has since held this position. A stanch and true citizen, Judge Berry always uses his influence to promote the best interests of the city, and well deserves the esteem and favor in which he is held by all.
    In Cass County, Ill., Judge Berry married Mary Hansford, who was born in Kentucky, a daughter of Dr. F. F. Hansford, now a prominent physician of Independence, Mo. Two children have blessed their union, namely: Maude, a graduate of the Southern Oregon Normal School, and Eugene C., living at home. Politically the judge is a strong advocate of the principles of the Republican Party, and socially he belongs to Burnside Post No. 23, G.A.R. He is an active member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and is now serving as chairman of its board of trustees.
Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, 1904, page 454

BILGER, Frank William, Merchant; born, Willow Springs, Ore., Aug. 2, 1868: son, William F. and Pauline (Hauser) B. Edu.: grammar school, San Leandro, 1875-83; Ph.G., Dept. of Pharmacy, Univ. of Cal., 1889. Married, Carrie S. Siebe, Dec. 19, 1894, at Oakland, Cal. Treas., Oakland Paving Co. Organized Blake & Bilger Co., 1905. Dir., Chamber of Commerce. Organized and was first pres., Harbor Bank, 1907; dir., Oakland Bank of Commerce; chmn., City Central Comm., 6 years; mgr., Mayor Mott's campaign, 1905, and state campaign of Alden Anderson, 1910; organized Alameda Co. Shriners Club; Illustrious Potentate, Aahmes Temple, Oakland. Member: Yerba Buena Lodge, F.&A.M., Oakland Chapter No. 36, R.A.M., Oakland Commandery, K.T., Oakland Consistory, A.A.S.R., Woodmen of the World, Elks. Clubs: Nile, Deutscher, Athenian, 10th life member, Soc. of Am. Magicians. Address: Oakland, Cal.
Franklin Harper, ed., Who's Who on the Pacific Coast, Los Angeles 1913, page 50

Real Estate and Insurance Executive.
b. Ashland, Oregon, July 5, 1885; son of G. F. and Frances M. (Myer) Billings; educated Ashland High School; University of Oregon B.A. 1906; m. Ellen Conrey of Leon, Iowa 1912; children Ruth Frances (Mrs. K. S. Wood), Frank L., Jean, Laura; owner and operator Billings Agency real estate and insurance, Ashland 1906-; ex-councilman; member Ashland School Board 1921-33; Rotarian; Republican; Methodist; home 142 Church St.; office 41 E. Main, Ashland
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 60

    JAMES G. BIRDSEY: is one among the first births of Jackson County, being born April 25, 1854; is a blacksmith by trade and carries on an extensive business in Jacksonville, where he resides; November 15, 1882, married .Miss Katie Ruch. Child Geo. R., born October 23, 1883.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 501

JAMES G. BIRDSEY, Sheriff of Jackson County.--In this rapidly developing country of ours, where opportunities for all are equal, some make more rapid strides toward success than others, and their success in any line of business they may have marked out for themselves may be attributed to natural ability and tact, combined with resolute will and persistent determination to succeed. The subject of this sketch is one worthy of more than passing mention. Mr. Birdsey is occupying today one of the most important offices that is the gift of the county. The phenomenal success he has achieved during his official career entitles him to honorable mention in the pages of this volume. He is one of Oregon's native sons and dates his birth in Jackson County April 25, 1854 and claims the distinction of being the third white child born in the county. His parents are David N. and Clara S. (Fleming) Birdsey, the former a native of Connecticut, reared in the Buckeye State, and came to Portland, Oregon via Panama in 1852, where he engaged in mill business. The latter is a native of West Virginia, her ancestors being among the early and influential settlers of that state. Of their six children, our subject is the eldest. He was reared and educated in the county of his birth, and there he learned the blacksmith's trade and also followed mining for several years. In 1880 he was elected Constable and served two terms. He was nominated for County Sheriff but met with defeat. In 1888 he was again nominated and carried his county by a handsome majority, and again, in 1890, he was a successful candidate for the same office. He will soon retire from public life and move his family to his farm, located nine miles north of Jacksonville, where he owns 320 acres of farming land. It is also the intention of Mr. Birdsey to carry on general farming, fruit-growing, and also make a specialty of hog-raising. He has three acres already set with plums and apples and will put out 1,000 more trees the present season, and will devote considerable time to the developing of his mining property.
    He has been married twice--November 5, 1882, to Miss Kathern Ruch, who died October 15, 1887; they had two children: Georgie and Annie. He was married a second time, October 1890, to an estimable widow, Mrs. Fannie Johnson, née Compton.
    Mr. Birdsey has always taken an active interest in public affairs, and is a staunch Republican, always upholding the principles of his party. He is a member of the K. of P., Talisman Lodge, No. 31, of Medford; A.O.U.W., and Improved Order of Red Men of Salem. He has passed all the official chairs of the order.

Rev. H. K. Hines, An Illustrated History of the State of Oregon, 1893, page 324

    WALLACE G. BISHOP: resides two miles north of Phoenix; is a farmer; was born at Antwerp, N.Y., July 26, 1830; moved to Oregon in 1854; in September, 1859 was married to Miss Nancy Scott, a native of Jefferson County, Iowa. Children Leonora, Oman N., Ada J., Ida May, Alexander and Etta.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 501

    GEORGE BLACK: lives on Poormans Creek; is a native of County Down, Ireland; came to Oregon in 1851 and to Jackson County in 1852; is one of the pioneer miners of this country, which calling he still pursues.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 501

    R. L. BLACKWOOD: was born in Chester County, Pennsylvania, in 1854; resides nine miles east of Ashland, where he cultivates his farm and raises stock; in 1877 he came to California and in 1879 moved to this county; was married August 13, 1881, to Lillie D. Caldwell. Child Jesse M., born September 17, 1882.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 501

    BLAKESLEY, A. H. of St. Helens, was born in Vermilion County, Indiana, December 13, 1831, and came to Oregon forty-two years ago. He soon went to California and engaged in mining and farming for a time, when he returned to Oregon and located in Jackson County, where he helped organize the Republican Party in 1858 and helped to elect Lincoln President in 1860. He then lived for a few years in Siskiyou County, California, and three years in Benton County, Oregon. Twenty-three years ago he moved to St. Helens, and has been a prominent leader of the Republican Party in Columbia County ever since. He was a delegate to the state and county conventions of 1874, and frequently since, and to the league meeting of 1894. In 1886 he was elected justice of the peace and held the office for nine years. In 1886 he was member of the city council three terms. In 1858 he was a nominee for assessor of Jackson County on the first Republican ticket in the county. He has four sons, all Republicans.
Republican League Register, Portland, 1896, page 183

    HENRY BLECHER: is a pioneer of Southern Oregon, having opened one of the finest butcher shops in Jacksonville in 1852; is a native of Siegen, Westfalen, Prussia, and a gentleman now nearly retired from active life, living on his farm on Poormans Creek.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 501

    Residence, Medford, Oregon. Office, Miles Building, 128 E. Main Street. Born Douglas County, Illinois, February 15, 1876. Son of Benjamin F. and Mary J. (Armstrong) Boggs. Married to E. W. Woodin, June 25, 1902. Attended Urbana, Illinois, public schools, preparatory department of the University of Illinois. Graduated from the University of Illinois, at Urbana, Illinois, 1902, taking the degrees of A. B. and LL.B. Represented the University of Illinois in annual debate with the University of Indiana, 1902. University of Illinois track team, 1894. Admitted to practice law in Illinois, 1902; California, 1902; Oregon, 1908. Deputy District Attorney in Jackson County, Oregon, March term, 1909. Masonic, B.P.O.E., Royal Arcanum and Sigma Alpha Epsilon Fraternities. Republican.
History of the Bench and Bar of Oregon, 1910, page 92

    JOHN BOLT: lives in Applegate, Jackson County; is a merchant; was born December 15, 1836, at Wildhaus, Canton St. Gallen, Switzerland; came to state in 1856, and to county in 1857; was married October 12, 1862, to Elizabeth Richart. Children George N., Ella, Emma V., Lucy A., John E., Fred and Florence A.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 521

Newton W. Borden, November 1, 1924 Medford Mail TribuneNEWTON WILLIAM BORDEN.
    Newton William Borden, of Medford, where since 1913 he has engaged in the practice of law, was born in Virginia in 1880, his parents being Hampson and Elizabeth (Hammond) Borden. The family is one of the oldest in North America, and the ancestral records contain many prominent names, including that of Sir Robert Borden, premier of Canada; Gail Borden, promoter of the condensed milk business; and Henry Borden, a southern railway executive. All of these are representatives of the Borden family that was founded on the shores of North America in the early days of colonial settlement here. Hampson Borden was born in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, where his father was one of the first settlers.
    After receiving his early educational training in his home state, Newton W. Borden worked his way through the Ohio Northern University and afterward took up the study of law in the Intercontinental University, Washington, D.C. He next secured a responsible position in the post office department in the national capital and remained there until his health caused him to seek a change of climate on the Pacific coast. He located in Portland. He completed his preparation for the bar by a course in the Portland Law School and was admitted to practice before the supreme court in 1913. He then entered upon the active work of his profession in Portland, but found that his health demanded a higher altitude and in 1913 he removed to Medford, where he has since continuously and successfully practiced. His ability was quickly recognized in his new home and his forceful energy, his cultured manner and his sterling worth soon made for him many warm friends.
    In 1903 Mr. Borden was married to Miss Ora O. Wisman, a daughter of Hampson Wisman, a native of his home county and representative of one of the old pioneer families of Virginia. The children of this marriage are: Hoxsey J. and Winifred, who are attending the public schools of Medford, the former having reached the high school.
    Mr. Borden finds relaxation from his office and court duties in his garden and when the opportunity offers indulges in camping and fishing. He is a past chancellor commander of the Knights of Pythias and is a member of the Grand Lodge of that order. He is also connected with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and with the Woodmen of the World, being a past counselor commander in the latter organization. His political faith is Democratic and at the present time he is secretary of the Jackson County Democratic committee. With the best years of his life before him and backed by the reputation he has already won Newton W. Borden has a future that is already assured. 
Charles Henry Carey, History of Oregon, vol. III, 1922, pages 160-163

    W. H. BOSWELL, one of the enterprising business men of Newberg, Oregon, was born March 15, 1890, in Malheur County, Oregon. The first Boswell to come to America was a captain of one of the first three ships that sailed to St. Augustine, Florida. From this southern port the family drifted north into Pennsylvania and then crossed over to the central states, where they stopped for a time before coming west to the Pacific coast states. The great-grandfather was one of the pioneer medical missionaries among the white men of the West, having come to the station at Colfax, Washington, before the massacre. Mr. Boswell's maternal grandfather was a soldier in the Civil War, enlisting in an Indiana regiment.    
    The father, Robert Boswell, a concrete contractor, is living at Medford in this state. In 1870 he crossed the plains to Grand Ronde Valley and has always been actively associated with stock-raising in this part of the state, at one time being inspector for the territory including Malheur, Lake and Harney counties. In addition to this important position he has also held several minor offices. Mr. and Mrs. Boswell are the parents of three children: Cecile. the wife of R. O. Horning, who is now residing in Newberg; W. H., the subject of this sketch; and Robert, who is a resident of Medford.
    W. H. Boswell received his education in the public and high schools of Medford and then took up a commercial course. When he left school thus equipped with business training he entered the general grocery store which his father was then conducting, but he remained here only one year. However, he again associated himself with the activities his father was carrying on, this time in the concrete business which has been purchased after the grocery store was sold. For a year and a half he helped conduct this growing enterprise. Then he began a business career for himself by purchasing Mr. Bradley's photograph gallery at Newberg and since May, 1911, he has been conducting this gallery in a highly satisfactory manner. He was well prepared to enter this line of work because he had been in photographic field work and had also received some training under his predecessor in the gallery he now owns.
    On the 6th of .June, 1911, Mr. Boswell was married to Stella Schuler. a native of North Dakota and a daughter of Richard Schuler, a retired farmer, who came to Oregon from North Dakota in 1907.
    In politics Mr. Boswell is a Republican and to that party he gives his support. He is a member of the Baptist Church and of the Modern Woodmen of America. Although a young man. Mr. Boswell has already made a good start in life, and with a continuance of the quick perceptive faculty he has shown he will meet with success in the business to which he has brought the modern ideas recently advanced in photographic art.

Joseph Gaston, The Centennial History of Oregon, vol. III, 1912, page 314

County School Superintendent.
b. Illinois, 1883; educated public and high schools, Illinois; Illinois State Normal University; married, one daughter; served in various capacities as rural school teacher, ward school principal, assistant to county school superintendent, high school teacher and superintendent; later removed to Oregon; formerly principal high school Medford, superintendent of county high school, Klamath Falls; several years private business; served as superintendent Talent schools; elected to present position 1932 (present term to 1948); member County Unit Board which established unit system in Klamath County schools; member Oregon State Textbook Commission; home 42 Third St., Ashland; office courthouse, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 71

    W. H. Bradshaw, nominee for sheriff, is a resident of Brownsboro and has been a citizen of Oregon for six years. He was born in Kentucky forty-seven years ago and has been in the farming and cattle business all his life, in which latter business he is at present engaged. In his nomination the People's Party have selected a man true to the principles of reform and one whose worth is keenly felt, and deplored by both Democrats and Republicans. His fight will tell.
"The Nominees," Medford Mail, April 22, 1892, page 1

    WILLIAM H. BRADSHAW. The same courage and determination which prompted William H. Bradshaw to enlist as a soldier in the Civil War has been observable all through his life, accompanying him from the time when he had scarcely a dollar to his name to the present, when he represents the vigorous success and sturdy manhood for which the West is famed. In exchange for years of well-directed labor his adopted state has yielded fair and liberal returns, and Jackson County has gained a promoter whose dignity and integrity and practical industry has added to her prestige among the coast counties. Born in Green County, Ky., June 8, 1845, Mr. Bradshaw removed to Clark County, Ill., with his parents when he was seven years old, and four years later settled near Atlanta, Logan County, the same state. Here he grew to manhood on a productive Illinois farm, and not only attended the common schools, but had the advantage of training at the Atlanta Seminary.
    From the monotony of farm life to participation in the great battles of the Civil War was a change appreciated only by the farmer boys now living who have similar records, but it was a change which this fifteen-year-old lad courted with all the enthusiasm of a hitherto pent-up nature. Enlisting in Company D, Seventh Illinois Volunteer Infantry at Camp Butler, Springfield, Ill., July 25, 1861, he vividly recalls his first encounter with the enemy at Fort Donelson. Afterward came the battles of Shiloh, Corinth, Altona, and many minor engagements, and then the famous march with Sherman to the sea. For a time his regiment was on guard duty at Rome, Ga., and Mr. Bradshaw was veteranized at Pulaski, Tenn., January 1, 1864, becoming a member of the same company and regiment. He was discharged in July, 1865, and after taking part in the Grand Review at Washington, returned to his home in Illinois. As was the case with all who entered the Civil War as boys and came out as men, the world took on a different aspect, for grim-visaged war broadened the sympathies, taught generosity to those in distress, and so impressed with the idea of universal brotherhood, that the soldier must ever possess something of that great quality which makes all men kin.
    In the spring of 1866 Mr. Bradshaw took up a homestead in Madison County, Neb., and engaged in stock-raising until coming to Oregon in 1886. Settling on a farm near where he now lives, Mr. Bradshaw married, February 18, 1868, Delilah Allen, of which union there have been born four children: Zadie, the wife of D. W. Stevens on the home ranch; Effie, the wife of Charles Terrell, of the vicinity of Brownsboro; Reedie H., living with his father; and Ira L., also on the home ranch. At the present time Mr. Bradshaw owns nine hundred and fifty-one acres of land on the Little Butte Creek, thirteen miles northeast of Medford, near Brownsboro, five hundred acres of which are under cultivation. He is engaged in farming and stock-raising, and it will readily be seen what an advantage he enjoys in having his children work with him in the management of so large a property, they of course taking an interest which could not be expected of an outsider. Mr. Bradshaw surrounds himself with all possible advantages in his country home, and indeed his manner of life offers great contrast to the farmer of other days, whose knowledge was limited to the range within his fences, and who was supposed to lead a lonely and isolated life. A fine garden and orchard are not the least of the blessings of this model farm, the orchard being especially worthy of mention. It covers twenty acres of land, fifteen acres of which are set out in apples. His residence and outbuildings are modern, his fences in good repair, and the latest in agricultural implements facilitates an extensive and scientific general farming enterprise. Mr. Bradshaw takes deep interest in the development of the county, and is one of its financially strong and substantial men. He is one of the organizers, and a director in, the Medford Bank, one of the reliable institutions of the county. Of late years he has voted the Populist ticket, and was elected commissioner of Jackson County in 1892, serving until 1896. He is a man of influence in the community, is honored for his sound judgment and practical common sense, and is a leader in educational, material and moral advancement.
Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 432-433

    W. H. Breese, also nominee for representative, was born in 1849, at Celle province, Germany, and is of French-German descent. At the age of 17 his parents immigrated to America and settled in Lincoln County, Missouri. In 1872 he cast his first vote for the Republican Party. In the panic of 1873 his parents lost their home and farm on a mortgage and with it went $4,500, the earnings of a lifetime in Germany, and which brought his parents to a premature grave. He then emigrated to Iowa and settled near Waukon, Allamkee County. In 1878 he started in business at Britt, Hancock County, same state. In 1883 he cast his lot with the people of Jackson County, and has resided at Talent ever since. The financial legislation of 1872 and '73 of the G.O.P., which had such a disastrous effect on the country and on the fortunes of his parents, set him to thinking. He felt that he had been directly (in his ignorance) responsible for helping said party in power. He then investigated what is now known as the Greenback movement, and became interested in such literature. He read John Stuart Mills: "Let the volume of money in a nation be doubled and property of all kinds will double in value; let it be reduced one-half and a corresponding shrinkage of values will result therefrom." Since that he knew who was benefited by a contracted currency. In 1878 hs voted for Peter Cooper on the Greenback Labor ticket, since when he has often been told by his Republican and Democratic friends, "You are throwing your vote away." His answer has been, "I would rather be right with the minority than wrong with the majority." His faith in the ultimate redemption of the toilers has never wavered, well knowing that the "mills of the gods grind slowly, but that they grind exceedingly fine," and that it takes a long time to separate the wheat from the chaff in human growth and evolution. He will be the right man in the right place in the legislative hall of Oregon.
"The Nominees," Medford Mail, April 22, 1892, page 1

    E. D. Briggs, Republican Joint Representative for Douglas and Jackson counties, was born at Franklinton, Schoharie County, N.Y., July 10, 1854. His father was a farmer. Young Briggs worked on the farm, attending the public school during the winter months, until he was 17 years of age, when he began teaching. Then he entered Cook Academy, at Havana, N.Y. In 1874 he was elected principal of the Havana Union School. While teaching he read law in the office of Hon. L. M. Conklin, and afterwards entered the law office of Judge William C. Lamont, of Cobbleskill, N.Y. He remained there till the spring of 1878, when he removed to Minnesota. In 1890 he came to Oregon, and has since been engaged In the practice of his profession and in fruitraising at Ashland.
Morning Oregonian, Portland, October 20, 1900, page 4

    Residence and office, Ashland, Oregon. Born in Schoharie County, New York, July 19, 1854. Son of Andrew S. and Jane (Tingue) Briggs. Married to Nellie St. John July 1, 1880. Attended common school, Franklinton, New York; Starkey Seminary, 1872-1874; Cook Academy, Havana, New York, 1874-75. Principal of public schools at Havana, New York, reading law while teaching. Read law with Judge William C. Lamont at Cobleskill, New York, 1876-77. Admitted to the bar at Windom, Minn., July, 1878, practicing law at Heron Lake, Minn., 1878 to 1885, and at Minneapolis, Minn., 1885-1890. Came to Oregon November, 1890, and has practiced in Ashland, Oregon, to date. County Attorney, Jackson County, Minn., 1879-80. Member of Legislature, 1901 to 1903. Member of Masonic and B.P.O.E. fraternities. Republican.
History of the Bench and Bar of Oregon,
1910, page 95

BRIGGS, William M., lawyer; b. Ashland, Oregon March 29, 1896; Valparaiso School of Law 1917. m. Nancy Bell Brown November 13, 1919; children--Nancy Brown, William M., Jr. City Attorney of Ashland since 1919. State Legislature 1927. Exalted Ruler B.P.O.E.; Mason; American Legion; Kiwanis; Lithian; Southern Oregon, Oregon, American bar associations. Republican. Episcopalian. Address: Pioneer Block, Ashland, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 43

Lawyer, member Briggs & Briggs.
b. Ashland, Oregon March 29, 1889; educated grade and high schools Oregon; School of Law, Valaparaiso LL.B. 1917; Sigma Delta Kappa; m. Dorothy Nininger, Ashland, December 8, 1932; daughters Nancy Brown and Judith Logan; son William M. Jr.; admitted to law practice Ashland 1919; served U.S. Army World War I; attorney for City of Ashland 1919-34, 1941 to date; state legislator 1927-29; president League of Oregon Cities 1933-35; author of Taxation of Municipal or Public Owned Utilities (pamphlet); member Southern Oregon and state bar associations; past Exalted Ruler Elks; Mason; Republican; Episcopalian; home 167 Church St.; office Pioneer Block, Ashland
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 77

Nonmetallic Mineral Producer.

b. Hillsdale, Michigan April 19, 1905; son of Roy C. and May M. (Kerr) Bristol; educated three years Michigan State College; Phi Delta; m. Esther Platt, St. Joseph, Mo. May 9, 1934; daughter Joan Esther; began as auditor Detroit Trust Co.; mine manager colorado, 1931-32; manager Oregon Lime Products, Williams, Oregon 1933-36; manager, owner Bristol Silica Company since 1938; councilman, Grants Pass 1944-48; member American Institute of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers; Rotarian; Republican; Presbyterian; home 838 Washington Blvd.; office Bristol Silica Co., Rogue River
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 77

PETER BRITT, portrait painter, is a widely and favorably known early settler of Oregon. He came to the state as early as 1852. He is a native of Switzerland, born in the historical town of Obstalden, Glarus Canton, March 11, 1819. His parents were Jacob and Dora Britt. The latter died in Obstalden, Canton Glarus in 1845. Her husband and family came to America, locating in Madison County, Illinois, where the father died in March, 1850. Peter is the youngest in a family of three children. He was reared and educated in the land of his birth, where he made portrait painting a study. He came with his father to Illinois, and for a time engaged in farming. In 1847 he established himself as a photographer at Highland, that state, and continued in that business until 1852, when he took his apparatus and crossed the plains, coming the old route, via Fort Hall. He established the business which he now conducts in Jacksonville, where located upon coming to Oregon. He is an artist by nature, as well as by cultivation, and his studio is one where any lover of art would gladly spend many hours in study of his oil paintings, both portrait and landscape. These are largely from his own brush. Prominent among the large number of landscape paintings of his own there are several views of the historical Crater Lake of Klamath County, also of many other landmarks of the state.
    Mr. Britt has spent a portion of the many years of his residence in this state in traveling about Southern Oregon, and probably has a larger collection of photographs of scenes of interest than any other person in the state. On his arrival in Jacksonville he built a log house and occupied it for many years as a gallery. His present residence is located on the most beautiful building site in the city. From its balcony, one has a perfect panoramic view of the Rogue River Valley and surrounding mountains. This home is presided over by his only daughter, Miss Amelia. His son Emil is connected with him in business.
    He was married in Jacksonville in 1861 to Mrs. Amelia Grob, whose son, Jack C., by a former marriage, is a resident of Jackson County, in Jacksonville, Oregon.
    Mr. Britt has been a member of the town council in early days. Besides his home property, consisting of eighty acres, he also owns 150 acres of farm land, located at Eagle Point, and 440 acres farther down the valley, besides 200 acres in Jacksonville, twenty acres in fruit trees, five in vines, from which he makes a fine quality of wine, which he sells principally to the local trade.

Rev. H. K. Hines, An Illustrated History of the State of Oregon, 1893, pages 420-421

    PETER BRITT. To Peter Britt belongs the distinction of taking the first photograph in the state of Oregon, the much-valued print still being a prized possession of this master portrait painter and photographer. The date of this undertaking was February 26, 1858, and the subject was Judge Mosher. Probably no one living in the West has so large a collection of pioneer pictures as Mr. Britt, the majority of his subjects having long since passed over the great divide. All degrees and kinds of photographic development are represented, and probably most of the faces which had to do with the frontier days may be studied under the hospitable roof of this earnest and high-minded lover of art. His gallery also contains many examples of his portrait work in oils, and upon his canvases are perpetuated many of the ideal landscapes for which Oregon is noted far and wide. Many of these paintings represent great value, and as a collection they rank with the landmarks which illustrate western development up to the present time. The Britt house and gallery commands a view over the entire city and Rogue River Valley, the horizon being banked by the Cascade Mountains. Surrounding it are flowers, shrubs and trees in profusion, the trees including ornamental palms, magnolias, chestnut, lemon and orange trees, as well as cherry, plum, apple, peach and others which bear their burden of fruit each season, an ideal home, occupied by an artist who has gone through life with seeing eyes, and one who has observed and thought with extreme intelligence. It is not surprising that his eighty-five years are crowned with the honor of all, the love and affection of many and the supreme consciousness of having performed well whatever he set out to do.
    Mr. Britt was born in Glarus, Switzerland, March 19, 1819, his ancestors having settled in the Alps country many hundreds of years ago, emigrating from their home in England. Jacob Britt, the father of Peter, was born near Glarus, and married Dorothy Britt, a native of the same locality, and daughter of Kasper Britt. Jacob Britt brought his family, consisting of two sons, his wife having died some years before, to America in 1845, locating in Highland, Ill., where he lived to be seventy-three years old. In his native land, and also in the country of his adoption, he engaged in the wood business, importing the finest of woods for cabinet and other ornamental work.
    Peter Britt was twenty-six years old when he came to America with his father in 1845, bringing with him a practical common-school education and a mastery of portrait painting. Seven years later, in 1852, he joined a party of three in a trip across the plains, having one wagon and six yoke of sturdy oxen. They were eight months on the way, and though they had much to do with the Indians, invariably received kind treatment from the denizens of the plains. It is one of the pleasantest recollections of Mr. Britt that they were always thoughtful and considerate of the red men, and that they often gave them food and otherwise purchased their good will. Locating in Jacksonville, he plied his art, which he had perfected in Illinois and St. Louis, Mo., in which latter city he had also taken up daguerreotyping, as possibly better understood and appreciated in this country. At the same time he took up a half section of land adjoining the town of Jacksonville, to which he later added eighty acres, combining its management with portrait painting and daguerreotyping. In the spring of 1853 he started a pack train to Crescent City, a distance of one hundred miles, and continued the freighting business until 1856. He then sold out his train and went to San Francisco, where he purchased a larger and more complete photographic outfit, and soon afterward took the first photograph before referred to. His life in the meantime has been a busy one, and here he married Amalia Grob, who for years watched his growing success, but died in 1871. Two children were born of the union, Emile and Amalia D. Aside from his beautiful home, Mr. Britt owns several farms in the Rogue River Valley, upon one of which is a vineyard yielding delicious grapes and fruit for wine production. The balance of the land is in orchard and pasture. Formerly Mr. Britt voted the Democratic ticket, but owing to the currency attitude of his party he has espoused the cause of Republicanism. Too much cannot be said in eulogy of the life and work of this disciple of nature. In a groove in which comparatively few excel, he has tenaciously maintained a high standard, and at the same time has made a practical success of his life work. It is the unusual artist who has the financial part of his makeup well developed, and especially one who has not sacrificed the dignity or simplicity of his calling.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 966-967

    D. P. BRITTAIN: resides on Wagner Creek; post office address, Talent; is a farmer by occupation; was born June 25, 1832, in Putnam County, Indiana; in October, 1853, he emigrated to Oregon, where he was married April 28, 1859, to Miss M. L. Garrison. Children Louisa E., Ora A. and Ida B.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 501

    CHAS. W. BROBACK: has heretofore been farming and stock raising; he is now one of the proprietors of Medford, a new town springing up on the O.&C.R.R., a few miles north of Phoenix; is a Virginian by birth, being born July 14, 1835; came to California in 1852 and to Oregon in 1864; was married December 25, 1859, to Francis A. Haigh. Children Fernando W., Walter, Charles, Clarence, Ettie and Allie.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 501

    E. C. BROOKS: lives in Jacksonville; is a jeweler and dealer in watches, clocks, etc.; was born in Hancock, Hillsborough County, N.H.; came to state and county in 1864; was married in 1849 to Miss Hannah Porter, since deceased; was again married in 1882 to Mrs. A. Hauck. Children Annie (deceased), Lizzie, Charles (deceased), Susie and Girtie.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 501

b. Medford, Oregon, July 4, 1902; son of Nicholas and Annie (Robison) Brophy; great-grandfather immigrated by oxcart to Rogue Valley, 1848; educated public schools of Medford; m. Verna Charley of Brownsboro, Aug. 19, 1922; began farming on original homestead of family, later purchased farm from father; engaged in engineering, plant inspection and construction, highway department; co-owner (1926-30), owner (1930-) Brophy's Jewelers; owner Brophy Bldg.; owner hay and grain ranch, Medford; Lion; Elk; member Chamber of Commerce; Rogue River Country Club; State and National Jewelers Associations; Republican; home 309 N. Grape; office 209 E. Main, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 80

    DAVID MARCUS BROWER, M.D., who is successfully filling the double occupation of general practitioner of medicine and minister of the gospel at Ashland, Ore., has been a resident of this city since 1893 and has served one term as county coroner of Jackson County. Dr. Brower is a man of enterprise and possesses unusual ability in both the professions. The Brower family originated in Holland and probably settled for a time in New York, after coming to America, later locating in Lancaster County, Pa. Enoch Brower, the great-grandfather of our subject, was born in November, 1762. He married Froenta Eichenberry. His son, John Brower, a native of Lancaster County, Pa., was a miller by trade, and moved into Rockingham County, Va., where he became a tiller of the soil, and where his death occurred. He was united in marriage with Hannah Miller, a daughter of David and Magdeline (Eichenberry) Miller.
    Dr. Brower's parents were David and Salome (Yoder) Brower, the former a native of Rockingham County, Va., born in 1821. He was an elder in the German Baptist Brethren Church, and preached the gospel for half a century, in addition to conducting a farm. He left Allen County, Ohio, in 1854 and located in Keokuk County, Iowa, where he followed his double vocation of farmer and minister of the gospel, being a pioneer in that section in both lines of endeavor. His wife, Salome (Yoder) Brower, was born in Center County, Pa., in 1819, a daughter of Henry and Nancy (Yoder) Yoder. Her father was at one time a farmer, in Pennsylvania, but finally settled in Ohio. Mrs. Brower passed to her final rest in Salem, Ore., whither the family had removed in 1871. The father bought a farm near that city and once more took up his double occupation, following the same until his death in 1890. He preached all over the states of Oregon, Washington and Idaho in the home missionary work, his services being given gratuitously. He established congregations and built churches in many parts of the West. He and his wife had seven children, of whom David M. is the fifth. Other members of their family are Jacob D., of Michigan; Mrs. Priscilla Morgan, of Marion County, Ore.; Barbara B., now Mrs. William Baltimore, of Albany, Ore.; and Levi S., also a resident of Marion County.
    David M. Brower was born, October 26, 1858, in Keokuk County, Iowa, where his primary education was obtained in the district schools. In 1871 he accompanied his parents to Oregon, and in this state his education was completed. He entered Willamette University at Portland, and was graduated from the medical department of that institution in 1888, with the degree of M.D. Soon after his graduation, Dr. Brower opened an office in Roseburg, Ore., and at once commenced the practice of his chosen profession. One year later he went to Myrtle Point, Coos County, as general practitioner, and while there he served one term as coroner of Coos County. In 1893 he located in Ashland, which has since been his home, and during his years of residence there he has built up a lucrative practice. In 1902-03 he served as president of the Southern Oregon Medical Society. In 1894 he was installed as minister of the German Baptist Brethren Church, over which he still presides.
    March 18, 1883, Dr. Brower was united in marriage with Delila Miller, formerly of Jackson County, Iowa, and a daughter of Isaac S. and Elizabeth (Bayer) Miller, the former a miller by trade and a native of Holmes County, Ohio, and the latter of Germany. Mr. and Mrs. Miller were married in Illinois. In 1864 they went to Clark County, Ohio, and later became esteemed residents of Rock Creek, that state. The paternal grandfather of Mrs. Brower was Solomon Miller.
    Dr. and Mrs. Brower have had ten children, only six of whom are living. Their children are as follows: Leland R., who died aged six; David M., who died at the age of four years; Manly M.; Myra, who died aged three years; Andrew F.; Edith W., who died when eighteen months old; Voda E.; Harley Ray; Mina M. and Allan M. Dr. Brower is a Socialist in his political convictions and is among the most useful members of society in Ashland.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 331-332

    GEORGE BROWN. A merchandising enterprise of Eagle Point which dates its origin back to the old frontier days and has courageously withstood the financial storms ever since, is that owned and managed by George Brown & Sons. Although the present dispenser of general wares has been in possession only since 1885, the store has been in his family for many years, and were its counters and shelves given the power of speech they could accurately record the history of every individual and happening almost since the first settler arrived on the scene. This popular and well-patronized store is therefore a landmark in this section of the country and has done as much to build it up as any other agency hereabouts.
    George Brown was born near the great cathedral town of York, England, June 5, 1833, a son of Richard Brown, a native of England and a farmer by occupation. He married Cecilia Mary Thompson, also a native of England, who died in Jacksonville, Ore. Of the ten children born to Richard and Cecilia (Thompson) Brown, two are now living, George, the special subject of this sketch, and William M. The latter lives in Revelstoke, British Columbia, where he is conducting the Victoria Hotel. Aside from the latter business he is interested in mining, and for ten years he was a member of parliament in British Columbia. George Brown was eight years old when the family came to America and located on government land near Racine, Wis. Three years later the father died, leaving the widow and children in a new country in rather limited circumstances. All of the sons sought employment as soon as their strength permitted, but altogether the prospect in Wisconsin was not of an encouraging nature, and George decided to go to Chicago, Ill., to learn the carpenter's trade. In 1852 his two brothers, Robert H. and Henry R., arranged to cross the plains to Oregon, confident that they stood as good a chance as any to make a livelihood on the Pacific Coast. At the end of their journey they separated upon different missions, Henry coming to Jackson County in 1853 and settling on a donation claim, while Robert, a carpenter by trade, found work in Portland and Astoria. While in Astoria he built the first wharf that was erected in that place. He later came to Jacksonville, in 1856, and after following mining for a year went to the Fraser River and the Caribou country, in the latter place becoming manager for a large mining firm. Returning to Jackson County, he engaged in a merchandise business for a couple of years, and then started the general store now owned by his brother George.
    In the meantime Henry R. had become established on a ranch in Jackson County, but in 1859 he returned to the East. In the spring of 1860 he drove a band of brood mares across the plains, bring with him his mother and the rest of the family, including George. Returning to the farm, Henry Brown at once resumed the duties which he had laid down upon starting for the East some months previously. For seven months George Brown was engaged in the butchering business in Jacksonville, and later became interested in mining near Jacksonville, also becoming the owner of a claim in Rich Gulch, which he operated with fair success for about four years. He then worked at his trade in Jacksonville for many years, and in 1885 bought his brother Robert's store, which he has successfully conducted ever since. His interest in mining has never waned, and he is also extensively engaged in stock-raising on a farm of five hundred acres in Jackson County. Few men have exceeded him in a steady rise to success, for he possesses shrewd and practical judgment, and is cautious in whatever he undertakes. No one in the town has more staunchly supported the Republican Party or been called upon to fill more positions of trust and responsibility. For six years he was chairman of the County Republican Central Committee and six years a school director. Mr. Brown is genial and obliging, studies the individual preferences and desires of his patrons, and maintains an up-to-date and thoroughly equipped general store.
    December 13, 1858, George Brown married Mary Jane Tinker, a daughter of Hon. James Tinker, a native of England, where Mrs. Brown was born, but when three years old was brought to America by her parents. The Tinker family located in Wisconsin near the Brown home. Mr. Tinker was one of the first to take up the temperance cause in England, and in this country continued the good work. During the latter part of the '40s Mr. Tinker, in company with the famous "Birmingham blacksmith," made a tour of the principal cities of America, and at the time of the Crystal Palace in London they went to England. Mr. Tinker lectured throughout Scotland, and while there visited John McMillen, a brother of his wife, and who at that time was the principal of Edinburgh College. It is worthy of note that Kirkpatrick McMillen, grandfather of Mrs. Brown, was the inventor of the first bicycle, and Mrs. Brown's mother was the first lady to ride a bicycle. Mr. Tinker was a Republican in politics, and took an active interest in the welfare of his chosen party. At one time he represented his district in the Wisconsin legislature, and also served as county treasurer and county clerk, besides filling other important positions. During the war he served as provost marshal. All in all Mr. Tinker was a great orator in the cause which he had aided for so many years, and was indeed a noble man, honored by all with whom he came in contact.
    To Mr. and Mrs. Brown were born eleven children, ten of whom are living: Emily, now Mrs. William M. Holmes, of Central Point; Sarah, Mrs. James T. Guerin, of Portland; Royal G., at home; Cecilia, Mrs. S. B. Holmes, of Eagle Point; Frank, who is interested with his father in the store; George, who was accidentally killed when sixteen years old by the premature discharge of a gun while on a hunting expedition; Cora, the wife of Dr. W. B. Officer, of Eagle Point; William H., a partner in the store with his father; Lottie, the wife of Paul Van Scoy, an operator now in Nevada; Merritt, at home; and Bessie, the wife of J. H. Carlton, of Eagle Point.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 625-626

Insurance Executive and Realtor.
b. Canyon City, Ore., Jan. 10, 1901; son of Charles and Selma (Schmidt) Brown, early settlers of Grant County, John Day country; educated Canyon City grade school; Jefferson High School; University of Oregon 2 years; Sigma Alpha Epsilon; m. Mary Bebb, Medford, Ore. Nov. 10, 1932; began with National Life Insurance of Vermont, Portland; present position insurance and real estate, Medford since 1930; also orchard operator; assisted in development of Medford Housing Project, World War II; secretary Jackson County Realty Board 1945; member National and Oregon Realty Boards and Oregon Insurance Agents Association; member, Jackson County Sheriff's Posse; Foot Printers Association; member Kiwanis Club (past president); Chamber of Commerce; Medford Gun Club; Izaac Walton League; Elk; Eagle: S.R. Mason; Hillah Shriner (director 1940-); Democrat; Episcopalian (former vestryman); home Rt. 2, Box 234, Old Stage Road; office 123 E. Main, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 82

    HENRY R. BROWN: one of the earliest pioneers of Southern Oregon; is a farmer and stock grower; was born in Yorkshire, England, in 1829; came to this county in 1852, where he was married in 1860 to Martha Blamsley. Children Jennie C., Mary M., Emogene, H. Lee, Olive and George B; Lee and Olive are now deceased. Mr. Brown has long been a resident of Butte Creek and was the founder of Brownsboro.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 501

    WM. H. BRUNK: resides in Phoenix; is a clerk; was born near Louisville, Ky., November 13, 1848; came to California in 1849, and to Oregon in 1851; to this county in 1883.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 501

    JAMES D. BUCKLEY: lives on Applegate Creek; is a farmer; came to state and county in 1854; was married June 13, 1871, to Margaret Riley. Children Rosa A., John D., James, Francis, Kate M. and David. Mr. Buckley is a native of County Cork, Ireland.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 501

    Spencer Seth Bullis, railroad builder, miner, lumber dealer and president of the Rogue River Valley Canning Company, has in these and various other fields of activity established his position as one of the builders of the great state of Oregon, for his enterprises have always been of a character that have contributed to public progress as well as to individual advancement. He has been most careful in formulating his plans and determined in their execution, and when one avenue of opportunity has seemed closed he has carved out other paths whereby to reach the desired goal.
    Mr. Bullis was born at East Aurora, New York, in 1849, and for more than a half century he has been a human dynamo, still running strong. He comes from sturdy stock on both sides. His parents were Seth M. and Mary (Scott) Bullis, his ancestors in the paternal line having come to America in 1630. His grandfather was a tool maker who settled in northern New York early in the history of development in that state.
    Spencer S. Bullis was educated in the common schools of his native county and in the East Aurora Academy and the Fort Edward Collegiate Institute. When a youth of nineteen years he went to the Oil Creek district of Pennsylvania but soon found that fortune was slow in coming his way. He then turned his attention to the shingle business, and when he was twenty-one years of age his father gave him a thousand dollars, which he invested in a sawmill. It was about that time that he
was offered a position as selling agent at Buffalo with a large lumber concern — a position which he accepted — and from 1876 until 1893, or for a period of seventeen years, he handled an immense amount of lumber of his own and other manufacturers throughout the middle and New England states. He also handled hemlock bark for several years and was the largest shipper to the New England tanneries. During this period he organized and managed as president the Pennsylvania Lumber Storage Company, which was a system of pooling lumber interests. This was a great success and did an immense business until the timber of that territory became largely exhausted. Always advancing, never retreating, he built the Gulf & Ship Island Railroad, a system of two hundred and fifty miles extending south from Jackson, the capital of Mississippi, and terminating at Gulfport, Mississippi, with terminals and docks there. This soon became the second lumber exporting port on this continent. He was vice president and general manager of the railroad until 1901, when he disposed of his interests. In 1904 he went to Vancouver, British Columbia, and for several years had interests there in connection with the docks and terminals around that city and also in copper mines, having sold to the Brittania Company, the Empress group, which now constitutes a considerable part of their properties which are among the large ones of the continent. During all the time up to 1914 he had his residence at Olean, New York, which was his business headquarters, rearing his family there.
    In 1914 Mr. Bullis located in Medford, Oregon, and was soon In the front rank of its progressive business men. He took up mining and now owns and operates the Sterling mine, the oldest and largest placer mine in this gold territory. He organized the Southern Oregon Lumber Company, of which he is now the treasurer, and he established the Rogue River Valley Canning Company, of which he is the president. He likewise built the electric line from Medford to Jacksonville, which is now a part of the Medford Coast Railroad. Quickly recognizing needs and opportunities, he has put forth effort to meet these needs and in so doing has given to the public valuable business service, while his labors have brought substantial financial returns.
    Mr. Bullis was married to Miss Sarah Eliza Potter, a daughter of Gilbert Potter, a member of one of the old colonial families. He became a farmer of northern New York, occupying a tract of two hundred and fifty acres that has been in possession of the family since 1805. To Mr. and Mrs. Bullis have been born the following named: Martha A., who is the wife of Ralph Boutelle, a native of Fitchburg, Massachusetts, and connected with the Sons of the American Revolution; Gilbert Potter, a lawyer and cotton planter of Louisiana; Raymond S., a resident of Whittier, California, where he is engaged in oil production; Helen M., living in Medford; Seth M., superintendent of the California Oregon Power Company; and Gardiner, living at Los Angeles, California.
    Fraternally Mr. Bullis is a Mason and an Elk, and his religious faith is indicated in his membership in the Presbyterian Church. Though past the allotted span of three score years and ten, he is still active and at his desk for eight hours every working day. His life has been an active and useful one, his labors far-reaching and resultant, and his enterprise has brought him prominently to the front. Charles Henry Carey, History of Oregon, vol. III, 1922, pages 60-63

BURCH, Albert, mining engineer; b. Peru, Nebraska January 8, 1867; to Oregon September 1923; Nebraska State Normal School; York College; m. Mary Louise Aylesworth Stewart January 1, 1891; children--Mary Beryl, Irma Louise. Civil engineer 1890; mining engineer 1928; superintendent of mines Utah, Idaho, Nevada, California. I.O.O.F.; A.A.S.R.; K.T. Republican. Address: Black Oak Ranch, Medford, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 47

    I. W. BURRISS: resides in Ashland: is a saloon keeper; was born in Monroe County, Mo., March 30, 1839; came to Oregon in 1879, in which year, October 29th, he was married to Miss F. Erb.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, pages 501-502

    OLIVER BURSELL. Handicapped at the outset of his career in America by an utter ignorance of the language or customs of the country, and by the absence of the wherewithal to smooth his way until getting a fair start in the business world, Oliver Bursell has forged his way to the front with the ablest of his Swedish countrymen, and is leading a life of comfort and usefulness on his fine farm near Central Point. This enterprising farmer and stock-raiser was born in Thedalles [sic], Sweden, May 13, 1844, and comes of a long-lived ancestry, his forefathers having developed strong constitutions through tilling the soil and leading frugal, self-denying lives. His father lived to be eighty and his mother eighty-four years old, and the parents devoted their energies to farming, rearing their family of children in ways of usefulness and honor.
    All his life long Mr. Bursell has been a student, and in earlier years improved every opportunity to broaden his knowledge that he might make a successful teacher. He left the home farm at the age of nineteen and taught until his twenty-fourth year, and March 1, 1868, married Sarah E. Johnson, a country woman born in the vicinity of his father's farm. The young people at once began to make plans for emigration to the United States, and finally embarked with their worldly possessions on a sailing vessel, reaching New York City July 4, 1868. Mr. Bursell at first lived in Rock Island, Ill., and found employment in a sawmill. He was sadly in need of the position, for he reached Illinois with just $4 in his pocket, and without knowing the meaning of more than half a dozen English words. After leaving the sawmill he worked on a farm near Rock Island for three years, and in 1873 removed to Nebraska, of which he had heard much, but where he failed to realize his expectations. In 1874 he engaged at the carpenter's trade, and liked it so well that he devoted nine years of his life to fine cabinet and general building work.
    Upon arriving in Oregon in the spring of 1883 Mr. Bursell worked at his trade about four months in Portland, and the same year came to the Rogue River Valley, where he purchased two hundred and eighty acres of land, devoting it to general farming and stock-raising. He made practically all of the improvements on his land, made of it a paying investment, and disposed of it in 1898 with gratifying profit. The same year he purchased his present farm of three hundred acres five miles northwest of Medford. and which was formerly known as the Chambers donation claim. The farm already showed evidences of industry and good management, but Mr. Bursell has found it to his advantage to remodel the buildings of his predecessor and to build a modern barn 52x60 feet in dimensions. At the present time he owns five hundred acres of land in this vicinity, four hundred and forty-five of which are under cultivation. Each year has proved better than the one before, and Mr. Bursell is more than satisfied with the lay of his land and with its productiveness. Last year his grain fields averaged forty-six bushels to the acre. His knowledge of carpentering has been of immense use to him in making the improvements on his place, and has necessarily lessened the expense attached to the changing of the character of the buildings. He is a mechanical genius, and many things which seem complicated to others are accomplished with comparative ease by this genial knight of the saw and hammer.
    Mr. Bursell is a Republican in politics, and while interested in local and country political undertakings has never worked for the local offices to which he has been elected by his fellow townsmen. The family, consisting of Mr. and Mrs. Bursell and three children, Ellen, Victor and Arved, who is a student in the University of Oregon, are members of the Church of God, of which Mr. Bursell is a deacon, and toward the support of which he is a generous contributor.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 706-707

    GWIN S. BUTLER: is a merchant in Ashland; was born near Jacksonville, Oregon, January 19, 1854; was married November 2, 1879, to Miss Alice Adeline Barron, daughter of H. F. Barron, Esq., of this county.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    GWIN S. BUTLER. Among the great developing agencies which have made the West the magnificent country which it is today, probably the most important, after the pioneers who opened the country and made the first inroads upon its primitive wildness, are the lives and exertions of the sons of these pioneers, natives of the West, whose careers have been important factors in its development and progress. Prominent among men of this class is Gwin S. Butler, of Ashland, who has the distinction of being the second oldest living native son of Jackson County. Since his birth there on January 19, 1854, Mr. Butler has had his home in this county, and all his efforts and energies, which are always factors to be reckoned with, have been devoted to the improvement and development of this section of the country.
    Gwin S. Butler is a son of Ashmun J. and America E. (Rollins) Butler. The father was a native of Illinois, and the mother's early home was in Kentucky. They were married in Des Moines, Iowa, in 1850, and two years later set out with ox teams for the long and arduous journey across the continent to the West. For five months they struggled with all the hardships of primitive travel, and when winter overtook them they had reached Yreka, California, where they remained for the winter. In January, 1853, the journey was continued over the Rogue River Valley into Jackson County, Oregon, where Mr. Butler took up a donation claim of three hundred and twenty acres which now adjoins the city of Medford. Ashmun J. Butler died on this claim in 1859. The mother and son remained on the claim, and on October 10, 1865, the mother was again married. Her second husband was Jacob Thompson, a pioneer of 1847, and at the time of his death one of the influential and prominent men in the county. A more extended account of him is given on another page of this work. Mr. and Mrs. Thompson died within three months of each other, she in November, 1910, and he in February, 1911, both in the eighty-fifth year of their age.
    Gwin S. Butler was reared on his father's claim and acquired his early education in the common schools. This was later supplemented by a course at the Ashland Normal School. After finishing his education, he returned to the ranch and spent five years in farming, acquiring a practical working knowledge of the details of western ranching which has been invaluable to him in the operation of his present holdings. Mr. Butler removed to Ashland in 1879 and engaged in the mercantile business with which he was prominently identified for five years. The same qualities of business sagacity and acumen which had made his ranching successful operated also in his mercantile career, and when he left it to join his stepfather in the stock-raising business, he had attained a degree of success which we are accustomed to associate with a long period of activity. Gwin S. Butler and his stepfather, Jacob Thompson, owned at this time valuable ranch lands both in Klamath and Jackson counties, and in 1884 they joined their resources and their energies and engaged in stock farming on a large scale. The venture was successful. Both Mr. Butler and his stepfather were keen and shrewd business men, well acquainted with the details of the business in which they were engaged, and had an accurate and practical knowledge of the natural conditions of the country in which they were working to aid them in their activities. Mr. Butler kept his holdings in the stock farm until 1905, when he sold his interests in it and devoted his entire attention to looking after those of his parents.
    On November 4, 1879, Gwin S. Butler was married to Miss Alice Barron, a native of Jackson County, a daughter of Major Barron, one of the pioneers of Jackson County, of whom a sketch appears elsewhere in this work. Mr. and Mrs. Butler have no children.
    Mr. Butler is essentially a public-spirited man. He takes an intelligent interest in the politics of his section and has served several times in public capacities. He is consistently Republican in his political affiliations. He was for four years county commissioner of Jackson County, and served one year as mayor of Ashland. He is at present an active and efficient member of the Ashland town council. He is very active in fraternal organizations, holding membership in the Ashland lodge. No. 23, A.F. and A.M., in the Siskiyou Chapter, No. 4, R.A.M., and in Malta Commandery, No. 4, K.T. He is also a member of the Hillah Temple. A.A.O.N.M.S. of Ashland, and of the Woodmen of the World, besides being active in Ashland Lodge, No. 944, B.P.O.E.
    Gwin S. Butler is one of the most prominent and active business men in Ashland today. He is well known in commercial circles and is an active factor in the commercial life of the city. His various commercial activities include a directorship in the United States National Bank, the presidency of the Granite City Savings Bank of Ashland, and the vice presidency of the Ashland Ice and Cold Storage Company. He is secretary of the Ashland Improvement Company and secretary and general manager of the Butler & Thompson Company.
    Mr. Butler's career has been rewarded with well deserved success. A man who combined the qualities of strict integrity, honorable methods, and fairness in all business transactions, with commercial acumen and business instinct of a high order, has in his mental equipment and moral character the foundation of quick and sure success.

Joseph Gaston, The Centennial History of Oregon,
vol. III, 1912, pages 144-145

BUTLER, Gwln Samuel, Brokerage and Insurance; born, Medford, Jan. 19, 1854; son, Ashmun J. and America E. (Rollins) B. Edu.: Ashland Academy, 1874. Married, Alice Barrow, Nov. 2, 1879, at Ashland, Oregon. Dir., 20 years, U.S. Natl. Bank; pres., Granite City Savings Bank; sec. and dir., Ashland Improvement Co.; dir. and vice-pres., Ashland Ice & Storage Co.; pres., Fox & Garrett Oil Co.; mgr., treas. & dir., Butler & Thompson Co.; served four years as County Commissioner; served as Mayor, City of Ashland, Ore. Member: Shriners, Knights Templar, R.A.M., A.F.&A.M. Order Eastern Star, Elks, Modern Woodmen. Address: 41 Granite St., Ashland, Ore.

Franklin Harper, ed., Who's Who on the Pacific Coast, Los Angeles 1913, page 87

Pioneer; Philanthropist.
b. Jackson County, Oregon January 19, 1854, early family pioneers of Southern Oregon; educated Ashland Academy; m. Alice B. Barron November 2, 1879; entire life active in the business, civic and general development of Ashland; former Mayor, Ashland; past president, director Medford Ice and Storage Co., Ashland Ice and Storage Co.; former president State Bank of Ashland; long active in public service and charitable and fraternal benefactions; Elk; Mason; Republican; Protestant; home 41 Granite St., Ashland
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 92

    WM. BYBEE: one of the largest land owners in Southern Oregon: resides near Jacksonville; was born in Clark County, Ky., 1830; came to Oregon in 1853 and to this county in 1854; was married in November, 1854, to Miss Elizabeth A. Walker. Children Ryland (deceased), James W., Florence (deceased), Lillie M. (deceased), Effie, Jefferson (deceased), Frank E., Alexander M. (deceased), Minnie I., Robert L., Minerva M. (deceased).

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    WILLIAM BYBEE. In the whole of Jackson County, Ore., there is no more extensive land owner than William Bybee, to whom belongs the distinction of having owned at different periods more than half of Jackson County, whose interests have been identified with his own since first coming to this locality in the spring of 1854. A native of the state of Kentucky, born near Winchester, Clark County, April 20, 1830, and reared upon a farm, he was the recipient of but a meager education, and in the spring of 1850 he started out to seek his fortune. At Cass County, Mo., he entered the employ of the government, in the transfer of freight to Mexico, continuing to work in that capacity for about six months. In the spring of 1851 he accompanied a train of government supplies to Larimer, Kans., and a few months later returned to Cass County. Having an intense desire to go further west and try his fortune on the Pacific Slope, Mr. Bybee, in company with eight others, congregated at Larimer, provisioned an outfit of several wagons, drawn by mule teams and started for the Far West in the spring 1852. Arriving at Diamond Springs, Cal., they spent the winter at that place in prospecting and mining, with only fair success, and the following spring pushed on to the vicinity of Portland, Ore., where they remained about a year.
    Mr. Bybee first came to Jackson County in the spring of 1854, and during July, August and September, with Jesse Walker and about fifty other settlers, he assisted in protecting the settlers from the raids of the Indians, whose depredations caused considerable trouble in that locality. They chased the foe a distance of about two hundred and fifty miles before subduing them, and then returned home and disbanded soon afterwards. Mr. Bybee bought a donation claim near Jacksonville, and before him was the gigantic task of clearing the land if he would cultivate the rich soil. By perseverance and patient efforts he soon began to prosper, and in a very short time added four hundred acres to his original claim. Subsequent purchases increased his farm to one of larger dimensions, until now he owns seventeen hundred acres in that locality. Here the greater part of his life has been spent, and during these years thousands of dollars have been spent in the improvement of his land. Stock-raising is his principal business, although a part of his wealth is the result of successful mining operations. For a period of forty-one consecutive years Mr. Bybee supplied the miners in this vicinity with choice porkers, which he drove to the mines himself, often realizing a handsome profit therefrom. By keen foresight all his savings were invested in real estate and more and more attention was given to stock-raising and buying and selling land. In addition to his splendid home farm, his possessions at this writing include twenty-nine hundred acres in the Rogue River region, fifteen hundred and sixty acres along Antelope Creek, and five hundred acres along Evans Creek, seven miles above Wimer. Fine mineral springs are located on the latter farm, which enhance its value exceedingly.
    As a representative citizen of Jackson County, Mr. Bybee has carried into the political field the same keen judgment and foresight which have always characterized his business transactions. In 1878 he was the successful candidate of the Democratic Party for the office of sheriff, and during his four years of service the duties of this office claimed his attention assiduously and were executed in a prompt and fearless manner. Few enterprises have been inaugurated in or about Jacksonville which have not had the benefit of his ability and profited by his influence and guidance. His extensive business interests have left him little time for fraternal societies, and he affiliates with but one order, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, which he joined in 1860.
    The marriage of Mr. Bybee, November 16, 1854, united him with Miss Elizabeth A. Walker, a daughter of Jesse Walker, and this union has been blessed with eleven children. Riland D. was killed by a falling horse at the age of fifteen; two others, Florence and Lily, died from diphtheria; Jefferson was twelve years old at the time of his demise; Alexander also died young; and Maude was five years old at the time of her death. Those living are J. William, a resident of Alaska; F. E., who resides at Medford; Robert E., a citizen of Idaho; Effie, wife of Judge Prim, of Jacksonville; and Minnie, who is now Mrs. Fred Low. The beloved mother of these children passed to her eternal rest October 31, 1899.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 300-301

DR. A. C. CALDWELL, one of the most able members of the dental fraternity of  Southern Oregon, was born in Polk County, Oregon, September 7, 1854. His father, Felix E. Caldwell, was a native of Missouri, and emigrated to Oregon in 1851, where he died May 10, 1866. The mother, née Mariah Greenstreet, was also born in Missouri, and died in Oregon in 1856.
    A. C. Caldwell, the third in a family of four children, was thrown on his own resources early in life, and all the credit that may be due him as a professional man or otherwise has been honorably gained in the school of experience. He has made his own way, step by step, without the assistance of others, and now ranks among the leading men of the fraternity. He enjoys an extensive patronage and is highly esteemed, both by the profession and the public at large. He was reared in Marion County, this state, and attended Monmouth State Normal School. He was then engaged in clerking and teaching until 1877, and in that year began his professional studies, located later in Salem, in 1885. Mr. Caldwell permanently located in Ashland in 1888.
    He was united in marriage while residing in Marion County, in October 1886, with Miss Leah M. Price, a native of Missouri, and they have one daughter, Beulah. In political matters, the Doctor is a consistent Democrat. Socially, he affiliates with the F.&A.M., Royal Arch, Eastern Star and the I.O.O.F. Encampment and Rebekah lodges.

