Mining Notes 1898-1905
Refer also to the general news reports, and:
Mining Notes 1851-1870
Mining Notes 1871-1890
Mining Notes 1891-1897
Mining Notes 1906-1957
Ten tons of ore from the Free Coinage produced twenty-one ounces in gold. The concentrates went $150 per ton. The ledge is 3 feet wide and is seven miles east of Ashland.
Hawley, Plummer & Corbus have bought Sharp Bros.' nine placer claims on Powell Creek near Ashland for $10,000 and are working them.
The Virginia is sinking on the ledge.
The cleanup after seventeen days' run on the Braden, near Gold Hill, was 100 ounces of gold.
Beekman & Huffer are in 300 feet on their tunnel.
The Powell Creek placer mine was sold on the 18th to J. H. Hanley, H. B. Plummer and B. F. Mulkey for $10,000. It is twenty-five miles west of Ashland and embraces 200 acres.
W. H. Reed has purchased the Hammersley mine and is pushing work. A drift was started on a vein 8 inches thick, which has increased to 2½ feet, and the rock runs $75 to the ton.
The Browning & Hannum, on Grave Creek, in Southern Oregon, has a 2-foot ledge at a depth of 100 feet. Since May 1st it has produced $8000.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 1, 1898, page 11
The Big Four hydraulic mine on Pickett Creek, at Grants Pass, is kept busy day and night.
J. W. Sherer last week, on Rogue River, brought thirty ounces of gold to Grants Pass from a twelve days' run.
C. W. Burdsal, near Oro Fino, has struck a 2-foot vein of high-grade ore.
Much development work is being done on quartz and placer mines in Douglas County.
The Miller ledge, Josephine County, in its first six weeks' run cleaned up $60,000. The owners are Eureka. Cal., people who paid $28,000 cash for the property. The vein is 18 feet wide.
Browning & Hannum got $1540 from eleven tons of ore on Grave Creek, in Josephine County.
W. H. Reid is running a drift in the Hammersley mine that is turning out $75 ore. The ledge is 2½ feet.
Portland and Eastern people will construct a smelting and copper refining plant. Among those identified with the enterprise is Samuel Barron. The proposal is to erect a 400-ton plant.
Goucher & Co. of Portland, on the Oliman Reece, near Grants Pass, have their No. 2 giant at work. The ground is said to be rich.
F. Huston, on Althouse Creek, is ground sluicing a porphyry dike, getting nuggets from $35 to $75.
C. Bennett, on the Marshall placer, is running two giants on a 10-foot bank.
H. C. McIntosh is running three giants day and night near Grants Pass.
H. D. Sluter is operating his placer on upper Wolf Creek.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 8, 1898, page 39
Ten tons of ore from the Free Coinage, near Ashland, produced twenty-one ounces in gold. The concentrates went $150 per ton. The ledge is 3 feet.
W. H. Reed has purchased the Hammersley mine, Southern Oregon, and is pushing work. The ledge is 2½ feet; the rock runs $75 to the ton.
W. J. Stanley has bonded the Homestake at Woodville to J. E. Frick for San Francisco people for $5000, and they will begin at once to develop it.
The first payment of $5000 on the purchase price of the Ashland mine was made Jan. 3rd.
The ledge on Browning & Hannum's mine is 2 feet and the ore averages $15.
P. Scheringson has a 70-foot tunnel near Grants Pass on a 16-inch vein of $150 rock.
Samuel Barton and others propose to put in a copper refining plant at Portland, two stacks, each of 200 tons capacity.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 15, 1898, page 159
Valley Record: The handsome returns from Barron & Shepherd's milling test of ten tons from their mine on Sampson Creek, ten miles east of Ashland, has caused much interest to be manifested in that section, which is a new district in a mining way.
Jacksonville Democrat: J. C. Lewis will build a ditch from Placer to Leland, Josephine County, of ten miles. Three creeks now center at that place--Wolf and Coyote creeks, carried there by ditch, and Grave Creek.
The Myrtle Creek Mining & Development Co., Jackson County, in their mines at the head of Johnson Creek, at a depth of 50 feet, have a new ledge which prospects $10 in free gold.
Grants Pass Observer: J. W. Robinson came in with $350 worth of gold dust--the result of an eight days' run at his Brass Nail gulch placer. One nugget in this batch was worth $138. Four other pieces range from $20 to $85.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 5, 1898, page 162
The Seven Devils mines is making daily shipments of high-grade ore.
C. Martin is hydraulicking with good success near Medford.
Read & Broad are operating the Oregon Belle quartz claim on Forest Creek, Medford.
At the Braden mines, near Ashland, about $1000 was cleaned up in a ten days' run.
The Lucky Queen mine, near Ashland, has been leased to Spokane parties.
F. McCracken is working a promising placer mine near Leland.
Three tons of ore from the Golden Standard, Ashland, yielded $436, an average of $145 a ton. There is a large quantity of quartz in sight.
Over $1000 in gold has been taken out of the new mine found about a mile from Canyon City.
Returns from ten tons of ore from Barron & Shepherd's mine in Sampson Creek district, Ashland precinct, have caused quite a number of claims to be located there.
Ashland Tidings: The purchasers of the Bonanza group of mines, which includes the Eclipse, Hidden Treasure and Oregon Bonanza, paid a cash consideration of $4000 for the properties.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 12, 1898, page 193
In Saxe Creek district, Jacksonville, there are eighty-seven mining properties actively operated, fifteen hydraulic plants and twenty-six quartz mines.
The Powell Creek M. Co., near Grants Pass, has seventy-four men at work.
The Eureka Co., operating the Miller mine on Soldier Creek, near Ashland, will put on six concentrators.
W. Newhouse purchased the placer claim on Galls Creek and will work it on an extensive scale.
The Soda Springs M. Co. has incorporated, with principal office at Ashland; capital stock, $60,000.
Wimer Bros., at Waldo, are running two giants on good gravel.
The Sterling mine, Jackson County, is running two giants.
Smith & Beers are running two giants seven miles from Waldo. They have several hundred acres of placer land.
New placer ground is being opened seven miles above Grants Pass.
The Jewett mine, four miles from Grants Pass, is running on $18 ore. The ledge is 8 feet wide.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 19, 1898, page 210
C. P. Thore has bonded the hydraulic mine, at Waldo, and begun work. A. N. Ashley is supt.
The Rocky Gulch Mining Co., at Galice Creek, is paying $100 per day, but the water supply is limited and work days are scarce.
Tidings: A large dike between Wagner Creek and Arrastra Gulch, and from 400 to 600 feet in width, has been discovered near Ashland. As far as prospected and assayed it runs from $2.50 to $28 per ton, carrying cinnabar and silver.
Garvin & Co. are working the old Pilgrim mine near Ashland. A crosscut tunnel that will tap the ledge at a depth of 150 feet is being driven and will be in by the first day of April. If the ore is as rich at tunnel level as on top, reduction works will be put on this summer.
One hundred tons of ore from the Ashland mine are being brought to the Hicks mill for reduction.
The Rocky Gulch mine turned out $400 in gold last week, the result of a few days' run and a limited water supply.
W. G. Ingels, who bonded the Alford quartz ledge on Galice Creek, Ashland, is driving a tunnel to tap the ledge about 100 feet below the surface. Should the ledge continue to show up as well as it has been doing, a 5-stamp mill will be put upon the property.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 26, 1898, page 234
Riggs & Bacon have discovered a vein of quartz near Woodville, 18 inches wide, which prospects well in free gold.
The Jewell Hardware Co. of Grants Pass bought during February gold dust to the amount of $7404.
Jones & Co. near Grants Pass struck a ledge which shows 18 inches of good ore.
Good ore is being taken out of the Big Mountain mine at Missouri Flat. The ore carries gold, lead, iron and silver.
The Rock Gulch hydraulic mine at Galice Creek produced $600 in five days' run.
Development in the Ashland & Mattern group is progressing steadily, thirty men being employed.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 12, 1898, page 290
Development in the Ashland & Mattern group, near Ashland, is progressing, thirty men being employed.
Coffman & Bristow discovered a 9-foot vein in a porphyry and slate formation near Grants Pass.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 19, 1898, page 321
W. Wiley, fifteen miles above Glendale, uncovered a quartz vein at his placer diggings between slate and porphyry, containing seams of decomposed quartz and clay, from which he secured single pieces of leaf and wire gold that weighed an ounce.
The Oregon Bonanza mine, near Ashland, is being worked by R. Rogers & Son of San Francisco.
The Oregon G.E. Co. are working the cyanide plant near Ashland to its full capacity.
Browning & Hannum are running a tunnel on the Greenback ledge near Jacksonville. They have extracted about $10,000 from the mine during the past year. Considerable work has been done on the Elk Creek mines during the past few months. The ore will go from $18 to $20 per ton. The Braden mill in Gold Hill district is running day and night on good ore.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 26, 1898, page 346
The Courtney & Kramer mine, seven miles from Grants Pass, crushes three tons per day. The result of a run of fifty hours yielded 13½ ounces of amalgam valued at $135. The Jupiter G. M. Co. have begun extensive operations in the same neighborhood.
The Grants Pass Journal says that quicksilver is soon to be produced from the Black Butte mines in Lane County, seventeen miles from Cottage Grove, by the Black Butte M. Co. The ore runs as high as 56 percent mercury. A 30-ton furnace condenser and dryer is in course of construction. The property is expected to be in operation the coming season. The property consists of 1040 acres along the top of Black Butte. The cinnabar ore mixed with a decomposed quartz crops out for 4000 feet. Six cuts and two tunnels have been made, from which assays were made showing from 3 to 40 percent quicksilver.
The Oro Fino M. Co. near Merlin has contracted to furnish sixteen cars of ore to the smelter. From a shipment made some time ago the company realized from one ton $1760.
R. D. Hume has bought the Huntley mine, a copper property, for $20,000. The mine is fifteen miles from the mouth of Rogue River.
The Greenback mine, near Grants Pass, make a cleanup of $3500.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 2, 1898, page 374
J. L. Wright is developing a quartz property near Grants Pass with satisfactory results.… The Lawrence M. Co. are doing extensive development on a property near Leland. A 50-ton capacity mill will be in operation May 15th. Twenty men are employed.… The Golden Eagle struck an ore body of good grade.… The first cleanup of the Oregon G.E. Co. at Ashland was made last week. One of the bricks of amalgam weighed eight pounds. This is a cyanide plant and is pronounced a success on the low-grade ores of that section.
The Shorty Hope mine at Jacksonville is crushing twenty-four tons of ore per day in a 10-stamp mill.… Van Dorn & Giflin are developing a quartz property from which mill tests produce satisfactory results.… A 5-foot ledge has been discovered in the Miller mine, near Canyon City, that yields good returns.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 23, 1898, page 446
The first cleanup of the Oregon Gold E. Co., proprietors of the new cyanide plant in operation at Ashland, was made and information is given out that the test has been sufficient to ensure the success of the process in extracting gold from the ores of Southern Oregon. Several bricks of amalgam were realized at the cleanup, one of which weighs eight pounds.… Knighten & Mayfield shipped ten tons of ore to the Huffer mill near Jacksonville.… The Lewis M. Co. of Leland has 200 men building their ditch from Grave Creek.… Operations at the Ashland-Mattern property are progressing. A quantity of good ore is being taken out daily, and the mill is kept at work with good results.… M.Van Brunt, the New York capitalist who purchased the Steam Beer mine near Leland, is enlarging the ditch to his mine, seven miles long, and will put in a pipeline 3500 feet. He also contemplates building another ditch ten miles long for getting a greater head of water, with the end in view of working his mine all the year.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 7, 1898, page 494
A. A. Davis, near Jacksonville, has a promising ledge, and has sixty tons of ore on the dump.… E. Pierce has sold his interest in the Hamburg quartz ledge to Scott, Merrill & Co. The new proprietors expect to put up a mill soon.… The Barron & Shepherd, near Ashland, is hauling fifty tons of ore to the Ashland mill.… The Ashland-Mattern mine is running a full force and keeps its 10-stamp mill busy.… The American Bar claim is yielding good returns, and work is prosecuted day and night with a force of thirty-eight men.… A ledge of copper ore has been discovered near Ashland.…
The Shasta Courier says the existence of an immense mineral lode, at a point on the Oregon side of the California and Oregon boundary line near the summit of the Siskiyou Mountain, has been known to Murray Bros. of Shasta, who also knew that the formation resembled, as far as investigated, the Iron Mountain mine. Recently the Murray Bros. located twelve claims on the Siskiyou Mountain mineral outcrop. Associated with them are Sheriff Houston, Tillotson, Pryor and others. Assays of the ore taken from different locations show well in gold and copper.
In Elk Creek the Pearl Mining Co. is increasing its force and will do considerable development work this summer. Daley & Potter are working their ledge, with fair prospects.… J. T. Cook of Missouri Flat, while removing some earth near his residence a short [time] since, struck a ledge from which as high as $2.60 was obtained from a pan of dirt.… The Sterling Mining Co. is running its mill and a good-sized force day and night. As a comparatively small quantity of snow fell in the mountains last winter, the run will not be as long as usual.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 21, 1898, page 542
Southern Oregon.Quartz mining in Southern Oregon had its beginning in the discovery of the Hicks ledge on Jackson Creek in 1859. It proved to be a pocket, but quite a snug little sum was token out by Secora Hicks and S. R. Taylor. Gold Hill was the next noted find in the way of quartz. It was discovered in January, 1860, by Messrs. Hays and Graham, and before it was abandoned had produced some $200,000. Henry Klippel and others had purchased the mine within a week after its discovery, for a good round sum. The discovery of the Gold Hill ledge quickly led to further quartz discoveries, and among others the Fowler, which yielded $316,000; the Jewett, $40,000; Blackwell, $10,000; Holman, $10,000, and Davenport, $8000. Some of these mines are still being worked at this time, notably the Jewett.
"Mining in the Northwest," Silvertonian, Silverton, British Columbia, May 21, 1898, page 5
E. W. Calkins came over from the Beekman & Huffer mine, near Jacksonville, last Saturday for a visit to his friends and to his lodge--the Odd Fellows. He reports mining fairly good at the mine. Says with a three-stamp mill he put through thirty-five tons of rock in seventy-five hours. He has been cleaning up some refuse rock during the past week and from a four days' run on this rock they took out over $200 in gold. The rock was supposed to be of no value.
"Purely Personal," Medford Mail, May 27, 1898, page 6
The Barron & Sheppard quartz mine, near Ashland, is having fifty tons of ore hauled to the Ashland mill.… The Ashland-Mattern mine is running a full force and keeps its 10-stamp mill busy.… A ledge of copper ore resembling that of Iron Mountain has been discovered near Ashland.… The placer ground of Phillips & Co. has averaged 20 cents a yard for their season's work.… The Nonpareil cinnabar mines in Douglas County have been bonded to A. B. Quinton of Topeka, Kansas.… The Ashland Journal says that C. E. Potter struck a piece of placer ground near Oak Flat which pays at the rate of 50 cents a wheelbarrow load. Three days' work, after hauling the gravel 250 feet, yielded $27.50.… Browning & Hannum, on the Greenback mine on Grave Creek, brought to Ashland a lot of gold dust and nuggets which were melted up into two gold bricks, one weighing $2500 and the other $1500, the result of crushing sixteen and one-half tons by an arrastra.
The Ashland Tidings says that Jones & Co., who purchased the Mt. Reuben mine, have at a depth of 350 feet crosscut the ledge and have 14 feet of quartz assaying well.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 4, 1898, pages 593-594
The hydraulic plant near Woodville has changed owners and started up again last week.… E. B. Jennings has sold his mine near Table Rock, and the new company will put on a large force to further develop the property.… The Risdon Iron Works of San Francisco are building a boat 30x70 feet on the river near Tolo, to dredge the river. The machinery consists of three engines, one driving an endless elevator of thirty-six buckets, each bucket of a capacity of 800 to 1000 pounds of gravel, at a speed of eighteen buckets per minute, handling from 2000 to 3000 yards per day. One engine drives the buckets, one a centrifugal pump for washing the gravel, one an electric light plant. The machinery runs night and day. The plant is the property of Hickler & Berrey.… Work on the River Junction placer mines of the Cooperative M. Co., in Jackson County, Watkins district, is developing satisfactory results. At bedrock on the channel they are getting 14 cents to the pan.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 11, 1898, page 621
Concentration of Cinnabar Ores.TO THE EDITOR:--A Southern Oregon correspondent in last week's issue suggests concentration of low-grade cinnabar ores. I wish to show that such concentration can be of no advantage except in very rare cases.
The furnace treatment of cinnabar ores is one of the simplest and least expensive of metallurgical processes. No method of concentration can do away with the cost of mining, and it is the cost of mining and not the cost of reduction which is the important factor.
The cost of both mining and reduction must vary widely according to circumstances, but in a country like Southern Oregon, where wood is only worth $1.50 per cord, the cost of reduction is less than 10 cents per ton for fuel, and the handling of the ore is the only other part of the expense of reduction, except coarse crushing through a breaker at a cost of less than 5 cents per ton. Any method of concentration involves fine crushing, vanning or jigging, and a handling of the material, costing fully as much per ton as the furnace treatment.
Briefly then, concentration is unavailable because it generally would cost more than direct treatment of the ore as it comes from the mine. The only possible exception to this would be where a large body of low-grade ore could be quarried and concentrated by free water power in a locality where cordwood was very expensive.
The small furnaces suggested are not conducive to economy. Those of 10-ton capacity are being supplanted by 40-ton furnaces, corresponding with the practice in ironworks where the capacity of furnaces is ten times what was thought desirable thirty years ago.
Referring to the idea that the manipulation of the Spanish mines is the reason for the quicksilver business not being lucrative, I think one does not need to go so far afield as Spain to find the cause. The paying mines of today are properties which had been abandoned, or had been worked at a loss, or had been thought to be exhausted because some rich bunch of ore gave out, till taken hold of by men who knew how essential it is constantly to keep prospecting ahead of immediate requirements.
R. B. SYMINGTON.Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 25, 1898, page 664
Work on the River Junction placer mines of the Cooperative M. Co., in Jackson County, Watkins district, is developing satisfactorily. At bedrock on the channel they are said to be getting 14 cents to the pan.
A. Underwood of San Francisco has purchased the Hammersley mine near Wimer and begun work.
The cyanide process used by the Oregon Gold Extraction Co.'s plant at Ashland is giving satisfaction and the company will extend its plant. They have worked only a small portion of the tailings of the Ashland quartz mill.
Grants Pass Journal: Great things are promised from the development of the lodes in the Mt. Reuben district, near Grants Pass. The Gold Bug mine, in which it is said a million dollars' worth of ore has been exposed, will shortly pass into the hands of Senator Jones and associates of Nevada. These men will erect two 20-stamp mills, and 200 men will be given employment within six months.
Ashland Tidings: The Ashland mine shipped a carload of ore and one of concentrates to the smelter. The mine also made a cleanup of 160 tons with satisfactory results. Senator Jones it is said will build a 20-stamp mill on his mine in Mt. Reuben district.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 25, 1898, page 671
The ditch of the Steam Beer mine, near Leland, is finished. It will carry 3000 inches of water and will enable the company to run their mine for six months in the year.
L. C. Basye of Missouri Flat district, near Jacksonville, unearthed a pocket from which he obtained $600.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 2, 1898, page 10
Neff & Wright have built 700 feet of wing dam near Gold Hill, and will soon commence mining the bed of Rogue River.
Times: The Seattle M. Co. is enlarging its ditches in Watkins district, near Jacksonville, and will resume piping at an early date.… W. B. Comstock has struck a small seam of high-grade ore.… The Sterling mine is making its annual cleanup.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 16, 1898, page 61
In the Sterling mine, near Jacksonville, Or., a nugget was recently found that weighed sixteen ounces.
"Concentrates," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 23, 1898, page 79
J. Savage is putting an extensive wing dam in Rogue River near Grants Pass.
The Risdon Iron Works of San Francisco is building on Rogue River, near Grants Pass, dredgers at a cost of $35,000 for a company that has five others on rivers in California and Nevada. Three engines are required to do the work. One works the dredger, another pumps the water with which the gold is washed from the gravel and the third will operate an electric light plant on the boat, the operations being carried on day and night.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 23, 1898, page 86
The Rogue River Courier says the Wimer Bros., operating a placer mine near Grants Pass, made a cleanup after an eight months' run and that it amounted to about fifty pounds in gold.… The Gold Bug group, comprising six claims on Mt. Reuben, upon which J. P. Jones and others have been exploiting for a year, has been bought by them, and the property will be further developed and equipped with machinery. The ore varies from a few inches to 15 feet and much of it mills $50 a ton.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 30, 1898, page 110
Work on a large scale has resumed at the Braden mine near Jacksonville.… Browning & Hannum of the Greenback mine near Grants Pass cleaned up $3700 from thirty-two tons of ore.… On the Applegate property, bought by G. E. Morse & Co. of San Francisco, work has begun.… Jones & Co. will have their stamp mill at Glendale running by Sept. 1st. R. W. Jones is in charge of the properties.… A. M. Jordan of Cripple Creek has bonded the Homestake mine near Woodville and will put twenty men at work.… The Sugar Pine mine near Grants Pass has been bonded to E. F. Wallace & Co. for $4000. They have begun work.… W. K. Rogers of the Oregon Bonanza mine received a return from the Selby Smelting Co. on 116½ pounds of ore, $185.52. He has seventy sacks more of the same kind of ore, which is of a refractory nature, and the gold can be secured only through a smelting process.
The Sugar Pine quartz mine at Grants Pass is showing well. The company will drive an extensive tunnel to tap the ledge 1000 feet below the surface.
The Lance M. Co., near Jacksonville, is putting in a pumping plant to utilize the waters of Rogue River. The enterprise promises to be successful, despite the obstacles it has met.… Kubli Bros. started their stamp mill at the Golden Standard mine, near Ashland. They expect to crush four tons per day.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 13, 1898, page 161
Browning & Hannum near Ashland cleaned up $3700 from thirty-two tons of rock.… A. M. Jordan has bonded the Homestake mine near Woodville and will put twenty men at work.
The Grants Pass Journal says that good ore has been uncovered in the old Reno & O'Farrell mine, near Grants Pass.… Near Jacksonville the Seattle M. Co. is piping in Watkins district, but will commence cleaning up soon.… A. M. Jordan has bonded the Homestake mine, in Woodville district, and will soon develop the property on a large scale.… R. Cook has a force drifting in the Sterling M. Co.'s property and doing well.… A carload of concentrates was shipped from the Shorty Hope mine to the smelter a few days ago.… Beekman & Huffer have a force running a tunnel to strike the ledge, which has paid well.
Near Grants Pass, J. Sowell in a 140-foot tunnel struck a ledge of copper sulphides carrying a fair percentage of gold.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 20, 1898, page 185
At Hull & Beck's quartz mine, near Jacksonville, the vein increases in width as work progresses; it is now several feet wide. A 5-stamp mill is crushing the ore taken out by six men.… J. R. Mitchell of Colorado, who represents foreign capital, has bonded the Braden and Alice mines in Kanes Creek district and the Lucky Bart and Gray Eagle in Sardine Creek district. Development of some of the properties is proceeding.… The Jones Co. has twenty men developing its properties in Mt. Reuben district, Josephine County.… Near Ashland, Molander & Felger of Port Townsend have bought 160 acres of land on Evans Creek, Josephine Co., having four cinnabar ledges which are reported running 8 percent of quicksilver. One of the ledges is said to be 400 feet wide and 1½ miles long.… L. D. Fay & Co. are getting their mine on Powell Creek fitted up for work this winter. They have 120 acres of placer ground and have their ditch almost completed and have pipe and giant ready for work.
Stith & Phillips have bonded the Free and Easy mine, near Grants Pass, to Bonneau &, Mohr of Denver, Colo., for $10,000.… At the Golden Standard mine, near Jacksonville, the mill will be put in operation as soon as water can be had. A large amount of good ore is ready for crushing.… Fifteen cars loaded with hydraulic pipe, ranging from 15 to 38 inches in diameter, are being put on the J. C. Lewis placer mine, near Leland.… The C. Cook mine at Glendale is down on the ledge 117 feet. He will put a mill on the property soon.… The Victory mine has the reservoir completed. Wood & Smith of the Lincoln mine are also building a reservoir.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 17, 1898, page 287
The Forest Queen placer mine, near Grants Pass, was bought last week by G. W. Seeley of Aramosa, Cal,, and M. J. Seeley of San Francisco. There are three ditches and a reservoir, 1400 feet of Hume and 1000 feet of pipe on the property; the new owners will begin work immediately.… Bonneau & Mohr bought the Free and Easy mine in Josephine County for $10,000 and will commence work on it on a large scale.… The dredger at Tolo has begun operations and works well.
Two concentrators are being put in at the Eureka Co.'s mine on Soldier Creek, Josephine County, formerly known as the Denver City. It has produced considerable bullion.… The Browning-Hannum mine, near Grants Pass, at a depth of several hundred feet has a vein 3 feet wide of good grade ore.… Stalker & Davis, near Browntown, made a strike in a locality that had been mined as far back as 1852 and has been mined over and over ever since. In June, Stalker & Davis landed in Browntown, and struck their shovels in the hills above the old town where they exposed a high channel never before touched and in a few days took out twenty-eight ounces of channel gold.
Journal: E. B. Jennings of Table Rock has sold a three-fourths interest in his quicksilver mines to Folger & Molander. The conveyance embraces 260 acres. The ledge has been developed by a 100-foot tunnel and a 75-foot shaft, and it is said to be 100 feet in width. The purchasers are said to represent English capitalists, and it is their purpose to at once develop the property on an extensive scale.… The thirteen-mile ditch which has been under construction on Grave Creek for the John C. Lewis Co. has been finished. The two ditches together are about twenty-eight miles in length.… Work on the Greenback mine near Leland under the new management is being vigorously pushed. The men who have the mine under bond are E. Smith of Denver, W. J. Carton of Bland, N.M., and W. H. Brevoort of New York. F. T. Sutherland is in charge of the work. The old tunnel is being pushed by night and day shifts; the men are working 170 feet under the surface. A 5-stamp mill and other machinery have been ordered.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 24, 1898, page 311
At the Black Butte cinnabar mine in Douglas County the smelting furnace for the reduction of the ore is just finished. There are fifty men on the company's payroll.
Near Ashland fifteen men are cutting the three-mile ditch to the Poorman mine.… The Shorty-Hope mill which has been shut down for several weeks on account of a shortage of water has started up again.… Edwards & Evans have begun development work on the Fairview property.… At Mount Reuben in Josephine County, Senator Jones of Nevada has eighty men developing a quartz ledge and on Grave Creek are miles of new ditches and new hydraulic pipe to carry water for placer mines as soon as the fall rains set in.
Journal: Near Grants Pass the Gold Key, operating the Braden mine, are putting in new machinery.… J. J. Martin, supt. for the Seattle M. Co., has bought seven claims in the Big Applegate district for $5250.… The S.F. people interested in the Hammersley property at Jumpoff Joe district will shortly resume work.… D. Cameron has bought the Chinese property on Pleasant Creek paying $2400, and is preparing it for the winter season.… J. D. Stevens has sold to Lister & Calvert his half interest in three placer claims for $1000.… The Rogue River gold dredger started last week near Tolo. They found 8 feet of gravel. The dredger is run night and day.… On Upper Grave Creek near Leland this winter three hydraulic plants will be in operation in addition to those already established, and every claim along the creek for a distance of six miles seems to be taken up.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 1, 1898, page 335
(Special Correspondence).--The amount of gold found recently by two professional pocket hunters, Brown & Angle, on Sterling Mountain near Coles is about $9000. They report the ledge to be in a porphyry formation, the pay streak running 4 inches to 2 feet in width. The ledge has been uncovered about 150 feet, but no depth of any consequence has been reached. Whether there is anything in this find aside from the hand-mortar process of operation will be ascertained by future developments, which, however, cannot be carried to any great extent because of the winter storms that will soon make their appearance in that section, which is at an elevation of 7000 feet.
Medford, Oct. 2nd, '98.
The Gold Standard M. Co., near Jacksonville, have their mine in good order and began crushing quartz on the 4th inst. They have a large quantity of ore on the dump.… Operations have been resumed at the Sterling mine and the cleanup of last season's work will be completed.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 8, 1898, page 358
Operations at the Braden mine near Gold Hill are being pushed. Many improvements have been made and the mine and mill will be worked to full capacity.
Grants Pass Journal: Near Grants Pass the Sugar Pine mine has been bonded to R. Jones, who has let a contract for tunneling.… H. M. Chapin is opening up a mine near Merlin.… C. D. Crane, supt. Oro Fino, has resumed work at the mine. All ore taken out will be shipped.… The Eureka M. Co. will have their cyanide plant in operation in three weeks.… Ten men are working on the dredger near Tolo. It is said that the machine is a success.… J. Hill has sold a half interest in his placer mine on Rogue River to M. Pyles, who will equip the mine for hydraulicking.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 15, 1898, page 383
Ashland Tidings: A half interest in the Tunnel Six mine, Glendale, was sold for $30,000 cash. The company will run a tunnel 12 feet in the clear and over 1000 feet in length with double track. A 20-stamp mill is in process of erection and chlorinating works will be built. Lighting and power by electricity are to be installed.
Jacksonville Times: The cyanide plant being put up at the Eureka Mining Co.'s plant on Soldier Creek, Josephine County, will be in operation soon.… T. Gilmore of Kerbyville, who owns a placer mine in Indian Creek district, brought several hundred dollars in nuggets to Grants Pass last week.
Ashland Record: The Rogue River Dredging Co. intends to put in a number of dredges, and this fall there will be one put in perhaps at the mouth of the Applegate River. This company has control of 120 claims which cover all of the river supposed to be fit for operation.… The bridge and flume across the Big Applegate recently completed by the Swayne M.&M. Co. fell to the bottom of the stream last week. The company paid $10,000 for the mine and has expended $7000 for improvements. The bridge was built to support a flume of 2200 inches capacity. The mine has been in operation only a week. The wreck is supposed to have been caused by dynamite.
Ashland Tidings: The Golden Key Mining Co. has twenty-five men at work upon the Braden mine in the Gold Hill district. This company has also bonded several properties in the district.… Twenty-two hundred feet of 22-inch pipe has been added to the hydraulic plant of the Lance Mining Co. operating on Foots Creek; they will work day and night all the season.… B. N. White of Spokane is negotiating for an interest in the Free Silver mine in the Sampson Creek district near Ashland. The property has made a good showing as far as prospected.… The Oregon and California M.&M. Co.'s property near Pokegama has been bonded to Tryer & Kile, from Colorado, who began operations Oct. 1.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 5, 1898, page 460
Ashland Journal: The gold output for Jackson County this year is $150,000--two-fifths less than last year on account of scarcity of water.… Ferguson & Sorrick, who bought the Miller & Dysert and other placer claims on Jumpoff Joe, have incorporated under the name of the Jumpoff Joe G.M. Co. Their new ditch is completed and everything will soon be in shape for the winter's run.… H. B. Compson and others recently bought the General Sheridan and Custer quartz claims in the Wolf Creek district, Josephine County. The price is not made public. The ledge shows 12 feet of ore, which is high-grade concentrating. The new owners will begin operations in the spring.… The Vindicator M. Co. has made application to the government for patents to 220 acres of mining ground in Grave Creek district, Josephine County.
Ashland Tidings: The Lewis mine at Leland is working twenty men.… Operations will shortly be resumed on the Basin mine on Briggs Creek.… A. Carter has bonded the Anderson mining property on Williams Creek for Colorado people.… The cleanup at the Sterling hydraulic mine on Applegate is just being completed and operations will soon begin on another season's run.… The Booth & Carter mine on Grave Creek received a carload of iron pipe last week.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 19, 1898, page 510
Ashland Record: At Paisley, Lake County, J. W. Howard's quartz assays $60 per ton and a cyanide test is being made in San Francisco.… The mile ditch has been completed for the Jumpoff Joe M. Co. The company employs twenty men getting ready for the winter run.… The J. C. Lewis placer mine at Leland is in operation with twenty men. He will operate two mines this season. The Steam Beer mine is ready for operations, the water in the big ditch having come through last week.… E. A. Smith is having a test carload of ore crushed in the Ashland mill from his Uncle Sam mine near Gold Hill.… C. D. Crane of the Oro Fino mine, Jumpoff Joe, had two carloads of ore crushed in the Ashland mill this week.
Jacksonville Times: Booth & Clark have put a carload of hydraulic pipe on their property in Grave Creek district.… G. E. Morse of San Francisco and M. Cooper are visiting the Swayne M. Co.'s property on Big Applegate, in which they are largely interested. The enterprise promises well.
Grants Pass Journal: M. McWilliams is opening the Beswick & Potter mine, near Grants Pass, and has considerable ore on the dump.… Dr. DeBar, Jacksonville, has over forty tons of ore out, and as soon as there is sufficient water the mill will be started.… J. J. Martin, supt. Seattle M. Co., in Watkins district, is getting ready for the winter's run.… The Lance M. Co. started the pumping plant on their extensive placer ground last week.… The Golden Key M. Co., which has bonded the Braden mine and other properties near Gold Hill, will soon begin work.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 26, 1898, page 534
Jacksonville Times: Cook & Howland, near Jacksonville, have their mines ready and will make a big run if water does not fail them.… The Black Channel M. Co.'s property on Foots Creek has been leased by J. P. Lee, who is operating with a strong force.… It is locally reported that a strike has been made on the Applegate.… The Gold Key Co., operating the Braden mine, is sinking a well to obtain water to operate the mill.… The Sterling M. Co. has finished its cleanup for 1898, which was good, and is making preparations for next season's run.… The Gold Standard M. Co. will erect a concentrator soon; they have a large quantity of base ore on the dump. The free-milling quartz which has been worked paid well.… The Isabella M. Co. is pushing work on their property near Glendale. The company was organized last October and began work immediately. They have ordered a 10-stamp mill, which will be in operation soon. They are building a dam across Cow Creek and will bring water two miles through pipes and flumes.
Grants Pass Mining Journal: W. Greder of San Francisco bought the Young copper property near Waldo. He represents a company and will put men at work immediately to developing the property.
Ashland Record: The dredging company operating near Tolo has closed down for the winter. Sixteen men were employed. The returns are said to have been satisfactory. The last day's work cleaned up twenty-one ounces of gold. The owners of this plant will erect another, somewhat larger, in the spring to operate near Grants Pass.… B. T. Wyant & Sons, who operated the Anderson placer mine near Ashland with success last season, have again leased the same, and last week began a run of nine months.… The two river mines operating in Klamath River below Henley quit last week for the season. The American Bar has been operating since last February their day and night crews being thirty men. J. Weinzlnger, who has a wing dam near Henley, has been at work with a force since May. He will begin work on his placer mine near Fool's Paradise for the winter.… Kubli Bros. made a short run of ore through their 5-stamp mill at their Golden Standard mine and realized $1500.… J. P. Lee has leased the Black Channel mines near Gold Hill and began operations with a large force last week.
Ashland Tidings: The Vindicator Placer M. Co., on Wolf Creek, will put in what is said to be the largest dam in the state. Its dimensions will be 50 feet high, 250 feet across the top and a depth of 25 feet.… Douglas and Josephine counties report great activity in mining, unprecedented in their history.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 3, 1898, page 559
Near Grants Pass, the Browning Bros. have made another discovery, which shows well.… Harmon & Green of Galice Creek have been operating their mine two weeks. They have enough water for a full head through a 6-inch nozzle.
Grants Pass Journal: Grater & Brown bought 160 acres in the Klamath River section and will equip it for mining on an extensive scale.… The Sterling M. Co. has finished its cleanup for 1898, which was good, and is making preparations for next season's run.
Jacksonville Times: Senator Jones & Co., who are operating on a large scale in Mt. Reuben district, have applied for patents to several quartz claims.… J. Young of Waldo, who has been developing a copper prospect in Preston Peak district for several years, has sold it to W. Grider of San Francisco, who represents a company. A force will be put to work on the property at once.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 10, 1898, page 586
Jacksonville Times: The Star Gulch M. Co., near Jacksonville, has the ditch completed and everything will be in shape for work when the rainy season sets in.… Wyant & Co. are operating a placer mine near Ashland.… Harmon & Green are making a good run in upper Galice Creek district. They have enough water to operate a 6-inch nozzle.… J. Young of Steamboat precinct is crushing ore with an arrastra.… F.G. McWilliams of Ashland, who is working a quartz mine in Farmers Flat district, will have ore crushed in a short time.… The Hansen mines in Althouse district, recently bought by S. N. Butters and others, is being put in shape for extensive operation.
Ashland Record: The Gold Hill Q.M. Co. last week resumed work on the old Gold Hill ledge which produced the $200,000 pocket in early days. The company have bought the Copper Queen, Daisy and Flora quartz claims and will have them developed also.… P. H. Oviatt owns a coal mine on Evans Creek, which has a 14-foot vein.… R. Van Brunt has started up his placer mines for the season.
Ashland Tidings: The Seattle Cooperation Co. is preparing to hydraulic near Watkins.… At the Shorty-Hope M. Co.'s property work is pushed.… It is locally reported that the Brownings have made a second discovery near the Greenback mine that is promising.… The coal mine owned by Andrus & Reynolds on Evans Creek is prospecting good.… The Free Silver mine of Barron & White, near Ashland, will be started soon.… Men are reported making $1.50 per day at the Cameron placer mines.… The Gold Hill Quartz M. Co. has bought the Cooper, Flora and Savage claims in the Gold Hill district.… The Jumpoff Joe M. Co. has received two carloads of pipe at their mine near Leland.… The Lewis placer mine near Leland was started up last week.
Grants Pass Journal: At the Ray Cook mine, near Grants Pass, there are twenty men at work and they are in about 200 feet. The drift is from 50 to 100 feet wide and covers the old river channel. The gravel is being taken out of the tunnel in dump carts and thrown into sluices.… In the Hannum mine the new ledge is about a foot wide and assays $80 a ton.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 17, 1898, pages 612-613
The Grants Pass Journal is informed that Senator Jones & Co.'s mill on Mt. Reuben will start up this month.… The Star Gulch Hydraulic M. Co. has everything in readiness to start when rain sets in.
Ashland Record: It is locally reported that the Black Jack gravel mine, near Hornbrook, will be put in operation again.… Knapp & Pollard of San Francisco will run the Dugan & Knapp placer mine, near Ashland.… The Swayne mine, on Big Applegate, is working twenty men.… F. G. McWilliams had nine tons of ore crushed from his quartz mine near Jacksonville the other day. It did not come up to 50 percent of the assay. He will make another test.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 24, 1898, page 638
Ashland Record: Supt. James has started a shaft at the Shorty and Hope claims from the 150-foot level, and has put three 8-hour shifts at work. They have found high grade ore, which will be sent to the smelter.… The Shorty-Hope 10-stamp mill and residences are lighted with acetylene gas of twenty-four 25-candlepower lights.… Supt. Crane of the Oro Fino mine is reducing five carloads of his ore at Ashland.
Grants Pass Journal: Ferguson & Ferrier have sold their two-thirds interest in the Riverside group near Grants Pass to Cottage Grove and Portland people. The mine has 160 feet of tunnel on two ledges, showing in one place 4 feet of ore averaging $40 to the ton, and the other ledge, 40 feet wide, shows an average of $12 to the ton.
Jacksonville Times: The ledge discovered by Hannum & Browning near Jacksonville is a foot wide and the ore assays $90 a ton.… D. DeBar, who is developing a ledge near Jacksonville, had fifty tons of ore crushed with favorable results.… Hull & Beck, who are running a mill at their mine near Grants Pass, after a run of fourteen days cleaned up $600.