Rev. H. K. Hines, An Illustrated History of the State of Oregon, 1893, page 458

CALDWELL, Verne Vincent, educator; b. Lyons, Kansas December 26, 1897; to Oregon 1926; B.S. University of Idaho 1926; M.S. 1927; m. Bessie May Cox June 2, 1920; children--Elizabeth Louise, Carl Edward. Teacher, Idaho, 1915-17, 1919-25; Southern Oregon Normal School psychology instructor 1926; twice awarded Croix de Guerre; recommended D.S.C.; American Legion; Chamber of Commerce; Kappa Delta Pi. Church of Christ. Address: Southern Oregon Normal School; home: 507 Palm Avenue, Ashland, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 49

    GEORGE S. CALHOUN. Distinguished for his upright principles, strict integrity and foresight, George S. Calhoun is one of the most esteemed and popular business men of Grants Pass. Of substantial New England stock, some of the best blood of the earlier settlers of the bleak Atlantic coast courses through his veins, and the prominent traits of his character finely illustrate the law of heredity. Beginning life under auspicious circumstances, he has taken advantage of every offered opportunity, and has been uniformly successful in his transactions. During the larger part of his active career he was engaged in mercantile pursuits, but is now bookkeeper for the Golden Drift Mining Company. A native of Connecticut, he was born September 13, 1867, in Washington, Litchfield County, which was also the birthplace of his father, Simeon H. Calhoun. He is the lineal descendant of one of three brothers that emigrated from Scotland to America, and settled in Connecticut in colonial days. His grandfather, John C. Calhoun, a farmer by occupation, was born in Connecticut in 1804, and there spent his entire eighty-four years of earthly life.
    A carpenter and contractor by trade, Simeon H. Calhoun carried on a successful business in his native state until 1888, when he migrated across the continent, coming from the Atlantic coast to the Pacific coast. Locating first in Ashland, Jackson County, he turned his attention to horticulture, and was subsequently engaged in agricultural pursuits in Josephine County for a few years. He is now living retired from business in Ashland. He is fond of hunting, is a noted naturalist, and takes great interest in taxidermy. For two years he was a soldier in the Civil War, serving in the Eighth Connecticut Volunteer Infantry until discharged on account of physical disability. He is an uncompromising Republican in politics. He married Clara Smith, who was born in Steuben County, N.Y., near Coshocton, was left an orphan when young, and died in 1896, in Josephine County. Of the eight children born of their union, two have passed to the higher life, and the others, three daughters and three sons, are all residents of Oregon, George S., the subject of this sketch, being the oldest of the six children.
    Brought up in his native town, George S. Calhoun received his rudimentary education in the old Gunnery School, and was afterward clerk in a mercantile establishment for three years. He subsequently was graduated from Eastman's Business College, in Poughkeepsie, N.Y., after which he resumed clerking in Washington, Conn., remaining thus employed for a year. The following five years he was engaged in the grocery and produce business in New Haven, Conn., as manager of a branch store of Strong, Barnes, Hart & Co. In 1893 Mr. Calhoun came to Oregon, and, in partnership with his brother, E. A. Calhoun, established a grocery on Sixth Street, in Grants Pass. In 1896 he purchased his partner's interest in the firm of Calhoun Brothers, and continued the business alone under the name of the Calhoun Grocery Company. As sole proprietor he worked up an extensive and remunerative trade, having by far the largest grocery in the county and the best patronage. In June, 1901, on account of ill health, Mr. Calhoun sold out his business here, and removed to southern California. Not content to remain long in idleness, he subsequently opened a grocery store in Watsonville, Cal., where he was in business until April, 1903, when he sold out, and returned to Grants Pass. He has since filled the position of bookkeeper for the Golden Drift Mining Company.
    In 1895, in Ashland, Mr. Calhoun married Ella Drake, a native of Jackson County, and they have one son, Lester Drake Calhoun. True to the political faith in which he was reared, Mr. Calhoun is a steadfast Republican, and has served one term as councilman. Fraternally he is a member of Grants Pass Lodge No. 84, A.F.&A.M.; of Reames Chapter No. 28, R.A.M.; was made a Knight Templar in Malta Commandery No. 4, of Ashland, and is a charter member, and recorder, of Melita Commandery No. 8, K.T.; is a member and past chancellor of Thermopolie Lodge, K. of P.; and belongs to the Woodmen of the World.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 329-330

CAMERON, Bernice (Miss), born in Jacksonville, Oregon, July 30, 1883, daughter of Robert J. and Esther J. Cameron. Manager, Postal Telegraph-Cable Company. Has earned respect and admiration of the community through the successful management of professional duties. Member: Jacksonville County Republican Club, Medford Post No. 15 of the American Legion (by reason of Yeomanette service during World War). Home: 112 Geneva St., Medford, Oregon.

Max Binheim, ed., Women of the West, Los Angeles 1928, page 157

    ROBERT J. CAMERON: lives at Uniontown; is a farmer; was born in Madison County, N.Y., 1831; came to state and county in 1852; was married April 7, 1863, to Esther Le Fever. Children Franklin, Helena, Clara, Anna, Bernice and Warren L.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

HON. [THEODRIC] CAMERON is an Oregon pioneer of 1852, one of the reputable farmers, merchants and statesmen of Jackson County. Mr. Cameron is the descendant of Scotch ancestors and was born in Peterboro, New York, June 1, 1829. His parents were James and Emeline (Kendall) Cameron, both natives of the Empire State. The Kendalls trace back to English ancestors and were among the early settlers of New York. The family consisted of eight children, the subject being the eldest. He remained at home until ten years of age, going to school and working on the farm, when the family removed to Van Buren County, Iowa. In 1851 he engaged in farming one year on his own account. The next year he left home, crossed the plains with an ox team to the Willamette Valley, and in the fall of the same year located in Jackson County. He followed mining for the first year and has been interested in that pursuit to some extent ever since. He took up a donation claim at what is now known as Eagle Point and farmed there four years. He then sold out and engaged in the bakery business at Sterling. He also carried on farming on Applegate Creek for two years, subsequently engaging in the merchandise business at Uniontown for thirty years. He gave the town its name and was postmaster there for fifteen years. He has always been a staunch and steadfast Republican and was elected to the state Assembly in 1885 for two years, and to the Senate, in 1890, for four years. He is a man of retiring disposition, and one who has never sought office. Whatever position he has ever held has never been sought by him. His property at Uniontown consists of 500 acres, about 100 of which is devoted to general farming. He owns mining property in Josephine County, and is associated with his brother, Zachary, and George Simmons, in the Waldo placer mines, of Josephine County, which are supposed to be the most valuable placer mining property in the state.
    He was married March 3, 1892, to an estimable lady of refinement and culture named Mrs. Mary Krouse, née Bilger. She is of German extraction, born in Canada and reared in New York state. Mrs. Cameron has an interesting family of three children by a former marriage, namely: Ella A., Frank O. and Margaret E. A.
    Mr. Cameron belongs to the A.F.&A.M., blue lodge and chapter.

Rev. H. K. Hines, An Illustrated History of the State of Oregon, 1893, pages 1009-1010

    THEODRIC CAMERON: an early pioneer of this county, arrived in 1852, he has since been engaged in the mercantile and mining business; is a native of Madison County, N.Y., and now postmaster at Uniontown, on Applegate Creek, where he keeps a general merchandise store.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    CAMERON, THEODRIC, of Jackson County, is one of the oldest Republicans in Southern Oregon and has upheld the standards of the party against a Democratic majority for many years. He is a native of Madison County, New York, and came to Oregon in 1872, and has been engaged in mining and merchandising. He is a familiar figure in county and state conventions, and is a leader of the party. In 1894 he was the nominee for the senate, and this year is the nominee for county treasurer.
Republican League Register, Portland, 1896, page 189

    This well-known pioneer to our state was born at Peterboro, New York, June 21, 1829. In 1839, with his parents, he removed to Iowa, where he grew to manhood on a farm. In 1852 he crossed the plains, locating in Southern Oregon, engaging in farming and mining for about ten years, when he began merchandising in Uniontown, Jackson County. This avocation, as well as dealing largely in mines and mining properties, he conducted until 1892, when he retired from active business with ample means for future wants and removed to Jacksonville. In 1885 he represented Jackson County in the lower house during the regular and special sessions of that year, and in 1891-93 as state senator. In 1900 he was again elected senator from the same county. Since his making Jacksonville his home he has served many terms as councilman. He has always been deeply interested in the public school system and encourages all endeavors tending to upbuild that important adjunct to any community's progress. Politically he is a Republican.
    He was united in marriage on March 3, 1892, with Mrs. Mary Krouse, the fruits of the union being one son, a bright and promising lad who has been one of the pages of the senate during the present session.
    Mr. Cameron is in no sense a politician, his address, conservative views and fine business qualifications being the cause of his preferment as a servant of the people. The office in his case ever sought the man.
Oregon Native Son, March 1901, page 472

    HON. THEODRIC CAMERON. A representative business man of Jackson County, Hon. Theodric Cameron, of Jacksonville, has been actively associated with the development and advancement of both the agricultural and mining interests of Southern Oregon. Possessing excellent business capacity, sound judgment and quick perceptive faculties, he has been invariably successful in his undertakings, and as an honest, upright citizen has gained the good will and respect of his fellow men, who have elected him to offices of trust and responsibility in the administration of city and state affairs. A native of New York, he was born June 21, 1829, in Madison County, which was also the birthplace of his father, James Cameron. As his name indicates, he is of pure Scotch ancestry, his paternal grandfather having emigrated from Scotland to the United States, becoming one of the early settlers of Madison County, N.Y.
    Born and reared in New York state, James Cameron lived there until 1839, when he migrated westward with his family, located in Van Buren County, Iowa, where he cleared and improved a farm. Coming to Oregon in 1869, he located in Uniontown, Jackson County, where he lived retired until his death, in 1880, at the age of seventy-four years. He married Emeline Kendall, who was born in New York, near Rochester, and died in Uniontown, Ore. Of their family of five sons and three daughters, Theodric, the subject of this sketch, was the oldest child.
    Obtaining a limited education in the common schools of New York and Iowa, Theodric Cameron remained at home until after attaining his majority. Energetic, and full of vim and energy, he then determined to see for himself what success might be attained by industry and perseverance in the newer countries of the Pacific Coast. Starting across the plains with ox teams, he crossed the Missouri River May 7, 1852, journeyed by the Platte River route, and arrived at Foster, Clackamas County, Ore., August 14, 1852, after a trip remarkable for its quickness and comfort. Locating at once in Jackson County, Mr. Cameron was engaged in mining on Jackson Creek for two years. Taking up a donation claim of one hundred and sixty acres at Eagle Point, in the fall of 1853, he followed farming the ensuing two years, and from that time until 1858 was engaged in the bakery business at Sterlingville. The next two years he was engaged in agricultural pursuits in the vicinity of Applegate. Forming a partnership with U. S. Hayden in 1861, Mr. Cameron was engaged in mercantile pursuits on Applegate Creek, in Uniontown, for nearly thirty years, having an extensive and lucrative trade in general merchandise. Selling out his interests in the firm in 1892, he has since resided in Jacksonville, devoting his attention to his private interests, which are many and valued.
    During his residence in Oregon, Mr. Cameron has been more or less interested in placer mining. In 1872 he opened up the Sterling mine, which proved among the most productive in the county, and owned it until 1875, when he sold it to a Portland company, receiving $25,000 in cash.
    Buying out the interests of an English mining company on Galice Creek, Josephine County, in 1883, he developed and equipped a good mine, which was in his possession until he sold out in 1898. In 1880 Mr. Cameron, in company with George Simmons and Frank Ennis, purchased nine hundred acres of land in the Waldo mining district, and opened up and equipped the Simmons-Cameron mine, a placer mine, yielding a fine grade of gold. In mining as in mercantile pursuits, Mr. Cameron has always been successful, fortune always smiling upon his efforts. He still maintains an interest in agriculture, and owns a good farm of three hundred and ten acres on Butte Creek, near Eagle Point, Jackson County.
    In March, 1871, in Jacksonville, Mr. Cameron married Mrs. Mary (Bilger) Krause, who was born in Ontario, Canada, and came to Oregon with her uncle. By her first marriage, Mrs. Cameron had three children, namely: Margaret E. A. Krause, living at home with her mother and stepfather; Frank Otis Krause, of Klamath Falls, Ore., and Ella L., wife of Walter C. Lang, of Oakland, Cal. Mr. and Mrs. Cameron have one child, Charles Donald Cameron, a bright, active lad, in the eleventh year of his age. In 1901 he was page of the Oregon State Senate at the age of eight years. Following in the political footsteps of his father, Mr. Cameron is an uncompromising Republican. In 1885 he was elected representative to the state legislature, and served two years. In 1890 he was elected state senator, and in 1896 was honored with a re-election to the same high position. In both terms of the senate he served on the committees on mining and railways. He has taken an active part in the management of municipal affairs, and as a city councilman has served a number of terms. He was made a Mason at Jacksonville thirty years ago, and has since contributed his full share in advancing the interests of the order. He is now a member of Warren Lodge No. 10, A.F.&A.M.; of Jacksonville Chapter No. 4, R.A.M.; Oregon Consistory, No. 1, of Portland, Scottish Rite, having taken thirty-two degrees, and Al Kader Temple, N.M.S.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 229-230

CAMPBELL, Henry Edgar, banker; b. DuQuoin, Illinois, September 20, 1859; to Oregon 1920; m. Frances Coy 1884. Republican. Presbyterian. Address: Eagle Point, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 50

    H. A. CANADAY, who since his admission to the bar in December, 1908, has engaged in the practice of law, maintained an office in Medford since 1910, was born at Morris, Grundy County, Illinois, March 24, 1882, his parents being Allen M. and Lydia A. (Turner) Canaday, the former a native of Virginia and the latter also of Morris, Illinois, where they still reside. The father is an iron molder and farmer and in following those pursuits supported his family of three children, who are as follows: H. A., of this review; Ida M., the wife of William Steinbeck, living on a farm near Morris, Illinois; and Harold C., at home.
    H. A. Canaday remained with his parents through the period of his youth and obtained a high school education and also pursued a course in Hart's Business College at Morris. He then entered the law office of E. L. Clove and F. H. Reed at Morris and subsequently continued his studies in the office of the city attorney, J. W. Rausch. In December, 1908, he was admitted to the bar and practiced in his native state until 1910, when he came to Medford, Oregon, where he has since remained, having an office in the Fruit Growers Bank building. He has won a good clientage during his residence here, and his work has been of an important character.
    In politics Mr. Canaday is a Republican and served as public guardian in Illinois under appointment of Governor Deneen. He holds membership with the Knights of Pythias, the Moose and Yeomen, and the principles that govern his life are further indicated in the fact that he is a faithful member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.

Joseph Gaston, The Centennial History of Oregon,
vol. III, 1912, pages 232-235

    JOHN CARDWELL: died in Sams Valley; was a farmer, born in Treales, Lancashire, Eng.; came to state and county 1860; married Jan., 1856 to Ellen Rouark. Children Annie Catherine (deceased), Ellen, John A., Francis H., Martha (deceased), Jane A., Martha, Edward R., Lawrence R., David S., Eva L.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

William W. CardwellWILLIAM W. CARDWELL.
    Residence, 621 North Jackson Street; office, Douglas National Bank Building, Roseburg. Born in Canyonville, Oregon, April 18th, 1862. Son of James Allison and Caroline (Brown) Cardwell. Married on August 22nd, 1888, to Emma Peterson. Attended public school at Jacksonville, Oregon; in 1880 entered University of Oregon, from which he graduated in 1884 with A.M. degree. Then entered the law office of C. W. Kahler at Jacksonville, where he studied for two years. Admitted to the bar at Salem in 1890. First practiced at Burns, Oregon. In 1892 removed to Medford and formed a partnership with Francis Fitch. Mr. Fitch removed to New York City in 1894 and Mr. Cardwell went to Roseburg, where he has since practiced. Formed a partnership in 1903 with A. M. Crawford and J. O. Watson. In 1904 Mr. Crawford was elected to office of Attorney General and retired from the firm, leaving it Cardwell & Watson, which it remains to date. Member I.O.O.F. and B.P.O.E. fraternities. Member Roseburg Commercial Club and Republican Club. Republican.
History of the Bench and Bar of Oregon, 1910, page 105

    Residence and office, Medford. Born in 1883 at Bangor, Maine. Son of E. W. and Ada (York) Carkin. Attended Hillsboro, North Dakota, High School and Business College at Minneapolis, Minn. Attended University of Minnesota and University of North Dakota, working his way through school, and receiving degrees of A.B. and LL.B. from University of North Dakota. Read law in offices at Grand Forks and at Hillsboro, North Dakota, and was admitted to the bar of that state. Came to Oregon in 1908 and is now a member of the firm of Newman & Carkin, at Medford. Member Masonic and B.P.O.E. fraternities. Republican.
History of the Bench and Bar of Oregon, 1910, page 104

CARKIN, John H., lawyer; b. Bangor, Maine November 18, 1883; to Oregon 1908; B.A. University of North Dakota 1907; LL.B. 1908; m. Vida Turner June 29, 1910; children--Earl, Bruce, Vernon, Warren, Jean Alice. City attorney 1921-27; state representative 1913, '23, '25; speaker 1927; B.P.O.E.; Mason; Shrine; state consolidation committee 1917-19; State Tax Investigation Committee 1925-27; Republican. Address: City Hall, Medford, Oregon.

Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930,
Oregon City Enterprise, page 51

CARLOW, Dr. Eva Mains, born in Dexter, Michigan, January 22, 1864, daughter of John Bates and Emily Stone Mains. Resident of Oregon for the last 19 years. Married to Frank George Carlow. Osteopathic physician. Treasurer, Y.W.C.A., for 3 years; member of Rogue River College Women's Club, W.C.T.U., University of Michigan Alumnae. Member; Y.W.C.A., College Women's Club, Axis Club (osteopathic). Address: 416 Liberty Building. Home: 26 Laurel St., Medford, Oregon.

Max Binheim, ed., Women of the West, Los Angeles 1928, page 157

    S. ADOLPHUS CARLTON. From his early manhood, the name of Mr. Carlton has been identified with the history of Oregon, and the many years of his residence in this state have been devoted to agricultural pursuits and the stock industry in Linn, Grant and Jackson counties. An Ohioan by birth, with Geauga County the place of his nativity and October 26, 1844, the date of birth, he accompanied his parents to Wapello County, Iowa, at the early age of six years, and it was here that his youth and early manhood were spent.
    During the early days of the strife between the North and South, his father took up the cause of the Union by enlisting in 1863, in an Iowa regiment, and died during the service. The year following the father's enlistment (1864), S. Adolphus Carlton also responded to our country's call for men, and in February he became a private in Company K, Third Iowa Cavalry. For a period of two years he rendered valiant service under the command of General Wilson, in the vicinity of Louisville, Ky., and Eastport, Tenn. He received his honorable discharge from the service after the successful termination of the war. Returning to his home in Iowa he followed farm pursuits for a brief period, and in 1867 conceived the idea of bettering his fortunes by seeking a home in the Far West; so, with that intent and purpose he crossed the vast stretch of intervening country behind mule teams, settling for a time in Linn County, Ore., in the vicinity of Albany. A year or two afterward he found a more favorable location in Jackson County and, after taking up a homestead claim on the shore of Lake Creek, the following five years were devoted to the improvement and cultivation of this place. Having proved up on his claim, he disposed of his interests in Jackson County and in 1880 invested in stock, and for three years thereafter was engaged in the stock business in Grant County in Eastern Oregon. In this venture he was fairly successful, but not desiring to continue in that business permanently there, he again sold out and returned to Jackson County. Purchasing a ranch of four hundred and forty acres along Antelope Creek, fourteen miles northeast of Medford, he re-engaged in the stock business in this location, in connection with which he has carried on general farm pursuits up to the present time. Mr. Carlton has always taken an active interest in the progress of the state, and his present good standing is due not only to his energetic and industrious habits, but also to his progressive ideas and practical business methods. Apart from his own business interests, he has devoted time and energy to furthering the interests of his section, as his service as county commissioner, from 1891 to 1893, inclusive, will testify. His deep interest in the educational development of his locality is evinced by his long and faithful service as director and clerk of the school board in his home district, which covers a period of twenty years. It is well known that he unites with the Republicans in his political belief, and the G.A.R. organization of Medford claims him as one of its most valued members. The marriage of Mr. Carlton was celebrated in 1871, with Miss Ella Nichols, and their union has been blessed with six children, whose names are as follows: Harry J., Myrtle, Louisa, Thomas, Herbert and Lyle; all are at home except the second child, who fell a victim to disease and was removed by death from the family circle.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 867-868

b. May 7, 1881; son of Alfred F. and Mary L. (Dunbar) Carpenter; educated private schools; Harvard University, A.B. 1905; m. Helen Bundy of Binghamton, N.Y. 1922; children Julie (Mrs. W. Garland Jones) and Harlow; horticulturist since 1910; director, Southern Oregon Sales; chairman Jackson County Welfare Commission; director Jackson County Red Cross; home Topsides; office P.O. Box 1267, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 100

Prominent Clubwoman.
b. Oneonta, N.Y., Feb. 26, 1886; daughter of Harlow E. and Julia (Ford) Bundy; educated private schools; m. Alfred S. V. Carpenter, Medford, Oregon, March 15, 1922; children Julie (Mrs. W. Garland Jones), Harlow; vice-chairman Jackson County chapter, Red Cross, 1941-46; chairman, Jackson County Recreation Committee 1941-; served overseas with YMCA and YWCA, World War I; member Colony Club; Episcopalian; home Topsides; office Liberty Bldg., Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 100

Operator, Veritas Orchards.
b. New York City, March 20, 1880; son of Alfred F. and Mary Louis (Dunbar) Carpenter; educated St. Mark's School, Southboro, Mass.; Harvard University, B.A. 1904; m. Winifred Barrett of Chicago, February 3, 1917; began as reporter; later student engineer, General Electric Co.; assistant electrical engineer, Colorado Power Co.; president, Southern Oregon Sales Inc.; member Oregon State Planning Board; county chairman OPA, World War II; address Veritas Orchards, Route 4, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 100

    JAMES CARR. Just outside the city limits of Medford lives an earnest and successful tiller of the soil whose knowledge of military matters is not exceeded by any of his neighbors. Something of the years of discipline and order seems to remain in his makeup, for his farm of one hundred and twenty acres conveys an impression of conscientious and painstaking care which one would naturally expect of one accustomed to implicitly obey. Mr. Carr is the only survivor in a family of three sons and one daughter, and he was born in New York City May 13, 1839. Evidently his people were in moderate circumstances, for he was taken out of school at the age of twelve and set to earning his own living in a porcelain manufactory. His work was fairly remunerative after he had learned to do well his allotted tasks, and the years rolled by uneventfully until the breaking out of the Civil War. He was twenty-two years old at the time, and in April, 1861, he enlisted in Company A, Sixty-ninth New York Volunteer Infantry, for three months, his regiment assisting in the erection of Fort Cochran on Bolivar Heights. He saw comparatively little of actual warfare aside from the first battle of Bull Run, but he acquired a taste for military service, as became apparent a short time afterward.
    In the spring of 1863 Mr. Carr came to the coast by steamer via the Isthmus of Panama, at San Francisco re-embarking for Crescent City, Ore., from where he walked to Josephine County. Here he worked on a farm until 1864, and then enlisted at Jacksonville, in the First Oregon Infantry, serving eighteen months on the frontier. Still devoted to the camps and rigors of the army, he enlisted at Vancouver for five years in the Eighth United States Cavalry, seeing service with General Crook in New Mexico, Oregon, and other western states. At the expiration of his enlistment he located at Jacksonville, Ore., from which town he investigated desirable farms, finally selecting his present home in 1871. Mr. Carr not only proved himself a good soldier, and a faithful one, but he was also an observing traveler, and whether in infantry or cavalry made exhaustive study of the country through which he passed, bringing back many interesting recollections from New Mexico, Arizona, and less frequented places.
    In 1866 Mr. Carr was united in marriage with Ann Riley, who presides over his country home, and has materially aided in his success. Mr. Carr is a Democrat in politics, and with his wife is a member of the Catholic Church.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 840-841

    A. H. CARSON: lives on Applegate; is a nurseryman; post office is Murphy; was born in Washington County, Ohio, in 1843; came to state and county in 1874; was married April 24, 1866, to Miss M. E. Donnelley. Children Alice and Lewis; May and infant are deceased.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 508

    CARTER, E. V., of Ashland, was born in Elkader, Iowa, October 13, 1860, and was educated in the high school and the Iowa Agricultural College, at Ames. From 1880 to 1883 he was assistant cashier and cashier of the First National Bank of Elkader. In 1883 he came to Oregon and helped organize the Bank of Ashland, of which he has always been the cashier. He was a delegate to the county and state conventions of 1894 and the league meetings of 1895 and 1896. From 1894 to 1896 he was a member of the state central committee.
Republican League Register, Portland, 1896, page 188

    HON. ERNEST V. CARTER. A man of good executive and financial ability. Hon. Ernest V. Carter is prominently identified with the leading interests of Ashland, and has exerted a large influence in the forwarding of its material progress. He is a man of strict business integrity, and has become widely and favorably known as cashier of the Bank of Ashland. In public capacities, he has served his town and county with zeal and efficiency, and has rendered valuable service to his fellow citizens as a representative to the state legislature and as state senator. A son of the late Henry B. Carter, he was born October 13, 1860, in Elkader, Iowa.
    The descendant of a prominent New England family that settled in Connecticut in colonial days, Henry B. Carter was born in Tallmadge, Ohio, in 1821, died in Los Angeles, Cal., in April, 1896 and was buried in Ashland, Ore. Removing to Iowa when a young man he settled in Elkader, Clayton County, where he was a pioneer farmer, for a number of years being engaged in agricultural pursuits in that locality, and in Lyon County, Iowa. Retiring from the farm, he opened a general store in Elkader, and in 1871 established the First National Bank of Elkader. He took an active interest in industrial and public matters, both in town and county, and was an extensive stock dealer and shipper. For one term he served as state senator. Making a trip to Oregon in 1881, he was very much impressed with the fertility of the Rogue River Valley, and made a second visit in 1882. In 1884 he settled with his family in Ashland, Jackson County, and in that year organized the Bank of Ashland, becoming one of its largest stockholders. He also became associated with other enterprises, being a pioneer horticulturist of this locality. Improving an orchard of one hundred acres, he embarked in the culture of peaches, and was one of the first to make large shipments of this fruit from this county. He owned valuable city property, and was interested in the original Ashland Hotel Company. He was also the prime mover in the establishing and installing of the Ashland Electric Light and Power Company, serving as its first president. Politically he was a staunch Republican, and fraternally he was a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He married Harriet H. Coe, who was born in Tallmadge, Ohio, of New England ancestry. She died in November, 1902, in Ashland. She was a most estimable woman, respected by all, and was prominent in church and temperance work. Of the eight children born of their union, five grew to years of maturity, namely: Frank H., of Ashland; Mrs. Ellen C. Galey, of Ashland; Mrs. Orra A. Purdy, of Houston, Tex.; Ernest V., the special subject of this sketch; and Albert R., of Salem, Ore. Frank H. Carter, the eldest son, is an extensive and successful orchardist, the vice-president of the Bank of Ashland, secretary and manager of the Ashland Electric Light and Power Company, and regent of the state normal school.
    After completing his studies in the city schools of Elkader, Iowa, Ernest V. Carter attended the State Agricultural College, at Ames, Iowa, for two years. Entering the First National Bank of Elkader in 1880, he was first bookkeeper, afterwards assistant cashier, and before attaining his majority was elected cashier, succeeding his brother, F. H. Carter, who resigned to enter the employ of the Mexican Central Railroad, as paymaster. He retained the position of cashier for more than a year, when the family disposed of all its Elkader interests. Mr. Carter subsequently traveled for a year, then, in 1883, came to Oregon. In 1884, on the organization of the Bank of Ashland, he was elected cashier, and has since held the position. This is the oldest institution of the kind in the city, and the oldest incorporated bank in Jackson County. It carries on a general banking business, having a fully paid-up capital of $50,000, with a surplus and undivided profits of $33,000, and has been under the same management for upwards of nineteen consecutive years. Mr. Carter was one of the incorporators of the Carter Land Company, of which he is president, and his brother vice-president. He was one of the organizers of the Ashland Fruit Produce Association, which handles three-fourths of the fruit raised in this locality, and is a director and the treasurer of this company. He is also one of the directors of the Ashland Electric Light and Power Company, and of the Ashland Hotel Company. For a number of years he served as city treasurer, and is a member, and ex-president, of the Ashland Board of Trade.
    Active in political circles, Mr. Carter is a steadfast Republican, and has filled many offices of importance. In 1898 he was elected as representative to the state legislature from Jackson County, was elected speaker of the house in the special session of 1898, and was again speaker of the house during its twentieth biennial session. In 1900 he was not a candidate for re-election, but in 1902, on the Republican ticket, he was elected state senator, and served in the twenty-first biennial session, being a member of the committee on ways and means, chairman of the committee on banking and insurance, and on game. While speaker of the house Mr. Carter succeeded in securing a good appropriation for the state normal school, and in the senatorial contest of 1903 was one of the original C. W. Fulton supporters. Fraternally Mr. Carter was made a Mason in Elkader Lodge No. 72, and is now a member of Ashland Lodge No. 23, A.F.&A.M., of which he is past master; united with Harmony Chapter No. 41, R.A.M., in Elkader, and is now a member of Siskiyou Chapter No. 21, R.A.M., of which he is past high priest; was made a Knight Templar in McGregor, Iowa, and is one of the charter members of Malta Commandery No. 4, K.T., of Ashland, being past eminent commander; belongs to the Oregon Consistory, of Portland; to the Al Kader Temple, N.M.S.; and to the Eastern Star Chapter, of which he is past patron. He is also a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, of the Woodmen of the World, and of the Ancient Order of United Workmen. In 1884, in Denver, Colo., Mr. Carter married Miss Anna Fox, who was born in Clayton County, Iowa, the daughter of Benjamin Fox, a retired business man, and a citizen of note.
Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 534-535

CARTER, Ernest Victor, banker; b. Elkader, Iowa October 13, 1860; to Oregon 1884; Iowa Agricultural College; m. Anna M. Fox April 16, 1884. President First National Bank, Ashland; organized first bank in Ashland 1884. State representative 2 terms, speaker, special session 1898, and regular session 1899; state senate 1903-05; Buffalo Fair Commission; State Fair Board; Chairman Fish & Game Commission; first exalted ruler Ashland Elks; Mason; Shrine; Commandery; Chapter. Republican. Address: 514 [Siskiyou] Boulevard, Ashland, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 52

County Clerk, Jackson County.
b. Elkader, Iowa, April 10, 1881; son of Frank H. and Alice (Rounsavelle) Carter; educated Ashland public schools; Polytechnic Business College, Oakland, Calif.; University of California; m. Anna Beeson of Talent, Oregon, June 30, 1909; children Robert R., Max G. (Lieutenant Medical Corps, U.S. Navy); began in cattle business on home ranch, managing over 1000 head, 1898-1904; manager Medford Ice and Cold Storage Co. 1908-12; assistant manager, Eugene Ice & Cold Storage Co. 1913-14; ranch near Talent 1915-29; assistant paymaster Oregon-Oregon Lumber Co. (now Medford Corp.) 1929-30; rancher and assistant to county assessor's office, State Tax Commission, special work, 1930-32; served four terms as clerk, Jackson County, 1933 to Jan. 1949; served four years Oregon National Guard, Co. G, 1st Battalion; president Lincoln Republican Club 1945; past president Association of County Clerks; special delegate on exhibitions of western agriculture, Pan-American Exposition 1901; Granger; member Sons of American Revolution; Mason (past commander, Malta Commandery, No. 4); Shriner; home 821 E. Jackson; office Courthouse, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 102

H. B. CARTER.--For eleven years H. B. Carter & Sons filled the offices of president and cashier of the First National Bank of Elkader, Iowa; each year elected without a dissenting vote. In July, 1889, they sold their stock and resigned their positions, to seek a more genial clime. In December of the same year H. B. Carter arranged with some of the leading business men of Ashland, Oregon, to establish the Bank of Ashland, each party to furnish one-half of the required capital. The bank was organized in February, 1884, with W. H. Atkinson, president; J. M. McCall, vice-president; and E. V. Carter, cashier. The board of directors were: W. H. Atkinson, E. V. Carter, J. M. McCall, A. L. Hammond and Thomas Smith. They commenced business May 7, 1884, with a paid-up capital of $50,000, and occupied their new bank building the following November. In July, 1889, the capital stock was increased to $100,000, paid in full, and with W. H. Atkinson, president; F. H. Carter, vice president; E. V. Carter, cashier. The directors are: W. H. Atkinson, H. B. Carter, D. R. Mills, H. Ammerman and F. H. Carter. The bank has given all practicable facilities to the business of Ashland and vicinity, while its management has been eminently conservative. No bad debt has been charged to profit and loss, and its expenses and regular dividends have been moderate.
    In 1888 Mr. Carter located at Ashland, Oregon, and since that time has been prominently identified with its growth and prosperity. He was the chief promoter in the establishing of the Ashland Electric Power & Light Company, which was organized November 21, 1888, with a paid-up capital of $15,000. The officers of the company are: H. B. Carter, president; F. Roper, vice president; E. V. Carter, treasurer; and F. H. Carter, secretary. The directors are: H. B. Carter, F. Roper, J. M. McCall, P. Dunn, D. R. Mills, S. B. Galey and Jacob Thompson. Ashland can boast of the finest electric light system of any town in the state. Mr. Carter is well pleased with his mountain home and has great faith in its future advancement. A few lines of his parody on "Beautiful Venice" may illustrate his views:
Home of my choice cozy retreat,
From torture of winter and tropical heat,
Where blizzards no more can stifle my breath,
Nor cyclones can revel in harvest of death.
The air is all mildness, breezes caressing,
All nature is lovely, life is a blessing.
My home's in the valley, at times it shall be
A tent 'mong the mountains, so wild and so free.
Even a bride smiles through her tears;
And sometimes our valley quite dismal appears,
When snows of the mountain intrude on the plain,
Or all seems half drowned in a deluge of rain.
But even the storms are deemed no intrusion,
For they bring flowers and fruit in profusion.
I have known many homes, no desert for me,
My home 'mong the rainbows and sunshine shall be.
All that's lovely in life, or deathless in song,
Our charmed mountain vale to thy region belong.
I have known many homes, and cherish the past,
But find among the mountains contentment at last.
Rev. H. K. Hines, An Illustrated History of the State of Oregon, 1893, pages 432-433

    J. A. CARTER: lives in Jacksonville; is a painter; was born in Watertown, Jefferson County, Wisconsin; came to state and county in 1864; was married Nov. 27, 1877, to Martha J. Helman; one child, Bradford.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    MAJOR A. CARTER: lives in Ashland; is a painter and paper hanger; was born in Watertown, Wisconsin; came to state and county, 1871; married June 29, 1883, to Mary R. Givan; they have one child, Leman Claude.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    HON. WILLIAM A. CARTER. A noteworthy example of the opportunities which Oregon offers young men of fixed principles and great determination is afforded by the life of William A. Carter, of Gold Hill. Starting out a few years ago without means, he is now a member of the mercantile firm of Carter & Duffield, organized in 1900 and since then the proprietors of a growing business. To meet the needs of their customers they carry a stock representing a valuation of $6,000. At this writing (1903) they are erecting a two-story brick building, 50x70, which when completed will be the most substantial business structure in the town.
    Born near Greeneville, Greene County, Tenn., June 7, 1874, William A. Carter is a son of L. A. and Sarah Carter, natives of the same vicinity. His father, who was born February 17, 1850, was a member of a family of farmers and grew up to a practical knowledge of agriculture, but has engaged principally in business pursuits and mining through all of his mature years. From Tennessee in 1889 he moved to Missouri and built a flour mill at Willow Springs, conducting the same until his removal to Oregon in 1892. On his arrival here he settled at Gold Hill, where he engaged in prospecting and mining. His object in moving west was to benefit his wife's health, but in this hope he was doomed to disappointment, for she died in November of 1893. Since 1900 he has engaged in mining in Siskiyou County, and is the owner of [the] Clifftop mine in the Salmon River mining district. As a member of the Republican Party he has borne a deep and constant interest in politics. Fraternally he is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and in religion is connected with the Methodist Episcopal Church. In his family there are seven children, namely: R. A., editor and proprietor of the Gold Hill News; William A., of Gold Hill; Matilda, wife of Joseph L. Hammersley, an attorney of Gold Hill; W. B., who is with his father in California; Virginia, wife of James Lewis, a resident of Sawyer's Bar, Cal.; Nina B. and Charles O., who are with their father.
    The public schools of Tennessee and Missouri afforded William A. Carter fair educational advantages. He accompanied his father to Oregon, and in 1893 started out to earn his own livelihood. For two years he was employed with the Southern Pacific railroad and during this time studied law with Joseph Hammersley at Gold Hill. On his admission to the bar in 1899 he began the practice of his profession, but soon concluded that his tastes and ability fitted him for commercial pursuits rather than a professional career. In 1900 he embarked in the mercantile business, in which he has already achieved more than ordinary success. On the last day of the year 1900 he married Ethel Hughes, who was born in Salem, and they have one son, John Hughes Carter. In religious connections they are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, in which Mr. Carter officiates as a trustee. Fraternally he is a member of Warren Lodge, No. 10, A.F.&A.M., at Jacksonville; Gold Hill Lodge, No. 127, I.O.O.F., in which he has held all the chairs and served as representative to the grand lodge; Lodge No. 80, A.O.U.W., at Gold Hill, which he has represented in the grand lodge; and in these various organizations has been an influential factor.
    The Republican Party receives the staunch allegations and support of Mr. Carter. For four successive terms he served as city recorder of Gold Hill and at this writing is a member of the town council, where he uses his influence to promote measures for the upbuilding of the place. A high honor was conferred upon him by his party in 1900, when he was elected to represent Jackson County in the twenty-first session of the Oregon legislature. During his term of service he rendered important work as chairman of the printing committee and the committee to investigate the books and accounts of the secretary of state; he also did effective service as a member of the taxation and assessment committee, and the committee on mines and mining. His period of service, taken in its entirety, reflects the greatest credit upon his talents as a statesman and his patriotic spirit as a citizen.
Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 573-574

William A. Carter, 1910, History of the Bench and Bar of OregonWILLIAM A. CARTER.
    Residence, 296 Poplar Street; office, 601-2-3 Corbett Building, Portland. Born June 7, 1874, in Greene County, Tennessee. Son of Louis A. and Sara J. (Carter) Carter. Married December 31, 1901, to Ethel Hughes. Early education received in the public schools of Tennessee; at the high school at Willow Springs, Missouri, and at business college in the same city. Moved to Gold Hill, Jackson County, Oregon, in 1892, and read law in the office of Hon. J. L. Hammersley. Admitted to the bar at Salem in June, 1899, and practiced at Gold Hill in association with Hon. J. L. Hammersley until 1908, when he removed to Portland and became associated with Hon. E. B. Dufur, under the firm name Carter & Dufur, which continues to date. Admitted to the Circuit and District Court of the United States on December, 1908. Member State Bar Association and Multnomah Bar Association. Was City Recorder of Gold Hill 1894 to 1899. Elected Member of Legislature from Jackson County, Oregon, 1900. Member Masonic and I.O.O.F. fraternities. Republican.
History of the Bench and Bar of Oregon, 1910, page 105

    CARTER, WILLIAM ALFRED.--Attorney at law. Lime manufacturer in Jackson County, Ore., and also interested in fruit raising in Wasco County. Born Greenville, Tenn., June 7, 1874. Educated in public schools of Tennessee, and at high school, Willow Springs, Mo., moved to Gold Hill, Jackson County, Ore. in 1892, and read law in the office of Hon. J. L. Hammersley. Father Louis A. Carter, a gold miner of Oregon and California. Mother Sarah J. Carter. Married to Ethel Hughes, daughter of John Hughes, pioneer merchant of Salem, Ore., December 31, 1901. Sons, 2. Daughters, 1. Commenced professional career in Gold Hill, Ore. June 1899. Admitted to district and circuit courts of the United States in December 1908. Member of legislature from Jackson County 1900 and 1901; City Recorder of Gold Hill 1894-1899. Member of State Bar and Multnomah Bar associations, Multnomah Amateur and Illihee clubs (Salem), Elks, Masons and Mystic Shriners. Elected Captain of Rogue River Volunteers, which was formed on occasion of the third call for volunteers during the Spanish-American War, but peace being declared was never mustered in. Residence 296 Poplar Street; address 601-2 Corbett Building, Portland, Ore.

Who's Who in the Northwest,
vol. 1, Western Press Association 1911

    William Alfred Carter, engaged in law practice in Portland, was born on a farm near Greeneville, Tennessee, June 7, 1874. His father, Louis A. Carter, was also a native of Tennessee, born in 1852. In early life he followed farming and while still in his native state was married in 1871 to Sarah Carter, who was born in Tennessee, a daughter of Wiley B. Carter. After coming to Oregon Louis A. Carter turned his attention to mining and is now engaged in mining at Douglas, Arizona. His wife passed away in Gold Hill, Oregon, in 1893.
    William A. Carter spent the first fifteen years of his life in the place of his nativity and attended the schools of Greeneville until 1889. In the following year his people removed to Willow Springs, Missouri, and at that place William A. Carter attended high school and later completed a course in the Willow Springs Business College with the class of 1891. It was at that time that his parents removed with their family to Gold Hill, Oregon, and through the succeeding seventeen years was a resident of that place, coming to Portland in 1908. In the meantime he had taken up the study of law and was admitted to practice at the Oregon bar in 1899. For the past twelve years he has followed his profession in Portland, and his ability has gained him a creditable place among the able lawyers of the Multnomah County bar. He is an able representative of the calling to which property, rights, life and liberty must look for protection, thereby enjoying the unqualified confidence and respect of his contemporaries and colleagues.
    On the 31st of December, 1900, in Salem, Oregon, Mr. Carter was married to Miss Ethel B. Hughes, a daughter of the late John and Emma P. Hughes, pioneers of Salem, and they have become parents of three children: John Hughes, born June 9, 1903; Bernice J., born February 14, 1905; and William, born October 8, 1907. The religious faith of the family is that of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and Mr. Carter takes active and helpful interest in the church work and is now serving on the official board of the First Methodist Episcopal Church of Portland. His political endorsement is given to the Republican Party, and in 1901 he was a member of the state legislature from Jackson County, Oregon. For many years he has been a recognized leader in party affairs and in 1912 was a candidate for the Republican nomination for Governor. In the general assembly he introduced and urged the passage of a bill lowering the railroad rates from four to three cents a mile. He closely studied every vital problem which came up for settlement before the general assembly, and his position upon any important measure was never an equivocal one. He is never afraid to announce his honest opinion and he has always been actuated by a spirit of patriotism that was strongly manifest during the war period. He served on the legal advisory board and was one of the official speakers for the bond drives in the Northwest. His clear and forceful utterances are constituted an educational factor in enlightening the people concerning the real issues and conditions that grew out of the war. In Masonic circles, too, Mr. Carter is well known. He has attained the Knight Templar degree of the York Rite and is a noble of the Mystic Shrine. He is a past grand master of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, having served in 1907 and 1908. He likewise belongs to the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and is a life member of the Press Club and in these organizations enjoys the high esteem of all who know him.
Charles Henry Carey, History of Oregon, vol. III, 1922, pages 252-253

    J. M. CASEBEER. Prominently identified with the industrial growth and prosperity of Jackson County is J. M. Casebeer, a well-known and highly respected business man of Ashland. For many years he has been closely associated with the development and promotion of the agricultural interests of this section of the state, and through his untiring and judicious labors has achieved success in the prosecution of his chosen vocation. He owns large tracts of timber and farming lands, and has a fine residence property in the city, his home being on North Main Street, where he has three acres of land. A son of Josiah Casebeer, he was born February 2, 1856, in Winthrop, Buchanan County, Iowa. He comes of thrifty German stock, his paternal grandfather, Jacob Casebeer, having emigrated from Germany, his native land, to Pennsylvania, thence to Tuscarawas County, Ohio, where he was engaged in farming until his death. He was a man of upright character, and a faithful member of the Lutheran Church.
    Born in Pennsylvania, Josiah Casebeer was but a small child when his parents removed to 
Tuscarawas County, Ohio, where he grew to man's estate. When ready to begin life on his own account, he settled on a farm in Winthrop, Iowa, where he resided until 1877. Coming then to Oregon, he continued in agricultural pursuits for a number of years, a part of the time being associated with his son, J. M. Casebeer, with whom this sketch is chiefly concerned. He spent his last days in Ashland, dying in January, 1888, at the age of seventy-seven years. His wife, whose maiden name was Elizabeth Mosier, was born in New York state, and now resides with her son, Mr. Casebeer, in Ashland. Bowed with the infirmities of age, being seventy-eight years old, she has lost the use of many of her faculties, and is now blind and helpless. She bore her husband five children. William, a merchant in Rocky Ford, Colo., was a veteran of the Civil War, serving four years in the Twenty-seventh Iowa Volunteer Infantry; Mrs. Mary Morgan is a resident of Vernon, Kans.; George, a merchant in Lewisburg, Kans., served in the Civil War, as member of an Iowa regiment; Edwin, a stockman of Klamath County, Ore., and J. M., the subject of this sketch.
    After completing his elementary education in the public schools of Iowa, J. M. Casebeer attended Oberlin College, in Oberlin, Ohio, for two years. Returning then to Iowa, he assisted his father in the care of the home farm for awhile, and then moved with his parents to Redcloud, Neb., where he helped to clear and improve a ranch of one hundred and sixty acres. Coming with the family to Oregon in 1877, he located in Jackson County, and in partnership with his father and brother Edwin, bought two hundred acres of land, lying about four miles north of Ashland. Improving the property, he set out a large orchard, and the three industrious men engaged in general farming, meeting with such success that they soon afterwards bought forty acres of adjoining land. Selling out that ranch, Mr. Casebeer went to Klamath County in 1881, and for four years thereafter was employed in stock-raising and dealing, his ranch being near Bly. Returning to Jackson County in 1885, he purchased a farm of four hundred acres, about four miles north of Ashland, and engaged in grain raising on an extensive scale, having one-half of the ranch under plow, in addition raising hay and stock. Mr. Casebeer subsequently bought another ranch, fifteen miles east of Ashland, and this three hundred and sixty acres of land, which has been named Green Springs Ranch on account of its natural springs of water, he devotes almost entirely to stock-raising, his brand being Crown J.
    Removing to Ashland in 1894, Mr. Casebeer bought his present property, and has since improved one of the most attractive and valuable estates on North Main Street. Here he has three acres of land, which he cleared from the brush, and on which he has now profusely bearing fruit trees of many varieties, and many fine shrubs. In 1898 Mr. Casebeer, with a party of friends, went to Alaska. Leaving Ashland on horseback, they proceeded to Teslin Lake, the headwaters of the Hootalinqua River, a tributary of the Lewis, arriving there October 18, having during their journey of six months stopped at different places to prospect. Continuing their journey to Atlin, they leased land, paying their rent, but found that according to the Canadian laws they could not open mines, although they could work as miners for other people. In the spring of 1900 the party returned by way of Whitehorse Pass to Skagway, thence to Oregon by boat.
    In August, 1887, in Medford, Jackson County, Mr. Casebeer married Minnie Dahack, who was born in Bloomington, Ill., a daughter of John Dahack. A native of Utica, N.Y., Mr. Dahack removed in early life to Illinois, buying land adjoining the city of Bloomington, where he was for many years a prosperous farmer. During the Civil War he took an active part, serving in an Illinois regiment. Coming to Oregon in 1884, he bought a ranch of one hundred and sixty acres at Eagle Point, where he now resides. Of his union with Mary Robison, daughter of Joseph Robison, a lifelong resident of Illinois, seven children were born, namely: Elsa, living in California; Eli, of Jackson County; Minnie, now Mrs. Casebeer; Zara, of Jackson County; Irwin, of Jackson County; Mrs. Ida Mathes, of this county; and Mrs. Dora Nepon, of Illinois. Mrs. Casebeer was educated in her native city, completing her studies at the state normal school, in Normal, Ill. Of her union with Mr. Casebeer two children have been born, Chauncey and Lloyd. Mr. Casebeer is a member of the Oregon Stock Growers' Association, and is very much interested in the raising of thoroughbred stock, on his ranch making a specialty of Durham cattle. He is a Republican in politics, and a member of Ashland Lodge, I.O.O.F. He belongs to the Methodist Episcopal Church, and Mrs. Casebeer is a member of the Baptist Church.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 804-807

    PHILIP F. CASTLEMAN.--Those who now make the trip in the palatial car across the continent from the populous cities and thickly settled districts of the union, and view the Pacific Northwest in its present development, can but faintly realize the dangers and privations the sturdy pioneers experienced in reaching here, nor yet understand the troubles they had with the red man who then roamed its confines at will, and knew no law save what pleased the savage heart the best. They often meet among its residents not a few upon whom the snows of many winters have fallen--and fallen while braving the inconveniences of pioneer life. They see in them the man or woman whose years are well-nigh ended, with no evidences that the passing one has a history and a record which ofttimes is not only that of a pioneer, but one who undertook many a dangerous task in order to reclaim and build up this, the fairest section of America.
    Among those who might pass unnoticed, except that he is a man of years, with kindly look and gentlemanly bearing, is the gentleman whose name heads this article, and who well might occupy a place with heroes. He was born on May 17, 1827, near Hodginsville, Kentucky, his ancestors being of Revolutionary fame. He received what education could be secured at the common schools of that time, which were not of the best, the term being usually three months in the year, and the distance to the old log schoolhouse being sometimes as much as four miles. The instructors were not always well educated; but, with application and a determination to know something, he was enabled to surmount the difficulties and instill into his mind a good understanding of his textbooks. He then attended a nine-months' term in the village of Hodginsville, where he forged ahead with great rapidity. On the closing of the term, he received a fine recommendation from his tutor, W. H. Fenton, now a leading lawyer of New York City, which, together with his general bearing, enabled him to secure a school at a hamlet called Bacon Creek, located some ten miles from his home. Here as a pedagogue he gave such general satisfaction that his refusal to teach a second term, although having been offered increased inducements, was greatly regretted by all. He had caught the California gold fever, and to the new El Dorado must go.
    He left home on May 3, 1849, and went to Aetna Furnace, Hart County, and there joined a company of eighteen others under the leadership of C. W. Churchill. Their trip across the continent was attended not only with sickness but death, the whole party being afflicted more or less with cholera. Seven of the nineteen succumbed to its ravages before reaching the Rocky Mountains. Theirs was not the only company which suffered in a like manner; for in many camps could be seen the dead, dying and almost helpless suffering emigrants; and all along the route there was a graveyard at nearly every camping place. Our subject was not an exception; for he had several attacks of the disease. At times, when able, he took his turn with the rest as doctor, nurse, cook, teamster and herdsman. After a long, weary and distressful journey, the welcome Rockies were at last reached, when in the change of climate better health was experienced until nearing the Sierra Nevadas, when several of the party, including our subject, the latter very severely, were taken down with mountain fever. Proceeding onward under these many disadvantages, they at last reached Sacramento in November of the year of starting, having been nearly six months on the road.
    His first experience as a miner was at Bidwell's Bar, on Feather River. His experience here convinced him that the miner's life was not at all times what the gold-fever-stricken Easterner pictures before leaving home for the diggings, and, thinking he could do better in Sacramento City, left for that place. About two or three weeks after his arrival there, he entered the employ of a baker at a monthly salary of $250. This position he retained through the winter and until spring, when he again concluded to try mining, and left for Redding Diggings, in the Upper Sacramento Valley. After his arrival he was induced to retrace his steps as far as Stony Creek (now Monroeville), where he erected a house for other parties, which was the first built at that point, and which he conducted as a hotel for some time. He again went to the mines, only to leave them in a short time on account of a severe illness, returning to the valley and buying an interest in what was then called Mundy's ranch. In 1851 he disposed of those interests and left for Oregon, settling at a point near where Eugene now stands. There he erected a sawmill, and later on built a mill on Bear Creek, the fruits of whose saws were the first lumber sawed in Southern Oregon, thus making him the pioneer in that enterprise in that section of the state.
    In 1853 he sold out and went to Rogue River, and in partnership with Milton Lindley built and ran a sawmill at Phoenix. In the fall of that year, while still retaining his interest in the milling enterprise, he left for the East via the Nicaragua route, hoping to avoid the many hours of sickness he had known on the plains in reaching here. But in this he reckoned wrongly; for through seasickness he hardly knew a well day while on the ocean blue. After visiting his old home and friends, he went to New York and studied daguerreotyping until he had become conversant with the mysteries of the art, when he purchased a photographic outfit and materials and took passage once more by sea for ''Webfoot'' via Panama. After his arrival here he began taking pictures; and such were the first ones taken in Southern Oregon and Northern California, making him the pioneer photographer in that section.
    During the early part of October, 1855, while he was in Eugene, the news came of the outbreak of the Indians on Rogue River. Believing the protection of the settlers' homes and families paramount to all other duties, he at once began the organization of a company of volunteers. Before the brave men enlisted could perfect arrangements to depart for the scenes of hostilities, General McCarver, who was on his way to the field of action, arrived at Eugene and wanted a messenger who would go to Scottsburg to procure ammunition, as his stock was rather low. In pioneer days that place was of considerable importance, having five or six well-stocked trading houses. Castleman was recommended to him as one who could make the perilous trip if anyone could. Upon his being approached in the matter, he volunteered to undertake the mission, and on receipt of his instructions departed for his destination, reaching there in twenty-one hours. The distance being ninety-one miles and over mountains, and the roads being nothing but trails, this was wonderfully quick time. On arriving at Scottsburg, he delivered his dispatches to the merchants of that place, who agreed to comply with the request therein--such being for a mule load of ammunition. Taking upon his horse a portion of the same, and packing the balance upon the mule and placing it in charge of another, he left by the river trail for Roseburg, where he was to meet McCarver, covering the distance of over a hundred miles in twenty-four hours, the ammunition coming in two days after.
    The next step in the conduct of the war was to get the ammunition into the hostile country, and into the hands of its sturdy pioneer defenders; and again Castleman was selected to accomplish another dangerous task. The route which he had to take led through the Umpqua Cañon, which by the way is one of the most magnificent stretches of scenery the world affords, and which the lover of nature never tires of gazing upon; but it was at this time hardly calculated to touch the poetic chord in one when its recesses and mountain crests contained the camp-fires of the howling savage, who thirsted for the white man's blood and was eager for his scalp. He, however, after an all-night's ride in darkness, succeeded in reaching Hardy Elliff's without accident or molestation, at sunrise the next morning, where he found some of the heroes of the Battle of Hungry Hill, which had been fought the day previous. Here he turned over to the volunteers the ammunition consigned to his care. On his return to Roseburg he was appointed assistant quartermaster-general for meritorious conduct, with his station at that place.
    Late in October the Indians congregated at the Meadows, on Rogue River, and prepared their camp for defense. To this point the troops made their way and laid siege to the rudely constructed fortifications. Tiring of this, and wishing to break the siege, the red devils selected a force of forty picked warriors and sent them out to terrorize the country. Making their way through the wilderness to the South Umpqua, they inaugurated their fiendish work by the burning of the settlers' houses, and laying waste all they could. On the first day of November, the news reached Roseburg; and the most exaggerated reports were pouring in, causing the wildest excitement. Pat Day, then sheriff of Douglas County, and Castleman agreed to go on a scout by themselves and learn what they could. They first went to Honorable John Kelly's, who lived one mile south of Roseburg, who took them across the South Umpqua in a canoe, their horses swimming after them. They then started for Rice's farm, where the Indians were reported to be hard at work. They came to Lookingglass Creek, which was a long way out of its banks, and was difficult to ford in the daytime, much more so in the dark, it being night by the time they reached there. They finally got across and were soon at Gage's stockade, where they refreshed themselves. Gage told them that he had heard firing at Rice's all day, and that it had finally stopped about sundown. At Gage's two men joined Castleman and Pat Day; and from there they went to a Mr. Kent's, where they next stopped, and where about a dozen more men gladly joined the party.
    Castleman, holding the rank of assistant quartermaster in the volunteer service, was made leader of the company. Following the trail of the savages up Ten Mile Creek, which was marked by devastation on every hand, they crossed a divide to the waters of Olallie Creek, and, coming up with the savages, actually saw them firing the house of a settler. They hid and waited for developments. They sent two scouts after the Indians, who tracked them to a bend in the Olallie. They waited until the Indians turned in and were asleep, and then crept into their camp. Getting all the information they desired, they returned to their own camp and reported. The savages being more than two to one it was deemed best not to attack them until they got some help. They went to McCully's stockade and got a reinforcement of twenty-five men, they being a portion of Captain Bailey's company, and under Orderly Sergeant Tom Holland. Castleman, being a higher officer, was tacitly acknowledged captain.
    It was very dark when they set out for the Indian encampment, following a local guide, who knew the country, creeping continuously along until they were only half a mile distant from the Indian stronghold; and there they halted and held a council of war. The Indians, who had tantalized the volunteers during the previous day at the stockade, had no fear of an attack, and were consequently very careless. The plan of action decided on was this: Castleman, with fifteen men, was to approach the Indian camp from the left along the creek. Pat Day, with ten men, was to attack them then in front. Tom Holland, with fifteen men, was to make a detour on the right, crossing the Olallie below their camp, and pick them off as they tried to swim the creek. Each party was to be in readiness at their appointed stations, to make a simultaneous attack at daybreak. As it was then but four o'clock, and daylight did not come until near seven, each party had ample time to gain their respective stations. Castleman with his squad started at once for his post and reached it. Holland's men got into a slight depression, and he concluded to wait there. Pat Day, when part way to his post, concluded to wait and see what would happen.
    The Indian camp was in a bend of Olallie Creek, between the creek and an immense fir log which lay just behind them. Castleman and his band were making for this fallen monarch of the forest; and he stood almost at the end of it before he realized the extreme danger of his position. He raised to look around him; and there were the painted devils, who were already up sitting around their blazing fires, cooking their breakfast and keeping warm.
    It was while he stood there within a stone's throw of the savages that Pat Day fired his gun. Instantly they raised the war whoop; and every redskin seized his gun. But fortunately they had thrown them down carelessly, where rain and snow had fallen later; and a number of them were unfit for use. Castleman looked behind, expecting to see all his men close to him; but only six were in sight. The other eight soon turned up. Hardly had the sound of that gun been lost when Castleman shouted: "Take the log, boys; take the log!" and, crouching, he led the rush for it. But, while rushing for the log, Castleman received a shot which entered his side, ranged the ribs and went out over the right hip. His lower limbs were paralyzed; but his arms were all right. He shouted to his men to make all the noise they could, and make the Indians think there were a thousand of them. They loaded and fired and shouted in turn. Their leader lay on the ground, loading and firing over the log. Firmly believing that his end had come, he determined to render as much assistance to his comrades as possible, regardless of himself. Before many minutes had elapsed, the whole force was at hand; and the battle assumed much larger proportions.
    As soon as the firing began, both of the other squads joined Castleman. The eight of Castleman's squad who lagged behind when he made the charge became a flanking party and did valiant work. It was dark where the assailants were, while the savages stood in the full glare of their campfires. An Indian stood behind some saplings so close to Castleman that he could have clubbed him with the butt of his gun, had he dared to have exposed himself so much. He was vainly endeavoring to make his gun go off, which fortunately for Castleman had got wet; and the charge would not leave the gun. He would occasionally put on a fresh cap, until finally a bullet from Jim Burnett's gun went crashing through his abdomen, sending him howling to the rear. While Castleman was making the most of the life that was left in him, loading and firing and shouting to his men what to do, a "pet Indian," known as "Cow Creek Tom," who could speak English fairly well, yelled back: "Yes, G-- d--- you, and while you are doing that we will kill you and cut you up in a thousand pieces, and lay you out on that log." That was no idle threat to keep in mind. He knew that if the Indians captured him they would do some such horrible thing. The battle was an awfully fierce one while it lasted. But the combined attack was too much for the Siwash element, and giving a parting war whoop, they fell back in great disorder, completely routed, and unable to carry away their dead. After the battle was over the whites proceeded to take an inventory of what they had captured. They recovered much of the property which had been stolen by the Indians, and recaptured many horses that had been taken the day before.
    Castleman's wound was not only dangerous, but was considered necessarily fatal. He was carried away on a rude litter to McCully's stockade, where he suffered the most excruciating pain for some weeks, when he was taken to a hospital near Roseburg, where he remained several months. When able to leave it, he was but a mere shadow of his former self; and from that day to this he has carried painful reminders of that terrible night on the South Umpqua, receiving no compensation nor even recognition that his services had been worth anything to his country. After leaving the hospital, he was commissioned assistant commissary of subsistence, with the rank of captain. This took him to Eugene, where he remained until peace was restored.
    After the close of the Indian war he bought a drove of hogs and several ox teams, loading the teams with produce, and drove them through to Southern Oregon, where he disposed of them, also selling his interest in the mill business. In the following winter he, in company with Lewis Ward, bought a pack train of B. F. Dowell, and packed produce from the Willamette Valley to the Southern Oregon mines.
    In the winter of 1857 Castleman sold his pack train and bought a livery stable at Eugene, which he and Ward owned until the summer of 1858. At that time T. Chase bought Ward's interest in the business, after which Castleman and Chase carried on the business until 1862, when they both went to Walla Walla and carried on the same business until 1865. They then sold out their business; and Chase returned to Eugene. In 1862 Castleman, leaving the business in charge of his partner, went to the Salmon River mines, but returned in the fall and moved his family to Walla Walla and engaged in photography. After the mines were discovered at Boise, he and Mr. John Duval took a stock of goods from Walla Walla to Placerville in the winter of 1863. Often during the trip they traveled through seven feet of snow, and came near losing their lives. In 1865 he sold out in Boise and returned to Walla Walla, where he again carried on photography until 1867, when he moved with his family to Eugene. Soon after this he returned East on a visit to his mother and family, his father having died in the meantime. While in the East he bought a large tract of land, and built a sawmill on it. But, circumstances not being as favorable as he had anticipated, he disposed of it and returned to Oregon, satisfied to remain, living one year at Eugene, one year at Tillamook, and about eight years on a farm in Yamhill County, which he sold, removing to Portland in 1878, where he has since resided.
    Mr. Castleman has been quite an extensive speculator, and has always been willing to engage in any honorable enterprise. He is a public-spirited and generous man, and has done much to develop the country. He has been an extensive stock-dealer, and is now interested in a fine hop ranch near Eugene. He has lived a busy and eventful life, and enjoys the confidence, honor and respect of all who know him.
    Mr. Castleman has long been identified with the Indian War Veterans Association of the Pacific Northwest, and at present is the vice-grand commander of of the grand encampment. During its sessions, or in the councils of the subordinate camp to which he belongs, he has been an ardent advocate of the publication of such a work as is now in the hands of the reader; and the interest manifested by him resulted in the formation of the company which has carried forward these volumes to completion, and in which he has been a member and one very active in the collection of data and historic matter.
    He was married in 1856 to Mrs. I. J. Evans. Their union was blessed with five children, Euretta F., now the wife of J. A. Campbell, of Berkeley, California; Stephen F., deceased; Mary E., who died in infancy; Anna B., now Mrs. W. H. Gaines, of Portland, Oregon; and William R., who is at present at home with his parents.
    Mrs. I. J. Castleman was born December 28, 1834, in Stark County, Ohio. Her parents, B. F. and C. S. Davis, moved to Marshall County, Indiana, where they lived several years. In 1847 they emigrated to Oregon and settled near Eugene. In 1850 Miss Davis was married to G. W. Evans, who died in 1853. They were blessed with two children, Frances E., now the wife of T. Patterson, and George W., who is now a resident of Yamhill County. Mrs. Evans was married to Philip F. Castleman March 18, 1856.
North Pacific History Company, History of the Pacific Northwest, 1889, volume 2, pages 246-249

    The ancestors of the honored pioneer whose name gives title to this short resume of an active life, were of Revolutionary fame. and, like them, our subject fought for the flag and for homes and firesides. One gave battle to the "red coat," the other to the red skin, the latter the most treacherous and cruel foe.
    Mr. Castleman was born on a farm near Hodginsville, Kentucky, May 17, 1827. Here he lived until he reached man's estate, assisting his parents, in the meantime getting a good education, gaining it principally by individual application to study. In those days the log school houses were far apart, the school terms short, and the instructors not very well educated, and to gain much knowledge one had to be self-taught. This he accomplished and began teaching himself, but soon after caught the gold fever, and with a company of eighteen others started for California in 1849. Cholera began to make its appearance among the emigrations of this year, and its ravages dotted the wayside with new-made graves, seven of the nineteen of his party falling as its victims, and many others. including Mr. Castleman, being afflicted with it during the journey.
    After arriving in California, he followed mining, building, hotel-keeping and other employ until 1851, when he removed to Oregon, settling near where Eugene now stands. Here he erected a sawmill, and through this became the pioneer lumberman of Southern Oregon. In 1853 he sold out and went to Rogue River, where he again interested himself in lumbering, building and operating, with Milton Lindley, the first sawmill constructed in that section. In 1853 he returned to the East, via the Nicaragua route, hoping to avoid a repetition of the sickness known on his journey across the plains, but he reckoned wrongly; he was sick all the while he was on the ocean's blue.
    While East he learned daguerreotyping and after purchasing an outfit, and visitation with his folks, he again left for Oregon, coming via Panama, and began picture taking, the first made in Southern Oregon and Northern California.
    In 1855 he began a career of privation, hardship and perilous in the extreme, an existence that only brave hearts volunteer to undergo, a duty that protects families, friends and their best interests from an ambushed and savage assailant, a service performed that a negligent government has to its shame no recompense or recognition. While in Eugene the news came that the Indians of Southern Oregon had began hostilities; he was among the first to go to the front and remain at his post until all danger was past. He was in many engagements, and in one of them badly wounded, a reminder that will not leave him while life lasts. He was shot through the side, the ball ranging his ribs and going out over the right hip, paralyzing his lower limbs. While he recovered, the effects remain to trouble and pain.
    From the time of the closing of the war until 1862 he was engaged in various avocations in Southern Oregon, when he went east of the mountains, gravitating between locations therein as packer, miner, photographer and merchant until 1867. In that year he returned to Eugene, and from thence East on a visit. Again returning, he was in Eugene, and Tillamook and Yamhill counties, until 1878 when he removed to Portland, residing there permanently ever since. He is at present the manager of the William Radam's Microbe Killer Company, and finds time well occupied in attending to the orders coming to him for that wonderful panacea for disease.
    Castleman has contributed largely to the upbuilding of Oregon in various commendable enterprises, is public spirited, generous, and enjoys the confidence of all who know him. He is prominent in the Indian War Veteran Association, having been Vice Commander thereof.
    He was married in 1856 to Mrs. I. J. Evans, pioneer of 1847, now deceased. Their union was blessed with five children, Euretta F., the wife of the late Judge J. A. Campbell, an Oregon boy who achieved fame as a justice of the San Francisco courts, Stephen F. and Mary E., deceased, Anna B., a talented lecturer, now the wife of W. H. Gaines, and William R.
    The reader of the Native Son will at some future date find within its pages an article descriptive of some of the engagements in which Mr. Castleman took an active part during the Indian war of 1855.
Oregon Native Son, Portland, volume 1, May 1899-April 1900, pages 402-403.

    MILO CATON: lives in Jacksonville; came to this state in 1852, and to this county in 1853; was married November 17, 1847, to Sybil A. Freeman. Children Edwin B., Jennie O., Emma E., Robert M. and Mary Bell. Mr. Caton participated in the Indian wars of 1853-6, and the late Civil War.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

CHAMBERLAIN, Grace H. (Miss), a native of Boston, Massachusetts, a resident of Oregon for 11 years. Interested in civic and women's clubs affairs. Former teacher of literature and mathematics. Gave professional monologues and acted as dramatic coach. Former state vice-president of Oregon Fed. of Women's Clubs, at present president of Southern Oregon District Federation. Member: D.A.R., Ashland Woman's Civic Club. Home: Ashland, Oregon.

Max Binheim, ed., Women of the West, Los Angeles 1928, page 158

Educator; Civic Leader.
b. Boston, Mass.; educated Radcliffe College; resident of Oregon since 1917; interested in civic and women's club affairs; former teacher of literature and mathematics; professional monologues and acted as dramatic coach and director; past vice-president and state chairman of Fine Arts; chairman Applied Education; chairman Federation Extension; past president of Southern Oregon District Federation; member Daughters of the American Revolution, Ashland Women's Civic Club, American Association of University Women, Rogue River Valley College Women's Club; Republican; address, Ashland
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 105

    HON. JOHN H. CHAMBERS. Although comparatively a newcomer in the great Northwest, Mr. Chambers has assumed a position of influence in Ashland and Jackson County. He was for many years a prominent and influential citizen of Herman, Neb., but in 1899 came west to Oregon and has since been identified with the lumber industry in Ashland. At the present writing he has a retail lumber yard at Medford, Ore., which is the largest and best commercial establishment of its kind in Southern Oregon. Mr. Chambers is of Irish descent, a son of the late John Chambers and his wife, Jane (McLaughlin) Chambers, both natives of Ireland. John Chambers came to America when about twenty years old and settled in Wayne County, Ill., where, as a pioneer settler of that county, he became an extensive farmer. His death took place in the same county, where he was for many years an honored resident. Mr. Chambers' mother is still living and resides on the old home place in Wayne County, Ill. Her father, James McLaughlin, upon emigrating to America, took up his residence in Randolph County, Ill. Five children were born to John and Jane (McLaughlin) Chambers, four of whom are still living, John H. being the only one in the Far West.
    John H. Chambers was born in Wayne County, Ill., January 6, 1864, and acquired a good education in the high school, and in McKendree College at Lebanon. In 1882 he went to Iowa and spent a couple of years in Mills County; two years later went to Washington County, Neb., and after farming there for two years, opened a general merchandise store at Tacoma, in the same county, and conducted a profitable business for four years. He subsequently went to Herman, Neb., and carried on a similar business for one year. Purchasing an interest in a banking institution, he was for years manager of the Plateau Bank, and retained his interest therein until 1901. In the meantime he invested in land, near Genesee, Idaho, and engaged in ranching. He had five hundred acres under fence in partnership with R. L. Burdic and besides raising cattle extensively, he carried on general farming and made a specialty of wheat raising. In 1901 they raised the finest wheat in that section, the land yielding sixty bushels to the acre.
    In 1902 Mr. Chambers disposed of his ranch and stock in Idaho and located permanently in Ashland, Ore., having made his first trip to this section in 1899. He had previously sold his interest in the bank at Herman, Neb. This bank, together with many residences in the same city, were destroyed by a cyclone in 1899. Mr. Chambers was master of the Masonic lodge, and as such did much to relieve the destitute; also was chairman of the relief committee for the distribution of the benefit fund.
    Upon locating in Ashland, Mr. Chambers bought an interest in the Ashland Manufacturing Company, which had a capital of but $5,000. He enlarged and increased the plant, adding planing mills, new machinery, etc., and in six months' time sold the entire plant for $80,000, although he still retains an interest, being president of the company. He owns a fine residence in Ashland, where he has gained many friends, although he has resided here but a comparatively short time.
    While a resident of Herman Mr. Chambers was united in marriage, in 1888, with Mabel E. Van Valin, a native of Washington County, Neb., and a daughter of James and Alice (Cooper) Van Valin, both natives of Wisconsin. Her paternal grandfather, Oliver Van Valin, was a Pennsylvanian by birth, and became a pioneer settler in Wisconsin, where he followed farming for many years. James Van Valin was among the early settlers in Washington County, Neb., where he carried on farming and stock-raising. He died there in 1891. but his widow is still living in that state. Five children were born to them, and Mrs. Chambers is the eldest. Mr. and Mrs. Chambers have one son, Victor.
    In his political convictions, Mr. Chambers is a Republican of the true blue type and has been particularly active in politics; in 1898, he was elected a member of the legislature from Washington County, Neb., on the Republican ticket. His record while a member of that honorable body is above reproach. He served with distinction on several important committees, among them being the committee on railroads, of which he was chairman, and also the committee on accounts and expenditures.
    He was made a Mason at Herman, Neb., and is past master of Landmark Lodge 222, A.F.&A.M., of that city; he also holds membership in Mecca Chapter No. 24, R.A.M., of Tekemah, Neb.; Jordan Commandery No. 15, K.T., at Blair; Tangier Temple, N.M.S., of Omaha, and the Ancient Order of United Workmen. Mr. Chambers is a valuable acquisition to the business life of Ashland, as he is a man of untiring energy in any business venture he undertakes, and his home and surroundings show him to be a man of refinement. The citizens of Ashland are particularly fortunate in securing him as a permanent resident.
Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 670-671

    WM. CHAMBERS: lives at Central Point; is a farmer; was born Scotland County, Mo., came to state and county 1852; married Dec. 18, 1862 in Mary A. Wilson. Children John W., Ida M., Florence L., Aaron (deceased), Mary L., Wm. H., Eveline R., Waity A. and Minnie M.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    DANIEL CHAPMAN: lives in Ashland; is a farmer and stock grower; was born in England; came to America in 1832; to state and county in 1853; was married March 9, 1865, to Sarah A. Neil. Children Alvin B., Sarah L., Minnie E., Daniel T., Cora A., Elsie V., Homer R., Virgil H. and Guy.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    DANIEL CHAPMAN. In their struggle to make a livelihood in the early days of Oregon many of the settlers developed qualities which place them in the ranks of heroes. All underwent deprivation and suffering, and many found death awaiting them in the land toward which they had struggled for so many weary months. To talk to the survivors of the Indian-infested days is like reading a book in which the interest never flags, for the majority who battled in order to preserve their homes and families had their experiences indelibly impressed upon their terror-stricken minds. Few can exceed Daniel Chapman in interesting accounts of experiences which can never be repeated in any land, for tribal decay has laid its heavy hand upon the red man, and his picturesque lineaments and garb will henceforth live only upon the canvas of the painter and in the story of the novelist.
    Looking back over his varied life, Mr. Chapman likes to remember that he is an Englishman, with an Englishman's determination and bravery and persistence. He was born in England May 5, 1832, and was only two years old when his father Samuel left behind him a successful stock trading business and set sail with his family from London. Naturally he wended his way to the center of stock activity in Kentucky, where he duplicated the success which had attended his shipping of fine stock from England to Scotland. While buying and selling cattle in Kentucky he also maintained a butcher shop, and in 1843 changed his home to near Des Moines, Iowa, where he lived on a farm four years. Near Bonaparte, Van Buren County, Iowa, he engaged in stock enterprises, and continued to live there for the balance of his life. His sons inherited his spirit of push and progressiveness, and Daniel and Henry, strong and rugged youths, the former then twenty-one years old, awaited but an opportunity to step forth into a life of activity and self-support. As is the case with all who work while waiting, they did not expect in vain, for in 1853 they had a chance to assist in driving cattle across the plains, and in return secured their board for the journey, thus reaching the West with practically no outlay of money on their part. They were five months on the way, and the brothers located in Jackson County, but soon after went to the mines at Yreka, Cal., remaining there until the spring of 1854. Returning to Jackson County, they took up one hundred and sixty acres of land on Emigrant Creek, six miles east of Ashland, where they erected a crude cabin, and put out ten acres of barley. This was the beginning of a series of encounters with the Indians, who were particularly persistent in refusing the right of invasion to the pale faces. That summer, however, the Indians robbed them of everything they had in their cabins, including blankets, provisions and utensils, and it became apparent that the farm was a pretty dangerous place to inhabit, even by brave men heavily armed. About 1857 an organized band of Indians in the mountains terrorized the inhabitants of the valley, and when they had stolen about all of the settlers' horses and cattle, and reduced them almost to beggary, it was time that radical measures were adopted. A band of thirteen started out, leaving one man in charge of the farm and remaining horses, and after a time separated into two parties, each going in a different direction in search of the Indians. They were found encamped on Keene Creek, so named for a member of their party killed, and here the Indians were victorious in a battle for which the settlers were illy prepared. Two of the whites were wounded, and when, the next day, they went in search of Keene, who had disappeared, they found as cruel and merciless a manifestation of Indian depravity as the annals of Indian lore contain. Keene, who had been shot to death, had been cut open, his heart taken out, and a stone placed in the cavity. Mr. Chapman also had many exciting experiences in 1859, while going with a party to serve as protectors to a band of emigrants coming from the East.
    In the spring of 1855 Mr. Chapman returned to his farm after spending the winter in the mines of Yreka, Cal. He engaged in stock-raising and grain-growing until 1873, and then went to Ashland, where he engaged in the meat market and butchering business, also in the livery business for about twenty years. While living on the ranch, in 1864, he went north with a drove of cattle to Boise City, where he sold his stock, and that fall returned to the ranch. In the meantime, in 1864, he married Sarah A. Neil, and eight children have been born of the union, the order of their birth being as follows: Alvin B., on the home farm; Lulu married W. L. Townsend, but is now deceased; Edith, at home; Thomas, a farmer of Lake County, Cal.; Cora, wife of Horace Mitchell, of Klamath Falls, Ore.; Elsie, at home; Homer R., also at home; and Virgil, in Portland.
    From Ashland Mr. Chapman moved his family to his present farm, where he is engaged in general farming, stock-raising and dairying, and where he has made many fine improvements. He raises fine Hereford cattle, and during the course of a year manufactures many hundreds of pounds of high-grade butter. As a Democrat, he has taken a keen interest in party undertakings in the county, and his ability and trustworthiness have resulted in his elevation to numerous positions of trust. In 1893 he served as deputy county assessor, and is at present holding the same office, to the satisfaction of all concerned. He successfully managed the affairs of the deputy sheriff's office for three years, and at a time when the unruly element prevailed, and the greatest tact and courage were required to hunt down lawbreakers and restore order. Here, as in the early days, his minute knowledge of the country served him in good stead, for his encounters with the Indians sharpened his wits, and gave him the mental alertness and farsightedness so essential in dealing with the criminal classes. Mr. Chapman is a type of early settler who will always stand out boldly in the annals of the West, and who has furnished the backbone of the past, as well as the inspiration of the present. He has observed broadly and intelligently, and is one of the most interesting as well as most authentic chroniclers in Jackson County.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 225-226

    HENRY H. CHAPMAN. Settling in Jackson County when the country was in its primitive wildness, Henry H. Chapman experienced all the hardships and perils of the frontiersman, meeting the dangers that beset him with characteristic bravery and fortitude. Casting his lot with the pioneers ere he reached man's estate, he had narrow escapes from the savages that roamed the country at will, and at one time very nearly lost his life in an encounter with a grizzly bear. The chronicling of such events and hairbreadth escapes furnishes sufficient material for a modern work of fiction, the record in his case, however, being too truly realistic. He was a self-made man in the highest sense implied by the term, having begun the battle of life at the foot of the ladder of success, which he steadily climbed, through his own unaided efforts, and in spite of almost seeming insurmountable obstacles. A son of Samuel Chapman, he was born May 28, 1833, on Hudson Street, New York City. He was of English ancestry, his paternal grandfather, an extensive stock-grower, having been a lifelong resident of England.
    Born and bred in England, Samuel Chapman there developed great artistic talent. Emigrating to the United States in 1831, he followed the artist's profession in New York City for awhile. Finding that much interest was shown in blooded stock, he embarked in an entirely new undertaking. Going back to England, he purchased some full-blooded Durham cattle which he took to Kentucky, disposing of them in Mason County for a fancy price. Encouraged by the results of his venture, he disposed of his New York studio and business and removed with his family to Washington, Ky., where he embarked in the stock and butchering business. Transferring his residence and business interests to Burlington, Iowa, in 1844, he resided there awhile, and then settled in Van Buren County, Iowa, where he remained until his death, at the venerable age of ninety-four years. His wife, whose maiden name was Sarah Smeed, was born in England, and died in Iowa at the age of ninety years. Twelve children were born of their union, namely: Alfred, now eighty years of age, resides in Bonaparte, Iowa; Mrs. Margaret Crawford, of Des Moines, Iowa; Mrs. Sarah Crawford, who died in Bonaparte, Iowa; Mrs. Mary Ann Hillman, of Beloit, Kans.; Samuel, whose death occurred in Talent, Ore.; Daniel, who came across the plains with his brother Henry H. in 1853, and is a resident of Jackson County, Ore.; Henry H., the special subject of this sketch; William, of Bonaparte, Iowa; Mrs. Amy Whitmore, of Bonaparte, Iowa; Mrs. Josephine Young, also of Bonaparte, Iowa; Victoria, widow of the late Michael Mickelson, of Ashland, Ore.; and Mrs. Julia Haverman, who died in Iowa in 1902.
    Spending his early life in Kentucky and Iowa, Henry H. Chapman was reared on a farm, assisting his father in the improving of a homestead. There being very few free schools in those days, he had very limited educational advantages, obtaining the greater part of his knowledge of books at the home fireside, studying by the light from a pine knot. In 1853 he and his brother Daniel came with the Walker train to Oregon, paying their way across the plains by driving ox teams. Leaving Iowa on March 13, they came by way of the southern route, arriving at the Isaac Hill place September 3, 1853. Going that fall to Yreka, Cal., the brothers worked in the placer mines for about six months and in the spring of 1854 returned to Jackson County. Subsequently Mr. Chapman helped to build the first wagon road over the Siskiyou Mountains, and finally located a donation claim of one hundred and sixty acres on Emigrant Creek, six miles above Ashland, and began the improvement of a farm. In 1855 and the early part of 1856 he took part in the Rogue River Indian War, serving under Captain Fordyce, in an independent company, and later, in 1856, he was one of a large company commanded by Capt. Giles Wells that cleaned the Indians out of the reservation.
    In 1855, while in camp at Fog Creek, Mr. Chapman induced Erastus and Joseph Wells to accompany him on a bear hunt. Starting early in the morning, the hunters finally arrived at the summit of a mountain lying about ten miles from Ashland, not having seen any game on the way. Fearing the Indians might discover them, they decided to return to camp, and started down the hill separately, Mr. Chapman being in the center, agreeing to fire a gun in case either of them should meet with danger. As Mr. Chapman was passing through the heavy brush he suddenly heard a rustling sound, caused, as he first supposed, by Indians. Soon, however, he heard the cry of a bear, and on investigating saw two mother bears and four cubs. Loading his double-barreled shotgun with buckshot, and an extra ounce ball, he pulled the trigger, but, as he was forty yards away, the shot scattered, the ball undoubtedly going wide of its mark. One of the old bears fell over, stunned. Firing the other barrel, the second old bear started up and ran away. Hearing the second shot, the wounded, or stunned, bear came to, and started in pursuit of Mr. Chapman, whose only gun was empty. Left defenseless, he ran for a large tree, but before he reached it the bear had torn his coat from behind. Dodging behind a small sapling, the huge bear followed him, making passes at him with her paws. Thinking to get to a larger tree nearby, he turned towards it, but the fierce grizzly reached him, and dealt him a terrific blow on the forehead and not only knocked him down, but bit him in the right thigh, broke his right shoulder, bit him in the right side of his throat, and as he put his right hand to the wound, bit his hand, and then thrust her ugly teeth in the flesh under the left shoulder, piercing his lungs. Hearing his shots, his two comrades rushed to the scene, thinking he had been attacked by the Indians. Coming suddenly upon him and the bear, they were so excited that both dropped their guns, and subsequently lost several minutes hunting through the brush for them. In the meantime the bear had nearly eaten her victim up. Finding their revolvers, both fired at the bear, who was on top, and she started for them. Another shot broke the bear's neck, and she was harmless. Mr. Chapman, being convinced that his jugular vein was severed, told the boys that his time had come, but Erastus Wells took him up in his arms and proceeded on the way home. Realizing after awhile that if his jugular vein had been really cut he should by that time have been dead, Mr. Chapman told his companions that if they would brace him up he would walk. When horses could be obtained he was tied on the back of one, and after reaching the home of Capt. Giles Wells, he was confined to his bed for six weeks, being tenderly cared for by members of the Wells family during all that time.
    Returning to Iowa by the Panama route in 1860, Mr. Chapman located in Bonaparte as a merchant and grain dealer, and was also extensively engaged in the horse business for several years, and during the Civil War furnished the government with many cavalry horses. Driving a herd of cattle to Colorado in 1879, he disposed of them in Trinidad. From there he took the old route for his former home in Ashland, Ore., where he still owned his original claim, being accompanied by his sister Victoria. On arriving in Oregon he found his ranch in a poor condition, but with characteristic energy he began improving it and carried on general farming for a number of years. Greatly interested in the breeding of stock, Mr. Chapman raised draft horses of a superior grade, and fine cattle and hogs, being quite successful in this branch of agriculture. He subsequently bought land adjoining his farm, and at the time of his death was the owner of four hundred and thirty-seven acres of fine, well-improved land, on which he made improvements of a substantial character, having a conveniently arranged house and two fine barns, one 96x80 feet, and the other 36x36 feet. Renting his farm in September, 1902, Mr. Chapman removed to Ashland, where he had a pleasant home on Oak Street and lived retired from active pursuits, enjoying the reward of his many years of toil until his death, October 28, 1903, at the age of seventy years. He was always active, and after having been crippled by a horse, and seriously injured in a runaway, so that he had to use crutches all the time, he was often seen working in his garden and attending to his trees and flowers. During his illness he was tenderly cared for by his sister, Victoria Mickelson. Politically, Mr. Chapman was a Democrat, but not an office seeker, and socially he was a member of the Jackson County Pioneer Association.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 691-692

    LYMAN CHAPPELL: lives on Applegate; is a hotel keeper and farmer; post office, Applegate; was born in Livingston County. N.Y., 1816; came to state in 1854 and to county in 1858; was married December, 1850, to Sarah Fritz.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 508

    DR. J. A. CHASTAIN: lives in Phoenix; is a physician; was born in Meggs County, East Tenn., April, 1834; came to state in 1875; was married March 1, 1866, to Mary J. King. Children Wm. I., Charles, George L., Cora, Price, Adah, Ann E., Etta, Claudius and Sarah J.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    THOMAS CHAVNER. One of the names that was earliest and most honorably connected with the history of Jackson County was that of Thomas Chavner, who, though his death occurred September 8, 1888, is still remembered by the citizens of Oregon as a man of unfailing integrity, kindliness and a helpful spirit which was a dominant influence in the development of the community wherein he made his home for so many years. With the pioneer element strong within him, an inheritance, probably, from his mother, who emigrated to America in 1820, Mr. Chavner was not content to pass his days amid the quiet scenes of the eastern states, but chose rather to cast in his lot with those who were giving their best efforts toward the upbuilding of the lands which lay beyond the Rocky mountains. Early in the '40s becoming identified with the fortunes of Texas, he served valiantly in the Mexican War, after which he came to the Northwest and gave to the development of the resources of Oregon the same enthusiastic service. Not alone successful in the service of the state, he accumulated a large amount of land, seventeen hundred acres in one body near Gold Hill, Jackson County, as well as a large timber claim near Ashland, the former property, whereon he made his home, being enclosed and subdivided by sixty miles of fence and the greater portion of the land being under a high state of cultivation. The general appearance of the farm is one of thrift and neatness, the broad acres being now devoted to general farming and stock-raising.
    Mr. Chavner was born in County Tipperary, Ireland, in 1814, and inheriting the characteristic spirit of his race, the love of freedom, he was fitted by nature for the pioneer life which filled up the greater part of his years. He lost his father when he was quite young, and when but six years old his mother brought her family to America, landing at Philadelphia, which was then the port for a large number of European emigrants. Soon afterward the family removed to Susquehanna, the first employment of the little Irish lad being to deal out the regular rations of whiskey allowed to laborers on all public works. Upon the death of his mother, which occurred soon after they settled in the United States, Thomas Chavner was left to the care of an elder brother. In Pittsburgh he was apprenticed to learn the trade of a tailor, but finding the work uncongenial he ran away and made his way down the Ohio River to Cincinnati, for three or four years thereafter serving as cabin boy on various boats that plied on the Mississippi, Arkansas and Monongahela rivers, his first trip being made on the famous Cincinnati and Louisville packet Gen. Albert Pike. While in St. Louis, at the end of a trip from New Orleans, Mr. Chavner became associated with various trappers from the Rocky Mountains, whose tales of dangerous yet interesting adventures in the West so imbued him with the desire to try his fortunes beyond the Rockies that he became a member of the company under Sublette and Campbell, employees of the American Fur Company, to go on a year's tour to trap and trade. He at first agreed to work his way as cook, but by the time they arrived at Independence the party had found him so useful that they decided to give him $10 per month for his services. Upon the expiration of his contract with the American Fur Company Mr. Chavner entered the employ of Thompson and Craig, traders from Brown's Hole, on Green River, with whom he went north, there meeting Kit Carson, Baptiste Cheults, Lew Anderson, Henry Spilter, Barney Ward, and others whose names have since become famous as trappers and guides. Until 1841 Mr. Chavner remained in the employ of the fur company, passing through many experiences which were but the repetition of the stories which he had heard while in the Mississippi Valley. In the last named year the American Fur Company ceased to be a corporation, and the party of trappers disbanded, Mr. Chavner accompanying Kit Carson and several others back to South Platte, where he entered the employ of a man named Lupton, to trade with the Arapahoes, Sioux and Cheyennes. Kit Carson stopped at Bent's Fort, eight miles below Lupton's, and it was there he first met General Fremont, in whose service he afterward won fame as guide for his expedition. Their meeting was brought about by Mr. Chavner, who met General Fremont first, when the latter inquired for a guide and was recommended to see Carson, as he was in every way qualified for the duties required.
    The next campaign of Mr. Chavner was in the southwestern part of the country, where he met with many adventures and had many narrow escapes. In the spring the party with whom he had hunted returned to South Platte, save one adventurous hunter, named Manfield, who went to Texas and obtained a colonel's commission from Sam Houston, then president of the Lone Star Republic, after which he recruited a company of three hundred men and fought for the independence of Texas. During the preliminaries for a treaty with the Comanche Indians Mr. Chavner, who had learned the language, was employed as interpreter and was thus intimately acquainted with the border life of that period. Upon the completion of the treaty, President Houston gave him permission to establish a trading post on the Brazos River, twenty miles from the nearest post, where he remained two years. Upon the opening of hostilities between Mexico and the United States he joined a company of independent rangers and scouted in the vicinity of General Taylor's army until peace was declared, taking an active part in the battle of Buena Vista and many others of note. Immediately after the close of the war he went to California, in company with Daniel S. Terry, the slayer of Senator Broderick, and a number of other disbanded soldiers. He remained in California until 1856, when he came to Jacksonville, Ore., and ever afterward identified his interests with those of Jackson County, becoming a trader of note through his unvarying success. The second bridge across Rogue River at Gold Hill was erected by Mr. Chavner, a toll bridge known as the Centennial Bridge, because it was built in 1876, and from this spot his farm extends three miles up a beautiful valley, bounded on the north by Gold Hill. Mr. Chavner was also one of the promoters of [the] Gold Hill mine and was active in the establishment of the town.
    Mr. Chavner was united in marriage in 1861 with Margaret Brennan. who was born in County Carlow, Ireland, having emigrated from her native country in the same year. Their first home was in Jacksonville, but they removed soon to the large ranch near Gold Hill, where Mrs. Chavner died in 1880. She became the mother of the following children: Michael and Peter, both on the home place; Mary A., who became the wife of Dr. Roland Pryce, a sketch of whose life follows; and Margaret, the widow of S. D. Jones. Both daughters make their home on the ranch, the first named being the manager of the place. Mr. Chavner, though a staunch Democrat in his political convictions, never cared for official recognition, but gave every assistance in the matter of good government in the community wherein he made his home for so many years. He was a member of the Roman Catholic Church.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 201-201

Retired Contractor.
b. Weston, Oregon, Nov. 28, 1880; son of Spencer and Mary Elizabeth (Peters) Childers (early settlers in Oregon, to Jackson County 1884); educated grade and high schools Medford; m. Lelah Ross Williams of Central Point, April 20, 1910; began as journeyman mason; general contractor 1904-42; built Lithia Theatre, Ashland; First Methodist and German Lutheran churches, Medford; Rogue Theatre, Grants Pass; remodeled most theaters in Grants Pass and Medford; various remodeling projects for U.S. National Banks of Grants Pass and Medford; has built nearly 50 commercial buildings in Southern Oregon and many remodeling projects; ex-city councilman; City Board of Appeals, construction projects, 1935 to date; Elks (ex-trustee); Republican; Christian; address 504 S. Central Ave., Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 109

    DR. J. H. CHITWOOD: lives in Ashland; is a physician and surgeon; was born in Jefferson County, Ind.; came to this state 1853 and to county 1871; married May 28, 1848, to Sarah J. Gaskill. Children Ella J., Olive Irene, Hampton T., Katie B., Charles G.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

b. Beach, North Dakota, Sept. 15, 1914; educated public schools; began as newspaper carrier and magazine salesman; warehouseman and clerk (drug department), Fred Meyer, Inc. 1933-34; carrier and salesman, district manager, circulation supervisor, The Oregonian Publishing Co. 1934-41; sales manager and part owner, Chrystal Brewing and Distributing Co. 1941-43; president and sales manager 1943-; owner and manager, various business properties in Grants Pass and Portland; Elk; Rotarian (sergeant-at-arms 1944, member, board of directors, 1945); home 330 N. Holly (8); office 301 N. Fir, P.O. Box 231, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 111

CHURCHILL, Julius Alonzo, educator; b. Lima, Ohio October 14, 1863; to Oregon 1891; C.E., B.S., Ohio Northern University 1883; A.M., University of Oregon 1920; m. Florence B. Jennings October 18, 1887 (dec.); m. Inez Depew March 5, 1922; children--Marie, Florence, Doris. President Southern Oregon Normal School 1926-; superintendent of schools Baker, 1891-1913; superintendent of public instruction 1913-26. B.P.O.E., Maccabees, Kiwanis, Chamber of Commerce, Golf Club. Republican. Episcopalian. Address: 150 N. Main Street, Ashland, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 55

    The rapid and substantial growth of Medford has drawn to it many capable representatives of professional interests, and this number includes Dr. R. W. Clancy, who is successfully engaged in the practice of medicine and surgery. He was born in Toronto, Canada, April 19, 1876, his parents being Andrew and Agnes (Totton) Clancy. The father was descended from Irish ancestry, the family, however, being established for many years on the soil of the new world. Andrew Clancy devoted his life to horticultural pursuits and was a zealous student of the scientific principles underlying his work. He is now living retired in Medford, but still has a deep love for horticulture, although he no longer takes an active interest in fruit raising. The Totton family, of which R. W. Clancy is a representative through the maternal line, comes of pure Scotch ancestry and for generations in the old country and in North America the representatives of the name have been agriculturists.
    Robert W. Clancy was educated in the graded schools of Guelph, Ontario, and in the Guelph Collegiate Institute, while his professional training was received in Trinity College, Toronto, Canada, from which he was graduated in 1902. Following the completion of his course he took postgraduate work in hospitals of London, England, and Edinburgh, Scotland, and upon his return from Great Britain was invited to settle at Wallace, Idaho, where he became the resident surgeon of the Frisco Mining Company and at the same time engaged in general practice there. In 1909 he removed to the Pacific coast and spent almost a year in traveling through Washington, Oregon and California, looking for a favorable location that would present attractive climatic conditions and promise of general progress. In the fall of 1909 he decided to locate in Medford and purchased one hundred and forty acres of land two and a half miles from the city, which he planted to pears. Unlike many buyers who expect to reap a golden harvest in a brief period. Dr. Clancy recognized the fact that time and efforts must bring his orchards to the point of valuable fruition. He had gained much knowledge from his father and his own study had added thereto, with the result that his labors have produced what is today one of the show orchards of the Rogue River Valley and one of the finest places on the Pacific coast. Though highly successful in his profession he still devotes all of his spare time to the ranch, which has become to him the recreation ground from his professional labors.
    In 1910 Dr. Clancy opened his office in Medford, where he has continued in practice and has achieved great success as a physician, while his name as an able surgeon has covered all of southern Oregon and northern California. While he continues in general practice he specializes in surgery and were he located in a large city would devote all of his time to the latter branch of the profession. He is now serving on the staff of the Sacred Heart Hospital and he belongs to the Southern Oregon Medical Society, the Oregon State Medical Society and the American Medical Association.
    In 1903 Dr. Clancy was married to Miss Winifred May Pasmore, a daughter of Robert Pasmore, and of Scotch descent. The family are still receiving an annuity from the British East India Company, of which their ancestors were founders centuries ago. Mrs. Clancy, like her husband, is a graduate of the Guelph Collegiate Institute. Among her many famous ancestors may be named Mickle, one of Scotland's most talented poets. Dr. and Mrs. Clancy have become parents of two children: Winifred Eileen, who is a graduate of the Medford high school and is preparing to enter Wellesley College, is accounted a remarkable musician and after studying the technique of music at Wellesley will finish her studies in the capitals of Europe. Her friends in Medford are convinced that she will make the name of the town famous by reason of her remarkable talent as a musical artist. The other child is Robert Ernest, who is now a student in the Medford schools and can be best described as "all boy." He is not only yell leader of his class and his school, but is frequently borrowed by other city schools. Full of life and a lover of sports and games he is at the same time accounted an excellent student.
    On the second day after war was declared against Germany and her allies Dr. Clancy enlisted and entering the service was sent to Camp Lewis as first lieutenant, where he assisted in the organization of the Ninety-First Division. Early in 1918 he was ordered to France as advance officer of the Ninety-First Division and was trained in the military school at Langres. He was afterward reassigned to the Ninety-First Division as captain and served with that gallant body in all of its engagements. He was on active duty at St. Mihiel, in the Argonne Forest, at Lys and at Schielt River, Belgium. He returned to the United States in May, 1919, with the rank of major. Immediately after his discharge from the army he was appointed surgeon of the United States Public Health Service for southern Oregon and still holds that post.
    Dr. Clancy is an Elk and an Odd Fellow, but his large practice demands so much of his time that he has little opportunity for fraternal activity. His wife is one of the leaders in club and social life in Medford, where she has a host of friends. Both are consistent members of the Presbyterian Church, and Mrs. Clancy is a most active worker therein, serving as one of the deaconesses. Their aid and influence are ever given on the side of progress and improvement and the names of Dr. and Mrs. Clancy are ever associated with those interests which make for the welfare, advancement and happiness of the community. 
Charles Henry Carey, History of Oregon, vol. III, 1922, pages 282-283

CLARK, FRANK Chamberlain
Architect, Clark & Keeney.
b. Greene, New York, December 27, 1872; son of Philetus A. and Carrie Ronk (Chamberlain) Clark; educated Academie, Bayonne, N.J.; m. Grace Wilson, San Francisco, Calif., Jan. 4, 1924; children Frances Wilson, Frank C. Jr., Louis Catherine, Edwin Wilson, James Newcomb; member Oregon State Board of Architect Examiners 1920 to date; designed Hotel Medford, Medford High School, Medford airport, Washington School, Craterian and Holly theaters, Elks Temple, etc.; Elk; Democrat; Protestant; home 1917 E. Main St.; office 208 Fluhrer Bldg., Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 113

Lawyer, Ex-District Attorney.
b. Valley City, North Dakota, Dec. 21, 1888; educated public schools, Valley City, North Dakota; North Dakota State Teachers College, Valley City, 1907-08; Willamette University, Salem, L.L.B. 1912; m. Maude Corlies of Medford, Oregon, May 21, 1921; children Gail and George Jr.; teacher, Minnewaukan, North Dakota; engineering department, Northern Pacific Railway, City of Salem, Oregon, P&E Railway Co. and Oregon State Highway Commission; practice of law, Medford; assistant Corporation Commissioner, State of Oregon; practice law with firm of Crews and Codding, Medford; district attorney, Jackson County, 1929-36; special attorney, Department of Justice, Lands Division; Democratic State Central Committeeman, Marion County; served 155th Aero Squadron, overseas, World War I; Legionnaire (past vice-commander, Department, of Oregon, past local commander); past commander, Crater Lake Post Veterans of Foreign Wars, Medford; past president District Attorneys Association of Oregon and Southern Oregon Association Law Enforcement Officers; Elk; Eagle; Mason; Methodist; home 1015 Queen Anne Avenue; office 212 Liberty Building, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 117

COGGINS, Arthur Lowell, lumberman; b. Chico, California September 29, 1888; to Oregon 1924; Mount Tamalpais Military Academy; University of California; Yale University 1911; m. May G. Macullar January 29, 1912; children--Alice Mary. President, general manager California-Oregon Box & Lumber Co. Mason, Republican. Address: Ashland, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 58

    BYRON COLE. One of the many worthy and respected pioneers of Jackson County was Byron Cole, late of Colestin, who came to Oregon when the country was new, and the settlers few in number, and far between. For many years he was actively identified with the agricultural interests of this section of the state as a successful and prosperous stockman. Taking up land that was yet in its original wildness, he labored energetically, and with justifiable pride and satisfaction watched its gradual development from a forest and brush-covered tract to a well-improved ranch, yielding abundant harvests, and giving sustenance to his large herds of cattle. A son of Elisha Cole, who reared twelve children, Byron Cole was born in Putnam County, N.Y., in 1825.
    In 1851 Byron Cole and his brother, Rufus Cole, left Putnam County, N.Y., and came via the Isthmus of Panama to Oregon. Taking up a donation claim in the mountains, seven miles south of Siskiyou, they established a stage station, and for several years ran the stage route in partnership. Selling out his interests in the place to his brother in 1859, Byron Cole returned east for his bride, whom he brought to Oregon, in 1860, by way of the Isthmus. Locating at Upper Coles, Jackson County, he embarked in agricultural pursuits, at one time owning nine hundred acres of land and a large amount of stock. He subsequently sold five hundred and eighty acres of his land, retaining, however, three hundred and twenty acres, on which was a mineral spring of superior medicinal properties. The spring becoming noted, Mr. Cole erected a hotel near it in 1884, and made it a popular summer resort, the name of the town, which is located on the Southern Pacific Railroad, being named Colestin. This hotel Mr. Cole managed most successfully until his death, January 18, 1894, at the age of sixty-eight years and six months.
    May 3, 1860, in Norwalk, Conn., Mr. Cole married Chloe Ann Knox, who was born in Carmel, Putnam County, N.Y., a daughter of Edmund Knox. Her grandfather, Abraham Knox, who was of Scotch descent, was a soldier in the colonial wars, and afterwards a pioneer farmer of Putnam County, N.Y. A native of Putnam County, N.Y., Edmund Knox followed the trade of a shoemaker throughout his entire active life. He married Hannah Henion, who was born in New York state, a daughter of John Henion, who was born in Pennsylvania, of German ancestry. Of the seven children born of their union, six are living, Mrs. Cole being the only one that ever came to the Pacific coast. She managed the hotel for about six years after the death of Mr. Cole, carrying it on until April, 1900, when she rented the property, and took up her residence in Ashland. Of the union of Mr. and Mrs. Cole ten children were born, namely: Ella, wife of C. F. Sullaway, of Sisson, Cal.; Jules F., of McCloud, Cal.; Mrs. Emma Poor, of Ashland; Willard L., of Keswick, Cal., who is assistant manager of the Iron Mountain Copper Company, and superintendent of the California division of the Iron Mountain Railroad; Hugh F., a ranchman; Mrs. Grace Park, of Upton, Cal.; Byron H., of Dunsmuir, Cal.; Mrs. Jessie Zent, of Fresno, Cal.; Herbert, at home; and Clayton, of Ashland, an employee of the Southern Pacific Railway Company. Mr. Cole was a steadfast Republican in his political affiliations, and was a member of the Masons, and of the Jackson County Pioneer Society.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, page 862

COLEMAN, James Blin, financier; b. Phoenix, Oregon August 23, 1876; m. Lettie M. Adams August 9, 1896; children--Ray, Arnold E., Delpha, Elva, Clair, Jesse H. County assessor 1917-; chairman Talent High School Board 1910-13; U.S. Civil Service 1907-12; A.F.&A.M., I.O.O.F., W.O.W.; Republican. Protestant. Address: Courthouse; home: 1026 West 10th Street, Medford, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 59

Judge, Jackson County.
b. Phoenix, Oregon, August 23, 1876; educated public schools, Jackson County; m. Lettie M. Adams, Talent, Oregon, August 9, 1896; children Ray, Arnold E., Delpha C. (Offenbacher), Elva C. (Jennings), Clair C. (Norris), Jesse H.; U.S. Civil Service 1907-12; Talent Mercantile Co. 1913-16; County Assessor, Jackson Co. 1917-41; Judge 1941-; member and chairman Talent High School Board 1910-14; chairman Jackson County Draft Board, World War I; Mason; Republican; Protestant; home 1026 West 10th St.; office Courthouse, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 120

    MATHEW HUBBARD COLEMAN. The early life of Mathew H. Coleman was characterized by a hard struggle for existence, and interrupted by unexpected and discouraging obstacles. That he is at present comfortably located on his pleasant and profitable little farm of fifty-six acres on Wagner Creek, Jackson County, argues well for his perseverance, and brave acceptance of adversity and misfortune. His boyhood days were spent on a farm near the Pennsylvania line in Ashtabula County, Ohio, where he was born February 19, 1826, and where his father was the genial host of a well-conducted country tavern. He remained at home until twenty years of age, and then bade adieu to the old familiar scenes and made his way to near Joliet, Ill., where he worked on a farm for a year.
    The outbreak of the Mexican War enlisted the sympathies of many young men near Joliet, and Mathew H., inspired with patriotic  fervor, became a soldier in Company B, Sixth Illinois Volunteer Infantry. He started on the march with a disposition to rout the enemy at whatever cost, but, alas for the plans of men! he was doomed to spend his time on a hospital cot, while his fellows in arms did the fighting and took the glory. When near Vera Cruz, the accidental discharge of one of the company guns resulted in severely wounding Mr. Coleman, the ball passing downward from near the mouth, through the upper jaw and out of the right arm. On an improvised cot he was taken to the hospital, his extremely painful wound dressed, and after six months at Vera Cruz he was transferred to a hospital in New Orleans. While there he was discharged in the spring of 1848, having been in the service nearly a year.
    Returning to Will County, Ill., after his extremely trying war experience, Mr. Coleman still suffered from the effects of the gunshot wound, his whole system being debilitated by the long sojourn in the hospital. As soon as able he began working, hauling logs for a lumber company, and while thus employed, his weak condition, and the close proximity to swampy land, brought on acute ague, and for another period he was denied the right to work for a living. Recovering somewhat, he used his Mexican land warrant and settled on a farm near Rockford, Ill., remaining there until crossing the plains in the spring of 1853. Mr. Coleman had been perfecting plans all through the winter, and was accompanied by his brother, John, Absalom Geddings, and Lewis Sicily, all eager to reach a country which afforded such excellent opportunities for youth and ambition. The journey was uneventful compared with that of some of the earlier emigrants, and upon arriving in Oregon Mr. Coleman worked in the mines of the eastern part of the state for a year and a half. For a year he also worked in the Sterling mines, where he had two placer mines, and realized quite a little money therefrom. Afterward he moved to an improved ranch on Coleman Creek, and in 1892 located on his present farm, where he is engaged in raising general produce and some stock. He still owns the old farm of one hundred and sixty acres near Phoenix, but rents it, devoting his own energies to a less arduous responsibility.
    August 13, 1865, Mr. Coleman married Sabra A. Goddard, daughter of Blin C. Goddard, who came to Jackson County, Ore., in 1864. Seven children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Coleman: Elmer G.; Marcia, the wife of John Robinson; William R., a resident of Phoenix, Ore.; James B., living on the home farm; Edith; Edgar E.; and Arthur R., the two latter being deceased. Mr. Coleman leads a quiet, uneventful life, cares little for political undertakings, and devotes his entire time to his farm and home. He is esteemed for his brave struggle for a competence, for his good name, and invariable consideration for all with whom he comes in contact.
Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 324-325

    BENJAMIN M. COLLINS, cashier and active manager of the .Jacksonville State Bank and well known as a representative of agricultural and financial interests in Jackson County, was born in Greene County, Illinois, April 4, 1876. a son of Benjamin W. and Mary E. (Likely) Collins. The mother was born in Pike County, Illinois, and the father's birth occurred in Guernsey County, Ohio. He removed westward to Illinois in 1854 and was there married. His death occurred in July, 1908, when he was seventy-three years of age, and the mother now resides with her son Benjamin. The father devoted his life to farming and also held many political offices during his residence in Greene County, Illinois, to which he was elected on the Republican ticket. He served as county supervisor and for eight years he and his wife superintended the county poor farm. In their family were ten children, eight sons and two daughters, and with one exception all are yet living. Four are residents of Jackson County, Oregon, and one is living in California.
    Benjamin M. Collins, who was the eighth in order of birth, was reared in his native county, early becoming familiar with the best methods of tilling the soil and caring for the crops. He remained in Illinois until the spring of 1905, when he came to Jackson County, Oregon. He had been graduated from Dixon College at Dixon. Illinois, in 1893, when seventeen years of age, being the youngest graduate up to that time. He was too young to teach, for the law would not permit his being accorded a certificate, so he secured a position as clerk in a store and was thus employed for two and a half years. He then took up the profession of teaching, which he followed in Pike, Scott and Greene counties, devoting his entire attention to that profession until he came to Oregon to join his brother, S. C. Collins, who had been residing here for seven years. Benjamin M. Collins engaged in teaching for a year at Ruch and then went to Blue Ledge mine and shoveled snow for three days. His financial condition rendered it imperative that he accept any employment, but after that brief period he obtained the position of assistant assayer of the Blue Ledge mine and later was made bookkeeper. Subsequently he returned to Medford and engaged in clerking in a shoe store for three months. He was next appointed city recorder and police court judge of Medford, continuing in that position for three years. He then resigned and removed to Jacksonville to take charge of the Farmers & Fruit Growers Bank, which he managed for a year. He then bought the bank building and the capital stock and organized the present state Bank of Jacksonville in 1910. He is the cashier and the active manager of the bank, which he has since capably conducted, his business policy commanding confidence to such an extent that during the first year and a half its deposits increased over three hundred percent. The bank has been placed upon a safe, substantial basis and has now a large number of depositors, while its business in other departments is equally gratifying.
    On the 12th of October, 1898, Mr. Collins was married to Miss Ericzean Walton, a native of Pike County, Illinois, and a daughter of Henry and Minerva Walton. The two children of this marriage are: Frederick, born October16, 1899; and Grace, born July 4, 1908. In his political views Mr. Collins is a Republican and always casts an intelligent ballot because he keeps well informed on the questions and issues of the day. Fraternally he is connected with the Masons, the Elks and the Knights of Pythias and he and his wife are members of the Christian Church, to the support of which they contribute liberally and take a helpful interest in many departments of the church work. They have gained many friends during their residence in Jackson County and enjoy the high regard and good will of all with whom they have come in contact.