Houck & Cox are developing a cinnabar mine near Gold Hill.… A quantity of ore from the mine prospected by F. G. McWilliams was lately crushed with good results.… Work will be resumed at Beekman & Huffer's mine Jan. 1. A long distance of tunnel has been run; a shaft will be sunk. Two tons of ore crushed last week yielded $100.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 31, 1898, page 663
Near Grants Pass the quartz mine recently developed by Knight & Co., was sold last week to Berry & Rolfe for $2000 cash. The new owners will erect a cyanide plant which will be operated with a new extracting compound, instead of zinc filings as used in similar plants.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 7, 1899, page 7
Jacksonville Times: Piping was resumed at the Sterling mine, near Jacksonville, last week, with a good supply of water.… The Black Channel mine, in Foots Creek district, is being operated by M. Lee, who has leased the property.… Kitchen & Huggins have leased the Miller mine, in Farmers Flat district, and have everything in readiness for a big run.… At the Shorty-Hope mine, in Wagner Creek district, operations on a large scale have begun.… Beekman & Huffer have put a small force to work in Shively Gulch district.… Near Roseburg, thirty-five men are employed at the Gold Bug mine, in Mt. Reuben district, and a twelve days' run with a 5-stamp mill produced $8700.… J. Behrman, Mgr. Black Butte Quicksilver M. Co., in Lane County, says that statements that the mine has shipped $80,000 worth of quicksilver are misleading. They are getting the mine into shape. The sum of $75,000 has been expended on roads, bridges and other improvements. Next spring the mine will begin shipping.
Grants Pass Journal: The Black Channel mine near Grants Pass has a force of men getting ready for the winter work.… F. R. Wardle has a force at work on the Houston property, which his company recently bought.… The Eureka mine has plenty of water, good rock, and mill and concentrator at work day and night.… J. D. McMahon and some Portland people have bought the Bliss mine near Gold Hill, named it the St. Lawrence, and have begun work.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 21, 1899, pages 68-69
Grants Pass Journal: The ABC M. Co., near Glendale, has ten men at work.… The Oro Fino mine, near Grants Pass, is working four men.… B. J. Allison of Roseburg is developing a good ledge of gold-bearing ore near Glendale.… The Miller mine, in Farmers Flat district, has been leased to Kitchen & Muggins.… The Sterling hydraulic started up again last week with a good supply of water.
Jacksonville Times: The placer miners about Jacksonville are at work and making the most of the opportunity.… Miners are developing the Free Silver and Gold Standard mines in Sampson Creek district near Ashland.… A. Watts is operating his placer claim on Horsehead on full time, with good results. He recently brought $500 in gold dust to Grants Pass.… Next spring Washington parties will prospect the big Yank ledge in Galice Creek district, and deep shafts will be sunk.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 28, 1899, page 95
The Shorty-Hope M. Co. at Ashland are running their 10-stamp quartz mill day and night.
Barron & White of Spokane have let a contract to drive a 300-foot crosscut tunnel near Ashland at a depth of 200 feet below the surface. They expect to have the work finished in 100 days and began operations this week. This property is a dike formation and one class of ore worked $45 per ton and another $15 per ton gold in milling tests. The ore was taken out at a depth of 80 feet.
Grants Pass Journal: G. W. Woodcock of Woodville brought $175 in gold dust to Grants Pass last week.… The Pickett Creek M. Co. have six men at work on their hydraulic, piping plenty of water.… At Camp Jupiter a company is developing the F. Houston property.… From the Hayes, Jewell & Moore placer on Oscar Creek the result of only three days' piping one nugget worth $242 and some smaller ones, making in all over $500, were brought to Grants Pass recently.… The Jumpoff Joe M. Co. is running two giants night and day. An electric light has been installed.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 4, 1899, page 128
Grants Pass Journal: Near Grants Pass, Mr. Sturgis has struck a quartz ledge 2½ feet wide that assays $24 a ton.… A. W. Sturgis, near Jacksonville, is piping off considerable ground.… The Black Butte quicksilver mines, near Bohemia, made their first shipment of quicksilver last week to New York. The shipment contained thirty flasks.… At Althouse the Hickox mine is running night and day.
Jacksonville Times: The Hansen mines in Althouse district will soon be in operation.… California people have taken charge of the Hammersley mine in Jumpoff Joe district and are unwatering the property.… The placer mines of Pleasant Creek precinct have a fair supply of water. About twelve mines are operated with hydraulic plants.… Four mines are operated with hydraulic plants on a large scale in Wolf Creek district.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 11, 1899, page 157
An attempt is being made in Southern Oregon to smelt ores on a commercial scale by the use of oxygen and hydrogen gases with carbon generated from crude petroleum. It is, in fact, a huge oxy-hydrogen blowpipe.
"Concentrates," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 11, 1899, page 259
Jacksonville Times: A number of claims have been located on a body of quartz near Merlin, Josephine County. The ore is said to assay from $10 to $80 per ton, and the belt is reported to be several miles long.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 18, 1899, page 296
Grants Pass Courier: Three hundred tons of copper ore is being packed on mules from the Siskiyou copper mines on lower Illinois River to Selma, fifteen miles, from which it will be hauled in wagons twenty miles to Grants Pass and shipped by rail to San Francisco.
"Siskiyou," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 3, 1899, page 590
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, July 1, 1899, page 15
The Wong Back Fawn mines, at the mouth of Sailor Creek, have been sold to the Canadian Co., Ltd., of London, Eng., for $16,000. The land includes several bars on the Illinois River, twelve miles south of Kerby. The Illinois River bars have never been mined, though the tributary streams have been dug over for forty years. The dredge to be used will excavate to a depth of 60 feet and is said to have a capacity of 3000 yards of gravel per day. The sale was made through S. N. Butters, who is interested in placer ground in the vicinity, known as the Hanseth property.
The dredge operating at Weatherby is said to be in successful operation, hoisting 4000 cubic yards daily.
Monroe & Morgan of Seattle, Wash., have bought the Grand Applegate ditch near Medford. It is 12 feet wide at the top, 6 at the bottom, 6 feet deep, 7 miles long. A part of the Squaw Lake mine is to be worked from it this summer.
Josephine County."General Mining News, Oregon," The Engineering and Mining Journal, July 8, 1899, page 48
Old Channel.--This hydraulic placer property, comprising over 630 acres on Six Mile Creek, 32 miles from Grants Pass, was recently sold by the owners, J. O. Booth, F. D. Burns and others, to C. B. Beardsley, W. H. Thompson and associates of Chicago. It is said that a ditch 3½ miles long will be built, giving 2,000 miners' inches under 300 ft. head.
Jacksonville Times: Lund Bros., who are developing the cinnabar ledge in Beaver Creek district, for the Siskiyou Quicksilver M. Co., have struck good ore.… J. Berham of Portland, who is interested in the cinnabar mines in Meadows precinct, has let a contract for running a tunnel.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 8, 1899, page 42
OREGON."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, July 15, 1899, page 67
Ashland Record: Miners have struck the ledge in the Free Coinage mine in Sampson Creek mining district near Soda Springs. The 320-foot tunnel entered the ledge at a depth of 200 feet from the surface. It was 5 feet wide. The ore carries free gold and zinc and lead sulphides. There are specimens exhibiting native silver. This ledge is also known as the Barron and Shepherd and is eight and one-half miles southeast of Ashland, and was the first gold-bearing ledge found in that section of the county.… The Shorty Hope M. & M. Co. is about to sink 100 feet on their property near Ashland, and will determine the character of machinery that will be purchased. The shaft will be sunk on the line between both locations, and it is now 60 feet below the level of the present workings; 1000 feet of drifting has been done on the vein. The business of the company in Ashland and at the mine is looked after by Pres. H. S. Sanford and supt. T. James.… Supt. H. Mattern, of the Ashland and Mattern mines, has shipped a carload of ore and concentrates to San Francisco. It was from the new workings in the west side shaft, from which $80 per ton was realized by the last run through the 5-stamp mill in Ashland. The mine is opened by a 400-foot tunnel that struck the vein at a depth of 150 feet from the surface. A 500-foot tunnel reached the vein at a depth of 500 feet and did considerable drift work in low-grade ore. The owners are G. F. Reynolds of Sheboygan, Mich. and R. M. Bennett of Minneapolis, Minn. They paid $20,000 for the mine a year ago. Mr. Bennett and Mr. Mattern are the owners of the Mattern mine, from which some high-grade ore has been taken.
Josephine County."General Mining News, Oregon," The Engineering and Mining Journal, August 5, 1899, page 168
Illinois & Josephine Gravel Mining Company.… This company, composed of San Francisco men with $100,000 capital stock, now controls the Alexander Watts placer property, including water rights and ditches at the junction of Josephine Creek and Illinois River, 5 miles northwest of Kerby. L. H. Carver has charge of the improvements.
During the past year 110 placer and 224 quartz mining locations were recorded in Jacksonville.
Gold nuggets valued at about $12,000 are exhibited [at] the Medford Bank, a part of the cleanup of the Sterling M. Co.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 2, 1899, page 263
The Ashland quartz mine, near Ashland City, is sold to Montreal and Spokane men. The company is incorporated as the Montreal & Oregon Gold Mines and will commence development work. H. Mattern is local manager until October 1st. C. G. Griffith is managing director. The selling price is reported to be about $120,000.
The Gold Bug Mining Co., Mount Reuben, is reported to have sold its properties to C. D. Lane and A. Hayward of San Francisco, a ninety-day bond for $1,000,000 being given, with an initial payment of $100,000. The property was owned by J. P. Jones of Nevada. There is a 5-stamp mill in operation. The report is locally denied.
G. F. Wheeler of Grants Pass, receiver of the Siskiyou Copper M. Co., operating near Waldo, says that the carload of copper ore shipped to the Selby Smelting Works at San Francisco turned out so well that 100 tons more will be shipped to the same establishment as soon as possible.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 9, 1899, page 291
The formalities of the sale of the Ashland mine to the Ontario & Oregon Gold Mines, Ltd., show the consideration to have been $125,000.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 23, 1899, page 347
Jackson County."General Mining News, Oregon," The Engineering and Mining Journal, September 16, 1899, page 348
Ashland.--The Montreal & Oregon Gold Mines, Limited, a Canadian corporation, of which Charles G. Griffith is manager, has purchased the Ashland Mine for a consideration understood to be $120,000. R. M. Bennett, G. F. Reynolds, H. V. Winchell and H. Mattern were the former owners of the mine, but they did not have sufficient capital to do the work needed. The new company, it is understood, is planning to start extensive development at once. H. Mattern, one of the former owners, will have charge until October 1, however.
The managers of the Oro Fino mine in the Jumpoff Joe district propose to put a stamp mill on the property. The wide vein of medium values in the Oro Fino fully justifies the construction of a good plant, and its operation can only be profitable to those interested.
"Mining News," The Mining Reporter, October 5, 1899, page 214
Ashland Record: At the Golden Standard, ore has been discovered which resembles the Gold Hill quartz. The vein is 8 inches thick, with walls of slate and porphyry. One rich deposit follows another, with high-grade between.… Another discovery like the Golden Standard is reported on Horse Creek, south of the Big Applegate. C. Grater was the discoverer.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 7, 1899, page 411
Ashland Record: In the vicinity of Hornbrook, Roberts & Co. continue to employ sixty men. This mine has kept ten stamps running on high-grade ore for eighteen months, averaging twenty tons per day.… Laflesh & Miner have seventeen men at work in their mine and mill.… Rose & Nikirk commenced crushing ore October 2nd, in their new mill on Ash Creek.… Doney Bros. tapped a heavy flow of water in their mine and are compelled to suspend until a pump can be put in.… H. Mattern has bought from C. Harness a half interest in the Ohio mines for $2000.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 21, 1899, page 467
Crescent City Record: Reports from the Blue Ledge copper mines, owned by Del Norte parties, are that the vein has been tapped at a depth of 146 feet and the ore found is rich in copper. The mine is in the Siskiyous, eighteen miles from Jacksonville, Or.
"Del Norte," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 11, 1899, page 551
The Oregon Midland Ry. Co., of Ashland, proposes building a railway sixty miles down the Klamath River from Klamath Falls to Klamathon, Cal., a station on the S.P.R.R.
"Industrial Notes," Mining and Scientific Press, November 18, 1899, page 583
Dr. E. O. Smith, who has bonded the Haggin mine at Tolo for $25,000, proposes to sink a 1000-foot shaft.
The first gold dredger in Southern Oregon is being operated by the English-Canadian Co., at Faun's mine, on the Illinois River, near Waldo.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 2, 1899, page 639
Southern Oregon Mines.
The Josephine dredger at Sailor Diggings started up again last week.
Henry Rissue has made a valuable strike on one of his claims in the Bohemia district. The ledge is a well-defined one, eight feet wide, and will assay $30 to the ton. A large deal was recently made of 640 acres of patented land, containing placer and quartz claims, on Galls Creek, near Gold Hill, formerly known as the Klippel property. It was an all-cash deal, and the buyer was F. H. Osgood, of Seattle.… Grants Pass Mining Journal.
Aberdeen Herald, Aberdeen, Washington, December 7, 1899, page 3
Josephine County."General Mining News, Oregon," The Engineering and Mining Journal, December 16, 1899, page 739
McCroskey & Mills recently sold their placer mine, on Upper Grave Creek, to C. E. Smith and others, of Colorado Springs. This property contains 50 acres of good ground, with equipment.
H. S. Woodcock sold recently to Erasmus Wilson and B. E. Meredith of Kansas City, Mo., a group of 5 claims on Josephine Creek, comprising 100 acres of mining ground. The sale included all water rights. The consideration was $11,000.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY."Mining Summary," Mining and Scientific Press, December 16, 1899, page 695
The Josephine dredger at Sailor Diggings has started up again.
H. Rissue has made a strike on a claim in Bohemia district. The ledge is 8 feet wide. A deal was recently made of 640 acres of patented land, containing placer and quartz claims, on Galls Creek, near Gold Hill. The buyer was F. H. Osgood of Seattle.
James McDougal is piping on his claim on the Ralls place, with encouraging prospects of a good cleanup.
Houston & Ingram are running their pipe with a fair head of water on their Lane Creek claim, and are encouraged to believe the season's work will be a profitable one.
Ralph Dean has a force at work ground sluicing on Willow Springs Flat, where there has never been a failure to make good wages.
It is reported that the late run at the Beekman & Huffer mill, on rock taken from their ledges on Jackson Creek, resulted in a cleanup of something like $900.
Dekum & Wright, of Portland, principals of the Apollo Company, of Elk Creek, sent an expert up there to make a careful examination of the mines in that section. The report, it is learned, was favorable, though the ore is low grade and some of it base and hard to work. The country is porphyritic in formation, and much like the Bohemia district.
J. W. Short, of Foots Creek, says that miners in that section have plenty of water, and that there are three hydraulics in operations on the right-hand fork and five on the left. The Black Channel company has been piping for the past week with a good head of water, and 250-foot pressure. The prospects for a large output from this district were never better than at present.
Kubli Bros. have about completed a 100-foot crosscut in the Gold Standard, which will tap the ledge 100 feet below the surface. This crosscut was run for the purpose of tapping the new mine from which the rich ore was taken.
Placer miners in the vicinity of Gold Hill are anticipating an unusually good winter's run. C. Vrooman, who is operating a good-paying placer on Sardine Creek, reports that he has washed off more ground already this year than during the whole of last season.
The high water on Applegate last week carried out one of the dams of the Seattle Mining Company, on Elliott Creek, and did considerable damage to the head works of the big ditch belonging to the Applegate Mining Company. The company was obliged to close the mine down until such time as it could repair the break, which will take about three weeks.
The C. & C. Hydraulic Mining Company, of Jumpoff Joe, which is constructing a large ditch from Pleasant Creek to cover its mines so as to operate them by hydraulic process, is pushing the work with all possible speed. The mine is that formerly owned by Cook & Howell, to which there have been added several purchases, rendering the property one of large value. The company is also building a new sawmill with a capacity of 20,000 feet per day. There is almost an inexhaustible supply of timber, and of the finest quality. The company is working 45 men.
Oregonian, Portland, December 21, 1899, page 6
Southern Oregon Mining Notes.
At the Broad & Reed ledge, near the head of Jackson and Forest creeks, about eight tons of quartz are being put through the crusher daily. The ledge is three feet in width, and the quartz is said to be very rich.
E. L. Haney, who is now operating a giant at his mine some 12 miles from Jacksonville, reports the outlook for a big cleanup as the result of this season's work very promising.
L. L. Love and son, of Tolo, will commence piping on their placer ground, on the east fork of Sardine Creek, next week.
Dr. Ray. who bonded the Swinden ledge in Gold Hill district, has a force of 15 men at work on the property, and the 10-stamp mill is being run to its fullest capacity. Indirect information conveys the belief that this season's output will be large, and it is also reported that Dr. Ray will take the mine under the bond.
H. A. Perkins recently made the discovery of a rich quartz ledge near the Hayden mine. The ledge is three feet in width and contains a good prospect of free gold.
Oregonian, Portland, December 31, 1899, page 10
Southern Oregon Mining Notes.
Grants Pass Courier.
The Copper Company, at Preston Peak, has a good force of men at work developing the mine, which is showing up a large body of rich ore.
H. C. Perkins, of the Old Channel mine at Six-Mile Creek, says they will be ready to begin piping there in about a week. They have a force of about 20 men at work, riveting pipe, cleaning ditch, building sluices, and other necessary operations incident to the equipment of a large hydraulic mine.
H. A. Corliss, the Dry Diggins miner, says that he has already worked as much ground this winter as he did during the whole season of last year. This is a section which has been known and worked for years, by every method known to placer mining. As a placer deposit, it is somewhat peculiar, there being little washed gravel, and in some places none at all. The gold is mostly coarse, rough, and the larger pieces are mingled with quartz.
C. E. Harmon says that the present season has been very favorable for the operation of the mine at Galice which belongs to himself and Dan Green. The large amount of water in Galice Creek has been of material benefit in sluicing the old tailings out of the creek channel and thereby enlarging their dump. The ground they are working this year is yielding rich returns. Mr. Green recently picked up a piece which weighed nearly $60.
Morning Oregonian, Portland, January 12, 1900, page 6
H. F. Ankeny, of the Sterling mine, is operating his hydraulics night and day under a full head of water and expects to sweep a large area of bedrock. He has twenty-six men at work.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 13, 1900, page 45
Southern Oregon Mining Notes.
Newt Haskins has leased the Terry Bros.' mine on Big Applegate and is operating a giant on it, with good prospects.
A chemical laboratory in Jacksonville to determine the value of ores is something new, and will meet a want that has long been felt here.
Ed Fauset has about completed a ditch from the Butte fork of Applegate to his mine, and is getting out timbers for the necessary fluming. As soon as all preliminary work is done, Mr. Fauset will put a hydraulic plant on his mine. He has 20 acres, and it is considered first-class ground. His season's run will be necessarily short, on account of extended improvements, but with the new plant and more effective work, the output will no doubt exceed any former year.
George Wait, who is mining on Big Applegate, six miles above the Watkins place, owns 20 acres of mining ground there, and 80 on Dividend Bar, Squaw Creek. He is ground-sluicing on his Big Applegate claim, and has 3000 inches of water available for that purpose the year round. He has all the fall he wants, and says he drives seven- and eight-pound boulders through his flume without any trouble. The gold is coarse, heavy, and most of it rough and free from wash. The nuggets run from $1 up, the largest yet being taken out being $28. The freshet took out part of the filling of the dam from which the ditch issues, causing quite a stoppage in his season's work. He says his output for the season will be as good as usual, notwithstanding the break.
Morning Oregonian, Portland, January 19, 1900, page 6
The gold output of Jackson County for 1899 is estimated at $250,000.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 27, 1900, page 99
Southern Oregon Mining Notes.
Ingram & Houston have been running their pipe since the heavy rainfall on their claim on Willow Springs Creek, near the old Schumpf ledge, and have off more ground now than during any season in the past 10. They have already picked up a number of handsome nuggets.
E. H. Pearce, from the Pearce mine, on Forest Creek, reports piping going on steadily as the water supply will permit, and says he considers the ground being worked off now the best on the claim. The late freeze has somewhat diminished the volume of water, but a much larger area of bedrock will be uncovered this year than during any former season.
Winningham & Co., of the ledge west of the Sturgis placers, have been pushing work on the vein, and have out now 50 tons of rock, which they commenced to crush in their own mill Monday. Reports are to the effect that there is no decline in the value of the ore from the first crushing, which yielded $36.50.
R. F. Dean has a force of men at work on Willow Springs flat ground sluicing. This flat has been worked since 1854 and always with satisfactory results. It would have been worked out years ago but for the fact that the eastern part of it is embraced within the limits of the N. C. Dean donation land claim and the western part in that of the Houston donation land claim. James McRunnels has leased ground and is also mining on the flat. The heavy rains this winter have largely increased the water supply for these diggings, and Mr. Dean expects to make a cleanup far exceeding any former year.
Jesse Huggins was down from his mountain claim Friday and had a lot of dust changed at the bank. He is more sanguine than ever that he has discovered one of the richest placer deposits in this section. The discouraging feature in connection with all the sections of this old channel is the utter impossibility of procuring a water supply. This channel appears to traverse the high ridges except where it has been broken up or diverted by slides, and the altitude is so great there is no available water source high enough to reach it. It may be suggested that if the dirt is very rich it might be hauled to the foot of the mountain and there washed with profit. This would involve the construction of an expensive road, and when, in addition, it is considered how slow and costly it is to transport such heavy material, it can be seen at once that such an enterprise could not be made to pay unless the ground was fabulously rich.
Oregonian, Portland, February 1, 1900, page 5
A contract is to be let for the longest mining ditch in the West, ninety-three miles, beginning above Rogue River Falls and terminating at Gold Hill. It will drain 100,000 acres of placer ground, and is to cost $700,000. M. P. Warde says the preliminary surveys have been finished and the right of way secured. For four months past eighteen surveyors, in charge of J. S. Howard, have been running the necessary lines. Estimates are now being made. The territory which the ditch will drain is recognized as rich placer ground, the mines of which heretofore could only be worked during the wet season. The company proposes to furnish electric and water power to quartz mines.
J. R. Huggins, west of Jacksonville, recently took $200 out of a pocket. W. H. Lee extracted an equal amount from a pocket near Applegate.
I. Humason of Portland wants to put up a mill between Rogue River bridge and Houck's mill.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 3, 1900, page 127
The Montreal & Oregon M. Co., which recently bought the Ashland group of claims for $125,000, contemplates the building of a 10-stamp mill when the lower tunnel and the west shaft on the 250-foot level meet. C. D. McDonald, Ashland, is supt.
J. B. Scott, who bonded the Messenger mine, is having ore tested preliminary to building a mill.
The Chicago men who bought the Old Channel mine, on Six-Mile Creek, and connected it with the Illinois River by ditch, have started piping with one giant.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 17, 1900, page 182
At Grants Pass, B. E. Meredith, supt. Wilson placer mine, on the Illinois River, is piping day and night, with a good head of water.
The Big Yank M.&M. Co. is under the management of J. P. Wickham. Fifteen men are employed at the mine.
At the Eureka mine work goes steadily on. They are getting out ore and storing the same until they can pack in a new mill of ten stamps.
At the A.&B. [Alexander & Bent] placer mine, Galice Creek, the break of 300 feet in the flume, caused by a landslide, has been repaired, and two giants are at work.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 24, 1900, page 210
The gold dredge Josephine, near Waldo, has resumed operations.
The quartz mill on the Winnington-Pence mine, on Forest Creek, is running on rock reported to average $36 to the ton.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 3, 1900, page 238
(Special correspondence).--Thirty-five miles north of Medford the Lower Elk Creek mining district is an undeveloped and nearly unprospected region, with plenty red fir timber, good streams and fine climate; country rock, andesite; cutting this are numerous parallel dikes of felsite, in width 5 to 200 feet. These white dikes are well mineralized, a fine-grained variety of iron pyrites being generally disseminated through them, in places concentrating into considerable bodies of irregular shape of a nearly pure sulphuret ore. This carries a little gold, $4 to $6 per ton, but no appreciable quantities of copper or lead.
In a portion of the district a number of the felsite dikes are accompanied by a system of well-defined quartz veins. Some of them possess gouges, polished faces, slickensides, ribbon structure and other evidences of true fissure veins along which more or less faulting has occurred. The ore in these veins is galena and chalcopyrite, carrying a good value in both gold and silver. Although highly refractory, requiring concentration and smelting, two properties have opened up bodies of ore--the Collie Dog and the Bright & Sparkling, adjoining mines on the same vein.
There is one thing of great importance which has to be taken into account in prospecting this district: the ore lies low and shafts have to be sunk to reach it. The amount of chalcopyrite and galena in the veins increases from higher to lower levels, i.e., from the original surface down, until a level is reached on which they are in sufficient quantities to constitute it [sic] what may be called the mineral zone--the zone where deposition of copper, lead, gold and silver was most active. Unlike the pyrites disseminated through the felsite dikes, the galena and chalcopyrite in the quartz veins were not derived by lateral secretion from the country rock, but were introduced from below at a great depth and brought up in solution in hot, alkaline waters. Deposition occurred all along the vein, but as the surface was approached it greatly decreased.
The rocks being of early Tertiary age, much newer than the mineral-bearing formations of California, erosion has not cut so deeply into them, and the mineral zone is barely exposed in the deeper gulches. The district differs decidedly from any California district, belonging rather to the class of Colorado and Montana deposits. About fifty miles north on this same belt is the Bohemia district, now coming into prominence. So far as I can learn, its geological conditions are similar to this.
Medford, March 10.
Chrysoprase is a rare variety of chalcedony, and is of value. It is found in limited quantities in Tulare County, Cal., in Jackson County, Oregon, near Rutland, Vermont, and in lower Silesia.
"Concentrates," Mining and Scientific Press, April 7, 1900, page 371
At Gold Hill the Humason 10-stamp custom quartz mill is expected to be in operation May 1.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 14, 1900, page 406
Southern Oregon Placer Conditions.Mining and Scientific Press, April 21, 1900, page 432
Written for the Mining and Scientific Press by
Theo. F. Van Wagenen.
The hydraulic mines of the placer region of northern California and southwestern Oregon, near Galice in Josephine County in the latter state, are deserving of notice. The discovery of the extensive gold fields of this vicinity, extruding through the counties of Siskiyou, Trinity and Humboldt in California and Josephine and Jackson counties in Oregon, followed quickly upon the first rush into California in 1849. As early as 1850 gold was found in Althouse Creek, one of the tributaries of the Rogue River; and for several years, while the tide of discovery was running high, the output of gold rivaled that of many parts of the more extensive auriferous region in central California. But the valleys of the Klamath and Rogue were carved out upon a different plan from those of the lower Sacramento and San Joaquin, the result of which was the deposit of much less alluvium along the former than the latter. In consequence, the primitive methods of mining in those days yielded large profits but a short time in the northern districts, and by 1855 the bulk of the roving population had drifted northward to the Columbia and Frazer rivers and eastward towards Idaho and Montana, where later equally rich discoveries were made.
The geological situation in the region under consideration is interesting. Where now stand the rugged and picturesque Siskiyou and Rogue River ranges, built up upon a massive core of serpentine and slate, there used to be in former geologic time a broad and deep inlet from the Pacific reaching as far eastward as southwestern Idaho. Into the head of this the Snake River, which now heads in Wyoming and empties into the Columbia, poured its floods. The coast lines of the ancient gulf may today be traced with considerable accuracy, and they indicate a comparatively narrow inlet from the ocean at about the region of the Oregon-California line; a broad interior basin with an average diameter of fully 500 miles, along which numerous bays extended in several directions towards the center of the continent, connecting probably with the Humboldt and Salt Lake basins and certainly with the region now known as the Snake River desert.
The series of seismic disturbances which later elevated the floor of this extensive gulf and covered much of it with vast beds and ridges of lava, forcing the Snake northward to a junction with the Columbia and sealing the outlets of the Humboldt and Salt Lake basins, is a story which when rightly deciphered by the geologist will prove not only interesting, but economically valuable; for, during these changes, very large marine deposits of auriferous conglomerates were formed in northern California and southern Oregon, not very dissimilar in character to those at Johannesburg, South Africa; and great dikes of auriferous diorite were thrust upward through the earth's crust near the present Pacific coast line, both of which have been the immediate source from which came much of the gold being at present recovered in this region.
One of these latter has been traced almost in an unbroken line through southwest Oregon, from Riddle to Waldo, a distance of forty miles. So persistent is this fissure and so straight its course--from N.E. to S.W.--that it probably marks the line of a fault plane, east of which the country slowly was elevated, while west of it there was as gradual a subsidence. Parallel to it and so close that the two may be said to adjoin--for they are never separated by more than a few rods--is what is locally called an ancient river channel, but which actually consists of a deposit of small breccia and soil from 50 to 150 feet in depth and from 500 to 2500 feet wide, through all of which gold is disseminated to such an extent that its yield when the channel is worked in large quantities averages between 15 and 20 cents per cubic yard with great uniformity.
As might be expected from its soft nature, this gold-bearing channel has been very extensively eroded and washed away. Wherever crossed by a river, a gulch or a ravine it is totally gone, while its golden contents have been caught and concentrated in some part of the newer channels below, or swept westward to the ocean, there to be thrown up on the beach and form the profitless diggings of the gold coast. Only fragments remain here and there, yet these fragments may be and have been traced and found by the prospector in his tramps across the country, and, whenever extensive enough to offer a commercial basis for a mining enterprise, have been taken up and are being worked.
In the vicinity of Galice, south of the point where the Rogue River has cut its way through the dike to the canyon, the gold-bearing deposit, crossing the gorge diagonally, rests upon a slate bedrock 50 feet above the surface of the water.
The word "channel" does not convey a correct idea of the nature of these deposits. Although the slate bedrock appears to have a fairly uniform slope of about 15 feet per mile, within the limits of this property at least, from south to north, and although its surface is worn smooth in the same direction, as if by the action of moving gravel, yet the mass of the material is in no sense a water deposit, nor is any considerable proportion of the rock fragments it contains water-worn. On the contrary, they are for the most part angular pebbles, scattered irregularly through a mass of soil, which near the surface is deeply stained with red and yellow iron oxides and consists mainly of clay. In some of the blocks there is evident stratification of the material, but the planes of these earthy and gravelly beddings slope from the west to the east across the course of the channel, and not from south to north along its length. So far as I have been able to discover, the eastern wall of the channel is gone, or, more correctly, seems never to have existed, so that the floor upon which the auriferous material rests is a shelf of varying width, bounded on the west by the wall of the dike or by a nearly vertically tilted uplift of the slate bedrock resting closely upon the dike. The following section across is through one of the blocks of ground lying between Rich and Applegate ravines, locally known as Thoss Flat, is typical.
After several examinations of this interesting deposit, I am unable to account for the gravel, earth and breccia which constitutes its mass, but the gold appears to have come in a state of solution from the diorite dike to the west. The auriferous nature of this dike, which bears the name of the "Old Yank lode," has long been known to the miners of the vicinity. Again and again it has been located by enthusiastic prospectors and exploited by shrewd stock speculators, but I cannot learn that a dividend-paying era has been attained anywhere along its length.
In the Alexander & Bent property, herewith illustrated, of the 750-odd acres nominally included within its patented lines, about half have been washed away by the numerous ravines and gulches that cross it, and fifteen to twenty acres of the various blocks between these have been washed since it was first located by the various owners. As nearly as can be learned, the yield under operation has ranged from $5000 to $10,000 per acre, according to the depth of the banks. This corresponds to a production of about 15 cents per cubic yard. The costs have varied from 3 to 5 cents or more per yard, according to conditions. When well equipped, the first-named figure should be the maximum.
Water for operation is furnished by Galice Creek. Fifteen miles of ditches collected it, but only eight miles are in use: The available watershed above the levees of these is about thirty square miles. Over that area the annual precipitation averages 40 inches. so that quite 4000 inches of water is available. The season for working is about eight months.
At the present time the mine is only partially equipped. Not over 2000 yards per twenty-four hours is being washed. The principal operations are carried on at a point near the northern end. Fig. 1 shows the working pit. Fig. 2 is a near view of a piece of the bank shown in Fig. 1, which displays not only the cross-stratification of the mass, but its remarkable freedom from boulders. The climatic and other conditions in the Rogue River Valley are peculiarly favorable for hydraulic mining. The altitudes of the deposits above sea level rarely exceed 1200 feet. The winter, which is the mining season, is mild; the rainfall is very rarely deficient, and the deep canyon of the river with its great volume of water and regular fall carries away all tailings to the ocean.
The proposed High Line ditch is 93 miles long, and taps Rogue River to bring water to a point 400 feet perpendicularly above Gold Hill. It will be 8 feet wide at the bottom, across the top 14 feet, a depth of 6 feet, to carry 10,000 miners' inches of water for operating placer mines and irrigating down Rogue River Valley. The contracts are to be let in 10-mile sections. There will be 2000 feet of fluming to be constructed on the line, where the water is to be led across small streams or along steep hillsides upon which the ditch cannot be dug. There are also 2000 feet of 31-inch iron pipe to be laid where the line crosses Trail Creek, 25 miles above Gold Hill. The laying of this pipe will save the digging of over 20 miles of ditch, as the water will be carried down one hillside and up the other, where otherwise the line would have to be dug along the face of steep hills.
The Eureka mine on Sailor Creek, A. F. Nelson supt., has been bonded to C. G. Griffith, Gen. Mgr. Montreal & Oregon G.M., Ltd., 52 Broadway, New York City. The reported price is $75,000. The Eureka mine is what is known as the Denver City ledge, with a face width of 30 feet, a pay streak 2 feet wide abutting against one of the walls.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 21, 1900, page 436
The Harris gold dredger, eight miles from Waldo, is dredging 200 acres lying along the lllinois River, daily handling 1000 cubic yards gravel.
Mgr. Jno. Wickham of the Big Yank M.&M. Co. of Galice has a property yielding copper, with traces of gold. The copper runs 8½% and the silver about $1.75 a ton. He intends to put in a smelter.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 28, 1900, page 466
H. S. Sanford is operating the Shorty Hope mine and mill at Ashland, Oregon.
"Personal," Mining and Scientific Press, May 5, 1900, page 497
J. S. Howard, chief engineer High Line Ditch, that is expected to bring water from Rogue River to Gold Hill, says the work of digging the 4-foot berm on the right of way is progressing, several miles being already prepared for excavation on the Gold Hill end. A right of way has been granted the company by the Southern Pacific Co. for a 50-foot strip 35 miles long. There now remain but a few rights of way to be obtained along the 93 miles of line. When this right of way has been secured contracts will be let for digging the ditch in 10-mile sections.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 26, 1900, page 585
(Special Correspondence).--We have now a post office at Greenback mining camp, Alta by name. Supt. Thompson runs the mine and 10-stamp mill, and is postmaster. There are fifty men employed.
Alta, May 25.Silver State: A suit involving the title to the Gold Bug mine, near Grants Pass, owned by Jones, Gorham, Lester & James, is decided in their favor at Portland by the U.S. Circuit Court.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 2, 1900, page 615
J. J. Martin will reopen the Seattle Cooperative Co.'s mine in Applegate district.
J. S. Howard, of the High Line Ditch Co., Gold Hill, says work begins in September. The ditch is to tap Rogue River at the upper rapids, and will be 94 miles long, terminating at Gold Hill. There will be 11,000 feet of flume, 11 feet wide and 6 feet deep, using 1,500,000 feet of lumber in its construction. Where excavated, the canal will be 14 feet wide at top, 8 feet at bottom, and 6 feet deep. A right of way 50 feet wide has been obtained through the railroad and desert lands along its route. The grade is 1 inch in 1000, or 5.28 feet per mile, and the velocity of the current will be 3.96 feet per second, or 2.7 miles per hour. The capacity will be 15,681 cubic feet per minute, equals 10,455 miner's inches. Two siphons are figured in the estimates--one at Trail Creek Canyon, 2870 feet long, 400 feet depression, with 40 feet head, consisting of three parallel lines of 34-inch diameter steel pipe. At Elk Creek a similar siphon, 4740 feet long, will cross the canyon. These pipes will save the construction of over 20 miles of canal in a rugged country. The company hopes to put the work through within one year after the excavators have been put to work. Several hundred men will be given employment during its construction, which will be begun at the upper end, in order to float the lumber needed for flumes and culverts down from sawmills to be erected above. The ditch will supply water for a number of placer mines in that vicinity.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 23, 1900, page 706
It is reported that the dredger on Rogue River, near Tolo, which has not been working for some time, will resume operations in the near future.
Aberdeen Herald, Aberdeen, Washington, June 28, 1900, page 3
The cleanup at the placer mine of Wimer Bros. & Co., at Waldo, is reported to be $20,000. The run was from Nov. 1 to June 1.
Hackler & Prinzanlar of Pasadena, Cal., have started up their $46,000 steam dredger in Rogue River, near Tolo.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 30, 1900, page 738
An Old Mining Law.
E. J. Northcutt of Melrose, this county, hands the Teller a copy of the first mining laws ever enacted north of the California line. He says the meeting was held on Canyon Creek, a tributary of Josephine Creek in Oregon, on the 1st day of April, 1852. Forty miners assembled under a big fir tree and organized by electing Mr. Northcutt chairman and Philip Althouse clerk. This meeting laid the foundation not only for the laws that now govern all the camps in this district then included within the Territory of Oregon, but the whole United States. These simple but comprehensive rules are surely historical items for the consideration of not only miners and prospectors, but the legal fraternity, as well, may study them with profit. Following is the copy:
"Know all men by these presents, That the miners in council assembled on this the first day of April, A.D. 1852, do ordain and adopt the following rules and regulations to govern this camp:
"Resolved, first, That 50 yards shall constitute a claim in the bed of the creek extending to high water on each side.
"Resolved, second, That 40 feet shall constitute a bank or bar claim on the face extending back to the hill or mountain.
"Resolved, third, That all claims not worked when workable, after five days, be forfeited or jumpable.
"Resolved, fourth, That all disputes arising from mining claims shall be settled by arbitration, and the decision shall be final
"E. J. Northcutt,Daily Teller, Lewiston, Idaho, July 6, 1900, page 3
The Humason 5-stamp custom quartz mill at Gold Hill is at work.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 14, 1900, page 42
Ankeny & Cook of the Sterling mine near Cole's have a second cleanup of 1270 ounces valued at $21,000. S. J. Fore, the superintendent, expects the mine to yield $50,000 for the season's run.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 21, 1900, page 70
At the Elder copper mine, near Waldo, the company is running two tunnels, the lower one of which is expected to tap the lode at a depth of 200 feet. They have six teams hauling ore to Grants Pass and have sent four carloads to the Selby Smelting Works, Vallejo, Cal.
The Alexander & Bent placer mine on Rogue River, 25 miles below Grants Pass, containing 510 acres of land and extending 3½ miles along an ancient channel, is reported sold to Chicago men for $100,000. The A.&B. mine has been operated at a profit for years. It was described and illustrated at great length in the issue of April 21, 1900. Its water supply is taken out of the west fork of Galice Creek, in a 7-mile ditch, and gives a pressure of 350 to 400 feet at the mine. The bank is 80 to 150 feet high, the gold being principally in a stratum of blue gravel at the bedrock, 6 to 12 feet deep. The mine is well equipped with pipe and giants, a sawmill furnishing the necessary flume lumber.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 28, 1900, page 98
The Swayne M. Co. will resume operations at its mines at Applegate. W. D. O'Brien will be in charge.
A San Francisco company has 300 acres of land 3 miles from Gold Hill and will test the efficiency of their dry-washing process. The John L. Ferris Co. has 600 acres of land for dredging purposes in the vicinity and will place dredgers in ponds dug therefor.
The dredger at Waldo has been shut down.
Ganguish & O'Neil are erecting a 5-stamp quartz mill on their property at the mouth of Palmer Creek.
The Gold Standard mine on Jackson Creek is shipping concentrates to the Selby smelter.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 4, 1900, page 128
The last of the season's cleanups in the Sterling hydraulic mine of Ankeny & Cook gave $14,000 in gold bricks and $10,000 in coarse gold nuggets, some of the nuggets weighing nearly five ounces. The entire season's cleanup will amount to $100,000.
The Oak Flat placer mines, 700 acres of undeveloped placer ground, with a 5-mile ditch and water rights, are sold to Poole Bros. & Tomlinson of Denver, Colo., for $8000 and one-third of the capital stock of the company. The purchasers have organized the Oak Flat M.&M. Co., capitalized at $200,000, and will prepare for next season's run. The ground is on the Illinois River and Briggs Creek, and consists of an old river channel having a deposit of gold-bearing gravel, which shows fine and coarse gold.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 11, 1900, page 162
DOUGLAS COUNTY.Supt. R. A. Jones of the Gold Bug mine, near Glendale, says he is employing thirty men, working night and day. They have about a year and a half's work for their 5-stamp mill now in sight and are doing development work; have just completed surveying a new 1600-foot tunnel in the south side of the mountain; they are working 413 feet below the surface.