Joseph Gaston, The Centennial History of Oregon,
vol. III, 1912, page 217

Partner, Medford Lumber Co.
b. Hebron, Neb., June 6, 1912; son of Cornelius and Grace (Cooley) Collins; educated grade and high schools Hebron; University of Nebraska, B. of Science 1934; m. Marguerite Boyle, Medford, July 29, 1940; child Cornelius Robert; began career with Firestone Tire & Rubber, Akron, Ohio, traveling (special work) various parts of U.S. 1934-38; secretary-treasurer Medford Lumber Co. 1938-41; partner (Grace and John Collins) Medford Lumber Co. since 1941; partner Eagle Point Lumber Co.; partner McGraw Collins Lumber Co. (sawmill); vice president Cooley Hotel Corp.; served City Budget Comm.; director Western Retail Lumbermen's Association, 1943; Rotarian; Elk; Rogue River Golf Club; Izaak Walton League; Chamber of Commerce; Republican; Presbyterian; home Black Oak Drive; office 3rd and N. Fir, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 121

    George Thomas Collins, manager of the wholesale grocery house of Mason, Ehrman & Company, is a dynamic force in the business circles of Medford. He was born on the 13th of August, 1880, at Holyoke, Massachusetts, and comes of English ancestry. He was educated in his native town, attending the graded and high schools, and when his textbooks were put aside he entered upon an apprenticeship to the paper-making trade. Just as he was completing his term of indenture he met with an accident that broke both knees and obliged him to quit the paper-making business. When he recovered he became a commercial traveler, covering the New England states for a New York grocery firm. He had been reading, however, of the Pacific Coast, its excellent climate and its superior business advantages and on one occasion met a fellow traveler, who in reply to Mr. Collins' inquiry spoke so well of the country that the latter decided to try his fortune in the Northwest.
    In March, 1911, traveling coastward by way of Canada he at length reached Portland, a place in marked contrast to the regions through which he had passed, for as he journeyed westward he traveled through great snow banks but on reaching his destination found roses in bloom and a beautiful sunny climate. Mr. Collins entered the employ of a wholesale grocery house in Portland and his ability won him promotion to the position of assistant manager within six months. His connection with the firm covered nearly two years, at the end of which time he became a representative of the firm of Mason, Ehrman & Company, being made manager of the Southern Oregon territory, with wholesale establishments at Medford and Klamath Falls. Mr. Collins established his home in Medford, but is widely known throughout the southern part of the state, as Ashland, Klamath Falls and other districts claim him and benefit by his civic enterprise and progressive spirit. His efforts have been an important element in making Medford a wholesale distributing Point, and not only has he assisted materially in the upbuilding of the business with which he is directly connected but has been a supporter of many public projects as well.
    He is represented on the road by six traveling salesmen and employs twenty-four people in his warehouse. He has carefully systematized the business, introduced progressive methods, and his commercial activity has been a potent force in contributing to Medford's upbuilding.
    In 1902 Mr. Collins was married to Miss Rosa Boissy, a daughter of Alphonse Boissy, a farmer of the province of Quebec, Canada. Both Mr. and Mrs. Collins are recognized as social leaders in Medford, and the hospitality of their own home is greatly enjoyed by a very extensive circle of friends.
    Mr. Collins is keenly interested in the improvement of the Crater Lake resort and is one of the best-known representatives of fraternal interest in this section of the state. He is a past master of his Masonic lodge, is a Knights Templar and a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason, and he is likewise a past potentate of Hillah Temple of the Mystic Shrine and a past honorary Pharaoh of the A.E.O.S.S. He is likewise a past exalted ruler of the Medford Elks and vice president of the Oregon State Elks Association. All of these different bodies to which he belongs count upon and receive his active cooperation and support. He is one of the directors of the Medford Chamber of Commerce, and no cause of civic betterment seeks his aid in vain. He was appointed by Governor Olcott in April, 1921, a member of the Oregon State Tourist Information Bureau. It is said that when George Thomas Collins starts out for a thing he gets it, and the methods which he pursues are such as any might profitably follow. Perhaps the secret of his success may be found in the fact that he is never too busy to be cordial, never too cordial to be busy.
Charles Henry Carey, History of Oregon, 1922, volume II, pages 668-671

Realtor; Insurance Executive.
b. Springfield, Mo., Jan. 18, 1892; son of John J. and Mary (Calhoun) Collins; educated in the public schools, Springfield; m. Elizabeth Jenkins of Springfield, Mo., Nov. 14, 1918; children Hugh B. (Lieut. U.S. Army overseas), James C. Jr., Elizabeth; began as clerk in the Springfield (Mo.) Union National Bank; Isthmian Canal Commission, Panama; later Brazil for United Fruit; accountant, Swift & Co. out of Chicago, various branches U.S.; contracting business, oil, Texas, Oklahoma and mid-continent oil fields 1915-23; realtor and insurance, Medford since 1927; U.S. Army (1st Lieut., 90th Division overseas) 1917-18; served as appraiser, State Aid Commission, World War I; region appraiser, State Treasurer's office; City Councilman 1929-32, 1940-44 and reelected 1944 to 1949; chairman city finance commission and airport commission, active since inception of the city airport (now oldest in state); served on City Planning Commission; served on County Library Board; active in Civilian Defense, Red Cross; Legionnaire; K.T. Mason; Hillah Shriner; Chamber of Commerce (ex-director); Izaak Walton League; local, state and national realty boards; Oregon Association of Insurance Agents; Democrat; Protestant; home 2224 E. Main; office 104 W. Main, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 121

    JAMES W. COLLINS: this old pioneer was born in Pettis County, Mo., June 13, 1825; when seven years old his parents moved to Rives County (now Henry County) in that state; thence to St. Clair County, and to Bates County, all in Missouri. On the 6th of May, 1850, he started for California, overland, arriving in Sacramento on September 1, 1851. He mined for gold on Feather River about two weeks, then went to Chico, and his uncle, who resided there, gave him an outfit of six Indians and seven mules with sufficient provisions for a trip to Scott River. He remained there until February 6, 1852, when he came to Rogue River Valley, where he arrived the same month, sleeping the first night under an oak tree on the--now--Gordon ranch. Here he took a donation claim, where he lived until the fall of 1853, then sold out and went to Dry Creek, stock raising. He next moved to Table Rock precinct, where he purchased a farm and lived until coming to his present ranch near Phoenix. He claims to have sown the first grain in Jackson County, and erected the first frame house, the one now on the Gordon ranch. He married Martha Ann Stow on August 10, 1855. She is a native of Sangamon County, Illinois.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 521

    LOUIE COLVER: was accidentally shot in Feb. 1884, at Phoenix, his home; was a farmer; was born in Union County, Ohio, March 28, 1847; came to state in 1850, to county in 1852; married Dec, 31, 1875 to Miss Minnie Dollarhide. Children Lita and Loyd.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    SAMUEL COLVER: lives at Phoenix; is a farmer and stock grower; was born in Union County, Ohio, Sep. 10, 1815; came to state in 1850, to county in 1851; married Nov. 1845 to Huldah Callender, born in Madison County, Ohio, 1823. Children Luellyn and Isabell.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    SAMUEL COLVER. Ever since the spring of 1851 the Colver family has been known as an industrious and deserving one, and has maintained the reputation for excellent farming for which the Jackson County family is justly famous. That honored pioneer, Samuel Colver, settled first on the present site of Phoenix, where he took up a donation claim and where he spent his entire life. The house which still shelters an industrious household was erected in the days when Indians prowled around by night, and menaced the life and property of the earnest men and women who were striving to make a living upon the neglected and uncultivated land. Many neighbors used to assemble in the improvised fort at night, returning to their farms during the day. Thus the family cherish the old building for the good it has done, and doubtless would feel lost in any other habitation.
    Mr. Cover was born in the state of Ohio in 1815, and at Middleburg married Huldah Callendar, born in January, 1823. The family crossed the plains in a large train of emigrants in 1850, meeting with little opposition on the part of the Indians, and having a fairly pleasant trip. Six months they slept by night under the stars and traveled by day, the faithful oxen responding to the instructions of their drivers, and bringing them in safety to the Oregon of their dreams. One incident of the trip is recalled by Mrs. Colver. While on the Platte they were camping one evening and during the night Mr. Colver heard some disturbance among the livestock. Upon investigating he discovered an Indian, whom he grabbed by the throat. The companion of the red man fired, but failed to reach his mark, and the captured Indian managed to squirm out of Mr. Colver's hands, leaving his gun, which was in possession of the family for many years.
    Mr. Colver first took up a claim where Eugene is now located, but in 1851 he came to Jackson County, as heretofore stated, and lived on his farm until his lamented death in 1890. He was a quiet man, devoted to his family and farm, and never desired or would accept office tendered him by his Republican friends. He inaugurated many fine improvements on his farm, kept it in perfect order, and devoted his land to grain, general produce and stock. He is recalled as honorable in all his dealings, fearless in his support of right and justice, and always kind and considerate of those dependent upon his care.
    Mr. and Mrs. Colver took great pride in their three children, desired for them an excellent education, and gave them all the liberty and diversion possible in their busy life. Alice, the youngest, died at the age of two years and four months; Lewelleyn, who married Jemima Dollarhide, died March 9, 1884, leaving four children, Caroletta, Percy L., Frank B., and Lewelleyn; and Isabella is the deceased wife of L. A. Rose, her demise occurring in 1885.
    Mrs. Colver is still living on a portion of the old donation claim, which is being managed by the grandchildren.
Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, page 324

    COLVIG, GEORGE W., of Grants Pass, was born in Ray County, Mississippi, November 12, 1848, and came to Oregon in 1851, and has resided in Douglas and Josephine Counties continuously, going to Grants Pass in 1890. He is engaged in practicing law, having been admitted to the bar in 1889. Since 1874 he has been a delegate to county conventions in both counties almost continuously. He was elected a member of the legislature from Douglas County in 1876, 1878, 1880 and 1882, and was nominated for County Judge in 1884. In 1889 he was elected a member of the State Board of Railway Commissioners, and re-elected in 1891. He was a Justice of the Peace at Riddles two years, chairman of the county central committee and a delegate to the state conventions of 1890, 1892 and 1894.

Republican League Register, Reporter Publishing Co., Portland, 1896, pages 195-196

    MARCELLUS N. COLVIG. As an enterprising, wide-awake business man, and one who has firmly established himself among the prominent and influential men of Canyonville, we take pleasure in giving to our readers a brief biography of Marcellus N. Colvig, who has charge of the Postal Telegraph office of this city. The son of a pioneer physician of Oregon, he received the greater part of his training and education in Douglas County, and has here spent a large part of his active business life. Since taking up his residence in this city, he has taken an intelligent interest in all matters pertaining to its material prosperity, and has generously supported all projects conducive to its educational, social, moral and political advancement. A son of the late Dr. William L. Colvig, he was born December 25, 1841, in Athens County, Ohio, coming on the paternal side of French ancestry.
    A native of Loudoun County, Va., William L. Colvig was born September 19, 1814, and died July 17, 1896, at Rock Point, Jackson County, Ore. Spending the days of his boyhood and youth in his Virginia home, he there learned the trade of a cabinet maker, which he subsequently followed for a few years in the neighboring state of Ohio. In 1849, accompanied by his family, he followed the tide of emigration westward, going to Missouri, where he lived for two years, in the meantime studying medicine. Emigrating to the extreme western coast in 1851, he was five and one-half months in crossing the plains with the slow-traveling oxen. Arriving in Oregon, he spent the first winter in Portland, in the spring of 1852 locating in Douglas County, about one and one-half miles north of Canyonville. Taking up a donation claim of three hundred and twenty acres of land, he improved a ranch, and also engaged in the practice of his profession, living there sixteen years. The ensuing five years he lived about five miles east of Canyonville, and then purchased a farm at Rock Point, Jackson County, where he lived as a farmer and a physician until his death. A man of strong personality, warmhearted, trustworthy and honest, he became influential and popular and was held in universal esteem. He took great interest in church work, giving liberally towards the religious advancement of town and county. October 4, 1838, he married Helen M. Woodford, who was born September 16, 1816, in Connecticut, and died June 3, 1887, in Rock Point, Ore. Of the ten children born of their union, six are living, namely: Volney, of Portland; Marcellus N., the subject of this sketch; William M., of Jacksonville; George S., ex-United States consul at Barranquilla, Colombia, S.A., and now an attorney at Grants Pass, Ore.; Mrs. Alwilda A. Emery, of Ashland; and Mrs. Aphia W. Cawley, residing in California. Those deceased are Andrew A., Mason, John L., and Orin.
    Having received a practical common school education, Marcellus N. Colvig remained on the home farm until nineteen years old, when he started in life for himself, becoming one of the first band of employees of the California Stage Telegraph Company. In 1864 he enlisted in Company C, First Oregon Volunteer Infantry, under Col. G. B. Curry, and Capt. C. B. Crandall, and was mustered into service at the state fair grounds, in Salem, as a private. He served nearly a year, being in the time promoted to the rank of corporal, doing guard duty, principally in Oregon and Washington. After being mustered out of service at Fort Vancouver, Wash., Mr. Colvig returned to Oregon. During the time of the gold excitement in Idaho he went there as a miner, hoping in a brief time to greatly improve his financial condition and while there took part in the Owyhee and Star City (Nev.) Indian outbreak. He subsequently had charge of the Western Union Telegraph office in Canyonville for a few months, and afterwards followed mining and prospecting a number of years. In 1870 Mr. Colvig was in the service of Queen Victoria, constructing telegraph lines in British Columbia, and remained in the North for about one year. From 1873 to 1876 he had charge of the Western Union Telegraph office at Puyallup, Wash. Assuming charge of the Postal Telegraph office in Canyonville in 1887, he has since retained the position, giving eminent satisfaction to the company and its numerous patrons.
    September 23, 1888, Mr. Colvig married Agnes H. Graves, a native of California, and they have two children, namely: Hubert M. and Inez Romana. Mr. Colvig has accumulated considerable wealth, being the owner of two hundred and thirty-one acres of land in Jackson County, besides which he owns property in the city of Canyonville and in other places. He has served his fellow citizens in various public capacities. For the past sixteen years he has been notary public, and is now city treasurer. He is a Republican in politics, a Freemason, and an active member of the Christian Church.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 698-699

    Residence and office, Medford National Bank Building, Medford, Oregon. Born in
Knoxville, Mo., September 2, 1845. Son of William Lyngae and Helen Mar (Woodford) Colvig. Came to Oregon in 1851. Married to Addie Birdseye, June 8, 1879. Attended country school in Oregon; eighteen months at Tremont College, Tazewell County, Ill., then teaching school for short time. Studied law with Judge A. W. Rodecker, Pekin, Ill., 1871-72. Returned to Oregon, October 1875, and admitted to bar at Salem, Oregon, in 1888. Member of Company C. First Regiment, Oregon Cavalry, 1863-66. County School Superintendent, 1882-1886; District Attorney, 1886. Member Oregon Textbook Commission. President Medford Commercial Club. Member Masonic fraternity. Republican.

History of the Bench and Bar of Oregon, 1910, page 112

COLVIG, William Mason, Lawyer; born, Ray Co., Mo., Sept. 2, 1845; son, William Lyngae and Helen (Mar) C.; grandson of Jacob Lyngae Colvig, who fought under Napoleon and received a medal of honor for bravery at Lodi. "Educated in a log school house." Married, Addie Birdseye, June 8, 1879, at Rock Point, Ore. Dir., Medford Natl. Bank; pres., Medford Commercial Club. 3 years enlistment, 1863-66, Co. C, 1st Ore. Cav. Vols; 2 terms Co. Supt. Schools, Jackson Co., Ore., 3 terms, Dist. Atty., 1st Jud. Dist. Ore.; 12 years, member of Oregon Textbook Commission; 4 years, Adj. Gen., Ore. State Militia. Democrat, until McKinley campaign, since a Republican. Has lived in Oregon 61 years. Address: Medford, Ore.
Franklin Harper, ed., Who's Who on the Pacific Coast, Los Angeles 1913, pages 120-121

    M. COLWELL: lives in Jacksonville; is proprietor of a livery stable; was born in Adrigole, County Cavan, Ireland; came to state and county in 1861; was married March 2, 1867 to Mary Corcoran, who died July 23, 1883.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

CONGER, H. W., coroner; b. Centerville, Iowa December 19, 1883; to Oregon 1901; m. Mabel Cator June 27, 1906; children--Beatrice (dec.). Coroner. Mason; I.O.O.F.; K.P.; B.P.O.E.; W.O.W.; Redmen; Lions International Club. Republican. Methodist. Address: Box 579, Medford, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 60

Funeral Director; Partner, Conger-Morris Funeral Parlor.
b. Centerville, Iowa, Dec. 19, 1883; son of Enos (Civil War veteran) and Malinda (Beamer) Conger; educated Centerville public schools; m. Mabel Cator, Corvallis, Oregon, June 27, 1906; child Beatrice (deceased); began as farmer, Iowa and Oregon 1901-10; motorman, Portland Electric Light and Power Company 1910-15; employed by mortuaries Portland, Salem and Albany 1915-20; owner Conger Funeral Parlor 1920-43; partner Conger-Morris 1943-; served on Jackson County Republican Committee (board member several years); president Oregon Funeral Directors Association 1933-34 (many years a director); County Coroner 1925-32, 1941-49; Lion (charter member, past president); Chamber of Commerce; Red Men; Pythian; Woodman of the World; Eagle; Elk; S.R. Mason; Hillah Shriner; Odd Fellow (past noble grand); Republican; Methodist; home 715 W. Main, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 123

    ISAAC CONSTANT, born in Clark County, Ky., on the 5th of April, 1809. The family started for the state of Illinois about the year 1812, but stopped at Greene County, Ohio, and in the year 1820 arrived in Illinois, and settled in Sangamon County. Here Mr. Constant lived and was raised on a farm. He crossed the plains to Oregon in 1849, and being pleased with the country returned to Ills. in 1850. In 1852 he brought his family overland to Oregon and settled on his present ranch at Central Point. He married Lucinda Merriman, on the 14, of February, 1833. Mrs. Levenia Robinson, Mrs. Elizabeth Leever, Mrs. Julia Owens and Mrs. Maria Magruder are his children.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 525

    ANDREW J. COOK: lives on Applegate; is a farmer and stock grower; post office, Applegate; was born in Blount County, Tenn.; came to state in 1852 and to county in 1861.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 508

COOK, Floyd J., manufacturer & inventor; b. Portland, Oregon March 16, 1883; Lawrence Portland Academy; m. Helen Colvig Gale, January 2, 1923. Secretary State Central Committee; delegate to Republican convention 1928. American Legion; M.A.A.C.; University Club. Republican. Address: Medford, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 61

    ROBERT A. COOK: lives on Foots Creek; is a miner and farmer; P.O. address Draper; was born in Blunt County, Tenn., 1833; came to state 1853, to county 1859; married Feb., 20, 1853 to Almira Wooldridge. Children Sarah E. (dec.), John A., Wm. A., Thos. J., Robert L. and Mary E.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    NICHOLAS COOKE: lives at Willow Springs; is a merchant; was born in County Limerick, Ireland; came to state and county in 1853; was married Sep. 16, 1876, to Ann McNamara, born in Philadelphia.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    GEO. W. COOKSEY: lives near Central Point; is a farmer and stock grower; born in Clinton County, Ky.; came to state 1853 and to county 1858; married Sep. 21 1869, to Mrs. Martha M. Roe. Children Marcellus, John L., and Rosie, George, only child of Mr. Cooksey, born May 21, 1872, died Nov., 30, 1883.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    MARTHA MARZEE COOKSEY. Adjoining Central Point is a farm of one hundred and twenty acres occupied by Mrs. Martha Marzee Cooksey, whose sixty years have been crowned by much of success, comfort and joy. Observing and ambitious, Mrs. Cooksey has entered heartily and intelligently into both the pioneer and later undertakings of Jackson County, at the same time fulfilling the prime duty of women in making a delightful home and rearing capable children. Among the memories which have gathered for safekeeping in her brain and heart none are dearer or more satisfying than those surrounding her husband and father, both of whom were men of highest honor, and devoted allegiance to the demands of citizenship.
    Born in the state of Arkansas, March 16, 1843, Mrs. Cooksey is a daughter of John Ingram, whose name is enshrined among the pioneers who helped to make this state great, and whose example has inspired many to lives of usefulness and humanity. For many years John Ingram conducted a stage line, flouring mill and farm in Arkansas, and was known as a prominent and influential man of his section. When his daughter Marzee was nine years old, in 1852, he sold his interests in that state, and prepared to emigrate to the West, outfitting with ox teams, wagons and provisions, and finally reaching Salem, Ore., after a comparatively pleasant journey. Shortly afterward he settled on a farm near Eugene, Lane County, and while tilling his land held many important political positions, including that of assessor of Lane County for two terms. Subsequently he was elected to the legislature on the Democratic ticket, representing his district with discretion and entire satisfaction. Possessing excellent business judgment and ability, he was called upon in many important capacities, his counsel and opinion carrying great weight in matters of moment. No member of the Methodist Episcopal Church was more highly honored or more faithfully served its interests. Generous to a fault, he gave to all worthy causes, and through his willingness to loan money enabled many an unfortunate to regain his self-respect and assume an independent position. His death at the age of fifty was deeply regretted, the more so because men of his kind have been in the minority. A strange coincidence is that his wife, formerly Lauracie Ann Doggett, a native of Springfield, Ill., lived also to be fifty years old.
    Martha Ingram recalls her journey across the plains with much pleasure and more misgivings, for to her childish mind the dangers were magnified, just as are the joys of youth. She attended the pioneer schools near her father's farm, and was taught to be a good housekeeper, skilled in cooking and sewing and other womanly accomplishments. For her first husband she married Joab Rowe, who was very successful as a stock-raiser in the Willamette Valley. He crossed the plains in 1852, and died at an early age in Sams Valley. In 1880 Mrs. Rowe was united in marriage with George W. Cooksey, a native of Missouri, who came to Oregon with his family in 1853, locating in the Willamette Valley. Soon after the marriage the young people moved to Jackson County, where Mr. Cooksey engaged in stock-raising near Table Rock, and from where he removed to Humboldt County, Cal., continuing his former occupation with great success. The next home of the family was in Eastern Oregon, near Lakeview, where he owned considerable land, and a large herd of cattle. In 1882 Mr. Cooksey returned to Jackson County and bought a large ranch near Central Point, where also he raised stock, and met with his usual success until his death. He was thoroughly versed in the stock business and rarely failed in his yearly expectations of a good market. He left the fine property now occupied by his widow, and what is better, the legacy of a name against which no word of discredit had ever been launched. He was one of those noblemen whose word carries conviction and sincerity, and with whom his fellowmen found pleasure in doing business. Although a shrewd business man, Mr. Cooksey was fair to an unusual degree, and his competence was won by dealings above board and beyond criticism.
    Four children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Rowe: I. M.; J. L.; Irvilla Ann, deceased; and Rose U., now the wife of G. G. Bartlett, of Portland. Mrs. Cooksey is a devoted member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. She is popular and well known in her neighborhood, and her home is one where her numerous friends find unstinted hospitality and good fellowship.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 527-528

RUSSELL HOPKINS COOL, D.D.S., of Oakland, was born in Jacksonville, Oregon, June 12, 1858, son of Dr. George W. and Virginia M. (Pleasants) Cool. The father, born in Ohio, in 1828, was a son of an American, who was a merchant that settled in Missouri. The mother, born in Kentucky, in 1832, died in 1882. Doctor G. W. Cool was brought up in Kentucky, graduated at a university, studied dentistry under Chapman A. Harris, a well-known dentist and one of the original founders of the Baltimore College of Dentistry, whence he received his degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery. He came to this coast in 1850, practicing first in British Columbia, Washington Territory and Oregon, and finally settled in San Francisco, in 1881. His wife died in 1882, leaving three children: William Pleasants, born in 1849, in Kentucky, and now a dentist in San Francisco, married and has two daughters and one son; the next born was the subject of this sketch; the next was George W. in British Columbia, in 1865, is a very successful dentist in Guatemala, married Miss Schuler of Oakland and has one son and daughter. Mrs. Virginia M. Cool was the daughter of Daniel Pleasants, a planter of Virginia and a descendant of John Pleasants, who came to America in 1650, settling in Virginia. The great-grandfather, James Pleasants, liberated his slaves, settling them in Ohio. He was born in Goochland County, Virginia, October 24, 1769, and died at his residence, "Contention," in that county, November 9, 1839. He was a first cousin of President Jefferson. He was admitted to the bar of his native county, enjoyed an extensive practice, especially as an advocate; was a member of the Legislature in 1796, elected by the Republicans Clerk of the House, 1803-11, and a Representative to Congress 1811-19, was United States Senator 1819-23, which position he resigned and was Governor of Virginia 1832-5. In 1824 La Fayette visited Virginia. Mr. Pleasants was a delegate to the Virginia State Constitutional Convention in 1829-30, and subsequently he declined appointment as Judge of the Circuit Court and the Virginia Court of Appeals. The county of Pleasants, now in Western Virginia, was named in his honor. John Randolph of Roanoke said of him: "James Pleasants never made an enemy nor lost a friend." His son, John Hampden, journalist, born in Goochland County, Virginia, January 4, 1797, died in Richmond, Virginia, February 27, 1846, was educated at William and Mary College and admitted to the bar at an early age, but abandoned law for journalism, and founded and became editor of the Lynchburg Virginian. He subsequently moved to Richmond and in 1824 founded the Constitutional Whig and Public Advertiser, and was its chief editor for twenty-two years. He was finally killed in a duel with Thomas Richie, Jr., of the Richmond Enquirer, a Democratic organ. Mr. Pleasants was a brilliant editor and paragraphist, and his journal was the principal exponent of the Whig Party in Virginia. His political sympathizers erected a monument to his memory, on which his gallant and self-sacrificing patriotism is recorded.
    Dr. Cool, whose name introduces this sketch, graduated at the high school of San Francisco in 1874, practiced dentistry in 1875, followed a course of medical lectures in the College of the Pacific, while studying dentistry also in his father's office, and commenced practice on his own account in 1876 at Haywards. In 1879 he came to Oakland. In 1881 he graduated in the dental department of the University of California. In June, 1890, he was elected Vice-President of the Post-Graduate Dental Association of the United States. He is also a member of the California Odontological Society, and belongs to Brooklyn Lodge, No. 222, F.&A.M.
    The Doctor was married in January, 1879, to Miss Lou Emerson, and has one child, Dicka, born November 6, 1880, in Haywards.

The Bay of San Francisco: A History, Chicago, 1892, vol. ii, pages 530-531

    ORLANDO COOLIDGE lives at Ashland, and is extensively engaged in the nursery business. He was born in Oxford County, Maine, and came to this state and county in 1851. In 1857 he was married to Miss Mary J. Foss, in the state of Illinois. One child, Minnie J. Mr. Coolidge established a nursery in Ashland in 1869. He has introduced almost every variety of fruit, forest and ornamental tree, also nearly every desirable variety of plant and flower. To Mr. Coolidge's untiring energy and industry, and to Mrs. Coolidge's taste and love of flowers, is Southern Oregon indebted for very much of the beautiful and useful that enriches and adorns the country. Their home is a home of fruits and flowers, and is the admiration of every beholder. A view of this beautiful residence will be found among the illustrations of this work.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 529

    ORLANDO COOLIDGE, JR. In the passing of Orlando Coolidge, the city of Ashland as well as Jackson County lost one of its most highly respected citizens, and his name will long be remembered as the founder of the nursery industry in Southern Oregon.
    Orlando Coolidge was born in September, 1825, in Augusta, Me., which was also the birthplace of his father, Orlando Coolidge, Sr., who was a cooper by trade. He followed that occupation successfully in his native state and later in Illinois. He was a pioneer settler at Elkton, Winnebago County, Ill., but in after years he went to Bonaparte, Iowa, where he died and was soon followed to the grave by his wife.
    Orlando Coolidge, Jr., was educated in the common schools and rose to prominence solely by his own exertions. When a boy he began learning the cooper's trade, under his father's guidance, which he followed in his early manhood. In 1850 or '52 he made his first trip to Oregon, but subsequently returned to his home in Illinois for a time. Again crossing the great plains, he spent several years mining in California, and in 1859 he purchased a farm three miles from Ashland in the Rogue River Valley. This farm contained one hundred and sixty acres, and with keen foresight Mr. Coolidge began improving and cultivating his land, setting out extensive orchards and laying the foundation for the nursery business which gave him much prominence in after years. In 1869 he purchased additional land on the present site of Ashland, and many broad acres owned by him are now dotted with residences. At one time he owned a tract of land extending from North Main Street back to the top of the hill between Bush and Church streets. Upon this land he at once erected another nursery, which gave him about thirty-five acres of the most extensive variety of fruit and nut trees grown in this locality, as well as a complete assortment of small fruits, ornamental trees and flowers. For many years he did a flourishing business, and the greater part of the orchards in Southern Oregon as well as in Northern California were originally stocked from his nurseries. He was unusually successful, being especially fitted for his profession, which he followed all his active days.
    Mr. Coolidge also built several fine residences on his land and laid out additions to the city of Ashland. The most important of these are Nob Hill and Coolidge additions, the latter comprising eighteen acres. He was a man of considerable local influence, but could never be prevailed upon to accept public office, although he will long be remembered as one who rendered eminent services for the advancement of the interests of his section of the state. He built a large residence in Ashland, which is surrounded by a well-kept lawn, rich with a profusion of flowers, and this is the present home of his widow, whom he married in Illinois in 1857. He died at his home in Ashland on May 26, 1896, mourned by a large circle of friends.
    Mrs. Mary Jane Coolidge is a native of St. Albans, Vt., and is the eldest daughter of Nathaniel and Fannie (Allen) Foss. Her maternal grandfather, Ebenezer Allen, was born in the Green Mountain State and rendered valuable services in the War of 1812. He was a pioneer settler of New York state and was a son of Gen. Ethan Allen, the hero of Ticonderoga, whose history is so familiar to all Americans. Nathaniel Foss, the father of Mrs. Coolidge, was born in New Hampshire. When grown to manhood, he followed agricultural pursuits at St. Albans, and later went west and was among the early settlers of Winnebago County, Ill. He settled on the old Bates farm south of Durand and carried on farming and stock-raising, but in after years he went to Blue Earth, Minn., and followed farming there during the latter years of his life. His wife also died there. They reared five children, Mrs. Coolidge being the eldest and the only daughter. Her brothers are as follows: Jay Foss, who took an active part in the Civil War, as a member of the Seventy-fourth Illinois Regiment, is now a resident of California; Julius, a farmer near Talent; Jed, who died in Kansas; and Melvin, a citizen of Minnesota.
    Mrs. Coolidge was reared and educated in her native state, mainly at St. Albans Hill, Vt. In 1862 she went to San Francisco by the Panama route, and from there proceeded by stage to Southern Oregon. She is the mother of one daughter, Mrs. Minnie Ogg, of Ashland. Mrs. Coolidge is well known in fraternal circles, affiliating with the Degree of Honor; Ladies of the Maccabees; Rebekahs; and Women's Relief Corps. She has a large circle of intimate friends and acquaintances who respect her for her many virtues.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 847-848

COWGILL, Ralph Penniwill, civil engineer; b. Springfield, South Dakota May 21, 1880; W.S.C.; m. Mildred Byers 1913; children--Ralph, Juanita. Since 1925 field engineer Medford irrigation district; field engineer Medford City Water commission in charge of the location and construction of Medford's new water system; with U.S. Geological Survey 1898-1910; state representative 1923-27; Major of Infantry O.N.G.; Major O.R.C.; Mason; K.P.; B.P.O.E.; American Legion; Sigma Nu. Republican. Protestant. Address: 504 Pennsylvania Avenue, Medford, Oregon.

Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930,
Oregon City Enterprise, page 63

    J. A. CRAIN: lives near Medford; is a farmer and stock grower, was born in Warren County, Ohio; came to state 1851, to county in 1852, was married in 1861 to Susannah Wright; one child, Elmira May.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

CRANDALL, William John, physician; b. Jasper, Indiana February 12, 1893; to Oregon 1908; Linfield College 1914; Los Angeles College, osteopathic physician & surgeon 1920; m. Gladys C. Anderson September 15, 1921; children--Julia Ann. A.O.A.; O.O.A.; World War. Mason. B.P.O.E., Kiwanis, Phi Sigma Gamma. Republican. Protestant. Address: First National Bank Building; home: Leonard Place, Ashland, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 64

Physician and Surgeon; Civic Leader.
b. Jasper, Indiana February 12, 1893; educated public schools of Illinois and Oregon; pre-medical Linfield College, Los Angeles College of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons 1916-20; post-graduate eye, ear, nose and throat 1924; Adelphic; Phi Sigma Gamma; m. Gladys Anderson, Washington, September 15, 1921; daughter Julia Ann; with U.S. Reclamation Service 1910-16; private practice Ashland, Oregon; graduate U.S. School of Military Aeronautics 1918; author of various professional articles; councilman, City of Ashland; former director Chamber of Commerce; Kiwanian (past lieutenant governor); Legionnaire (past adjutant and commander); president Southern Oregon Osteopathic Society 1936; Republican; Elk; Mason; home Leonard Place; office First National Bank Bldg., Ashland
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 132

    FRANKLIN LAFAYETTE CRANFILL. The most experienced and successful merchant of Medford is also one of the earliest pioneers of the state of Oregon. His family has proved a spur to energy and development ever since it was established here in 1847. It has known no such word as fail, and its undertakings have had the solid superstructure of practicability and unquestioned financial integrity. Variously identified with the industries of the state, one of its most popular and worthy members is the before-mentioned merchant of Medford, Franklin Lafayette Cranfill. Born in Greene County, Ill., June 2, 1844, he is the second child of four sons and five daughters born to Isom and Matilda (Doyle) Cranfill, natives respectively of North Carolina and near Monmouth, Ky.
    Isom Cranfill left the paternal farm in North Carolina as a young man, and worked for his living in Tennessee. Not long afterward he removed to Illinois, where he married, and where he conducted a general store and Indian trading business in Greene County. With a courage rarely found in the men of today, he spent the winter of 1846-7 in preparing to cross the plains to Oregon, an undertaking beset by hideous possibilities, and holding but one chance in a hundred of being accomplished. He was one of the first to come by the Platte River and Barlow route, and if he met with any of the mishaps with which the present generation associates the Indian-infested regions of that time, no record has been kept of it. He was probably well armed, and perhaps a kindly fate guided his oxen in their long and wearisome journey. At any rate, six months of travel brought him to Oregon City, then a hamlet, and he settled on a donation claim three miles from the settlement, on the Clackamas River. Here he engaged in a saw milling business with Ben Simpson, and in 1856 removed to near Peoria, Linn County, where he engaged in farming and also worked at the carpenter's trade. He was an eminently religious man, and an ordained minister of the Baptist Church. From Linn County he removed with his family to Douglas County, and then to Eugene, where he died in 1877, at the age of seventy years. His wife survived him until February, 1903, at the age of eighty-four years.
    Three years old when he came to Oregon, the present merchant of Medford recalls little of the memorable trip, or of the crude conditions on the timbered farm. He learned the carpenter's trade from his father, and in time worked at it in Linn and Douglas counties until 1884. He then came to Medford as manager of the general merchandise store of Henry Smith, retaining the position until after the death of the latter in 1892, when he started in business for himself. Not having sufficient capital to more than lay in a small stock, he took in a partner, and together they built up a large and paying business, which, however, has been owned by Mr. Cranfill himself for the past five years.
    Mr. Cranfill is independent in politics, and has never taken particular interest in either local or county party undertakings. He is fraternally prominent, and is a member of the Blue Lodge No. 33, A.F.&A.M., of Jefferson, and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He married, in Douglas County, Ophelia Crow, a native of Coles Valley, Douglas County, and of which union there have been born two children, Charles Edward, a farmer of Douglas County; and Edith, living at home. Mrs. Cranfill's father, Michael, came to Oregon in 1852, from Missouri, and died on his farm in Douglas County.
Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, page 752

City Treasurer, Medford.
b. on farm in Carroll County, Ohio, Feb. 14, 1873; son of Joshua and Mina (McBride) Crawford; educated public schools of Ohio, Mo., Kansas and Colorado; business college Pueblo, Colorado; m. Amy Morelock (deceased 1941) of Gold Hill, Oregon 1895; children Juanita (Mrs. Warren Butler) and Aileen (Mrs. George Maddox); began as owner and manager mercantile business Gold Hill; tax collector, sheriff's office, four years; bookkeeper, assistant cashier, cashier, First National Bank of Medford, thirty years (assistant manager, bank sold to First National of Portland, 1939-42); city treasurer, Medford 1942-; clerk, school board many years; served secretary Southern Oregon Bankers Association; member Order Eastern Star; Kiwanian; Mason (Blue Lodge); Republican; Christian Scientist (charter member, chairman of the board); home 914 W. Main; office City Hall, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, pages 132-133

CRAWFORD, Perry Orson, engineer; b. Malvern, Ohio November 11, 1885; to Oregon 1916; Ohio State University; Stanford University 1908; m. Irma J. Zschokke February 18, 1914; children--Dora Miriam, Perry O., Jr., Kenneth Zschokke. Engineer California 1908-11; Afghanistan 1912-14; chief engineer and vice president California Oregon Power Co. 1916-26; vice president and general manager 1926 to date; Mason; B.P.O.E.; Rotarian; University Club; Rogue River Valley Golf Club; Republican. Presbyterian. Address: c/o California Oregon Power Co., Medford, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 64

    MAJOR DANIEL CRONEMILLER. Three-quarters of a mile west of Fort Klamath stands the farmhouse owned and occupied by Major Cronemiller. On coming to this place in 1883 he took up the land as a homestead and is now the owner of five hundred and twenty acres, which he has improved and converted into one of the best stock ranches in Klamath County. He makes a specialty of the Shorthorn Durham cattle, of which he has about three hundred head at this writing. His has been a life of varied experiences in different parts of the country, but through all of the eventful incidents of his career he has retained the mild and unassuming manner, the quiet disposition, and the high principles of honor that characterized him in his youth.
    As the name indicates, the Cronemiller family is of German extraction. At an early period in American history they became identified with the growth of Pennsylvania. Martin Cronemiller, the major's father, who was born in 1794 and died in 1848, was an intimate friend of Commodore Perry, by whom he was presented with a medal for gallantry in action during his service as a colonel in the war of 1812. This medal is still preserved, a valued family relic. Colonel Cronemiller's first wife, who was a Miss Armstrong, traced her lineage to England and died about 1833, after which he married Mrs. Conkle. Of his first union there were the following children: William and Perry, deceased; Margaret, wife of James Lee, of Ohio; James, deceased; David, a resident of Jacksonville, Ore.; Daniel, of Klamath County, Ore.; and Sarah, widow of Samuel Heckman and a resident of Orangeville, Stephenson County, Ill.
    In Center County, Pa., Daniel Cronemiller was born August 7, 1831. When three years of age he was taken by his parents to Wadsworth, Medina County, Ohio, where his father followed the blacksmith's trade, later going to Perrysburg, Wood County, that state, where he died. The son was taught the blacksmith's trade by his father, under whom he served an apprenticeship of three years. March 20, 1856, in Ashland County, Ohio, he married Mary Jane Spencer, who was born in Wooster, Wayne County, Ohio, August 31, 1835, being a daughter of William and Sarah (Helfer) Spencer. Her father, who was born in Pennsylvania, of Scotch and English extraction, accompanied his parents to Ohio in a very early day and there grew to manhood and passed his active years. In his family of three sons and five daughters the youngest was Mary Jane, who was given excellent advantages and in 1852 graduated from the Grove Female Institute in Wooster. Born of her marriage were two children: Ida, wife of J. Beach, of San Francisco, Cal.; and Fred P., at home.
    When seventeen years of age Daniel Cronemiller began to earn his own livelihood and from that time forward depended upon his own exertions for whatever he secured of this world's goods. In 1852, accompanied by two brothers, he crossed the plains with horse teams, reaching the Missouri River on the 1st of April and Hangtown on the 1st of August. After having engaged in mining in California for three years, in 1855 he returned via the Isthmus to Ohio. Immediately after his return he took up general merchandising at Sullivan, Ohio, but eighteen months later sold out and removed to Stephenson County, Ill., where he carried on a harness shop. Meanwhile hostilities had begun between the North and South. Feeling ran high. Men of the North were every day responding to the call of the President for volunteers to protect and preserve the Union. No less patriotic than the many thousands who left home and family to brave the dangers of war, Mr. Cronemiller offered his services to his country, and in August of 1862 became a member of Company I, Seventy-fourth Illinois Infantry, assigned to the Army of the Cumberland, under Generals Grant, Rosecrans and Thomas. Among the twenty-seven pitched battles in which he bore a part the following were especially important: Perrysville, Stone River, Chickamauga, Lookout Mountain, Buzzard's Roost, Resaca, Atlanta, and Franklin, Tenn. Upon the organization of the company he was elected second lieutenant, later was promoted to be first lieutenant and afterward became captain. For gallant services at the battle of Franklin he was breveted major by President Johnson. At the close of the war he was honorably discharged and mustered out July 9, 1865, whereupon he returned to his Illinois home.
    Not long after the war Major Cronemiller moved to Macon County, Mo., where he engaged in farming. In 1871 he removed from there to Oregon and settled at Jacksonville, Jackson County, where with a brother, David, he carried on a blacksmith and repair shop. In 1879 he came to Klamath County, where he and his wife engaged in teaching at the Indian Agency, and in addition he acted as superintendent of farming. From there he removed to the farm which he now operates. In all of his labors he has received the sympathy and cooperation of his wife, who is a lady of gentle and amiable disposition and a broad fund of knowledge. Both are earnest members of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Fort Klamath, and have been active in promoting its welfare. As steward and secretary of the congregation he has borne an influential part in its policy and has done much to enlarge its usefulness. Though not a partisan, he is a decided Republican and always votes with his party. In fraternal relations he is connected with Lodge No. 10, I.O.O.F., at Jacksonville.
Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 536-539

    DAVID CRONEMILLER: lives in Jacksonville; is a blacksmith; was born in Centre County, Penn.; came to state and county in 1862: married Nov. 10, 1861, to Annie Anderson. Children James, Kate, Mary and Carrie.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    Judge William Seelye Crowell, who is well known as "the grand old man of Medford," has done more to build up the community than any other resident now living here. Opportunity has ever been to him a call to action, and his labors have been most resultant factors in promoting progress and improvement. Judge Crowell has now passed the seventy-eighth milestone on life's journey, for he was born in the state of Ohio in 1843, his parents being Samuel and A. Maria (Seelye) Crowell. The first ancestors of the family in the New World came in 1630, and genealogical records say that the name was really Cromwell, but the fame of their great ancestor, Oliver Cromwell, not being to their liking, they changed the orthography of the name, adopting the present form. However that may be, the descendants of the Crowells in America have made for themselves a most honorable name and place. No call to arms in this country, beginning with the Revolutionary War, has failed to find one or more of the family engaged in the military service of the country. The Seelyes are of Scotch descent and have been represented in the New World since early colonial days. The founder of the American branch of the Seelye family was pressed into the British navy but escaped from his ship with a comrade and determined to remain with the colonists. In this adventure his comrade was overtaken by a shark while the lads were swimming for shore and thus lost his life. Mr. Seelye, however, was more fortunate and reached haven safely.
    As the East became more thickly settled the grandfather of Judge Crowell removed to Ohio, becoming one of the pioneer residents there. In that state his son, Samuel Crowell. was born and became the father of Judge Crowell.
    The last named was educated in the common schools of his native state and for two years was a teacher in the district schools. He was but eighteen years of age when the Civil War broke out and he at once joined the Union army, serving his country until 1865--first in the Army of the Cumberland and afterward with General Rosecrans in the south. At twenty years of age he had risen to a captaincy. At the battle of Perryville, Kentucky, he lost nearly half of his company in less than an hour. At the battle of Milton, Tennessee, he was in command of a company of Ohio troops and was afterward cited for honorable mention for his participation in both of these engagements. Returning to Ohio after the war, he clerked in a mercantile establishment and during that service read law at night and in leisure hours, being admitted to the bar in 1867 and licensed to practice in the United States courts in 1868. He entered upon active practice in Coshocton, Ohio, in 1870. In 1872 he was elected district attorney and still later he served as state senator. In 1885 President Cleveland appointed him American consul to China, and he occupied that responsible position through the Cleveland administration and for one year and a half of the Harrison administration. Resigning his post, he reached San Francisco and after making a tour of the coast decided to make his future home in the Rogue River Valley of Oregon. For a period of six months he lived in Ashland and later purchased a ranch in the valley but soon resumed the practice of law in Medford, where he has since continuously resided. In 1896 he was elected county judge, which is the only public office he has ever consented to hold save his ministerial appointment to the Orient.
    Judge Crowell is really the father of the banking business in Medford. In 1903 he assisted in organizing the Medford State Bank, now the Medford National Bank, but his most conspicuous work of this character was the organization, in 1905, of the first National Bank of Medford, of which he became the first president. The bank was capitalized for twenty-five thousand dollars, and in less than six years he had built up the bank until its resources amounted to over a quarter of a million dollars. Originally a small cabin was occupied, and the steady development of the business is manifest today not only in the figures indicative of its patronage but also in the handsome bank building, which is unsurpassed in Southern Oregon. In 1911 Judge Crowell retired from the banking business and actively resumed law practice, though he is still a stockholder in the Medford National Bank. Few men of his years retain active connection with professional and business affairs, but old age need not necessarily suggest idleness nor want of occupation. In fact there is an old age which grows stronger and brighter mentally and morally as the years pass on and gives out of its rich stores of wisdom and experience for the benefit of others, and such is the record of Judge Crowell.
    For fifty-seven years the Judge has been a consistent and loyal follower of Masonic teachings, and he also has membership with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He was the first president of the board of trustees of the Christian Science church of Medford and is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic. He no longer goes into court but confines his practice to office work, acting in a purely advisory way, and such is his reputation throughout Southern Oregon that he has more business than he wants. Many men have located in Medford since the founding of the city, but it is safe to say that none has done more for the town than this sterling citizen, progressive banker and capable lawyer, William Seelye Crowell.
Charles Henry Carey, History of Oregon, 1922, volume II, pages 576-579

GEORGE W. CROWSON, a grocer and commission merchant of Ashland, was born at Oberlin, Ohio, April 23, 1856, a son of George Crowson, a native of Leicestershire, England, as was also the mother, now deceased. The family moved from Ohio to Minnesota in 1858, where our subject was reared and educated. In 1878 he took up a homestead in Dakota, removing to that state with ox teams. In 1883 they returned to St. Charles, Minnesota, where Mr. Crowson was engaged in the grocery business until 1886, and in that year established the same trade in Minneapolis, under the firm name of Crowson & Jones. This partnership continued until January 1, 1888, when the former sold his interest and removed to Ashland. He began business in this city the following year, having little capital, but plenty of push and energy, and by his own efforts advanced to the front ranks of Ashland's business representatives. The grocery department, although only recently added to his fruit and commission trade, has already assumed large and increasing proportions, which extends well into the interior of the county. Small profits, large sales, and with all fair and honest dealings has ever been his motto, and no doubt has been the secret of his success in business life. He owns seven acres of orchard adjoining the city, known as the Ashland Butte Orchard.
    Mr. Crowson was married April 23, 1878, at St. Charles, Minnesota, to Miss Wealthy W. Gallup, who was born at Franklin, Vermont, October 23, 1852. Her mother died May 18, 1854, and in 1857 she accompanied her father to Illinois, and in 1863 to St. Charles, Minnesota. In 1888 the father removed with his son to Hammond, Louisiana, where he died September 10, 1890, aged eighty-four years. Mr. and Mrs. Crowson's two children, Winfred Y., born March 25, 1879, and Edith Nellie, born September 10, 1881, are natives of Dakota.

Rev. H. K. Hines, An Illustrated History of the State of Oregon, 1893, page 411

    GEORGE W. CROWSON. As manager of the Ashland Fruit and Produce Association and one of the representative hardware merchants at Ashland, Jackson County, George W. Crowson is prominently connected with the leading commercial industries of this thriving city. A man of business energy and stability, he has achieved well-merited success in the agricultural, horticultural and mercantile line, and is numbered among the influential citizens of his adopted town and county. Of English ancestry, he was born April 23, 1856, in Oberlin, Ohio, a son of George Crowson.
    A native of England, George Crowson's birth occurred in Leicestershire, in 1836. Living in his native land until twenty years of age, he then emigrated to the United States, settling in Ohio, where he worked at first as a farm hand, receiving $8 per month wages, and boarding himself. Subsequently removing to Minnesota, he enlisted in a Minnesota regiment of volunteer militia and served during the Civil War on the Indian frontier. Afterwards purchasing land at St. Charles, Winona County, Minn., he was there successfully engaged in agricultural pursuits until 1888. Coming then to Ashland, Ore., he purchased land, set out an orchard, and, in addition to his fruit business, was for several years a well-known real estate dealer of this locality. In 1902 he removed to San Francisco, Cal., where he has a pleasant home. He is a Republican in his political views, and while in Ashland served one term as councilman. Fraternally he is a Master Mason, while in religion he is a member of the Episcopal Church. He married Mary Palmer, who was born in England, and died in Minnesota, in September, 1876. Of the children born of their union, three sons and two daughters are living, George W., the subject of this sketch, being the oldest child. One son, James E., resides in St. Charles, Minn., and another son, Frank H., is a resident of Ashland, Ore.
    Taken by his parents to Minnesota when an infant, George W. Crowson received a limited education in the district school, and as a boy worked hard on the farm, remaining at home until attaining his majority. Then, after working out by the month for two seasons, he married, in 1879, and settled in South Dakota, taking up a homestead claim in Moody County. After proving up his claim, Mr. Crowson returned to St. Charles, Minn., and was there engaged in the grocery business a number of years. Going to Minneapolis, Minn., in 1886, he opened a grocery store which he managed successfully nearly two years. In April, 1888, he located in Ashland, Ore., and at once embarked in mercantile pursuits, dealing in groceries, flour and feed at the old Blue Front grocery. Building up a substantial trade, he continued there until 1893, when he turned his attention to the shipping of fruit and produce. He also bought timber land, which he grubbed out, devoting seven acres of it to the raising of peaches, in which he has been fortunate. He was one of the promoters of the Ashland Fruit and Produce Association, and since its incorporation has been a stockholder and its manager. This is one of the strongest organizations of its kind in this vicinity, handling ninety percent of the fruit and produce shipped from Ashland in the season of 1902, shipping forty-two carloads of peaches and many carloads, each, of other kinds of fruit and produce, the shipments of the association in the year 1902 amounting to eighty thousand packages. In the fall of 1903 Mr. Crowson purchased the hardware business of W. N. Grubb & Son and is now one of the leading merchants of Ashland. Since purchasing the business he has increased the stock fully fifty percent and now carries a complete line of goods.
    In St. Charles, Minn., Mr. Crowson married Miss Wealthy Wilbur Gallop, a native of Toulon, Ill., and they have two children, Winfred Young and Nellie Edith. The son is now in the employ of the Southern Pacific Railway Company. During the war in the Philippines he served in Company B, Second Oregon Volunteer Infantry, and an account of the regiment will be found in [the] sketch of Gen. Owen Summers. Politically Mr. Crowson is a steadfast supporter of the principles advocated by the Republican Party, and for one term represented the third ward of Ashland in the city council. He is active in business circles, and belongs to the Ashland Board of Trade. Fraternally he is a member of the Knights of the Maccabees, of the Modern Woodmen of America, of the Royal Neighbors and the Fraternal Brotherhood. In his religious views he is very liberal, making the Golden Rule his motto.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 662-663

    MRS. REBECCA H. CRUMP: lives on Poormans Creek; is a farmer; P.O. address Jacksonville; was born in Monmouth County, N.J.; came to state 1864, to county 1867; married Jan. 8, 1852. Children Wm. E., Thomas A., John H., Elmina V., Firman S., Josiah F., Clara A., Charles J., Perry E., Olive V., Ethel I. and Harry L.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

Business Executive; Civic Leader.
b. Duluth, Minnesota, April 10, 1907; son of Frank J. Sr. and Violet (Sisk) Cullen; educated Duluth public schools; m. Neta May Wells of Roseburg, Oregon, Nov. 1, 1933; began in automobile business in Minnesota; auto salesman, Roseburg, Oregon 1930-3; agent, International Trucks 1933-38; Klamath Falls, Oregon, later Walla Walla, Washington; owner Cullen Motor and Implement Co. Medford 1940 to date; member advisory board of the Office Defense Transportation (trucks), part of panel that mapped out supplies for eleven counties during World War II; Lion; Elk; member Jackson County Sheriff's Posse; Chamber of Commerce; Republican; home 641 S. Holly; office 123 S. Riverside, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 137

President, California Oregon Power Company.
b. Chicago, Jan. 25, 1892; son of James Sheldon and Alice Charlotte (Byllsby) Cummings; educated public schools; University of Chicago, A.B., 1914; Psi Upsilon; m. Myrna Helen Linquist of Stillwater, Minn., Feb. 12, 1917; children James Sheldon (Sgt., Air Corps), Charlotte C. (Mrs. Samuel MacCorkle); began as bookkeeper, lineman, meter reader, office assistant, division manager Northern States Power Co., Minn. 1914-17; with Caribbean & Southern S.S. Co., New York 1917; various positions to vice president H. M. Byllsby and Co. 1919-37; vice-president and secretary of Standard Gas and Electric Co., New York City 1937-41; president California Oregon Power Co. 1941 to date; served U.S. Army 1917-19 (Lt., Capt. Reserves, Infantry to Air Corps); member Rogue River Valley Golf Club, University Club, Chamber of Commerce; Rotarian; Republican, Episcopalian; home 2447 Hillcrest Road; office 216 W. Main, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 137

    THOMAS CURRY: lives in Sams Valley; is a farmer; was born near Louisville, Ky.; came to state 1853; to county 1854; was married Oct., 1863 to Mary E. Sutton. Children Walter F. (dec.), John W., Elfie L. (dec.) and Thomas F. (dec.).

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    ISAAC CUSTER: lives on Applegate; is a farmer and carpenter; post office, Murphy; was born in Champaign County, Ohio, in 1830; came to state and county in 1871; was married November 28, 1852, to Abigail Hayes. Children Laura, Lydia J., Alice M., Franklin (deceased), Alonzo, Ida A., John W. and Boardman H.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 508

D'ALBINI, Marie Norris (Mrs.), born in Comfort, Texas, a resident of Oregon for 9 years. Married to G. Quintus D'Albini. Children: Weldon, Ruth, Corinne. Very active in D.A.R. circles; has successfully conducted citizenship schools; organizer and president of General Joseph Lane Society, Children of the American Revolution. Member: D.A.R., P.T.A., Dixie Club, Garden Club, Greater Medford Club, O.E.S. Home: 45 Quince St., Medford, Oregon.

Max Binheim, ed., Women of the West, Los Angeles 1928, page 158

    A. J. DALEY: lives at Eagle Point; is a miller; was born in Erie County, Ohio; came to Oregon 1864, and to county 1871; married Rachel Peacock July 1, 1855. Children Rosetta, George W., Mary and Sarah (twins, and deceased), John H. and Francis C.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    ADONIRAM J. DALEY. Of the excellent citizens of Jackson County, Ore., who have followed diversified occupations and who have met with more than ordinary success in the prosecution of each, A. J. Daley certainly deserves more than passing mention. Having early learned the miller's trade, he was profitably engaged at that occupation first in Illinois and afterward in various parts of Oregon, after his removal to the Far West. In time he discontinued that business entirely, and for about ten years was interested in the lumber development of Jackson County. Retiring from the latter business in favor of his son, George W., Mr. Daley opened a general merchandise store at Eagle Point in 1902, and, although his experience in that line is somewhat limited, he has a clear comprehension of how a successful business should be conducted and has already proved to be a thorough man of business, thereby assuring his success in this new venture.
    It is a noticeable fact that many of the present citizens of Jackson County were former residents of Ohio, and not unlike many of his neighbors in this respect, Mr. Daley is a native of that state, having been born near Birmingham, in Erie County, January 25, 1834. Reared as he was on a farm, he attended the district school until he attained the age of sixteen years, and about that time his parents removed to Dixon, Ill., where his intellectual training was completed. There it was that he mastered the miller's trade which brought success to him in after years, and to which his best efforts were devoted in that state until 1864. Believing in the increased opportunities of young men in the Far West, he accordingly wended his way westward, crossing the great plains behind mule teams. Arriving in the Willamette Valley in the fall of 1864, the first winter was spent in Salem, Marion County, Ore., and very soon thereafter Mr. Daley went south to Scio, Linn County, and secured employment in a flouring mill of that place, continuing in that occupation there for a period of eight years. His identification with Jackson County is traced back to the year 1872, for at that time he was placed in charge of the Butte Creek flouring mill at Eagle Point, now known as the Snowy Butte mill, which was built that year by his father and Mr. Emery. A few years afterward Mr. Daley purchased the entire mill and a successful business was carried on by him at this place until 1892, when he sold out to advantage, having decided to turn his attention into other channels of industry. As the lumber business seemed to offer the most favorable opportunities for a business venture, he started a sawmill in company with his son, George W., and together they engaged in the manufacture of lumber for a number of years, the father finally retiring in favor of the son, and engaging in mercantile pursuits. In 1899 Mr. Daley took a course in Weltmer's School of Magnetic Healing and since that time has performed many wonderful cures in his neighborhood. Several people who were in a hopeless condition, the result of rheumatism, were able to walk without assistance after being treated by Mr. Daley. He has in his possession a number of letters that have been written by his patients who tell of the wonderful cures.
    The marriage of Mr. Daley took place when he was but twenty years old, while yet a resident of Illinois, Miss Rachel Peacock becoming his wife, and to them were given six children, namely: Rosetta, wife of W. R. Potter; George W., a resident of Eagle Point; John, a successful rancher; twins who filled an early grave; and Francis E., who is also deceased. The family are disciples of the Church of God and are deeply interested in all the good work that is aided by this church, giving liberally of their means for its support. In his life as a citizen, Mr. Daley has followed the teachings of the Republican Party, but has never aspired to office, although at one time he did consent to run for county commissioner. He has attained his present prosperity in the way open to all by hard work and persevering endeavors, and as a natural result of his efforts he has accumulated a large amount of valuable real estate in Jackson County, owning in all twelve hundred acres of fine land, two hundred acres of this tract being rich, alluvial land along Elk Creek.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 238-241

    W. C. DALEY: lives in Ashland; is an architect and builder; was born in Erie County, Ohio; came to state 1864, and to county in 1869; was married in 1868, to Levinnia Hamilton. Children George W., Leora E. and Irvin.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    JOHN DALEY: formerly a resident of Ashland and Eagle Point, now deceased, was born in Onondaga County, N.Y.; came to state 1864, to county in 1867; was married to Lavonia Carter in 1832; was a millwright and miller. Children Adoniram J., Willard J., William C. and Edwin J.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

DANIELS, Raymond Safford, electrical engineer; b. Lyndonville, N.Y. December 6, 1879; to Oregon 1921; University of California 1905; m. Myrtle M. Dent 1909; children--Dorothy, Clara. California Oregon Power Co.; Washington Water Power Co. 15 years. American Institute of Electrical Engineers. Republican. Presbyterian. Address: 216 Main Street; home: 407 Park Avenue, Medford, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 66

Electrical Engineer, The California Oregon Power Co.
b. Lyndonville, New York, December 6, 1879; son of Allen G. and Margaret (Safford) Daniels; educated public schools of California; University of California, B.S., 1905; later two years undergraduate work Pomona College; m. Myrtle M. Dent May 26, 1909; children Dorothy, Clara Margaret; with Washington Water Power Co. Spokane 1905-21; with California Oregon Power Co. 1921 to date; member American Institute of Electrical Engineers, Medford City Planning Commission, Northwest Electric Light and Power Assn.; Republican; Protestant; home 407 Park Ave.; office 216 Main St., Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 140

    Along various avenues Thurston E. Daniels of Medford has directed his efforts and the results achieved have been highly satisfactory, not only from the standpoint of the attainment of success but also when judged as factors in public progress. Mr. Daniels was born in Vancouver, Washington, in March, 1881, and is a son of Thurston and Mollie (Miller) Daniels. The father was for many years one of the best-known newspaper men on the coast, publisher of the Vancouver Register. He also served as lieutenant governor of Washington and held various other positions of honor and trust. He was a son of William B. Daniels, who was Territorial Governor of Idaho under President Lincoln. The Daniels family comes from New York and originally from New England colonial stock, and the name has been carried with honor and distinction across the continent to the far-off Pacific Coast, each generation upholding the family honor with the same steadfast integrity and loyalty and progressiveness in citizenship. The Miller family was also early represented in the Empire State. It was in 1850 that the grandparents of Mr. Daniels came to the Northwest, having walked most of the distance across the plains.
    Thurston E. Daniels was educated in the schools of his native town and in Mount Angel College of Oregon, from which he was graduated in 1900. The same year he received an appointment to the United States quartermaster's department and served with credit for two years. He then became a reporter on the Morning Oregonian at Portland and devoted two years to that work, after which he was badly injured in a railroad accident of an Elks' excursion train, this terminating his reportorial service. He went to California and during his stay in the vicinity of Santa Ana he established a clothing store in the nearby town of Orange and conducted the business for three years, after which he disposed of his store and returned to Oregon. Coming to Medford, he again entered the clothing business, to which he turned his attention from 1907 until 1917. After disposing of his store he gave largely of his time to war work, having charge of all the Red Cross drives and other war activities. In January, 1919, he accepted the position of district representative of the New York Life Insurance Company and is still serving in that connection, having made for himself a creditable place among the insurance men of the Northwest.
    In 1905 Mr. Daniels was married to Miss Lillian Monahan, a daughter of Frank Monahan, one of the best-known railroad men of California and founder of the town of Needles in that state. Both Mr. and Mrs. Daniels are members of the Catholic Church and both are prominent in church affairs and in the social life of the city, enjoying the goodwill and high regard of a host of friends. Mr. Daniels was one of the organizers of the Elks lodge of Medford and its first exalted ruler. He served on the building committee which erected the present magnificent Elks building and took a prominent part in its construction. He also served as district deputy grand exalted ruler of the order in Oregon for two terms, and he is likewise a past grand knight of the Knights of Columbus. He is likewise active in civic matters and is now efficiently serving on the board of directors of the Chamber of Commerce, doing effective work through that organization for the city's upbuilding, the extension of its trade relations and the advancement and support of its civic standards.
Charles Henry Carey, History of Oregon, 1922, volume II, pages 575-576

Partner, Fortmiller and Daugherty Department Store.
b. Sidney, Nebraska, Mar. 16, 1901; son of John and Keziah (Smith) Daugherty, early settlers of Nebraska; educated grade and high schools Sidney; extension courses La Salle Extension University and courses in chosen trade; m. Louise Ridley of Ashland July 17, 1927; began as boilermaker Union Pacific Railway Sidney, Neb., 1917-22; clerk Baker's Men's Store, Sidney, 1922-24; operator of motion picture theater and clerk in Enders Department Store, Ashland, 1925-27; employed by C. W. Fortmiller, manager J. C. Penney Co. 1927-35; joined partnership with C. W. Fortmiller, purchased The Isaac Co. department store and renamed Fortmiller & Daugherty 1935, co-partner and manager to date; senior member, City Council 1938- (term to 1948); president Rotary Club 1945-46; formed director Chamber of Commerce (chairman merchants section); Mason (past master, Blue Lodge; past High Priest, Siskiyou Chapter Royal Arch; Senior Warden, Commandery, 1945); member Eastern Star; Republican; Episcopalian (Senior Warden); home 165 Gresham Ave.; office 145 East Main, Ashland
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 141

    A. A. DAVIS. That concentration is one of the rarest and most necessary gifts to which man is heir is admitted by all who note the present tendency to business and general specialization. Competition, the lash which forces the energies of men to their highest level, makes a standstill position impossible, even though the best possible has already been attained. Were A. A. Davis approached as to the secret of his success as a flour manufacturer he would unhesitatingly attribute it to a continuous study of his occupation, to his ability to keep in the front ranks, and to furnish as good, if not a little better, flour than is placed on the market by his competitors. Mr. Davis' fair and honest attitude towards the public is of the contagious kind, and is shared by many of the men prominent in the business ranks of Medford. Yet special mention is due him because he is the pioneer and largest operator in his line in this part of the state, and because he has established business interests which have no peer as far as substantiality, good management and developing power are concerned.
    The owner and manager of the Medford Flouring Mills, president and business manager of the Big Bend Milling Company of Davenport, Wash., and director in the Jackson County Bank of Medford, came to Oregon in 1888, and was born at Beaver Dam, Dodge County, Wis., April 30, 1851. His father, Chandler Davis, was born in Vermont, and his mother, Ann (Hudson) Davis, is a native of the state of Massachusetts. Chandler Davis was a pioneer of Wisconsin, locating in Dodge County in 1849. He was a carpenter, millwright and contractor, and in the Badger State, with its large milling and lumbering resources, found ample scope for his skill. He not only started one of the first mills in his section, but invested in a large tract of land, which he partially cleared of timber. In 1863 he removed to Freeborn County, Minn., and near Albert Lea engaged in farming until coming to Tacoma, Wash., in 1894, his death occurring there in 1903, at the age of seventy-six years. His last years were spent in retirement, and he is survived by his wife, now seventy-six years of age.
    The oldest in a family of three sons and three daughters, the present miller of Medford worked with his father on the farm in Minnesota until his twenty-third year, when he embarked in a general merchandise business at Alden, Minn. There he conducted a successful business for twelve years, at the expiration of that period disposing of his interests, prior to his departure for Oregon. With this hardy and practical training he came to Oregon in 1888, and at Medford started the first roller mill in this part of the state or south of Albany, with a capacity of sixty-five barrels a day. Soon afterward he increased his capacity to eighty barrels a day, the present output of the mill. Davis' Best brand is shipped to all of the local markets, and established the reputation of the owner as one of the best flour makers on the coast. In the meantime he has bought up large quantities of grain, and from being the first in the line in the place, he has advanced also to the largest purchaser in his locality.
    The flouring mills operated by the Big Bend Milling Company at Davenport, Wash., were built by Mr. Davis in 1890, who also incorporated the company for $100,000, and is third owner with William I. Vawter, president of the Bank of Jackson County, and George W. Howard, of San Francisco. The Davenport mills have a capacity of three hundred and fifty barrels per day, the flour being shipped to local and foreign markets. As the president of the Big Bend Milling Company, Mr. Davis spends a portion of his time in Washington, although he makes his home at Medford. With Mr. Virgin he is interested in the now discontinued mill at Central Point, and he is owner of a flouring mill at Phoenix, Ore. Mr. Davis has invested heavily in timber lands in different parts of the state, and is the owner of valuable mining properties in Jackson County. In fact there are but few great resources of the Northwest that are not being promoted by his capital and personal interest. That men like to be associated with him in business, and that when so doing regard their future as practically assured, is not surprising when the conservative and cautious methods of this financier are taken into account. He is a leader whom less wary and resourceful men might do well to follow, for he is an earnest advocate of industry, perseverance, of the mutual cooperation of employer and employee, of business courtesy and consideration, and unswerving integrity.
    At Albert Lea, Freeborn County, Minn., in 1871, Mr. Davis married Angelia Langdon, a native of Pennsylvania, who died in Medford in July, 1900, at the age of forty-nine years. Of this union there are two sons and two daughters; Effie May, the wife of W. L. Halley of Medford; Orrin Lee, interested in the flouring mill at Medford; Grace Bell, the wife of H. H. Hosler of Ashland, Ore.; and Scott Victor, in his father's mill at Medford. Mr. Davis is an active Republican, and aside from serving on the city council for five or six terms, has been a member of the school board for many years.
Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 669-670

    Benjamin Thomas Davis, [Jefferson] Davis' nephew and the eldest son of Samuel A. and Lucinda Throckmorton Davis, lived at Oak Ridge, a community northeast of Vicksburg. Born on July 29, 1820, in Warren County, Benjamin Davis probably attended the local Mt. Alban Academy and was in school at Memphis when his father died, ca. November 1831. He returned home to help his mother manage her land and other property until 1849, when he and five friends undertook an eleven-month voyage to California. They arrived in San Francisco in early 1850, then followed the gold strikes for several years. Benjamin finally settled in Jacksonville, Oregon, in the early 1850s and went into the pack train business with Alexander Miller. On August 19, 1855, he married Pauline Taylor (Jan. 31, 1836-Jan. 10, 1919), whose family had emigrated from Ohio. The Davises had six children: Charles Alexander (1856-1863/64), Lucy Hanna (born in 1858), Samuel Taylor (1861-1940), Robert Keary (born in 1863), Helen Frances (1866-79) and Pauline (1871-1901). The partnership of Miller and Davis was dissolved at the beginning of the Civil War, and in April 1863 Benjamin moved on to Idaho Territory. He staked a claim near Idaho City and by summer had made enough money to send for his wife and children. When a fire destroyed the town in 1865, Benjamin and his family settled at nearby Moore's Town, where Pauline Davis' parents and brothers lived; Benjamin worked in the mines and Pauline took in boarders, thus barely earning a living for their family. In 1873 they returned to Idaho City, bought a home, and remained there the rest of Benjamin Davis' life. He was county tax assessor-collector for some five years and a county commissioner, and he also continued mining. After a trip east in 1879 to sell some of the Taylor property at Zanesville, Ohio, Benjamin realized enough money to buy a store in Idaho City which his two oldest sons managed. In poor health for some years before his death, Benjamin Davis died of Bright's disease in Glenns Ferry, Idaho, on May 1, 1899.
James T. McIntosh, The Papers of Jefferson Davis, volume 2, 1974, pages 12-13

    JEPTHA DAVISON: lives southwest of Phoenix; is a lumberman; was born in Perry County, Ky., in 1835; came to state and county in 1859; married Miss Lucinda Sleppy in 1864.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    ANDREW DAVISON: lives near Jacksonville; is a farmer; born Fountain County, Indiana, 1832; came to Oregon 1852; married Mary A. Wright, December 25, 1855. Children Evaline, Amelia, Mary L., William E., Annie A. and Frederick E.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

Baptist Clergyman; Pastor, First Baptist Church, Medford.
b. Fox Valley, Oregon, January 14, 1897; educated public and high schools, Portland; Linfield College, McMinnville, B.S. 1931; Bible Institute of Los Angeles 1932; Pi Gamma Mu; m. Carolyn Waehlte, Portland, June 5, 1920; children Meryl and Donna; accounting department, Union Pacific Railway 1917-21; active in the clergy 1923 to date; Pastor, First Baptist Church, Medford, Oregon; Republican; address 60 Ross Court, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 143

Ex-County Judge; Executive Secretary, Special Lands Committee, Association of Oregon Counties.

Butler, Nebraska; educated public schools of Butler, Neb.; Nebraska Wesleyan University B.S. 1905; m. Helen Steward of Lincoln, Neb. March 2, 1908; children John Stewart, Earl Benjamin Jr. and Nancy Day (Durkin); active in banking, stock raising and fruit growing, specializing in pears, grass seed, hybrid corn and Hereford cattle; served State Legislature two terms 1931-33; appointed County Judge to fill vacancy Jackson County by Governor Meier 1933; elected to term 1936-41; president, Oregon State Association of County Judges 1939-40; member State Tax Commission 1941-45; Rotarian; address Valley End Ranch, Gold Hill.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 143

    JUDGE S. J. DAY.--Silas J. Day, residence Jacksonville, occupation, County Judge of Jackson County, Oregon, was elected thereto in June 1876. Born in Anne Arundel County, Md., April 3, 1826; came to San Francisco, Cal., April 1849, and to Oregon in April 1851. Married in Portland, Oregon, May 22, 1871, to Mary E. McGee, who was born in Boone County, Mo., November 22, 1841. Children Mary L., Edward M., Silas E. and Elsie C. Judge Day was elected Orderly Sergeant in Captain Miles F. Alcorn's Co. "G," 9th Regiment Oregon Militia, October 10, 1855, and mustered in pursuance of the proclamation of the Governor, to serve against the Yakima and other Indians. March 21, 1856, was promoted to First Lieut. of the Co., in place of James M. Matney resigned; was mustered out of service June 13, 1856. By an act of the legislative assembly of the state of Oregon, approved October 23, 1872, Judge Day was appointed one of the board of commissioners for the laying out and constructing a wagon road through Jackson, Grant, and Baker counties (known as the Southern Oregon wagon road); he was elected chairman of the board on its organization, and continued as such until July 1874, at which time said board disbanded, having completed the purposes for which it was formed.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 525

    SILAS JOHNSON DAY. Perhaps no man in Southern Oregon is more conversant with the early conditions of the Northwest or with the steps that have led up to the early development of its resources than Silas J. Day, for many years a prominent resident of Jackson County, as a citizen and as a soldier giving the best part of his life toward the upbuilding of this western commonwealth. It would be difficult to say in what line of activity Judge Day has excelled, for his talents are versatile, one of his greatest being his ability to adapt himself to circumstances, with the true pioneer instinct turning his hand to whatever came in his way--as a soldier in the Mexican War finding his way to the West as early as 1849, where he worked as miner, agriculturist and exponent of the law, being eminently successful in the greater part of his labor.
    Judge Day was born in Anne Arundel County, Md., not far from Harper's Ferry, Va., April 3, 1826. He was of Irish ancestry, his great-grandfather having been one of the five brothers who came to the United States in the early history of the country, three of whom located in Maryland, while two went west. His grandfather, Edward Day, was also a native of Maryland, and lived in Baltimore County for the greater part of his life, serving as county clerk for many years. He owned two hundred acres of fine woodland, in the center of which was situated his home, and also owned some slaves. His death occurred in his native state. Ishmael Day, the father of Judge Day, was born in Maryland, March 20, 1792. He removed from Anne Arundel County to Baltimore County about 1830 and after the Civil War was appointed inspector in the custom house, which position he maintained until his death in 1874. Before his removal to Baltimore County he had acted as manager of an iron furnace in Anne Arundel County. In the War of 1812 he served as captain of a company known as the Long Green Rangers, giving his country service to the best of the ability of a citizen well grounded in the principles of patriotism and the duty which man owes to man. In his political convictions he had always cast his vote with the Whig Party until it ceased to exist, when he followed the principles into the Republican ranks, always active in the promotion of the doctrines which he endorsed. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and for many years was a teacher in the Sunday school. He was married three times but only had children by his first wife, she being Charity Johnson, who was born and died in Maryland. She was the daughter of Matthew Johnson, a native of Pennsylvania, who came to Maryland and farmed in Baltimore County, his death occurring at the age of fifty-six years, after a very successful and active career in his chosen work. To Mr. and Mrs. Day were born thirteen children, four sons and nine daughters, namely: Edward, who was drowned; Amanda; Silas J., of this review; Mary; Louisa; Adeline; Emily; Cecelia; Rose; Abigail; Clara; Edward; and William, who died young. Mr. Day was also an educator and surveyor in addition to his many other attainments, as well as a horticulturist, owning a fine orchard, in the successful cultivation of which he took great pleasure.
    The third child of his father's family, Judge Day secured his education in the private schools conducted by his father and his uncle, learning many lessons which proved of practical value later in life. In 1846 he enlisted in Company E, Second United States Infantry, for service in the Mexican War. While in Tampico he entered the quartermaster's department and was employed in breaking mules. In 1849 he came to California as a soldier and was stationed at Sugarville for the first year, after which he was sent to Camp Far West for duty throughout the second year. When his enlistment had almost expired he was granted a furlough, and in 1850 he went to the mines of California, remaining until 1851. In that year he went back to Sacramento for a short time, and from that location to Scotts Bar, during the gold excitement, and a little later was engaged in mining at Yreka. While on a trip to Scottsburg for supplies, with the Garfield brothers, he met Captain Crouch, who informed him that supplies were scarce at Scottsburg and advised him to go to Oregon City or Portland, so he continued north by way of Salem and Oregon City, arriving in Portland April 15, 1851. No town then, however, occupied the present site of Portland, and Judge Day was offered ten acres of the land if he would cut the timber. He obtained flour from Colonel Nesbitt, at Rickreall and various other provisions from the farmers, paying fifty cents per pound for butter and a like amount for bacon. He loaded his mules and packed these supplies to Yreka, where he sold the entire outfit. He immediately returned to Canyon Creek, Josephine County, Ore., where he engaged in mining for only a short time, when he returned to Sacramento, where he engaged in brick manufacture until the fall of 1852. In that year he once more visited the mines, remaining until the spring of 1853, when he was joined by his brother Edward, from Baltimore, with whom he came to Oregon, and they took up a claim of one hundred and sixty acres each, located on Butte Creek. This property remained his home for four years, during which time he served as a soldier in the Rogue River Indian War, enlisting October 10, 1855, in Company G, commanded by Capt. Miles F. Alcorn, his term of service expiring May 13, 1856. He had been twice promoted, first becoming orderly sergeant and later commissioned first lieutenant. Upon the return to peace of the southern county Judge Day became a miner on Jackson Creek, where he remained until 1861, for a time thereafter working as an employee in the butcher business in Jacksonville. Later he again became identified with the mining interests, continuing in this occupation until 1870, when he was elected county clerk of Jackson County for a term of two years, so well maintaining the interests of the people that he was chosen in 1874 as county judge. Four years later he was re-elected, his incumbency being in every way satisfactory, during which he was associated with Robert A. Cook in the erection of the court house, the entire cost being but $38,796.53, a wise expenditure bringing about happy results, as the building is one of the best of its kind in the state. In 1874 he was appointed by the state legislature a member of the board of commissioners appointed to lay out the Southern Oregon wagon road. He was elected president of the commission, and together they laid out the road which traversed a distance of three hundred and forty-three miles, terminating in what is now Malheur County. In the execution of his duties he fulfilled the expectations of those who had chosen him to represent their interests. In 1877 Judge Day was chosen by the Grangers of Phoenix to conduct a flour mill, which duty he performed for one year. On retiring from the bench Judge Day took up, in 1882, an abstract and real estate business, which has since engrossed his entire attention.
    Judge Day was married in Portland, Ore., in 1871, to Miss Mary McGhee, who was born in Boone County, Mo., in 1841, and four children have blessed this union, of whom Mary Louisa resides in Jacksonville; Edward Melville is located in Siskiyou County, Cal., in the employ of a sawmill company; Silas Elmer was killed at the age of sixteen years; and Elsie Cordelia is also deceased. In his fraternal relations Judge Day is identified with the Odd Fellows, being a member of Jacksonville Lodge, No. 10, I.O.O.F.; Table Rock Encampment, No. 10, and Rebekah Lodge, No. 4, both of Jacksonville. In 1868 Judge Day was elected grand master of the grand lodge of Oregon, which included what is now Oregon, Washington and Idaho. On his retirement in 1869 he was presented by the officers and members of the grand lodge over which he presided, with a solid gold watch and chain, suitably inscribed, as a testimonial of their appreciation of his services. In 1870 he was elected by the grand lodge as a delegate to the sovereign grand lodge which met at Baltimore, Md. In his political convictions he is a staunch adherent of the principles of the Prohibition Party. Since 1861 he has belonged to the Methodist Episcopal Church South, in which he has officiated as trustee for many years. In memory of the early days in which he first came to the state of Oregon Judge Day is a member of the Pioneer Society, of which he was elected secretary June 2, 1881, and has continued in office for the twenty-two years since. No man holds the esteem and affection of the people of this community to a greater degree than this well-known pioneer, and by a long life of patient, earnest effort and generous self-sacrifice he is entitled to the honorable position which he occupies.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 873-875

    ROBERT H. DEAN: lives near Jacksonville; is a farmer; was born in Jackson County November 10, 1855; was married to Miss Lydia Tuffs September 11, 1878. Children James N. and Robert A.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    NATHANIEL C. DEAN: died near Jacksonville, June 4, 1876; was a farmer; was born at Whitesborough, N.Y., came to state and county 1851; married Annie Huston, Nov. 15, 1852. Children Rebecca (deceased), Robert H., Bradford W., William (deceased), Abigail S., Ralph F., Alice M. (now deceased), Clara and Annie H. (deceased).

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    RALPH F. DEAN. Inheriting both his ability and taste for farming, and being more and more convinced that the life offers a satisfaction to be found in but few of the occupations of men, Ralph F. Dean has succeeded because he expected to, and because he is employing the right methods to bring it about. His farm of two hundred and forty acres shows painstaking and conscientious work, and marked business ability is shown in the disposal of the land to the best possible advantage. The one hundred acres under cultivation is mostly bottom land, and he raises grains, general produce and a high-grade stock. While thus employed he has taken that interest in public affairs which the enterprising farmer of today considers his duty and right, and has developed a broad and tolerant insight into happenings of the world. As a Democrat he has held about all of the local offices within the gift of his fellow townsmen, including that of deputy sheriff for one term. Fraternally he is a member of the Central Point Lodge, No. 81, A.O.U.W., and he is connected with P. P. Prim Cabin Native Sons of Jackson County. In his home life Mr. Dean is solicitous for the comfort and convenience of those dependent on him, being an appreciator of the benefits of bright and pleasant surroundings, of books and pictures, and even luxuries. The wife who presides over his home was formerly Olive Glass, of Arkansas, whom he married June 8, 1896, and with whom he started in at independent farming on his present land, where he was born January 2, 1861. He has two children, Clara Ethel and Frank Cobb.
    While the name of Dean is being dignified and ennobled by the career of Ralph F. Dean, it acquired its first importance in Jackson County through the originator of the family in the West, Nathaniel Cobb Dean, the father of Ralph F. He was born in Whitesboro, N.Y., in 1818, and was educated in the public schools, his first independent money being earned as a steamboat hand on the Mississippi River. For some time he worked on boats running between St. Louis and New Orleans, and was making considerable headway when the outbreak of the Mexican War appealed to his patriotism. Enlisting in Company C, Second Louisiana Volunteer Infantry, he served as a teamster until the close of the war, being often subjected to danger, and participating in the moves of the army from one point of battle to another.
    In 1850 Mr. Dean came to California by way of the Isthmus, and for two years followed mining. In 1852 he came to Jackson County, where he took up a donation claim of one hundred and sixty acres three miles west of Central Point. In October of the same year he married Anna Huston, a native of New Jersey, and who crossed the plains in 1852. Mrs. Dean took up a claim adjoining that of her husband, and therefore, this first white couple to marry in the Rogue River Valley had three hundred and twenty acres between them, a by no means discouraging outlook for young people starting out in life. Mr. Dean was energetic and practical, and besides making many improvements on his property he branched out into mining, eventually owning extensive mining properties in the county. His yearly income was a large one, and he was one of the most prosperous men in his neighborhood. Extremely public spirited, he watched with increasing interest the development of the Democratic Party in the county, and took a foremost lead in local offices, becoming a member of the first board of commissioners appointed by the Territorial Legislature to organize Jackson County. At the time of his death, June 4, 1876, his name was a household one not only in Jackson County, but throughout the entire southern part of Oregon, and in his passing the county he had helped to upbuild lost a faithful friend and earnest believer in its future prosperity. The wife who survived him until October 24, 1900, bore him nine children, four of whom are living: Bradford W., a farmer of Curry County, Ore.; Mrs. Sherry Rodenberger, of this vicinity; Ralph F.; and Mrs. Clara Farra of Central Point.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 533-534

    Harvey Hamilton DeArmond has gained a widespread reputation as a lawyer, and specializing on irrigation represents some of the largest interests in Oregon. He has been active in the legal circles of Bend since 1913, and the zeal with which he has devoted his energies to his profession, the careful regard evinced for the interests of his clients and an assiduous and unrelaxing attention to all the details of his cases, have brought him a large business and made him very successful in its conduct.
    Harvey Hamilton DeArmond was born near Albany, Oregon, in 1884, a son of E. C. and Nancy C. (Love) DeArmond. The DeArmonds were of French extraction, and the first members of that family to come to America were three brothers who located in Tennessee prior to the Revolution. Their descendants scattered throughout the South and West as the country developed and took prominent parts in the governmental affairs of their various communities. Congressman DeArmond of Missouri, who took such an active part in Democratic councils, was a member of the same branch of the family as the subject of this review. E. C. DeArmond came to Oregon in 1880 from Tennessee and after residing near Albany for some time removed to Grants Pass. There he engaged in farming and lumbering and became one of the representative citizens of his community. He passed away in 1914. Mr. and Mrs. DeArmond were married in Tennessee, her family removing to this state about the same time as did Mr. DeArmond. Her father was likewise a successful agriculturist.
    In the acquirement of his early education Harvey Hamilton DeArmond attended the common country schools near Grants Pass and in due time enrolled in the Southern Oregon Normal School at Ashland. While studying there he decided upon the legal profession as his life work and as a result entered the Oregon Law School, from which he was graduated LL.B. in 1910. In acquiring his education circumstances compelled him to do janitor work and odd jobs in a store to help pay his way. Soon afterward he took up the practice of his profession in Medford but after two years came to Deschutes County and opened an office in Bend, now the county seat. It was not long before his ability became widely recognized and his popularity was evidenced by his appointment as first district attorney when the county was created in 1916. At the expiration of that term he was elected to succeed himself but within a month resigned again to resume his private practice. He has since that time refused further political office, although he takes a live interest in political affairs. Mr. DeArmond has made a special study of irrigation laws and he has become an expert along the lines of irrigation litigation. His recent victory over the Central Oregon Irrigation Company, whereby the Central Oregon Irrigation Company's system was turned over to the settlers, was the end of years of litigation and was a sweeping victory for Mr. DeArmond. As a prominent member of the legal fraternity he is identified with the Central Oregon Bar Association and the State Bar Association.
    In 1911 occurred the marriage of Mr. DeArmond and Miss Mabel Emily Collins of Gold Hill, Oregon. Two children have been born to their union: Robert William and Betty Jean. Mrs. DeArmond is active in the club and social circles of Bend and her magnetic personality has won for her many friends. She is also a great home woman and was a great help to Mr. DeArmond in his earlier struggles for success.
    Since age conferred upon Mr. DeArmond the right of franchise he has been a staunch supporter of the Republican Party, having firm belief in the principles of that party as factors in good government. He is a prominent member of the Elks, Moose and Knights of Pythias and has filled all of the chairs in the two latter organizations. He is likewise a member of the Woodmen of the World. As a man who has ever the interests of Bend at heart he belongs to the Chamber of Commerce, of which he was at one time manager, and to the Bend Commercial Club. He is a member of the State Chamber of Commerce and vice president of the Oregon Irrigation Congress. Mr. DeArmond is tireless in his devotion to furthering the irrigation interests of the town, county, and state. He has argued many cases and lost few and no one knows better the necessity for thorough preparation and no one more industriously prepares his cases than he. Few lawyers have won a more representative place at the bar of the state than Mr. DeArmond, both for legal ability of high order and for the individuality of a character which impresses itself upon a community.
Charles Henry Carey, History of Oregon, 1922, page 643

Superintendent, Medford Experiment Station, U.S. Department of Agriculture.
b. Springdale, Kentucky, June 7, 1905; son of J. S. and Adda Glenn (Elliott) Degman; educated White Salmon, Washington public schools; Washington State College, B.S.    1928; University of Maryland, Ph.D. 1931; m. Constance Church of Beltsville, Maryland, October 9, 1930; children Elliot S. Jr., Charles Allan, Robert Vincent; began as research assistant, University of Maryland; research work, U.S. Dept. of Agriculture 1931 to date; superintendent, Medford Experiment Station since 1939; home 18 Elm Street; office Box 426, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 145

    Edward J. DeHart, who developed and was a partner in the largest hardware store of Portland and was thus closely associated with the commercial interests of the city for a number of years, passed away November 18, 1916. He had been identified with the Pacific Coast country for more than a half century, having removed to the West in 1861. He was born at Communipaw, New Jersey, April 1, 1836, a son of Edward and Elinor (Simmons) DeHart, the former a native of Staten Island, while the latter was born in New Jersey.
    Edward J. DeHart acquired a common school education in his native state and initiated his business career in connection with the hardware trade, serving as a clerk when but fifteen years of age. He was thus employed for a number of years, and in fact much of his life was devoted to the hardware business. Attracted by the opportunities of the growing West, he made his way to San Francisco, California, in 1861 and was there employed by Jacob Underhill & Company, hardware merchants, Mr. Underhill being his brother-in-law. After a brief period passed in San Francisco he was sent by the firm to Portland to establish a branch store here and of this he had charge until 1868. The business was closed out in October of that year and Mr. DeHart then returned to San Francisco, where he took charge of the Underhill interests, continuing as manager thereof until 1873. In the fall of the latter year he went to New York City, where he represented the firm as buyer, with offices on Chambers Street, continuing a resident of the metropolis until the fall of 1875. At that date he returned to San Francisco, and in the following winter the firm of Underhill & Company failed. In the succeeding spring Mr. DeHart went to Nevada City, California, where he remained for a short time but soon after returned to San Francisco in the spring of 1876, spending the summer there. In the fall of the same year he came to Portland to look after the interests of R. R. Thompson and Northrup and later became one of the partners in the business of Honeyman & DeHart, which in the course of years developed into Portland's largest hardware enterprise. For a long period he concentrated his efforts and attention upon the upbuilding and development of the business, promoting the trade along the most progressive lines and at all times adhering to the highest standards and commercial ethics. In 1900 he severed his connection with the business and in October of 1901 went to Medford, where he purchased an apple and pear orchard and concentrated his energies upon horticultural pursuits, continuing actively in the business for six years. This he sold in June, 1907, and returned to Portland, where he afterward made his home. In the succeeding spring he purchased a country residence at Hood River, which he used as a summer home.
    In October, 1857, Mr. DeHart was united in marriage to Miss Elmira C. Thresher, a daughter of Minord Sprague and Mary (Smith) Thresher. The marriage was celebrated in New York City and they became the parents of a daughter, Ella, whose birth occurred in the eastern metropolis.
    Mr. DeHart was a lifelong Republican, giving unfaltering allegiance at all times to the party and its principles. He belonged to the Arlington Club and he was one of the organizers of the Commercial Club of Portland, which elected him its first president. He stood as a representative merchant and business man of the city for a considerable period and his activities were ever of a character which contributed to public progress and improvement as well as to individual success. His plans were ever carefully formulated and promptly executed. He made a close study of business conditions and ever looked beyond the exigencies of the moment to the opportunities and possibilities of the future, both as regarded his individual affairs and the public good. He is yet well remembered by many of the older business men of Portland as a forceful factor in commercial circles here. He had attained the ripe old age of eighty years when "the weary wheels of life at length stood still," and his entire career was one of activity and usefulness, and the public was at all times either a direct or an indirect beneficiary of his efforts.
Charles Henry Carey, History of Oregon, 1922, volume II, pages 572-573

    E. E. Deming, nominee for county clerk, was born on the 21st day of March, 1859, in Jefferson County, northern New York, on a farm four miles from Watertown, the county seat, where he passed thirteen years of his life. His parents moved from Jefferson County in the fall of 1868 and settled in Fenton, Genesee County. Mich., whither he accompanied them. Here he attended the grammar school and the Fenton high school till February 1875, in which he was pursuing the Latin Scientific course, but owing to impaired vision--the result of measles--he was compelled to forsake school and live an outdoor life, working at gardening and on his father's farm, which had been bought soon after their settlement in Fenton. He then began teaching district school winters and spending his summers in various out-of-door employments. In March, 1886, after completing his eighth term of school he was taken with typhoid pneumonia, which caused him to come to this coast with the double purpose of seeing his older brother and regaining his health. After spending two years in California he was persuaded by a prominent Ashlander whom he met to come to Oregon, where he arrived June 27, 1888, since which time he has been a resident of Ashland with the exception of six months, which were spent in Douglas County and thanks to the genial mild climate of Southern Oregon, he has been restored to his usual weight and vigor.
    When Gen. Weaver ran for President he supported him and since then has supported all anti-monopoly moves. In 1890 he supported the Union Labor Party ticket, but never sought a nomination on any ticket.
    If elected Mr. Deming will make the most efficient clerk this county ever had, and an honest one, too.
"The Nominees," Medford Mail, April 22, 1892, page 1

Lawyer; Sportsman; State Game Commissioner.
b. Corvallis, Oregon, September 1, 1904; son of G. W. and Minnie L. (Hodes) Denman; educated public schools of Corvallis; Oregon State College, B.S. 1927; Willamette University LL.B. 1930; Phi Delta Theta, Delta Theta Phi (legal), Phi Kappa Phi (scholastic); m. Margaret A. Bolt of Freewater, July 19, 1931; children Donald K., Margaret Ann, Carol Louise; admitted to bar 1930; law practice with father 1930-41; associated with A. E. Reames in law practice, Medford 1931-33; private practice, Medford 1933 to date; chairman Republican Central Committee, Jackson County 1938-44; president Rogue Snow, member 1939-40; president Rogue River Sportsmen 1937-44; appointed on State Game Commission 1944-46; member Active Club International; member of Izaac Walton League; member Oregon State and Coos County Bar Associations (past vice president and secretary-treasurer); Rotarian; Elk; Republican; Presbyterian; home 104 Geneva; office Brophy Building, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 147

    EMIL DE ROBOAM. That success, the goal of the young and ambitious, and the satisfaction of those older grown, is denied to few of the children of men, is believed at least by those who have won it fairly and honestly, sparing neither their hands nor their brain. A justifiable pride brightens the lives of the men who have rightly gauged their opportunities, and who in the last half of their lives see substantial evidences of their thrift and enterprise. Such a man is Emil DeRoboam, a self-made man of whom his fellow agriculturists in Jackson County may well be proud, and who illustrates in his life the advantages of industry and moral rectitude.
    A native son of France, Mr. DeRoboam was born at Sainte Foy, department of La Grande, December 25, 1852. a son of St. Luke and Mary (Conquari) DeRoboam, natives of the same locality. St. Luke DeRoboam was reared on a farm, but later became a government employee, working with that zeal and conscientious application so characteristic of the French citizen. Frugality, another national trait, enabled him to save money, and with his gains he set up housekeeping in a small way, rearing a family of four children, of whom Emil is the oldest. Samuel, the second son, lives in Jacksonville, this county; Salita is at present in the Klondike; and Naomi made her home in New York City, where she died in October, 1903. The father of these children sustained the loss of his wife in 1870, and the same year brought his family to the United States, settling in Jacksonville, Ore., where he established the hotel business in which he is still engaged. In 1873 he married for a second wife Henrietta Schmidling, a native of Prussia. Mr. DeRoboam is a Republican in politics, and one of the progressive and well-known upbuilders of Jacksonville.
    As a youth Emil DeRoboam learned the tailor's trade in his native land, but after coming to the States with his father he turned his attention to learning the trade of wagon and carriage making, which he followed for about thirteen years. In 1888 he purchased a ranch of six hundred and forty-two acres of land one and a half miles east of Jacksonville, known as the Bellinger donation claim, and which at that time presented slight encouragement in the way of modern improvements. Since his occupancy he has replaced one frame dwelling with another, and erected large barns and convenient outhouses, supplying himself with late machinery, and directing his efforts toward making of his farm a pleasant home and paying property. He is engaged in general farming and stock-raising, and finds his land adapted to general produce, to gardening and fruit. He is also interested in another great resource of the county, owning a placer mine near his home which is yielding more than expected returns. For the past sixteen years he has held the position of superintendent of the county poor, caring for the county's wards on his own farm. No more progressive man than Mr. DeRoboam is aiding in the upbuilding of his neighborhood. He was one of the chief promoters of the rural free delivery, supporting it in the face of great opposition. He is prominent in political undertakings, having espoused the cause of the Republican Party soon after landing in America. His standing as a man and citizen is strengthened by association with some of the most prominent fraternal organizations in the country, including the Jacksonville Lodge No. 10, I.O.O.F., in which he has passed all the chairs; the Encampment; the Jacksonville Lodge No. 2, A.O.U.W.; and the Jacksonville Lodge No. 1, I.O.R.M. March 25, 1875, Mr. DeRoboam married Rosa Schmidling, a native of San Francisco, and of this union there have been born the following children: John, living on Evans Creek; William E.; Mrs. Annie Bell Ingam, of Jacksonville, and Mabel Mary, living at home. Mr. DeRoboam is personally popular and well liked, and has made many staunch friends during his residence in the West.
Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, page 407

    HENRY P. DESKINS: lives near Fort Lane; is a farmer; post office address is Willow Springs; was born in Tazewell County, Virginia; came to state and county in 1858; was married March, 1857, to Mary Hill.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

Lawyer; Newspaperman; Postmaster.
b. Boston, Mass., April 22, 1879; son of Henry F. and Ellen (Mythen) DeSouza; educated public schools; m. Edith B. Tower of Los Angeles, Calif. June 6, 1903; child Martha Frances; began as newspaper reporter; later editor, Phoenix, Arizona; served as secretary Arizona Constitutional Convention, Phoenix; secretary Arizona Corporation Commission; Representative in the Arizona Legislature; also Justice of the Peace, Phoenix; Postmaster, Medford, 1934 to date; member Knights of Columbus (State Deputy Arizona 1908-11); Elk (president State Association Arizona 1907); president Southern Oregon Bar Association 1916; Democrat; Catholic; home 30 Western Ave.; office Post Office, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, pages 148-149

Civic Leader.
b. Webster City, Iowa May 11, 1880; son of John W. and Mary E. (Bone) Detrick; educated Vancouver, Washington schools; m. Irene A. Bartow, Camas, Washington June 29, 1904; children Robert E. and Helen E. (Mrs. C. A. Smith); began furniture and hardware business, R. E. Detrick, Vancouver 1909-19; to Ashland 1920; grocery business Ashland three years; secretary Chamber of Commerce three years; real estate and insurance business; secretary Masonic lodges 1936 to date; past High Priest, Siskiyou Chapter 21 R.A.; recorder, Malta Commandery 4; K.T. (past commander) 1936 to date; recorder, Hillah Temple, Shrine (past potentate) 1931 to date; secretary Ashland Park Committee; former city councilman; Elk; Republican; Protestant; home 215 Sherman; office 25 N. Main, Ashland
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 149

DEUEL, Halbert S., business manager; b. Harris, Missouri December 25, 1890; to Oregon 1893; Culver Military Academy 1906-10; m. Aimee B. Wing November 21, 1922; children--Halbert S. Jr. Manager F. K. Deuel establishment; assistant cashier, 1st National Bank 1911-17; lieutenant, World War; manager department store 1919-24; Mason; York Rite; Shrine; Craters Club; Chamber of Commerce. Republican. Address: 1100 S. Oakdale Avenue, Medford, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 70

    JOHN DEVLIN. As a boy John Devlin was self-willed and independent, causing dismay among the elders who had his youthful training in hand. As a man the same determination has been turned to good account, and has resulted in his accomplishing the majority of his projects. He earned his first money as a sailor, and today he is drawing a liberal income from a farm of four hundred acres on Applegate Creek, about two hundred and twenty-five acres of which are rich and productive bottom land. As a rule he cuts three crops of alfalfa during the season, averaging about six tons to the acre, and raises besides large quantities of grain and general farm products. He is an energetic and public-spirited citizen, proud alike of his mother country, and of his adopted land, and is giving to the latter the benefit of the excellent traits of character with which his countrymen are noted as a nation.
    In Mountfield, County Tyrone, Ireland, where he was born May 15, 1835, Mr. Devlin lived until his eighth year, when his paternal uncle brought him to the United States in a sailing vessel. He was seven weeks on the water, and after landing, lived with his uncle in New York City until he was twelve years old. During this time he was doing a great deal of calculating which did not reach the ears of his relative, and one day he took unceremonious leave, omitting the formality of saying goodbye. The next heard of him he was doing service before the mast on a whaling vessel. During this time Mr. Devlin visited Portland in 1853, sailing up the Columbia River in a sailing vessel. Afterward he embarked on passenger ships whose route lay in the Pacific and Indian oceans, and in time he made two trips from New York to Liverpool, England. Still later he sailed on ships plying between the United States and Cuba, and on one of these trips the vessel was wrecked, all on board being fortunately saved. Leaving the sea temporarily, Mr. Devlin worked at the shipbuilder's trade in New York City for a couple of years, and then shipped in the United States navy as able seaman with Commodore Armstrong. His ship had the honor of taking Mr. [Townsend Harris], the first American consul, to Japan, and he afterward visited many ports in the Mikado's realm, touching also at ports in China and India. This trip consumed three years, and in the fall of 1858, after returning to New York, he came to San Francisco by way of the Isthmus, remaining two months in the coast city. He then came to Jackson County, Ore., and bought forty acres of land near Ashland, upon which the state normal school has since been built, and turned his attention to farming and stock-raising. In 1890 he bought his present ranch nine miles south of Jacksonville, and during the thirteen years of his occupancy has brought it to a high state of cultivation. Mr. Devlin has a pleasant country home, and as is wise and fitting, attributes a large share of his success to the unfailing help and sympathy of his wife. Mrs. Devlin was formerly Annie Murphy, born in the city of Cork, Ireland, and who came to America in 1854. Mary, the oldest daughter of this union, still lives with her parents. Her husband, Miles Cantrall, ex-member of the state legislature, is at present managing the Devlin farm. John H., the oldest of the boys, lives in the city of Portland, and Agnes is the wife of Dr. Charles Hines, of Forest Grove, Ore. Mr. Devlin is a Republican in politics, and with his family is a member of the Catholic Church.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 406-407

    CHARLES A. DICKISON. As one who is versed in farming pursuits and the needs and qualifications of a prosperous agriculturist Mr. Dickison needs no introduction to the residents of Jackson County, the farm which he manages near Table Rock being one of the model estates of the county. He was born near Zanesville, Ohio, October 3, 1868, the son of William R. and Martha A. (Morrison) Dickison. The mother passed away in 1899, but the father is still living and makes his home with his son. When he was still a small child William R. Dickison was deprived of the love and care of his mother, a boy's best friend, and when eight years old was cast upon his own resources. His early struggles were not in vain, however, and today he is enjoying the peace and rest that is the just reward of a well-spent life.
    Charles A. Dickison obtained a fair education in the district schools of Muskingum County, and afterward took a more extended course of instruction in the public schools of Kenton, Hardin County. When the family fortunes were shifted to the West in 1887 Charles A. accompanied his parents, and for the first two years resided near Ashland. The next year he followed farming near Jacksonville, and subsequently, for one year, was foreman of the Hammond nursery at Niles Junction, Cal. Returning to Oregon, Mr. Dickison again engaged in farming, this time in the vicinity of Table Rock, where he still resides. Until quite recently he gave considerable attention to horticulture, having planted an orchard of forty acres, but since retiring from the fruit business he has turned his attention to the raising of alfalfa, which is grown with considerable profit in this locality.
    Politically Mr. Dickison is an unswerving Republican, and he has contributed much toward the success of his favorite party in his community. As a public-spirited citizen he is one of the valued residents of his section, where he is highly esteemed for his many excellent traits of character. In Masonic circles he stands high, and is identified with the lodge at Medford and with the Royal Arch Lodge at Jacksonville. September 2, 1890, Mr. Dickison was united in marriage with Miss Ida Bashford, and to them has been born one child, Grace M., in whom all their hopes are centered.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 868-869

    WILLIAM R. DICKISON. In Muskingum County, Ohio, occurred the birth of William R. Dickison on August 22, 1840. He is a son of Isaac and Rebecca (Heckett) Dickison, the former a native of Pennsylvania and of Scotch descent, the grandfather having immigrated to America from Scotland, and settled in Pennsylvania. When a young man Isaac Dickison removed to Ohio, and there followed the independent life of the farmer. While a resident of that state he was united in marriage with Miss Rebecca Heckett, and six children were born to them, only two of whom are living, William R. and James, the latter being a resident of Ohio. Mrs. Rebecca Dickison died in 1846, and a number of years later Mr. Dickison married his second wife, a Mrs. Wilson. Politically Mr. Dickison was a Democrat, but was not an office-seeker. Personally he was a quiet, unassuming man.
    When but six years of age William R. Dickison was left motherless, and when only eight years old was thrown upon his own resources, to shift for himself as best he might. A neighboring farmer took the lonely child into his home, and for a number of years he worked for his board and clothes. The breaking out of the Civil War, however, changed the monotony of his life. At the first call for troops he responded by enlisting in Company A, Fifteenth Ohio Infantry, to serve for three months. His regiment was assigned to duty in Virginia, and there the most of his three months' term was spent. Upon the expiration of this time he re-enlisted in Company G, United States Infantry, for three years, or until the close of the war. That he saw active service is shown by the number of battles in which he participated, among them being the following: Shiloh, Siege of Corinth, Dogwalk, Stone River, Chickamauga, and Sherman's campaign in Georgia during May, June, July and August, 1864. He received his honorable discharge at Lookout Mountain October 18, 1864, and was mustered out at Nashville, Tenn. On his return to his native county in 1865 the military committee recommended him to recruit a company, but owing to ill health he declined the honor. After recovering his health Mr. Dickison worked as a laborer for a short time, and then resumed farming operations by renting a farm in Muskingum County, continuing to make it his home for three years. Two years following this he was engaged in managing a farm for others, and it was during this time that he was united in marriage with Martha A. Morrison, a native of Muskingum County. After his marriage Mr. Dickison located on rented property in Hardin County, but after remaining there six years decided to settle on a place of his own, and forthwith returned to his native county and purchased a farm which was formerly the property of his father-in-law, and there resided for eight years. At this period in his career, in 1887, he decided to locate in Oregon, and after disposing of his land, implements and stock, chartered a car in which he loaded his household goods and started for his new home in the West. After living one year on a farm near Ashland he went to Medford and conducted a hotel, but one year afterward sold out and rented a farm on the Jacksonville-Ashland road for one year. He then purchased the farm near Table Rock, which is now under the care and supervision of his son, Charles A., with whom Mr. Dickison makes his home.
    To Mr. and Mrs. William R. Dickison two children were born, Charles A. and William E., the latter of whom died when five years old. Mrs. Dickison passed away in 1899. Mr. Dickison is a member of the Lutheran Church, and politically votes for the candidates of the Republican Party.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, page 856

DILLARD, Frank C., hydraulic engineer; b. Eugene, Oregon December 28, 1880; B.S. University of Oregon 1915; m. Cathryn McRae, June 28, 1916; children--Kathleen Jane, Shirley Anne. Engineer-manager Medford Water Department; U.S. Reclamation Service 1905-10. Mason; Shrine; B.P.O.E.; Chamber of Commerce; Kiwanis. Republican. Presbyterian. Address: Ashland, Oregon.

Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 70

    EBENEZER DIMICK: lives near Grants Pass; is a farmer and stock raiser; born in Morgan County, Ohio, 1836; came to state 1852, and in county 1859; was married 1860 to Sarah J. Croxton. Children Edward D., Joseph W., Frank (deceased), Hannah, Harry and Ina.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

DODGE, Jessie (Mrs. Louis), born in White Oaks, N.M., Sept. 11, 1883. Married to Louis Dodge. Children: Edith and Robert M. Resident of Oregon for 21 years, formerly located in California. Authorized correspondent for Christian Science Monitor. Three years president of Parent-Teachers Association. Member: D.A.R., O.E.S., Study Club, P.T.A., Woman's Civic Club, P.E.O. Sisterhood. Home: 724 Boulevard, Ashland, Ore.