Supt. Jones of the Gold Bug mine, Mt. Reuben district, says the company is employing thirty men; they have a 5-stamp mill operating and are working 413 feet below the surface.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.Wimer Bros.' mines in Waldo district are reported sold to Wain, Draper, et al., for $40,000. The property consists of 400 acres of ground, equipped with ditches, flumes and mining appliances.
J. S. Howard, engineer High Line Ditch Co., says the strike by J. C. Nye at Galls Creek is notable. Nye bought the prospect for $600 and sold a half interest for $9000 cash, and since that time $50,000 has been taken out.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 18, 1900, page 193
The Old Channel M. Co. have men enlarging and rebuilding their main ditch at Galice.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 25, 1900, page 225
W. E. McMartin, vice president Big Yank M.&M. Co., is in San Francisco regarding the bonding of the property in Galice mining district. The ledge has been cut at a depth of 100 feet by a crosscut tunnel, which exposes a streak carrying copper and gold.
The strike in copper made by H. C. Booth is on Little Pickett Creek, near Merlin. There are two parallel veins. The assays give a return of $12 per ton in gold and 19% copper.
The 12-mile wagon road recently constructed at a cost of $19,000 by the Goldbug M. Co., from Glendale to the Goldbug mines, Mt. Reuben, has been made a toll road.
The ore chute in the Ashland at the 425-foot level is 170 feet long. The shaft is down 575 feet. Twenty-five men are at work. B. Carlisle is supt., with general manager Ingersoll.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 1, 1900, page 257
A FORTUNE IN THE BILL NYE.
Spokane Man Strikes It in Jackson County, Oregon.
Special Dispatch to the Post-Intelligencer.
SPOKANE, Sept. 2.--H. B. Nye, an old Spokane prospector, arrived here today, bringing with him a sackful of fabulously rich ore that was taken from his claim, the Bill Nye, in Jackson County, Oregon. The ore assays $40,000 in gold to the ton. In speaking of his rich strike, Mr. Nye said:
"The great pay chute is ten inches wide, and the native gold is visible all through it. On July 25 I bonded the claim for $600 and by August 6 I had taken out $12,000 in gold ore. I have a fortune in the property and propose developing it upon an extensive scale. The country surrounding the Bill Nye claim has yielded fortunes in placer mining, but until recently no effort seems to have been made to find the ledges.
Seattle Post-Intelligencer, September 3, 1900, page 6
S. J. Fore of Cole's, Cal., has bought a seven-eighths interest in the Hungry Feeder and forty acres adjoining the property for $17,500.
On the Whitney ledge supt. Mitchell has ten men at work. The ledge is 4 inches wide, the pay chute 40 feet long.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 8, 1900, page 289
JACKSON COUNTY.Applegate reports the discovery of a quicksilver mine in Meadows precinct by Behrman & Kauffman.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.H. B. Nye has a small ledge of white quartz with a vein about 6 inches wide, from which about $10,000 has been taken. He has struck another pay chute which is thought to contain as much more.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 15, 1900, page 318
H. E. Ankeny is putting the Sterling mine in readiness for the coming season.
Booth & Wilhelm are opening up newly discovered copper property on Pickett Creek.
W. T. Cope has bonded the Golconda mine on Williams Creek for $12,000.
The Old Channel Co. is making improvements on the A.&B. property at Galice, lately purchased, and will operate four giants. At the Old Channel mine, on Six-Mile, they will run three giants.
The Hammersley mining property has been bonded to H. Phillips of the Preston Peak copper mines.
The Yellow Horn mine, near Placer, will put up a quartz mill.
The Waldo C. Co. has bought the copper mine near Waldo, formerly owned by Strong, Kelly & Shipley, and the smelter on the mine placed there by Brown & Wheeler.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 29, 1900, page 378
F. H. Osgood has purchased the Josephine mine on Rogue River and has men fitting it for operation.
Kelly & Shipley have sold their group of copper claims to T. M. Draper of San Francisco.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 6, 1900, page 407
OREGON TOOK FIRST PRIZE
HAD BEST MINERAL EXHIBIT AT THE SPOKANE EXHIBITION.
Ore Came from the Bill Nye Mine, in Jackson County--
Was Wonder of the Northwest.
MEDFORD, Or., Oct. 18.--The rich ore discovered in the Bill Nye mine, on Galls Creek, a few months ago, and which created such a sensation at the time, has been heard from at the Industrial Exposition at Spokane, Wash. It carried off the first prize in competition with the mineral exhibits at Washington, Idaho, British Columbia and Oregon. Three hundred pounds assayed at the rate of $67,116.52 per ton. A ton of gold is considered to represent a value of $602,799.21. Taking this as a basis, the percentage of gold to quartz in the 300 pounds can be easily estimated.
The Southern Oregon exhibit was the wonder of the Northwest, and proves that people need not go to Alaska or elsewhere to find rich deposits. There are now not less than 300 veins being developed in Jackson County, with, perhaps, 25 mills in operation. With the new impetus in quartz mining, but a few years will elapse before the value of the quartz industry will be proven.
Some of the larger mines have already attained a depth exceeding 500 feet, and have been shown to be true fissure veins. The value of the ore in these mines has been almost uniform with the surface. The outlook for Jackson County from this industry is extremely promising.
Nye and Wortman, of the Bill Nye mine, have been invited to exhibit Southern Oregon ore at the Pan-American Exposition at Buffalo in 1901. The mine still continues to produce rich ore, but of a much lower grade than the samples placed upon exhibit.
Morning Oregonian, Portland, October 20, 1900, page 4
Two arrastras are in operation at the Ashland--Hill, Tucker & Grant owners--near Ashland.
Ore from the Bill Nye, on Galls Creek, Medford, took first prize at the Industrial Exposition recently held at Spokane, Wash.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 27, 1900, page 499
The Roberts & Jillson, Henley, has produced $300,000 in last two and a half years. In past four months it has produced $200,000; fifty men employed. The La Flesh & Miner has struck [a] rich pay chute.
The Gold Hill Quartz M. Co. has resumed. At the Kubli a lead has been struck running $100 to ton.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 10, 1900, page 525
JACKSON COUNTY.Opp Bros., of St. Louis, Mo., operating the McWilliams & Casey, on Jackson Creek, near Jacksonville, intend to put in a 20-stamp mill and a cyanide or chlorination plant. Fifty men will probably be employed.
The Wolverine M. Co. of Montreal, Quebec, have sent twenty-five tons ore from their copper mine, 2 miles south of Jacksonville, to the Selby Smelting & Lead Co. of San Francisco for test.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The Beach & Platter placer mine at Althouse, containing 500 acres, has been bonded by J. Conant of Redding, Cal.
The C.&C. (hydraulic) on upper Jumpoff Joe, Galice, is leased to W. E. Davis and others of Chicago, Ill. Work will be pushed; J. B. Wetherell supt.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 17, 1900, page 538
JACKSON COUNTY.Ore from the Bill Nye, in Galls Creek district, Jacksonville, is being crushed at the Humason mill with good results.
A. W. Sturgis of Forest Creek has his mines rigged up ready for a good run.
The Champion group is bonded by P. J. Jennings. The intention is to consolidate the Helena No. 2 with this group.
The Montreal & Oregon M. Co., operating the Ashland, near Ashland, will add five stamps to their 5-stamp mill, G. E. Ingersoll supt. Thirty men are working in mine and mill. Good ore is found on 500-foot and 600-foot levels.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The Columbia mines, at Placer, now have long distance telephone connection with outside points.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 24, 1900, page 551
JACKSON COUNTY.Kubli Bros., operating on Galls Creek, near Ashland, have seven men working. A 60-foot shaft is sunk from 425-foot level, and east and west drifts are run, showing up good ore. Work will continue through the winter.
W. Bleckert, who has been operating on Galls Creek with ground sluices for thirty-four years, will probably put in a giant.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.W. G. Wright has started his mill near Grants Pass.
A. E. Meredith has completed his bridge and pipeline across the Illinois, and will soon start piping.
Operations will begin on the Fay, Taylor and Ryel placers, on Powell Creek.
The 6x7-foot main tunnel at the Waldo (copper), Waldo, T. W. M. Draper general manager, is in 225 feet. An upraise is made from this level. The new smelter is working satisfactorily. D. H. Lawrence is supt. of latter.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 1, 1900, page 564
B. E. Meredith, supt. Wilson-Meredith hydraulic mine, has completed the suspension bridge for his pipeline over Illinois River. The water supply for the mine comes from the other side of the river, and on account of the rocky channel the pipe could not be sunk to the bottom. The bridge consists of two crucible steel cables, l¾ inches thick and 475 feet long, giving a clear span of 200 feet over the river. The pipe to be carried is 24 inches in diameter, water rushing through under 210 feet gravity pressure. Its total weight is 80,000 pounds. Mr. Meredith will operate two giants, and expects to have a six months' run. Besides the cable for the bridge there is a ¾-inch cable, with trolley, for passengers.
F. Colvig has resumed operations on his Rocky Gulch placer mine, near Galice.… The Yellow Horn, Leland, stamp mill will soon start up. Supplies are going in and work will be pushed.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 8, 1900, page 576
Supt. W. D. O'Brien is pushing work on the Old Channel, at Six Mile; three giants are in operation.… C. H. Parks, operating the Golden Wedge, at Galice, reports a 5-foot ledge at a depth of 100 feet; mine was formerly known as the Hutchins-Kramer.… The Rocky Gulch placer has suspended operations temporarily on account of scarcity of water.… Reed & Larrabee of Helena, Mont., are pushing work on their quartz property on Forest Creek, near Galice; a mill may be put in soon.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 22, 1900, page 600
JACKSON COUNTY.A new mill is going up at Gold Hill.
Five additional stamps are going in at the Oregon & Montreal M. Co.'s mill at Ashland.
The 10-stamp mill at the Braden, at Jacksonville, is running steadily.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.Two veins of ore — one high grade and the other low grade — are reported opened up on the Greenback, in Grave Creek district. The Gold Standard M. Co., capital $4000, is incorporated at Grants Pass.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 5, 1901, page 10
Ore is being taken out at the Copper Stain at Leland.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 12, 1901, page 43
The Old Channel Co. will operate three giants near Jacksonville.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 19, 1901, page 55
SOUTHERN OREGON'S GOLD MINES
ASHLAND, Or., Jan. 21.--(Special Correspondence.)--The old pocket districts and placer grounds in Southern Oregon are looked upon with growing favor by experienced miners who have come into the country, as likely ground in which to develop valuable lode properties. A good type of such a region is the old Blackwell district, three miles south of Gold Hill, where in past years many pocket holes have been made and much money taken out. Here about 40 men are at work, and their explorations have already disclosed that there are precious metal deposits there in continuous veins, to which the pockets, or old pocket holes, are deemed tracers by the few who have theories as to the genesis of gold pockets and who have studied the peculiar conditions under which they occur. In this district you can find a miner, experienced and intelligent, who will tell you if the pocket is likely close to the vein, or if it is a "throw" from a distance, and that in the latter case, when you have dug out the "pocket" money, you had better abandon that particular ground.
Working upon theories founded upon a limited knowledge of mineralogy and geology, of which they make good use, and the experience of years in mining for gold, some of these miners have planned their work to uncover mines here on a rational basis, and the result is some apparently good properties, one of which is likely to prove a good copper mine. The most important discovery is that on the "Soldier Blue," or better known as the Ross claim, one and a quarter miles from Tolo station. Below this mine the gulch was once worked as a placer.
A number of holes were sunk on the ledge in the hill above by pocket hunters, and in that sunk by Ross, which was about 50 feet deep, he got out $1300 from seven tons of ore. Deeming it a pocket, Ross did no more thereafter on the claim than the necessary work to hold it, and the property was practically abandoned for four years, when J. J. Houck and G. L. Half bought it for a few hundred dollars. Mr. Half, who has had extensive experience in mining, both for gold and copper, in Colorado and Montana, was interested in the cropping of a ledge perpendicular to that on which was the Ross shaft, which was capped with limonite, and appeared to make a prospect for a copper mine. He therefore went down on the Ross ledge in the old shaft. At a depth of 60 feet he struck the intersecting ledge, which proved to be an eight-foot vein, well defined and carrying copper and iron sulphides heavily, valued at $23 copper and $22 gold per ton. Its strike is 45 degrees east. The copper ore carries much rock which is very hard.
The copper ore, being so uniformly diffused through the rock, is regarded as a very encouraging feature by those who are familiar with some of the big copper properties of Montana. The ore also assays about seven ounces of silver per ton. The shaft was sunk close on a contact of granite and slate. At a depth of 78 feet, a drift of 60 feet east has been made to develop the formation. The shaft is being carried down. While the ledge carries good values in gold, these men esteem the prospects for a big copper mine most. One-half mile southeast of the Half property, there is a tract of ground formerly owned by the Jackson County Land Association, which was mined extensively for pockets in past years. It is asserted that pay was found in every one of the old pocket holes remaining. In one of these holes $7000 was obtained, and at this point a tunnel is now being run, which is to be 700 feet long, and which, it is expected, will tap the ledges under the upper old pocket workings on the hill. The tunnel is completed for 200 feet. This is called the Johnson ledge, and the work is being done by J. Humason and some associates, residents of Portland. In one of the upper workings on the hill, Humason sunk down some 10 feet further, reaching a depth of about 60 feet, where he struck a vein eight to 14 inches thick, and eight feet of depth on this and 22 feet long yielded $2000. It is this and other veins the tunnel is expected to tap. This vein has a slate hanging wall and a rock the miners call syenite for a footwall. This syenite is black, fine-grained and a very hard rock. It is heavily impregnated with white iron sulphides.
The old Bowden mine is about three-quarters of a mile north of the Ross vein. The Bowden vein, which is in granite, was very small on the surface. In past years it has been worked irregularly, yielding some $5000, but only limited development was made. Its present owners have a 32-inch vein at a depth of 80 feet. There is some good ore in this mine, and it is esteemed one of the promising properties of the district.
The area known as the Tolo placers, in this district, has yielded in past years some $50,000, and the gold, which is coarse, is presumed to have come from the pockets of the character which have been mined, and mainly, it is supposed, from a ledge on which Mr. Smith, of the contracting firm of Smith & Hull, has a bond. Mr. Smith has contracted for a 150-foot tunnel on what is known as the porphyry dike, and another force of men will carry down the old shaft on the Fort Lane ledge. This old shaft hole, with a depth of 130 feet, yielded $11,000 in gold, and so the old pocket holes are being carried down to get below the surface disturbances which some miners think wrought a confusion of the veins and made the pockets. This Fort Lane ledge and the dike intersect some 500 feet from where the shaft is being sunk. There are some 60 acres of good placer gravel about Tolo, if water could be had to attack the beds with giants and a sluice for tailings were built to Rogue River, but there is no near prospect of getting the water. A Mr. Mears, a Utah man, has several claims in this district near the half claim and is doing considerable development work. On one ledge, in which the gold is wholly free, the shaft is down 75 feet, yielding some good ore. The other claims are of low-grade ores, but some of the ledges are large. In the Waldo district, James Lyttle has sold his copper claim for $15,000.
M. F. EGGLESTON.Oregonian, Portland, January 24, 1901, page 6
Operations at the Sterling, near Jacksonville, are resumed. A cleanup of eighteen days' crushing by the 15-stamp mill, operated by the Victor, Jr., Co.'s (Greenback) mine in Grave Creek district, produced $21,000. About 100 men are employed there.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 26, 1901, page 66
SOUTHERN OREGON.In the Ashland mine a full crew is being employed sinking on the main shaft and drifting on both sides sufficiently to develop the mine and block out the ore bodies, says the Valley Record. The shaft will soon attain the 700-foot level. Some very rich ore was tapped in a drift on the 600-foot level but it may be said that it did not surpass other strikes made in the lower levels of this mine within the past six months. There is no notable change as the shaft has gone down during the past month, the ledge holding out in good size of seven to eight feet in fine-milling ore carrying good values. The shipment of the assorted base ores, which are high-grade, to the smelters continues regularly, one car going out last week.
Byron N. White, accompanied by his family, were on Monday's train returning to Spokane from California. Mr. White and Geo. W. Barron are the principal owners in the Altan Mining Co., which owns the well-known Barron mine seven miles east of Ashland. He reports that they will begin development work on the mines as soon as the weather settles and becomes pleasant.--Valley Record.
A rich strike is reported to have been made on the Lucky Hill ledge, on Sardine Creek, says the Oregon Mining Journal. This mine is owned by J. G. Agner, who lately purchased the Lucky Bart mine in the Gold Hill district.
Ore from the Dixie Queen mine on Foots Creek, which goes $100 to the ton, owned by Fitzgibbon, of Gold Hill, is being milled at Houck's stamp mill.
Journal of the Northwest Mining Association, February 1901, page 150
JACKSON COUNTY.The Gold Hill M. Co. has resumed operations near Jacksonville. A recent cleanup at the Jillson, near Hornbrook, weighed nearly ninety pounds after melting.… The Rogue River M. & Lumber Co., W. R. Stansell manager, is working its mines at the head of Foots Creek, near Jacksonville.… G. L. Haff will put in a steam engine on his property in Blackwell district.
J. W. Opp is working the Gold Standard, west of Jacksonville.… The C.&C., in Jumpoff Joe district, is being operated by a Chicago company; supt. Davis.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.J. W. Parker, operating near Leland, will put in an electric plant.… The Fortune M. Co., capital $1,500,000, is incorporated at Grants Pass, to work property near the Greenback, near there.… A tunnel is being run on the Big Yank, near Galice.… Placering is going on around Grants Pass; prospects good for a continuance of work.… Work is progressing on the Yankee Boy, at Myrtle Creek.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 2, 1901, page 77
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.Piping is temporarily suspended at the Davis (hydraulic), in Jumpoff Joe district, near Grants Pass, owing to cold weather.
JACKSON COUNTY.The mill at the Ashland, near Ashland, is enlarged. Ten stamps are now dropping on ore from the Ashland.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 9, 1901, page 87
The Sugar Pine, in Galice Creek district, near Galice, is reported bonded to H. W. Kerchoff and E. W. Rattler.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 16, 1901, page 98
News of the Mines.
Work on the Yellow Jacket mine, in the Blackwell district, will soon be resumed.
Ore assaying $12 a ton has been reached on the Blackjack mine on Galice Creek.
Charles and Alfred Anderson have sold their Foots Creek quartz mine to Joseph McGee and Mr. Richards, of Portland.
Work on the Gold Standard mine, on Galls Creek, has been delayed for a while, owing to the deep snow, which interfered with active operations.
A strike of a fine body of ore in the Breeden mine is reported, which is said to be the best yet uncovered on that property. A good-sized crew is being employed on the property.
A rich strike has been made on the Lucky Hill ledge, on Sardine Creek. This mine is owned by J. G. Agner, who recently purchased the Lucky Bart mine in the Gold Hill district.
On most of the placer mines in the county work is being pushed to a good advantage, with prospects that a great deal of bedrock will be cleaned off. The recent rainfall and melting snow is very helpful to the miners, who have been bothered a great deal by the recent freezes.
The shaft in the Ashland mine will soon attain the 700-foot level. Some very rich ore was tapped in a drift on the 600-foot level. A full crew is being employed sinking on the main shaft and drifting on both sides sufficiently to develop the mine and block out the ore bodies.
It is reported that the Dixie Queen mine, on which there was some kind of an option, has been sold for a big price. Late developments in this mine have disclosed some exceptionally good rock. The owner is a Mr. Fitzgibbon, who recently came to this county. The Dixie Queen mine is located on Foots Creek.
Medford Mail, February 22, 1901, page 3
JACKSON COUNTY.A deal is under way whereby A. M. Lowry and others of New York may take over the Keystone and Champion claims on Jackson Creek, near Jacksonville. Should the deal go through, a 5-stamp mill will be put in.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.Two giants are running constantly at the Wimer & Reames placer mine, at Waldo.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 23, 1901, page 108
JACKSON COUNTY.Operations are in progress on the Dixie Queen, on Foots Creek, near Gold Hill.… McKee and others of Portland, who recently bought the Anderson, near Gold Hill, will begin work immediately; later they will put in a mill.… Work will be resumed on the Lost Cabin, near Gold Hill.… All giants on Foots Creek are running steadily under full heads.… There are five stamp mills running steadily within a radius of 8 miles of Gold Hill, which crush ores from about twenty-five mines in the same locality.… There are said to be 100 placer claims in operation near Gold Hill.… Operations are progressing on the Bill Nye, near Gold Hill. A new strike is reported made, the vein being about 3 feet wide and the pay streak about 10 inches in width along the hanging wall; the shaft is down 150 feet.… A company is incorporated to work the Klondike, on Ash Creek, near Hornbrook, Cal.; a mill will go in immediately, and operations at the mine will be pushed.… Hydraulic operations are resumed at mines on the Klamath River, near Hamburg, with the exception of the Siskiyou, which recently lost over a mile of ditch and fluming; supt. Sharpegger expects to resume about March 1st.… Work on the Opp, near Jacksonville, is progressing favorably. Preparations are under way to put new machinery in this spring.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.Work on the Golconda, on the Applegate River, near Provolt, 12 miles from Grants Pass, is under way under A. C. Tayler, Pres. Golconda M. Co. The drift on the 130-foot level is in 120 feet; the vein averages 2 feet in width, ore assaying $12 per ton. The major part of these values is in sulphurets, with a few dollars to the ton in free gold.… A recent cleanup at C. E. Wickstrom's claim, on Pleasant Creek, near Grants Pass, gave twenty ounces of gold.… The Mt. Fielder (quartz), near Woodville, is bonded to Olsen & Parsons of Seattle, Wash., for $4500; there is a 300-foot tunnel on the property.… The old Bennett (quartz), on upper Jumpoff Joe, is now being operated by M. Carter of Wimer.… Burns & Markham, operating the Burns & Markham, on Limpy Creek, near Grants Pass, have sunk a 54-foot shaft and are now crosscutting at that depth.… It is reported that an offer is made to put in a 200-ton smelter at Grants Pass, providing 200 tons of ore per day are guaranteed by mines near there.… Reports from Gold Hill state that a body of $1000 ore is opened up in the Lucky Bart, near there.… Work is in progress on the Moon, on Galice Creek, 25 miles from Grants Pass, owned by C. R. Ray of Gold Hill.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 2, 1901, page 118
JACKSON COUNTY.Purkeypile Bros. are pushing work on their property, near Gold Hill.… The Big Giant, on Sardine Creek, near Gold Hill, is sold to C. R. Ray, of same place.… A strike is reported made in the Crown Point, on Blackwell Hill, same district, operated by Shaffer & Herbert.
One hundred and eighty acres of land, a 5-stamp mill, water rights, etc., near Jacksonville are sold to J. W. Opp of Jacksonville for $25,000. Mr. Opp also has an option on the Gold Standard, adjoining, upon which is a 10-stamp mill and a 500-foot tunnel. Mr. Opp will build a $100,000 reduction plant on the Gold Standard and expects to have it in operation by July 1. The plant will include crushing rolls, concentrators and a cyanide department.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.Work is in progress on the Bone of Contention, near Williams… Schrimpf Bros., operating near Provolt, recently took out $400 worth of gold from a pocket in their mine.… The Baby (quartz), in Jumpoff Joe district, is bonded to Rice, Myers & Smith for one year for $1500. Work is in progress, the lower tunnel now being extended to cut the pay chute at greater depth. The ledge runs from 1 to 3 feet in width.… Sharp Bros., owning the Challenge and Midnight (formerly the Kiessling) mines, on the Applegate River, near Provolt, are driving a 400-foot tunnel on the Midnight. Operations on the Challenge are temporarily suspended.… Operations are now being pushed on the Harmon Green (placer) at Galice; D. Green, supt.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 9, 1901, page 128
F. Mixton of Rock Island, Ill., has bought Shearer Bros.' placer mines, Steamboat district, for $6000.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 30, 1901, page 162
The Victor Jr. mine, C. W. Thompson supt., near Leland, is working sixty men. The vein, which varies from 1 inch to 9 feet, is in diorite and is opened by four crosscut tunnels, the lowest of which is down 271 feet on the ledge. From this tunnel a shaft is now down 100 feet. The hoisting plant set in the tunnel is operated by compressed air. The 15-stamp mill is working thirty tons of ore daily.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 6, 1901, page 173
The Klondike quartz mine, Grants Pass, has been bought by D. S. Rae of Montana, who will equip and operate the property. The Klondike is claimed to have ore 10 feet wide and milling $12 a ton.
Reports from Williams Creek say a rich strike has been made at the Oregon Bonanza, at a depth of 200 feet, giving values of $70 to $80 per ton in gold and 7% to 10% copper.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 13, 1901, page 183
A rich quartz find is reported on Josephine Creek, 3 miles from Kerby. The ledge so far uncovered is between 4 and 6 feet wide and is exposed in the steep banks of Josephine Creek. The whole face of the ledge is stated to be a network of gold seams. Six pounds of the rock pulverized and panned out yielded $56.… J. T. Hagan has put a whim at the shaft on Fort Lane ledge which is now down 110 feet, and proposes sinking 100 feet deeper. The last 55 feet of this shaft is said to have produced $80 a foot at $12 per foot cost for the work.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 20, 1901, page 194
JACKSON COUNTY.The Sterling Placer, Ashland, is running with a big cleanup in sight.… On Foots Creek Stansell & Co. have hydraulicked a large area; coarse gold and some nuggets are yielded by this mine. This company, having a timber tract at the mine, propose to put in a sawmill at Woodville, the nearest railroad town.… The Ashland mine has a hoisting and pumping plant on the 250-foot level and a full crew of men is employed. The base ore is shipped to the smelter. It is reported a recent shipment to the smelter from the Reader mine, in Ashland Creek Canyon, returned about $60 gold per ton.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.A strike has been made at the Mountain Lion quartz mine, Missouri Flat district, near Grants Pass. The mine is owned by L. L. Jewell, C. E. Harmon and G. and J. Bailey.
Hoffman & Pool, of Grants Pass, developing the Archer ledge, in Thompson Creek district, near Grants Pass, have taken out of ten tons of ore $600.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 27, 1901, page 205
The Mountain Lion mill, situated in Missouri Flat district, has been started and is crushing ore from the vein recently discovered.
W. P. Gilkeson and J. Lewis of Seattle bought J. W. Thomason's quartz claims, near Placer. Men have been put to work on the mine, which so far as developed shows a 2-foot vein of good ore.
It is reported that a rich strike has been made in the Roaring Gimlet mine, owned by Houck & Mitchell, at Gold Hill. The property is being worked under a bond by parties who, it is said, have already taken out several thousand dollars.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 4, 1901, page 215
At the Braden mine, Gold Hill, lumber is being delivered for an additional five stamps to be added to the 10-stamp mill, and concentrators have been ordered. Ultimately a 60-ton per day capacity cyanide plant will be put on. C. Ray is manager.
The sale of the J. W. Thomason quartz mine, near Placer, to J. Lewis and W. P. Gilkeson of Seattle is announced. They will put men at work to continue development.
It is reported that the smelter on the Strong group, near Waldo, is to be started soon, and that 100 men will be employed. All the supplies for the works are on the ground. The owner of this group is T. W. M. Draper of San Francisco.
The Granite Hill mine, near Grants Pass, is owned by J. O. Booth and C. L. Mangum. The vein is in granite and the ore free milling. There is considerable development, consisting of 250 feet of tunnel on the ledge, a shaft down 160 feet, and a 5-stamp mill.
Operations have been resumed at the Eureka mine at Selma. A. T. Nelson is superintendent.
The "Roaring Gimlet" quartz mine is located near Gold Hill and is operated by Sanburn, Sutton & Rease. The ore taken out is said to be full of gold.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 11, 1901, page 225
Houck & Haff have bonded the Bowden ledge at Gold Hill and contemplate immediately putting up a hoist and sinking the main shaft to a greater depth.
It is reported that the Copper Stain, at Mount Reuben, is soon to be operated on a larger scale. Supt. J. E. Hutson says that an average of 50 feet per month in the tunnel has been made since February.
The Wimer Bros. & Co. mine, near Waldo, is now owned by the Deep Gravel M. Co., of which W. J. and G. W. Wimer are managers.
A large amount of development work is reported to have been done on Kubli Bros.' Gold Standard mine, on Galls Creek, during the past few months. There are now about 4000 feet of tunneling and a depth of 300 feet has been reached.
J. S. Pool, owner with G. Hoffman of a quartz mine in the Applegate district, has sold his interest to F. Bolt of Gold Hill.
H. A. Corliss, Pres. Dry Diggings M. Co., has cleaned up the season's run. A thirty-five-day run yielded $4000, or about $115 per day with one giant.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 25, 1901, page 245
JACKSON COUNTY.Considerable prospecting is being done near Ashland for quicksilver. A number of prospects too poor in mineral to pay have been found and one prospect on Little Applegate Creek on which a Montana company is drifting on a ledge that will pay.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.It is reported that C. R. Ray of Gold Hill has bought the Roaring Gimlet mine, near that place, for $10,000 cash, after the owners had taken out about that sum from ten days' work in a pocket.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 8, 1901, page 265
W. H. Dana, of the Copper Stain mine on Mt. Reuben, near Grants Pass, says a number of men are engaged in sinking on the vein in this mine.
W. Kramer of Galice Creek took $700 gold from a fifteen days' run with an arrastra in his quartz mine.
C. B. Beardsley of Chicago, of the Old Channel M. Co., is at Galice, where the company is engaged in making the final cleanup for the season. The mine this year has been worked on a more extensive scale than ever before.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 15, 1901, page 276
N. B. Meade is engaged in development work in his mine on Jones Creek. A 100-foot tunnel cuts the ledge, showing 5 feet of good ore.
Henderson & Scribner's mine, in the Wolf Creek district, has produced $10,000 by primitive methods in a few months. The gold is found in a vein of porphyry and decomposed quartz.
The Granite Hill Con. mines, near Grants Pass, have been bonded to J. L. Wiggins of Minneapolis at $75,000. The first payment is due Sept. 1, the remaining payments at intervals of three months. The property consists of placer and quartz workings. The placer grounds are a red gravel, easily worked and rich in gold. The quartz claims are equipped with a 5-stamp mill and other improvements. Development work will be done during the summer.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 22, 1901, page 288
JACKSON COUNTY.It is stated that the Treasure mine, at Blue River, bonded by J. Downer to Fisher & Chapman, and rebonded by them to C. H. Park, has been bought by the latter. Mr. Park is blocking out ore in the mine, and it is expected a mill will be built next season.
The Uncle Sam M. Co. has let the contract for a 5-stamp quartz mill and saw mill, to be erected immediately near Gold Hill.
The Lone Star placer mine on Pleasant Creek, C. E. Wickstrom, Jackson, owner, cleared up for the winter's run $2400.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The Granite Hill Con. mines, on Louse Creek, near Grants Pass, have been bonded to J. L. Wiggings of Minneapolis, for $75,000, by Booth, Mangun et al. The first payment is due September 1. This is a placer and quartz mine combined, the placer having been worked for several years, while the quartz mine has a 5-stamp mill on it.
Dr. C. R. Ray, of Gold Hill, has bonded from G. Bolt the Sugar Pine quartz mine in Galice Creek district, and has men at work doing development work.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 29, 1901, page 299
JACKSON COUNTY.R. L. Cooper, of Crescent City, Cal., one of the owners of the Blue Ledge Co.'s mine on Joe Creek, says in regard to the mine that the tunnel is in about 168 feet, and they have 300 tons of ore on the dump.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.J. S. Howard has completed the survey of the proposed ditch of the Ray M., I. & P. Co., at Gold Hill. The ditch will take water from Rogue River, 3 miles above Gold Hill, and carry it to an elevation of 58 feet above that stream at Gold Hill. With this fall it is intended to raise some of the water 75 feet higher to make it available for working placer ground. It is proposed to operate an electric plant and develop 4300 H.P. Dr. Ray will be superintendent.
The Old Channel M. Co., Gold Hill, has sold its property to J. R. Harvey and C. B. Beardsley, who have been operating it under a bond for about a year. The sale price is stated to be $90,000.
Stewart & Banfield, of Grants Pass, have discovered and are opening up near Althouse a quartz vein of great richness. From a shaft 20 feet down on the ledge they have mortared out from $25 to $100 per day in coarse gold.
H. Luethy, at Althouse, has sunk a shaft and has a 1-stamp mill grinding out from $30 to $100 daily. A recent cleanup was $2300.
A new ledge, rich in free gold, has been discovered at Placer, and is being developed by Browning & Son, who operate a 3-stamp mill in Placer connected with the Yellow Horn mine.
The equipment for the Rising Star mine in the Applegate district, near Grants Pass, consisting of five stamps to be added to the battery of ten already in operation, air drills, pumps, concentrators, engines and additional boilers, is being installed.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 13, 1901, page 19
C. R. Ray of Gold Hill has temporarily shut down all work on the Braden mine and several other prospecting enterprises in and about Gold Hill.
H. W. Kircheff has bought the Arnett placer on Biggs Creek and will put on a hydraulic plant. The claims have been worked by ground sluicing.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 20, 1901, page 29
The Horseshoe ledge on Foots Creek is owned by Ward, Wiggins & Silsby of Grants Pass. The vein carries gold values running $50 to the ton free milling. A new stamp mill is being put on the mine.
The mine of Fitzgibbon & Son on Foots Creek has been bought by Y. T. Blake of San Francisco, who is arranging for its further development.
The Copper Stain mine in Mt. Reuben district is owned by J. H. Wetherell & Co. of Grants Pass. The ore has an assay value of $20 to $35 per ton, mostly in sulphurets. The rock, besides gold, carries copper and silver.
The Fortune M. Co. has been incorporated, with headquarters at Grants Pass. The capital is $50,000. O. S. Goodnow, J. Ward and J. L. Wiggins are the incorporators.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 27, 1901, page 39
A. Watts, owner of the Watts placer mine, on Williams Creek, near Grants Pass, states that the cleanup for the season was over $1000 for each man employed. The mine has been worked for thirty years.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 3, 1901, page 50
Winningham & Van Gorder of Forest Creek, near Grants Pass, are running a tunnel to tap their ledge 165 feet down and are now in 205 feet.
G. Garrett and F. Bachman of Gold Hill have bought the placer claims of Prof. Barnhart on Applegate Creek.
G. E. Morse of San Francisco, manager of the Swayne M. Co., while in Jacksonville lately, made arrangements for the early starting of work on the ground which they have bonded of P. F. Swayne of Applegate.
D. S. Rae of the Klondike mine, on Louse Creek, near Grants Pass, reports that in sinking from the upper tunnel of the mine a rich chute, from 2 to 4 feet in width, was struck at a depth of 60 feet.
A new placer mine is to be operated near Waldo by F. H. Osgood of Seattle, Wash., who has bought a large area of placer ground.
Stamps, concentrators, drills and other machinery are being installed at the Golden Wedge mine, on Rogue River, near Grants Pass. This mine was for several years worked with an arrastra.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 10, 1901, pages 59-60
JACKSON COUNTY.An English company, represented by Wm. Bailey of Palmer Creek, has bonded a portion of Missouri Flat, near Jacksonville, with the intention of working it as a big placer proposition.
G. L. Davis, J. B. Dent and E. Bebler have incorporated the Rogue River Quicksilver M. Co., to operate quicksilver mines in Jackson County. Its capital stock is $250,000 and place of business Medford.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The old quicksilver mines near Cinnabar, south of Grants Pass, have been bonded by I. Humason and H. Cowgill, who propose to operate the mines.
At the Mountain Lion, near Grants Pass, another pay streak of very rich rock has been found. The Baby mine, on Jumpoff Joe, is producing ore which goes $50 to the ton. A 2-stamp mill has just been erected on this property. The Exchequer and Rising Sun mines on Applegate River have been equipped with a new hoisting engine.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 17, 1901, page 71
The Fortune M. Co. has been incorporated, capital $50,000, by O. S. Goodnow, J. Ward and J. L. Wiggins. The company is developing a number of quartz properties in Southern Oregon, among them the Horseshoe mine on Foots Creek, near Grants Pass, where a 5-stamp mill is now being constructed.
J. R. Harvey of Grants Pass, manager of the Old Channel hydraulic mines, in the Galice Creek district, states that preparations are being made for a big run this coming winter. The mines were recently bought by Eastern people for $90,000.
Reports from the Mountain Lion mine, on Applegate River, near Grants Pass, say the ledge--all mill rock--is from 4 to 5 feet wide, and the rich pay streak from 3 to 18 inches. The tunnel is now in about 800 feet. The owners are Jewell, Harmon & Bailey Bros.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 24, 1901, page 82
JACKSON COUNTY.From the two upper levels of the Dixie Queen mine, near Gold Hill, ore is being milled that averages $100 to the ton. This rock was not from the stopes, but was that taken out in opening the tunnels. J. Fitzgibbon, the owner, is having a third and lower tunnel run to cut the ledge 400 feet down.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The Scribner-Henderson gold mine, on Wolf Creek, near Grants Pass, is worked by panning entirely. The gold is found in seams and stringers of decomposed quartz in porphyry at a serpentine contact. The rock, crushed in a hand mortar, pans from 25 cents to $100 a pan, and in the nine months of operation a very large sum has been recovered.
The rich strike in the Ramsey mine, Mt. Reuben district, near Grants Pass, is said to be proving richer than was at first anticipated. The ledge was tapped by a 60-foot tunnel, and at the point where the tunnel cut the ledge, a 5-foot vein showing free gold through the whole ledge has been opened up. The Ramsey mine was lately bought of J. Ramsey by J. C. Lewis and R. Jones.
J. R. Harvey, manager of the A.&B. mine and Old Channel mines, near Grants Pass, is having the mines put in shape for next season's operations. At the first-named mine about thirty men are employed.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 31, 1901, page 93
G. Cottrell, who discovered what was supposed to be a ledge of coal in Section 4, Township 38 S., Range 2 E., three years ago, is doing development work, associated with H. W. Jackson and C. W. Baker of Ashland, and the discovery now proves to be asphaltum, the outcroppings of which have become hard and brittle by oxidation. This deposit is about 400 feet long, 60 feet wide, and dips east between beds of sandstone and shale.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 7, 1901, page 103
JACKSON COUNTY.Miller & McDonald, who have bonded the Cox & Lyman ledge, situated near Gold Hill, have made another rich strike, and a large amount of gold has already been taken out.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The Lucky Cuss mine of the Williams Creek district, near Grants Pass, has been bonded by McCann & Strickland. The new company proposes to work the mine on a larger scale than heretofore.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 14, 1901, page 114
The main shaft on the Ashland ledge, at Ashland, is now down 765 feet. Drifting on both sides of the shaft at the 700-foot level is being done. At this depth the ledge averages about 7 feet in thickness, and is free-milling ore, with values much above the average. Stoping is being done from the 400-foot level down, 'The company contemplates putting in an air plant and introducing machine drills. At present steam is used to operate the mine, the machinery being located in a chamber on the 250-foot level, which is at the junction of the big east tunnel with the main shaft. Thirty men are employed. The company has a mill, provided with four concentrators, for which exceptionally good work is claimed. The supt. reports that since the improvements in the mill were made the tailings average in value only 63 cents per ton.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 21, 1901, page 125
Oregon's First Mining Code.In 1851 the only mining district known to exist in Oregon was that of the Josephine district. Miners were flocking in from California on the south, and from the Willamette Valley and Vancouver on the north. They were congregating at the one gold-bearing locality known--that of Waldo and Althouse, in what is now western Josephine County. There were no existing mining laws in the Oregon Territory code, and accordingly on the first day of April, 1852, on the bank of Canyon Creek, a tributary of Rogue River, forty miners assembled beneath a large fir tree and drafted and adopted the first mining code of the Northwest. The text of the code as adopted read as follows:
Know all men by these presents: That the miners, in council assembled, on this, the first day of April, 1852, do ordain and adopt the following rules and regulations to govern this camp:
Resolved, That 50 cubic yards shall constitute a claim in the bed of the creek, extending to high water on each side.
Resolved, That 40 feet shall constitute a bank or bar claim on the face extending back to the hill or the mountain.
Resolved, That all claims not worked, when workable, alter five days, be forfeited or jumpable.
Resolved, That all disputes arising from mining claims shall be settled by arbitration, and the decision shall be final.
Attest: E. J. NORTHCUTT, Chairman.Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 28, 1901, page 132
Returns received from the smelter for a shipment of ore made from the Ray mine, near Gold Hill, show assay values $49.30 silver and $7856 gold to the ton. The mine is owned by E. Ray, who took out $4000 three years ago at a depth of about 150 feet. He leased it to G. H. McDonald and J. Miller of Gold Hill, who continued sinking, and at 175 feet found the rich rock of the shipment mentioned. The lessees also hold an option for its purchase at $4500.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 28, 1901, page 137
JACKSON COUNTY.The Rogue River Q.M. Co. of Medford have five cinnabar claims in Meadows district. A shaft sunk about 10 feet on what was supposed to be a "crossing" on the Mayfield claim has developed a very rich "chimney" of ore, the rock being quite a pure cinnabar. The company claims to have taken $4000 worth of ore from this 10-foot hole, and has about 2 feet of ore of remarkably high grade to sink on.
The Shorty Hope M.&M. Co. of Jacksonville has been incorporated with capital stock $1,000,000, to engage in a general mining and milling business, by H. S. Sanford, D. F. Fox and E. A. Sherwin, all of Ashland.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The sale of the Golden Standard mine, on Galls Creek, by K. K. Kubli, H. D. Kubli, Mrs. E. J. Kubli of Jacksonville and E. B. Watson of Portland to E. W. Forbes & Co. of Seattle, Wash., has been made for $37,500. The new owners propose to erect a new stamp mill on the property at once.
The Hull & Beck placer mines and a quartz claim on Louse Creek have been sold to J. O. Booth of Grants Pass for $9000. The mine is said to have a well-equipped plant with water for an eight months' run and has been operated since 1888.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 5, 1901, page 147
Davidson Bros. of Jacksonville have sold a quartz claim, situated near the head of Wards Creek, to O'Neill, Meade, Landreth and Shoup of Baker City for $3000. This property was discovered and sold by the Davidsons inside of a month.
D. J. S. Pearce & Son of Jacksonville have bonded the Access mine, in Poormans Creek district, to R. Bond for $10,000. This ledge is several feet wide, with ore which assays from $3.75 to $9 in gold per ton.
G. Hoffman and F. J. Bolt of Jacksonville have had several tons of ore from their ledge on Tallowbox Mountain worked in an arrastra, obtaining $50 a ton.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 12, 1901, page 157
The McKay mine is situated at an altitude of from 4300 to 5100 feet, in the Siskiyou Mountains, the boundary line of Oregon and California running through it. It was discovered three years ago and is now owned by W. H. Hamilton, S. H. McVey, L. F. Cooper and B. G. Adams of Crescent City, Del Norte County, Cal. It is located at the head of Joe Creek, a tributary of Elliott Creek. During the past summer a large lens of sulphide ore was uncovered at this mine.
Morris & Hosler have sold their half interest in the Powell Creek placer mine, near Grants Pass, to I. N. Haley of Philadelphia. Sharpe Bros. retain their interest. The mine will be worked on an extensive scale this season.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 19, 1901, page 167
JACKSON COUNTY.At the Ashland mine, at Ashland, the double-compartment shaft is down 770 feet and sinking on the ledge continues. The ledge, it is said, holds its size of 7 to 8 feet in thickness, and there is no diminution of the ore. Drifting is being done at the 700-foot level, and ore is being stoped at all the levels. The gold now runs about $14.50 per ounce, the reduced value being due to the presence of silver.
The Rock Bowers' placer mine near Gold Hill has been sold to J. H. Bagley of Marshall County, Iowa. Mr. Bagley has secured options on other placer properties in that vicinity and bought water rights to provide water for continuous work. He will install two hydraulic giants and a complete plant.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.Manager St. John of the Rising Star, near Grants Pass, is arranging to add five stamps to the mill of his mine.
The Gold King ledge, a new proposition, near Grants Pass, has been sold by E. M. Mead to a Mr. Burk of San Francisco for, it is reported, $13,000. The ledge was prospected by an 180-foot tunnel, exposing a 4-foot vein of free-milling ore. Mr. Burk will put in a 10-stamp mill at once.
The Sunbeam mine, near Grants Pass, has been bonded to S. R. Burke of Tacoma, Wash., at $11,500 for nine months. The mine has considerable development, there being a shaft 140 feet deep and a tunnel 70 feet long. Work will be begun at once upon the tunnel.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 26, 1901, page 178
JACKSON COUNTY.Reed & Fletcher, at Meadows district, near Jacksonville, have sunk a shaft 112 feet and cut a vein 11 feet in width which runs well in cinnabar.… The Rogue River Quicksilver M. Co. has men at work sacking ore, which is growing richer with depth.… Hammersley & Chisholm are steadily working on their claims, as are also Chapman & Co.
F. Kauster, who has been working his quartz claims on Foots Creek, near Ashland, is having a crushing made at the custom mill at the latter place. The ore shows coarse gold.
J. H. Bagley has bought the Noah Bowers group of eight placer claims on Wards Creek from J. Wimer & Co. W. A. Corthell of Ashland, H. Perkins of Central Point and T. Olsen of Gold Hill are interested with Bagley. The new owners will operate on a more extensive scale.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.W. F. McNeil's mine on the Chetco River, 10 miles from Kerby, is equipped with a hydraulic plant. The gold obtained is nearly all coarse, heavy, smooth channel gold, though some rough gold is obtained.
A rich body of ore is reported uncovered at the Baby quartz mine, in Jumpoff Joe district. A 26-inch vein has been cut 80 feet in from the surface. The mine is operated by Meyers, Rice & Smith of Grants Pass.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 2, 1901, page 187
JACKSON COUNTY.H. A. Corliss has sold his placer mines in Dry Diggings district, near Gold Hill, to a Chicago company represented by C. W. Ament for, it is reported, $20,000. Mr. Corliss is superintendent.
The Williamsburg M. Co. of Grants Pass has been incorporated, capital $500,000, by F. E. Forbes, T. J. McClung, Robert G. Smith and L. A. Heberlie.
J. N. Hayes has rented his Sardine Creek placer mines, near Jacksonville, to Medford people and is developing a quartz ledge, near Gold Hill, 5 feet wide, which 50 feet down assays $24.08 copper and $23.44 gold per ton.
Reed & Fletcher of Gold Hill, while developing one of their cinnabar claims in Meadows district, it is said, have cut through a 20-inch vein of good coal. The bed lies at a depth of 112 feet.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.B. F. Walker of Yreka, Cal., superintendent of a hydraulic mine at Althouse, says he is ready at the mine for the water to start operations.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 9, 1901, page 197
Hydraulicking in Oregon.
A correspondent of the Mining and Engineering Review, who has just returned from an inspection of the mining country in Southern Oregon, writes that there are scores of hydraulic mines in the southern portion of Josephine County that have abundant water to run four or five months each year. The working grounds consist of a loose gray and red gravel, lying from twenty to seventy-five feet on the bedrock and rich in coarse gold. The cost of working a mine, after a mine is equipped in that district, is estimated at 5 cents per cubic yard.
San Francisco Call, November 10, 1901, page 25
JACKSON COUNTY.The Gold Chloride mine still holds its value in the ore. The depth in the main tunnel is 50 feet, with 3 feet of milling ore. Mears, Landreth & Co. of Gold Hill, the owners, have opened up the vein in four different places and have found it as wide and rich as in the main tunnel. Eleven tons lately netted $30 per ton.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The Lyttle copper mine, near Waldo, has been bought by Capt. Draper, manager of the Waldo copper mine. The ledge is 22 feet in width and 300 feet of tunneling has been done on the property.
The Williamsburg M. Co. has been incorporated, capital $500,000, by F. E. Forbes, T. J. McClum, R. G. Smith and L. A. Heberle of Grants Pass.
The Dry Diggings hydraulic mines, near Grants Pass, have been sold by H. A. Corliss to C. W. Ament of Chicago for $25,000.
The Lyttle copper mines, near Waldo, have been sold by J. Lyttle to T. W. M. Draper of San Francisco, the owner of the Waldo copper mines and smelter, in the same district. The price paid was $15,000.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 16, 1901, page 209
JACKSON COUNTY.W. H. Maultby and A. Gilson, who have been prospecting at the head of Sterling Creek, back of Ashland, have struck an old channel, which promises to be quite rich. A considerable body of gravel that prospects well is already in sight.
The machinery at the Exchequer mine, in Applegate district, south of Jacksonville, has been moved to the Rising Star mine by G. St. John, the supt. of both properties.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The opening up in the Silver Creek basin of auriferous gravel, by the running of a tunnel under Silver Creek Falls, is to be undertaken. About 100 feet of tunnel have been run. When opened, the dump for tailings is unequaled and mining grounds of great extent. The portion of the basin to be opened up by the tunnel is owned by Ferren & Thoss, but is under bond to Mettis & Leigh, Colorado men, who have the work in charge.
The Big Yank ledge, in the Galice district, near Grants Pass, is being developed by the Big Yank M. Co. of Portland. A 100-foot tunnel has been run in, crosscutting the ledge, and drifts have been run 50 feet each way. The ore is running $25 to $30 per ton.
At the lately discovered copper mines on Little Grayback, near Kirby, fifty claims have been taken up. The greater number are being developed. In some of the older claims tunnels have been run to a depth of 50 and 75 feet, or shafts have been put down to this depth. The ledges exposed show widths ranging from 10 to 150 feet, carrying copper values of from 5% to 30%.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 23, 1901, page 223
JACKSON COUNTY.A body of high-grade ore has been uncovered at a depth of 200 feet in the Nighthawk mine, near Jacksonville. The pay chute has a width of 12 inches. Eighty tons that milled $75 per ton have been removed from the strike. The Nighthawk is a new proposition.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.Several Foots Creek placer mines have been sold to a Seattle company, of which N. H. Latimer is the head. The transfer includes the Lance group of claims at $35,000 and water rights, also the J. W. Short claims, adjoining, at $4800, and it is stated that the syndicate has options on several other placer properties in that district. It is said that this syndicate proposes to buy the entire mining acreage down to the forks of the creek.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 30, 1901, page 237
JACKSON COUNTY.The 10-stamp mill of the Ashland mine at Ashland, operated by the Montreal & Oregon G.M. Co. (Limited), is crushing from twenty-five to thirty tons of ore daily with satisfactory returns. Drifting is now being done on both ways from the shaft on the 800-foot level.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.J. W. Opp, who is operating the Golden Standard mine in Jackson Creek district, under bond, has five men getting out ore. The mill is being operated by McDonald & Meier. A test of 500 tons of ore is being made.
The Stalker hydraulic mines, situated at Althouse, have been sold by J. K. Stalker to A. Clemens of Philadelphia for $4000, cash down.
The Spence-Cass copper mines, near Waldo, have been bonded by R. B. Whiteside of Duluth, Minn., at $100,000, on long time, allowing for the complete development of the property. These mines consist of two groups of claims and are situated on Houck Mountain. The veins are wide and carry values in copper and some gold. Mr. Whiteside is running two tunnels to crosscut the ledges.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 7, 1901, page 251
After a closedown for several months the Ida quartz mine, near Grants Pass, has been started. Two tunnels have been run to the ledge, which is from 12 inches to 4 feet wide. The values are carried in both free gold and sulphurets and range from $12 to $25 per ton.
The Gipsy Queen mine at Althouse is a quartz proposition, owned by H. Luethy. The gold comes from a small stringer which has proven very rich. Recently $2300 was taken from a length of the vein of 23 feet, worked 2 to 4 feet deep from the surface.
The owners of the Copper Stain mine in the Mount Reuben district, north of Grants Pass, have concluded to install a 10-stamp mill and other machinery. J. A. Connelly of Springfield, O., one of the principal owners, who has just returned from a visit to the mine, reports that a wagon road will be built to take the new machinery in.
T. W. M. Draper of San Francisco, owner of the Waldo copper mines, states that as soon as the new roads and other improvements are completed about the mines he will put 200 men to work taking out ore, and the smelter will be started.
The Granite Hill group of Louse Creek, north of Grants Pass, has been bought by Booth Bros. & Mangum and W. J. Morphy of Chicago, Ill., and M. A. Lathrop of Brighton, Mass. The price paid was $75,000, part down. The mine has both placer and quartz lodes. The latter are under development, but the placer has been worked for many years past, producing annually from $10,000 to $20,000. The claims are equipped with several miles of ditches and flumes and two giants.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 14, 1901, pages 263-264
JACKSON COUNTY.The Braden quartz mines, near Gold Hill, which have been closed down, will resume operations soon, it is reported. Ray Bros. of New York are the owners and managers of the Braden properties.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.G. W. Johnson of Portland has bonded the Legal Tender mine in the South Myrtle Creek district, near Grants Pass, and is developing the property.
At the Cass copper mine, near Waldo, recently bonded by R. B. Whiteside of Duluth, Minn., at $100,000, an 8-foot ledge carrying copper values of 15% to 60% is reported to have been struck 200 feet in on the upper tunnel. A large force of men is employed at the mine.
A large quartz ledge, carrying values in both free gold and sulphurets, has been discovered in the Dry Diggings district, 5 miles east of Grants Pass, by H. C. Perkins and A. J. Pike. The ledge is exposed where cut across by Rogue River and in the bedrocks of the Dry Diggings hydraulic mines. Assays intended to be of average rock gave $2.50 free gold and $3.10 sulphurets per ton. The ledge is easily accessible for large work, lying in such a position that the rock could be quarried out in quantity.
The Dry Diggings hydraulic mines, near Grants Pass, have been sold by H. A. Corliss to C. H. and A. H. Ament of Chicago for $25,000. These placers have been worked for the past thirty-five years. The new owners propose to improve, repair and add to the general equipment of the mine. The widening and deepening of the ditches that bring the water supply has already begun.
The Pearl M. Co. of Elk Creek, near Grants Pass, is preparing to run its quartz mill.
At the South Myrtle gold quartz mines, near Grants Pass, a new strike of 5½ feet ore of high grade is reported in the Continental claim.
G. W. Johnson of Portland has started work on the Oatman & Robinson claims near Grants Pass.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 21, 1901, pages 277-278
JACKSON COUNTY.J. B. Scott & Co., who have been developing a quartz mine in Humbug district, near Jacksonville, for several years past, have let a contract for running a 500-foot crosscut tunnel to S. T. Sandry.
A number of farms and mines on Missouri Flat, near Jacksonville, aggregating about 2000 acres, have been bonded to Chicago, Ill., and London people, who propose to bring water in from Applegate Creek to mine the ground.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The Victory M. Co. has sold its mine on Cow Creek, near Grants Pass, to the Oregon Con. M. Co. for, it is reported, $25,000. Interested in the new company are T. Carroll of Tacoma, Wash., W. J. Morphy of Chicago, Ill., G. A. Cole of Missouri and F. Eidomuller, D. Phelps, F. H. Miller and A. N. Mills of Oregon. The property includes the Victory hydraulic mine, with a 3½-mile ditch.
Three new quartz ledges have been discovered in Josephine County of late. One was in the Coyote Creek district, northern Josephine, where R. Huysink, a miner, has uncovered a 4-foot ledge that gives average assay values of $18 per ton. Two other strikes have been made by W. E. Markham and C. W. Gerboth on Rogue River, 14 miles below Grants Pass. One ledge has a width of 4 feet, carrying average values of $18 per ton, and the other a width of 1 foot, carrying an average value of $20 per ton.
A rich ledge has been uncovered on Tip Top Mountain, of the China Creek district, near Grants Pass. Mr. Jennings, of Grants Pass, has opened a 12-foot ledge at a depth of 120 feet in an open cut on the mountainside. Samples of rock gathered from the strike, he claims, show $96 per ton.
A sampling of ore from the Mammoth quartz ledge recently discovered in the Dry Diggings district, near Grants Pass, by Pike & Perkins, shows, it is said, from $2.44 to $6.96 per ton, sulphurets and free gold. This gives an average assay value of $4.74 per ton, of which $2.38 is free gold. The ledge is claimed to be from 200 to 250 feet wide. The discoverers have a force of men at work developing.
The Osgood hydraulic mines at Waldo, developed by F. H. Osgood of Seattle, have begun operations for the winter, using three giants both night and day.
The Angel placer mines, situated in the Upper Galice Creek district, near Grants Pass, have been sold by Jackson & Call to W. Gebhart, of Idaho, and J. H. Rogers, of Michigan. The property is in course of development.
At the Baby quartz mine, in the Louse Creek district, near Grants Pass, the mill is said to be crushing rock that is averaging $25 per ton in free gold and sulphurets.
A new hydraulic mine has just been started up on Louse Creek, near Grants Pass, by Jefferson Bros.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 28, 1901, page 291
JACKSON COUNTY.The Pearl M. Co., which is composed of Central Point and Jacksonville people, has its mill installed and has commenced crushing. Elk Creek is a tributary of Rogue River, 45 miles from Jacksonville, and the quartz deposits which the district contains were supposed to be barren until someone had assays made of samples of the ore, when it was found to contain gold in paying quantities.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.In the Illinois River district all of the hydraulic mines now have a full pipe head of water and are running night and day. The Oak Flat hydraulic mines are being completely overhauled and re-equipped with new piping, new giants, deeper and wider ditches, and a new plant. The Wilson-Meredith hydraulic mines of the Illinois are running two 5-inch giants with a 350-foot pressure. A grizzly hydraulic elevator is operated in these mines to overcome a deficiency of natural dump.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 4, 1902, page 13
The quartz property recently located by Perkins & Pike In the Dry Diggings district is being found more extended and carrying larger values as it is further developed. Its width first stated at 200 feet has been found much greater. A shaft being sunk now down 10 feet opens ore which assays $9 per ton. A mill test of the lower grade rock gave returns of about $1.50 in gold, besides good values in concentrates. The ore is soft and can be mined and milled cheaply.
The Behrman property of the Meadows district, near Jacksonville, comprising 800 acres of cinnabar-bearing claims which has been under bond by English people for several months, it is reported, is to be bought by them for $400,000. They will put in an extensive working plant.
At the Mayfield cinnabar mine, in the Meadows district, near Jacksonville, a strike is reported made on the 200-foot level of a body of high-grade cinnabar. The Mayfield is one of the cinnabar claims of the Rogue River Quicksilver M. Co., which is operating in the Meadows. From a small hole 10 feet in depth and 4 feet across in the Mayfield $4000 worth of cinnabar was removed a short time since. The company has put in a complete modern roasting plant and equipment. Besides the claims of the Rogue River Quicksilver M. Co., there are a dozen or more other claims in the district being developed.
Shook & Stanley have started sinking on the ledge of the Deerhorn mine, near Jacksonville, from the level of their 90-foot tunnel. The ore carries gold, copper and silver. Much of it is free-milling gold ore, but the best of it is base.
The Beaver Creek M. Co., near Jacksonville, is extending the ditch from North Beaver Creek to their old placer ground, 3 miles below. Coleman & Starkey have the contract to construct this ditch at $2 per rod. It is to be 2 feet wide at bottom, 3 feet at the top and 18 inches deep. This illustrates about the average cost of running placer ditches in this region in ground comparatively free of rock.
G. F. Fendall has struck some good gravel on his mine on Grouse Creek, about 1 mile above Beaver. Thompson's upper claim and water right on Hungry Creek, near Coles, Cal., had been bought and a mill is to be built.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 11, 1902, page 27
Platinum in a paying quantity has been discovered in the Dry Diggings District, Jackson County, Or. The metal occurs in small grains or flakes. Many placer miners in Southern Oregon have found it in quantity in their sluices, but have thrown it away, being ignorant of its identity and value. Serpentine, the rock source of the platinum, is a predominant formation in Josephine County, more especially in western Josephine. All the streams draining this section are platinum producers.
Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 18, 1902, page 35
Smith Bros. have sold a half interest in the Baby mine, in the Jumpoff Joe district, near Grants Pass, to F. F. Hannum and W. S. Town. The other owners of the mine are A. L. Meyers and H. G. Rice. A cleanup of thirty ounces has been made from eight days' run with a 2-stamp mill.
W. H. Dana, manager of the Copper Stain mine, on Mt. Reuben, near Grants Pass, states development work is being continued, and it is the intention to put on a 10-stamp mill next spring. A wagon road to the mine will be one of the first improvements made.
The copper property on Little Pickett Creek, near Grants Pass, owned by H. E. Booth and R. E. Barrickman of Merlin, is being opened by a tunnel. The ledge is about 12 feet wide and carries values in gold as well as copper.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 18, 1902, page 41
Oregon Mines.Mining in Oregon has made a substantial permanent advance during the year 1901. The districts already well established, with Baker City, Sumpter and Granite as centers, increased their gold yield, and proved such an extent of new ground that a continuation of the increase of output can be looked for during the current year. Other districts just as well known, but from which less was expected, have made even greater relative advances. Josephine and Jackson counties, with Grants Pass and Jacksonville as centers of development, have made notable advances toward the same permanent establishment of the gold mining industry that the first noted districts have already obtained. In these two counties, the first in which gold was discovered in Oregon, development has lagged by reason of the belief that gold values were entirely in shallow placers which were largely worked out. An increase of placer gold output during 1901 shows that this last supposition is not well founded. The notable feature of the late development is the extended working of the quartz ledges. Many new discoveries have been made, some of them appearing to be of very considerable magnitude. The little quartz mining of former years was largely a scratching of the surface for pockets. In 1901, however, many of these supposed pocket ledges were given deeper and more extended exploration and have through it become the beginning of permanent mines.
The area of possible gold mining was considerably extended during the year--not so much by entirely new discoveries as by the development of long-known prospects which, unworked, were previously assumed to be valueless. The Blue River section in Lane County, lower Rogue River in Coos County, Malheur County, Union County and in the headwaters of the John Day River have all, from more or less discredited prospects, been proved to be at least possibilities. In some it is only a single mine so far, but that one is surely indicative of more yet undiscovered. All of these localities can be safely counted on as sure to make much more showing of potential value during 1902 than in the year just completed.
The discoveries and development of quicksilver deposits made in 1901 indicate a very considerable future for this branch of mining industry. The operations of earlier years with quicksilver mining in Oregon had not been encouraging, and the older discoveries were unworked. The prospects of success with the newer ones is quite certain to cause a reinvestigation of the older ones, the failures of which were due to defective and costly methods of reduction, rather than to the failure of the mines to produce the anticipated quantities of the ore.
The presence of large deposits of copper ore in the extreme southwestern and the extreme northeastern corners of the state has long been known. Remoteness from existing transportation facilities had delayed development. In 1901, despite this adverse condition, considerable exploratory and preliminary work was done. The fall in the price of copper will very probably tend to defer development. The copper ores, however, carry considerable gold, which will be an incentive to their exploitation, even with the lowered price.
A possible mineral resource has been found during the year in asphaltum, and the discovery is being followed up by exploration for petroleum. Its discovery in Jackson County would assist materially in making the copper deposits available. In this connection there is much justification for investigation and experiment with novel processes for the reduction of the low-grade ores of copper, and the low-grade ores of nickel which exist in such great quantity at Riddle. There is no finality to the adverse conclusions from earlier attempts to beneficiate these ores which should lead to the abandonment of effort. It is within the last six months that the writer read in an Eastern mining paper a most elaborate mathematical and engineering demonstration of the commercial and technical impossibility of making iron from the ore direct by an electric current produced by water power. Within the last few weeks the statement is made that in northern Italy steel is being made direct from the iron ore by an electric current at a cost for the water power employed of $3.10 a ton. With such commercial results obtained under the most adverse conditions there should be no impossibility conceded with such valuable metals as copper and nickel to be recovered. There is no lack of cheap water power in Oregon.
Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 25, 1902, page 44
JACKSON COUNTY.A quartz vein, the ore of which yields from 35 cents to 50 cents per pan in free gold, has been uncovered in the Dry Diggings district, near Grants Pass, by Andrews Bros. The discovery was made by the continued sinking of a shaft beneath a pocket. Instead of ceasing work after the pocket was worked out, the shaft was continued down and struck a rich ocher seam which, on being followed, developed into a 6-inch vein of soft crumbling stuff, with the free gold richly sprinkled through all parts of it.
W. Mayfield, the discoverer of the rich Mayfield cinnabar claim in the Meadow district, has made another rich strike. At a depth of 10 feet on the Hydrargyrum he has uncovered a ledge that has a width of several feet and carries 30% mercury.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The Gold Bug mine, situated on Mt. Reuben, near Glendale, is steadily operating with its 5-stamp mill. About 20 men are employed. The company has put in a cyanide plant to handle the stamp-mill tailings which carry assay values of about $15 per ton. A depth of 300 feet has been reached in the shaft and the ore body has increased in size and richness with the depth. A new hoist is soon to be added and other improvements in equipment will be made.
The Lucky Queen mine on Jumpoff Joe, near Grants Pass, is now being developed, with C. D. Crane as supt.
G. Bolt, owner of the Sugar Pine mine at Galice, is taking out ore in which free gold is visible. The mine is under bond to Dr. Ray of Grants Pass and is being opened by a 600-foot tunnel.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 25, 1902, page 55
JACKSON COUNTY.J. Broad and T. Reid, owners of the Oregon Belle in Forest Creek district, near Jacksonville, are running their mill steadily and crushing between sixty and seventy tons of ore every month. They report over $1400 worth of bullion, the result of a three weeks' run.
A strike has been made at Ashland in the main shaft in the Ashland mine at Ashland below the 800-foot level. Drifting is being done on the 800-foot level and ore is being stoped from the 600-foot and 700-foot levels. The regular crew of thirty men is employed on this property.
A contract has been let by J. K. Reader to drive a 250-foot tunnel on his mine near Ashland, which will open the ledge about 100 feet below the present workings.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.A ledge is being developed in the Foots Creek district by H. A. Reed and C. C. Daniels which shows a width on the surface of 25 to 50 feet, carrying values of $4 to $6 per ton in free gold.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 1, 1902, page 68
A meeting of mining men, among whom was C. R. Johnson of Montana, has been held at Merlin, 8 miles north of Grants Pass, to consider the erection of a smelter at Merlin, which is centrally located in the northern Josephine mineral region. Another meeting to further consider this question will be held and a permanent organization is talked of.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 8, 1902, page 82
JACKSON COUNTY.At the Bowden mine, near Gold Hill, ore that averages $100 per ton has been uncovered at a depth of 200 feet in a 3-foot ledge. It is owned by Houck & Haff.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.Riggs & Flamm have made a rich gold quartz discovery in the Grave Creek district, uncovering a large ledge, from which tests made show it to carry from $32 to $90 per ton, mostly free gold.
W. Bailey, M.E., manager of the English-Canadian Co., which owns the dredger "Josephine" near Waldo, is arranging to resume operations with it.
A new cyanide plant has been installed at the Gold Bug mine, in the Mount Reuben district, to work tailings which run $15 per ton. A new two-cage hoist and additional stamps are also to be installed at the Gold Bug. Development in this mine is proceeding by five levels, the longest being 750 feet, and a depth of 350 feet being reached. The ore body is found in a vein possessing a width of 16 feet and carrying an average value of $30 per ton. The monthly cleanups are said to run from $12,000 to $15,000. A 5-stamp mill and thirty men are employed. The Gold Bug is the property of S. P. Jones of Nevada, S. L. Jones and H. M. Gorham.
What has long supposed to have been lead, or some other comparatively worthless metal, and which has been found in quantity in the Myrtle Creek placers, near Grants Pass, and thrown away by the miners, is now found to be native silver, so a report from the locality states.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 15, 1902, page 94
JACKSON COUNTY.W. H. Jackson, C. Baker and J. H. Ray of Medford have located twenty cinnabar claims between Elk and Trail creeks. Where discovery was made the ledge is said to be 50 feet wide, and its length, as far as the locality has been prospected, is from a quarter to half a mile. The ledge matter is very heavy with quicksilver. Men are now at work making excavations and running a tunnel. The mine is about 27 miles from Medford.
The Smith Bros., of Grants Pass, have bought of McDonald & Ray the bond they held on the Hawkeye mine, owned by E. Ray of Gold Hill. Cox & Lyman made a good stake out of it when it was first discovered. E. Ray later took out at different times several thousand dollars; then the sellers of the bond made a small strike in the beginning of the present winter. The shaft is now down 200 feet and the mine is considered better than at any time before.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.H. M. White is developing the Blackwell quartz mine, recently bought by him in the Humbug district, near Grants Pass. The quartz carries good values in free gold. A mill has been bought and will be installed soon.
The Crystal Spring M. Co. of Grants Pass has been incorporated by H. A. Reed, C. C. Daniels and B. H. March; capital $20,000.
C. R. Paris of Santa Ana, Cal , has recently bought a group of placer claims on Whiskey Creek, below Mt. Reuben, from G. Smith. The mine has a new ditch and a partial hydraulic equipment.
B. E. Meredith of the Wilson-Meredith mine on the Illinois, near Kerby, says the mine has been running most of the season with three giants. Considerable gold is being taken out.
The Lucky Queen mine on Jumpoff Joe, near Grants Pass, owned by Corliss & Rush, has been sold by Mackay & Crane, who have been developing it, to A. A. Durphy of Spokane, Wash. This mine is an old property, worked many years ago and abandoned. The new owner will equip it with machinery.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 22, 1902, pages 107-108
It is reported that Ament Bros., who recently bought the Corliss mines in Dry Diggings district, near Grants Pass, are preparing a large hydraulic mining project--the building of a dam across Rogue River below their mines, gaining a 20-foot fall, and the installation of a battery of turbine wheels sufficient to furnish 3000 H.P., which it is proposed to use to pump 1200 miner's inches of water through a mile of piping to the mining grounds above. About 200 men will be required to put in the dam, and the whole plant is projected to be ready to be put into operation by the close of the coming summer. The plant will cost $160,000. Ament Bros. own 600 acres of placer mining ground.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 1, 1902, pages 120-121
JACKSON COUNTY.The Gold Hill M., Power & Dev. Co. has been incorporated to operate and develop mines in Jackson County and to operate electric light and power plants at Gold Hill. J. J. Houck, T. J. Kenney, J. Nunan and E. A. Reames are the incorporators.
It is reported that E. K. Anderson has bonded the Golden Fleece mining property, near Ashland, consisting of 200 acres, at $20,000, to W. C. Latham, president and supt. of the Pacific M.&M. Co.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The Andrews Placer, property of W. H. Andrews at Dry Diggings, has been bought by M. C. Ament for the Golden Drift M. Co. The property has been incorporated with the greater Dry Diggings property, on which a big pumping plant is to be installed to provide water for hydraulicking.
The Golden Drift M. Co. has been incorporated, capital $1,500,000, to operate a hydraulic mine at Bloody Run, 3 miles south of Grants Pass. The plan provides for 1200 inches of water for the six giants, the water being pumped direct to the giants. M. C. Ament, manager of the Dry Diggings placer mines, is the manager.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 8, 1902, page 136
JACKSON COUNTY.Drilling machinery is being installed by the Southern Pacific Co. at its coal mine near Medford. The drill will be used in testing the coal vein in different places on Roxy Ann Mountain. A tunnel has been run 120 feet in the mountain, developing a good quality of coal in a vein too small to supply a large consumption. The company has bonded a number of tracts of land and will make a thorough test in order to develop the vein at a wide point. The coal is claimed to be of excellent quality.
T. Sutton and F. Reese have sold their Roaring Gimlet mining properties on Kane Creek, near Gold Hill, to W. Baisley, of Trustee, Indiana, and W. Mendenhall, of Richmond, Indiana, representatives of an Eastern company, for $10,000. This property consists of three claims. The greatest depth of present workings is 90 feet. Messrs. Sutton & Reese bought the properties about one year ago of Messrs. J. J. Houck and J. H. Mitchell for $3000. Since obtaining possession they have mortared and milled about $10,000. It is locally reported that the recent purchaser will have a steam hoist and pump erected in the near future to better facilitate the present mode of operation.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.T. W. Morgan-Draper of the Waldo S.&M. Co., at Waldo, has let contracts for the No. 1 Lyttle tunnel, which is to be 500 feet long, 6 feet 6 inches high; 4 feet 6 inches wide bottom and 3 feet 6 inches wide at top; and No. 2 Cow Boy tunnel, which is to be 600 feet long, 6 feet 6 inches wide at bottom and 3 feet 6 inches wide at top. The company will this summer install a smelting plant of large capacity.
W. H. Hamlin has sold eight acres of land on Rogue River, near Grants Pass, to a mining company operating in the Dry Diggings district. The company proposes to dam Rogue River near the point where they have bought this land and with hydraulic rams raise water from the river to the mining ground.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 15, 1902, page 151
JACKSON COUNTY.W. H. Maultby and A. Gilson, who are working some new placer mines at Sterlingville, think they have struck the old boulder pay channel. They have run a drift 180 feet long and found good pay dirt. The gold is coarse, some of the pieces weighing as high as $4 and $5 each.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.F. D. Russell, secretary of the Oregon Con. M. Co., operating near Glendale, says his company is prospecting a piece of placer ground, working with one giant, and is building a 4-mile flume to bring more water to the property from Rift Creek.
I. Coffman recently took out twenty ounces of gold from a pocket on Dumpy Gulch, in the Forest Creek district, near Grants Pass.
A ledge of free-milling quartz running $10 to the ton has been struck in the mine, near Grants Pass.
Two engines, a small sawmill, large cables and other machinery have arrived at the Golden Drift mine in Dry Diggings district, near Grants Pass. A dam will be built across Rogue River and six water wheels installed to furnish 3000 H.P. A battery of pumps will furnish water for six giants and an irrigating ditch.
A new cyanide plant has been recently installed at the Gold Bug mine in the Mount Reuben district, near Grants Pass, and the tailings of the mill, the savings of several years of its operation, are being worked over, yielding an average of $15 per ton.
The Oviatt hydraulic mines on Pickett Creek, near Grants Pass, have been bonded to San Francisco people for sixty days by G. W. Trefren at $35,000.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 22, 1902, page 166
JACKSON COUNTY.W. B. Dennis, of the Black Butte quicksilver mine in Lane County, has bonded the Golden Fleece mine, at Ashland, at $20,000, of E. K. Anderson. In the sandstone bedrock where a portion of the soft conglomerate has been hydraulicked off are seams of calcite, associated with cinnabar ore, which it is proposed to develop to depth.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.A rich strike is reported made at the Granite Hill quartz mine of the Louse Creek district, near Grants Pass, owned by Booth & Mangum. In the tunnel a 3-foot ledge has been uncovered showing free gold. A 5-stamp mill is kept in operation at the mine.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 29, 1902, page 183
JACKSON COUNTY.In the Roaring Gimlet mine, near Gold Hill, has been developed a new pay lead, from which, with one man panning, $400 a day is being taken out.
At the Maybelle mine a large two-story boarding and bunk house has been built and grading is being done for a 30-ton capacity mill.
W. P. Chisholm has started the driving of a tunnel to tap the Prosperity lode in the Meadows district, near Jacksonville, to a depth of 250 feet. This vein carries nickel, cobalt, copper and gold.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.In the Granite Hill quartz mine in the Louse Creek district, near Grants Pass, a vein of high-grade ore lately struck carries values running as high as $500 to the ton. The property is equipped with a 5-stamp mill.
The Oak Flat hydraulic mines, in the Illinois district, have been bought from Cope, Horn & Cornell by Pool Bros. & Reynolds of Denver, Colo. The mines comprise 1200 acres of hydraulic placer ground lying in the fork of the Illinois River and Briggs Creek, with a hydraulic plant and 20-mile ditch from Soldier Creek. The new owners will add to the equipment and build a new and large ditch to Briggs Creek.
H. W. Ogilbe, C.E., of San Francisco, and B. S. Taylor have been surveying several weeks in Applegate Valley, near Grants Pass, looking for a suitable location for a power plant. Their object is to furnish electrical power for a radius of 30 miles, the power to come from the Applegate River.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 5, 1902, page 196
J. E. Conner, owner of the Red Dog hydraulic placer mine on Briggs Creek, near Grants Pass, has got his mine again in operation after repairing damages caused by a slide which carried away a large portion of the long flume.
The Golden Drift M. Co. has surveyed for its proposed ditch, which as projected will cover most of the valley adjacent to Grants Pass.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 12, 1902, page 210
Mr. Mendenhall, owner of the Roaring Gimlet mine, 2 miles from Gold Hill, has shipped twenty-five pounds of gold panned out by hand from the rich pocket recently struck in the ledge. Mr. Mendenhall bought the mine in March from Sutton & Reese, paying $10,000 for it. He has already taken out $20,000.
Major Andrus, supt. of the Bill Nye mine, 4 miles west of Gold Hill, has made a rich strike in a 50-foot shaft on the ledge. It is nearly all $200 rock The mine has already paid $20,000 in developing it to a depth of 240 feet, and but little of the ore has been stoped out.
The Scandia Tunnel Co., of Spokane, Wash , has elected Dr. O. T. Melde president and C. J. Johnston secretary. The company is working on a long crosscut tunnel near Granite. W. Wade is manager.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 19, 1902, page 224
JACKSON COUNTY.Mr. Mendenhall, owner of the Roaring Gimlet mine of the Kane Creek district, near Gold Hill, has made another cleanup at his new property, taking out $3000.
The Bill Nye M. Co. has made a strike on their mine on Galls Creek, near Gold Hill. Major Andrus, the supt., has opened up 2 feet of quartz running from $150 to $200 per ton. The new shaft is now down 50 feet and the whole bottom of it is in ore going better than $100 per ton.
H. S. Sanford, manager of the Shorty-Hope M. Co., has received orders from the directors at New York to proceed with the development of the property at Ashland and has started work with T. W. Hill as foreman. A 750-foot tunnel is to be driven on the ledge, which will give 110 feet of stoping ground and unwater the mine. There is a 10-stamp mill and other equipment on the property.
The Last Chance G.M. Co., of Ashland, has been incorporated, capital $20,000, by O. C. Tiffany, R. P. Neil, H. L. Whited, L. L. Mulit and D. A. Applegate. It is the intention of the company to develop a quartz proposition near Gold Hill.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.A 40-H.P. compressor, three boilers and other mining machinery are being installed at the Oregon Bonanza mine in the Williams district, near Grants Pass. Mr. St. John, the manager, has uncovered a considerable body of ore.
A 10-stamp mill and other machinery is being installed on the Eureka mine, near Grants Pass. The Eureka, Cal., people who own it have bonded it to the Victory G.M. Co. of Chicago, Ill. This last-named company has sunk the main shaft to a depth of 400 feet, opening several levels and uncovering a ledge of high-grade ore 8 feet wide.
The placer and quartz gold yield of Josephine County for 1901 by the leading districts is as follows:
The St. Helens & Galice M. Co. of Portland, with A. B. Cousins as secretary, which owns the Cousins & Adkinson mines at Galice, are negotiating to buy all the placer properties along Galice. The new company proposes to combine the several mines along the creek and work them as a single property and on a large scale by erecting a large double flume in the bed of the creek.
In the Copper Stain mine, near Leland, it is stated by supt. Dana that the ledge, where it is tapped with the long tunnel, about 300 feet down, is larger and richer than ever. The company will build 6 or 7 miles of wagon road to get the necessary machinery to the mine.
J. C. Lewis' upper mine, near Leland, is being worked night and day with a full force of men. There is 240 feet pressure at the hydraulic giant and a 100-foot bank of gravel, at the bottom of which is a heavy blue gravel lead. The bank carries coarse gold from the surface to the bedrock.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 3, 1902, page 250
The Last Chance G.M.&M. Co. of Ashland has elected R. P. Neil president, D. A. Applegate secretary-treasurer and O. C. Tiffany supt. The company owns the Last Chance gold quartz mine and extension, near Gold Hill.
A. M. Williams of Los Angeles, Cal., has bonded the Indian Girl mine, near Ashland, from Booth & Burleson for $20,000, and has had ten men developing the property under I. C. Burleson, foreman. He is installing a 10-stamp mill.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 10, 1902, page 263
PUSHING WORK AT MINES.
Operations That Promise Profit in Southern Oregon.
GOLD HILL, Or., May. 11.--The mill on the Lucky Bart group is running day and night on ore from the Doubtful claim. A 30-inch vein of high-grade free-milling ore assaying $45 per ton was recently struck on this claim, which will bring the Lucky Bart group to the front again, something over $150,000 having already been milled from the several ledges on the property.