Max Binheim, ed., Women of the West, Los Angeles 1928, page 158

b. White Oaks, New Mexico September 11, 1883; daughter of Alonzo and Edith (Prescott) Edwards; educated public schools of Eureka and Los Angeles, California; Portland and Ashland, Oregon; m. Louis Dodge August 8, 1906; children Edith D. (Durgan), Robert E.; author of articles and news stories in club journals, newspapers, Reader's Digest, Oregonian and Christian Science Monitor (authorized correspondent since 1925); member P.E.O., treasurer 1929-03; com. secretary 1930-31, second vice-president 1931-32, organizer 1932-33, first vice-president 1933-34; president Oregon Chapter 1934-35; member Oregon Congress of Parents and Teachers (vice-president 1921-27); member Ashland Women's and Ashland Study clubs, Order of the Eastern Star, Daughters of the American Revolution; Republican; Christian Scientist; home 724 Siskiyou Boulevard, Ashland
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 155

Businessman, J. P. Dodge & Sons Furniture.
b. Greenville, Iowa Dec. 18, 1880; son of John P. and Mary S. (Merriam) Dodge; educated public schools; University of Oregon B.S. 1933; m. Jessie Edwards of Eureka, Calif. Aug. 8, 1906; children Edith (Mrs. Walter T. Durgan) and Robert E.; began as furniture store clerk; partner in firm of J. P. Dodge & Sons 1903-; chief, Ashland Fire Department 1905-13; director Lithia Hotel Association 1924-27; president Ashland Golf Club 1925-30; member executive committee for building Jackson County Courthouse; president Ashland Park Commission 1932 to date; Elk; Mason; Republican; home 724 Siskiyou Blvd.; office 125 E. Main St., Ashland
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 155

Businessman, J. P. Dodge & Sons Furniture.
b. Greenville, Iowa Feb. 19, 1883; son of John Page (who was early Ashland pioneer of 1883) and Mary (Merriam) Dodge; educated grade and high schools; Webster College of Embalming 1909; m. Ina Hunt, Ashland, 1909; m. 2nd Margaret Seese, Ashland, Aug. 5, 1935; entire life activity with J. P. Dodge (father) and Sons, partner 1904 to date, furniture and funeral directors; served as manager, mortuary department 1904-43; sold mortuary to Clarence Litwiler in 1943; co-owner of the Dodge and Minkler buildings, Ashland; formerly active in ranch and timber business; Rotarian (active in community work; president, Ashland Club); Chamber of Commerce; Mason; Elk (past Exalted Ruler and past District Deputy); Odd Fellow (past Noble Grand); Republican; Methodist (steward); home 600 Boulevard; office 125 E. Main Street, Ashland
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 155

    H. CLAY DOLLARHIDE: lives at toll house foot of Siskiyou Mtns., which place he keeps; post office, Barron; was born July 16, 1844; came to Cal., 1861, to this county in 1869; married Julia A. Fendes in 1870, and May E. Shideler in 1873. Children Julia A., Florence M., Minnie S., Nancy D., Myrtle E. and H. Clay Jr.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 502

    JOHN W. DOLLARHIDE: lives south of Ashland; is proprietor of a saw mill; was born in Jasper County, Indiana, November 13, 1846; came to state and county in 1869; was married March 24, 1858, to Sarah J. Campbell. Children Elizabeth (deceased), Wesley, Jesse, Hattie B., Lena S., Harry B., John, Claude and Ole B.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, pages 502-503

    JESSE DOLLARHIDE: lives in Ashland; is a farmer and stock raiser; was born in Wayne County, Indiana, in 1815; came to state and county in 1869; was married 1836 to Miss Nancy Murphy. Children Amanda, Lavina, H. Clay, John W., Mary N., Lucy, Jemima, Priscilla, Matilda and L. Dudly.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

    In August, 1921, James John Donegan was appointed by President Harding, receiver of the United States land office at Burns, and he is now serving in that capacity, much to the satisfaction of the people of Central Oregon, who have the greatest respect and confidence for him. "Jimmy" Donegan, as he is affectionately called by his many friends, is a native of Oregon and has for many years been prominently identified with its political and commercial life. He was born in Jacksonville, Oregon, on the 29th of August, 1872, a son of Patrick and Margaret (Lynch) Donegan. His father, who was a blacksmith by trade, came to the Pacific Coast from New York in 1849 and the following year located in San Francisco, California. He resided in that state a year and then came to Oregon and settled in the mining camp at Sterling, where he engaged in his trade of blacksmithing. He removed to Jacksonville upon its founding in 1855 [sic], opened a little blacksmith shop there, and did an increasing business, remaining in that camp until his retirement from active life in 1910. In that year he removed to San Diego, California, where he died October 17th, 1919. "Jimmy" Donegan's mother passed away when he was two years of age, and when he was twelve years of age his father married a second time, taking for his wife, Mary Fleming, a native of Ireland, whither Patrick Donegan had returned in the later '70s, for a visit.
    In the acquirement of his education "Jimmy" Donegan attended the public and high schools of Jacksonville and upon putting his textbooks aside located in Harney County, where he remained for one year before returning to his birthplace. His father at that time owned a large tract of some five thousand acres on the Rogue River, and James John Donegan and his elder brother, Hugh, now a civil engineer in San Francisco, traveled to their father's holdings and engaged in the occupation of sheep ranching until 1894. In that year "Jimmy" came to Harney County and until 1896 worked for William Hanley upon his ranch. The next ten years he spent in the conduct of a mercantile business in Burns, achieving substantial success, and becoming a prominent and representative business man he subsequently drifted into politics. In 1908 he was elected county assessor and was re-elected to that office, serving in all for a period of eight years. He has been a clerk in the legislature and in the senate of Oregon and enjoys great popularity among members and ex-members of both houses. Mr. Donegan is what is termed a good mixer. He is sociable and friendly, a keen observer of passing events and is well versed on the questions and issues of the day. In 1911 he became associated with Samuel Mothershead in the conduct of a real estate, insurance and abstract business, establishing offices in the Masonic building, and they represent some of the best old-line companies in the state and have gained a reputation for capable business methods. He is land and tax agent for many large interests, among them being the Eastern Oregon Land & Livestock Company, the Clerf Land & Livestock Company and the William Hanley Company.
    In 1896 occurred the marriage of Mr. Donegan to Miss Mary L. Smyth, a daughter of John Smyth, the first white child born in Harney County. Her father and mother were Harney County's earliest pioneers and were killed in the Bannock Indian War in 1878. Mr. and Mrs. Donegan have three children: Carmen, the wife of Nels Elfving of Portland; Patrick H., a law student in the University of Oregon; and Frances Mary. The youngest daughter is also a student in the University of Oregon and is majoring in journalism. She is evincing much talent along that line and is local correspondent for the Oregonian.
    Since attaining his majority Mr. Donegan has given his allegiance to the Republican Party and is a member of the Republican state central committee from Harney County. He has always been active in civic affairs and during the World War was chairman of the second and third Liberty Loan drives and of the Victory Loan. He was likewise chairman of the Red Cross drives and a member of the draft board and of the United War Work. He is president of St. Joseph's Hospital Building Association and is a member of the executive committee of the Y.M.C.A. Fraternally he is identified with the Elks. "Jimmy" Donegan is placed by public opinion among the influential and leading citizens of Harney County and is a man whose character and business integrity entitle him to be numbered among the most desirable and useful citizens of the state.
Charles Henry Carey, History of Oregon, vol. III, 1922, pages 625-626

    PATRICK DONEGAN: lives in Jacksonville; is a blacksmith; was born in County Louth, Ireland; came to state and county in 1854; was married first to Margaret Lynch (deceased); subsequently to Mary Fleming. Children Margaret, John (deceased), Hugh, Elizabeth, James and Mary (twins), Patrick (deceased), and Annie. Second wife's children Kate (deceased), Fannie, Patrick and Josephine.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

    G. W. DONNELL. The distinction of being one of the best-posted railroad men on the Pacific Coast belongs to Mr. Donnell, the efficient and capable roadmaster of the Ashland district or division of the Southern Pacific Railroad, which important position he has filled in a satisfactory manner since July, 1899. The division over which his supervision extends is one hundred and forty-two miles long, and, extending as it does through a mountain district, especially through Cow Creek canyon, it is perhaps the most difficult section of the road in the state. Mr. Donnell is a railroad man of broad experience and knows every foot of his division, comprehending all the requirements of his position, and he makes his headquarters at Grants Pass in Josephine County.
    A descendant of sturdy Scotch parents, Mr. Donnell was born March 26, 1872, and the name he bears is an adopted name, as he is a son of William and Catherine (Eaton) Inglis, both natives of Scotland, where their marriage took place. Soon afterward, they emigrated to America and settled for some time in the eastern part of the United States, but in after years they found a more desirable home in California, and in that beautiful land of fruit and flowers the father followed farming pursuits until cut off by the ruthless hand of death. The widowed mother with four small children, two sons and two daughters, was thus left companionless and some time afterward married H. S. Donnell, and all the children took the name of Donnell.
    The gentleman whose biography we write was but a babe when his father died, and he knew no other father than H. S. Donnell, whose name he bears. This foster father was a native of Augusta, Me., and descended from an old and worthy New England family. He enlisted in the Union army during the Civil War, and as a member of the Fourteenth Maine regiment he rendered valiant services to his country. He participated in many battles and on one occasion was wounded in the hip and was taken prisoner. He experienced the horrors of both Libby and Andersonville prisons, but was finally exchanged and, rejoining his regiment, he served until the close of the war. After the successful termination of that bitter conflict, he took up his profession as civil engineer and surveyor, and working in that capacity he went to California in 1869 in the employ of the Central Pacific Railway Company. Later he followed similar work with the Southern Pacific Company and was engaged in surveying the route to Santa Cruz. In 1880 he went to Portland as assistant superintendent of construction for the east side line and afterward worked in the same capacity on the Oregon & California, and when the latter was absorbed by the Southern Pacific Company, he continued to hold his position until appointed roadmaster over the two west side lines, a position he still holds. He is a valued member of the G.A.R. organization.
    G. W. Donnell received his education by attending school in the various railroad towns where his stepfather was located, and was nine years old when the family removed to Portland, and his education was finished in that city. He began his railroad career in 1887 and for about a year he worked with the engineer corps in southern California, but in 1888 he accepted a position as track walker for the Oregon & California in the West Fork canyon. Two years later he was appointed assistant agent at Oswego, and after one year's faithful service he was transferred from the traffic to the operating department and became division foreman on the main line, continuing to discharge the duties of this position until July, 1899, when further promotion followed and he became roadmaster of the Ashland district.
    The marriage of Mr. Donnell took place at Riddle, Ore., and Miss Laura Feikert, a native of Ohio, was the lady of his choice. She is a daughter of James Feikert, who came to Oregon in 1880 and spent the remainder of his life in farming pursuits near Riddle. One child blessed the union of Mr. and Mrs. Donnell, and she is called Catherine. The family unite in worshiping at the Methodist Episcopal Church, of which Mrs. Donnell is an active member. Although not a politician, Mr. Donnell votes a straight Republican ticket, and is interested in the political affairs in his locality. In fraternal orders, he is one of the most prominent Masons in Grants Pass. He was made a Mason in Portland, being initiated in Hawthorne Lodge No. 111, but now affiliates with Grants Pass Lodge No. 84. He is also allied with the Royal Arch Chapter, and the Knights Templar of Portland, of which he is junior warden. In addition, he holds a membership in the Oregon Consistory of Portland. He has one brother, A. J. Donnell, who resides in San Francisco.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 907-908

    One of the most gratifying features of our republican form of government, and one of which has contributed largely to its perpetuity, is the fact that a wide field of honor, distinction and usefulness lies open to every young man of talent and ambition. No matter how poor his circumstances, with a proper amount of energy, determination and patience he can make of himself a useful citizen and a leader among men. The subject of this sketch is a fair example of this class of men. He was born in Nashville, Tennessee, on the 9th day of March, 1832, where he resided during the early part of his life, serving a regular apprenticeship at the tinner's trade and becoming a thorough master of the same. He moved to Clarksville, Tennessee, in 1852, and applied himself to securing an education. By strict economy and close appliance to his trade, he managed to lay by sufficient means to enable him to pursue a course of instruction in the Masonic Academy of that city. He came to California in November, 1855, and engaged in the stove and tin business at Crescent City, reading law meanwhile with Judge S. P. Wright, of that city. Came to Oregon in 1861 and settled at Jacksonville and continued the study of law under Hon. B. F. Dowell, and was admitted to the bar, in 1864, by the Supreme Court of this state. He settled in Eugene City the following year, and in May, 1866, was married to Miss Emma A. Hoffman, of Jacksonville. He has resided in Lane County since 1865, and is highly esteemed as one of its most influential citizens. He is a staunch Democrat and represented that county in the House of 1870 and was elected State Senator at the last general election. He is a prominent Mason and a member of the A.O.U.W. He has three children and enjoys home life rather than the excitement of a public career.
Frank E. Hodgkin and J. J. Galvin, Pen Pictures of Representative Men of Oregon, 1882, pages 7-8

    Dr. McMorris Marshall Dow, engaged successfully in the practice of medicine and surgery at Medford, was born in Lemars, Iowa, in June, 1882, and is a son of Herman F. and Mary E. (McMorris) Dow. The ancestral line on both sides can be traced back to Revolutionary War days and Chief Justice Marshall of the United States Supreme Court, the first incumbent in that position, is numbered among his forebears. His grandfather in the maternal line was Judge T. A. McMorris of the supreme court of Colorado. The Doctor's father was a prominent merchant of Iowa for a number of years, and at various points in the country the family has taken active part in promoting progress and development.
    Dr. Dow received his training at the graded schools of Sioux City, Iowa, in the Michigan Military Academy, in the Sioux Medical College and in the San Francisco College of Physicians and Surgeons, from which he received his professional degree in 1905. He first entered upon active practice in Texas, remaining there for a year, after which he removed to Los Angeles, California, where he continued to follow his profession until 1910. He then accepted a call to the Andrew Wade Morton Hospital at San Francisco and remained as house surgeon of that famous institution until 1912, when he removed to Medford and established the Dow Hospital, which he conducts in addition to his extensive office practice. During the eight years in which he has made his home in Medford he has won a most enviable reputation as a surgeon of ability and has built up an excellent practice. He at all times keeps in touch with the trend of modern professional thought and progress, especially in the field of surgery, to which he bends his energies and attention.
    In January, 1920, Dr. Dow was married to Miss Fernn R. Beebe, a native of Jackson County, Oregon, and a descendant of Daniel Webster. They have one child, McMorris Marshall (II).
    While his professional duties have been onerous and extensive, Dr. Dow has by no means neglected his social and civic obligations. He is a thirty~second degree Mason and member of the Mystic Shrine, and he is also connected with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. To all public affairs of value he gives his enthusiastic support and yet is never neglectful of any professional duty and in order to advance his efficiency has taken postgraduate courses in New York and Chicago and attends clinics at Rochester, Minnesota, with the Mayo Brothers. The worth of his work is widely acknowledged and his friends esteem him no less for his social qualities and splendid personal attributes than for his professional skill.
Charles Henry Carey, History of Oregon, 1922, volume II, pages 573-574

    B. F. DOWELL.--Benjamin F. Dowell was born in Albemarle County, Virginia, October 31, 1826. He was named in honor of the great philosopher, Ben Franklin, who was an uncle to his grandmother. The parents of the subject of this sketch were both natives of the state in which their son was born--both having been born within a mile of each other. Mr. Dowell's mother, originally Miss Fannie Dalton, was a lady of culture and refinement and was of Scottish descent, while the Dowells are traced back to English nativity. When but a child young Benjamin, with his parents, moved to Shelby County, Tenn., where he acquired a liberal education at the male academy. After having finished his academic studies, he returned to Virginia and entered the state university, where he graduated in law in 1847, before he was twenty-one years old. After completing the course young Dowell went back to Tennessee, where he practiced his profession with good success until 1850, when he was imbued with the spirit "Westward the course of empire takes its way," and accordingly followed the human tide into the gold regions of California. Having taken the cholera soon after his arrival in Sacramento, he was advised by his physician to go north. Mr. Dowell started for Portland, Oregon, in a small schooner, which after being driven back to sea from the mouth of the Columbia finally reached its port, seriously damaged, after thirty-five days' sailing. Mr. Dowell stopped in the Willamette Valley a short time, and then moved, in 1852, to Southern Oregon. Here he engaged in trading and packing until 1856. In 1857 he again resumed the practice of law, settled in Jacksonville, where he still resides, and is one of the most widely known attorneys in the state. In 1861 our subject married Miss Anna Campbell. They have now a family of three children, Fannie, Annie and B. F. Jr. In 1862 he was elected prosecuting attorney. In 1865 he bought the Oregon Sentinel, which, under his administration, was the first Pacific Slope paper to advocate the enfranchisement of the negroes, and the first to nominate General Grant for the Presidency.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, pages 525-526

    DOWELL, BENJAMIN F., was born in Albemarle County, Virginia, October 31, 1836. The family soon after moved to Shelby County, Tennessee. He graduated in law at the State University of Virginia in 1847, and practiced in Tennessee. In 1850 he went to California and the same year came to Oregon. In 1852 he engaged in trading and packing in Southern Oregon. In 1857 he resumed the practice of law in Jacksonville, and in 1862 was elected prosecuting attorney. In 1865 he purchased the Oregon Sentinel, of Jacksonville, and was the first Pacific Coast editor to advocate the enfranchisement of the negro and the nomination of General Grant for the presidency. Of late years he has spent a great deal of time in pushing Indian war claims at Washington, and is located in his practice in Portland.
Republican League Register, Portland, 1896, pages 202-203

B. F. Dowell, 1910, History of the Bench and Bar of OregonBENJAMIN FRANKLIN DOWELL.
    Benjamin Franklin Dowell was born in Albemarle County, Virginia, October 31, 1826. During childhood his parents removed to Shelby County, Tennessee, where he received his early education, prior to his entering the University of Virginia, from which he graduated in the law course in 1847. After graduation he returned to Tennessee and started in the practice of his profession, first at Raleigh, later at Memphis. In 1850 he gave up his practice in Tennessee and started for the gold fields of California, but being attacked by the cholera, he left for Oregon as soon as he was able, settling at Jacksonville, where he resided from 1852 to 1885. In 1856 he opened a law office in Jacksonville and built up one of the largest private practices in the state. Although actively practicing his profession, he was for fourteen years owner of the Oregon Sentinel and controlled the destinies of this well-known publication. He was a Republican, but never aspired for office, nevertheless he held several local offices and was at one time District Judge in Tennessee; also Prosecuting Attorney of the First Judicial District of Oregon and United States District Attorney for  brief periods.
History of the Bench and Bar of Oregon, 1910, page 265

    M. H. DRAKE: lives in Ashland; is a merchant and stock grower; was born in Steuben County, New York; came to state and county in 1860; was married in 1858, to Miss Martha Preater. Children Ida (deceased), Fred M., Belle, May and Ella.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

Physician and Surgeon.
b. Mahoba, United Provinces, British India, Dec. 5, 1903; son of Clarence C. and Elizabeth M. (Iiams) Drummond; University Nebraska, B.Sc. 1928; University Nebraska College of Medicine, M.D. 1930; Harvard School of Public Health, M.P.H. cum laude 1936; Beta Theta Pi, Nu Sigma Nu, Delta Omega; m. Helen Oberlies, Lincoln, Nebraska, May 28, 1926; children Elizabeth Jean, Susan Claire, David Malcom; began with R.O.P.; health officer Jackson County 1923-37; private practice 1937-; director, Oregon Physician Service and secretary to the board of directors; member American, Oregon State and Jackson County medical societies; Palomino Horse Breeders of America; Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders Association of America; Elk; Rotarian; Knife and Fork Club; member Jackson County Sheriff's Posse; Jackson County Chamber of Commerce; Republican; Episcopalian; home Rt. 2, Box 400; office 203 Fluhrer Bldg., Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 160

General Manager, Medford Water Commission.
b. Yavapai County, Arizona, April 23, 1901; son of Alexander and Ella (Black) Duff; educated grade and high schools Medford; Santa Clara University (Calif.) B.S. in civil engineering 1925; m. Jean M. Lynch, Medford, June 10, 1931; began with Crater Lake National Park, inspector road construction 1925; admitted to practice of civil engineering Oregon 1932; superintendent, engineer and general manager Medford Water Commission 1931-; active in developing Medford's million-dollar water system (one of finest in small cities on Pacific Coast); chairman Jackson County Salvage Committee 1944-; vice chairman, county housing authority, 1946-; past president Northwest Section American Waterworks Association; Elk; Chamber of Commerce; Rotarian (vice chairman); Izaak Walton League; Democrat; Catholic; home 2316 E. Main; office City Hall, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, pages 160-161

George W. Dunn 1895OregonBlueBookREP. GEORGE W. DUNN.
    Hon. George W. Dunn, Representative from Jackson County, was born in 1864. He is a native son and lifelong resident of Jackson County, and, therefore, eminently adapted to representing it in the Legislature. In politics Mr. Dunn is a Republican.
Oregon Blue Book 1895, page 100

DUNN, George W., retired farmer, banker; b. Ashland January 4, 1864; University of Oregon 1886. Director First National Banks, Ashland, Medford; senator 1923-29; representative 1895-97; county judge 1904-08. Mason. Republican. Address: Ashland, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 74

Banker; former State Senator; Masonic Leader.
b. Ashland, Oregon, January 4, 1864; son of Patrick and Mary M. (Hill) Dunn; educated public schools of Ashland; University of Oregon 1882-86 B.A., M.A. 1892; m. Alta E. Miller February 19, 1890 (deceased); m. 2nd Laura M. Burnett June 8, 1907; children Ada Ellen (Shaffer), George Edwin, Miller P., Horace Hill; operator and owner family farm to 1920; one of organizers First National Bank of Medford, director to 1935 and served as vice-president several years; president First National Bank Ashland, director 32 years until bank was sold; Representative, State Legislature 1896-98; County Judge, Jackson County, 1904-08; State Senator 1923-43; member of the Chamber of Commerce; Knights Templar Mason (past Grand Commander, Oregon); Kiwanian; Elk (past Exalted Ruler); Republican; address 65 Granite Street, Ashland
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 162

    MRS. MARY MINERVA (HILL) DUNN, of Ashland, is the widow of the late Patrick Dunn, a pioneer of prominence, and a much esteemed citizen, whose death, July 29, 1901, was a cause of general regret. A daughter of Isaac Hill, Mrs. Dunn was born in Sweetwater, Monroe County, Tenn. She comes of Revolutionary stock, her great-grandfather, Abner Hill, who was of English ancestry, having served as an officer in the Revolutionary War. Her grandfather, Joab Hill, a native of Virginia, was colonel of a regiment in the War of 1812, and afterwards settled in Tennessee, where he owned and managed a large plantation. Going from there to Missouri, he located near the town of Athens, and there spent his remaining days.
    Born and reared in old Virginia, Isaac Hill moved with his parents to eastern Tennessee, later going to Missouri, residing there about a year. Removing from there to Iowa, his home was near Dubuque for about two years. Subsequently, with a brother from Missouri, and his mother, he came with ox teams across the plains to Oregon, arriving in Clatsop County, Ore., in the fall of 1849. The following winter he built a mill on Clatsop Plains, which he operated for a few months. Crossing the mountains to California in the spring of 1850, he was engaged in mining in Yreka and Humbug, remaining in Siskiyou County about one year. Starting east for his family in 1851, he went through the Rogue River Valley, where he was attracted by a fertile tract of land that he decided to take up at a later time, but when he returned to the valley he found it had been taken by Patrick Dunn, whom his daughter afterwards married. Leaving Tennessee with his family February 14, 1852, Mr. Hill proceeded by water to Alexander, Mo., and thence to near to Oskaloosa, Iowa, where he purchased a traveling outfit, including three wagons, and about fifteen yoke of oxen. Subsequently buying one hundred head of cattle in Iowa, he started across the plains April 14, 1852, for Oregon, taking the old Oregon Trail. With great foresight he had previously secured from an eminent physician of St. Louis a medicine chest, and a prescription for cholera, which proved so effectual in curing incipient cases of the dread disease on the journey that he was called by the company Dr. Hill. Arriving in Marion County October 14, he spent the winter in Salem and in the spring of 1853 came to the Rogue River Valley by the Indian trail. Taking up a donation claim, he improved a farm, and embarked in the dairy business. During the first summer, he milked forty cows, made cheese and butter, receiving for the latter $1 a pound, while salt sold in 1851 and 1852 for $16 a pound. During the Indian war that followed, he served as captain of a company, and was twice obliged to keep his family at Fort Wagner, the refuge of the settlers at that time whenever the Indians became hostile. He had a large ranch of six hundred and forty acres, and was actively engaged in its management until his death, from cholera, in 1864. He was the first man in the Rogue River Valley to raise tobacco. On his original claim is located the Hill Soda Spring, and the Hill Butte. He was a Democrat in politics, served as justice of the peace many years, and was a member of the Baptist Church.
    Mr. Hill married Elizabeth Fine, who was born on the French Broad River, in North Carolina, September 11, 1806, and died in Ashland, Ore., at the age of seventy-three years. She was a daughter of John and Mary (Lee) Fine, and a cousin of Gen. Robert F. Lee. Both Mr. and Mrs. Lee were natives of Virginia, and Mr. Lee was a soldier in the War of 1812. Mr. and Mrs. Hill became the parents of six children, namely: La Grande, who came to California with the forty-niners, and died, in 1886, in Ashland, Ore.; John, who was accidentally drowned in the Missouri River, at Omaha, in 1852; Cicero, a merchant, who died in December, 1902, in Portland; Mrs. Martha Gillette, of Ashland; Mary Minerva, now Mrs. Dunn; and Mrs. Ann Haseltine Russell, of Ashland.
    February 23, 1854, on the Isaac Hill donation claim Mary M. Hill was united in marriage with Patrick Dunn, one of the early settlers of Ashland. Born in County Wexford, Ireland, March 24, 1824, Mr. Dunn came with his parents to America, and was educated in Philadelphia, Pa. His parents, Patrick Sr., and Jane (Toole) Dunn, removed with their seven children, of whom Patrick was the youngest child, from Philadelphia to Illinois, and settled on a farm near Edwardsville, where both spent their remaining years. In 1850 Patrick Dunn, excited by the wonderful stories regarding the gold discovery in California, started for the Pacific Coast. Joining the miners on the Salmon River, he nearly lost his life from starvation and exposure the following winter, the campers being snowed in, and for many weeks cut off from all supplies. As early in the spring as he could possibly get over the mountains, Mr. Dunn came to Oregon, locating in Jackson County. Taking up a donation claim of four hundred and eighty acres, about four miles south of Ashland, he improved one of the finest and most productive farms in this part of the state. With his neighbors he took part in the Rogue River Indian Wars, and on one occasion while going with a party to interview a few Indians commanded by Sambo, of "Old Jo's" band, in order to make a treaty if possible, he received a severe wound in the shoulder, from the effects of which he never fully recovered. Mr. Dunn was very successful in his business operations, acquiring a handsome property. In addition to his home ranch, he also owned five hundred acres of land just above his homestead, and had a large interest in the Jackson County Land Company, and he also owned an extensive ranch near Lakeview.
    Of the union of Mr. and Mrs. Dunn five children were born, namely: Mrs. Elizabeth Van Sant, of Ashland; Mrs. Amy Willitts, whose death occurred in Jackson County in 1883; Ottilla, wife of Stewart Caldwell, of Ashland; George W., living on the home farm; and Mrs. Ella D. Rice, of Ashland. Politically Mr. Dunn was a steadfast Republican, and filled many places of responsibility and trust with credit to himself, and to the honor of his constituents. In 1854 and 1855 he was a representative to the territorial legislature; in 1864 he was county assessor; in 1872 he was elected county clerk; and he also served as county commissioner. Fraternally he was a Mason, belonging to the Blue Lodge and the Royal Arch Chapter. He was buried in the Ashland cemetery with Masonic honors, the services at the grave being conducted by Ashland Lodge, of which he was a member. Mrs. Dunn belongs to the Jackson County Pioneer Association, and the Oregon Pioneer Association, and is a member of the Presbyterian Church. Like her husband, she is a strong advocate of the principles of the Republican Party.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 663-665

    PATRICK DUNN: lives east of Ashland; is a farmer; address is Ashland; was born in Wexford County, Ind., March 24, 1824; came to Oregon and this county in 1851; was married in 1854 to Mary M. Hill. Children Elizabeth J., Amy L., Ottilla, George W. and Mary E.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

PATRICK DUNN.--This name is very familiar to the residents of Jackson County. He has been a resident of Oregon since 1851, and during his residence in this state has figured prominently in the civil history of Jackson County. He came from Wexford County, Ireland, where he was born, March 24, 1824. His parents were Patrick and Johanna (Toole) Dunn, both natives of the same county, emigrating to America, locating at Philadelphia when the subject was yet young. He is the youngest of seven children and received his education in the schools of Philadelphia, and was reared to mercantile pursuits until 1841, when the family removed to Madison County, Illinois. Here he engaged in milling, which pursuit he followed until 1850, when he crossed the plains to California, and engaged in mining at Kelly's Bar, on the American River, later at Auburn, Placer County, and thence to Salmon River and Yreka, and in 1852 mined for a time at Jacksonville, Oregon. During his mining experiences he was fairly successful. Following, this time he took a donation claim near Ashland, which he still owns, and is now occupied by his son. Mr. Dunn retired from active farming some six years ago, and removed into the city of Ashland. The farm consists of some 250 acres, ten of which is in orchard, a general variety of fruits, the products being sold to the local trade. He also owns a tract of 200 acres nearby, which he has rented out. This tract also contains about four acres of fruit, the balance devoted to general farming.
    He was married February 24, 1854, to Mary M. Hill, of east Tennessee, daughter of Isaac Hill, who first came to California in 1849. He first engaged in mining at Yreka, for a time, and in 1851 he returned home to get his family. When he returned, he settled in the Rogue River Valley, and followed farming and stock-raising until the time of his death, July 1864. Mr. and Mrs. Dunn have four living children: Elizabeth J. Holburg, of Port Townsend, Washington; Ottila D. Caldwell, of Humboldt County, California; George W. and Mary E. Rice, of Ashland; Amy M. died in 1883. Mr. Dunn is a Republican, and has been of considerable service to his party. He was a member of the Territorial Legislature in 1854, serving two terms, and was Assessor in 1865, and County Clerk in 1872, filling that office for two years. He has been County Commissioner several years and has always taken an active interest in school matters. He belongs to A.F.&A.M., Blue Lodge and Royal Arch, and has had the honor of filling the office of S.W. in the first lodge organized in Jackson County. He also belonged to I.O.O.F. in the East.

Rev. H. K. Hines, An Illustrated History of the State of Oregon, 1893, page 421

Physician and Surgeon.
b. Albany, Oregon, Jan. 26, 1899; son of John P. and Clara E. (Weddell) Durno, pioneers of Oregon; educated public schools of Silverton; University of Oregon, B.S. 1922; Harvard, M.D. 1927; interned Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston; Phi Delta Theta, Nu Sigma Nu; m. Evelyn Baker of Dunkirk, New York 1929; children Anne, Jane, Kay; private practice, general surgery Medford 1930-; served as infantry sergeant World War I; major Medical Corps, 1st Auxiliary Surgery Group, World War II, overseas; member American, State and Jackson County medical associations; University Club; Elk; Mason; Republican; Protestant; home 1913 Hillcrest Road; office Fluhrer Bldg., Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 164

    JAMES H. DUTTON. In the field of public utility known as building and contracting James H. Dutton occupies a prominent place in Ashland and Jackson County, his training for his chosen work having been thorough and practical. Years of success are being crowned at present by a contract for the erection of the normal school at Ashland, now in process of construction.
    Mr. Dutton is a native son of the West, and was born in San Francisco, July 1, 1864. His life occupation took shape under the direction of his father, Joseph Dutton, a builder and contractor, who exercised his ability in San Francisco from 1860 until his death in 1895. Joseph Dutton and his father, Thomas, came from Ireland and located in Cattaraugus County, N.Y., where Joseph married Catherine Cully, a native of New Hampshire. He engaged in building and contracting in New York state for several years prior to coming to the West by way of Panama, and reared a family of four daughters and one son, of whom one daughter is deceased. The mother of these children still makes her home in San Francisco. James H., the oldest in the family, began to work with his father when he was about fifteen years old, but was not content to be a mere builder, and so arranged to study the art of architecture. This was by no means an easy task, for his days were filled with work, and he had not sufficient means to suspend operations while studying the higher branch of his calling. Accordingly, his evenings were spent in study. In 1886 he went to Los Angeles, Cal., and followed his trade for eighteen months, afterward spending the same length of time in Portland. For a year he built and contracted in Spokane, Wash., and then removed to Genesee, Idaho, remaining there until coming to Ashland in 1900. He was one of the foremost builders and contractors of the Idaho town, and probably is responsible for more than three fourths of the structures in it. In Ashland, besides the normal school, he has built the Grant, Burdick, Perozzi, Sales, Inglerock and Pengra residences, besides many of the schools, churches, and other public buildings. Mr. Dutton is a member of the Board of Trade, and in politics is a Democrat. Fraternally he is connected with the Knights of Pythias.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 760-763

EATON, William Henry, clergyman; b. Olathe, Kansas; to Oregon 1909; A.B., Ottawa University; A.M. Ottawa; Ph.D. Western University; m. May E. King May 2, 1915; children--Myron Ellery. I.O.O.F. Baptist, Address: 42 Rose Avenue, Medford, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 75

    GUSTAVUS EDLUND. One of the most trustworthy and capable employees of the Southern Pacific Railroad Company is Gustavus Edlund, a competent and skillful engineer, whose run is northward from Ashland, his place of residence. Early turning his attention to mechanical labor, he first learned the use of tools, afterwards becoming interested in machinery of all kinds, in course of time becoming an expert machinist, and actively identified with the railway transportation of the country. During the past three years he has occupied his present position, and has proved himself a most careful and capable manager of his engine, his good luck in avoiding accident and disaster being due to his prudence, obedience to orders, and constant watchfulness. A native of Sweden, he was born June 20, 1870, in Falkoping, near Lake Wetter. His father, Andrew Edlund, a lifelong farmer, died in early life. His widow, whose maiden name was Carrie Johnson, resides on the old homestead, in Falkoping. Of the four children she bore her husband, two are living, Gustavus, the youngest child, being the only one that ever came to this country.
    Having completed his early education in the public schools of Sweden, Gustavus Edlund assisted in the care of the home farm until seventeen years old. In the spring of 1888, with an inspiration born of courage and a love of adventure, he emigrated to the United States, hoping in this large and fruitful country to greatly advance his business opportunities. Going directly to Minnesota, he worked at the carpenter's trade in Minneapolis for two years. Proceeding westward to Montana in the fall of 1890, he spent but a short time there, working for a few weeks each in Missoula and Helena. Coming to Oregon in December, 1890, Mr. Edlund located at Talent, Jackson County, where he had charge of a stationary engine for a number of months. Entering the employ of Cook & Co., in 1892, he was engineer in their sawmill, on the Klamath River, for two years. In August, 1894, he went to Dunsmuir, Cal., where he was employed in the Southern Pacific shops for almost three years. Continuing in the employ of the same company, Mr. Edlund was fireman on that part of the road extending from Red Bluff, Cal., to Ashland, Ore.; from July, 1897, until October 4, 1900, when he was promoted to his present position as engineer, his run being from Ashland towards Roseburg. Locating in Ashland in 1898, Mr. Edlund built his comfortable and attractive residence in 1899, and has since taken an active part in municipal affairs, faithfully performing his duties as a public-spirited and loyal citizen. Elected a member of the city council in December, 1901, he assumed the office in January, 1902, and served as chairman of the fire and water committee until April, 1903, when he resigned the position on account of an intended trip to his old home in Sweden. This trip he subsequently made, taking a vacation of twelve weeks in the summer of 1903, when he visited his aged mother and his other relatives and friends in his native land.
    In Talent, Ore., the birthplace of his bride, Mr. Edlund married Emma Abbott, a daughter of John Abbott, a prosperous farmer of Talent, and one of the early settlers of Oregon. Three children have blessed their union, namely: Hulda Alverda, Delpha and Halmer. Politically Mr. Edlund is a staunch supporter of the principles promulgated by the Republican Party. Fraternally he is a member of Dunsmuir Lodge, No. 297, A.F.&A.M.; of Siskiyou Chapter, No. 21, R.A.M.; a member of Al Kader Temple, N.M.S.; of the Dunsmuir Division, B. of L.E.; and of the Knights of the Maccabees.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 699-700


Born: Chicago, Ill., Aug. 21, 1884.
Parents: William Constantine Egan, Sarah Olivia Chandler Egan
School: Rugby School, Kenilworth, Ill.
Years in College: 1901-1905
Degrees: A.B., 1905
Married: Nina Lydia McNally, Chicago, Ill., June 29, 1910
Children: Eleanor, April 9, 1911
Occupation: Orchardist
Address: R.F.D. No. 3, Medford, Ore.
    The story of my life since leaving college would hardly be called interesting, except to myself, for a constant struggle to rise from debt, while monotonous, is hardly without its moments of excitement. My preliminary heats were with the Chicago Varnish Company as salesman for some six months; two years with the Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance Co. as agent under Saml. T. Chase of Chicago, who cheers for the same alma mater; one year in the freight department of the Louisville & Nashville R.R., and two years with the American Surety Co. in Chicago. My railroad career was particularly interesting in that I probably lost more than I gained, as the wrong side of the ledger showed some twenty pounds of flesh, to say nothing of an appendix.
    Finally, in the spring of 1911, I persuaded five friends in Chicago to purchase an orchard in the Rogue River Valley, near Medford, Oregon, and to allow me to manage it for them with the hope of future remuneration for all parties concerned. If the great war does not kill off all the possible eaters of pears and apples we expect to fulfill our hopes.
    The only position of honor or trust that has been accorded me was when I was stated as stakeholder in a small betting transaction. I might add for your information that the winner received the money.
    The loyal Harvard men of this Rogue River Valley are hoping that the meeting of the Associated Harvard Clubs in San Francisco in 1915 will bring many of our long-lost brothers to visit in Medford, Oregon, on their way out or back, in order that we may enjoy their society and that they may see how the good Lord intended people to live. Member: Exmoor Country Club, Highland Park, Illinois (life member); Fox Hills Golf Club, Staten Island, New York (honorary member); Waverly Country Club, Portland, Oregon (honorary member); Medford Golf and Country Club, Medford, Oregon; Rogue River Valley University Club, Medford, Oregon.
Harvard College Class of 1905 Decennial Report, June, 1915, pages 144-145

ELLIOTT, Bert Roy, D.D.S.; b. Dallas, Ore., July 1, 1887; Dallas College, 1907; North Pacific College, 1915; m. Marguerite Ellen Heyer, December 15, 1915; children--Frederick, Amy Burritt, James Heyer, Joan. President State Building & Loan Association; president Medford Mausoleum Association; vice president State Dental Association; president Southern Oregon Dental Association; president Study Club, 1926; superintendent Presbyterian Sunday School; Shrine; I.O.O.F.; Elk; Chamber of Commerce; vice president Lions Club; Craters; Rogue River Golf Club; Shady Grove Club, American Legion; City Council 1925. Republican. Presbyterian. Address: 304 Medford Building, Medford, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 77

b. Dallas, Oregon, July 1, 1887; son of James and Abigail E.; educated public schools, Dallas; Dallas College 1907; University of Oregon Dental School, D.M.D. 1915; Psi Omega; m. Julia Martin 1939; children Amy (Mrs. W. L. Barnum), James, Joan; private practice 1915-; member State Board of Dental Examiners (term to 1948); former member Medford City council; served as Captain, Dental Corps, U.S. Army, World War I; member Chamber of Commerce; trustee, Girls' Community Club; director Medford YMCA; Legionnaire; Mason; Fellow, American College of Dentists; Republican; Presbyterian; home Elliott Dairy Farm, Rt. 2.; office 304 Medford Bldg., Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 171

    EBER EMERY: lives at Eagle Point; is a merchant; was born in Bedford County, Pennsylvania, July 20, 1819; was married November 9, 1841, to Sophia Hoover; they came to state and county in 1852.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

    H. S. EMERY: lives in Ashland: is a mechanic and builder; is a native of Ohio; came to this place in 1853; married Miss A. Colvig, March 1, 1873. Children Nina B., Katie P., Harry C. and Melvin S.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

    MRS. E. R. ERB: lives near Ashland; is a farmer; was born in Virginia; came to state in 1864, to county in 1867; maiden name was Elizabeth K. Sively. Children Melissa, Elizabeth A., Margaret, Phoebe J., William W. and Frosine.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

Martin L. Erickson

Business address, Medford, Ore.
Home address, Flandreau, S. Dak.
    Martin Lewis Erickson was born June 14, 1880, in Saint Olaf, Iowa, the son of O. W. Erickson and Gunild (Thompson) Erickson. He is of Norwegian ancestry. He has two brothers : Theodore O. Erickson, B.A. University of Minnesota '01 and LL.B. '03, and Eric E. Erickson.
    He was prepared at the high school in Flandreau, S. Dak., and in 1901 attended the South Dakota State Agricultural College. In 1903 he graduated from the Agricultural Department of the University of Minnesota. While in college he worked for lumber companies during vacations.
    He is unmarried.
    Erickson is supervisor of the Crater National Forest, with headquarters in Medford, Oregon. He has held this position since December 1, 1908.
Biographical Record of Graduates and Former Students of the Yale Forest School, 1913, page 124

    J. S. EUBANKS: lives in Ashland, is a blacksmith; was born in Gallatin County, Illinois; came to California in 1860; to Oregon 1874; was married to Miss Hannah Sloan, December 30, 1851. Children Hortense, Pauline, Rosamond, John S., James G., George G., Edgar C., Mary E. and Albert A.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

    CAPT. HIRAM S. EVANS. In these times of commercialism the artist who turns his talent into practical channels shows a wisdom far in excess of those who cater rather to the luxury than the necessity of mankind. Since advertising has come to be the great lubricant which keeps in running order the wheels of almost all lines of business, the most exceptional literary and artistic ability has been enlisted in its service, thus affording talent a field for enormous distribution, and almost certain gratifying financial returns. Sign painting, one of the oldest and largest departments of advertising, has become an art, and in this Capt. Hiram S. Evans excels, having few superiors in his line in the country. Captain Evans is also known as one of the foremost military men of Southern Oregon, and has gained his rank through valuable service in the Oregon National Guard. His life as a sign painter, general decorator, owner and manager of an art supply store, and military disciplinarian, is a broad and public-spirited one, and causes him to rank among the foremost citizens of Ashland.
    Captain Evans was born in San Francisco, Cal., May 24, 1858, and is the son of Francis B. and Emma (Brady) Evans, the latter of whom was born in Greenwich, England, and at present makes her home with her son, Hiram. Francis B. Evans was born in County Limerick, Ireland, his father having settled there upon removal from his native country of Wales. Francis B. learned the millwright's trade in his youth, and for many years he was an officer in the English navy, serving on a man-of-war in China and India. No more prized relic is owned by Captain Evans than an old English blunderbuss which did service in those far distant days. Mr. Evans finally touched at the shores of New Zealand, secured his discharge from the service, and married, soon after taking his wife to Australia, where he looked for, but failed to find, a fortune in the Bendigo mines. Later on he plied his trade as millwright and builder in the Sandwich Islands and in 1857 came to San Francisco, where he made his way to the mines on the American River. During the Virginia City excitement he was shrewd enough to know that he could make more money in building mills to crush quartz than in digging the ore for others to crush, and accordingly he built many of the quartz mills which did such able work and aided in the acquiring of so many fortunes in Nevada. Afterward he engaged in merchandising and other occupations in Nevada and Washington, remaining many years in the great Northwest, and finally returned to San Francisco, where his death occurred at the age of sixty-five. There were eight children in his family, seven of whom attained maturity. Francis, the oldest son, was accidentally killed in the Virginia City mines; Ellen, the wife of Mr. Carpenter, died in California; Joseph lives in Montana, and is connected with the Northern Pacific Railroad; Charles is a mining and stock broker in New York city; Hiram S. is the fifth of the children; Emma is the wife of Mr. McCumsey of Placerville, Cal.; Samuel was formerly a farmer in Washington, but in 1892 came to Ashland and has since been in partnership with his brother Hiram , and Annie is the wife of Mr. Mace, of Anaconda, Wash.
    Captain Evans was seventeen years old when his family moved from Placerville to Silver City, Nev., and in the meantime he had acquired a common school education in the public schools of the former city. From boyhood up he showed a natural aptitude for drawing and painting, and cultivated his talent during his leisure when working in the quartz mines of Nevada. For a year he clerked in his father's store in Carson City, and from there went to Walla Walla, Wash., where he taught painting and general art for several years. Later on, during the construction of the Northern Pacific Railroad, he became manager of the store of Sprague & Fairweather, and in 1881 managed the store of Abrams & Wheeler at Roseburg, remaining with the latter firm until they closed out their stock on the completion of the railroad to Ashland. Since then he has engaged in contract painting and has decorated all of the churches, the opera house, normal school, the Hotel Oregon, and the Pioneer Hall, besides many school houses, public buildings, and private residences. He possesses a remarkable knowledge of combinations and effects, invariably securing harmonious and practical results, and without exception is the foremost decorator in Southern Oregon, and one of the finest in the West. As a sign painter he has few superiors in the country. Mr. Evans owns his paint and general supply store on Main Street, a well-stocked enterprise, where anything in that line can be purchased. His ability is by no means confined to his adopted town, for he is often called to different points of the state, and many fine examples of his work may be seen throughout Southern Oregon and Northern California. He owns considerable town property besides his home, which is erected in the midst of a thrifty little orchard. Mr. Evans is vice president and a stockholder in the Oregon and California Lime Company, which owns a mountain of marble, and is making extensive developments.
    Captain Evans' association with the Oregon National Guard began in 1898, when he enlisted in Company B, Third Regiment, O.N.G., as a private. May 6, 1899, he was commissioned second lieutenant by Gov. T. T. Geer, and November 29, 1902, he was elected captain by the company, and commissioned by Governor Chamberlain as captain of Company B, Fourth Regiment, Oregon National Guard, in November, 1902, serving until February, 1903. Upon the reorganization of the National Guard, July 29, 1903, he was commissioned captain of Company B, First Separate Battalion, by Governor Chamberlain, which position he still holds. Captain Evans has been an active member of the fire department of this town for six years, and is now serving as assistant chief of the department. He is fraternally very prominent, being a member and past noble grand of Ashland Lodge No. 45, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and past grand representative to the Grand Lodge of Oregon. He is also a member of the Pilot Rock Encampment, and is at present district deputy chief patriarch: also a member of the Woodmen of the World. He is a Democrat in politics, and is a member of the Board of Trade, and served one term in the Ashland city council. On December 15, 1903, the captain was elected mayor of the city of Ashland, on the Citizens' ticket, receiving a majority of fifty-nine votes.
Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, 1904, page 541

FABRICK, Glen R.; b. Rockford, Illinois 1877; to Oregon 1900; University of Wisconsin 1898; m. Margaret Roberts May 15, 1905; children--five. Past president Oregon Laundry Owners Association; Mason; B.P.O.E.; Shrine; Kiwanis; Democrat. Address: 30 N. Riverside, Medford, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 80

Owner, Medford Domestic Laundry.
b. Hood River, Oregon April 1, 1906; son of Glen R. and Margaret (Roberts) Fabrick; educated Medford grade and high schools; University of Oregon 1924-28; m. Wilda Johnson, Medford, Oct. 15, 1935; son Stephen Roberts; entire life active with Medford Domestic Laundry Co. (founded by family 1907) since 1929; owner since 1943; instrumental in bringing about installation of lights for baseball park (secretary-treasurer Medford Athletic Association 1940-41); past president and developed Rogue Snowmen (ski club); past president State Laundry Owners Association; member Elks; Kiwanian (vice-president 1945); Chamber of Commerce; K.T. Mason (past master Blue Lodge 1941); Hillah Shriner (Captain of Patrol); Democrat; Episcopalian; home 2404 Hillcrest; office 30 N. Riverside Ave., Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 180

    EDWARD J. FARLOW. A worthy representative of one of the pioneer families of Oregon, and a resident of the state for more than half a century, Edward J. Farlow, of Ashland, holds a conspicuous position among the respected and honored citizens of Jackson County, being esteemed not only for the substantial ancestry from which he is descended, but for his own integrity and worth. Active, educated, intelligent and progressive, he has been intimately associated with the industrial advancement and prosperity of city and county. Prosperous as a rule in all of his undertakings, he has met with such financial success in his various operations, that he is now enabled to live retired from business cares. A son of the late Hiram Farlow, he was born April 24, 1851, in Rock Island County, Ill., near the city of Rock Island. His paternal grandfather, John Farlow, a native of one of the eastern states, served in the War of 1812, and afterwards devoted himself to agricultural pursuits, living first in Indiana and then in Illinois.
    Born in Indiana, about 1820, Hiram Farlow removed with his parents to Illinois, where he followed farming to some extent, and was also a skilled blacksmith. In 1852 he crossed the plains to Oregon, stowing away his family, which consisted of his wife and three children, and his household effects in two large wagons, each drawn by four big mules. The party, which included his brother-in-law, Richard Farwell, who had crossed the plains in 1849, intended to go directly to California, but at the parting of the ways decided to take the Barlow route, and come to Oregon instead. After a very quick trip, being but little more than three months on the way, the company arrived in the Willamette Valley early in August. Purchasing a claim of three hundred and twenty acres about four miles north of Albany, Hiram Farlow improved a fine ranch, on which he subsequently built a blacksmith's shop. Disposing of his stock in 1868, he rented his farm and bought property in Ashland, and on the plaza erected a smithy, which he conducted until his retirement from active pursuits. A man of superior character and ability, he was well worthy of the respect and esteem so generously accorded him. He died at his home in Ashland, in September, 1900, in the eightieth year of his age. Politically he affiliated with the Democratic Party. He married Lucinda Farwell, who was born in New Hampshire, a daughter of Dr. Moores Farwell, one of the pioneer physicians of Illinois. She died in March, 1900, at Ashland, in the seventy-sixth year of her age. Of the eight children that she bore her husband, two daughters and one son are living.
    The third child in order of birth of the parental family, Edward J. Farlow was but little more than a year old when he came with his parents to Oregon. He obtained his early education in the district schools of Linn County, walking three miles each morning that he might not miss a lesson. After coming to Ashland in 1868 he continued his studies at the old Ashland College, from which he was graduated in 1873. The following three years he was employed as a clerk in a general store, and obtained a fair insight into the details of mercantile pursuits. In 1876, in partnership with Dr. Inlow, he opened a drug store on the plaza, and carried on a good business until the memorable fire of 1879 burned their establishment, the stock and building, which were uninsured, being a total loss. Subsequently forming a partnership with Mr. Fountain, Mr. Farlow erected on the plaza a brick building, 25x75 feet, and put in a stock of general merchandise. For the ensuing two years he carried on business as junior member of the firm of Fountain & Farlow, and then sold out his interest in the firm. He was afterwards engaged in the grocery business in this city for three years. In 1887 he was appointed postmaster by President Cleveland, and served until his successor was appointed, nearly four years later. Mr. Farlow then embarked in the real estate and insurance business, with which he was actively identified until a few years ago, when he retired from the activities of business. He has been active in county and municipal affairs, and is a prominent worker in the Democratic Party. From 1876 until 1878 he served as county school superintendent, and for one term represented his ward in the city council.
    October 3, 1875, at Phoenix, Jackson County, Ore., Mr. Farlow married Mary D. Colver, a native of that town, and of honored pioneer ancestry, her Grandfather Colver, and her father, Hiram Colver, having both been among the pioneer settlers of Oregon. Born and reared in Ohio, Hiram Colver came to Oregon in 1851, settling first in Lane County, and then coming to Jackson County. Taking up a donation claim adjoining the town of Phoenix, he improved a ranch, but later removed to Phoenix, where he was engaged in the practice of law until his death. He was an active citizen, performing his full share of pioneer labor, and served throughout the entire period of the Rogue River Indian War. His wife, whose maiden name was Maria Ward, died in 1890, in Phoenix. Mr. and Mrs. Farlow are the parents of two children, namely: Elda, a graduate of the Pacific Coast Business College, at San Jose, Cal.; and Elbert J. Mr. Farlow is a member, and past noble grand, in Pilot Rock Lodge, No. 45, I.O.O.F.; is a member, and past chief patriarch, of Ashland Encampment; and belongs to both the Ancient Order of United Workmen and to the Woodmen of the World. He is also a member of the Jackson County Pioneer Society.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 946-947

    MRS. SARAH A. FARNHAM, formerly Miss Billings, and wife of the late Allen F. Farnham, was born May 12, 1833, in Litchfield, Maine. Here she grew to womanhood, receiving a liberal education. Local facilities did not furnish the means for a thorough education, such as she resolved to possess, so she went to Charleston, Mass, and entered the female seminary, where she graduated in the class of 1856. Two years later Miss Billings married Allen F. Farnham, who was born in Woolwich, Maine, December 7, 1822. Her husband had been a student in the Bowdoin College, but was turned from his purpose of taking a degree by the gold excitement in California in 1849. In May, 1850, Mr. Farnham arrived in California and finally reached Scotts Bar, on Scotts River, Siskiyou County, where he anchored permanently, engaging in mining. Industry and enterprise, coupled with good judgment, made him one among a thousand to make mining a success. The builders of the Eagle Mills near Ashland borrowed money from him to complete that enterprise, which means were never withdrawn, but afterward applied on stock in the company; later, Mr. Farnham became sole proprietor of this property. which he retained and operated until his death, August 16, 1876. Mr. Farnham went to Jackson County, Oregon, in November, 1864, and has since made several trips across the continent. Mrs. Farnham lives in her commodious residence near Ashland, an illustration of which appears in this volume. The family consists of three children, Emma Eugenia, Clarence and Walter.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 527

b. Pocatello, Idaho Nov. 29, 1891; son of Timothy M. and Belle M. (Markley) Farrell; educated grade and high schools Pocatello; University of Oregon Law School, 2 years; Sigma Nu; Delta Theta Phi; m. Katherine Robinson, Medford, June 18, 1921; children Patricia and Calista; began practice in office of late an Reames of Medford 1919-21; admitted to Oregon Bar 1919; admitted to California Bar 1922; practiced Long Beach 1922-26; practiced Medford 1926-; ex-chairman County Republican Central Committee; City Attorney Medford 1929-; Gold Hill also; served U.S. Naval Aviation, World War I (Ensign); director Community Chest; member American Legion (past post commander); Elks; Chamber of Commerce; University Club of Medford; Republican; home 1510 E. Main; office Fluhrer Bldg., Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 182

Secretary-Treasurer, C. M. Kidd & Co.; City Councilman, Medford.
b. Giltner, Neb., Aug. 2, 1890; son of George A. (early settler in Neb. plains, Platte River) and Grace (Chubbuck) Field; educated Hastings, Neb. grade and high schools; m. Berna Roberts, Medford, April 28,1917; children Harvey D. (served U.S. Army Air Corps); Jeanette (Mrs. Capt. Marvin F. Burke); began as store clerk, Nebraska; employed three years iron foundries, Hastings, Neb.; with C. M. Kidd Shoe Store 1911-15; secretary-treasurer of C. M. Kidd & Co. (shoe merchants) since 1914; director Jackson County Building & Loan Association; Councilman 1942, elected 1945-Jan. 1949; member committee on War Bond drives; active high school vocational work; member Medford Merchants Association; Mason (past master, Blue Lodge 1932); Malta Commandery K.T. (past commander); Hillah Shriner; delegate of Blue Lodge, Grand Lodge, Portland; Presbyterian (member); home 24 Crater Lake Ave.; [office] 221 E. Main, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, pages 186-187

    EDWARD J. FARLOW: lives in Ashland; is a merchant; was born in Rock Island County, Illinois; came to state in 1852; to county in 1868; was married October, 1875, to Mary D. Colver.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

    One of the leading lawyers in Southern Oregon for many years was Hon. James D. Fay. He was one of the picturesque characters of the early settlement of Southern Oregon. Our attention was attracted to him when a boy when he was the representative in the Legislature from Jackson and Josephine counties, and afterwards when a senator from Jackson County. We had a boy's personal acquaintance with him that he probably did not recollect in after years.
    His was a nature that made warm friends and bitter enemies. We distinctly remember when he led a forlorn hope as a candidate for Congress. He was no hypocrite or dissimulator. A man of courage and determination, of a bright and social disposition, the temptations of this life seemed to require all his self-control to master. Open and frank in manner, his frailties were plainly in evidence, while the cautious man is able to conceal them. When Representative Rader, of Jackson County, died at Salem in 1870, during the session of the Legislature, from that dreaded and malignant disease, smallpox, it was difficult to find persons who would assist in his burial. We remember that James D. Fay was one of those who assisted in burying the body of his friend and fellow legislator. He was true in case of necessity when a friend was needed: Whatever faults he may have had they were greatly outnumbered and softened by the many good qualities which commended him to men who prefer honorable endeavor and a manly fighter to the skulking sneak who covers up his tracks and pretends friendship when nothing but malice and envy permeates his whole existence.
    It is with much pleasure we place this stone upon the cairn of one who fell untimely in life's battle.

Oregon Law School Journal, November 1902, page 50

    DAVID FINNAMORE. Although practically a newcomer in Jackson County, Ore., where in 1902 he purchased a fine two-hundred-acre farm in the neighborhood of Table Rock in Sams Valley, Mr. Finnamore has been identified with varied industries along the Pacific coast since first coming to this section of the country in 1859. He is bound by close ties to Rensselaer County, N.Y., for he was born in Troy in that county, March 15, 1827. There also he passed the years of his boyhood and early manhood, remaining there until reaching his twenty-third year. Leaving his native town to seek his fortune, he located for a time in Scott County, Iowa, where he was occupied in agricultural pursuits for some time prior to his departure for California, the trip to that state being made in six months' time. The three years following Mr. Finnamore turned his attention to mining and prospecting at Shingle, near Placerville. His next field of labor was in Arizona, where he followed similar work for about a year. Returning to California for a brief time, he subsequently went to Nevada and took up his old occupation of farming in the Carson Valley and later in the Walker River Valley, where he was fairly prosperous until his removal to Oregon in 1887. Proceeding to Lake County, he engaged in the stock business in the vicinity of Goose Lake, near the southern boundary of the state, but not meeting with flattering success in that locality he followed similar business in the Harney Valley, where there was abundant forage, and for a number of years thereafter, or until 1902, he was successfully engaged in this business, raising both cattle and horses. He finally disposed of his stock interests in that section and purchased a permanent location in Jackson County, which is a far more desirable residence section of the state. Although too busy to aspire to any official position, Mr. Finnamore has always been a follower of the political destinies of the Republican Party. He has a very good farm, with buildings tastefully arranged and kept in repair, and on all sides may be seen evidences of thrift and prosperity on the part of the owner.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, page 1027

    DANIEL F. FISHER: lives near Willow Springs; is a farmer; was born in Virginia; came to state in 1849, and to county in 1850; was married in 1864, to Mrs. Mary Peninger; Mrs. Peninger had ten children, only two of whom, David and William, are living.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

Owner, Fluhrer's Bakeries; Civic Leader.
b. Trail, British Columbia, Canada, March 27, 1899; son of John A. and Elizabeth W. (Hoefer) Fluhrer; educated public schools and Saylor Boarding School for Boys; Washington State College; Sigma Phi Epsilon; m. Margaret Strong Ames of Medford, Oregon, Dec. 12, 1930; began as nipper, Hercules Mining Co., Burke, Idaho; bakery business, Silverton, Oregon, 1919-21; established Fluhrer Bakeries at Medford 1921, owner and operator to date, also operating plants at Yreka, Calif. since 1929; Klamath Falls since 1935; Eureka, Calif. since 1938; Grants Pass since 1943; owner Fluhrer Building, Grants Pass [sic], president First Federal Savings and Loan Association, Medford; president Medford Investment Co. 1936; served U.S. Army, World War I; Lt. Col. Air Force serving South America, Africa, Europe and Asia, World War II; recipient, Air Medal, Bronze Star; president Jackson County Chamber of Commerce 1946; Legionnaire; member Rotary Club, University Club, Elk, Mason; Hillah Shriner; Republican; Lutheran; home Wellington Heights; office 6th and Holly sts., Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 192

Partner, Trowbridge & Flynn, Electrical Contractors.
b. Palouse, Wash., April 29, 1896; son of Thomas and Alice (Guck) Flynn; educated Medford grade and high schools; m. Fay Rinabarger, Medford, Dec. 25, 1919; children Dorothy (Mrs. Donald Ross), Jaclyn (Mrs. Edward Allworth); began with S.P. railroad (division electrician), Portland-Medford District; employed by Peoples Electric Co., Medford, electrical contractors, foreman, superintendent 1921-36; partner Ben J. Trowbridge as Trowbridge & Flynn since 1936; served on War Manpower Board, Arbitration Board; Jackson County Selective Service Board 1942-47; member City Civil Service Commission 1945-; served U.S. Army 1917-19; director Community Chest 1943; director USO 1943-46; Elk; Legionnaire; Rotarian; Republican; Protestant; home 1324 Queen Anne; office 214 W. Main, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 192

Harold D. Foster
Business address, United States Forest Service, Medford, Ore.
Residence, 423 South Newtown Street, Medford, Ore.
    Harold Day Foster was born February 12, 1879, in Jersey City, N.J., the son of Addison Pinneo Foster (deceased), B.A. Williams '63, M.A. and D.D. '86, and Harriette (Day) Foster. His father was a Congregational clergyman and trustee of Berea College and Tuskegee Institute. He is the grandson on his father's side of Eden Burroughs Foster and Catherine (Pinneo) Foster, and on his mother's side of Pliny Butts Day and Harriette (Sampson) Day. He has two sisters: Mabel Grace Foster and Marion (Foster) Gribble, B.A. Mount Holyoke '00; and one brother, Winthrop Davenport Foster, B.A. Williams '04 and M.A. '12.
    He was prepared at the Roxbury Latin School and the Newton (Mass.) High School and received the degree of B.A. from Williams College in 1902.
    He was married December 20, 1904, in Pownal, Vt., to Miss Elisabeth Hermon of Pownal, daughter of William Adams Hermon and Mary Ann (Rickards) Hermon. They have one son, Harold Day Foster, Jr., born June 5, 1907, at Walla Walla, Wash.
    Foster has been employed as forest assistant in the United States Forest Service since July, 1904. He writes: "One summer's work as student assistant in Maine in 1902 and one summer's work in the same capacity in California in 1903 in the Forest Service supplemented my technical education. In Maine I was cruising, in California mapping and gathering data on forest resources. My first assignment as forest assistant in the Service was in the Southern Appalachians, where I did much the same work as in California, but in addition collected silvical data and studied logging possibilities as the basis of an outline for forest management. After a year's detail in the Washington office, I was assigned to the Wenaha, the Whitman and the Crater national forests in Washington and Oregon, in turn. My work on the national forests was interrupted by special details in the Washington office and the district office at Portland, and as examiner of applications under the Act of June 11, 1906, in District 6. I have been for two seasons in charge of field parties engaged in making a map and a reconnaissance of the resources of the Crater National Forest in Oregon and much of my time has been spent as acting supervisor of the Crater Forest."
    He is a member of the Congregational church and of the American Forestry Association and the Society of American Foresters.
    He has published: The distillation of oil of wintergreen from black birch, For. and Irr., reprinted in The Pharmaceutical Era; (with W. W. Ashe) Chestnut oak in the Southern Appalachians, Circ., U. S. Forest Service.