The Gold Hill Milling, Power & Development Company is working day and night shifts with a drill in their Bowden mine, in Blackwell district. It is down 135 feet in three feet of high-grade ore carrying an ounce of gold per ton and perfectly free. It is the intention to sink the present shaft to a total depth of 750 feet. This mine produced a great deal of gold prior to its purchase by this company, which is composed of local business and professional men, and is being put in shape to rank among the foremost of Oregon's producing mines.
C. R. Ray, superintendent and general manager of the Gold Hill Quartz Mining Company, is in San Francisco purchasing mills and hoisting machinery for their Braden mine. He will also get a new mill, as the present 10 stamps are worn out and inadequate. They have an immense quantity of low-grade ore in sight, and are engaged in development work preparing for their new plant. This company is composed of wealthy eastern business men, and they have been investing extensively both in the mineral and timber resources of Southern Oregon.
Oregonian, Portland, May 12, 1902, page 3
JACKSON COUNTY.The mill on the Lucky Bart group at Gold Hill is running on ore from the Doubtful claim, on which a 30-inch vein of high-grade free milling ore assaying $45 per ton was recently struck.… The Gold Hill M., Power & Dev. Co., in their Bowden mine, in Blackwell district, is down 135 feet in 3 feet of free-milling ore carrying an ounce of gold per ton. It is the intention to sink to 750 feet.
The Gold Hill Quartz M. Co., C. R. Ray, supt., operating the Braden mine near Gold Hill, will install a new mill for the present ten stamps.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The Old Channel mines of Galice operate two giants and a ground flow that is used in washing out Rich Gulch canyon just below the diggings where operations are being carried on. In this canyon there was an accumulation of wash gravel and tailings to a depth of 35 feet or more which had been dammed up. Manager Harvey put in sluices below the gravel and has washed the whole canyon down to the bedrock, making a rich cleanup from this gravel. The two giants are working upon a bank over 200 feet in height, which pays evenly and well from the grass roots to the bedrock. The red clay capping on top contains flour gold and this is saved by a system of undercurrents.
W. Bohle has sold his placer mine, situated in Grave Creek district, near Grants Pass, to Mr. Wilson of The Dalles for $2000.… A tunnel is being run on the Orme quartz mine in Foots Creek district.… A half interest in the Yokum & Madden quartz mine in Grave Creek district has been bought by J. E. Auten, and considerable work is being done on it.… W. E. Finney has bonded his quartz mine in Steamboat district to H. Kling for the Seattle Cooperative M. Co., who will run a tunnel. Work has been begun on the dam of the Golden Drift M. Co. in Rogue River to furnish water and power for operating the company's placer mines.… The company which has bonded the Eureka mine in Soldier Creek district is putting in two carloads of machinery. G. J. Coles is president of the company.… In the Gopher mine in Jumpoff Joe district, under T. Lacy, supt., considerable development work has been done and a body of fine ore exposed. There is a small mill at the mine.… Capt. Leavenworth and associates of Olympia, Wash., are erecting a 30-ton mill and concentrator on their Maybelle group, a low-grade base ore property.
A smelter and complete plant for treating copper ore is being installed on the Sewell copper mines at Waldo, owned by the Mountain Copper Co. They have been opened up to a good depth, exposing a body of high-grade copper ore.
Preparations for building the Oregon & Pacific Railroad out of Waldo are resulting in all available copper claims being taken up and old ones more thoroughly worked.
The boiler and other machinery for the Eureka mine on Soldier Creek, near Grants Pass, has been taken into the mine.
In the Ajax mine at Leland the company has struck rich rock in its new tunnel.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 17, 1902, page 276
The Eureka mine on Briggs Creek, near Grants Pass, has been bonded at $75,000 by the Victory G.M. Co., W. J. Morphy of Chicago, Ill., manager and principal owner. The main shaft is down 400 feet drifting has exposed an 8-foot ledge, average value $15 per ton.
The Green & Harmon mine on Galice Creek is working in a high bank now; as the gravel below is rich in coarse gold it pays to run the top stuff off.
A smelter and plant for treating copper ore has arrived for the Sowell copper mines of Waldo. These mines were bought some months ago by the Mountain Copper Co., who have developed them, presenting a body of copper ore.
Captain Mendenhall, owner of Roaring Gimlet mine, Gold Hill, has twenty pounds of amalgam, the result of three days' work on the vein. This gold was saved by simple panning.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 24, 1902, page 289
JACKSON COUNTY.E. Briggs has bought the Big Foot mine west of Gold Hill, for $3000. H. A. Corliss and B. Rush have bonded the Lucky Queen and Blue Rock to C. D. Crane.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.A company has been incorporated by Eureka, Cal., people to develop gravel ground at Althouse in Josephine County; capital stock $50,000.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 31, 1902, page 302
San Francisco capitalists will utilize the power of Applegate Falls, on Applegate River, western Josephine County. Electric power will be generated to operate stamp mills, mining machinery and factories in Josephine County, as well as a portion of Jackson. Power will also be generated for a line from Grants Pass to Waldo, the copper district of southwestern Josephine County.
The ledges on Grave Creek, in the Mt. Reuben district, are being worked extensively.
W. H. Brevoort of New York and E. Smith of Los Angeles, stockholders of the Victor Junior mine, in the Grave Creek district, announce that they will add twenty stamps, a number of new concentrators, a cyanide plant and a quantity of other machinery to their mine.
The property of the Big Yank M.&M. Co., in the Galice mining district, has been bonded to L. Y. Keady of Portland.
At the Greenback mine, Grave Creek, the work proposed consists of a shaft to be sunk 500 feet below the 800-foot level and the erection of a 20-stamp mill, to handle fifty tons a day. The stamps are to be 1000 pounds; an 80-H.P. power compressor will be put in to run six machine drills. The mine will be equipped with electric lights. A cyanide mill will be erected.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 7, 1902, page 314
MINES OF SOUTHERN OREGON; ALSO ELSEWHERE
Latest Reports from One of Our Chief Industries.
A large quantity of ore is being hauled to mill from the Gold Standard mine, located a few miles west of Jacksonville. It is of excellent quality and will doubtless yield well.
J. F. Garrison, who is developing a placer mine situated in Sterlingville district, has run a tunnel 250 feet in length, but bedrock has not been struck as yet. The prospects for good pay are favorable, however.
The past season's work in the Foots Creek placer mines has about been cleaned up, with favorable results. Some of the miners have done better than usual.
It is reported that H. C. Perkins and D. H. Stovall recently discovered corundum in upper Slate Creek district, a mineral hitherto unknown on the coast.
The Hydraulic Mining Co. has disposed of several mining claims located in Jumpoff Joe district, to Mrs. E. A. Smith. The consideration named is $12,500.
W. H. Ramsey and W. L. Ingram recently made a fine copper strike in Slate Creek district. H. C. Perkins, who has visited it, says it is on the same line with the Preston Peak and Waldo mines.
Whiteside Bros. of Minneapolis, who recently bonded the Spence and Cass copper properties, situated in southern Josephine County, have a force engaged in developing them.
Geo. Hoffman and Fred Bolt of Thompson Creek, who are working an excellent quartz mine in Tallow Box district, recently cleaned up several hundred dollars.
A 10-stamp Hammond mill has been installed at the Eureka mine, Soldier Creek district, which has been bonded by the Oregon & California Fields, Ltd.
R. Van Brunt, who purchased the Ock placer mines, Happy Camp district, Calif., expects to clean up nearly $100,000 this season.
The Williamsburg Mining Co., of which Robt. G. Smith is president, is developing the Bone of Contention mine, situated in Williams Creek district, Josephine County, with excellent prospects. They have sunk a shaft 140 feet deep.
The ore sent to the Charleston Fair by the Granite Hill Mining Co., in which C. L. Mangum and J. O. Booth are interested, was awarded a bronze medal.
Democratic Times, Jacksonville, June 12, 1902, page 4
Stewart & Banfield at Boland Creek report another strike on their quartz property.
C. L. Mangum, supt. Granite Hill mines, Louse Creek district, says he has resumed operations. Specimens from the Granite Hill mines received the bronze medal award at the Charleston exposition.
Grants Pass reports a rich copper strike in the upper Chetco district, in the southern part of the county, extending across the line into Del Norte County, Cal. Much of the rock carries copper values of 30%. The ore was taken from the claims of J. S. Crawford of Denver and associates.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 14, 1902, page 329
W. King has bought the Taylor Bros. mine on Hungry Creek for $5000, and will put on a 5-stamp mill.
The Oregon Yellow Jacket M.&M. Co. is organized under the laws of Arizona to work a gold property 2 miles from Gold Hill, ½ mile from Rogue River.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 21, 1902, page 341
A Boom Town's Fate.Near Grants Pass the Champion M. Co., Williams district, will put in a five-ton air compressor and other machinery and improvements at the Rising Star mine. The company will run a tunnel in the mountain 3000 feet to tap the famous Tip-Top ledge.
Miners are a queer crowd of nomadic creatures, and their migrations are as sudden and as little premeditated as are the movings of the Arabs of the desert. Last year they were all rushing to the Baker City district, being lured there by the glowing finds, announced from day to day, by the Baker City papers, acting under the inspiration of promoter Letson Balliet, who is now on his way to the penitentiary for overdoing the "promoting" business. And now these same miners are all rushing to Grants Pass in response to fabulous finds that are reported in column's length in issues of the Oregonian and the Telegram and in the Grants Pass papers, said to be prepared by a Kansas boomer, who is doing the "promoting" act in that section this year. As a result of the work of the Portland and Grants Pass papers, the latter town is said to be in the midst of a big mining boom, and such is the rush, both coming and going, that it is said that the town's population changes once in each six weeks.
Baker City is having a dull season this year owing to the "unavoidable" absence of their promoter, and Grants Pass will share the fate that comes to all boom mining towns, and about next year the most conspicuous thing that a stranger is quite certain to observe in that place will be the number of "For Rent" signs that will be displayed along its streets.
There is considerable mineral wealth in Josephine County, and the mines adjacent to Grants Pass will for years to come give to that place a healthy growth. But such booms as the town is said to be having this year--for such is the rush that men walk the streets many a night, being unable to secure a bed--do a town more harm than good. The less that a town has to do with boomers and booms the more certain and solid will be its growth.
Medford Mail, July 4, 1902, page 5
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 5, 1902, page 14
Cinnabar Mine and Other Property.
J. H. Ray, the well-known mining man, of this city, left Wednesday, accompanied by H. W. Jackson, for Beaver Creek, where they go to locate a cinnabar mine, which they have prospected and have found to be quite rich. Mr. Ray is the pioneer in the quicksilver mines in this section, having opened up several very fine mining properties, and he thinks this new ledge is quite as rich as any that he has heretofore worked. Tuesday Mr. Ray had with him one of his partners, John Griffin, who had come up from Smith River to consult with Mr. Ray in regard to a new mine that they have just opened on that stream. This mine promised to be a very rich placer mine, and they brought water to it to work it as such, but when the surface dirt was piped off a dike 400 feet in width was laid bare that was very rich in gold. The dike is a very friable porphyry, interspersed with but small pieces of quartz, which enables the rock to be readily worked with a Huntington roller. It is the intention of Mr. Ray's company to install a roller and begin the work of taking out the gold.
Medford Mail, July 18, 1902, page 3
The Golden Drift M. Co. is damming Rogue River 3 miles above Grants Pass. The dam is built one-third of the distance across the river.
Many Josephine prospectors and miners are turning their attention towards platinum. The Welsbach Co of Philadelphia has men in the placer fields of the Illinois River looking for that metal. They have patented machinery of their own design and hope to secure enough to partly supply the needs of their company.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 19, 1902, page 40
The Mountain View Copper Co. has incorporated at Kerby, W. J. McNamara, W. E. Olmstead, J. L. Lowell.
Ramsey & Ingram, two miners of Grants Pass, say they have discovered a nickel ledge, Butcherknife Creek, western Josephine County, with a width of 100 feet and exposed for 200 feet up either wall of Butcherknife Creek, at the point where that stream cuts through it. Serpentine is the predominating formation.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 26, 1902, page 54
Operations at the Oregon Bonanza, Williams Creek, have been suspended. Supt. Rogers is in San Francisco to consult with the company.
Machinery at the Granite Hill mines, Louse Creek district, is in operation. The properties are being developed. The quartz is giving returns of $26 per ton. The Red Jacket mine is opened to a depth of 300 feet. The Granite Hill M. Co. owns 500 acres of mineral land; 240 acres of this is placer land. The company operates a large hydraulic mine. The company expects to put in an extensive plant and work the group of mines as one big quartz property.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 2, 1902, page 66
The Hammersley or Daisy, Jumpoff Joe Creek, is out of litigation. It belongs to W. H. Emerson. The Hammersley mine will now be operated.
C. R. Ray of Gold Hill will dam Rogue River and build a ditch for mining, milling and other purposes. He has let a contract at Grants Pass for 140 M. feet lumber for the flume. It will require 500 men for a year.
The yield of placer gold from the 150 hydraulic mines, Josephine district, for this season, is reported 40% greater this year than in any past season, due to the heavy rains. Nearly all of the hydraulic mines increased their equipment last summer.
At the Victor Junior mine, Grave Creek, twenty stamps are to be added, a new hoist, engines, boilers, drills and a cyanide plant put in.
Platinum discoveries have been made in the Meredith placers of the Illinois district. The platinum of the Illinois is found with the black sand deposits on the serpentine bedrock.
The Eureka mine of Soldier Creek has installed a 10-stamp mill.
The Golden Drift M. Co., which own and operate the Dry Diggings hydraulic mines, are building a power dam across Rogue River, 3 miles above Grants Pass.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 9, 1902, page 80
At the Sterling placer mine two giants are operated; twenty-five men have been employed but hydraulicking will probably be suspended next week for the cleanup. A strip of conglomerate about 20 feet wide next to the bedrock, parallel with the old channel and near the center, requires blasting before the monitors are turned on it. After a cannonade of dynamite cartridges on this cement bed, the streams of water do the remainder of the work effectively.
Robert Bond, near Jacksonville, has developed by tunnel levels ground favoring that kind of exploration. A 5-stamp mill is in operation on the property.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 16, 1902, page 96
S. Penrose, secretary Waldo S.&M. Co., is visiting the mines of the company at Waldo, where men are developing the properties and erecting buildings. The company projects the erection of a new smelter at Waldo.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 23, 1902, page 109
The Golden Drift M. Co. expects to have its dam near Grants Pass completed this season. Rogue River at the point where the dam is constructed is 240 feet wide, average depth 6½ feet. The entire length of the dam will be 650 feet. At the bottom the dam is 100 feet wide. A 60-foot apron will be laid upstream, giving a 160-foot surface on the bottom, strengthened by two rows of piling tipped with steel to permit of them being driven into the cement bed of the river. The timbers used are 12x12 inches. The height of the dam is 20 feet and the race is 90 feet wide, 25 feet deep. The bays will admit ten water wheels, giving 8000 H.P. There will be one pump lifting a 24-inch stream and delivering 22,000 gallons of water per minute. This pump weighs 43,000 pounds. Four other pumps will be installed at first, capable of lifting 9000 gallons each against an 800-foot head.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 30, 1902, page 122
At the mines of the Waldo Smelting & Mining Co. a new town has sprung up called Takilma.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 13, 1902, page 152
Southern Oregon Mining Notes.
Reports come of a number of important gold discoveries being made on Mule Creek and in the lower Rogue River country. This section is highly mineralized and has never been prospected to any extent. A better field in this respect is not offered the prospector anywhere. The river bars and banks are being washed down and cradled through rockers or over sluices in the old-fashioned way. While this is a primeval method of doing things, it is about as far along as most of that section has got, and those who are in there and at work are making money. A post office has been established at the Greenback mine, and will be known as Greenback. The new mill being built at this mine will be ready for work in about six weeks.
The Sumpter Miner, September 17, 1902, page 9
JACKSON COUNTY.L. B. Chase is developing the Palmer mine at Jacksonville.
Superintendent Morris of the Fish Lake Ditch Co., Jacksonville, says he can give employment to a number of men at $2 a day.
A tunnel is to be driven at the Simmons & Cameron hydraulic mines, Waldo, to give way for a sluice and give access to a placer bed that cannot be reached in any any other way. The tunnel will be 1250 feet in length, through solid rock. The managers of the Simmons & Cameron placers is putting in a hydraulic elevator and a new and larger pipeline on the Illinois River.
The Gold Bug, Mt. Reuben district, is having its equipment doubled by the addition of new boilers, hoists, compressors, engines and pumps. The Gold Bug is opened by tunnel and shaft 500 feet. Ore values run $18 per ton in free gold and concentrates. The latter are treated by the cyanide plant. The tailings are cribbed up and run through the cyanide plant. S. Cole is superintendent.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The suit of E. McCann against the Althouse M. Co. resulted in no damages for plaintiff. The suit was to restrain defendant in the operation of a placer mine, and from damaging McCann by flowing water over his land and depositing mining debris and slickens. Judge Bellinger of the Portland U.S. Circuit Court held that plaintiff is not entitled to such relief, and the complaint was dismissed. The water used in the operation of the mine is taken from Althouse Creek by a tunnel through a divide that separates the waters of that creek from Democrat Creek. McCann owns 425 acres of land, which he values at $10,000, and he complained that the water from the mines is filling up the channels of Democrat Creek and the water is spread over his land, rendering it boggy and unfit for cultivation. Judge Bellinger reviewed the evidence at considerable length regarding the fact that witnesses for McCann testified that fifteen acres were covered with debris; others said ten acres. On the other hand, twelve witnesses--farmers, miners and others--testified that there is no debris on the land in quantity to injure it, and thirteen other witnesses testify to the same thing. Before starting the mine, the superintendent offered to levee all the low places on McCann's land, and offered to pay $50 per acre for the land, and both of these offers were refused, and also an offer to repair a ditch running through the land. The preponderance of evidence, the court held, is against the claim of injury and damage, and the refusal of McCann to permit the defendant to build a levee along the ditch and improve it and keep it in repair, the court said, was unreasonable.
The Snelling-Alfred quartz mine, Galice Creek district, has been bought of C. Bradbury by men who will drive a long tunnel to tap the ledge at greater depth.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 20, 1902, page 169
The Alameda M. Co., Galice district, have four quartz claims and fifty acres of gravel lands. They have let a contract for running a long tunnel to C. B. Mattison.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 27, 1902, page 181
The High Line Ditch, which has its terminus 440 feet above the depot at Gold Hill, is assured. The Ray enterprises have 130 men on the payroll. In the building of the Ray Dam men discovered nuggets of various sizes. The gravel panned $2. Rogue River was once known as Gold River.
The Bowden group of mines are sold to the Yellow Jacket M.&M. Co. F. Jordan is superintendent. The first payments of $30,000 have already been completed and the final payment of $10,000 takes place today. The property consists of four claims and the vein averages 3 feet. It has been developed to a depth of 150 feet. The company have a 5-stamp quartz mill. Twenty men are employed and $5000 will be spent in boiler, hoists and air compressors.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 11, 1902, page 212
Oregon proposes this winter to establish a state mining bureau. It is a good idea. Every mining commonwealth should have such a state department. Every dollar so spent would be the means of inducing inquiry and development. This is an age of advertising, and no matter how good the wares of the merchant or how valuable the mineral resources of a state, both need proper publicity among buyers. Washington, Idaho, California, Colorado and Montana find it profitable to maintain such an institution, and Oregon could well profit by their example. That state is the possessor of great mineral wealth. Rightly run, an Oregon State Mining Bureau could induce investment, disseminate accurate information and be of great aid in a variety of ways to Oregon mining men. The Oregon Legislature could well appropriate, say, $25,000 annually for the maintenance of a state mining bureau. Its good effects would be manifest and would be immediately noticeable. It is indirectly as much of an advantage to the farmer or lumberman or stock raiser or merchant as it is to the miner to have such an institution. Mining is the great basic industry of the nation. The miner is a consumer of all products, a customer of all manufactures, and a competitor of none.
Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 18, 1902, page 216
The Simmons & Cameron mine, Waldo, has been worked fifty years and has enough ground in sight to keep the giants busy for years to come. A 1200-foot tunnel is being run to allow the passage of a waterway and make possible the working of ground that could not be reached in any other way.
B. E. Meredith, manager and owner of the Meredith placers, Waldo, has returned from Chicago and will work the properties for the fourth season. It is in these placers that a Philadelphia company has been mining for platinum the past summer and has had good success. It is there, also, that the metal, Josephineite, is found in quantity. One feature is a 1200-foot tunnel driven through solid rock, being necessary to let the main flume through to the working grounds of the mine.
The Old Channel mines, Galice, will begin work whenever water is afforded. Three giants will be operated. The placer bank has a length of 1300 feet, and a height where it is being piped of 230 feet. Such a bank as this can only be worked from a distance of 400 feet, requiring a pressure of 500 feet in the giants. This carries values all the way from the grass roots to the bedrock, carrying fine gold in the clay capping and coarse gold in the lower strata.
Manager W. H. Hampton, of the Columbia placers of the Grave Creek district, is in readiness for work. He will operate two and three giants in the diggings this year. Three other giants are required to operate the elevator for removing the waste. Arc lights are suspended above the diggings for night work. The banks are a gray and red gravel, carrying values in fine and coarse gold.. They occupy the bed of an ancient channel.
J. C. Whipp has located the Josephine County caves under the placer mining laws to mine. It will require 6 miles of wagon road before stone can be hauled out. He has located and entered 1320 acres, which cover all the caves and land adjacent.
W. H. Brevoort of New York is at Greenback. He is the owner of the Greenback mines and mill and has arranged for ten new stamps with a battery of twenty, to be supplemented with a filter press of German invention to treat the slimes. The workings have attained a depth of 900 feet.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 18, 1902, page 228
Sixteen miles [sic] east of Grants Pass C. E. Ray has 150 men building a dam across Rogue River.
T. W. Draper, manager Oregon & Pacific Railway Construction Co., says that within thirteen months Grants Pass and Crescent City, Cal., will be connected by rail, to give an outlet for the product of the copper mines of the Waldo S.&M. Co. The same people are connected with the O.P.R.C. Co. At Takilma the Waldo S.&M. Co. have men developing the properties. The new railroad will cross the road at Grants Pass. It will run across the Illinois Valley of western Josephine, touching at Selma, Kerby and Waldo, cross the state line and follow Upper Smith River, in Del Norte County, Cal., almost to Crescent City.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 25, 1902, page 243
The Simmons-Cameron, Wimer, Meredith and Osgood are the principal hydraulic placer mines of the Waldo district. The managers of all of these properties are preparing for the coming winter's work. The managers of the Simmons-Cameron are driving a 1200-foot tunnel through a mountain to new diggings. They will put in a hydraulic elevator to elevate the waste and tailings, as the slope of the gulch in which the new diggings lie is not sufficient to allow dumping grounds for the giants. Three or four giants will be operated at each of these mines.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 1, 1902, page 258
At the Eureka mine on Soldier Creek manager de Varilla has the 10-stamp mill in operation.
Superintendent Thompson, at the Greenback mine, on Grave Creek, is putting in a new 20-stamp mill. The old mill, Greenback mountain, will be reduced to five stamps during the winter and will be used as a custom mill only.
Grants Pass figures that the output of placer and quartz gold from the mines of Southern Oregon for 1902 will be 45% greater than it was last year. The total output last season of the mines of Josephine County was $1,054,200. This year it is expected to be $3,000,000.
Six-horse teams are hauling machinery for the new 20-stamp mill of the Greenback mine on Grave Creek. The Greenback produces from $23,000 to $30,000 monthly.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 8, 1902, page 274
JACKSON COUNTY.In Wolf Creek district ditches are being enlarged, new flumes built and preparation made for the operation of the hydraulic mines this winter. Scribner & Henderson have in a new arrastra that will break eighteen tons of rock a day. The Wolf Creek M.&D. Co. has men at work on their quartz and placer properties.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.Supt. Ryan is developing the Harth quartz property, near Woodville. A tunnel will tap the vein at a depth of 200 feet.
The Sowell copper mines of Althouse district have closed down temporarily. Six tons of smelted copper matte are shipped to San Francisco.
The new group of copper mines at Althouse, in the Grayback Mountain, located last year by Babcock & Kitterman, are under development.
T. W. Draper, manager Waldo S.&M. Co. at Waldo, says his company will put in a 100-ton smelter at Takilma, a new town that has sprung up near the mines and on the line of the proposed Oregon & Pacific railroad.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 15, 1902, page 288
JACKSON COUNTY.Near Gold Hill, superintendent Jackson is developing the Bowden and Yellow Jacket, getting ready for new drills and hoisting works.
Superintendent Phelps, at the Anderson mine on Foots Creek, has a vein 2 feet wide at a depth of 135 feet which goes $25 to the ton.
Superintendent A. Orme has men putting the Ray mine in condition for a new 20-stamp mill.
Superintendent Mendenhall is putting in a gasoline engine at the Roaring Gimlet mine.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The Harmon-Green placer on Galice Creek has begun piping. The ground to be worked this winter consists of bars along the east bank of Galice Creek 1 mile below the forks. The gold is coarse and of high quality.
The Wolf Creek M.&D. Co. has a large force at work on its quartz and placer properties. Besides four claims this corporation has 180 acres of valuable placer ground and water rights on Wolf Creek. New ditches are being dug and flumes built, and three ledges are being faced off preparatory to driving a main working tunnel.
The Golden Drift M. Co. is building a power dam across Rogue River, 3 miles above Grants Pass, and putting in immense gates and digging out the race and bays for twelve turbine wheels. The dam is built across the river; all that remains to finish its construction is to build it up the required height, giving a 20-foot fall to the water. The twelve turbines will develop 5000 H.P. The power house will contain two sets of pumps, one of which will force the volume of water to the giants in the placer diggings of the company, and the other will lift the water to three irrigating ditches.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 22, 1902, page 301
A Big Mining Deal.One of the largest mining deals which has occurred in Southern Oregon for many years was closed in this city last Saturday, whereby a corporation of California and Eastern capitalists, among them being F. T. Griffiths and I. B. Hamilton, of Los Angeles, has acquired title to the famous Bowden mine and the Braden mill and water right in the Blackwell mining district, near Gold Hill.
S. W. McClendon, J. J. Houck and L. F. Jordan, of Gold Hill, were the promoters of the sale, and the original owners of the mine were George C. McDonough and J. F. Davis.
New and elaborate machinery for working the mine has been ordered, and the new owners propose to demonstrate the feasibility of deep mining in Southern Oregon. The Yellow Jacket mine, owned by S. W. McClendon and which adjoins the mine sold, will be worked in connection.
The parties interested in the transaction have been very reticent concerning the consideration given, and the purchase price is variously stated, running from $20,000 to $150,000, and is very likely somewhere between those figures.
It has always been our opinion that valuable quartz mines would be found in Southern Oregon, whenever the capital necessary to sink to the required depth should become interested. Compared with mines in other countries, those of Southern Oregon are mere "surface diggings," and the presence or absence of gold at greater depths has never been demonstrated here. Therefore, we hope that the company which has hold of the Bowden property now will be successful in their undertaking, and near the place where the fabulously rich Gold Hill pocket was taken out, the first quartz mining ever done in Jackson County will open a new era of mining in this section and demonstrate the fact that the gold is in the mountains of Southern Oregon, if you but go deep enough to find it.
Medford Mail, November 28, 1902, page 2
Placer mines have water sufficient to start. All expect to get in a longer season of work and get out more gold this season than they have done for many years.
A 4-stamp mill goes in the Kramer quartz mine, Mount Reuben district.
The Rogue River M., M. and D. Co. has incorporated at Grants Pass, J. P. Brennan, L. Brennan and C. Berry.
Los Angeles and Redlands, Cal., men have bought the Dowden gold mine and Braden mill, near Medford, for $100,000.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 29, 1902, page 318
JACKSON COUNTY.The Homestake mine, near Woodville, has been bonded to Eastern men for $8000.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The placers of the Waldo district have resumed. The Simmons mine has enlarged its plant. These mines get water from the Illinois River, which heads on the north slope of the Siskiyous. In Grave Creek district the giants have been turned on. Several of these placers have had extensive repairs and more pay dirt will be moved this season than ever before.
Grants Pass says the recently equipped Eureka mine of the Soldier Creek district has ore giving $15 per ton free on the plates, sulphurets $10 per ton. A 10-stamp mill is on the property. A wagon road is to be built from the main county road and a telephone line to connect with the Co.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 6, 1902, page 332
JACKSON COUNTY MINES.
EARLY RAINS START THE PLACERS TO WORK
WHILE GENERAL ACTIVITY IN QUARTZ PREVAILS.
Frank Ketchum, who purchased the Batchelder property on Sardine Creek, has put a new line of pipe into the diggings and is driving "mountains to the sea."
J. J. Houck's custom quartz mill at Gold Hill has been running steadily since September, only being shut down long enough to clean up and make repairs around the mill.
James Smith, who purchased the Vroman property on Sardine Creek, intends to "knock as much gravel as the next one" this year and already has quite a slice of bedrock uncovered.
"Uncle Bob" Cook, who has mined on Foots Creek for the past forty years, has taken advantage of the early run of water and will have more ground moved before Christmas than is usually off by cleaning-up time.
H. L. White, of Ashland, who owns the placer claims at the forks of Sardine Creek, has two men at work with his giant. A new ditch is being used on this property which gives a pressure of 285 feet through an 11-inch pipe.
Ex-Senator E. B. Dufur has had men at work on his deep race all fall and managed to get it in first-class shape before the heavy rains. His giant is now running night and day. This mine is another of Foots Creek's good producers.
George Lance and Lee Cook are blasting the bank in Gold Gulch diggings on Foots Creek and piping the gravel night and day. When the water failed last spring the boys were piping ground that averaged $1.25 per yard. Summer prospecting proved the bank to be an extensive back channel, and portions of it averaged $1.60 per yard. This property will make a big cleanup in the spring.
The Black Gold Channel placer mine on Foots Creek, under the management of A. E. Ruble, who has the property leased, is being worked with two giants. That is the only mine in that locality using a Ruble elevator. Six men are employed in the diggings this year, and from the amount of bedrock uncovered so far the spring cleanup will be far ahead of the average, which runs into the thousands.
Edward Simons and William Brass, who made a good run from the Purkeypile mine on Galls Creek, have purchased the Thiel mine inside the townsite of Gold Hill, and the first of the week began extracting ore. This ledge was found several years ago by A. Thiel in his side yard. Mr. Thiel conducts a bakery on his premises, and at odd times worked on the ledge. With the help of his son, he sank thirty-five feet and milled several tons of ore, from which he secured handsome returns. It is at that depth that Simons and Brass began work. As they are both practical miners it is likely a full-fledged mine will soon be running behind the high board fence in the town of Gold Hill.
Dr. Braden, of Gold Hill, was in the city Tuesday to meet the representatives of the Bowden-Yellow Jacket mines and to complete the transfer of the quartz mill and water right he owns on the east bank of Rogue River, opposite Gold Hill. The new company, which secured control of the Bowden-Yellow Jacket, have been after this mill and water power ever since they secured the quartz property, and by the deal consummated Tuesday will be able to crush their ore as rapidly as the five stamps will do the work. The water power is one of the best along Rogue River. The water is conveyed through a three-foot ditch for two miles and has a fall of eighteen feet into the river. The mill is the latest improved one, thousand-pound stamps, five in number, with concentrator. Should the ore bodies now being developed in the two mines increase in size, as the present showing indicates, the mill will be increased to ten stamps and another concentrator added. It is the intention of the company to sink on both the properties, and new machinery is now on the way.
W. J. Stanley, of Ashland, was in the city Tuesday. Speaking of the mining outlook in Southern Oregon, [he] said: "I look for great development in quartz properties during the coming year, not only from the fact that local men are taking considerable active interest in old properties but also from the fact of so many strangers being in the field and yet keeping their actions quiet. For instance, Senator Clark has five men right here in Jackson County who are making regular reports, yet nothing is ever heard of them locally. To my knowledge there will be several properties opened up by spring that have been lying idle for several years." Mr. Stanley has been interested in the Homestake mine at Woodville and recently bonded the property to Spokane parties. The bond has been taken up, a company incorporated, and machinery ordered. Active work will begin the first of the year if the machinery can be delivered by that time. The plant will consist of steam hoist, drills, air compressor and, upon future development, a complete mining plant. The main ledge, which dips at about 60º, has been opened for a distance of 350 feet, carrying values [of] $10 per ton free milling and concentrates worth $200 per ton or a straight assay of $213 per ton. The new company intends to have a "producer" in this property.
Dr. C. R. Ray's great work in damming Rogue River for power purposes has not retarded his efforts in developing the mines in Southern Oregon. The doctor has investments from the Mount Reuben district to the head of Elk Creek in Jackson County, and at various points intervening. About two years ago he purchased the Braden mine and mill from Dr. Jas. Braden on , and since that time has had men at work opening the property in new places. During the past few months work on this particular mine has gone steadily ahead under the supervision of ex-Sheriff Alex Orme, who is superintendent of all of Dr. Ray's mines. This week Mr. Orme reports to Dr. Ray that there was enough high-grade ore blocked out in the Braden mine to pay for all the other mines he owned. That this statement is undoubtedly correct is evidenced from the fact that a new forty-stamp mill has been ordered to replace the old ten-stamp mill now on the property and the further fact that a right-of-way has been cleared across the mountains from the mill to the dam at Tolo for transmission of power to the mine. In addition to that a number of men, in charge of Charles Meirs, are at work on a new tunnel to tap the old Hicks ledge on Foots Creek, at a depth of 350 feet. That is a property Dr. Ray purchased from H. J. Hobbs, H. L. White and John Noe about three years ago. Considerable money has been taken from this property. On Galls Creek, William Blackert is doing assessment work with a crew upon several of Dr. Ray's properties. Up in the Elk Creek district work has been suspended for the winter with sufficient development to warrant going ahead in the spring.
Medford Mail, December 12, 1902, page 1
The Greenback G.M. Co. is putting up a 20-stamp mill and an electric light plant at Greenback, 10 miles from Leland.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 13, 1902, page 346
JACKSON COUNTY MINES.
EARLY RAINS START THE PLACERS TO WORK
WHILE GENERAL ACTIVITY IN QUARTZ PREVAILS.
H. L. White, of Ashland, will have men at work on his quartz properties near Rock Creek this week.
The cold weather of the latter part of the week caused a lightness of water in many of the placer claims, and only those having good and first water rights were able to run full time.
Marion Lance, who is working the old Lance placers on the right-hand fork of Foots Creek, has everything in first-class condition for the winter's run. He will have a crew of four men to assist him.
Frank Shaffer, who has some good quartz properties "on the granite" in the Blackwell district, has been going over the work done during the summer and is negotiating with Portland parties who desire to purchase.
A. M. Cowgill, of Gold Hill, is prospecting near Cinnabar in the interest of himself and Ivan Humason of Medford. Mr. Cowgill found some very good prospects in that locality last fall and went in again three weeks ago with supplies enough for all winter.
Duffield & Burns are working their placer on Galls Creek with the full pressure from the high ditch they constructed a year ago. Mr. Duffield will devote all of his time to the mine this winter, having turned his ranch over to his son Charles.
The old Hay diggings on Rogue River are being worked this winter with the addition of rock cars which are used in connection with a derrick. This mine has always been a good producer, and with the new methods in vogue will no doubt have an increased output.
Simons & Brass retimbered the Thiel mine inside the townsite of Gold Hill this week and sunk about eight feet. They are saying very little about their values, but the indications are that the ore has proven to be of sufficient high grade to meet all expectations.
Willis Cramer, the flour mill owner of Myrtle Creek, is working the Tin Pan mine on Galls Creek with three men. This property has been more or less "coyoted," but under Mr. Cramer's management will be systematically developed. Considerable money has been taken from this property in the past.
H. A. Meyer and Nelson Hebert have been doing considerable work on the extension to the Cheney-Humason property in Blackwell district and have struck an extensive ledge carrying good values throughout. Mr. Meyer is at present in Portland on business connected with the property and expects to have a full crew at work as soon as he returns.
McClure & Ward are drifting on their Water Gulch ledge, which is improving with every foot of development. Mr. McClure has been very successful in his operations in that locality, having milled some of the best rock ever extracted in that vicinity. He considers the property they are working one of the best in the district.
Work on the Big Foot mine in Colvig Gulch opposite Rock Point has been suspended during the settlement of negotiations for a sale. Portland parties are after the property. The lead in this mine is small, but the values are high as was shown by the rock milled by Simons, Wolfe & Foster, who recently sold the mine to J. R. Briggs for $1,000.
The sale of the Gold Chloride mine on Wards Creek is still in abeyance, owing to matters connected with other property. The Portland company holding the bond has been granted an extension of time, and it is believed the price will be paid in a short time, as over $7,000 has been expended thus far by the holders of the bond.
Elisha Ray, who struck a rich chute of ore on his Water Gulch property near Gold Hill three years go and from which he extracted about $4500, has been cleaning out part of the old work and timbering. He has run into what he considers the original lead, which had been lost, and from the prospects he has been getting is under the impression that he has a true fissure, which he always contended was there. He is planning to put machinery on the property in the spring, but in the meantime will work along by the present methods.
I. L. Hamilton has purchased a one-third interest in the Monumental quartz mine from Baker & Jackson and will take an active part in the development of the property The mine is situated on Shelley Creek in California and has a ledge forty-two feet wide at the surface. It is a free gold proposition, carrying fair values. Considerable work has been done on the property in the way of a seven-hundred-foot tunnel and about one hundred and fifty feet of shaft. Work has been suspended for the winter owing to snow but will be resumed in the spring.
Medford Mail, December 19, 1902, page 1
JACKSON COUNTY.A cyanide plant is being built at tbe Dewey mine, near Gazelle.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The Baby quartz mine, in Jumpoff Joe district, near Grants Pass, has been bonded to C. C. Higgins of Salt Lake City, Utah.
N. E. Smith, owning the St. Helena placer mines at Waldo, says the parties having a bond on the property have stopped work for the winter because of snow and a slide, which carried away part of the ditch. The gravel is hydraulicked, the water being brought in 5½ miles by ditch and flume.
The 10-stamp mill at the White Swan mine is running on ore from the third level. A station pump is being set up on the third level.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 20, 1902, page 361
JACKSON COUNTY.J. W. Opp has atarted his quartz mill on the Golden Standard mine near Jacksonville.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The Homestake property in Evans Creek district, 9 miles from Grants Pass, is reported bonded to Eastern men lor $8000.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 27, 1902, pages 374-375
JACKSON COUNTY.The Western Star M. Co., operating near Medford, is running a tunnel on the ledge and has cut a body of quartz that carries high values in gold. Six men are working on the Whale tunnel. The number will be increased and a crosscut tunnel begun 200 feet below the workings. The ledge is 12 feet wide where the pay rock is found. Dr. Damourette is the president of the company.
The Record says work is being done on the placers of Coleman Creek, near Ashland. D. B. Reames has resumed work on his ground.
J. Layton, owner of the Layton placer mine in the Applegate country, has leased his water privileges for the season to Watson & Durham of Portland.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The Greenback mine of the Grave Creek district, near Leland, has its 20-stamp mill in operation. A 15-stamp mill was reduced to five stamps, which will be used for sampling. The new mill was built farther down Greenback Mountain. The crew has been increased, drills added, a hoist put in, larger engines and boilers installed and electric lighting and cyanide plants added. The mine is opened to a depth of 800 feet.
A 4-stamp mill is being set up at the Fremer and Palmer mine on Mount Reuben, near Grants Pass. The Gold Bug mine, on Mount Reuben, has closed for repairs.
The New York & Western M. Co. has bought the Oregon Belle mine, near Grants Pass, for $30,000. The Oregon Belle, in depth, shows a body of ore carrying free gold and sulphurets. A Huntington mill on the mine has been operated by former owners. The new owners will develop the property. They will put in a large mill as soon as they have the mine sufficiently opened.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 3, 1903, page 14
JACKSON COUNTY.J. W. Coffman has sold 240 acres of placer ground on Forest Creek, near Ashland, to E. A. Spaulding et al. of Tacoma for $10,000.
The Hicks quartz mine on Blackwell Hill, near Medford, is reported sold to C. A. Greigson of Gold Hill.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.J. Shaska and P. Robinson have bonded their property in Owl Hollow, east of Grants Pass, for $40,000 to Colorado men represented by T. J. Pearce of Gold Hill.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 10, 1903, page 50
A 25-foot vein of coal is reported on Dutcher Creek, 12 miles from Grants Pass.
The Granite Hill mines of Louse Creek district, 8 miles north of Grants Pass, have been bought by the American Gold Fields Co. of Chicago. The deal comprises 800 acres of mineral land, both quartz and placer, together with a 5-stamp mill, concentrator and other equipment. The placer mines are equipped with hydraulic plant, with 7 miles of ditches and flumes, hundreds of feet of pipe and two giants. There are over 600 acres of placer ground in the Granite Hill diggings. W. J. Morphy is manager of the company. The Granite Hill mines have been worked for two years past by C. L. Mangum. The new owners, under the direction of their consulting engineer, W. Devarila, will develop the Granite Hill mines and expend $75,000 in opening and equipping them.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 17, 1903, page 46
JACKSON COUNTY.The Maybelle mine of the White Cross M. Co., near Gold Hill, was sold by the sheriff last week to C. Wetherell on a judgment.
W. Nash has sold part of his mining ground in Grave Creek district to J. D. Heard, C. Strang, W. S. Jones and F. King, who will cut a ditch and begin development.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The Gold Mining King group of claims, on Josephine Creek, in western Josephine, has been bonded by M. Marks of Seattle, Wash., for $10,000; he will put up a mill.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 24, 1903, page 62
J. O. Jillson will resume operations at the Jillson & Roberts mine next week. It is reported the La Flesh mine has been bonded to Portland parties.
The Bowden M. Co. is reported to have bought the Humason mill and water right, near Gold Hill.
The quartz mines south of Myrtle Creek, near Jacksonville, are shipping ore. A 13-ton lot from the Little Chieftain mine returned $700 net. The Continental, adjoining, was sold last week by G. W. Crews to W. B. Stewart for $20,000.
Superintendent A. T. Lungren of the Cook & Green copper mine, in the Siskiyou Mountains, near the state line, owned by Cooper, Hamilton & Co., says the ore shows 5% copper and $6 gold per ton.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 31, 1903, page 78
SOUTHERN OREGONMining: Journal of the Northwest Mining Association, February 1903, page 41
J. K. Clark, brother of Senator Clark the copper king, who recently purchased the old Booth & Dysert placer mines on Jumpoff Joe, has practically made a new placer property out of the old mines, so extensive have been the improvements that the mines have undergone under his direction. The placers are now known as the Clark hydraulic mines, and they are abuzz night and day, with the new equipment in full operation. Mr. Clark had new and longer ditches built, the old flumes repaired, new piping was laid and greater pressure secured. Two No. 3 giants are operated under a pressure of 400 feet. With this gigantic power the streams are hurled from the giants' nozzles with a force that nothing can withstand. When the streams are turned aside into the surrounding trees, the great pines are shorn of their limbs by the cutting avalanche of water as they would be by a tornado, says the Oregon Mining Journal.
At night the diggings of the mines are brightly illuminated by many arc lights, electric, supplied by the mine's new plant. These mines have hundreds of acres of rich placer ground, and will add a great quantity of gold to the state's output of the yellow metal during the years that are to come.
The Oregon Gold Fields Placer Company, owning a large tract just above this property, will be operating on an extensive scale this year. Their ground is thoroughly proven, is rich and easily worked, the ditches are in good condition and good pressure is had.
JACKSON COUNTY.N. Herbert, operating a quartz property near Gold Hill, in Water Gulch district, has opened up a chute of free gold ore, 18 inches wide.
Hillis Bros. are operating their hydraulic mine in Pleasant Creek district.
The Opp mines, 1 mile from Jacksonville, have been sold to Eastern men. with W. de Warlia as manager, for $150,000. A 40-stamp mill is to be installed as soon as the mines are opened up. The Rogue River Valley Railroad will run a branch from Jacksonville to the mine.
It is reported that the Bowden mine, near Gold Hill, will resume. S. McClendon and L. F. Jordan, controlling the mine, have bought the Braden stamp mill and equipment on Rogue River, opposite Gold Hill, for $10,000.
N. Herbert, who recently bonded the E. Ray mine, near Gold Hill, sank 50 feet in the old shaft and reports a 19-foot vein, 2 feet of which is rich in gold and tellurides.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.In the northwestern part of the county the St. Helens & Galice M. Co. are working on Dutch Boys Bar, near Galice, gravel that prospects 50 cents to the pan, says superintendent A. B. Cousin. This company owns and is operating, by hydraulic, 300 acres of placer ground, on the upper part of Galice Creek on both forks.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 14, 1903, page 110
JACKSON COUNTY.The Opp quartz mine (the Beekman & Huffer mine), near Jacksonville, has been sold for $150,000 to a Boston company. A. U. Mills of Tacoma, Wash., is president. A 20-stamp mill will be built. There are 2000 feet of tunnel and shaft work done.
D. S. Sanford of the Shorty Hope M.&M. Co. says work will be resumed on the Shorty Hope quartz mine, near Ashland.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The Scribner-Henderson mine, near Wolf Creek, has been sold to the Mountainview Copper Co., of which W. E. Olmstead is manager, and which owns copper interests in the Waldo district. The Scribner-Henderson ores are free milling and development will begin next week and a complete plant and mill will be installed.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 28, 1903, page 142
The Pease hydraulic mine on Upper Grave Creek, near Grants Pass, has installed an additional giant.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 7, 1903, page 158
W. E. Olmstead, manager of the Mountain View Copper Co., that recently bought the Scribner-Henderson mines near Wolf Creek, says he will install a 30-stamp mill.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 14, 1903, page 174
The Oro Fino quartz mine, in Jumpoff Joe district, near Merlin, is to be opened up this spring and a mill installed in the summer, says manager Chase, of Portland. The Oro Fino has two veins, parallel and 40 feet apart, and a tunnel, 600 feet in length taps one at a depth of 125 feet from the surface. A crosscut from this will be run to cut the parallel vein which was the one worked at the surface.
The Golden Drift M. Co. has moved its sawmill near the dam being built by it across the Rogue River, at the Dry Diggings, near Grants Pass. The dam will be finished next month, after which machinery will be installed in time for the beginning of the fall season. This winter the company has had two giants at work in the diggings, using water from Jones Creek.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 21, 1903, page 189
Manager H. Wood, of the company which has taken up the claims showing jade recently found on Althouse and Indian creeks, near Althouse, says development work will begin next week.
At the Hall group of mines on Grave Creek, owned by J. & G. Hall of Grants Pass, development has uncovered a body of black oxide of manganese in quartz which carries values in gold.
While piping at the lower end of their placer diggings on Galice Creek, near Grants Pass, the St. Helens & Galice Co. recently struck an unexpected channel that is yielding pay. This channel is found to extend for several hundred feet along the creek and to carry values through its whole extent.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 28, 1903, page 205
JACKSON COUNTY.The United States M.&M. Co. has been incorporated by E. A. L. Smith, F. J. Catterlin and J. R. James, to operate a group of mines in Water Gulch, Sams Creek district, 2½ miles from Gold Hill.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The Gold Bug mine, on Mount Reuben, near Grants Pass, has been temporarily closed down, due to an impending change of management. The mine is opened to a depth of 600 feet and shows high-grade ore.
The Copper Stain mine, on Mount Reuben, owned by Dana Bros., will have a stamp mill and other machinery.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 18, 1903, page 254
JACKSON COUNTY.(Special Correspondence)--Ward & Co., the purchasers of the copper mine on the Illinois River, are sending via Jacksonville supplies and men for opening up the mine.
Jacksonville, April 20.It ia locally reported the Elliott Creek copper mines in the Siskiyou Mountains, near the state line, southwest of Ashland, have been sold to P. Clarke of Spokane, Wash., for $210,000, of which $65,000 has been paid down. Development work will begin next week. A daily stage line has been put on between Jacksonville and the mines.
The Joe Creek copper mines, 25 miles from Jacksonville, have been sold to P. Clark of Butte, Mont., for $210,000.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.Superintendent J. T. Logan of the Simmons-Cameron placer mine, near Waldo, says they have had a profitable run this season. The hydraulic elevator has permitted of handling a large amount of gravel at less cost than in previous seasons.
At the Kremer-Palmer mine of Mt. Reuben, near Grants Pass, a 4-stamp mill has been put in. The ledge being opened up shows 5 feet wide, carrying values in free gold.
S. Bowden of Spokane, Wash., has taken over the Free and Easy quartz mine, near Grants Pass.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 25, 1903, page 271
JACKSON COUNTY.The Eureka quartz mine, on Steamboat Creek, one of the larger tributaries of the upper Applegate River, near Jacksonville, is being worked by G. S. & J. M. Bristow, A. Wakefield, W. H. Mowat, J. L. Penton and A. Ahlstrom of Ashland, owners. The vein is showing a width of 18 inches and assays $100.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.J. G. Hayden is working his quartz mine on Galice Creek, near Placer, and handling the ore in an arrastra, water power being used. The vein has an average width of 20 inches and runs $20 per ton. The ore carries some sulphurets.
Superintendent C. D. Crane has seven men at work at the Lucky Queen mine, Jumpoff Joe district, near Merlin, being operated under a bond held by W. F. Harrington of Ashland. A tunnel has been run to connect with a winze of the old workings. Another tunnel is being run which will tap the ledge at a depth of 70 feet.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 9, 1903, page 309
The Kramer-Palmer quartz mill on Mt. Reuben, near Grants Pass, is in operation. The mill is of four stamps, run by water power, and the ore free-milling. An impounding dam has been constructed to catch the tailings. The mine is on the Rogue River side of Mt. Reuben, near the mouth of Whiskey Creek.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 16, 1903, page 324
JACKSON COUNTY.A 5-stamp mill and other machinery have been installed at the Bowden quartz mine, near Gold Hill, by the Bowden G.M. Co. of Los Angeles, Cal. They have run a number of tunnels and shafts and exposed a workable ore body.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The smelter at the Sowell copper mine, near Waldo, will be blown in next week. These mines are owned by the Mountain View Copper Co. The ledges have been opened to depth and carry values in gold with the copper. The question of transportation is expected to be settled this summer by building in of the Oregon & Pacific Railroad, which line will pass through the center of Waldo district. The Waldo S.&M. Co. are preparing to open up their mines next month.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 23, 1903, page 341
W. T. Cope is developing the quartz mine of Schrimpf Bros. on Maple Gulch on the Applegate River, near Provolt, under bond.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 30, 1903, page 357
JACKSON COUNTY.Superintendent J. P. Harvey of the Blue Ledge C. Co. of Upper Applegate, on Joe Creek, near Jacksonville, says a diamond drill outfit is being set up to prospect their ground. The Blue Ledge Co. has fifteen men at work on two tunnels they are driving at the main ledge.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.A strike of copper ore is reported on Collier Creek, in Lower Illinois River district, near Grants Pass, by F. Reed of Roseburg, et al. Some of the ore shows native copper. The find was made in the Collier Creek country, 18 miles south of Rogue River and west of the Illinois River, of which Collier Creek is a tributary. Sixteen claims were located.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 6, 1903, page 373
JACKSON COUNTY.J. A. Whitman and J. D. Heard of Ashland have begun operations on a group of placer claims on Steve's Fork of Steamboat Lake, near Steamboat, comprising 880 acres of mining ground. They have twenty men at work and expect to be piping by July 15th. The water supply is sufficient to run the year round, except a few weeks in the winter when the water may freeze in the ditch. Later a 3-mile ditch will be built to cover their whole area.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.At the Gopher quartz mine, in Jumpoff Joe district, near Grants Pass, men are at work crosscutting the ledge and taking out ore. The Gopher has a small stamp mill.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 20, 1903, page 402
The Alameda M. Co. report developments progressing on their gold-copper mine, near Galice.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 4, 1903, page 13
At the Greenback mine, on Grave Creek, at Greenback, superintendent C. W. Thompson says work is progressing. The machinery for the 100-ton cyanide plant is in place and ten more stamps are being added to the mill, making a total of forty stamps. The ledges of the Greenback mine lie in Browning Mountain and three drifts have been cut through the hill. The old mill, with its ten stamps, sits on one side of the mountain and the new mill, with thirty stamps, is 450 feet lower and on the opposite aide of the mountain. The cyanide plant is near the 30-stamp mill. The new equipment is below the ninth level of the mine. The mine is electric lighted throughout and there are 7500 feet of tunnels, drifts and upraises, says the Ashland Record.
The Golconda quartz mine, near Provolt, under development by D. J. Lawton et al., has a double shift at work, drifting on a 6-foot vein at a depth of 200 feet. The ore carries free gold and sulphurets.
At the Lucky Cuss mine, near Murphy, owned by Schrimpf Bros., superintendent W. T. Cope reports work going ahead.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 18, 1903, page 44
Carr & Terry, of Galice, have bought the Bradford placer on Silver Creek and will develop it, putting in hydraulic equipment. This ground is on a bench 150 feet above the creek bed. Todd Creek, a tributary of Silver Creek, furnishes a water right. The ground has been worked to some extent by hand.
Ingram & Ramsey are continuing development work on their copper group in Slate Creek district, near Grants Pass. Assays show values of 10% copper.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 25, 1903, page 58
W. H. Hampton is constructing a tubular hydraulic elevator at Deep Gravel placer.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 1, 1903, page 73
JACKSON COUNTY.The Jacksonville Times says during the past year a total of 350 mining claims were located in Jackson County.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.Work is progressing at the Granite Hill mines, near Grants Pass, and the 10-stamp mill is expected to be in operation early in September. Development work has been carried on steadily. Improvements in the equipment of the Granite Hill placers are also in contemplation, among them a hydraulic elevator on the lower part of the ground.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 8, 1903, page 91
Placer Mining in Southern Oregon.Placer mining in Southern Oregon several years ago passed the romantic stage, and has resolved itself to a conservative industry, and the many large hydraulic mines that are now robbing the old channels and auriferous hills in the Southern Oregon placer fields of their gold are conducted on business methods. The numerous auriferous deposits in the many streams, the mild winters, and the absence of restricting mining laws, make Southern Oregon an ideal mining region. Beds of ancient channels are found along the rivers and streams. It is in the gravel of these ancient channels that the hydraulic mines are located. The dirt, the gravel and the decomposed matter of these old channels are all auriferous in depth from 8 to 200 feet.
Written for the Mining and Scientific Press by
Dennis H. Stovall, B.S.
It requires capital, skill and much labor to properly equip a Southern Oregon hydraulic mine. After the diggings have been successfully tested by thorough prospecting, the next important problem is the water supply. (See illustration, front page.) From the headwaters of the nearest stream the water is conveyed around steep mountainsides in ditches that require in places as much work to construct as would a railroad. Long flumes, trestled high, lead the water across deep canyons and gulches, and in many instances long tunnels are driven through mountains. After 10, 20 or 30 winding miles the water is brought to the reservoir on a hilltop several hundred feet above the diggings. The steel pipes lead down to the diggings from the reservoir and, forking, branch off in smaller pipes to the several giants.
As the amount of mining done is dependent upon the water supply--other things being equal--that miner who has the best supply for the longest season is the most fortunate. This fact, and the recognition of it, has brought about many important improvements in the matter of hydraulic mining equipment in Southern Oregon in recent years. Placer miners are enlarging their ditches, building bigger and better reservoirs, and doing all possible to keep up a "pipe head" as late in the summer as possible. Formerly a large number--in fact, nearly all--of the placers were obliged to close down early in March or April. Now many of the larger ones operate their giants night and day till June and July, and a few during the day throughout the summer. One mining company, operating on Galice Creek, is now at work building two storage reservoirs at the head of their ditch, that the giants may be supplied a steady and constant flow all summer.
As the amount of placer ground which a majority of the mines possess is very large, the question of getting the greatest returns for the labor and capital invested resolves itself to the matter of keeping the giants turned on the gravel banks continually. Closely allied with this is the saving of the gold after the gravel is disintegrated, and sluices are so constructed that with a system of undercurrents not only the coarse gold is caught, but also the flour gold, only a very small percentage of the dust-like particles escaping. Hungarian riffles, block riffles, crossbar riffles, pole riffles and the ordinary bedrock riffles are employed in the sluices to catch the gold. The natural rock riffle in the bedrock race proves to be one of the best for catching gold, and it is here that nearly all of the nuggets and much of the finer gold are found. The sluice boxes are arranged at the end of the bedrock race. Specially prepared crossbar riffles, made of steel, fit in the bottom of the sluices, and are the most used by the hydraulic miners of this section. Farther on, down toward the dump, the last opportunity of catching the gold is utilized by block and pole riffles. The undercurrents are placed alongside the sluice boxes and so arranged that the water, black sand and finer particles are drawn off and spread out over a broad riffle table, where the sand and fine gold particles settle.
For night work the larger mines have a score or more of arc lights suspended over the diggings. These are run by the mine's electric light plant. Others use locomotive headlights, stationed conveniently about the grounds.
After the first expense of buying and equipping the mine, it costs at the most favorably situated mines from 1½ to 5 cents a yard to hydraulic in Southern Oregon. The gravel generally pays from 6 to 20 cents a yard. The average is between 8 and 12 cents. Giants pay from $75 to $100 a day each.
All placer ground in this section is what the miner calls "spotted"--the values are not regularly distributed. All, however, are possessed of the same characteristics. On the bottom, next the bedrock, are the boulders, the nuggets and coarse gold. Above this is the finer gravel and dirt, lying in strata of blue and gray. Still above this is the capping of red clay, which carries values in flour gold.
"Cleanup," as the miners term it, usually comes at the end of the season, when there is no longer sufficient water to supply the giants with a full pipe head. The bedrock race is first swept clean and every particle of the precious metal gathered up. The riffles are then lifted from the sluices, thoroughly rinsed and laid aside. With a small stream of water flowing through, the mass of gold and dirt on the sluice floor is swept gently to and fro with a brush broom. The dirt and refuse are carried away by water and flow off over the dump, revealing the black sand and the gold particles in the bottom. The gold is held as an amalgam by the quicksilver that is sprinkled frequently into the sluices during the process of mining. The coarser pieces are first gathered up and the remaining mass swept into piles, scooped up and put into strong bags or glass jars. This done, the gold is ready for the refinery and mint.
Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 15, 1903, pages 100-101
It is intended to place a 40-stamp mill on the Benton mine, on Whiskey Creek, in the Mt. Reuben district near Grants Pass this fall, says the Courier. There is plenty of water power for the operation of mill and electric plant.
The Gold King mine, on Josephine Creek near Grants Pass, has been bought by a company composed of A. J. Roe, D. T. and J. A. Evans, of Fort Worth, Tex., and M. Marks, of Grants Pass, who is superintendent. The new owners will put on a complete equipment of mining machinery, with stamp mill, pumping plant, etc. Men will be started to work on the main shaft.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 15, 1903, page 106
The St. Helens & Galice M. Co., operating on Galice Creek, near Grants Pass, report making preparations for completion of the reservoir at the head of the high ditch; enlarging of all ditches and flumes, putting in an additional hydraulic plant and derrick and a general increase in the facilities for operating at Galice Creek, including the cutting and hauling of 25,000 feet of lumber for the next season's work; also deepening the bedrock cuts, says the Courier.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 22, 1903, page 122
DOUGLAS COUNTY.I. D. Davidson of Portland, treasurer of the Gold Hill & Bohemia M. Co., near Bohemia, says work will be started September 1 on their Wall Street group. Later a mill will be erected. The ore is copper, gold and silver.
The Oregon Securities Co. has bought the Broadway group of mines, adjoining the Champion basin, near Bohemia. This gives the company a continuous strip of 3 miles of ground. L. Y. Keady, C. H. Thompson, A. W. Goddard, J. B. Glover and J. H. McNicholas of Portland are interested. Improvements and increased developments are under way. There are forty men at work on a 30-stamp mill (the combining of the three 10-stamp mills that have been on different parts of the property). These mills have been idle for some time owing to the scarcity of water, but, combined, will be operated by electricity, generated by water power. A gravity double-track tramway will convey the ore to the mill. Air drills will be used in development, and a tunnel 1400 feet long will be driven. Three saw mills are running steadily on the company's property, says the Portland Telegram.
It is reported M. O. Warner of Eugene and J. D. Heard of Medford are arranging to build a smelter at Bohemia, work to begin next month.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.J. M. Marks of Seattle, Wash., has a bond on the Gold Mining King group of claims and will build a mill thereon. He will also put in a pumping plant and other machinery.
Two carloads of hydraulic pipe for the Simmons-Cameron placer of Waldo are on the ground, says manager J. T. Logan. The pipe is in three sizes, 24, 20 and 18 inches in diameter. Last season's work gave satisfactory results with the hydraulic elevator in operation This year he intends to raise the gravel to height of 34 feet.
The Galice Greek H.M. Co., on Galice Creek, near Grants Pass, has men at work digging ditches and building the flume, as well as operating the sawmill and building a reservoir. The sawmill is cutting 5000 feet of lumber from fir and pine timber. This lumber could not be bought on the outside for less than $30 per 1000 feet, but the company operating its own mill cuts it for $7, says manager A. B. Cousin. A rock-filled dam 22 feet high has been built at the head of the main ditch. Besides the flume, which will carry the gravel, there will be five giants at work.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 29, 1903, pages 139-140
Men have been put to work at the Riverside mine, near Bohemia. Work will hereafter be done by the day, instead of by contract. Another tunnel has been started on the vein, which will be used as a working tunnel for the entire group.
"Douglas County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 5, 1903, page 158
DOUGLAS COUNTY.The North Fairview M. Co., W. Faber, of Albany, president, report striking a body of ore carrying values in free gold. On the Maine, one of the 14 claims owned by the company near Bohemia, a ledge 4 feet wide has been opened. H. Leigh is manager.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.A strike is reported made last week at the Granite Hill mines of Louse Creek district, near Grants Pass, owned and being developed by the American G. Fields Co., of Chicago, Ill., W. J. Morphy, manager. In running a drift on the 125-foot level to connect the bottom of the vertical shaft with the drift an 11-foot vein has been opened, carrying values in free gold and sulphurets. The boiler and other machinery has been set up, and the air compressor and drills will be at work this week. The shaft will be continued down to 600 feet. The 5-stamp mill is crushing rock from the stope on the 135-foot level. A 10-stamp mill of 1000-pound stamps is going up.
The Eureka mine, on Soldier Creek, near Grants Pass, has reverted to its former owner and A. F. Nelson is manager, and will increase development work. The mine is equipped with a 10-stamp mill.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 12, 1903, page 175
DOUGLAS COUNTY.Gold- and copper-bearing ore is reported found on Section Creek, 1 mile southwest of Glendale, by C. Stuerhoff.
JACKSON COUNTY.The Gold Hill dam across the Rogue River, near Gold Hill, built to conserve the water for power purposes, has exposed a gravel bar carrying placer gold in the bed of the stream which is believed when worked will more than repay the cost of building the barrier which caused its discovery, says the Telegram. A. Orme, foreman of dam construction, panned out $100 in two and one-half hours, and the Condor Power Co , to whom the dam belongs, are making preparations to work the property. The bed of Rogue River adjacent to the dam Is being thoroughly prospected.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The St. Helens M. Co and the Galice Hydraulic M. Co., on Galice Creek, near Grants Pass, have been consolidated as the Galice Con. M. Co., which has been incorporated at Portland by A. B. Cousin, E. E. Cable, H. Wiedler, G. B. Hengen, G. W. Kirkley, G. E. Waggoner and W. P. Wagy. A. B. Cousin of Portland is manager. The placer ground bought in the consolidation contains 600 acres, and well covered with timber. Water power of sufficient capacity to furnish electricity for their purposes is nearby. The work thus far done is 10 miles of ditches, 11 miles of pipelines, derricks, sawmill, blacksmith shop and other buildings. The improvements to be added will be an 8-foot flume, which will be capable of running six giants and will have taps along its entire distance, where connections can be made. Manager Cousin has twenty-five men at work.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 19, 1903, page 193
DOUGLAS COUNTY.Manager J. F. Hard says he is preparing to build a sawmill of 7000 feet daily capacity on the Vesuvius claim, near Bohemia, to cut lumber for use on Hard's mining properties in Bohemia district.
The flume and dam of the Oregon Securities Co., near Bohemia, are completed and the power house under way. The Champion Tunnel is going ahead, but all the work done thus far has been by hand. Coal is being hauled to the mine and the compressors will start next week. It is expected to have the mine and mill running to full capacity by Nov. 1st. Work is progressing on the Vesuvius and Oregon-Colorado mines.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The Dowell mines, on Mount Baldy, 3 miles east of Grants Pass, have been bought by the Comstock G.M. Co. of Danville, Ill. The Dowell mines consist of three quartz claims, the Golden Eagle, Mountain Eagle and Gray Eagle, and are partially developed. At one time a mill was operated on the claims.
The Gold King mine, on Josephine Creek, near Grants Pass, has been bought by the Gold King M. Co., comprised of Texas men who have held it under bond. M. Marks of Seattle, Wash., is superintendent. The shaft that is being sunk shows a vein 6 feet wide and carrying average values of $16 a ton in gold.
C. L. Mangum is developing a group of fourteen copper claims near Waldo. The claims are between the Cowboy and Waldo mines of the Waldo S.&M. Co. The ledges are from 4 to 25 feet in width.
The Champlin M. Co., composed of Montana and Chicago, Ill., men, who will dredge Foots Creek, a few miles south of Grants Pass, report preliminary work under way. Shipments of lumber are arriving, both for the construction of the dredger and for the dam that is being built across the creek near its junction with Rogue River.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 26, 1903, page 209
Hydraulic Mining in Southern Oregon.The little county of Josephine alone, in Southern Oregon, contains nearly 100 hydraulic placer mines--placers they are that are busy from three to nine months in the year. Probably there is no other section of like area the world over that can claim such an acreage of placer ground. The story of the origin of this big placer field is an interesting one, notwithstanding the fact of its being geological in tone. A long time ago, before this part of old earth was torn upside down and made over again, there flowed northward from what is now Siskiyou County, Cal., a great river. This mighty stream was from ½ mile to 1 mile in width, and its ancient bed can be traced today from the Oregon-California line northward through the Waldo, Illinois, Galice, Grave and Cow Creek districts, disappearing entirely near Glendale, where the mountains of Cow Creek Canyon have buried it from view. The formation of new mountains, rivers and streams have uncovered portions of the ancient stream's bed; at others they have buried it deep beneath towering crags and mountain peaks. But it is the auriferous filling, the conglomerate mass of gravel, clay and decomposed matter of this ancient river that makes the diggings of the placer mines of Southern Oregon today. Streams and rivers cutting across this old channel have scattered the gold for miles and formed the smaller later channels along these waterways and gulches. A number of the largest of the Southern Oregon placer mines are located directly on this ancient channel, among them being the Old Channel and Galice Creek hydraulic mines of Galice Creek; the Deep Gravel, Simmons, Osgood and Wilson-Meredith of Waldo district, and the Columbia, Lewis and others of Grave Creek district. On the rocks and boulders of these diggings are found imprinted the forms of fishes and strange creatures that inhabited the waters of the ancient rivers in the long ago.
Written for the Mining and Scientific Press by
Dennis H. Stovall, B.S.
How this old channel came to be filled from rim to rim, heaped up in many places with an auriferous filling, is something the writer cannot explain; as a matter of fact, the practical miner gives but little time to a study of it, but uses his "thinker" to the all-important matter of securing better and more economical methods of getting and saving the gold. The banks in this old channel lie from 10 to 230 feet deep on the bedrock. The greatest bank throughout its whole extent is that being worked by the Old Channel Mining Co. in the Galice district. This gravel bank has a height of 235 feet, and is being operated upon at the present time by a battery of two giants, working under a gravity pressure of 500 feet. To be safe, the piper is obliged to play his giant on this bank from a distance of 450 feet. The great streams gnaw at the foot of the towering pile, and the gravel falls off in slabs of 10,000 tons. The dirt of this old channel yields easily to the giants, and there is a comparative absence of big boulders.
All of the ground in this old channel carries gold. First, there is the coarse gold found with the boulders and the lower stratum next the bedrock. Above this is the stratum known as "pipe clay" by the placer miners; and still above this is the capping of red clay, carrying its values in fine or flour gold, a large percent of which is saved by a system of undercurrents. This is a steel screen arrangement in the bottom of sluices through which the black sand and finer particles are drawn off and spread out over a broad riffle table. This enables the miner to catch both the flour gold and the platinum, which in late years has been found to be a very valuable part of the black sand of these diggings, but which in years past was thrown away as valueless.
In recent years there has been a general combination of minor or smaller placer holdings in Southern Oregon into large properties under control of one management. It is found better for all concerned to combine the water rights and facilities, as one claim of twenty acres does not in many instances make sufficient territory to warrant the expenditure of a great sum in the construction of large ditches and of a length necessary to tap the main watercourse far enough up to give an elevation of 100 feet above the ground to be worked; and a pressure of less than 175 feet is not of high efficiency in working placer ground by hydraulicking. There are streams in Southern Oregon on which placer bars and channels are located that have sufficient fall to allow a pressure of 275 feet with 1 mile of ditch by running the ditch with a grade of 1 inch to the rod; but these favorable conditions seldom prevail, and to get such a fall a ditch from 5 to 20 miles in length is necessary. There are a number of ditches in Southern Oregon of from 20 to 35 miles in length, constructed at great cost around the steep and rocky mountainsides, flumed across gulches and tunneled through solid rock. It is this feature of placer mining in Southern Oregon that the miner must first consider, for it is the big feature of the business. Where will I get my water supply; how many miles of ditch will it require to bring it to my ground; how much will it cost, and how much pressure will I have when I get it there? Ditches here have cost all the way from $2000 to $60,000; but, once built, they are there to stay, as slides and breaks do not figure so materially in the running expense of a ditch in this country.
Another feature that figures prominently in the business of placer mining in Southern Oregon, as in all other placer regions, is that of dumping grounds for the tailings. Fortunately, there are no laws in Oregon that prevent the miner from dumping his tailings into Rogue River or any of its tributaries, and it is on these that all of the placer mines are located. It only remains for him to have plenty of fall
from the end of his sluices to the river, stream or gulch below. The greater part of this old channel in question lies far up on the mountaintops, or at sufficient elevation to allow the miner ample dump for mountains of tailings and refuse. At the Old Channel mines there is a sheer fall of nearly 500 feet from the end of the sluice to the bottom of the canyon below. Yet there is much rich ground lying along gulches and streams that has not sufficient slope to carry away the tailings. For a long time this ground lay untouched. Then the "grizzly" and the "hydraulic elevator" were introduced and the way was easy. By these machines the tailings, boulders and refuse are lifted to a height of 35 and 40 feet, thus giving dump enough to last for a number of years without the elevator being moved.
Taken all in all, placer mining in Southern Oregon is a very conservative business--much more so, in fact, than quartz mining generally in this or any other country, for the reason that the placer miner has all of the elements of his business in sight, and he can compute beforehand just what it will cost to equip his property, how much it will require to operate it and how much he will realize, as the ground to be worked can be thoroughly tested and prospected before a shovel of dirt is moved for mining purposes. Mines here clean up from $2000 to $100,000 annually, depending upon the richness and amount of ground worked. It costs from 2 to 5 cents per yard to work the ground--ground that produces from 8 to 20 cents per yard, leaving a good margin of profit. Gravel that averages 20 cents per yard will pay the miner his money back in two years with interest; if the ground pays 30 cents, it is considered a bonanza. The average ground of the Southern Oregon old channels runs from 6 to 8 cents a yard. Ground of this worth, where there is a water supply of 2000 inches for eight months in the year and good dumping grounds, forms the elements for the making of a paying placer mine--and it can be truthfully stated that there is much of this ground in the old channel placer fields of the Southern Oregon districts.
Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 3, 1903, page 216 See photos accompanying this article.
The New York & Western M. Co. of Grants Pass has bought a number of quartz properties in Southern Oregon, and has made final payment on the Oregon Belle mine, bonded last winter for $30,000. The Oregon Belle mine is on Forest Creek. It is intended to open it up farther and put in more machinery. The ledges carry free gold and sulphides.
A Colorado company, under manager J. P. Murphy, is preparing to work the Queen of Bronze copper mine near Waldo. The same parties are interested in the mines of the Waldo S.&M. Co. A steam hoist is being set up at the Queen of Bronze, and will sink the main shaft to depth of 600 feet. The ledges of this mine are from 4 to 11 feet wide, carrying 12% copper, with gold. The Queen of Bronze is near the mines of the Waldo S.&M. Co.
Development work will be increased on the Wolf Creek group, near Grants Pass, starting this month. It is expected water will be plentiful for working the placer properties in connection with the quartz ledge that cuts through the ledge, says M. B. Bozarth of Portland, secretary of the company. There is sufficient water for five to seven months in the year to work the placer, but it is intended to work the quartz ledge by tunnel. A 700-foot tunnel will be run.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 3, 1903, page 226
DOUGLAS COUNTY.Operations are being resumed on the Gold Bug mine, on Mount Reuben, southwest of Glendale, says superintendent W. S. Haskins. Additional machinery has been put in, the lower levels cleaned out and retimbered. The mill will also resume.
The Stocks and Harlow group, near Bohemia, is in operation again. Miners are at work blocking out ore for the winter's run.
D. F. Letsinger, interested with N. F. Wyatt in five claims on the ridge near Cottage Grove, reports development progressing, and 1000 feet of tunnel have been driven. The Golden Rule claim shows width of ledge 18 feet. Ledge on Rambler No. 2 gave surface assay of $6. The Puzzle claim is the one on which the main tunnel is being driven, and this is in 170 feet, and will tap Rambler No. 2 ledge at depth of 150 feet. A mill site has been located, with abundance of water and wood.
JACKSON COUNTY.F. Kalb of Amsterdam, N.Y., and treasurer of the New York & Western M. Co., reports making final payment on the Oregon Belle mine on Forest Creek, 7 miles west of Jacksonville, which his company bought for $30,000. W. C. Kitto is superintendent. It is intended this winter to put in a quartz mill, the power to be electrical.
JOSEPHINE COUNTY.The Waratah Minerals Co., a department of the Welabach Gas Fitting Co. of Philadelphia, Pa., is preparing to put in a platinum mining plant at the Old Channel mines on Galice Creek, near Grants Pass, says J. R. Harvey, manager of the Old Channel mines. W. F. Smith, manager of the Waratah Minerals Co., has begun putting in the machinery. These placers will hereafter be operated under lease by J. R. Harvey, and will be known as "The Royal Group Mines." Platinum occurs in these placers both free and with rhodium, osmium, iridium and palladium. The saving of the platinum concentrates does not interfere with the gold mining operations. The sands and concentrates are drawn from the sluice boxes through a ½-inch grizzly, then spread out over a broad riffle table to catch the flour gold, and later drawn through a ½-inch screen and spread over cocoa mat riffles, where the concentrates settle and are gathered up. This system of undercurrents and riffles is so arranged that a part of them can be cleaned every day during the mining season. The concentrates are finally milled and run over a concentrating table, and they are valued at $160 a ton in gold and platinum, says the Telegram.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 10, 1903, page 243
Douglas County.The Star mine, near Bohemia, owned by G. B. Hengen et al. of New York, will build a 10-stamp mill this fall. Work to the extent of 900 feet of tunnel has been done on the ore. The group consists of fourteen full claims. The power line will be extended from the Oregon Securities Co., and electricity will be used to operate the Star mine and mill. The Oregon Securities Co.'s mill at Bohemia will begin dropping its thirty stamps Nov. 1, says superintendent Mathews.
F. J. Hard of Bohemia has closed a deal in which be becomes owner of the Stocks & Harlow mining property in Bohemia district. The Stocks & Harlow mine is on the west slope of Fairview mountain and joins the Vesuvius, which Hard owns.
Josephine County.The Mountain View C. Co. mines (the Sowell mines), in Waldo district, are reported sold to the Vulcan C. Co. of San Francisco, Cal., for $24,000.
The Dutch Johnnie hydraulic placer mine, on Rogue River, below Grants Pass, which has been in litigation for several years, has been settled, and W. H. Flannagan has control. He will operate it this winter. Men are at work getting the piping and flumes in shape. The banks are 60 feet in depth, and there is said to be water enough to keep the giants running nine months in the year.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 17, 1903, page 261
Undercurrents for Saving Flour Gold and Platinum Sands.Since the discovery that the old channel placer diggings of Northern California and Southern Oregon contained much fine or flour gold, and the more recent discovery that they also contained platinum concentrates and sands in considerable abundance, much attention has been paid by the miners to the matter of methods for saving these values. A system of undercurrents attached to the sluice boxes has been found by many to be the best method for saving flour gold and black sand. The best system that the writer has found in his rounds of the Southern Oregon placers is that in use at the Royal Group hydraulic mines of Galice district. Manager J. R. Harvey of these placers has given much of his time to this work alone, with the result of having a system of undercurrents that practically saves all of the flour gold and platinum concentrates.
Written for the Mining and Scientific Press by
Dennis H. Stovall, B.S.
The accompanying photograph shows a part of an undercurrent as attached to the sluice box. The sluice box itself is supplied with a full complement of riffles, there being first a long bedrock race cut across the diggings which catches all of the nuggets and coarse gold; then the sluice boxes are reached with, first, a system of standard steel riffles, followed by block riffles, all of which can be easily lifted and rinsed, leaving a smooth floor to clean from at cleanup. The undercurrents set near the end of the sluice boxes. About one-half of the flow of water is drawn down through a ½-inch grizzly in the bottom of the sluice. The dropping of this water through the grizzly creates a suction and carries down with it all of the black sand and flour gold that would have otherwise went on over the dump with the waste water and boulders. The water drawn off is first spread out over a broad riffle table, as shown on the left in the photo. This table is about 10 feet wide and 13 feet in length. Here the coarser particles and much of the flour gold settles. This flour gold and the platinum sand acts very much like coffee grounds when stirred--they will not settle so long as they are disturbed. For this reason they are easily drawn off, and the problem then resolves itself into the question of how to settle them.
After the sands pass over this first undercurrent they are carried further and dropped into a hopper and run through a steel screen with ⅛-inch openings. Everything larger than ⅛ inch in diameter passes over this screen and is lost, but these are usually only small pebbles, as the gold particles of that size are caught long before, and the platinum particles are all smaller in size. Everything that runs through this screen is spread out over a riffle of cocoa matting. This riffle table is arranged in divisions so that each strip of matting can be lifted up and cleaned when covered with sands, the water being turned on the other divisions.
The sands that are caught on the cocoa matting riffles are worth from $140 to $170 a ton, the values being about equally divided between platinum and gold. The sands that are found on the "old channel belt" of Southern Oregon and Northern California, recently described by the writer in the Mining and Scientific Press, are not what are commonly known as "black sands." They are a black sand in one sense, but they are more than that--they not only carry platinum and gold in the free state, but in combination also. They are largely refractory and contain all of the metals of the platinum group.
W. F. Smith, a representative of the Welsbach company of Philadelphia, has been experimenting and working in the placer diggings of the old channel placer belt of Northern California and Southern Oregon for over two years past. He has found that platinum concentrates and flour gold occur in quantity all the way from Happy Camp, Cal., to Rogue River, Southern Oregon. His company put in undercurrents in the Waldo placer mines of southern Josephine County last year and saved several tons of platinum sands. The company, or a department of it, known as the Waratah Minerals Co., is now installing a plant at the Royal Group mines on Galice. This plant will be equipped with a mill and concentrating tables for treating the sands after they are taken from the undercurrents.
The manager of the Royal Group mines estimates that his undercurrents pay the running expense of his mine, leaving the gold a clear "pickup." They do not interfere with the regular process of gold mining. The same results could be obtained at a number of placer mines in Northern California and Southern Oregon, where undercurrents are not now in use.
Platinum concentrates have much the appearance of coarse gunpowder. They are not black, but are a dark steel gray. Their metallic luster is easily discerned with a close examination.
Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 24, 1903, page 267
Douglas County.The 30-stamp mill of the Oregon Securities Co., near Bohemia, is about completed and will begin dropping stamps next week.
Jackson County.The New York & Western Mines Co. is preparing to increase development work at the Oregon Belle mine, in Forest Creek district, 7 miles southwest of Jacksonville. Manager Gunnell, of Grants Pass, says they will put in a steam hoist, compressor and other machinery, and it is proposed to build a mill in the spring. A tunnel has been started and will be driven in 200 feet below the old workings.
Josephine County.The New York & Western M. Co. is preparing to increase development work at the Oregon Belle mine in Forest Creek district, near Grants Pass. Manager Gunnell says they are putting in a steam hoist, compressor and other machinery. By next spring they expect the property will be ready for a mill. A tunnel has been started and will be driven in 200 feet below the old workings.