Biographical Record of Graduates and Former Students of the Yale Forest School, 1913, page 76

    ELBERT D. FOUDRAY. When he had reached the advanced age of nearly eighty-three years of age Elbert D. Foudray passed from the scenes of earth, at his home in Phoenix, November 5, 1903. He was one of the early pioneers whose brave shouldering of responsibility on the frontier will always inspire gratitude and admiration, and many incidents in his life might serve as the foundation of an interesting and historically correct story. As a young and energetic man he left his home in Hillsboro, Ky., where he was born January 6, 1821, and went to Charleston, Va., where he clerked in a store for a couple of years. For six years he kept a hotel in the southern city, and afterwards engaged in a mercantile business until 1848. He reached New Orleans when the gold excitement was disturbing the peace of the majority of the inhabitants, and in March, 1849, he set sail on the schooner St. Mary, a merchant vessel. Various adventures befell the staunch craft in the Gulf of Mexico, and it barely escaped total wreckage, but the damage was not considered serious enough to return to port and soon the gold seekers were adrift in the great ocean, dependent upon the will of wind, tide and calm. Cape Horn presented many obstacles to their progress and for seventy-four days they were driven back and forth by the unruly elements, always in danger and always uncertain of their fate. It was a happy day when the vessel turned its bow towards the north, but many days were passed before it pulled into the port of San Francisco in January, 1850.
    Mr. Foudray's first business experience in the West was as a clerk in a grocery store in San Francisco. Afterward he engaged in mining on the Feather River in Trinity County, and in the summer of 1851 he and Benjamin T. Davis purchased thirty mules and started a pack train to the mines of Yreka. In the fall of 1851 he became a clerk in a hotel at Marysville, and his partner in the pack train business went on to the Willamette Valley for a load of flour. This expedition proved disastrous in the extreme, for twenty-five of the mules were drowned in the Umpqua River and the freighting business was practically destroyed. In the fall of 1852 Mr. Foudray went to Jacksonville, but subsequently mined at Yreka for a few months. After returning to Jacksonville he had charge of the soldiers' pack train until the capture of the famous Indian John and his tribe. Afterward he was employed as bookkeeper until 1854, when he filled a clerkship in Jacksonville until 1860. During the latter year Mr. Foudray, Mr. Anderson and Jonas T. Glynn leased the flour mill at Phoenix, and three years later Mr. Foudray became sole owner of the mill, operating it independently until disposing of it in 1869. Upon again locating in Jacksonville he was made deputy sheriff, serving two years, and during that time he encountered many of the rough characters which terrorized the county at that time. Almost the last official act of his life was a journey to Salt Lake City for the purpose of arresting Sam May, former secretary of state.
    His term of deputy sheriff having expired, Mr. Foudray engaged in the mercantile business in Jacksonville until the outbreak of the Modoc War, in 1873, when the governor appointed him aid to General Ross. The war ended, he returned to the store, but left the same in June, 1874, after his election as county clerk. He served in this capacity two terms, or four years, afterward serving as justice of the peace for six years. In partnership with Thomas McKenzie he built and operated the flouring mills at Jacksonville, and in 1890 came to Phoenix, where he was living retired at the time of his death. Many improvements in county affairs were traceable to the support and assistance of Mr. Foudray, and it was principally through his influence in the legislature in 1866 that the bill was introduced advocating the building of the railroad through Phoenix. Mrs. Foudray, who was formerly Sarah A. Colver, was born in Marion County, Ohio. Her father, Hiram Colver, was born in Ohio in 1821, and was a legal practitioner, having graduated from the law department of Plymouth College, in Indiana. He married Maria Ward, a native daughter of Ohio, and in the spring of 1850 started across the plains with ox teams, and at the end of six months located on a claim of one hundred and sixty acres near Eugene, Ore. In the spring of 1852 he removed to a section of land in Jackson County, his brother Samuel locating a claim where Phoenix has since been built, The Indians were very troublesome soon after his arrival, and the brothers had their share of fighting, and for six months were obliged to live at the fort at Talent for safety. Upon returning to their farms they protected themselves with stockades, and when the red men had been brought under subjection, the work of clearing the land and putting in crops was begun in earnest. Mr. Colver did not long survive the rigors of pioneership, for his death occurred in 1858, his wife, however, surviving him until 1891, dying at the age of seventy years. Mrs. Foudray is the second in a family of seven children, of whom Martha became the wife of Lewis Sisley; Donna M.; Hiram; Solon and Quincy are deceased; and Mary is the wife of E. J. Farlow, of Ashland.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 217-218

    JAMES D. FOUNTAIN: lives in Ashland; is a merchant; was born in Boone County, Missouri; came to Oregon in 1852 and to this county in 1866; was married in 1878, to Grace Russell. Children Claude C. and Lylse.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

    PLEASANT L. FOUNTAIN: lives in Ashland; was born in Linn County, Oregon, in 1853; came to this county in 1872; was married September 20, 1882, to Rebecca Hockersmith. Their only child, Ray, was born October 18, 1883.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

FOWLER, Robert Grey, county agricultural agent; b. Ontario, Canada January 2, 1882; to Oregon 1907; O.S.C. 1915; University of Minnesota 1902; m. Mary Peterson December 4, 1915; children--Robert Grey Jr., Betty Jean; Gamma Sigma Delta; Lambda Gamma Delta; Oregon Bull Association; Mason; Elk; Kiwanis. Republican. Presbyterian. Address: Medford, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 85

Jackson County Agricultural Agent.
b. Ontario, Canada, Jan. 2, 1882; son of James and Isabella (Kirkup) Fowler; educated Wisconsin public schools; University of Minnesota 1902; Oregon State College 1915; Gamma Sigma Delta; m. Mary Peterson of Amery, Wisconsin Dec. 4, 1915; children Robert Grey Jr. and Betty Jean (Root); resident of Oregon since 1910; manager, farm, Carlton, five years; Wisconsin County Agent; then Jackson County Agricultural Agent 1924-; advocate of dairy development in Jackson County for many years; chairman Salv. Com., Granger (secretary, Agriculture Committee, County Grange); Rotarian; Mason; Presbyterian; home Kings Highway; office Courthouse, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 196

    HEATON FOX: lives in Ashland; is a farmer and blacksmith; was born near Bradford, England, January 10, 1830; came to America in 1856, and to Oregon in 1860; married first time, 1852, Sarah A. Pickard (since deceased); they had four children, viz: William C., Nattie A., Eddy A., and Mindy A. Mr. Fox was again married October 1, 1866, to Marietta Kennedy. Children Otto W. and Hiram N.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

    WILLIAM J. FREEMAN is recognized as one of the substantial men of Central Point and his success rests upon the sure foundation of personal ability and integrity, and upon those pleasing traits which inspire confidence and good will. As a harness, saddle and agricultural implement dealer, Mr. Freeman is catering to a long-felt want in this community, having provided himself with a stock calculated to fill all requirements in both departments of his business. He became a resident of Central Point in 1891, coming from Salem, Ore., where two years of practical experience fitted him for the harness and saddlery business. In time he added all manner of farming implements, as well as buggies and wagons, and today the liberal patronage accorded his establishment must needs inspire encouragement and confidence in the future. As proof of his faith in his adopted state he has invested in town and country property, owning besides his store and town home, an interest in a prune orchard of sixteen acres, and an apple orchard of twenty-six acres. Wide awake and alert to opportunity, his energies extend to every avenue of municipal life, to Republican politics, and to fraternalism as found in the Ancient Order of United Workmen. Although by no means a politician or on the alert for official recognition, he has creditably filled many local offices, and has invariably exerted an influence on the side of good government, temperance, education and morality.
    The early life of Mr. Freeman did not differ materially from that of other farm-reared youths of his time. In McHenry County, Ill., where he was born March 22, 1867, his father, Henry, owned and operated a fair-sized farm, he being one of the substantial agriculturists of his neighborhood. Henry Freeman was born in Potsdam, N.Y., June 28, 1837, and when a child removed with his parents to Illinois while that state was yet a wilderness. Here the parents died, leaving him in charge of the farm, and as the oldest son in a family of several children, it devolved upon himself and an older sister to care for those less able to look out for themselves. It thus happened that his youth was given over to hard work and responsibility far too heavy for his years, yet he bore it bravely, as became one bound to succeed in the world, and to whom had been given the splendid inheritance of good health and spirits. The outbreak of the Civil War furnished practically the first genuine change in the life of this heavily burdened but ambitious lad. Enlisting in Company H, Ninety-fifth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, he was raised to the rank of sergeant, and served for three years, participating in the Red River campaign in many important battles and skirmishes. He saw much of the gruesome and terrible side of warfare, and it was with a sense of relief that he returned to the peace of his agricultural life in Illinois. Having won the right to look out for himself and establish a home of his own, Mr. Freeman married, May 3, 1866, Sarah A. Howard, who was born in Vermont, March 2, 1846, and who is the mother of five children, of whom William J. is the eldest. Laverne, the second son, is making his home in California; Mrs. Myrta L. Dygert lives in Illinois; Horace C. lives on the old place in Illinois; and Lysle L. also lives in Illinois. Mr. Freeman is living retired in Greenwood, Ill. He is a Republican in political affiliation, and has held many minor offices in his vicinity. He gave all of his children a practical education, and William J., as the oldest son, attended the high school at Woodstock, Ill. His first business experience was acquired as a clerk in the United States Express Company's office at Elgin, Ill., after which he was put on the road, and remained with the company for two years. In 1889 he came to Oregon, locating at Salem, and as before stated, came in 1891 to Central Point, since his home, and the field of his praiseworthy business efforts. In Central Point, Mr. Freeman married, May 3, 1894, Minnie Owen, daughter of W. A. Owen, a pioneer of Oregon. Mrs. Freeman is a native of Jacksonville, Ore. They have three children, Henry A., Leonard J. and Lola.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 849-850

b. Columbus, Ohio Nov. 23, 1885; son of Abraham and Caroline (Rickley) Frideger; educated grade and high schools Columbus; m. Maude Enders Ashland, Oregon Sept. 20, 1914; children Jean Caroline (Mrs. J. W. MacKenzie), Dorothy E.; to Oregon 1900; employed on ranches, learning building trade; construction and plaster contractor, various parts of Pacific Coast, principally in Medford 1908-16; employed by H. G. Enders Sr. in retail grocery, manager retail department; later employed in wholesale department to 1929 until dissolution of firm; established the Frideger Wholesale Grocery Co. in 1929 and owner to date (now a partnership with G. R. Trites); member Chamber of Commerce; Elk; Rotarian; (past Exalted Ruler, now trustee Ashland Lodge); K.T. Mason (master); Hillah Shriner; Republican; Protestant; home 119 Granite St.; office Oak and A sts., Ashland
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 200

FRIES, Amos Alfred, Civil Engineer; born, Vernon Co., Wis., Mar. 17, 1873; son, Christian M. and Mary Ellen (Shreve) F. Edu.: country and Mound City schools, Mo.; schools of Nev. and Ore.; grad., high school, Medford, Ore., 1893; U.S. Military Acad., 1898; post grad., civil engr., elec. and practical astronomy, 2 years; U.S. Engrs. School, 1899-1901. Married, Elizabeth C. Wait, 1899, at Medford, Oregon. Was 2nd Lieut., Engr. Corps, Willett's Point, N.Y., Span.-Am. War; river and harbor improvements, Portland, Ore., 1898-9; engrg. work and military service, Philippines, 1901-3; Asst. Engr., River and Harbor Imp., Portland, Ore., 1903-5; Capt., Engr. Corps, June 11, 1904; Supt., River and Harbor Imp., Los Angeles dist., Feb. 6, 1906. Member: Engrs. and Archts. Assn. Sou. Cal. (pres.); various military and scientific organizations. Clubs: City, Los Angeles Country. Address: Los Angeles, Cal.

Harper, Franklin, ed., Who's Who on the Pacific Coast, 1913, page 209

FRIES (General), Amos A., Munitions Bldg., Room 1062; res. 1748 Corcoran
        St., Washington, D.C.
    Brigadier General, Chief Chem. Warfare Service, U.S.A.; b. Debello, Wis., March 17, 1873; s. Christian M. and Mary Ellen (Shreve) Fries; ed. country schools, Mo., Medford (Ore.) High School, 1893, U.S. Mil. Acad., 1898, Eng. School, U.S.A., 1902; m. Medford, Ore., Aug. 16, 1899, Elizabeth C. Wait; children: Elizabeth C., Stuart G., Barbara S., Carol H. In charge of road and bridge constrn., Yellowstone Nat. Park, 1914-17. Laid out modern harbor, Los Angeles, Calif.; reconstructed road system, Yellowstone Nat. Park; organized, supervised, operated Chem. Warfare Service, U.S.A., A.E.F., throughout the war; aided in reorganization of the C.W.S., U.S.A. Author pamphlet on road bldg. pub. as Engineer Training Manual, U.S.A, 1917, many articles for newspapers and magazines on Los Angeles Harbor and Chemical Warfare, book "Chemical Warfare." Second Lt., Corps of Engrs., 1898, 1st Lt., 1901, Capt., 1904, Maj., 1912, Lt. Col., 1917, Col. Chemical Warfare Service, 1920, Col. Nat. Army, 1917, chief Chemical Warfare Service, A.E.F., from 1917 to end of war, Brig. Gen., chief C.W.S., A.E.F., 1918. Brig Gen., chief C.W.S., U.S.A., 1920; served in Philippine Islands in Corps of Engrs., 1901-03, taking part in one short campaign against hostile Moros under command of Capt. (now Gen.) John J. Pershing; in charge of Los Angeles river and harbor dist., 1906-09; dir. Military Eng. and Engr. School, U.S.A., 1911-14; with A.E.F, 1917-18. Companion St. Michael and St. George, England. Mem. Am. Legion, Am. Soc. C.E., Engrs. and Architects Assn., Southern Calif., Am. Assn. of Engrs., Nat. Defense Council, A.A.A.S., Distinguished Service Medal, U.S., commander Legion of Honor, France. Mason, Shriner, Scottish Rite. Recreation: Golf. Clubs: Army and Navy, National Press (Associate), Congressional Country (Washington, D.C.). Roosevelt Republican. Episcopalian.

John William Leonard, Who's Who in Engineering, 1922, page 469

Lawyer; Civic Leader.
b. Oct. 22, 1905; son of Bernard and Sophie (Yetter) Frohnmayer; educated Glencoe schools Portland; Washington High Portland; Oregon Institute of Technology (Multnomah College); University of Oregon B.S. 1929; University of Oregon J.D. 1933; Delta Upsilon; Phi Delta Phi; m. Marabel Fisher Braden, Albany, Oregon, June 10, 1936; children Mira Jean, David Braden, John Edward; began practice of law Medford 1933 to date; with Porter J. Neff 1933-35; partner Porter J. Neff 1935-; member School Board, District 49, 1945-; member City Library Board 1944-; chairman Community Chest 1945 (served as director two years); member War Price and Ration Board 1943-45; chairman Siskiyou Camp and Hospital, Red Cross, 1944-45; member State Bar (member, board of governors 1941-44); Southern Oregon Bar Association (past president); Kiwanian (president 1938); Chamber of Commerce; Elk (past Leading Knight); Republican; Presbyterian (past trustee); home 1656 Spring St.; office Cooley Theater Building, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 201

    JAMES J. FRYER: lives at Eagle Point; is a farmer and stock grower; was born in Norwich, England, October 19, 1828; came to state and county in 1852; was married March 5, 1868, to Vira J. Lewis. Children Arglee, Gladius and Lelah.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

Owner Medford Service Station; Ex-Mayor Medford.
b. Lafayette, Kansas, May 22, 1888; son of Seth W. and Emily M. (Moore) Furnas; educated grade school Lafayette, Kansas; business college Missouri; m. Leona Acker, Linneus, Mo., June 11, 1909; railway telegrapher Mo., Oklahoma and Texas, CB&Q; KCM&O; Wichita Falls & Northwestern 1907-13; with Standard Oil, Strathmore, Calif. (agent and wagon driver) 1913-18; owner Medford Service Station (a leading firm) since 1918; Mayor of Medford 1937-40; Councilman 1931-37; served as president of council; member Izaak Walton League; Rotarian (ex-director); Mason (past master, Blue Lodge); Republican; Baptist; home 41 Rose Street; office 322 E. Main, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 202

    SAMUEL FURRY: lives near Phoenix; is a farmer; was born in Schuylkill County, Pennsylvania, February 15, 1822; came to state and county in 1860; was married in 1853, to Amelia Barneburg. Children Enoch F., Donna M., Leona G., Edmona M. and Arthur S.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

    SAMUEL FURRY will be remembered by many of the oldest citizens of Jackson County, Ore., as a worthy pioneer of that section, who possessed rare skill and judgment in the management of his personal affairs and whose public life was full of commendable points. He was a man who relied solely upon his own ability to make for himself a place in the world. The descendant of a worthy Pennsylvania family and himself a native of the Keystone State, Mr. Furry was reared principally in Ohio, whither his parents had removed. Some time afterward he went to Henry County, Iowa, and it was while residing there that he married Miss Amelia Barneburg, who still survives him. After marriage the young people continued to reside in Iowa until 1860, when they drifted with the tide of emigration and sought a home in the Far West, making the trip in the customary manner, behind ox teams.
    At that time this section of the country was sparsely populated and much of the land was wild and undeveloped. Settling at once in Jackson County, Mr. Furry opened a hotel at Phoenix and for several years met with a fair degree of success in catering to the desires of the traveling public. Preferring the more independent calling of a farmer, he discontinued the hotel business, and purchasing a ranch in the vicinity, his personal attention was given to agricultural operations on his farm until his health failed a short time prior to his death, in 1899. His political allegiance was always given to the Democratic Party, by whom he was elected county commissioner, member of the legislature, and served in various other official capacities. At his death his large estate was divided among his children and his widow, the latter residing at the present time on the ranch, which is among the best in the vicinity of Phoenix. The children, four in number, are as follows: Fred; Arthur; Donna, now Mrs. John Graffis, a resident of Klamath County; and Edmona, now Mrs. W. E. Anderson, who resides near the home place. During his eventful life Mr. Furry seized every opportunity to raise himself to a high plane of manhood and he was known as a man of probity and fairness, his success being the result of the exemplary course he followed throughout life.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, page 312

    CRAWFORD GADDIS: lives in Roseburg; was born in Davenport, Delaware County, New York, in 1824; came to state in 1852, and to [Douglas] County in 1868; was married October 24, 1861, to Miss S. A. Imbler. Children Cassius, Winfield C., Echo, Clyde and E. C. Mr. Gaddis filled the position of county judge and treasurer for several terms.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 512

GADDIS, Earl Calvin, merchant; b. Roseburg, Oregon June 21, 1879; m. Katherine M. Angle October 30, 1906; children--Albert Crawford, Dorothy Katherine. County Republican Committee; city council 1916-22; mayor Medford 1923-24; chairman city water commission 1926-; B.P.O.E.; I.O.O.F.; director Chamber of Commerce. Presbyterian. Address: 134 N. Riverside Avenue; home: 609 East Main, Medford, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 88

Real Estate; Ex-Mayor, Medford.
b. Roseburg, Oregon June 21, 1879; son of pioneer family Judge Crawford and Sarah A. Gaddis; educated public schools Roseburg and correspondence courses; m. Katherine M. Angle Oct. 30, 1906; son Major Albert Crawford and daughter Dorothy Katherine (Mrs. G. Carleton Werner); member Gaddis Bros. Dairy, retail 1896-02; manager, Rogue River Creamery, Medford, 1903-14; senior member, Gaddis and Dixon, fence distributors of Pacific states 1905-30; private business 1930 to date; member Oregon National Guard 1899-1903; director Jackson County Fair Association 1914 to date; also served as president and auditor; member City Council 1916-22; Mayor of Medford 1923-24; chairman City Water commission 1926-30; director Chamber of Commerce (president 1925); Elk; Odd Fellow; Republican; Presbyterian; address 815 East Jackson, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 203

GAFFNEY, Charles David, clergyman; b. Colby, Kansas May 2, 1888; to Oregon 1896; Whitman College; m. Nelle Thrasher January 23, 1910; children--David William, Mary Isabel. Rotary. Congregational. Address: Ashland, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 88

    I. CORNELIUS GAGE: lives near Central Point; is a farmer; was born in Polk County, Oregon, in 1852; came to this county in 1867; was married August, 1876, to Mary Cromer. Children Gilliam P. and Sarah G.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

    As one of the potential factors in the growth of Southern Oregon and especially of Medford and Jackson County, Joseph Tousant Gagnon deserves more than passing notice. Twenty-one years ago he came to this state, and he is an example of what can be accomplished through individual effort intelligently directed, for he today owns and has under construction the Medford & Coast Railroad, which when completed will operate a train service from the city of Medford to Crescent City and passing through the county seat of Jacksonville. He is also the owner of two large sawmills and a box factory and has extensive investments in timber lands and other important business interests.
    Mr. Gagnon was born at St. Agnes, in the province of Quebec, Canada, in 1862, his parents being Frank and Pauline (Dellier) Gagnon. The grandparents in both the paternal and maternal lines were natives of France. J. T. Gagnon remained upon his father's farm until he reached the age of eighteen years, when he started out to try his fortune in the business world. He made his initial step by securing work with a construction gang on the Canada-Atlantic Railroad, and in a short time he took over a subcontract on his own account. He continued as a railroad building contractor until 1896, when he came to Oregon and purchased a large tract of timber land. Two years later he established his home in Medford and soon afterward built a sawmill on Jackson Creek, which was destroyed by fire but was quickly rebuilt owing to the characteristic energy and determination of Mr. Gagnon. In 1901 he located permanently in Medford and erected another sawmill and a box factory in this city. He now has two large sawmills in operation in addition to his box factory, and the latter turns out two million fruit and other boxes annually. The important business interests of Mr. Gagnon in Jackson County now furnish employment to several hundred men. He is the owner of large and fine timber interests and has still other business of importance. The Medford & Coast Railroad which he and other parties are building will be of untold value and worth to the community. The road will be equipped for both freight and passenger traffic. Construction was started just prior to the World War, but hostilities which so materially upset business conditions prevented the road from operating its passenger trains. For three years, however, freight traffic was carried on over the line and in the summer of 1921 the passenger cars will be put on and an hour schedule will be maintained on the run between Medford and Jacksonville.
    In 1885 Mr. Gagnon was married to Miss Mary Louise Dallier, who passed away in 1887. In 1888 he wedded Emma Clement, who, like his former wife, is a native of Canada, and both were of French descent. Mr. Gagnon has no living children of his own but has adopted and reared several. Two of these were nephews, who were reared and educated by him and are now prosperous business men in Canada. An orphan girl was also taken into his home and is now the wife of Baptiste Coulon, of Boston, Massachusetts.
    Mr. Gagnon is a zealous member of the Catholic Church, in which he is serving as a trustee. He is a past president of the Union of St. John, a member of the Knights of Columbus and of the Catholic Foresters of America. He is also a member of the Medford Chamber of Commerce and of the Oregon Manufacturers Association. Since coming to the United States he has given most of his time to his business interests, but he takes an active and helpful part in civic matters. While living in Canada he was an earnest supporter of the Liberal Party and represented Stormont, province of Ontario, in the dominion parliament. He is content that his public service shall be done as a private citizen, however, since taking up his abode in Oregon and he ranks high as a business man--one whose efforts are a contributing element to the upbuilding of town and county as well as a source of individual profit.
Charles Henry Carey, History of Oregon, 1922, volume II, pages 114-117

Real Estate Executive.
b. Elkader, Iowa July 7, 1876; son of Smith Bernard and Ellen C. (Carter) Galey; family early pioneers of Nebraska and moved to Oregon in 1884; educated public schools Oregon; University of Oregon 1900-01; m. Rosa Dodge of Ashland Nov. 16, 1904; children John Dodge, Mary Merriam (Winther), Ellen Carter; began as bookkeeper, Bank of Ashland 1895, assistant cashier 1900; cashier Douglas County Bank, Roseburg 1901-02; bankruptcy referee Ashland 1899; treasurer City of Ashland 1900; special agent Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance since 1918; real estate broker since 1925; member Chamber of Commerce; Ashland Realty Board; member Oregon Association of Real Estate Boards (member board of directors); past member National Institute of Real Estate Brokers; past member local Y.M.C.A.; Kiwanian (past secretary); Rotarian; member American Philatelic Society; Mason; Republican; Congregationalist (past treasurer and superintendent); home 590 Siskiyou Blvd.; office 65 E. Main St., Ashland
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 204

    CHRISTOPHER C. GALL. In the front ranks of every business and in every community we find men whose success has been independent of another's assistance, and an example of this kind is found in the person of Mr. Gall, who has met with flattering success in the prosecution of his chosen calling as a tiller of the soil in Jackson County, Ore., whose interests have been identified with his own ever since the spring of 1852, when he accompanied his parents to that section. Mr. Gall is a native of Franklin County, Mo., having been born March 18, 1833, near Washington, where he received his scholastic training in the public school and grew to manhood. During the gold excitement of 1849 two of his brothers, Lafayette and Francis, started west, and the latter died on the plains while en route. The elder brother, however, proceeded on his way, and in time sent back favorable reports to his parents, which induced them, in 1851, to take their remaining family and follow him to this new country, which was then little more than one vast wilderness. The trip overland consumed six months' time, and the fall of that year found them in the beautiful Willamette Valley. After passing the winter in that vicinity, they proceeded to look up a location the following spring, and being attracted by the fertile land and natural resources in Jackson County, the father took a donation claim there in the neighborhood of Gold Hill. This claim contained three hundred and twenty acres finely located along a creek, which now bears the family name, but it was entirely unimproved, and thereafter the father was engaged in clearing the land and tilling the soil until cut off by death in 1857. He was a very industrious man, even when compared to the sturdy pioneers of those days, and grew to be quite prosperous.
    Christopher C. Gall was his father's able assistant on the home place until death removed that beloved parent, and for several years afterward affairs on the farm were entrusted to his care and management. Taking up a homestead claim of one hundred and sixty acres in 1859, in Sams Valley, eight miles east of the old home place and four miles from Table Rock, he began to improve and clear it, and the following year took up his residence there. All the intervening years, between that time and the present, have found Mr. Gall busily engaged in farming pursuits and in the stock business, and his efforts have been crowned with success. Additional purchases were made and his farm was increased in size to two hundred and eighty acres, two hundred acres being rich alluvial bottom land, utilized in general farming. The balance is used for grazing purposes and is well stocked with fine cattle, the whole place possessing an air of prosperity and thrift.
    October 9, 1861, Mr. Gall was united in marriage with Miss Sarah J. Pankey, an accomplished lady, and they have reared a large and interesting family, which consists of three sons and seven daughters, all of whom are living. The religious belief of the family inclines toward the Christian Church, which they attend, and of which Mr. Gall is an active member. In his political views he is entirely independent, and during his long term of service as justice of the peace, since 1868, his dealings and decisions have been characteristic of his fairness and impartiality, at the same time always marked by justice. His patriotism to our country was shown by his active service in the Rogue River Indian War, which caused the early settlers of Oregon so much loss of life and property.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, page 835

    O. O. GANIARD: lives in Sams Valley; is a merchant; was born in Bristol New York, in 1832; came to state in 1852; to county in 1872; was married July 5, 1858, to Lucinda Ganiard. Children Lottie, Fred and Oscar; the two boys are deceased.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

    OSCAR OVID GANIARD.--The subject of this sketch, whose home is illustrated in this history, is one of the prominent farmers and merchants of the northern part of Jackson County, and was born in Genesee County, New York, on January 28, 1833. He was raised on a farm until he reached the age of fifteen, and accompanied his parents to Jonesville, Hillsdale County, Michigan, in 1842, where the family commenced building up a new home in the wilderness. Oscar caught the gold fever and emigrated to Oregon in 1852, reaching Oregon City in the fall of that year, and remained there a few months. In October, 1852, he came to Jackson County and mined on Jackson Creek, but during the starvation times of 1852-3 he was forced to return to Portland, where he remained until 1856, in which year he settled near Democrat Gulch, Josephine County, Oregon, where he purchased a farm and afterwards established a mercantile business which he conducted in connection with farming. In 1858 Mr. Ganiard went to visit his parents at his old home in Michigan and married Lucinda Ganiard on July 5, 1858. She is a native of Rochester, New York, and was born November 10, 1838. In 1872 Mr. Ganiard became a resident of Jackson County, purchasing the "Leslie" ranch in Sams Valley, and has since added to that property until he now owns four thousand acres of valuable land. He has a store on the place and is engaged in merchandising as well as farming Mr. Ganiard is regarded as an intelligent financier, liberal in all matters where the judgment of others is to be regarded, always according to his neighbors their full rights. He is considered one of the progressive farmers and business men of the county, and always interests himself in the prosperity of the community in which he resides. Their only living child is Lottie. Their two sons, Freddie and Oscar, died in 1883.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, pages 528-529

    OSCAR O. GANIARD. The name of Ganiard, well known throughout Jackson and Josephine counties, belongs to a family which was established in America by a French ancestor, Peter Ganiard, born in the city of St. Fleche, France, July 22, 1734. He was the son of wealthy parents, and with his elder brother James fitted up vessels and sailed to the West Indies, locating on the island of Hispaniola (now Haiti), when they established a thriving trade with the colonies. Peter Ganiard was induced by his brother to go to New London, Conn., and learn the English language, in order that they might better carry on commercial relations between the American colonies and the West Indies. On becoming familiar with English customs the young French lad ceased to be interested in the business and brother in the south, and he married Esther Marriett, who was born in Killingworth, Conn., her ancestors being English who had settled in Connecticut early in the seventeenth century. After a time James Ganiard became governor of Hispaniola, but he never ceased to search for his truant brother who had long since dropped his correspondence, and after a lapse of fourteen years Peter's identity was discovered by a captain of one of the many vessels belonging to James, and through him was induced to return to the islands with his family, which consisted of a wife and five children. Shortly afterward religious differences caused their second separation, Peter again locating at Killingworth, where he remained until the breaking out of the Revolutionary War. Upon hearing of his brother's death and that a portion of his estate had been left to himself, he visited Hispaniola, but was not able to secure more than $3,000 in gold and his brother's wearing apparel, parts of which are supposed to still be in the possession of some of his descendants.
    The representative of the Ganiard family in Oregon was the late Oscar O. Ganiard and his wife, she being also a lineal descendant of Peter Ganiard. Oscar O. was born in Bristol, N.Y., January 28, 1832, a son of Peter Ganiard, also a native of that state, who married Ruth Beldon, a native of Massachusetts and of English extraction. The parents removed to Ohio and later settled in Jonesville, Mich., where Oscar O. Ganiard received his education. In 1852 he crossed the plains to Oregon and became a wealthy and prominent citizen of Jackson County, as well as being largely interested in the real estate of Josephine County, owning near Althouse the Enterprise Ranch, and also engaging in a mercantile business. In 1872 he removed to Jackson County and engaged in farming and merchandising in Sams Valley, twelve years later becoming a resident of Ashland, which continued to be his home until his death, July 13, 1895. He was a broad-minded, liberal, enterprising citizen, sparing no effort to promote the general welfare, and to uplift the standard of excellence in whatever line of business he attempted. He improved his farms in every possible way, setting out an orchard of twenty acres on land which he himself had cleared, and in the establishment and management of the White Sulphur Springs Hotel he demonstrated his ability to execute as well as to plan. He also built the Ashland Opera House, a three-story brick building, 60x100 feet, completed in 1889 at a cost of $20,000, besides numerous other buildings. The city of Ashland owes a debt of gratitude to Mr. Ganiard, whose enthusiasm and earnestness resulted in the material upbuilding of the city.
    In 1858 Mr. Ganiard returned to Jonesville, Mich., and was there united in marriage with Lucinda Ganiard, on July 5. She was born in Rochester, N.Y., the daughter of Silas Ganiard, a native of Bristol, and the great-granddaughter of Peter Ganiard, the progenitor of the family in America. Her father, Silas Ganiard, became an early settler and farmer near Jonesville, Mich., where his death occurred in 1873. He married Lucinda Wilder, also a native of Bristol, N.Y., and the daughter of Joseph and Lottie (Gilbert) Wilder, natives of Connecticut. Mrs. Lucinda Ganiard died in Michigan June 7, 1900, in her ninetieth year, having become the mother of five children, three of whom are living. Mrs. Ganiard, the youngest and the only one who is located upon the Pacific Slope, received her education at Hillsdale College, and after her marriage in 1858 came to Oregon by the Isthmus of Panama and San Francisco, landing at Crescent City, from which place she traveled on muleback to Waldo, Josephine County, Ore., where her husband owned a ranch. Three children blessed the union of Mr. and Mrs. Ganiard, of whom the only one living is Lottie L., the wife of J. E. Pelton, of Ashland, the two sons, Oscar and Frederick, having died at the ages of fifteen and sixteen years and six months respectively. Mr. Ganiard was in every way identified with the progress and advancement of his adopted city and county. As a member of the city council in 1891, he exerted his best efforts toward good municipal government. His widow has continued to uphold the honor of the name, and since his death she has completed seven new buildings in the city. The building on Fourth Street having burned May 18, 1903, she at once commenced the erection of one to take its place, which now makes a complete new brick block, 50x50 feet, two stories in height. She has since sold the White Sulphur Springs Hotel, but still owns a large amount of property, including lots in Astoria, and Rockford, Wash., a four-hundred-acre ranch in Josephine County and two thousand acres of land in Jackson County, as well as much property in Ashland. Through her excellent management of the large estate left by her husband she has won the general commendation of those who realize the responsibility which so much property entails. She is prominent in various associations in Ashland, being a member of the Woman's Relief Corps and a charter member of the Ashland Chautauqua Association. In her religious convictions she belongs to the Christian Church.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 510-511

    ROBERT GARRETT: lives in Ashland; is a contractor; was born in Benton County, Arkansas, March 1840; came to state in 1853, to county in 1871; was married October 20, 1877, to Miss Sarah E. Thornton. Children Frank, Gracie and Laura.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

    Charles Edwin Gates is a splendid example of sheer pluck and natural ability and a striking figure of a self-made American. He is now serving as mayor of Medford, and his capability and worth in office are widely acknowledged. He was born in the little town of Monticello, Indiana, in December, 1871, his parents being Jacob and Mary (Hastings) Gates, both of whom were representatives of old pioneer families. His father was engaged in the railroad business and spent thirty-three years of his life in transportation service. When Charles E. Gates was but a youth of tender years, the family removed to Pulaski County, Indiana, and there he obtained a common school education. When but fifteen years of age he taught in a small country school in order to enable him to secure a commercial training in the Hall Business College at Logansport, Indiana. It was not his educational qualifications that secured him the teacher's job at that early age but the recognition on the part of the school directors of the fact that the boy possessed rare executive ability and much self-reliance, and as the school had been changing teachers quite often they gave Mr. Gates the chance to see it he could instill into the pupils some degree of obedience to rules. This he emphatically did, at once giving the pupils to understand who was master in the room.
    Following his graduation from the business college Mr. Gates decided to become a court reporter and for a brief period was in a law office, but that line of activity failed to appeal to him and he secured employment with the Columbus Construction Company, which at that time was engaged in building a pipeline for natural gas from Greentown to Chicago. Entering the company's office as a clerk Mr. Gates in less than four months had so impressed the managers with his natural ability that he was appointed statistician of the entire line. He remained with the company for eight years, a portion of which time was spent as chief accountant in the Chicago office. For several years afterward he was connected with the Economic Fuel Gas Company and in 1897 became associated with the McIlwaine Richards Gas Well & Supply Company, with which he continued in various capacities until 1901, when he was made general manager of the company's plant at Noblesville, Indiana, and held such responsible posts as president of the Bath Tub Manufacturers Association of the United States, vice president and chairman of the organization committee of the Soil Pipe Manufacturers Association and other kindred and mammoth business enterprises. The twelve years which Mr. Gates put in as an active worker in this field so undermined his health as to force his retirement from strenuous duty and in 1912 he came to Oregon seeking rest and health. Visiting Medford, Mr. Gates concluded he could find no better place on the coast and, sending for his family, at once established his home in this city. For a man of his energy and determination something must be doing all the time, so he turned his attention to the automobile business, becoming agent for the Overland cars. Something of his business ability may be seen in the fact that in the first season he sold seventy-seven cars and more than a hundred in the second season. In 1914 he accepted the agency of the Ford Company and since that period has handled only the Ford cars and Fordson tractors. On a prominent corner of the city he has erected a handsome garage and service station of one hundred and forty by one hundred and twenty feet, which is modern in every particular and detail and includes a large display room, accessories store, women's rest room which is fitted up to be of real service to his patrons, one of its many features being cribs for tired infants, repair shop and service station. Nothing has been omitted in the construction of this model garage. Twenty-six persons are employed in the plant, eleven of whom are expert mechanics. While he has developed an important enterprise in this connection Mr. Gates is also the vice president of the Farmers & Fruit Growers Bank of Medford, and in all things he displays sound business judgment as well as unfaltering enterprise.
    Mr. Gates was united in marriage to Miss Leah A. Farnsley, of a well-known pioneer family of Kentucky, and they have become the parents of three children: Eltha Marie, now the wife of J. Wesley Judge of Medford; Laura, the wife of James E. Kerr of Medford; and George E., who is associated with his father in business, the firm name being the C. E. Gates Automobile Company. George E. Gates has a notable war record, having enlisted in 1917. He was sent to Fort Columbia and later to Camp Lewis and in March, 1918, went overseas as a member of Battery E, Sixty-Fifth Regiment. He served with that command throughout the period of active duty in France, the close of the war finding him in an officer's training camp in that country. George E. Gates is a Mason, also a Knight of Pythias and an Elk. He was married and has an infant son, George E., Jr., the mother having passed away.
    The Masonic fraternity has long enjoyed the stalwart and loyal support of Charles E. Gates, who has attained the thirty-second degree of the Scottish Rite and is a member of the Mystic Shrine. While in Noblesville, Indiana, he occupied the post of exalted ruler of the Elks lodge and since coming to Medford was made chairman of the Elks building committee, which erected the handsome Elks Club building and is now chairman of its board of trustees. He was chairman of the Red Cross, also chairman of the Council of Defense and chairman of the Liberty Loan drives during the World war. For two terms he has been the president of the Medford Chamber of Commerce and he is now serving for the third term as mayor of Medford, his administration being characterized by a most businesslike and progressive spirit, productive of splendid results. His religious faith is that of the Presbyterian Church and for the past seven years he has been on the church board at Medford. In a word his activities have had to do with all that tends to advance the material, intellectual, social, political and moral welfare of the city. His efforts have been a most potent force in producing results highly gratifying, and Medford places him among her most valued residents and names him as a splendid example of American manhood and chivalry.
Charles Henry Carey, History of Oregon, vol. III, 1922, pages 378-381

President, Gates & Lydiard, Inc., Groceteria Super Food Markets.
b. Winamac, Indiana, May 16, 1878; son of Jacob and May A. (Hastings) Gates; educated grade and high schools west Indiana; m. Anna Flamme, Pekin, Ill., March 24, 1904; daughter Mary Ann (adopted); began as factory agent (manager) Corn Products Refining Co., Pekin, Ill. 1898-1904; advertising manager Larkin Co. (mail order house), Buffalo, N.Y. 1905-15; partner auto supply business, Gates Auto Co. 1915-20; established present business in 1920, partner until 1939, president 1939 to date; director Bagley Canning Co. (ex-president); Jackson County Chairman bond drive 1942-43; Pacific Coast Industries, advisory committee, O.P.A.; member Oregon State Grocers Association, three years president old organization, one year with new; student of Egyptology, archaeology (on cliffs near Medford); has made scientific study of all forms of same; Rotarian (past president); Chamber of Commerce (director since 1925); S.R. Mason; Hillah Shrine; Elks; Republican; Methodist; home 31 Crater Lake; office 6th & Central, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 208

    GAULT, HON. D. M. C., editor of the Hillsboro Independent, was born in Davis County, Iowa, May 8, 1842, and came to Oregon ten years later. He was educated at Tualatin Academy. He was editor of the Jacksonville Sentinel from 1865 to 1868, and later worked on the Statesman and Portland News. He became editor of the Hillsboro Independent in 1892. Mr. Gault was elected to the legislature from Washington County in 1876, and from Multnomah County in 1880. He has been a frequent member of conventions.
Republican League Register, Portland, 1896, page 212

Sheriff of Jackson County.
b. Medford, Oregon, May 30, 1905; son of Milton M. and Rose M. (Campbell) Gault; educated grade and high schools, Medford; studied law in law offices; m. Edith M. Sage, Central Point, Nov. 3, 1936; children David W., Benjamin H., James L.; employed Justice of the Peace office, Medford, 1929-35; chief deputy sheriff, 1935-45; appointed Sheriff (upon death of Sheriff Sid Brown) June 1945; president Jackson County Sheriff's Posse; member Eagles Lodge; Kiwanian; Republican; Protestant; home 105 Tripp St.; office Courthouse, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 208

    DR. E. P. GEARY: lives in Medford; is a physician and surgeon; was born in Brownsville, Oregon, April, 1859; came to Jackson County in 1882.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

    GEARY, DR. E. P., of Medford, was born in Brownsville, Oregon, April 24, 1859, and except two years spent at medical college in the East has been a continuous resident of the state. He graduated at the University of Oregon in the class of 1880. He is president of the Republican Club, and was a delegate to the county conventions of 1890 and 1892 and the state convention of 1892. In 1888 he was elected the second mayor of Medford, and in 1890 was the Republican nominee for the state senate. He is grand chancellor of the K. of P., president of the United States Board of Medical Examiners, and a member of the town board.
Republican League Register, Portland, 1896, page 212

    GEISENDORFER, JOHN ALEX., of Arlington, was born in Albany, Oregon, April 17, 1866. He graduated in medicine in St. Louis in 1891, and the Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, in 1893. He began practice in Jacksonville, but soon removed to Arlington. He is now still further perfecting himself in his profession by a special course in the East.
Republican League Register, Portland, 1896, page 213

GERIG, William, Civil Engineer; born, Ashland Mo., 1866; son, Joseph and Caroline (Degen) G. B.S., Mo. State Univ., 1885; C.E., 1886. Married, Fannie Crow, Jan. 21, 1890, at Arkadelphia, Ark. Connected with the dev. of dredging Miss. River improvements, 1905-06; Div. Engr., Pacific end of the Panama Canal; 1907-08, in charge of the Atlantic Div., which included the harbor work, the Gatun Dam and the Gatun Locks; since 1909, Consulting Engr. for Spokane, Portland & Seattle, R.R., and Vice-Pres. and Chief Engr. and Dir. of Pacific & Eastern R.R. Member: Am. Soc. Civil Engrs., Phi Beta Kappa, Tau Beta Pi. Address: Medford, Oregon.

Harper, Franklin, ed., Who's Who on the Pacific Coast, 1913, page 216

GERIG, William, Alaskan Eng. Commn., res. Anchorage, Alaska.
    Civil Engr.; b. Columbia, Mo., Mar. 25, 1866; s. F. J. and C. L. (Degen) Gerig; both parents of Swiss ancestry; B.S. 1885, C.E. 1886, Mo. State Univ.; Phi Beta Kappa, Tau Beta Pi; m. Arkadelphia, Ark., Jan. 21, 1890; Fannie Crow; children: F. A., Mildred (Mrs. J. L. Newberry). Asst. engr., Frisco and Cotton Belt Rys., 1886; ch. engr., S.W. Ark. & Indian Territory Ry., 1888-89; asst. engr., Mo. and Miss. R.R. Commn. 1888-90; asst. engr., Chicago Drainage Canal, July-Dec., 1890; U.S. engr., Mississippi River commn., in charge levee constrn. and harbor impvts., 1891-93; asst. engr., Ill. Central Ry., 1893; U.S. asst. engr., in charge levee constrn., harbor impvt., bank protection and dredging, 1893-1905; div. engr., Panama Canal, La Boca Div., and later in charge Cristobal Div., including excavation for Gatun Locks, 1905-08; in pvt. practice as cons. engr., 1908-09; dir., v.p. and ch. engr. and mgr., Pacific Eastern Ry. (subsidiary of G.N. Ry.), and cons. engr., Spokane, Portland & Seattle Ry., 1909-15; cons. engr. St. Paul Union Depot Co. and New York Barge Canal as expert witness in courts, etc., 1915-16; cons. engr., Alaskan Eng. Commn. on harbor and dock constrn., 1917; engr. in charge constrn. and operation of the Anchorage div. of the Alaska Ry., being built by the U.S., 1918-19; since 1919 asst. ch. engr. Alaskan eng. commn. in charge constrn. and operation of the southern div. (about 350 mi. long, of which 200 mi. are in operation). Assisted in developing the hydraulic dredge for use in channel impvts. of Miss. River; the development of willow fascine mattress for riverbank protection and numerous inventions never patented. Contbd. to tech. journs. Mem. Am. Soc. C.E.; Tau Beta Pi, Phi Beta Kappa, Medford (Ore.)  Chamber of Commerce, Mason. Club: University (Medford). Democrat. Presbyterian.
John William Leonard, Who's Who in Engineering, 1922, page 490

GERLINGER, George Theodore
President and Manager, Willamette Valley Lumber Co.
b. Chicago, Illinois, Jan. 15, 1876; educated public schools, Illinois; m. Irene Hazard, San Diego, Oct. 21, 1903; children Georgiana (Stevens), Irene (Swindells), Jean (Kirkwood); began in logging railroad development, Clark County, Washington, 1897 and Polk County, Oregon 1904; logging, lumber manufacturing to date; member State Board of Forestry, West Coast Lumber Manufacturers Association; active in timber conservation work; director Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco, Portland Branch, 12th District; president National Lumber Manufacturing Association; member Arlington Club; Mason; Republican; Episcopalian; home "The Highlands," 1741 Highland Road; office Pacific Building, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 211

Vice-President, Pacific College; Financial Consultant.
b. Newburg-on-the-Hudson, N.Y.; educated public and private schools of California; University of California 1900-03; B.A. 1922; Reed College, Portland 1921-22; University of Oregon M.A. 1931; Kappa Kappa Gamma, Mortar Board, Prytanean Society; m. George T. Gerlinger of Portland, Oregon, Oct. 21, 1903; children Georgiana (Mrs. Harley C. Stevens), Irene (Mrs. William Swindells), John Hazard, Jean Hazard (Mrs. Robert C. Kirkwood Jr.); founder Dallas Library 1905, member board 1905-16; founder Dallas branch of Needlework Guild of America; founder Dallas Woman's Club; chairman endowment fund, Oregon Federated Clubs for three years; active in all drives World War I, including head of College Women's Division of Food Administration for Oregon; National League for Women's Service, Speakers Bureau; instrumental in securing for University of Oregon Prince Campbell Memorial Museum, Woman's Bldg. and women's dormitories; Regent University of Oregon 1914-29; member Portland Free Dispensary Board 1925-; student and faculty member American Institute of Banking; supervisor for Multnomah County, 1930 Federal Census; Oregon State Supervisor, Federal Census of Manufacturers 1932; Republican National Committeewoman, Oregon 1940,44; vice-president, Doernbecher Hospital Guild 1925 to date; chairman Board of Trustees E. Henry Wemme Home for Wayward Girls; founder (1935) and state president (1935-37) Pro American; National Organization of Republican Women 1935-37 and state treasurer 1937-41; for ten years head Junior Choir at Trinity Parish; president Trinity Woman's Guild; vice-president Pacific College and faculty member; president Pacific College Auxiliary; treasurer Hahnemann Hospital Auxiliary; financial consultant for Scripps College and other institutions; member of Scripps College Honorary Alumnae; author "Money Raising--How To Do It"; member Russellville Grange, University Club, Town Club, Garden Club, Dallas Woman's Club, Women's National Republican Club, N.Y. City and Women's Faculty Club, Berkeley; Republican; Episcopalian; home "Woodside" The Highlands, 1741 S.W. Highland Road, Portland.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 211

    ABSOLEM F. GIDLINGS: is a farmer; lives in Ashland; was born in Ashtabula County, Ohio, in 1833; came to state and county in 1853; was married July 3, 1859, to Eliza E. Million. Children Henry and Millie M.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

    DANIEL GILES. The life of Daniel Giles, a well-known and honored resident of Myrtle Point, Coos County, has been replete with the incidents characteristic of the pioneer days--the dangers, hardships and trials of those early times having been experienced by him to an exceptional degree--though he was also endowed with a capacity for pleasure which makes of his recollection today a pleasing link between the past and present. He was born in Bedford County, Pa., September 16, 1836, the son of Henry Giles, also a native of that state. The family came originally from England, the grandfather, Henry Giles, having been born in London, and at the age of fourteen years ran away from school in Liverpool, coming to the United States, where he served as a drummer boy in the Revolutionary War. In manhood he became a resident of Bedford County, Pa., where he resided near the stream of Bloody Run and earned his livelihood in agricultural pursuits. His death occurred in 1852, at the age of ninety-four years. His son, Henry, became a blacksmith and lived in Pennsylvania until his death at the age of fifty years. He married Nancy Moore, who was born in London, England, and died in Iowa in 1868, whither she had removed to make her home with her sons. She was the daughter of William Moore, also a native of London, a silk weaver by trade, who came to the United States in 1817 and located in Bedford County, Pa., where he was engaged in the weaving of cloth. In 1834 he removed to Fairfield County, Ohio, where he continued at his trade and also engaged in fancy handwork, in which he was very expert. His death occurred there at the age of ninety-one years.
    Of the four sons and three daughters born to his parents Daniel Giles was the youngest, and by the death of his father when about two years old, he was deprived of many of the advantages which might otherwise have been his. In 1838 his mother removed with her family to Fairfield County, Ohio, and a few years later was again married. Until he was eight years old Daniel Giles remained at home but was then compelled to seek his own livelihood. For two years he worked for his board and clothes, after which he secured a place which gave him a little money, with which he attended school for three months. With the energy and perseverance characteristic of the pioneer lad he continued to work at whatever his hands found to do, not only caring for himself but helping his mother as well, until the spring of 1851, when he went to Davis County, Iowa, from which state he set out in the following year to become a pioneer of the Northwest. This trip is one of the most memorable events in the life of Mr. Giles, for though full of hardships and danger it was also enjoyable, for he traveled in a large train and had many exciting and interesting adventures while en route. Although but sixteen years old he had entered the employ of Leonard Buell for the six-months' journey, but on account of cholera breaking out in the train he and his brother-in-law, the latter with his family being also a member of the company, as well as several other families, withdrew from the train and completed the journey alone. When within twenty-two miles of Foster on the old Barlow route they were compelled to send Daniel on afoot to get provisions and return with them and meet the family the following day, which duty he performed courageously. Having been compelled to leave many articles, among them the family Bible, back in the Cascade Mountains on account of their team being exhausted, after securing a fresh team they traveled again the twenty-five miles to secure the abandoned articles.
    On his arrival in Oregon Mr. Giles located with his brother-in-law on French Prairie, his first work in Oregon being the familiar farm labor which he gave up later to work on a boat called the Oregon, just completed that year. In the spring of 1853 he set out for the mines at Jacksonville in the Rogue River Valley, and at Corvallis, then known by the name of Marysville, he fell in with a pack train with which he worked his way to the south, being employed by Thomas Holdman [sic--Holman?] and his father, these two men having a general merchandise store at Jacksonville. They had quite a large train of mules and Mr. Giles learned well the work of packing, which was so remunerative an employment in the early days. Upon his arrival in Jacksonville he decided to continue working for Mr. Holdman, as he knew nothing about mining, and shortly afterward went with his employer to Crescent City, Cal., for a supply of goods to establish another store on Applegate River, at a location about seven miles from Jacksonville. This proved an exciting and interesting trip, taken through a beautiful country rich in vegetable, animal and mineral products, but in several different adventures Mr. Giles came near losing his life. The store at Applegate was successfully established and Mr. Giles remained as clerk for some time. He made friends with many of the Indians, who gave him a warning at the time of the uprising in 1853, which he in turn imparted to Mr. Holdman, who, however, did not credit it, and could not be induced to move the store to Jacksonville until the danger was more evident. On the night of the uprising Mr. Holdman became very ill and Mr. Giles set out for Jacksonville in order to obtain a physician, and while on the way was suddenly surrounded by a company of Indians. His life was spared through the intervention of the chief's son, Charley, with whom he had been very friendly, the two having gone hunting together many times in the days of peace. While parleying a company of soldiers appeared and took the Indians prisoners, and Mr. Giles continued on his way to Jacksonville though warned of the danger by the captain of the company, who told him the town was surrounded by Indians. Through pluck and skill he succeeded in his undertaking and reached the town, and though he could not persuade the physician to return with him he secured some medicine and once more set out upon his perilous journey. The return trip was one of extreme danger and tried his courage to the utmost, but it was safely accomplished. A short time afterward Mr. Holdman moved his store to Jacksonville and there sold his pack train to two men, with whom Mr. Giles entered into employment as a packer to go to Scottsburg for a cargo of flour. While on the way he had an exciting experience in search of several of their mules which had wandered from the train, the two men who were sent out becoming separated and lost in the brush and timber, where they were forced to remain throughout the long, dark hours of a cold, rainy night. Morning set them right as to their trail, and early in the afternoon they reached the camp. This exposure proved too much for Mr. Giles, for he was attacked with a lameness which prevented his traveling any further, and he was therefore left with a family by the name of Bunton, where he was to remain until his employers came after another load of produce. On his recovery Mr. Giles went to what is now Coos County and again this trip furnished him with reminiscences for future days. After leaving the employ of the men with whom he had traveled to Empire City Mr. Giles purchased a mining claim near Randolph beach, paying $150. However, he found more profitable employment in whipsawing lumber in that locality, as there was a great demand for lumber. In partnership with the two men who owned the business he purchased several other claims, only one of them, however, bringing them any returns. Later the three men, one of whom was a sailor, built a boat, the intention being to carry supplies to the mouth of the Coquille River. One trip, however, was enough for Mr. Giles, and not caring for a seafaring life he left the boat in June, 1854, and struck out for the mines at the headwaters of the Coquille River, where he remained for some time, meeting with considerable success. On the approach of winter he went north, remaining until 1855 with his brother-in-law and family, who had located on Deer Creek, Douglas County. The following spring he returned to the mines of Southern Oregon, but found the Indians so hostile that mining operations were exceedingly dangerous; in fact, the greater part of the population of that locality had enlisted as soldiers in the effort to protect the settlers' homes. Mr. Giles also enlisted as a volunteer, serving in Company A, under Capt. Samuel Gordon, and Company H, under Capt. Edward Sheffield. For special services during that war Mr. Giles is now drawing a pension, his courage and self-sacrificing efforts calling forth the commendation of all who knew him.
    In 1855 Mr. Giles purchased a farm of two hundred and twelve acres located on Deer Creek, Douglas County, where he remained until 1866, becoming a power for good in his community. Helpfully interested in local affairs he served from 1859 to 1866 as deputy sheriff of Douglas County, through the influence of the Republican Party, of which he is an adherent, and was also elected in 1861 as county assessor. He likewise served as school director and road supervisor. In 1866 he removed from his location in Douglas County, on account of his health, which had suffered from exposure in the Rogue River Indian War, settling two miles south of Myrtle Point, Coos County, upon a ranch of three hundred and sixty-six acres. Here he remained until February, 1891, when he rented his farm and came into Myrtle Point, where he engaged in the manufacture of brick and tile, his yard occupying eight acres of land. Through his successful conduct of this business Mr. Giles has become one of the prominent men of the town in industrial circles, and as such occupies an influential position in the development of its resources. It was largely through his influence that the fine, modern school building of Myrtle Point was erected, his manufactory furnishing the brick as well as that for many other buildings there. In 1903 Mr. Giles disposed of his large ranch which had been his home for so many years, but he still owns a farm of one hundred acres located on the north fork of the Coquille River.
    Mr. Giles has been married twice, the first ceremony being performed October 24, 1861, on South Deer Creek, uniting him with America Agnes Braden, who was born in Platte County, Mo., and crossed the plains in 1852. Her death occurred in Coos County in 1878. She was the mother of six children, all of whom are living: John Henry; Samuel Criswell; Effie May; Susanna Nancy; Julia Ann Rebecca; and Daisy Bell. December 24, 1881, at Myrtle Point, Mr. Giles was united in marriage with Nannie H. Ransom, who was born in Vacaville, Cal., May 28, 1857. Four children were born to them, namely: Daniel William; Earl Ransom, deceased; Claud Harry; and Clark Ransom. In his fraternal relations Mr. Giles is identified with the Masons, being a member of Myrtle Lodge No. 78, A.F.&A.M., and with his wife is a member of the Eastern Star. In his religious convictions he belongs to the reorganized Church of Latter-Day Saints.
    To sum up in brief: The life of Mr. Giles, though in part like that of many of the early pioneers of Oregon, has been remarkable, more through the personality of the man than the character of the events. Not alone endowed with physical courage, he never lost an opportunity to extend a hand to any whom he found in need, one of his first generous acts being the rescue of a lad from drowning while on the trip across the plains. In his intercourse with the Indians of Oregon he ever displayed a kindly spirit, and their recognition of his gentleness was a remembrance in his hour of danger. Steadfast in his friendships, upright in all his business dealings, generous in self-sacrifice toward the advancement of all that pertained to the general good--such a character is that of Daniel Giles, and his name is justly enrolled among those who counted not the cost of the effort to lay the foundation for a western commonwealth.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 430-432