The double-compartment shaft being sunk in the Granite Hill mines on Granite Hill, near Grants Pass, by the American Gold Fields Co., has cut an 11-foot ledge, and 5 feet of the hanging wall carries average values of $50 a ton. The remainder of the foot wall averages $11 a ton. Free gold and galena are shown. This shaft will be sunk to depth of 600 or 700 feet and the ledge crosscut at every 100-foot level. The 5-stamp mill is kept at work on ore of the upper stopes. A 10-stamp mill is being built. A boiler, hoists, compressors and air drills have been put in at the Granite Hill mines, says superintendent Wickersham. A sawmill is operated by the company in the heavy fir timber of its claims. There are also several hundred acres of placer ground on the Granite Hill properties, equipped with a hydraulic plant, which will be operated this winter.
The dam which the Golden Drift M. Co. is building across Rogue River, near Grants Pass, is about completed, says the Jacksonville Times. It is built to its required height across the stream and men are filling in the cribs. The machinery will not be put in till spring. There are fifty men employed in construction of the dam and operating the sawmill. This dam will be capable of supplying 10,000 H.P., part of which will be used in operating the pumps that will supply the giants in Dry Diggings placers with water. The Golden Drift Co. owns 1000 acres of placer ground in Dry Diggings that will be piped off when the dam is completed and the pumps and giants put in.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 31, 1903, page 294
A Montejus and Filter Press for Cyanidation.In recent years there has been quite an innovation in methods of extracting gold from pulverized base ores or tailings. This innovation has largely been in the nature of filter presses, as a valuable and additional agent in the treatment of pulp and slimes by the cyanide or other processes of extraction. At the Greenback mine, Southern Oregon, superintendent C. W. Thompson has placed in commission a cyanide plant that goes one step farther than any other process used in the mines of this part of the West. This is a montejus and filter press. Through the agency of this plant Mr. Thompson is able to save at least 95% of the assay values of the ore.
Written for the Mining and Scientific Press by
Dennis H. Stovall, B.S.
The montejus and filter press were manufactured in Germany and set up at the Greenback mine at a considerable cost, but it is proving a good investment. The filter press feature of the plant is but little unlike other filter presses that have been introduced in the mines of America, Australia and New Zealand, but as far as the writer is informed no other mine in America has yet introduced the montejus. This latter machine, in its single piece, weighed five tons, and resembles a huge boiler. It was set on end and buried in the ground till but a small part of its upper portion remains above the floor of the mill. (See illustration front page). The route of the tailings, after leaving the concentrators, is first to the sump tanks, thence to the montejus, whence they are forced to the filter press.
The large pipe shown in the illustration, running from the top of the montejus to the right, connects with the sump or slime tanks, and another running out of the tank higher up connects with sand tanks. The arrangement for filling and discharging is automatic, being operated by compressed air.
In the cyanide plant of the Greenback mine there are three sand tanks and four slime tanks. The tailings are conveyed from the concentrators, being first separated from the slimes, to the sand tanks. Each sand tank has a capacity of 150 tons, and are so arranged that while one is filling one of the other two are being discharged. The montejus and filter press treat not only the tailings sands, but the slimes also, and each are conveyed by gravity to the montejus, entering it near the top through a large valve. When the montejus is full this valve closes, and the method of emptying it and forcing the pulp to the press is by compressed air supplied by the air compressors in the stamp mill. The air enters through one of two valves, one that has a pipe leading nearly to the bottom of the montejus, and the other only into the top. The pipe leading to the bottom is for agitation, such being necessary at times when the pulp cakes, or becomes too solidly packed. The air under pressure forces the contents of the montejus out through a large pipe that also leads nearly to the bottom of the tank, and through this pipe the tailings and slimes are forced to the filter press, under a pressure of from a few pounds up to eighty pounds per square inch.
The filter press is made up of a series of filter frames, set side by side, and each cored internally with slots, with perforated steel plates between them. Each of these frames sit and revolve on a common axis or shaft, and each are provided with convenient handles or handholds, making it an easy matter to manipulate them. The corings of each filter frame snugly coincide, thus allowing a common passage for the flushing fluid, for charging the chambers, and for the compressed air.
At one end of the frame is arranged a ratchet and wheel lever, with a powerful fulcrum by which a man can easily apply the pressure necessary to operate the press.
The method of treating the wash fluids after they have passed through the tailings cakes in the filter frames is identical to that followed in any cyanide plant.
Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 7, 1903, page 306
Douglas County.At Golden Slipper group, near Bohemia, president W. W. Oglesby reports work progressing. The group consists of nine full claims on east side of Grouse Mountain, running down to and across Horse Heaven Creek. The main tunnel on the Sampson claim is in on the ledge 150 feet, showing a body of concentrating ore. Tunnel No. 2, at 100 feet lower, is in 80 feet on the vein. At upper end of this claim a shaft has been sunk 12 feet on the ledge, which is 4½ feet wide, and shows a body of ore, carrying percentage of copper. The Dewey tunnel, at the lower end of the group, is in 200 feet on a parallel ledge. The group is well timbered and watered and has a mill site.
At the Levens Ledge mine, at Riddle, 2000 feet of tunneling has been done, which shows ledges of gold-bearing quartz, 8 to 12 feet wide. T. T. Burkhart, of Portland, part owner, says they propose to build a 10-stamp mill. The company is composed mainly of Portland men.
Josephine County.C. J. Howard has men at work extending the survey of the Gold Hill High Line Ditch. Under the old survey the ditch was 80 miles in length, but the new survey will nearly double it. It was formerly intended to carry the water of the ditch across Elk and Trail creeks by a pipe line. It has been decided this would not be practical, and instead the ditch will be carried around the head of the two streams mentioned. At the head of Elk and Trail creeks there are bodies of pine and fir timber, and the ditch will make this available for milling and lumbering purposes. The water will also be used by the mines around Gold Hill.
The American G. Fields Co., of Chicago, Ill., which owns the Granite Hill mines on Louse Creek, near Grants Pass, has added to its holdings the Ida and Golden Terry mines, which claims adjoin the Granite Hill. This gives the company 1000 acres of mineral lands on Louse Creek. The Ida and Golden Terry mines will be developed in connection with the Granite Hill properties. The Ida is equipped with a small mill. Both mines are at a higher altitude than the Granite Hill, and the ore will be conveyed by a gravity tramway.
J. F. Wickham, J. H. Fisk, P. S. Bates and J. H. Weber of Portland, owners of the Almeda mine, near Grants Pass, propose building a 100-ton reduction plant. The Almeda mine contains a body of ore carrying copper, gold and silver. Power will be supplied by utilizing water of the Rogue River. Men are at work blocking out ore.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 7, 1903, pages 310-311
Douglas County.G. H. Scott, A. Mute, L. Dobbin and O. Mercer, having leased coal properties 3 miles from Roseburg, on the Southern Pacific railway, have incorporated the Fernie Coal M. Co., with H. Smith as superintendent. The lease was for twenty-five years. The coal is a lignite, and there are said to be several seams, varying in width from 3 to 7 feet. A steam pump is being put in to unwater the prospect holes. The Southern Pacific will put in a 3-mile spur.
Jackson County.Besse & Co. of Seattle, Wash., are putting in a 2-stamp quartz mill on the Pilgrim mine for prospecting a group of eight claims they have under bond known as the South Extension of the Pittsburg on Wagner Creek, near Ashland.
Josephine County.The May Queen, Double Standard and Silver Standard quartz claims on Mount Baldy, near Grants Pass, have been bought by the May Queen M. Co. of Albany, N.Y., and development work is under way. The ledge on the May Queen is 5 feet in width, carrying values in free gold and sulphurets. There is a 2-foot chute in this ledge from which quartz has been shipped to the smelter, giving returns of $26 a ton. A. A. Cameron of Grants Pass is superintendent.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 14, 1903, page 328
Josephine County.Considerable work is being done on Foots Creek, near Grants Pass, by Champlin & Co. They are building a dredger, by which the gravel bed of Foots Creek and much of the lower benches and bars will be worked. The company is building a dam across the creek near the river to raise the water of the stream for the required depth for dredging. Machinery for the dredger is on the ground. The Champlin Co. has bought 1200 acres of placer ground. Dredging will also be done this season on the Illinois and other Southern Oregon streams.
The Yellow Jacket mine, of Foots Creek district, near Grants Pass, has been bought by G. A. Dyson of Eugene for Orme, Shaffer, Mears & McIntyre. Dyson will continue development of the Yellow Jacket.
The Eureka mine of Soldier Creek district, near Grants Pass, has reverted to its former owner, A. F. Nelson, who is arranging to increase development work. The Eureka is equipped with a 10-stamp mill, steam hoists, air compressor and other machinery. The ledge has a width of 6 feet and carries values in sulphurets and free gold of $15 a ton. It is opened to a depth of 150 feet.
The Monumental quartz mine, near Waldo, has been bonded by the Waldo S.&M. Co. and will be developed. The Monumental is a base proposition, the quartz carrying arsenical pyrites. The ledge of the Monumental is said to be 50 feet in width. It is being developed by an inclined shaft, from which drifts and crosscuts are run on the vein. The ore will require a concentrator.
Jackson County.The Bill Nye M. Co., operating on Galls Creek, 3 miles south of Gold Hill, will increase work the coming season. They have a 5-stamp mill and hoist on the ground, which will be placed in position, says superintendent D. R. Andrus. The company has an 80-foot shaft, besides tunnel and drift work. The ore is free milling.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 21, 1903, page 344
DISCOVERY OF STERLING MINE.In view of the increasing output of the Sterling mine, and its wide notoriety through exhibitions of large quantities of its dust in the show windows of Portland, it will be of interest to many people here and to miners generally on the coast to learn how, when and by whom the Sterling camp was first discovered.
By W. J. Plymale.
In the winter of 1854, Aaron Davis and James Sterling were working together on Jackson Creek. They were good miners and worked their claim to the best known advantage at that time, but the yield was not satisfactory. They also owned a ranch a short distance south of Phoenix. Early in the spring they left their claim on Jackson Creek and went out to the ranch to put in a crop. They remained there longer than they expected, and when they returned their claim had been jumped. They had stayed away beyond the limit allowed by the local laws, and forfeited their right to the claim.
They left Jackson Creek and crossed over to the Applegate to prospect. They worked several days and finding nothing satisfactory they returned to the ranch by way of Sterling Creek. When they arrived about where the old town of Sterling used to be, they stopped to rest and take lunch. While there Mr. Sterling said: "This looks like pay dirt--I believe I will prospect a little." He took a pan of dirt from the roots of an upturned tree, and washing it out, got about a dollar. Further prospecting gave like results and showed the place to be rich.
The Indians were considered dangerous to small parties in the mountains at that time, and as they were unarmed and immediately on the Indian trail that led from the valley to Applegate, they thought it unsafe to remain there long, and went back to the ranch. On the day following, which was the last day of May '54, in company with George Rockfellow, J. P. Buens and John Bonum, they returned to the place of discovery to give it a more thorough prospecting with the intent, if satisfactory, to locate claims. They prospected Friday and Saturday and washed out $48, one nugget weighing 12.
When they left for home, it was agreed among them that they would not make known the discovery until after their return on the following Tuesday, when they would all go back with sufficient supplies to remain for a while and more fully prospect the place and select their claims. On their return home, they stopped at the Coleman ranch, where a lot of men were helping to raise a heavy log house. The conduct and suggestive remarks of some of the party aroused the curiosity of the house raisers, and this taken in connection with the fact that the clothes of the party were soiled with red mining dirt led the more observant to jump at the conclusion that a new discovery had been made. Members of the party were plied with all sorts of questions touching their late whereabouts, and every effort was made to wring from them their secret, or get them to explain the soiled condition of their clothes. All stood firm and refused to divulge anything but one, Ab. Giddings, a jolly, good fellow, whose genial disposition made him a social diplomat, and who was accustomed to win his point by tact or strategy, got around Aaron Davis and through a system of badgering and urgent appeals, wormed the secret out of him, and he and Giddings went over Sunday morning and staked off their claims. On Monday Sterling went to Jacksonville to buy supplies. Elated over the discovery, he imbibed too freely and got full. His exuberance unbridled his tongue, and he gave the whole thing away.
The news sped like electricity, and caused a general stampede from Jacksonville and surrounding camps, and when Sterling sobered up and reached the scene of his discovery, he was astounded to find an army of men on the ground and the camp staked out for miles up and down the creek. Through the bad faith of Davis and his own intemperate folly, Sterling got no claim at all.
From the date of its discovery, in '54, to 1859, the whole creek for four miles or more literally swarmed with men. When the lighter placers were worked out, the restless element, ever ready to move at a moment's notice, swept over to the new discovery at Williams Creek, reported to be fabulously rich. It was, however, found to be very "spotted" and too uncertain for the average miner to waste his time and labor on, and when the northern excitement broke out, the transients all went north and left this camp almost deserted. Many, however, continued to work at Sterling, and the output for many years was very large, but when the ordinary method of sluicing would no longer pay, small holders sold out for what they could get and left the place. These small holdings were bought up from time to time by Hon. Theo. Cameron and U. S. Hayden until they finally owned something like three miles of the best part of the creek. They were induced to buy it through a knowledge of the fact that there was an old bedrock channel running the length of the creek, so deep that it could not be worked by the methods then in use, and this channel, save for a little drifting here and there, was left practically untouched, and this of course was the richest ground in the camp. This great bedrock wash can only be explained upon the theory that Rogue River Valley was once a lake, and that the excess of water flowing into it from Rogue River and other streams was discharged through Sterling Creek. The spurs of the Siskiyou running down to Sterling Creek are very high, and this passage was no doubt blocked by the sliding in of a high peak when the excess cut its way through the mountains at Gold Hill and finally flowed into its old channel below Grants Pass. There seems to be no other rational way of accounting for the immense bedrock channel, from 50 to 200 feet deep, running the length of the creek. In support of this theory, there is every indication that Applegate was once a very large stream, whereas now it is small, except during winter freshets.
When Cameron and Hayden had been in possession of the mine for twelve or fifteen years, they sold out to the late D. P. Thompson, Burrell and others in Portland. This company brought in a ditch from Little Applegate, 28 miles long, with a capacity of 2500 inches, and installed the latest and most approved hydraulic machinery. The cost of the mine and plant when ready for operation was about $100,000. The equipment was by far the best and most complete in Southern Oregon at that time, and there is none better in the district today. The mine is a marvel of richness, indeed a very harvest to its owners, and is still the greatest producer in the county. There is yet a large amount of ground to be piped off, and what the future will show for this valuable mine can only be conjectured.
There have been more than four millions taken out of Sterling Creek, and it is today one of the largest gold-producing placer camps in Jackson County.
Medford Mail, November 27, 1903, page 1
Douglas County.A. E. Carlson et al. last week bonded the Rowley copper group at Riddle for $50,000, says the Rogue River Courier. Work has been resumed.
Josephine County.The Capital City G.M. Co. of Sacramento, Cal., has made final payment, on the Baby mine, in Jumpoff Joe district, near Grants Pass, which it has had under bond. C. C. Higgins is superintendent. The ore carries free gold. The mine is being developed by a tunnel, tapping the ore body at depth, drifts being run on the vein.
The offices of the Golden Drift M. Co. have been changed from Chicago, Ill., to Grants Pass, near which are located the mines of the company. Manager M. C. Ament says work is progressing on the dam being built on Rogue River. There are fifty men employed and they are filling up the 12-foot cribs with rock and earth, which is hauled on cars and dumped directly into the pits by a system of cables operated by a gasoline engine. The oars are filled by a steam shovel. The dam has a width of 120 feet on the river bed and 16 feet on top, while the length of the dam is 700 feet. There will be four 18-inch, five-step compound centrifugal pumps, each of which will deliver 9000 gallons of water per minute, which will raise the water from the reservoir, says the Rogue River Courier. This will supply water for six pipes equipped with 2⅝-inch nozzles. Power will be generated by sixteen 46-inch turbines working under a 20-foot head, and developing approximately 5000 H.P. Generators will be installed and electric power transmitted.
Colorado parties have bought the Queen of Bronze copper mine, on Illinois River, near Waldo, and they are increasing development work under superintendent A. Murphy. A vertical shaft will be sunk for 500 feet.
The Gold King M. Co., which is developing the Gold King mine, on Josephine Creek, near Grants Pass, has bought the adjoining placer claims of Bour & Day. These claims are accompanied by water rights, which will be used in supplying power for developing and working the Gold King mine.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 28, 1903, page 360
THE STURGIS MINE.
BY W. J. PLYMALE
Mr. A. W. Sturgis, the Forest Creek miner, was in Jacksonville a few days since, and much interesting information was gleaned from him concerning the mine and its future prospects. The mine has been entirely refitted with the latest and most approved ball-bearing giants, a large amount of new pipe added, the flumes, ditches and reservoirs repaired and improved, and the mine in all respects better equipped than ever before to make a continuous and successful season's run. Last year's output was the largest since Mr. Sturgis owned the mine, and he says the yield will largely increase from year to year as he works up, and that fifty years will only show a good, working face on the property. There are 1400 acres in all, with a depth varying from twelve to fifty feet, and the greater proportion of this vast area is the very best of mining ground. In a hundred years from now, under continuous operation with the present machinery, the claim will be worth many times what it is today. This creek is located in the heart of the mining district of Jackson County. It was discovered late in the fall of 1852, by John McDonnell and a small party, and strange to say, with all the excitements consequent upon discoveries which followed one another in quick succession up to about 1860, Mr. McDonnell never deserted his claim, and is today working on the discovery claim located nearly fifty-two years ago. From the date of the discovery till about 1865 the creek was a beehive of men, and during that time the amount of gold taken out can only be vaguely conjectured. The sum would no doubt considerably exceed five million dollars. It was perhaps the richest camp in Southern Oregon for the area worked over.
When the whites had skimmed the cream of the camp, the Chinese took possession of it for many years, and worked it all over again.
From appearances, there was a cloudburst on the hills north of the creek sometime in the past, which cut through the old channel and carried down a large amount of gold, and the Chinese in reworking the creek widened the area worked over by the whites and came across the deposit made by the cloudburst, and took out $40,000 from a small space. The late John Cantrall brought the money into town in a wagon.
From the forks of the creek down for some distance below where it intersects Poor Man's Creek, about four miles, the bed of the stream has been worked out on an average of about 150 yards wide. The original formation on the south side appears to be intact. The mountains are rugged and precipitous, and are covered with large pine and fir timber, and there are no indications that this formation has ever been moved by slides or other causes. The north side, on the contrary, is one continuous slide from Poor Man's Creek to the forks. Here the hills are low and retreating, and covered mainly with brush and stunted white oaks. The slide from this side covered up the old channel and formed a new one about 150 yards from the old. It is this new or later channel caused by the slide that has been so extensively worked. The old channel had not been suspected, so far as the writer knows, until it was thought out and discovered by Mr. Sturgis. It should be said of Mr. Sturgis that he is not simply a plodding miner dependent upon luck and staying qualities, but a close, practical and philosophic reasoner, with an intelligent and comprehensive grasp of the general geological and mineral conditions of the coast. He had studied carefully the formation of Forest Creek, noted the great slide that had taken place sometime in the remote past, and finally reached the conclusion that there was a back channel which had been covered up by the slide, and that it must be as rich as the modern channel from which so much money had been taken. With this conclusion, he bought a claim on the creek for a small amount, and with the courage of his convictions, run out a cut and found the channel he suspected. He then began to buy up claims and equip the mine with hydraulic apparatus. He had previously met with serious financial reverses and was entirely without funds; yet, with that indomitable courage born of the certainty that his discovery was a valuable one, he surmounted all difficulties, bought up the entire creek to the forks, and today is a rich man and owner of one of the largest and most valuable mining properties in Southern Oregon.
It should be mentioned that there is something remarkable about the boulders in this old channel. When first taken out they are hard and solid, but when exposed to the air for a short time they slack and crumble like lime. No explanation of this peculiarity has ever been given, and so far as the writer knows, this is the only channel in Southern Oregon where boulders crumble and dissolve on exposure to the atmosphere.
With the extended improvements, new pipe, and new ball-bearing giants, Mr. Sturgis thinks he will break all former records in the output during the coming year.
Medford Mail, December 4, 1903, page 1
Josephine County.B. Hurst is developing his quicksilver ledge on South Umpqua, near Wolf Creek.
The Wolf Creek M. & Dev. Co., at Wolf Creek, is running full blast and operating two giants, says R. C. Shipley, superintendent.
The Ramsey & Ingram copper claims, on Slate Creek, near Grants Pass, have been bonded by S. Bowden for $25,000. Bowden will put men to work and develop the claims during the winter. The ledge carries values in copper and gold. The vein shows a width of 100 feet on the surface. The claims are within 2 miles of the surveyed route of the proposed railroad from Grants Pass to the coast.
A. B. Cousin, manager of the Galice Con. M. Co. ol Portland, says their hydraulic properties on Galice Creek are expected to be ready to begin piping this month. There is now an abundance of water in Galice, and the supply will not diminish till late next summer. The dams and reservoirs built during the summer at the head of the Galice Con. ditches on both forks of the creek are conserving the water.
Jackson County.The Shorty-Hope M.&M. Co., near Ashland, is increasing development work. The miners last week cut an ore chute on the 335-foot tunnel drift carrying values in gold.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 5, 1903, page 378
Quartz Veins and Mines of Southern Oregon.It has long been taken for granted, by a few at least, that the stratigraphical formation of Southern Oregon is identical to that of Northern California. Notwithstanding the similarity of the two sections, there has been a vast difference in the development and progress of the two. The imaginary line, known as the state line, was sufficient to keep the enterprising mining men on the California side for a number of years; and while the camps and mines of Northern California were flourishing, Southern Oregon was making little or no progress in the matter of the development of its quartz mines. Southern Oregon is the pioneer mining section of Oregon, yet it has been the slowest in development. This condition of affairs was due entirely to lack of enterprise, lack of capital, lack of men who possessed an ambition to go deeper than their shovel handle's length!
Written for the Mining and Scientific Press by
Dennis H. Stovall, B.S.
It required a half century for one question to be solved to the satisfaction of moneyed mining men; this was the question of the continuity of the ledges of Southern Oregon. It was not until the past two years that this question was satisfactorily answered, and even yet there are some who are skeptical and who have but little faith in the permanence of Southern Oregon's veins.
The vein matter of Southern Oregon ledges varies but little throughout a wide extent of territory. Nearly all of the veins of the district run north and south--that is to say, those ledges and lodes which can be traced for any considerable distance.
In the western part of the district, and running along the western border of Josephine County, is the base mineral belt, the predominating values being in gold and copper. This belt, popularly known as the "copper belt" of Southern Oregon, is really confined to one mammoth ledge, known as the "Yank." It is from 75 to 250 feet in width, and can be traced from the Oregon-California line north for a distance of 40 miles or more. In those districts where it is exposed, notably Waldo, Slate Creek and Galice Creek, mines are being opened up upon it. A number of these are well developed, and will be ready to begin operations next summer. The vein matter of the Yank ledge is mainly a bluish quartz colored by copper, this metal being present in the form of copper pyrites. The Yank is a contact vein with a hanging wall of slate, and syenite on the foot. In those tunnels that have been driven into it there is a thick coating of the soluble salts of copper. In the Waldo district there are eight or nine well-developed mines on this belt. The values of these run higher in copper than farther north, assay returns showing from 11% to 60% copper and from $2.50 to $10 a ton in gold.
Farther north, on Galice Creek, where the big ledge is cut by Rogue River, and where several mines are being opened up, the quartz shows from $6 to $30 a ton in gold and copper. As the ore will require smelting, and occurs in large quantity, some of these mines will probably become great producers when worked on a scale commensurate with their size.
The vein matter of the gold-bearing ledges of the Southern Oregon district may be described as a hard, white and compact quartz, carrying metallic sulphides to a greater or less extent, and free gold, with some silver. The metallic sulphides consist of pyrite, copper pyrites, arsenical iron and galena. The last-named mineral has been found to be a "good sign" in Southern Oregon quartz veins, its presence being considered indicative of good values and continuity of vein.
The average value of the veins may be considered as indicated by those of one mine. (See illustration, front page.) The Greenback, Grave Creek district, is a fair representative. It is operating forty stamps and a 100-ton cyanide plant, and opened to a depth of 1000 feet, and is a typical Southern Oregon mine. Its values, it is stated, have averaged $16 a ton in free gold and concentrates since the mine first began operation. Its ledges are from 2½ to 5 feet in width, with a dip of from 60° to 70°. The country rock here is diorite. There are other good mines in the Southern Oregon district--mines that are operating mills of five to fifteen stamps--that possess similar ledges, but which lie in granite, slate or other formations.
Much "specimen rock" is produced by the mines of Southern Oregon. This is due to the bunches of rich free-milling ore that are found at all depths, and more especially at cross sections of smaller veins with the main ledges. This is the "pocket" characteristic of the district, and it is not lost even in the largest mines. On the 800-foot and 900-foot levels of the Greenback masses of quartz have been shot down that were "peppered" with large and small fragments of gold. Flakes of the metal as large as a man's palm have been uncovered on the deep levels of this property. Nearly all of this free gold is found in hard, snow-white quartz.
But the ledges and veins of the Southern Oregon district are more than "specimen rock" producers. They are permanent, as is proved by the success of those who have energetically developed properties. The characteristics and general formation of the country makes the deep development of mines in Southern Oregon expensive, but the results have proven satisfactory.
Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 12, 1903, pages 391-392
E. Wood of Spokane, Wash., superintendent of the Crystal Con. M. Co., says work is under way on their stamp mill being built near Bohemia. There are thirty men at work.
"Douglas County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 12, 1903, page 396
The Sturgis Mine Sold.
A. W. Sturgis, who has put in the better part of his life in developing his hydraulic mining property in Forest Creek district, last week sold the property to W. E. Olmstead, representing S. A. Vance, a mining millionaire. The price paid is said to have been in the neighborhood of $30,000.
The Sturgis is one of the best-known mines in Southern Oregon, and the price Mr. Sturgis received for it represents only a part of the past earnings of the property, and conservative miners estimate that more money lies buried in the earth than has ever been taken out.
There are 1200 acres of patented mining ground, and with the present plant, it would take one half a century to work it out.
For twenty years or more A. W. Sturgis has been hammering away on this mine, starting with one claim and buying up others as he could, adding machinery as needed. It took many years of hard work before the property was placed on a paying basis, but now it is strictly up to date in its equipment, and has yielded its owner such a competence that he can pass his remaining years in the comforting assurance that never more will he be compelled to take up the pick and shovel to gain a livelihood, although it is safe to say that the habits of many years will be hard to overcome, and that there will be occasions when he will long for the days when he swung the rocker on the banks of Forest Creek.
"Street Echoes," Medford Mail, December 18, 1903, page 1
Conserving Water for Hydraulic Mining.An excellent method for conserving water for hydraulic mining has recently been adopted by some of the larger Southern Oregon placer mines. Those properties that derive their water directly from the main streams usually are afforded an ample supply by the natural flow during the winter months, but are required to close down during the summer on account of the streams getting to such a low stage as not to afford a full pipehead.
Written for the Mining and Scientific Press by
Dennis H. Stovall.
The building of reservoir dams has solved the problem, not only of a summer supply, but also ensures a steady and constant flow in the ditches. Sudden freshets and alternate dry spells and low water, which formerly resulted in overflowing ditches, caves and slides, are held in check by these reservoir dams. By their aid the flow of water is kept constant and regular.
These reservoirs are different from those formerly in use by hydraulic mines, and still in use extensively, in that they are built at the head of the ditches instead of the mouth. They are not built to turn the water into the ditches, but are located ½ mile or more above the head of the ditch, and on the creek itself.
When the summer months arrive and instead of closing down the giants entirely, the dams are closed during the night and the reservoir allowed to fill. Eight or ten acres of water accumulates above the dam--enough to supply two or more giants all the following day. In this way operations can be carried the whole year through, which is a big item to the enterprising placer miner, who fully recognizes the value of utilizing every moment, for the greater the time the giants can be kept at work on the gravel banks the greater will be the cleanup.
The dam [of the Consolidated Mines Co.] shown in the illustration on the front page is made of a double tier of pine logs. These were cut the right length, peeled and cribbed, and the cribs filled in with boulders and gravel, the whole being set firmly into either bank.
Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 19, 1903, page 402
The Red Bean mine, in southern Douglas County, bonded last spring to T. B. Scott of Chicago, Ill., has reverted to its former owners, Riggs, Flamm & Evans of Grants Pass. A cash payment of $5000 was made and 200 feet of tunneling done.J. Blazier of Portland has bought several hundred acres covering a placer gravel channel along Elliott Creek, in upper Applegate district, near Applegate, and is preparing to work by hydraulicking.
The Cement mine, on the divide between the right and left forks of Jackson Creek, near Jacksonville, has been leased by J. Fielder and L. Lyttle. The lessees are operating a No. I giant from a 6-inch pipe that receives water from the Joe Black ditch fed from Cantrall Gulch. The ground has to be blasted loose before using the water.… Piping started last week at the Antonio mine on Forest Creek, says superintendent R. McGill. A No. 1 giant is used, working under a pressure of 210 feet. This mine is in an old channel of Forest Creek and there is a 15-foot bank to cut off to get at the gravel.
Josephine County.F. H. Osgood of Seattle, Wash., has bonded the Hammersley mine near Grants Pass and will increase development. He is also operating the Osgood placers on Illinois River. The Hammersley mine has been idle for several years.
The Comstock M.&M. Co., under management of J. M. Layman, is making shipments of ore from mines near Grants Pass. The ledges run 3 feet in width with assay values of $20.
The Galice Con. M. Co. last week began operations in working their placer grounds on Galice Creek, near Grants Pass, and will have three hydraulic mines in operation on Galice Creek. The consolidated company is in control of nearly all the former placer mines on Galice Creek, making available placer diggings covering 600 acres. The building of reservoir dams at the head of the two forks of Galice Creek, the widening and extending of ditches, and the laying of 1000 feet additional of piping enables the Galice Con. Co. to have three giants at work, and is in position to mine twelve hours per day, even during the summer months, says the Telegram. The company has ground and water to operate ten separate hydraulic mines. There is ground on both the upper and lower creek that has not been prospected, as it has been too high to be reached by the available water; but now high-line ditches reach every part. Ground is being moved that prospects 25 cents a yard.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 19, 1903, page 411
Douglas County.The Oregon Securities Co. is finishing its 30-stamp mill and 500-H.P. electric plant at Bohemia. The wagon road up Champion canyon and the pole line have been fully repaired in places, where damaged by the storm last month, and the tramway and snow sheds from the mill up the mountain to the mouth of the tunnel and over the saddles are nearing completion.
Jackson County.The Bill Nye mine, on Galls Creek, ¾ of a mile from the Golden Standard mine, near Jacksonville, under manager Andrews of Medford, has nearly completed a 5-stamp mill and expects to begin milling ore by Feb. 1st. Machinery has been put in of capacity to sink a 500-foot shaft; also drill and compressor. The Purkeypile mine, also on Galls Creek, has been bonded, and eight men under foreman W. S. Clark are driving a tunnel. The ore from this mine has been hauled to Gold Hill heretofore, by way of Foots Creek, but a 5-stamp mill will he put in at the mine.
Josephine County.The Sturgis hydraulic placer mines of Forest Creek district, near Grants Pass, have been bought by S. A. Vance of Los Angeles, Cal., and $25,000 paid down. Vance will enlarge the plant and shape it for work on a more extensive scale. The property consists of 1400 acres. There are three ditches and water rights, affording a long run each season. He is having the Sturgis overhauled and re-equipped under superintendence of W. R. Olmstead. Two giants will be operated. An electric lighting plant and telephone system will be put in and a hydraulic elevator set up to handle the tailings.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 26, 1903, page 429
The Golden Drift M. Co., operating on Rogue River, 3 miles above Grants Pass, has completed the main structures of its power dam across the Rogue, and has suspended work for the winter. The cribs have been all filled in with stone and barred over to resist the winter freshets. In the spring the turbines and pumps will be placed. At the start 5000 H.P. will be generated. During this winter the company is operating its dry diggings placers, water being derived from the hydraulic ditches tapping Jones Creek. This stream is small, and through the aid of a reservoir water for six hours' run each day is secured for the giants.
Burton & White have bought seven placer claims on Reuben Creek near Mount Reuben, near Grants Pass. They will put in machinery--a boiler, engines, derricks and cables and hydraulic giants.… The Oregon M. Co., composed of Seattle, Wash., men, is doing development work on Wagner Creek. The company is putting in a 5-stamp mill. It owns fifty acres of mineral land on Wagner Creek, with water rights. The claims are the Pittsburg, Little Pittsburg, Riverside, Ruth, Double Jack and Pilgrim. The mill is expected to be in operation this week.… Imbler & Isaac are developing and have equipped an hydraulic placer mine on Chetco River, south of Kerby. Water is derived from Chetco River. The diggings are said to carry coarse gold and platinum and are not deep, running but 6 and 8 feet.
J. B. Crawford, with Eastern men, operating mines near Grants Pass, says he will build a smelter at Grants Pass which will handle custom ores in addition to their own.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 16, 1904, page 50
Douglas County.A. D. Le Roy, manager of the Le Roy mine, at Bohemia, says work continues and development done is encouraging. The body of ore in the lower tunnel shows 48 feet wide and is of concentrating grade. On tunnel No. 3 they have opened a body of free-milling ore 9 feet wide, with a chute carrying sulphides. It is intended to build a concentrator this season.
Josephine County.W. J. Morphy of Chicago, Ill., manager of the American Gold Fields Co., owner of the Granite Hill mines, near Grants Pass, says machinery is on the ground for mill and power plant. The compressor will be ready for operation by February 1.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 23, 1904, page 69
A FORTY-STAMP MILL."Oregon," Mining: Journal of the Northwest Mining Association, February 1904, page 55
The 40-stamp mill for the Lucky Boy mine, Blue River district, Southern Oregon, is nearing completion, according to late reports. When finished this will be the third 40-stamp equipment had by Oregon mines. The Bonanza mine, of this district, has 40 stamps, that being five more than is had by the North Pole. The Greenback mine, in Southern Oregon, has 40 stamps in two mills, 30 in one and 10 in the other. The Lucky Boy mill is to be quite modern in every respect, said L. Zimmerman, president of the company, while speaking recently of the work the company is doing.
Jackson County.J. W. Opp is taking out ore from the upper ledge of his mine on Jackson Creek, near Ashland, and has started his quartz mill in operation.
After four months' work the landslide at the Shorty-Hope mine workings, near Ashland, has been overcome, and the property will be further opened up. They will let contract for 350 feet of drifting on the Golden Spike claim of the company.… It is reported the Montreal & Oregon G.M. Co., which owns the Ashland mine, west of Ashland, is preparing to resume operations.
Josephine County.The Galice Con. M. Co., near Grants Pass, is operating several giants on Galice Creek this winter. One of them is working near mouth of creek. This ground was idle for several years on account of lack of water to work it properly. D. Green, foreman, says next season it is expected the company will open the creek at the mouth and sluice out entire contents of creek bed.
In Grave Creek district, near Grants Pass, the Vulcan mine has been equipped with machinery and is crushing rock. A 10-stamp mill has been built. The Vulcan is on Browning Mountain and near the Greenback mine.
The Wolf Creek M. & Dev. Co. is carrying on operations in both placer and quartz properties on Wolf Creek near Grants Pass. The creek bed is being worked for distance of 6 miles of its course. On the ledge which is under development men are running a tunnel which follows the vein, having width of 7 feet.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 6, 1904, page 103
Curry County.Portland reports say a strike has been made in the mountains of the Sixes region, on Sixes River, Curry County. A gravel bed or channel has been uncovered by the Sixes M. Co. that is giving returns of $1 a pan. The bank has a depth of 20 feet to bedrock. In the early days the Sixes River channels were worked to some extent with shovel, rocker and sluice, but the banks were too deep and closely cemented to be worked by hand. During the past season the Sixes M. Co. has put in hydraulic equipment.
Jackson County.Milling superintendent Orme, for the Condor Water & Power Co., will next month begin work of installing a 20-stamp mill at the Braden mine, near Ashland, to be operated by electric power from the Gold Ray station. The power line will be 4 miles in length. Electric power will be used to operate the drills, hoisting and other machinery about the mine. Bodies of ore are blocked out.… Work is going on at Whitman & Heard's Oro Grande M. Co.'s placers on Carberry fork of the Applegate. The plant is being increased to three giants. The Missouri M. Co., in which Smith & Warner are interested, is also operating a placer on Carberry with a No. 2 giant.
The dredger of Champlin & Co., on Foots Creek, near Gold Hill, has been launched and is receiving its machinery. A boiler, weighing nine tons and of 120 H.P., is being set up. All of the other machinery for the dredger is on the ground. Champlin & Co. have two dredgers at work near Bannock, Mont.… The work of overhauling and placing new machinery has been completed at the Sturgis hydraulic mines on Forest Creek. Among the improvements are a derrick for handling the boulders, and a complete electric lighting plant.
Josephine County.Spokane, Wash., men have bought the Lucky Queen mine, Jumpoff Joe district, near Grants Pass. C. D. Crane is superintendent and has restarted development. For several years the Lucky Queen, which at one time was equipped with a mill and plant, has been idle. The workings are being cleared and retimbered and new tracks will be laid, etc.
Development work is progressing on the copper mines of southern Josephine County, aside from that under direction of the Waldo S.&M. Co. at Waldo. Among these is the Queen of Bronze on the Illinois River. It is owned by Colorado men. A shaft was sunk 110 feet and a drift is being run on the ledge from this level. C. J. Murphy is superintendent.… Farther south, on Shelley Creek, is the Monumental mine, being developed under bond by T. W. Draper and California men. Fifteen men are at work. Values are carried in copper, gold and silver. The ore is said to be a concentrating and cyaniding proposition.… Little work is being done at the mines of the Waldo S.&M. Co. They are well developed and ready to begin output as soon as the smelter is built.
A hydraulic mine is being developed in Humbug district, on Applegate River, south of Grants Pass, by White, Christian & Benson. A reservoir has been built and a No. 2 giant set. It will be operated under 150-foot head. Piping began last week.
The Williamsburg M. Co., of Portland, has resumed development work at its Williamsburg mines on Williams Creek, says the Ashland Tidings. The mines are equipped with an 8-stamp mill.
The tubular elevator for the Deep Gravel hydraulic mines at Waldo has been set and is at work, says manager W. J. Wimer.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 13, 1904, pages 120-121
Jackson County.The Omaha G.M. Co. is developing a quartz property near Gold Hill, on Foots Creek, under superintendence of C. C. Clark. Two tunnels have been driven on the ledge--one to depth of 270 feet and the other 235 feet. The ledge is 3 feet in width and gives average assay values of $12 in gold.
Josephine County.The Eureka mine, on Soldier Creek, near Grants Pass, is being operated by its former owners of Eureka, Cal., under management of A. F. Nelson. A 10-stamp mill is operated.
The Conner hydraulic placer on Briggs Creek, near the mouth of Red Dog Creek, near Grants Pass, is being operated by Brinegar & Smith. They are working in the channel uncovered by Conner.
The monthly output at the Greenback mine is reported at $40,000. The property is on Grave Creek, near Grants Pass, and has been producing for three years. W. H. Brevort of New York is president and C. W. Thompson is manager at the mine. The manager reports arrangements completed for heavier production this year than last. The mill has forty stamps.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 20, 1904, page 139
At the Shorty-Hope mines, west of Ashland, the Golden Spike drift is in 440 feet. Since Feb. 1 it has been driven under contract. It will continue to the Shorty-Hope shaft, which will be sunk to connect. It is proposed to enlarge this shaft.
Men have been put to work on the Mountain Lion mine, near Applegate. The ledge averages 2 feet in width and is opened on seven levels. It assays $15 per ton. This year the north end of the vein will be opened. The mine is equipped with a reduction plant using cyanide and amalgamation. The mine is owned by the Mountain Lion M. Co.… Burner & Gilkins have leased Caris Creek, on Missouri Flat, in lower Applegate section, and will begin placer mining operations next month.Josephine County.