    HERBERT LUVLLE GILKEY. The genealogical record of the Gilkey family is traced back to Scotland, whence two brothers of that name emigrated to America and settled in Massachusetts during the colonial period. From that state one ancestor removed to Maine, and his son, Samuel, a native of that state, spent his entire life in farm pursuits there. William, son of Samuel, and father of Herbert L., was born in Gorham, Me., in 1822, and on arriving at man's estate he took up agricultural pursuits in that neighborhood, but later removed to Troy, Me., where he served as selectman. His next location was on a farm near Fort Fairfield. In 1873 he came west and settled on a farm near Seattle, Wash., but at this writing makes his home at Montesano, Wash. His wife, Nancy, was born in Troy, Me., and was a daughter of Jesse Smart, also a native of that state. After having for some years followed farm pursuits and conducted a lumber business at Troy, Mr. Smart crossed the plains to California with a son about 1852 and there engaged in mining until his death four years later. The Smart family was of early Massachusetts stock.
    Of the nine children of William Gilkey all but one are living. Herbert L., who was among the youngest of the number, was born at Fort Fairfield, Aroostook County, Me., September 20, 1866. In the spring of 1873 he accompanied his parents to Washington, where he passed the years of boyhood on a farm, alternating farm work with attendance upon the district schools. Later he took a course of study in Heald's Business College, San Francisco, from which he was graduated in 1887. His first employment was that of bookkeeper in a general store at Montesano, Wash. A year later, in 1888, he secured a position as bookkeeper in the bank of C. N. Byles & Co., at Montesano, and his services with that firm proved so satisfactory that in time he was promoted to be cashier. When the institution was merged into the Bank of Montesano in 1890, he continued in the capacity of cashier, besides being a stockholder and director. In 1894 he disposed of his interests in Montesano and moved to Medford, Ore., where he engaged with W. T. Kame in the hardware business, under the firm name of Kame & Gilkey. On selling out in 1897, he became cashier of the Jackson County Bank, which position he held until April, 1901.
    As cashier of the First National Bank of Southern Oregon at Grants Pass, Mr. Gilkey came to Grants Pass in April of 1901 and has since been identified with the financial interests of the city. The property which he purchased on A Street has been remodeled and enlarged under his personal direction and forms a beautiful home, the attractiveness of the residence being enhanced by the well-kept lawn and eight acres of grounds surrounding. December 7, 1903, Mr. Gilkey was elected mayor of Grants Pass, on the citizens' ticket, resulting in a victory for better municipal government. In addition to being an active member of the board of trade, he officiates as treasurer of that organization. His identification with local affairs in the various places of his abode has been intimate. A staunch Republican in politics, his election to office has usually been nonpartisan. At one time he served as a member of the Republican county central committee of Chehalis County, Wash. While in Montesano he was a member of the city council three terms. During his residence in Medford he was twice honored with the office of mayor, and while in office gave his support to and was instrumental in securing the passage of an ordinance providing for remodeling the water works and placing the entire plant on a paying basis. Another important measure he secured was the opening up of Main Street through the building of a new depot by the railway company.
    In fraternal relations Mr. Gilkey is a member of Golden Rule Lodge, I.O.O.F., at Grants Pass, in which he is past noble grand. The Woodmen of the World also number him among their members. The cause of religion has in him a sincere friend and adherent. For years he has been Sunday school superintendent in the Methodist Episcopal Church, where he fills the office of steward. While living in Washington, he was married at Montesano in 1888, to Miss Olive Karr, a native of Hoquiam, Wash., and daughter of James A. Karr, one of the pioneers of that place. In the family of Mr. and Mrs. Gilkey there are five children, namely: Wilna O., Herbert J., Errol C., Winfield and Esther.
Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 535-536

    A. V. GILLETTE: lives in Ashland; is a carpenter; was born in Hartford, Connecticut; came to state and county in 1857; was married March, 1855, to Martha L. Hill. Children Charles H., Edgar L., Almon C., Carrie, Effie E., George V. and Hugh H.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

Journalist, Manager, Medford Mail Tribune.
b. Pleasanton, Kansas, August 24, 1877; son of Louis and Elizabeth (Fisher) Gilstrap; educated schools of Kansas, Washington and Oregon; m. Anna Florence Johnson; children Elizabeth Fay (Mrs. Edward R. Walker), Ernestine (Mrs. Willard Eberhart), Philip and Robert; publishing and printing business 1899 to date; various newspapers, Pacific Coast, to 1918; manager Eugene Register, later consolidated with Eugene Daily Guard as Register-Guard to 1930; vice-president Southern Oregon Publishing Co. (owner, operators of Roseburg News Review, Klamath Falls Herald and News); manager, Medford Mail Tribune; stockholder, Medford Printing Company 1933-; Oregon Editorial Association Alpha Delta Sigma (hon. adv.); Mason; home 35 Geneva; office Mail Tribune, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 216

GODDARD, Gareth Beecher
Superintendent of Schools, Jacksonville.

b. Rochester, Wash., Sept. 16, 1912; son of R. H. and Helen M. (Hankins) Goddard; educated public schools; Centralia Junior College; Southern Oregon College of Education; University of Oregon B.S. 1935; m. Margaret E. Norvell, Jacksonville, 1936; son Steven James; began as principal, Lone Pine School, Medford 1934-41; principal, Washington School, Ashland 1941-42; present position 1942-; Odd Fellow; Mason; Republican; Presbyterian; home, Jacksonville
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, pages 218-219

Realtor; Civic Leader.
b. Canton, South Dakota, Dec. 2, 1898; son of Eugene and Ida (Alexander); educated S.D. grade and high schools; S.D. State College one year; m. Nellie C. Campbell Henselman, Medford, Sept. 18, 1942; began as bookkeeper, bank, Canton, S.D.; later assistant cashier, Lyman, Wyoming; various positions, salesman to manager, First Federal Savings and Loan Association, Salt Lake City, Utah 1930-34; real estate, Medford, since 1934; active in many war drives; chairman Jackson County Housing Authority; manager Federal Housing Unit; chairman Rogue River Irrigation Development Commission; served U.S. Army, World War I, Lt. Q.M. Corps Reserves, many years; member local, state and national realty boards; president State Insurance Agents Association 1940 (served as secretary 4 years); owner Goldy Bldg.; instrumental in selecting and securing site for Camp White for U.S. War Department; S.R. Mason; Rotarian (president 1938-39); Chamber of Commerce (past vice-president, now director); Republican; Protestant; home 35 S. Berkeley Way; office 107 East Main St., Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 220

    JAMES P. GOODALL.--There are some hundreds of men upon our coast whose life experiences embrace as much of romance and adventure as was ever told in the pages of Marryat, Irving, or of Smollett. For a full recital of this, we must refer the inquirer to such men as the genial gentleman whose name appears above, that he may in his own home, in the beautiful city of Jacksonville, Oregon, recount as to us the stories of his life upon this coast.
    He was born at Milledgeville, Georgia, in 1818, and at that city and at Columbus in the same state, and at Montgomery, Alabama, received his education. In 1835-36, while but a youth of seventeen, he began his active career by joining the column under Scott to quiet the Creeks and the Seminole Indians, and, after service there was ended, entered Texas as a revolutionist under Lamar and Houston, serving an active army life from the Sabine to the Rio Grande, and north to the Red River, and the northwest of Texas in the Comanche region.
    In 1846 the war with Mexico took him with the advance of Wool's column to the Mexican borders, to Presidio, Rio Grande, to Monclova, Monterey and other interior towns. At the close of hostilities, having served a whole term, and having experienced several skirmishes and actions, he performed an overland trip in 1849 via Durango, to the Pacific at Mazatlan, and thence by sea to the gold fields of California. Ten years were spent in the exciting pursuits of the miner, and in hard brushes with the Indians of Northern California and Southern Oregon. In 1853, while mining at Yreka, he raised a company of ninety men to quell the Indian disturbances of that season in the Rogue River Valley. This was a notable fighting company, serving under General Lane and losing a quarter of its number. More than twenty years after this Mr. Goodall passed over some of the same ground, inspecting the lava beds of the Modoc country, where he had acted with Ben Wright's expedition in 1852, performing effective and hard service.
    Temporarily quitting life on the Pacific Coast, he returned in 1859 to New York, making a trip to Washington, District of Columbia, and throughout the South as far as Texas. He thence arranged a trip to Europe and the Mediterranean, leaving New York City in the summer of 1860 on a tour extending to Cairo, Egypt, thence along the north coast of Africa to Tunis, across the Mediterranean to Marseilles, and thence overland to Bayonne, taking ship home from that French port to New York.
    Being in full sympathy with the South from 1861 to 1865, he did service in the main from Corpus Christi to Brazos Santiago, and after the unpleasantness was over made once more the journey to the Pacific by Durango and Mazatlan to San Francisco. The gold fields of the Upper Columbia lured him to their mineral deposits; and he made a protracted tour of all the leading mines in Idaho and Nevada--at the Comstock and elsewhere. From 1871 to 1873, he made explorations for mines in Arizona and Southern California in the vicinity of San Diego. In 1877 he came up again to Oregon; and at length, as the most desirable spot for a home, he brought to Jacksonville his lares and penates, and is now living in serene age under his own vine and fig-tree, and in the midst of his peach and apricot groves--a sunny spot to spend the sunset years of a life not without its tempests, and a part of which had been spent as a seeker after gold with the pick, shovel and sluicebox.
History of the Pacific Northwest, Oregon and Washington, volume 2, Portland, Oregon 1889, pages 345-346

    MONROE H. GORDON, filling the position of postmaster at Beagle, was born in Decatur County, Iowa, August 25, 1858. He is a grandson of Alfred Gordon, who passed away in Jackson County, Oregon, at the remarkable old age of ninety-four and one-half years, and his wife, Mrs. Matilda Gordon, who died in Medford at about the same age. They were the parents of Uriah Gordon, who was born in Kentucky and was reared in Illinois and Missouri. In Iowa he was united in marriage to Miss Matilda Margaret Ross, a native of Pennsylvania. In the spring of 1865 they left Iowa and started across the plains for the Northwest, making their way to the Willamette Valley, where they remained for eighteen months. In the spring of 1867 they removed to Jackson County and took up their abode near Medford on what is known as the old Gordon ranch. The name has since figured in connection with the history of the county and is prominently known in association with the development and progress of this part of the state. The father was a lifelong farmer and became an extensive stockraiser on the Rogue River. He had four hundred and eighty acres of rich land which he brought under a high state of cultivation, continuing its development and improvement to the time of his death, which occurred at Rogue River near Prospect in 1903 when he was seventy-three years of age. His widow still survives him and is now living in Medford. They were the parents of six sons and six daughters, and with the exception of one daughter all are yet living.
    Monroe H. Gordon is the eldest son and the second child and has been a ranchman throughout his entire life, having early become acquainted with the best methods of tilling the soil and caring for the crops. He is a man of great energy and determination, and early recognized the fact that industry and perseverance are indispensable elements of success. He is now the owner of one hundred and sixty acres at Beagle and devotes his place to general farming and stock-raising. He is also serving as postmaster of the town, to which position he was appointed in May, 1905, as a successor of A. M. Houston, who was the first postmaster of the place and had continued in that position for twenty years. Mr. Gordon gives his political support to the Democratic Party and has voted for its men and measures since age conferred upon him the right of franchise.
    In 1884 Mr. Gordon was married to Miss Sarah Murray, who was born in Illinois. June 3, l863, and came to Oregon in the fall of 1871 with her parents, James and Flora A. Murray, who were natives of Pennsylvania but were married in Illinois. On reaching the Northwest the family settled in .Jackson County, two and one-half miles north of Medford, and both Mr. and Mrs. Murray died upon their farm. In their family were eight children, four sons and four daughters. The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Gordon has been blessed with seven children: Clara, who is the wife of Clarence Wiehite of Sams Valley; Pearl, who died at the age of ten years; Milly, the wife of Elbert Glass of Sams Valley; Bessie, the wife of Earl Case of Sams Valley; Olive, Mattie and Samuel A., all at home.
    Forty-five years' residence in Jackson County has made Monroe H. Gordon largely familiar with the history of this part of the state. He has not only been an interested witness of the changes which have occurred but has also been a cooperant factor in many movements related to the public good. His labors are indeed a beneficial element in behalf of general progress as well as of individual success.

Joseph Gaston, The Centennial History of Oregon,
vol. III, 1912, pages 256-257

GORE, HATTIE W. (Mrs. Edwd. E. Gore)
Music Teacher.
b. Grand Rapids, Wisconsin, daughter of Lyman B. and Harriett Nye Warner; educated public schools Champaign, Illinois, Neligh, Nebraska; Gates College (now Doane College), Crete, Nebraska, B.S. in Science and Music; studied at Metropolitan College of Music, N.Y.; studied under Albert Ross Parsons (N.Y.); John Williams (Chicago); Bernard Wagness (Los Angeles); courses at Pomona College, California; m. Edward E. Gore, Medford, Oregon; children Beulah Lucretia (Mrs. S. A. Mushen Jr.), Rosa Louise (Mrs. Harold B. Cooke), Dorothy Elizabeth (Mrs. Victor R. Davis); began as teacher of music, Nebraska, Illinois and many years teaching in Medford; frequent contributor, music publications and daily newspapers; member Greater Medford Club, past president; Wednesday Study Club (charter member), College Women's Club, Medford Music Society; first woman to serve on Medford School Board, three terms; member State Federation of Music Clubs (several years local representative); has one of largest collections of music and concert programs, dating to 1882, of various leading artists and students showing development and progress of music in America; Republican; Presbyterian (member); home 116 Geneva, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 222

William H. Gore    WILLIAM H. GORE.  Since 1894 what is known as the Ish Ranch, two and a half miles west of Medford, has been under the capable management of William H. Gore. This statement alone suffices to place the property in the category of perfectly conducted farms, for no broader minded or more progressive tiller of the soil and student of scientific ranching has contributed to the development of Jackson County. The owners of this farm are recognized as the most extensive owners of land and stock, and growers of alfalfa in this district, and at present two hundred and forty acres are devoted to the cattle grass which has practically built up the stock industry of the West and North. Through the efforts of Mr. Gore the output of the farm has materially increased, the shipment of hogs in 1902 far exceeding that of any other dealer in the county. This is but one of the commodities which swell the yearly revenue of this productive ranch, high grade cattle, sheep, grain, and general produce taking on like proportions, excelling also in quality as well as quantity. Needless to say, the house occupied by Mr. Gore and his family is in keeping with the modern surroundings of the farm, is large and well arranged, and furnished in accordance with refined tastes and cultivated tendencies of the occupants.
    As a native son of this great state Mr. Gore's career has been watched with growing interest by the generation of pioneers, of which class his father, Emerson E. Gore, was a typical representative. The son was born on the family estate three miles south of Medford, April 23, 1860, and was educated in the district schools, and graduated from the state University of Oregon, at Eugene. A pronounced appreciation of higher education was one of the pleasing tendencies noted in Mr. Gore's boyhood days, and in order to gratify his ambition in this direction it became necessary for him to help himself. It thus happened that he began to teach school at the age of nineteen, and, through the exercise of economy and prudence, he was able to defray his expenses at the university. In 1888 he went to Portland and found employment with Page & Son, fruit and commission merchants, and at the expiration of three years, or in 1891, he branched out into a similar business on his own responsibility. Three years later, in 1894, he returned to Medford and took charge of the ranch which has since been his care, and which is twelve hundred acres in extent. In the meantime he has made his influence felt in general affairs, has taken a firm stand for clean Republican politics, for government in the interests of the people, and for the best possible educational advantages. He is specially fitted for political preferment, having a broad grasp of existing conditions, and possessing marked executive ability. For many years he has been an elder in the Presbyterian Church, and has labored zealously for the enlargement of the church charities. November 5, 1890, Mr. Gore married Sophenia J. Ish, who was born on the farm where she still makes her home, and is a daughter of Jacob and J. Eleanor (Jones) Ish, who came to Oregon in 1860 and were the owners of the Ish place. Jacob Ish, father of Mrs. Gore, was born in Virginia and was reared in the heart of the southern Democracy. He was the owner of some slaves before the war and lost considerable property through the ravages of that memorable conflict. In 1860 he came to Oregon with his four brothers, William K., Horace L., Mathew R., and Richard L., all of whom are now deceased except Robert L., who resides in Jackson County. Mr. Ish resided for twenty-one years in Jackson County, where he became one of the largest land owners in southern Oregon. He was the founder of the Ish ranch, which is known far and wide, and for many years he furnished from his broad acres supplies for the government troops stationed at Fort Klamath, and for the stage stations between Grants Pass and Yreka, Cal. He married for his first wife Miss J. Eleanor Jones, who died July 29, 1877, leaving one daughter, now Mrs. W. H. Gore. He married, October 7, 1879, for his second wife, Miss Sarah Elizabeth Jones, a sister of the first wife, who survives him and makes her home on the ranch with her stepdaughter. Mr. Ish died March 4, 1881, at the age of fifty-nine years. Jacob I. and Mary E., the two children born to Mr. and Mrs. Gore, are living at home with their parents.
    Entirely inadequate is a resume of the life of Mr. Gore without due mention of his father, Emerson E., from whom he inherits many of his forceful and admirable characteristics. He was born in Halifax, Windham County, Vt., June 20, 1824, and is a son of Ebenezer and Polly (Haven) Gore, the parents also of five other children. Of these, Sabrey is the deceased wife of Eben Stancliff, of Phoenix, Ore.; Emory E. is the twin brother of Emerson; Elizabeth is deceased; Orrin is a resident of Oregon; and Lucy A. When Emerson E. was four years of age, in 1828, his parents moved to the western reserve in Ohio, and took up government land upon which they lived until 1840. They then located near Keokuk, Lee County, Iowa, where the father died in 1848, at the age of fifty-six years. Emerson E. made himself useful around the farm, becoming his father's right-hand man, and after his death assuming the management of the property. September 20, 1849, he married Mary E. Gilmore, thereafter continuing to live in Iowa until the spring of 1852. April 27, he started with his family and brother, Emory E., for the coast, equipped with four yoke of oxen and one yoke of cows, being on the road for five months and seven days. In the fall of 1852 he located a claim of three hundred and twenty acres just across the road from where he now lives, three miles south of Medford, and between Medford and Phoenix, where he lived until removing to his present home in 1854. For many years he joined forces with his brother  Emory, and with him constructed a sawmill on Bear Creek which was successfully operated until 1860. Mr. Gore then bought out his brother, the latter returning to his home an the East, finally settling in Lawrence, Kans.
    Mr. Gore has made himself an essential part of the agricultural community of Jackson County, has participated in its all-around development, and has reared capable and resourceful sons to perpetuate his honored name. His oldest son was born at Jacksonville, Ore., December 3, 1852, was christened Walter S., and was the first white male child born in that vicinity. Mr. Gore possesses marked executive ability, and from time to time has been called upon to settle estates. He is well known in fraternal circles, not only as a member, but as an organizer, for he had to do with establishing the first Masonic Lodge at Phoenix. After the delivery of that charter he joined Warren Lodge No. 10, A.F.&A.M. He also is a member of the Presbyterian Church, and like his son has been a great worker in the same. Too much cannot be said of his temperate, evenly balanced and altogether successful life, and of the admirable characteristics which have brought him honor and many friends.
Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, page 747

Co-partner Crater Lake Lumber Company.
b. Chicago, Ill., Mar. 19, 1912; son of Walter A. and Ruth K. (Kimball) Graff; educated Chicago and Wallingford, Conn. (Choate Prep School); University of Virginia 2½ years; Phi Delta Theta; m. Florence Markham, Chicago, May 14, 1913; children Walter A., Susan; began in garage and auto salesroom, Charlottesville, Va.; with Bastian-Blessing Co., fixture manufacturers, Chicago; Aetna Life Insurance representative, Chicago 1936-38; to Medford 1938; with Medford Lumber Corp. various positions to assistant sales manager; purchased Wallace Woods Lumber Co. 1941; with M. O. Bessonette, partner Crater Lake Lumber Co. since 1941; partner, Marshall Bessonette general contractors, builders, commercial buildings and government projects; member University Club of Medford; Republican; Presbyterian; home 2510 Lyman Ave.; office 613 East Jackson, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 223

GREEN, George Madden, journalist; b. Uniontown, Kentucky August 18, 1889; to Oregon 1924; University of Virginia; University of Missouri; m. Marian Nutt June 17, 1924; children--William Thomas, Marian Isabelle. Manager Ashland Daily Tidings since 1924; publisher in Kentucky and Colorado before coming to Oregon. Delta Tau Delta; Kiwanis; American Legion. Republican. Address: 199 Granite Street, Ashland, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, pages 95-96

Publisher; Editor, Ashland Daily Tidings.
b. Uniontown, Kentucky, August 18, 1889; educated University of Virginia; University of Missouri; Delta Tau Delta; m. Marian Nutt, June 17, 1924; one son, William Thomas, one daughter, Marian Isabel; resident of Oregon since 1924; publisher Ashland Daily Tidings 1924 to date; formerly active in publishing business Kentucky and Colorado; publisher Kelly Field Eagle, Kelly Field, U.S.A., World War I; chairman Ration Board 1942-; chairman Salvage Committee and Postwar Committee; Legionnaire; Elk; Republican; home 343 N. Main St.; office 150 N. Main St., Ashland
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 227

Gift Fruit Shipper, Co-Owner, Stage Coach Orchards.
b. St. Paul, Minn., Nov. 23, 1900; son of Walter Scott (pioneer lumberman Seattle and Hood Canal, Washington) and Mary E. (Hamilton) Green; educated public schools Seattle, Wash.; Wilson Business college, Seattle; son Gordon R. II; began, personnel manager, Western Electric Company during period of installation dial telephones 1920-25; manager Hood River operations, American Fruit Growers Association 1925-31; division manager, American Fruit Growers Association, Medford 1932 to date; founder fabulous Blue Goose Orchards, originator of "Fruit o' the Calendar Club," a million-dollar-a-year business devoted to shipping to every state in union gift baskets and boxes of world-famous Rogue River Valley fruit, basically a friendship business, 1934 to date; co-partner, Green Acres Orchards (formerly Charles Wing Orchards, Inc.) 1945-; co-owner Stage Coach Orchards, gift box fruit shippers; writer of many humor and general interest magazine articles; member International Apple Association; trustee, Oregon-Washington-California Pear Bureau; very active in Red Cross work; member Rogue River Traffic Association; chairman Siskiyou Service Council; member University Club, Medford; member Knife and Fork Club; Rogue River Valley Golf Club; Elk; Episcopalian; home 15 Corning Court; office Box 1226, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 227

GREENLEAF, William Lee, actor, reader; b. Galesburg, Iowa December 13, 1878; to Oregon 1901; Bradley Boria Technical College, Australia; m. Leah Scharer June 1, 1901; children--Sylvia Anna, Moses Lee. 4,000 monologue presentations of classic plays--nearly 2,000 "Rip Van Winkle"; one of American invited to Memorial Theatre, Stratford on Avon. Schoolmasters Club, Schubert, California. Republican. Christian Court. Address: Ranch Greenleaf, Central Point, Oregon.
Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 96

    JAMES F. GREGORY: lives on Sticky Flat; is a farmer; post office address is Central Point; was born in Carroll County, Tennessee; came to state and county in 1872; was married in 1865, to Louisa Cochran. Children J. Frank, Elmira, Lillie, Jessie, Josephine, Tamer and infant.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

    WM. J. GREGORY: lives on Sticky Flat; is a farmer; was born in Jasper County, Tenn., 1835; came to state and county in 1864; was married November 24, 1859, to Elizabeth March. Children Lucinda, Jennie (dec.), Henry L., Lavina (dec.), Wm. W., Mary E. and James F.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

    WILLIAM J. GREGORY. In the career of William J. Gregory illustration is found of the happy blending of the conservatism and caution of the South and East, and the push and energy of the West. With this combination of forces it is not surprising that long ago he was rated with the men of success and enterprise in Jackson County, or that at the present time he wields an influence second to none in his neighborhood. As a boy Mr. Gregory lived on a farm near Huntington, Carroll County, Tenn., where he was born February 17, 1835, and where he continued to live until attaining his majority. His father, Wiley B., born in White County, Tenn., November 18, 1808, was a farmer by occupation, and was thrice married. His first wife, the mother of William J., was formerly Mary Sherrill, and was born in Tennessee March 20, 1809. Of this union, besides William J., who was the second child, there were three other children, of whom James F. lives in Medford, Levi N. is in California, and Mrs. Mary Girley is a resident of Springfield, Mo. Wiley B. Gregory moved with his family to Green County, Mo., in 1842, and here his first wife died in 1847. Three years later, in 1850, he was united in marriage with Mandy Appleby, a native of Missouri, and who bore him three children; Mrs. Sarah Clayman of St. Louis, Mo.; Mrs. Susannah Bryant of the Choctaw Nation, I.T., and Ellen. Mrs. Gregory died in 1858, and for his third wife Mr. Gregory married Mollie Reid, who was born in Arkansas, and with whom he removed to Arkansas about 1870. As in other localities, he continued to farm and raise stock with fair success, his death occurring in 1895, at the age of eighty-seven. His widow afterward removed to her present home in California. Mr. Gregory was public-spirited and progressive, an advocate of schools, churches and charities, and contributed liberally of his means toward the support of these institutions. He was a member of the Christian Church, and in politics a Republican.
    With ox teams William J. Gregory crossed the plains in 1856, bringing with him to the Western Slope a world of energy and enthusiasm. Outdoor life had given him a strong constitution, and because he had always been industrious, he knew no other life than that of honest toil. He traveled with a man by the name of B. F. Butler, for whom he drove oxen and made himself generally useful. The party encountered much trouble with the Indians, especially at Gravelford, where quite a fight ensued ere the travelers could proceed on their way. At the end of five months they arrived in Napa County, Cal., where Mr. Gregory lived with Mr. Butler for two years, and where he met and married his wife, Elizabeth March, November 28, 1858. Mrs. Gregory was born in Scotland County, Mo., in 1845. Until 1864 the young people continued to live in Napa County, and then came to Jackson County, Ore., where Mr. Gregory bought a ranch of one hundred and sixty acres five miles northeast of Central Point. Soon after he homesteaded the same amount of land adjoining his first farm, and upon which he makes his present home. The farm now consists of six hundred acres in one body, and besides he owns one hundred acres near Bear Creek. He is engaged in stock-raising and general farming, having made many fine improvements on his property, and supplied it with modern agricultural appliances. His family occupy a large and well-furnished and comfortable house, and his barns are such as an enterprising farmer rejoices in. At one time Mr. Gregory conducted an extensive stock business in Langells Valley, but has long since disposed of it. His family consists of himself, his youngest son, William W., and his wife. Three of his children have been taken from him by death, but two of those living, Mrs. Elizabeth C. Owen and Henry L., live in his immediate vicinity, while Lucinda, the wife of T. H. Wedon, lives in Ashland. Mr. Gregory is a staunch advocate of the Democratic Party and has held many offices of a local nature. With his wife he is a member of the Christian Church, and the latter is a great worker therein. Mr. Gregory is one of the substantial, wealthy and prominent men of his county, and in all ways commands the respect and good will of his associates.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 326-329

Civic Leader; Advertising Director, Medford Mail Tribune.
b. Berwyn, Illinois Jan. 31, 1903; son of Joseph O. and Sylvia M. (Davis) Grey; educated public schools Illinois and Oregon; extension courses; member honorary Thacher Chapter, Alpha Delta Sigma; m. Helen Gregory, Medford, Dec. 7, 1929; children Herbert J. and James W.; active newspaperman; Director of Advertising, Mail Tribune,
1925-; past president Jackson County Chamber of Commerce; past president Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association; past director, advisory committee, National Editorial Association; member newspaper advisory committee, Oregon Defense Savings Staff, Treasury Department; director, Oregon Press Club; chairman, USO management; committee member (1944) Salvation Army advisory board; member Oregon Advertising Managers, Jackson County Lincoln Club, Rogue Valley University Club, Sons of the American Revolution; Rotarian; Mason; Shriner (publicity director, Hillah Temple); Republican; Protestant; home 42 S. Barneburg Rd.; office Medford Mail Tribune, Medford.
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 229

    One of the hardy men who followed the path of the buffalo across the thirsty sands of the American desert in 1848 was born in Cumberland County, May 13th, 1808. Brought up to agriculture, the pursuit that develops bone and muscle and makes men, Mr. Griffin has continued in it his whole life. At the age of twenty Burrell was married to Miss Sallie Throgmorton, who still lives. In 1834 Mr. Griffin pushed west to Missouri with his family and entered a body of land in Macon County, where he resided until 1848, when he struck out for Oregon, coming here by the Fort Hall route, and resting after a perilous journey at Oregon City. In the spring of 1849 Griffin went to California and worked in the mines on Bear River on the South "Yuba," realizing a handsome stake and returning to Oregon the same year, settling in the Forks of the "Santiam" where he located a donation claim. In 1852 Mr. Griffin removed to Jackson County, where he has remained ever since in one location. The life of Mr. Griffin has been one of stirring adventure and romance. In Missouri he was captain of a military company, going through the Mormon War, assisting in driving the Mormons into Illinois. He was through all the Indian wars in this county and at the desperate fight on Williams Creek, was twice wounded, once through the leg and once through the shoulder. Captain Griffin is a man of marked characteristics, warm in his friendships and uncomfortably cool to those who do not like him. During the existence of the Whig Party he was an ardent supporter of it; after its dissolution he joined the Democratic Party but always reserves the right to vote just as he pleases, regardless of the dictum of party leaders. Next to his wife and children Burrell loves a horse above all things and has contributed much to the improvement of fine stock here. The old couple have had a family of eleven children, nine of whom are living, and they are proud of counting up thirty-six grandchildren. Captain Griffin is now one of the Vice [illegible line] though seventy-two, bids fair to stay with us many years.
Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, June 25, 1879, page 2

GRISWOLD, Ray Elliott, Civil Engineer; born, Canton, Pa., Apr. 3, 1867; son, Oscar Clark and Delia Ellen (Wicks) G. Edu.: Canton, Pa., High School, and Lafayette College, Easton, Pa. Married, Nellie M. Richmond, Apr. 11, 1909, at Cottage Grove, Oregon. For 14 years in employ of Border Asphalt Paving Co., of New York and Phila.; engaged in engrg. and executive work. Six years in Trinidad, B.W.I., and Venezuela, S.A., as Engr. and Mgr. Pres., Elk Creek Lumber Co., Drain, Ore.; Mgr. and half owner of Building Specialties Co., Medford, Ore. Asso. Mem., Am. Soc. Civil Engrs.; Member, Medford Merchants' Assn. Res.: 917 Central Ave.; Office: 318 E. Main St., Medford, Oregon.

Harper, Franklin, ed., Who's Who on the Pacific Coast, 1913, page 236

GRISWOLD, Nellie Richmond:
Teacher of piano; b. Longton, Kans., Sept. 15, 1881, d. James Demorest and Alice (Flinn) Richmond; ed. in Woodburn and Salem, Ore.; grad. Willamette Univ., Salem, Ore.; grad. Mus. B., Willamette College of Music; m. Cottage Grove, Ore., Apr. 11, 1909 (2 daughters); has taught at Fossil, Ore., 2 yrs.; Cottage Grove and Medford, Ore., 10 yrs. Address: Cottage Grove, Ore.

César Saerchinger, International Who's Who in Music and Musical Gazetteer, 1918, page 241

    JOHN L. GRUBB--a view of whose residence is placed among the illustrations of this work--was born in Louisa County, Iowa. When but a small boy, Mr. Grubb emigrated with his parents, in 1852, to Jackson County, Oregon. On attaining his majority our subject engaged in farming for himself, to which he has since added stock raising. The latter pursuit he is now largely engaged in on his farm near Jacksonville.
A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 530

Who represents Baker County on the floor of the Senate, has so often been a member of the Legislative Assembly that his name has become almost a household word in the history of our state. Mr. Haines is a gentleman of rather commanding appearance, tall and well-proportioned, neatly attired, pleasant features, with brown beard and hair, in which the silver threads are shining. He is a ready speaker, and takes an active part in the debates. He was born in Xenia, Ohio, in 1827, moved with his parents to Missouri in 1841, where he resided until coming to Oregon in 1849. He was then connected with the quartermaster's department of the Rifle Regiment, U.S. troops, commanded by Col. Loring. The regiment took possession of Fort Vancouver a few days after their arrival, under the U.S. treaty with Great Britain. Securing his discharge from the U.S. service shortly afterwards, he went overland to California in the following spring and spent the summer mining on Nelson's Creek. He returned to Oregon the following fall and remained in Portland until 1853, when he went to Jackson County. He remained there but a short time, when the Randolph gold excitement broke out. Mr. Haines went to Coos Bay and erected the first house there, using it as a hotel and general merchandise store. His goods arrived on the sailing vessel Cynosure, commanded by Capt. Whippy, Mr. Haines acting as her pilot and guiding her across the bar, she being the first sailing vessel that, laden with merchandise, ever entered that harbor. He returned to Jacksonville in the fall of 1854 and carried on a general merchandising business until 1862. He that year represented Jackson County in the House of Representatives. He read law under Hon. P. P. Prim, and was admitted to the bar in 1864. He soon afterwards moved to Idaho Territory and practiced his profession there and in California. In 1867 he opened an office in Baker County, where he has resided ever since, interspersing his practice with successful ventures in farming and stock-raising. He was a member of the House from that county in 1876, and in 1878 was elected State Senator and was re-elected in 1882. He is a staunch Democrat and a strict partisan. He was married in 1871 to Miss Sarah M. Dorsett, their family consisting of five children. He is an active, influential citizen, and is highly esteemed by the people of the county he represents.
Frank E. Hodgkin and J. J. Galvin, Pen Pictures of Representative Men of Oregon, 1882, page 16

Newspaperman; Ex-Legislator.
b. Long Island, Kansas, March 20, 1904; educated public schools Central Point, Oregon; Oregon State College, B.A. 1929; Oregon State College, B.A. 1929; Chi Phi; m. Eva Nealon 1931; children Alexander Moore, Nancy Nealon; began reporter, now co-editor and owner, Medford News; co-owner Hamilton Bros. Orchards, Central Point; State Representative, Jackson County 1935 session; Democrat; home 43 Rose; office 39 S. Grape Street, Medford
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 240

    SAMUEL B. HAMILTON. Jackson County owes not a little of her present prosperity to the worthy lives and untiring industry of the native sons of Tennessee. From this far-off state many have traversed with incredible difficulty the long distance without stopping for any length of time, while others have broken the long journey by short residences in some intervening state, there to recuperate financially as well as physically. To the latter class belongs Samuel B. Hamilton, who has lived on his present farm, ten miles south of Jacksonville, since 1886.
    Born in Guernsey County, Tenn., June 11, 1833, Mr. Hamilton removed with his family to Mercer County, Mo., in 1840, and lived there and in Iowa until crossing the plains the first time, in 1853. The winter previous had been spent in active preparation for the great event, spring finding him fitted with provisions and an ox team with which he made the memorable trip. He was twenty years old at the time, strong, vigorous, ambitious, and determined to earn a competence in the great undeveloped West. He was six months on the way and met with little opposition from the Indians, finally arriving in Jacksonville, where he engaged in mining until 1856. Going then to California, he worked in the mines of Yreka until February, 1857, when he returned to the East by way of Panama, taking with him a comfortable little hoard. In 1858 he married Mary K. Martin, who had been anxiously watching his success, and to whom the gold mined meant a home in a new and hopeful country. Again Mr. Hamilton crossed the plains in an ox train in 1862, and at Watsonville, Cal., found employment until 1864. He then came to Jacksonville, Ore., and after looking around at different farms for sale, located on a homestead four miles from Ashland, where he lived and prospered until 1886. He then came to his present farm of two hundred and thirty-four acres on Applegate Creek, where he is engaged in general farming and stock-raising. Besides the improvements on the farm at the time of purchase, Mr. Hamilton has added not only a pleasant home for his family, but good barns and the latest of agricultural implements. To himself and wife have been born six children, of whom Greenburg, William P. and Charles are deceased, and Enoch, Jesse and Elsie are living at home. Mr. Hamilton is a Democrat in politics, but has never had a desire for official service. He is an industrious, capable and honorable citizen, a promoter of education, and a believer in all that tends to elevate the general tone of his promising county.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 891-892

    JOSEPH L. HAMMERSLEY. A position of rising influence among the professional men of Jackson County is held by Mr. Hammersley, who since 1898 has been engaged in the practice of law at Gold Hill and also since 1902 has officiated in the capacity of postmaster. His life has been passed in Oregon and he was born near Eugene, Lane County, August 4, 1871, his parents being George R. and Martha (Borough) Hammersley, natives respectively of Tennessee and Iowa, the latter a daughter of a prominent politician and statesman of Iowa. A descendant of an old Tennessee family of tradesmen and manufacturers, George R. Hammersley was born August 20, 1838, and in boyhood accompanied the family to Iowa, where he was married about 1858. From Iowa he moved to Missouri and embarked in the flour mill business. At the outbreak of the Civil War he enlisted as a private in a Missouri regiment and remained in service about one year, meanwhile being taken prisoner and exchanged. On being mustered out he returned to his Missouri home. However, the war had so injured all lines of business in the state that he felt it useless to remain there longer. Having heard much of the Far West and the opportunities it offered men of industrious habits, he decided to seek a home there. In 1862 he crossed the plains with ox teams. At that time the Indians were killing many emigrants and destroying much property, but he fortunately escaped unmolested and unharmed. At the expiration of six months he arrived in the Powder River district near Baker City, Ore., whence he proceeded to Clackamas County and from there to Lane County, settling on a ranch near Eugene. A later location was in Lake County, where he conducted stock-raising upon an extensive scale.
    On coming to Jackson County in 1890 George R. Hammersley settled in Jacksonville, having decided to retire from the stock business. Two years later, while prospecting, he discovered what is now known as the Hammersley mine, twenty-five miles northwest of Gold Hill, in the Jump-Off Joe mining district, and since 1894 he has made Gold Hill his home, giving his attention to his mining interests. Always interested in politics, he is however not a partisan nor an office-seeker, preferring to enjoy the comforts of home when free from the burden of business cares. The Democratic Party received his vote, whether in national or local elections, and he has never from boyhood swerved in his allegiance to the party. Fraternally he is a member of the blue lodge of Masons. In his family there are the following named children: Riley J. and J. B., both of whom occupy land on Evans Creek, Jackson County; T. E., a member of the police force of Portland; Joseph L., of Gold Hill; Luther A., who resides with his parents; and Maragret, wife of Dr. W. P. Chisholm, of Gold Hill.
    The high schools of Lake County furnished Joseph L. Hammersley with fair advantages, and on leaving school he took up the study of law, being for several years in the office of Judge P. P. Prim, of Jacksonville, under whose kindly preceptorship he acquired a thorough grounding into the principles of jurisprudence. On being admitted to the bar in 1898 he at once began to practice at Gold Hill, where for five years he has officiated as city attorney and is also a leading and popular member of the Republican Party at this point. December 27, 1894, he married Matilda Carter, a native of Tennessee. They are the parents of three children, Thelma, J. Noland and Helen Hazel. In fraternal relations Mr. Hammersley is identified with Warren Lodge, No. 10, A.F.&A.M., at Jacksonville; Oregon Chapter, No. 4, R.A.M., also of Jacksonville; the Order of the Eastern Star; Gold Hill Lodge, No. 129, I.O.O.F., in which he has passed all the chairs; Crater Lake Encampment. No. 47, at Gold Hill; the Order of Rebekahs; and Gold Hill Lodge, No. 80, A.O.U.W., in the work of which organizations he takes a warm interest and has proved an active factor in contributing to the success of each. 

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, page 781

    A. P. HAMMOND: lives in Ashland; is a lawyer; was born in Walcott, Wayne County, N.Y.; came to state and county in 1877; was married in 1852 to Elizabeth Schermerhorn (deceased); was subsequently married to Mrs. Emma Howard. First wife's children Albert E., Sarah J. and John M.; .second wife's, Grace, Frank, Kate, Nellie, Thomas and Robert.

A. G. Walling, History of Southern Oregon, 1884, page 503

HAMMOND, Robert Benjamin, manager; b. Ashland, Oregon December 21, 1884; University of Oregon; m. Sarah Virginia Reid June 8, 1908; children--Robert Reid, Bruce Bennett, Sarah Virginia. General manager Home Telephone & Telegraph Co. of Southern Oregon; council since 1924; county commission; A.F.&A.M.; Elk; Sigma Nu; Kiwanis (president 1928). Republican. Protestant. Address: 205 Crater Lake Avenue, Medford, Oregon.

Who's Who in Oregon 1929-1930, Oregon City Enterprise, page 101

Manager, Medford Office, Pacific Telephone & Telegraph Company.
b. Ashland, Oregon, Dec. 21, 1884; son of Alanson P. and Emma J. (Black) Hammond; educated public schools Ashland; University of Oregon; Sigma Nu; m. Sarah Virginia Reid, June 8, 1908; children Robert Reid (deceased Anzio beachhead), Bruce Bennett and Sarah Virginia; to Medford 1910; Southern Pacific R.R. 18 months; collector to general manager, Home Telephone and Telegraph Company of Southern Oregon, 1912-35; firm acquired by Bell System, manager to date; extensive pear orchard operator, 90 acres, 1925 to date; City Councilman, Medford 1924-30; vice-president League of Oregon Cities 1928; member Rogue River Golf Club, Chamber of Commerce (ex-director); Mason (Master 1924); Elk; Kiwanian (president 1928); Republican; Protestant; home P.O. Box 975, Fern Valley Road; office 145 N. Bartlett or Box 49, Medford
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 241

b. Medford, Oregon, October 23, 1898; daughter of John A. and Mary (Love) Hanley; ancestors were early pioneers of Jacksonville, 1851; educated public schools; entire life devoted to diversified farming on original Hanley farm; member County Extension Unit (chairman 1946-, board member 1943-46); member special committees and ten-year programs; chairman Jackson Garden Club; secretary Southern Oregon Pioneer Society; member Historical Society; Granger; Eastern Star; address Box 21 (Jackson District), Medford
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 242

    MICHAEL HANLEY. As a pioneer of limited resources Michael Hanley came to the coast in historic '49, and during the years that intervened until his death in 1889, at the age of sixty-four, he arose to popular esteem as a farmer, large landowner, freighter, Indian fighter, fraternalist, humanitarian, and general promoter of the material, moral and political welfare of Jackson County. No more representative man made his way through the times when order and government were being established on the frontier, or more closely identified his fortunes with the varied and changing conditions by which he was surrounded. His was a character which instinctively permeated every phase of county activity, leaving everything in his wake the better for his strength of courage and high purpose.
    A hard and self-denying youth was the early portion of Mr. Hanley, for his father died when he was about nine years old, leaving his mother with the care of a large family of children. Michael Hanley was born on the home farm near Marietta, Washington County, Ohio, June 24, 1824, and at the age of seventeen struck out in the world as a flatboater on the Ohio and Mississippi rivers. Associating with men from all parts of the country, and representing as many occupations, his opportunities for observation were large, and afforded him insight into both character and work. He went often to New Orleans, and there noted the excitement incident to the discovery of gold on the coast, and, having nothing to detain him in any particular place, he decided to follow the tide of emigration westward. Embarking at New Orleans in the spring of 1849, he reached California via the Isthmus of Panama, and until 1851 engaged in mining and prospecting on the Yuba and Feather rivers. Not realizing his mining expectations he came to Jackson County, Ore., and at Jacksonville engaged in the meat business with John E. Ross. In the fall of 1852 he took up a donation claim of three hundred and twenty acres in Douglas County, two and a half miles north of Myrtle Creek, on the Umpqua River, and resided there alone until his marriage, December 13, 1854, with Martha M. Burnett, a native of St. Louis, Mo., and daughter of John S. Burnett, one of the prominent men of Douglas County. Mr. Burnett is given credit for the many undertakings in which he has been engaged since crossing the plains in an ox train first in the spring of 1849 and again in 1853.
    In 1857 Mr. Hanley and his wife removed to Jackson County, and bought a section of land comprising the Clinton and Welton donation claims, two and a half miles northeast of Jacksonville, where they lived until Mr. Hanley 's lamented death. In time he added to his original property until he had accumulated several hundred acres, much of which was devoted to extensive stock-raising, and he also engaged in freighting in the early days, later on furnishing supplies to the troops in the Cayuse and Rogue River Indian Wars. He was an enlisted soldier in this memorable campaign, and participated in many combats with the Indians. Energetic and farsighted, he was one of the promoters of the general prosperity of the country. Years of patient labor added to his wealth and gave him countless opportunities for well-doing, and many are the instances still recalled of his unstinted generosity to those less fortunate than himself. He was especially liberal to church organizations, a fact evidencing the breadth of his mind, for he himself never became a member of any church. As a Republican he took great interest in local affairs, and while developing his vast property held a number of local offices. The lodge of Masons at Jacksonville had no more popular or more helpful member. Mr. Hanley was eminently social in his tendencies, and inclined to look on the bright and hopeful side of life. He made many and lasting friends, and his departure from the scenes which had known him so long left a void in the hearts of many of his fellow townsmen.
    Mr. Hanley's character was especially shown in his home relations, and the children born into the family came to look upon their father as the personification of manliness and honor. He gave them good educations, and taught them his code of life, watching their developing traits with pride and expectation. John A., his  oldest son, is deceased; Alice E. lives on the home place; William D. is a stockman in eastern Oregon; Edward B. is living in Alaska, and is the partner of Jack Dalton, of mining fame; Ella E. is the wife of Harry Bush, a mine operator of Valparaiso, Chile, S.A.; and Michael F. is engaged in stock-raising near Central Point, Ore. The large estate left by Mr. Hanley has been divided among his children, but the home place is owned and operated by his daughter, Alice E., an excellent business manager, and most estimable and popular woman. Miss Hanley devotes her property principally to alfalfa, having two hundred acres in all, eighty acres of which is under orchard. It is doubtful if many daughters have inherited so many of their sire's personal characteristics, or are so well fitted to carry on the work to which they devoted the greater part of their lives. Miss Hanley has cherished innumerable memories of her father, whom she recalls as worthy her tenderest thought and most exalted appreciation.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 684-685

    There is probably no member of the legal profession better or more favorably known throughout Southern Oregon than is the subject of this sketch, by reason of his long and intimate acquaintanceship with its leading men and active participation in all matters of public import that have tended to advance the interests of that section of the state. His enterprise and integrity have made for him friends among all classes of society, and his name is a synonym for honesty and industry. Judge Hanna was born in Steuben County. New York, May 22, 1832. After arriving at a sufficient age he attended the public schools of his native place until he was fourteen years old, when he entered a dry goods store as salesman. In 1848 he immigrated to Wayne County, Ohio, where he found employment in the Recorder's office. Succumbing to the Western fever, he came to California in 1850 and at once struck out for the gold fields of the interior. He remained in California for about eight years, and working his way northward, we find him a resident of Josephine County in 1858. He still followed his avocation as a miner with varied success, devoting his spare time to preparation for a thorough course in the study of law, which he afterwards availed himself of under the late lamented Hon. James D. Fay, and was in 1872 admitted to the bar. Prior to his admission, however, he was elected Prosecuting Attorney for the First Judicial District, and on assuming the duties of that office he removed to Jacksonville, where he still resides. He was reelected in 1874 and again in 1876. When in 1878 the law was passed creating a separate Supreme Court, Governor Thayer appointed Judge Hanna Circuit Judge of the First Judicial District in place of Hon. P. P. Prim, who was appointed Supreme Judge. In 1880 he was nominated and elected as his own successor, and he still occupies the same high and honorable position. Judge Hanna is a man of rare worth and intelligence. He is remarkably clear-headed and grasps with readiness any knotty problem of law, and is quick in forming an opinion and rendering a decision. None are more independent than himself, and neither fear nor favor control his acts in either public or private life. He believes in calling things by their right names and has the reputation of fearlessness in all he does and says. Socially speaking he is one of the pleasantest men on the bench and has a host of friends. He is full of enterprise, and although nearly fifty years of age, has the vim and energy of a man in the very prime of life. He is the personification of integrity and as a jurist is honored and respected. He is married and has three children, one of which is adopted. Judge Hanna is a Past Master Workman of the A.O.U.W. and Past Sachem in the I.O.R.M. He has won a warm corner in the hearts of the people of Southern Oregon, and we bespeak for him many years of usefulness.
Frank E. Hodgkin and J. J. Galvin, Pen Pictures of Representative Men of Oregon, 1882, pages xx-xxi

    JUDGE HIERO KENNEDY HANNA. Continuously since 1870 Hiero Kennedy Hanna has been identified with the jurisprudence of Oregon, and the professional annals of the state contain no name invested with greater dignity, usefulness or personal honor. At the hand of this venerable seer the tenets of Blackstone have received fair and impartial treatment, and their application to the former unsettled conditions leading up to the prosperous present has resulted in the maintenance of a standard which commands the respect and appreciation of the more thoughtful and discriminating citizens. Judge Hanna possesses a strong and forceful character, a logical mind, and a profound understanding of human nature. His ability has often found an outlet in the devious byways of state development, and his judgment has never swerved from the practical and dependable. It is universally conceded that he has done as much as any man in the legal profession towards rendering applicable the laws which protect life and property.
    On both sides of his family Judge Hanna is a descendant of Revolutionary ancestry. His maternal grandfather, William Hanna, and his maternal grandfather, Pier, both carried muskets in the army of Washington. William Hanna came with his two brothers to America from Scotland long before the Colonies openly rebelled against English rule, William settling in New York, one of his brothers going to Virginia, and the other to Pennsylvania. Alexander Hanna, the father of Judge Hanna, was born in Unadilla township, Otsego County, N.Y., and, true to his patriotic teaching, enlisted in the War of 1812. He was a lumberman for the greater part of his active life, and after his marriage settled in Steuben County, N.Y., where Hiero Kennedy was born May 22, 1832. Alexander Hanna died in 1833, while his son was yet an infant, and he was survived by his wife until 1853. Of the family, consisting of five sons and one daughter, the present lawyer and circuit judge of Jackson County is the sole survivor.
    The youth of Judge Hanna was characterized by a hard struggle for existence, to which emergency he proved himself thoroughly equal. Since his fourteenth year he has practically supported himself, his first money being earned as a clerk in a general store in Bath, N.Y. In 1848 he went to Ohio and clerked in the recorder's office for a couple of years, and while there had his attention called to the steady stream of emigration headed towards the western coast. In the spring of 1850 he joined a train bound for California, but owing to an inadequate supply of provisions the train broke up at Salt Lake City, and had to wait until after the harvest was gathered in order to proceed to their destination. Judge Hanna waited for a month and then accompanied four other people with a wagon and two yoke of oxen to the coast, eventually arriving in Hangtown, now Placerville, where he mined with more than average success. In 1852 he reached the Yuba River, and remained there until the Fraser River excitement of 1858. He then made his way to San Francisco, intending to follow the latest trend, but instead took boat for Crescent City, and later located at Waldo, Josephine County, Ore. Here also he was fairly successful, and soon became identified with politics, and although he had not yet studied law, he was elected district attorney of Josephine County in 1870, serving for two years. Before completing the term he took up the study of law, and was duly admitted to the bar in 1872, the same year being re-elected district attorney by a large majority. In the meantime he had begun a general practice of law in Jacksonville, and in 1874 was elected district attorney for the third time, his jurisdiction covering Jackson, Josephine, Lake and Klamath counties, and in the capacity of prosecuting attorney he attended the first term of court held at Linkville, now Klamath Falls. When the law was passed making a separate supreme court in 1878, he was appointed to the bench by Governor W. W. Thayer, and in 1880 was duly elected judge of the circuit court, resigning, however, because of the meagerness of the salary attached, and with the understanding that Judge Webster be appointed in his place. In June, 1892, Judge Hanna was elected circuit judge of the first district for six years, and in 1898 was re-elected for the same length of time, this being his present chief responsibility. Until President McKinley's administration Judge Hanna was a staunch Democrat, but has since voted the Independent ticket. He was city attorney of Jacksonville during 1874, and has filled the same position on many subsequent occasions.
    Notwithstanding a strenuous professional and political service, Judge Hanna has found time to identify himself with the country's growth and progress and has been particularly active in promoting the mineral development of Jackson County. He is secretary of the company operating the Squaw Lake mine, besides being a large stockholder in the company owning and operating the marble mines of Josephine County.
    In Jacksonville, in 1881, Judge Hanna married his present wife, formerly Mrs. Helena Brentano, a native of Germany, and the mother, through her former marriage, of two children, Mrs. Ollie Overbeck of San Francisco, and Rosa, living with her mother. To Judge and Mrs. Hanna have been born three sons, of whom William is clerking in San Francisco; Herbert, a graduate of St. Mary's College, is studying law with his father; and Leon is living at home. Fraternally Judge Hanna is identified with the Redmen and the Ancient Order United Workmen, of which he is past master workman.
    In making a permanent record of the lives of men who have labored with unremitting toil for the advancement of Oregon, it is but just that Judge Hanna should be given a place of eminence. In his makeup are combined those sterling qualities, which unite him closely to the hearts of people and command universal respect. As a citizen he has the large heart of the West, and the opulent good nature radiating from her splendid harvests and abundant prosperity. His seventy-two years are crowned with all that makes life worth living, and it is universally conceded that he ranks among the first citizens of Southern Oregon.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Western Oregon, Chapman Publishing Co., Chicago, 1904, pages 213-214

    Residence, Jacksonville; office, Farmers & Fruitgrowers Bank. Born at Jacksonville, Oregon. Son of H. K. and Helena (Hesse) Hanna. Attended the common school at Jacksonville, Oregon, the high school at Oakland, California, entering St. Mary's College at Oakland, California, in 1898, graduating in 1903, with A.B. degree. Returned to Jacksonville and studied law in his father's office, being admitted to the bar of Oregon in 1906, and entering into partnership with his father in 1910, which partnership continues to date. Republican.
History of the Bench and Bar of Oregon, 1910, page 146

    Residence and office, Jacksonville, Oregon. Born, May 22, 1832, in Steuben County, New York. Son of Alexander and Fannie (Pier) Hanna. Attended public schools in his native town until fourteen years of age, when he entered dry goods store as salesman. In 1848 removed to Wayne County, Ohio, where he was employed in recorder's office. In 1850 moved to California, and in 1858 to Josephine  County, Oregon, where he worked as a miner, devoting his spare time to the study of law. In 1872 was admitted to the bar of the state of Oregon. Elected Deputy Prosecuting Attorney and was re-elected in 1874 and 1876. In 1878 was appointed Circuit Judge of the First Judicial District, which he represented until 1890, when he was re-elected and served until 1894. Past Master Workman of A.O.U.W., and Past Sachem of I.O.E.M. Member Oregon Historical Society.
History of the Bench and Bar of Oregon, 1910, page 146

Judge, Circuit Court, First Judicial District.
b. Jacksonville, Oregon, July 15, 1882; son of Judge H. K. (many years Circuit Judge) and Helena (Hess) Hanna; m. Leona Ulrich, Jacksonville, March 20, 1920; studied law with father (then Circuit Judge); admitted to practice Oregon Supreme Court 1906, U.S. Circuit and District Courts 1909; practice of law, partnership with father, one year; private practice, to 1940; elected Judge, Circuit Court, 1st District (Jackson and Josephine counties) 1940, term to 1947; ranch owner; member Oregon State Bar Association; Kiwanian; Elk; Republican; Presbyterian; home Jacksonville; office Courthouse, Medford
Capitol's Who's Who for Oregon 1948-49, page 243

HANSEN, Rev. Harry William