Development work on the Ingram-Ramsey copper mine, in Slate Creek district, will be resumed. It is under bond to S. Bowden. A shaft will be sunk on the ledge to depth of 150 feet. The mine is 17 miles southeast of Grants Pass and near the Kerby road.
The Bone of Contention mine, Williams district, south of Grants Pass, has been sold to Johnson, Catterline & Co. of Portland. The Bone of Contention is equipped with an 8-stamp mill and other machinery for development and operation. The new management proposes to complete a crosscut tunnel to tap the main ore body at a depth of 350 feet.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 27, 1904, pages 154-155
F. H. Osgood, the Seattle mining and railroad man who recently purchased the old Hammersley mine, of Jumpoff Joe district, is meeting with good success in clearing out the old mine and getting it in shape for business. If Mr. Osgood meets with the same good fortune in this that he has in other Southern Oregon mining ventures, it may be readily surmised that the Hammersley, so long abandoned, will eventually become one of the big producers of this mineral zone. Two big pumps, discharging 8,000 gallons of water an hour, are fast lowering the flood that has inundated the tunnels, drifts and stopes for several years. The timberings are found to be in good condition, so that when the water is cleared all will be in readiness for mining. The Hammersley produced many tons of rich ore in its time, and closed down merely on account of an entanglement of its owners. The mine is equipped with a good hoist, five-stamp mill and concentrator, all in excellent condition. There are three boilers. The ledge of the Hammersley is from one to three feet in width, and the values are practically all free milling. The vein lies at the same angle, and on the same zone, as the Greenback, three miles farther north.
Dennis H. Stovall, "Osgood Buys the Old Hammersley," Salt Lake Mining Review, February 29, 1904, page 14
J. M. Depew reports having struck the Boulder ledge (or "Old Spot," from the spotted appearance of the ore), with O. P. Templeton and A. G. Arnold. Shafts have been sunk, open cuts made and tunneling done. The ledge is on the east side of Mount Baldy, 4 miles from Grants Pass.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 5, 1904, page 171
F. H. Osgood of Seattle, Wash., who bought the Hammersley mine in Jumpoff Joe district, near Grants Pass, reports work progressing in clearing out the mine. Two pumps, discharging 8000 gallons of water an hour, are lowering the water in the tunnels, drifts and stopes of the Hammersley. The timbering is said to be found in good condition. The mine is equipped with a hoist, 5-stamp mill and concentrator. There are three boilers. The ledge of the Hammersley is 1 to 3 feet in width and the values are free-milling.
The Copper Eagle M. Co. is clearing a site preparing to build a 50-ton smelting and matting plant at the Copper Eagle mine of Galice Creek district, near Grants Pass. There are four claims (eighty acres) in the Copper Eagle group, and the ledge has an average width of 4 feet, carrying values in copper and gold, with some silver. Some 300 feet of tunnel have been driven and one tunnel, in 200 feet, will tap the main ledge at depth of 250 feet. The property is being developed and equipped under the management of J. C. Mattison of Galice.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 12, 1904, page 187
IS PROVING A BONANZA
MINE YIELDING THIRTY THOUSAND DOLLARS MONTHLY.
Output of the Greenback Property Is Keeping Two Mills and a Cyanide Plant Busy.
Grants Pass, Ore., March 16.--Through Eben Smith of Denver, who is a prominent stockholder in the Greenback Gold Mining Company, it is learned that the Greenback mine of Grave Creek, near here, is proving a veritable bonanza. From a desultory pocket proposition, operated by a blind horse and an old-time arrastra, the Greenback has been developed by Denver mining men into the richest mine of the Webfoot State. It is now paying dividends of $30,000 a month. It produces $60,000 monthly, and the average expenses are about $30,000, leaving $30,000 clear profit for the stockholders. The stock is held by a few men, among them Eben Smith of Denver, William Brevoort of New York and a few others.
Two mills are operated at the Greenback, one of ten and the other of thirty stamps, aside from a 100-ton cyanide plant. A crew of 120 men is employed, and some 250 people are supported in the town of Greenback by the Greenback mine. There is ore enough blocked out at the mine to keep the present battery busy for fifteen years and more, and enough on down in the lower levels to keep the mills busy for twice that time. The owners of the Greenback have been very reticent about giving out any information concerning the mine, and it was not until recently that the true condition of the property was known.
El Paso Daily Times, March 17, 1904, page 4
Douglas County.E. Jenks, owner of the Arrastra and Baltimore groups of mines near Bohemia, says there has been considerable work going on in the district this winter, notably on the Vesuvius group, the Crystal Con., Bohemia group and North Fairview group. The Crystal Con. Co. has been working all winter and has its 5-stamp mill ready to run. The Oregon Securities Co. operations have been shut down since January, but it expects to resume development work this month. The company's Musick mine is blocked with ore, which cannot be put in the dump on account of the snow, it has a 30-stamp mill ready to run and room for twenty stamps more, which will be added in the spring.… The North Fairview Co., which has its office in Eugene, has also been working. The Bohemia Co. has continued to drive. It has from 1200 to 1500 feet of tunnel on its group. Superintendent Jenks says, besides the extra twenty stamps to be added to the Oregon Securities mill, preparations are being made for a mill on the Vesuvius and Oregon-Colorado mines during the coming summer.… Trains on the railroad from Cottage Grove to the mines are making one trip a day regularly (except Sunday). The last bridge has been completed and the road will be built farther on into the mines.… Besides the companies mentioned, there are a number of individual claims which have been worked by their owners.
Corvallis men have organized the Twin Rocks G.M.&M. Co. to operate in Bohemia district. The directors are L. and W. B. Hartley, Wallace Hartley, S. R. May and G. B. Spitler. The property of the company consists of nine claims with free-gold prospects.
Jackson County.M. P. Ward of Portland, part owner of the Millionaire mine, near Gold Hill, says he is increasing the number of men at work. It is the intention of Ward and associates to carry on work and build a plant this season. The property is free-milling and a stamp mill will be put up.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 19, 1904, page 203
It is reported that native silver, associated with bismuth, has been found by prospectors near Grants Pass.
The Takilma Smelting Co. is preparing to build a 100-ton smelter on the Darkis place below the Waldo and Queen of Bronze mines, near Waldo, and is expected to be in operation by July 1. The smelter is to treat ores of the Waldo and Takilma mines. A. I. Goodell is manager, and C. L. Tutt of Colorado Springs, Colo., is president.
S. Chase et al., of Portland, are developing the Oro Fino mine of Jumpoff Joe district, near Grants Pass. He proposes to put in a cyanide plant this spring.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 26, 1904, page 220
An Oregon Gold Dredge.Herewith is illustrated the Abbie J. Champlin gold dredge of the bucket chain type recently furnished by the Allis-Chalmers Co., Chicago, to Champlin & Co., of Gold Hill, Oregon.
It is described by the builders as being operated by steam, with 8 cubic feet buckets of the alternate type, built heavy to work hard-packed and cemented gravel with a large percentage of heavy boulders, and designed to dig a depth of 45 feet below the water line, and a depth from the surface to bedrock of 55 to 60 feet.
The bucket chain they claim to be a new design, patented, and manufactured solely by them. With the multiple lug connection they assert that it overcomes the trouble of bending or breaking pins, breaking the back of the bucket or of pulling out of the eye connection, and enables the use of a much smaller pin. A chain of these buckets was furnished to the Centerville Dredging Co., of Centerville, Idaho, with satisfactory result.
The grizzly is of the well-known revolving type, of ample length and diameter, and which has been found to give desirable results with minimum cost of repairs. The grizzly is made with a removable lining so that all that is necessary is to replace the inner lining, which is made in two pieces. A direct-connected centrifugal pump is used with spray pipes running through the screens to clean the material thoroughly.
The gravel pump is of special patent, controlled by the Allis-Chalmers Co., lined with steel throughout, the pump taking the material passing through the perforations of the screen and elevating same to the sluice box. In the double lift dredge where this pump is used the claim is made that it thoroughly churns the material and puts it in good shape for working to advantage in the sluice box.
The winches for handling ladder and spuds are in one nest operated by an independent double cylinder engine, and for the swinging lines two standard double cylinder, single drum hoisting engines are used. A complete electric lighting plant of ample capacity is also furnished. The Allis-Chalmers Co. furnishes all the iron work necessary for the complete dredge, also erection drawings, together with detail drawings of the hull, lumber bill and bolt list, to enable customer to build the hull, and properly erect the machinery.
Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 2, 1904, page 230 Click on the link for an photo of the dredge.
C. E. Woodrow has bonded the Ada mine, on Foots Creek, near Grants Pass, which will be developed and later equipped with a mill and power plant.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 2, 1904, page 236
Douglas County.C. C. Matthews, superintendent of the Oregon Securities Co. at Bohemia, says he is putting in additional machinery. The 30-stamp mill is expected to be ready for operation this month.
A body of ore has been opened in the Riverside group, near Bohemia, in the lower tunnel. The breast of the drift shows ore 7 feet wide. This tunnel is in 340 feet, and they have been drifting in the ore body for 200 feet. It is under the management of F. J. Hard.
Jackson County.The Golden Standard mine of Gold Hill district, owned by Kubli Bros. of Jacksonville, and which has been closed down, is being overhauled and made ready to resume operations.
Josephine County.The Ada quartz mine of Foots Creek district, near Grants Pass, has been bonded by manager Woodrow of the New York General Electric Co., and will put men to work next week, says the Telegram. He will continue development of the Ada and shape it for a stamp mill and plant. The mine is opened by tunnel and shaft to depth of 200 feet. A tunnel has been started on a deeper level and has been driven 80 feet. This tunnel will be completed. The ledge is 3 feet in width.
The Bagley Improvement Co. is doing work on Wards Creek, east of Grants Pass, building reservoirs and constructing ditches, and will provide water in quantity for both placer mining and irrigation. The company's holdings cover an area of 1000 acres along Wards Creek of both farm lands and placer ground. The gravel is said to lay from 8 to 10 feet in depth, and carries average values of 20 cents a yard.
The Van Dorn & Hedrick hydraulic placer mine, on Rogue River, below Grants Pass, is being overhauled. Larger ditches are being built and heavier piping laid.
The Golden Eagle mine at Provolt is in full operation and they are running a tunnel 150 feet to tap the ledge in the shaft, 60 feet in depth. The ledge in the shaft is 3 feet in width. The company which has this mine bonded is superintended by J. Whitehead of Gold Hill.… The Sharp Bros. placer mine in Powell Creek is worked steadily by pipe and rock hoists.… A bond is being negotiated for on the Little Pocket quartz mine across the river, 1 mile from Provolt, owned by E. Hannum and A. Cook. It is idle at present.… On Missouri Flat the Gilkins M. Co. is placer mining on the Caris farm.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 9, 1904, page 252
Douglas County.The Oregon Securities Co. at Bohemia reports increase of work projected, both in mine and for the railroad. The tunnel will be completed by Aug. 1. It is in 300 feet into Champion Mountain, through which it will be run to make connection with the Musick mine, allowing the ore to be hauled by electric tramway from that producer to the mill built in Champion Basin. Running this tunnel will cost $12,000 to $15,000, says G. B. Hengen of New York, president of the company, but by so doing they will crosscut two veins of ore already known as producers. The first one is the Excelsior, which will be cut at distance of 150 feet from present face, and the second, the Champion, will be reached at distance of 350 feet from face. The tunnel when completed will be 1500 feet long, and will be large enough for a railway train to pass through. When the Champion ledge is cut it is intended to follow that vein the entire distance through the mountain, securing ore for milling. As soon as the tunnel is completed ore can be obtained from the Musick mine, but until that time they will use ore from the Champion mine. Three air compressors, with drills, are in operation. As soon as the snow clears they will get the road in shape from the Musick mine, the rails being already on the ground. The electric plant is completed. Connections for electricity have been installed. The railroad will be completed by May 1 to the warehouse, where the electric plant is built. It is then intended to put in an electric car line from there to the mill. The distance is 5 miles.
Josephine County.The Allen mine, a gold-copper property, on Rogue River, 3½ miles south of Galice Creek, is reported sold to C. d'Autremont of Duluth, Minn., for $750,000.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 16, 1904, page 275
It is reported that the Millionaire mine has been sold for $40,000. The property is 25 miles from Grants Pass. M. P. Ward will begin work at once and buy the necessary machinery, pumps and hoists.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 23, 1904, page 290
Jackson County.M. P. Ward, manager of the Millionaire mine, near Gold Hill, has begun preparations for putting in pumps, hoists and other machinery for development of the property.
Josephine County.A. B. Cousin, of Portland, manager of the Galice Con. mines, at Galice Creek, near Grants Pass, has started the ditch to Rogue River to work the property recently bought by the company from P. B. Wickham.
C. J. Allen, F. B. Roberts, et al., owners of the Allen mine, near Grants Pass, propose to dam the Rogue River, near the mine, to develop 12,000 H.P. Power drills and other equipment will also go in.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 30, 1904, page 305
F. Jordan, of Cottage Grove, operating on Thompson Creek, is associated with W. Jordan, of Merlin, and R. Thompson, of Grants Pass. The mine is 1½ mile from Applegate and shows a vein of ore from 8 to 18 inches across, which has been traced for 400 feet and carries values. There are 200 feet of tunnel besides other improvements, and it is the intention of the owners to equip the mine with machinery and develop it during the summer.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 7, 1904, page 322
In Southern Oregon a dredger is nearing completion upon Foots Creek, a tributary of the Rogue between Grants Pass and Gold Hill, the Champion Dredging Co. of Chicago being the owners. About 1200 acres of dredging ground has been made available in the Foots Creek basin by the building of a dam near its confluence with Rogue River. The hull of the dredger is 112 feet long, 37 feet wide and 8 feet deep. When loaded with its 175,000 pounds of machinery it will draw 4 feet of water. In its construction 225,000 feet of lumber was used. The elevated material first passes into a revolving screen, by which the heavier wash is carried over the side, the finer being raised to sluices above, which are so arranged that they can be directed to any point from a right angle on either side to dead astern. The length of these sluices is 100 feet, giving a large area of dump. The dredging elevator is 81 feet long and has forty-two buckets of 8 cubic feet capacity each. A steam plant develops 150 H.P. The daily capacity is stated to be from 2500 to 3000 cubic yards. Cost of the plant is 160,000. It is expected that the dredger will begin operations within a short time.
"Dredging Operations in Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 14, 1904, pages 328-329
Douglas County.The Oregon Pacific M. Co. has been incorporated by J. E. Hardman, B. T. Underwood, E. F. Gray, G. G. Graham, G. and J. W. Cox, J. F. Miller and W. M. George, with principal place of business Cottage Grove. The company owns several claims in Bohemia district, which will be developed.
Josephine County.F. L. Morris, H. C. Berry, H. C. Pickett et al. of Oroville, Cal., who have two dredgers in operation there, are preparing to test a body of dredging ground in the Althouse district, near junction of Althouse and Sucker creeks. The seven-ton prospecting and boring machine formerly used by the Champion Dredger Co. has been bought. They propose to take up 3000 acres of ground, nearly all of which will be available for dredging.
The mill of the Granite Hill mines, near Grants Pass, has begun operations. It is a 10-stamp battery. The mortars have been placed on cement foundations, made by the filling of deep pits, filled and packed with gravel and granite. Superintendent L. Y. Wickersham of the Granite Hill properties has fifty men at work.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 14, 1904, page 337
A company is being formed by H. Perkins et al. to operate on Mt. Reuben Creek, near Leland. A saw mill is being built on the creek. Hoisting works will be put up to handle the boulders. The miners report having done well this winter, as they have had a long run and more ground washed than before. On Jumpoff Joe Creek, superintendent Crane of the Lucky Queen is running two tunnels--one over 100 feet. He has struck paying ledges in both tunnels. Rich rock is sacked up to send away for milling. The property is under bond. It is expected a mill will be built. Across the creek is the Dick mine. The owners have run a tunnel 200 feet.
The Golden Drift M. Co., of Grants Pass, shipped last week six bars, weighing twenty pounds in the aggregate, representing one-half of the annual cleanup for these mines for the season, says the Telegram. But one giant was operated and this one but for thirty-five days. The six bars are valued at $5000, and aside from these manager Ament says he has picked up a number of nuggets and larger pieces. All the gold from the Dry Diggings, which is the field covered by the placers of the Golden Drift Co., is said to run over 900 fine. Nearly all the sluices and the boxes are yet to be cleaned up. The Golden Drift Co. will put men to work next week completing the power dam across the Rogue River below the Dry Diggings, and to place the heavy machinery--pumps, turbines and power plant equipment--next season. Three giants will be operated.
In Galice district, near Grants Pass, among the hydraulic properties that are working is the Royal Group, formerly the Old Channel. These placers are under management of J. R. Harvey. Two 6-inch giants, under a gravity pressure of 500 feet, are operated, and this battery will have ample water till late in June. The Galice Con. Co. is preparing to make available for pipe and giant all the territory recently added to its holdings at the mouth of Galice Creek. The main ditch is being extended, and with the 1000 feet of new piping that will be laid, all of the ground at lower end of the creek and out on Rogue River Bar will be in reach of the giants. A tubular elevator will also be put in, says manager A. B. Cousin. The battery of three giants is in steady operation.… T. K. Anderson is operating the Harmon & Green hydraulic mines under lease this season. Two giants are operated and the water supply is expected to hold out till July 1st.… The Rocky Gulch placers are operated this season by Lewis & Jewell. The main body of the gravel of this group lies along Rogue River.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 21, 1904, page 354
The Small Sawmill in Mine Development.The small sawmill is gaining an important place in the development of placer and quartz mines. Well it should, as it is proving a great money and labor saver. Many of the quartz and placer mines of Oregon and California own their own mills, especially in those districts where there is an abundance of timber. Properties that are located in remote districts cannot purchase and haul in lumber for less than $30 a thousand. The small sawmill can cut it for less than $6 a thousand.
Written for the Mining and Scientific Press by
Dennis H. Stovall, B.S.
The mill shown in the accompanying illustration is installed at a hydraulic mine, and "can be loaded on a pack pony," as the old sawyer expresses it, yet it cuts from 5000 to 7000 feet of lumber a day. Power is supplied by a Pelton wheel, and the water is derived from the pipeline feeding the giants. It requires but three or four men to operate the mill, and about that number in the timber, felling trees and sawing logs. A mill of this kind can be torn up and made ready for transportation in a short time, and can be readily set up again.
Quartz mines are also making use of the small sawmill for sawing mine timbers, lagging and lumber, and the placer miners use them for cutting lumber for flumes.
Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 28, 1904, page 364
Foreman Garvin reports the Golden Spike tunnel of the Shorty-Hope M.&M. Co., near Ashland, is in 520 feet and the vein is carrying good ore. The management have ordered 400 feet of 8-inch galvanized steel pipe to run from the face of the drift back to the upraise to remove gases caused by the explosives. The dam at the ditch intake, injured by the high waters of Wagner Creek, is being repaired.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 28, 1904, page 371
Douglas County.F. P. Hogan and C. H. Fisher, of Spokane, Wash., have a year's option for $30,000 on a group of eleven claims on West Fork Creek, in Douglas County. It is a sulphide ore carrying gold.
There is little snow left on the ground in Bohemia mining district, says A. Johnson, president of the Hiawatha M. Co., and the Grizzly group in Champion Canyon, near Bohemia. He reports the Crystal Con., North Fairview, Vesuvius, Oregon-Colorado, Riverside and other properties in Bohemia district have kept up continuous development during the winter and have increased ore bodies. The Oregon Securities Co. is resuming work throughout its holdings. The power plant is working successfully transmitting electric energy over 6 miles of pole line to the air compressor plant at the 30-stamp mill at head of Champion basin. It is operating two drills in the tunnel being driven through the saddle of Grouse Mountain, to make connection with the Musick mine. The Oregon & Southeastern Railway Co. has men at the end of its track laying rails on the section of grade completed last fall.
Josephine County.For $45,000 the Kirkland placer mines have been sold to McNicholas Bros. of Portland. The land is near Leland. J. H. McNicholas will have charge of the operations. A flume will be built and giants set up.
F. P. Hogan of Spokane, Wash., reports he has, with other Spokane men, taken bonds on two groups of claims, and expects to start work this month. A sixty-day option for $40,000 has been secured by Hogan and J. M. Allen on a group of seven or eight claims on Rogue River, about 20 miles south of Glendale. It is a free-milling gold property.
The Waldo S.&R. Co. at Waldo reports work on the smelter well under way and when completed will have a capacity of 100 tons daily. Besides treating the ore of its own mine custom work will he done. The company has bodies of ore blocked out in the mine and has men increasing the ore reserves.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 11, 1904, page 403
Jackson County.At the Shorty-Hope mines, near Ashland, it is reported the night and day shifts are still drifting on the Golden Spike ledge and are in 508 feet. The vein has widened. The 401 feet of 8-inch galvanized iron pipe has been put in place; extending from the raise to the face of the drift, this pipe ventilates the tunnel and removes the gases after shooting. The officers of the company are considering putting in air compressor, receivers, drills, hoists, pumps, etc., the compressor to be run by water power.
Josephine County.Machinery for the Takilma smelter at Takilma is on the ground. Shipment included an 80-H.P. boiler, a Connersville blower with direct connection with 60-H.P. engine, and engine and dynamo with a 20-H.P. engine for the sampler. Smelting will be started about July 1st. Other machinery is arriving, says superintendent A. I. Goodell.
The Granite Hill mines, near Grants Pass, are being developed and equipped by the American G.F. Co., of Chicago, Ill., of which W. J. Morphy is manager and L. Y. Wickersham superintendent. In the mill, a six-drill compressor, a 65-H.P. engine, an electric dynamo, with separate engine and a 120-H.P. boiler, are at work. Ten 1000-pound stamps and four Frue vanners are being set up and will be put in operation next week. Superintendent Wickersham says they propose putting in ten more stamps by the close of summer. The main shaft is being sunk by machine drills on three eight-hour shifts. Other drills are at work in the drifts on the two levels and a body of ore is being uncovered. Free gold, pyrite and galena are showing. About 500 men are on the payroll of the Granite Hill, and this list will be increased.
For $15,000 the Golden Wedge mine has been sold to Wilmington, Del., men. The property has a 2-stamp mill. The values are in gold. It is intended to put in a larger plant and operate the property. The mine is near Galice Creek. A. B. Cousin of the Galice Con. Co., near Grants Pass, is interested.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 18, 1904, pages 419-420
Jackson County.A deal has been closed at Gold Hill, whereby the Gold Hill Dev. Co., consisting of Milwaukee, Wis., men, has bought the J. J. Houck water and power privileges to conduct mining, manufacturing, etc. H. Schaeffer is manager for the Wisconsin men. It is intended to build a 100-ton smelter that will consume all its fumes and gases. The fuel will come from the company's coal mine in the Meadows district, and all power will be electrical. The smelter will be near the Rogue River mills, on opposite side of river. The company proposes to furnish electrical power for other purposes. The water power will be 8000 H. P. It will be necessary to build a canal 2100 feet long, 50 feet wide, and 8 feet deep, carrying 210,000 cubic feet of water per minute, with 26-foot constant head, says the Courier. The company has bought mining ground near Gold Hill that it will develop.
Josephine County.The Comstock G.M.&M. Co. is preparing to increase development work this year. The company has developed quartz mines at Mount Baldy, near Grants Pass, and also a number of claims on Canyon Creek, near Kerby. J. M. Layman, manager of the company, will superintend operations.
For $50,000, the Gold Standard group of gold and copper claims of H. E. Booth, of Pickett Creek district, have been sold to Cripple Creek, Colo., and Chicago, Ill., men. They will begin development this week. The Gold Standard group embraces eight full claims in one tract, on Pickett Creek and Rogue River, 12 miles below Grants Pass. Development work, in tunnels and drifts, has been done and a body of ore uncovered. Free gold is carried in the quartz, and in some of the veins copper predominates. The several adjoining claims will be operated conjunctively.
W. Gilmore of Medford, operating mines at Grayback Mountain, 20 miles east of Waldo, reports a gold strike of high-grade ore. There is said to be a streak 10 inches wide in a vein traced for 2000 feet. The strike is near the California line and on the divide between the Illinois and Klamath rivers, where placer beds were found in early days.
W. P. Cope, former owner of the Yank group of copper and gold claims of the Galice district, has taken charge of the Lucky Cuss group of claims of the Murphy district, near Grants Pass, and will superintend development for the Gold Point M.&M. Co. He is driving a deep tunnel.
The Gold King mine, of Josephine Creek, near Grants Pass, is being developed by W. Roe et al. of Fort Worth, Tex. Development work is being done under direction of M. Marks.
The Mountain Lion mine, near Grants Pass, has been taken up by J. S. Crawford et al. of Duluth and Minneapolis, Minn. The Mountain Lion has been under development for several years.
S. Bowden, with Spokane and other Washington men, has taken up a copper property near Kerby, on the Illinois River, and is developing it.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 25, 1904, page 436
Douglas County.The Oregon Securities Co., which owns properties at Bohemia, will begin operating its 30-stamp mill next week. Ore has been blocked out in the Musick mine, one of a group of seven which it owns. The company is driving a tunnel through the mountain from the Champion basin to the Musick mine, a distance of 2000 feet, and progress is being made at the rate of 10 feet a day, with the use of air drills.
S. Bowden has bought the and Lily May group of gold claims, near Kerby, and has placed men to work to develop them. The ledge is 40 feet in width, of quartz, carrying values from wall to wall of from $2.60 to $4.60 a ton. Bowden is driving two tunnels 600 feet apart, each of which will tap the main ore body at a depth of 400 feet. The mountain is steep and thus depth is made fast, and a good mill site is afforded, as all ore can be moved out by gravity, says the Telegram. There is an abundance of timber on the claims and a good water right, ample to supply power for six months each season without assistance of steam. After opening up the property Bowden will put in a cyanide plant.
Jackson County.Concentrates are being shipped to the smelter from the Opp mine, says the Jacksonville Sentinel. Work is being increased by J. W. Opp, the owner, and the mill is run steadily. The property consists of 400 acres of land, 1½ mile west of Jacksonville, on which are several ledges.
E. T. Staples has bonded the McKinley group of mines on Wagner Creek for $20,000. The claims are an extension of the Ashland mine, near Jacksonville. Staples has started sinking an incline shaft.
Josephine County.A. C. Hoofer, of Portland, manager of the Mount Pitt Hydraulic & Q.M. Co., operating on Jumpoff Joe Creek, near Grants Pass, says the crosscut tunnel has cut a 10-foot ledge at depth of 75 feet. The ledge carries gold values from wall to wall. Several hundred acres are embraced in the Mount Pitt Co.'s holdings. Aside from the quartz claims being developed, there is an area of placer ground, in Bummer's Gulch. The country is well timbered, and watered.
The Rand M. Co., composed of Washington men, who have bought the Yank group of gold and copper claims of the Galice district, on Rogue River, near Grants Pass, for $60,000, have placed a crew and begun development work for the summer. The workings of the mine consist of 700 feet of well-timbered tunnels and drifts on the mountain above Rogue River. The new owners have begun driving a tunnel several hundred feet below the old workings and nearer the level of the river. A raise will connect the two levels. There is a site for a smelter, plenty of water and timber.
At a depth of 100 feet a body of ore carrying values in gold is reported opened by Riggs & Flamm in the Red Bean mine, of Starveout Creek, near Grants Pass.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 2, 1904, page 14
March 27, 1903 Oregonian
MINING NEAR GOLD HILL
Considerable Activity Shown on Old and new Properties.
GOLD HILL, Or., July 10.--(Special.)--The Condor Power & Mining Company is placing a new steel wagon bridge across Rogue River just below the Ray dam at Gold Ray.
L. T. Pockman, representing San Francisco capital, has bought the Hawkeye American mining claim in the Willow Springs mining district, and has moved a complete mining outfit out to camp with a small force to commence active development on the property.
In near vicinity to this property Robert Allison and associates have taken a lease and bond on the Schumpf mine and are cleaning out and retimbering the old tunnel, from which the owners a few years ago took out several thousand dollars in free-milling ore.
The Lucky Bart mine, on Sardine Creek, has been leased to J. W. Hay and partners, who are now doing considerable development work.
J. M. Patrick has taken a year's lease on the Braden mine, two miles east of town, and is working quite a force of men on same. While repairing and fitting up the ten-stamp mill now on the property he has leased the Bowden mill at Gold Hill, though which he will run some 200 or 300 tons of Braden ore. This mine has produced large quantities of pay ore on the past, and as Dr. Ray has been steadily exploring and blocking out ore in this property for the past five years it now has immense ore reserves in sight, sufficient to keep the present ten-stamp mill running a number of years.
The large ore bodies in this mine, in places from 15 to 20 feet in width, are found and opened to a depth of between 400 and 500 feet, thus adding another case to refute the old and well-established theory that there are nothing but "pocket mines" in Southern Oregon.
Messrs. Simons and Hawley are prospecting E. E. Miner's placer ground on Karnes Creek with a view of demonstrating its adaptability for dredging purposes, and are meeting with very flattering results.
Oregonian, Portland, July 11, 1904, page 4
Jackson County.H. Schaeffer, superintendent of the Gold Hill Dev. Co. at Gold Hill, says work will be resumed and 200 men employed on the new electric power and smelting plants.
Josephine County.The Oscar Creek hydraulic mines have been bought by Foster & Gunnell of Grants Pass for Eastern men and initial payment made. The Oscar Creek hydraulic mines are on Applegate River, 10 miles from Grants Pass. They comprise 226 acres of mineral ground, 108 of which are patented. The diggings are of creek bed bars, bench and rim channel. The placers are equipped with two No. 1 giants and several thousand feet of flume and piping and 3 miles of ditch. The new owners will increase the length and width of the ditch, add to the water supply and increase equipment.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 16, 1904, page 46
Jackson County.Men are at work getting out timber for a complete rebuilding of the Shorty Hope mine shaft, near Ashland, from the surface down to the Golden Spike level. This will be a two-compartment shaft. A station will be made at the intersection of the Shorty Hope crosscut and necessary machinery placed at this point for sinking several hundred feet on the ledge, which is nearly vertical. It is intended that the shaft repairs will be completed and sunk to the Golden Spike level before the tunnel reaches the intersection.
Josephine County.W. C. Slade, who has a placer mine on Johnson gulch, a tributary of Sucker Creek, near California Bar, near Grants Pass, reports he has also located a 4-foot ledge of gold-bearing quartz on his placer claims. He has found indications of quicksilver ore deposits. A find has been made on Sucker Creek, near California Bar, by J. Burnett. He has two ledges running parallel.
Grants Pass reports say a 5-stamp mill and equipment, formerly used at the Granite Hill mines, are being moved across the gulch to the Red Jacket claim of the Granite Hill Co. The mill is replaced at the Granite Hill by a 10-stamp battery, with four Frue vanners. The new mill has begun operations. The Red Jacket claim has several ledges of from 2 to 6 feet width, carrying values. It is intention of the American G.F. Co. to operate the Red Jacket separately, but later in conjunction with the Granite Hill. As development proceeds, the two will be united, says superintendent Wickersham.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 23, 1904, page 62
J. H. Pearsons, secretary of the Oregon Securities Co., operating at Bohemia, says the tunnel which is being driven through the Champion to the Musick mine has reached a depth of 525 feet. A large amount of high-grade ore has been blocked out from the Musick mine, and by Aug. 1 the company's 30-stamp mill will begin grinding ore. The tunneling operations are being carried on through a ledge 45 feet in width.
"Douglas County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 30, 1904, page 79
Superintendent A. F. Nelson of the Eureka mine on Soldier Creek, south of Grants Pass, reports that mine in a prosperous condition. Sinking and drifting is being done with two machine drills, and the ore body is 94 feet in width. Nelson reports 18,000 tons of ore blocked out. The vein is a contact between slate and dolerite and the ore averages $18 a ton. The company is operating a 10-stamp mill, concentrator and cyanide plant.
Grants Pass reports say telluride ore running $100 a ton is being taken from the ledge of one of the claims of the Lewis & Clark M. Co. on Canyon Creek, near Kerby. J. M. Layman et al. are owners and have been developing the group with satisfactory results. These men have six claims, or 120 acres, and, aside from the ledges, there are timber and an abundance of water for power and general mining purposes. The company has men at work opening the ledges, building trails and bridges preparatory to bringing out ore for shipment. Layman says the claims on which they are directing principal work shows an 8-foot ledge, with a porphyry hanging wall and granite foot wall.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 13, 1904, pages 112-113
Jackson County.A. C. Hoofer of the Mount Pitt Hydraulic & Quartz M. Co. says he is putting in machinery for the development of his ledge on Jumpoff Joe, near Medford, which he has bonded from the Hydraulic M. Co. A small quartz mill and equipment is being set up.
Josephine County.The 100-ton smelter being built by the Takilma Smelting Co., at Takilma, for the Waldo copper mines, is nearing completion, and is expected to be ready for its initial blowing in before Sept. 10. The last of the machinery is being placed at the plant.
A. C. Hoofer of Portland, manager of the Mount Pitt Hydraulic & Q.M. Co. properties, on Jumpoff Joe River, near Grants Pass, is superintending development of the property. He is putting in a mill and development plant. The ledge is 3 feet wide and carries values, largely in free gold.
Grants Pass reports say an ore strike has been made by the American G.F. Co., at the Granite Hill and Red Jacket mines. Superintendent Wickersham says the mill is running steadily. The new mill handles ore from the Granite Hill and Red Jacket mines. On the former the main shaft is down between the 300 and 400-foot levels, and the 200-foot level is opened up with over 350 feet of drift and 60 feet of raises being carried to the 100-foot level. Machine drills are used. The cage used in the shaft is provided with extension guides for lowering below timbers, thus facilitating the shaft sinking. A pumping plant has been installed in the pump station at the 220-foot level, capable of pumping 370,000 gallons a day. The mill plant contains ten 1000-pound stamps, four Frue vanners, 80-ton crusher, a 65-H.P. engine, a 10-H.P. engine for concentrators and a six-drill compressor. An electric light plant is also in operation and the mine is lighted by it. The steam plant comprises three boilers, aggregating 200 H.P. The Red Jacket mine is being operated in conjunction with the Granite Hill. A drift constituting the present workings affords 70 feet of back at present face and drifting westward will increase it. The hoist and boiler formerly used on the Granite Hill are being moved up to the Red Jacket to continue work on the winze. Ore is now hauled to the mill by steam, but as the Red Jacket develops an aerial tramway will be utilized.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 27, 1904, page 147
Jackson County.Superintendent T. Kahler, at Tolo, says he will superintend prospect work for Ray & Co. on the McDonough place. An ancient channel of Willow Creek runs through the land and is said to be payable placer ground. Should there be gold sufficient to justify, Ray will put in a dredger similar to that operated on Foots Creek by Champlin & Co. If there is not sufficient water caught in the basin to float the dredger and wash the gravel in the sluice boxes on the scow, water from Rogue River will be pumped to the basin.
Josephine County.Grants Pass reports say 4 feet of ore running $40 per ton is being opened at the Golden Wedge mine of Galice district, owned by G. W. Kirkley of Wilmington, Del., and W. J. Cleland of Philadelphia, Pa. Drifting on the vein is being done at the 300-foot level. A tunnel is being driven to cut the ledge 150 feet below the shaft. They will increase the mill battery to twenty stamps and add other equipment, including an electric lighting and power plant. Water power will generate the electricity and electric drills will be used underground. A sawmill will be built.
At Takilma the smelter is completed and will be blown in this week. The smelter has a capacity of 100 tons of ore per day. Three engines will supply power for the ore crusher, dynamo, blower, elevator, etc., and water for the boilers and for the smelter will be supplied by a 6-inch pipe under 180-foot pressure. Charcoal and coke will be used for fuel. The company is having charcoal burned on its timber land near the smelter. The coke will be hauled from Grants Pass--42 miles--by wagon. These teams will haul out copper matte. Bins at the smelter are filled with ore and 2000 tons are on the dump at the mine. The company expects to put in a railroad to connect the mine with the smelter, and it is expected that next year a railroad will be built from Grants Pass to Takilma and on to the ocean at Crescent City, Cal. C. L. Tutt of Colorado City, Colo., is president of the United States R.&R. Co., owning the Takilma smelter.
Machinery is being put in at the Hammersley mine, in the Jumpoff Joe district, near Grants Pass, including a boiler and 5-stamp mill.… The Albright mines on Rancheria Creek, near Kerby, have been bonded to T. F. Hopkins et al. for $20,000. The ore is of low grade. They intend to put in a mill of 100 stamps.
The Golden Drift M. Co., operating 5 miles from Grants Pass, on the Dry Diggings group, on Rogue River, has put in five 400-H.P. turbines. The power is to be connected with a single shaft and will be used in the operation of a centrifugal pump which has a capacity of 9000 gallons of water per minute under a 430-foot head. The dam is being built to accommodate eleven more of the turbines. There are fifty men employed at the dam. The Golden Drift Co. bought this property from H. A. Corliss three years ago for $15,000. This year their cleanup was in the neighborhood of $20,000, and it has never fallen below the purchase price equivalent in either year of operation since.… J. M. Layman, superintendent of the Lewis and Clarke mine on Canyon Creek, reports taking out telluride ore.
Manager Kirkley of the Golden Wedge quartz mine, near Merlin, says a reduction plant will be built.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 3, 1904, page 166
The Platts quartz group on Boland Creek is reported developing a ledge 12 feet in width, carrying free gold values of $10 to the ton. Platts & Sons, owners, expect to put on machinery. The Platts mine is near the mouth of Boland Creek, near Althouse.
At California Bar on Sucker Creek, near Althouse, the Sucker Creek M. Co., under superintendent H. Warner, has put on a pumping and hoisting plant. Two drifts are being run to show the extent of the gravel deposit. Two pumps are used, one to keep out the water from the excavation and the other to pump water from the creek to operate the sluices. A 7-mile ditch has been surveyed.
S. Bowden is arranging for development and equipment of the mine, of which he is owner, near Kerby. R. G. Virtue of Leland says be will start development of the Ajax mine, in which he is part owner, in Mount Reuben district.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 10, 1904, page 183
NEW SMELTER NOW IN FULL OPERATION
The Portland Oregonian, of August 29, contained an interesting interview with Charles L. Tutt, president of the United States Reduction and Refining Company, relative to the operations of the new smelter which Mr. Tutt has recently completed at Takelma, Oregon. The article follows:
Charles L. Tutt, of Colorado Springs, the president of the United States Reduction and Refining Company, one of the largest smelting companies in Colorado, was at the Portland last night, accompanied by Mrs. Tutt.
Mr. Tutt has just reached Portland from Takelma, Josephine County, where he has been for the past four years interested in the development of the gold and copper mining industry of the section. As the result of his labors, a new smelter with a capacity of 150 tons of ore a day was blown in on August 25, and will be in operation by the first of September, the plant having been erected at a cost of more than $250,000 and at a vast expense of time and labor.
Last night Mr. Tutt told of his experiences in the mountains of Josephine County, of the hardships necessary in the construction of his smelter and of the final success crowning his efforts.
"I have spent the past four years in Josephine County," said Mr. Tutt, "and have done a lot of hard work there, but I am sure that it has been to good purpose and that it will result in the betterment of the district--not only from a mining standpoint, for the establishment of the smelter will tend to open the country in other ways.
"The Takelma smelter, of which I am the owner, is located at a little post office by that name in the mountains of Josephine County, and about 40 miles to the southwest of Grants Pass.
"When I went into the district," continued the mining investor, "I early discovered that there were great quantities of ore to be taken from the ground and bearing quantities not only of copper, but of gold as well. Owing to the great distance from the railroad, however, and the roughness of the trail, it was impossible to get the ore to a shipping point at a profit. It was then, after a great deal of consideration, that I concluded to build a smelter, not only for my benefit, but for the good of the district, which is capable of great development.
"Work on the plant was begun on March 13 last, and no one who has never been through the country can appreciate the task confronting the workmen. In the first place, quarters had to be constructed for the men, and as there was no way of getting lumber from the railroad, a sawmill had to be built. After that the excavation work proceeded in the mud and storms of the early spring until the foundations were laid and the main construction work was begun.
"At this point another difficulty faced the workmen. It was necessary to make the brick from which to build the big chimney of the smelter, as well as the walls and the furnace casings, all parts, in fact, where brickwork was required. Not only did the brick have to be made, but we had to burn the lime for the mortar.
"All these difficulties were overcome, however," continued Mr. Tutt, "and the smelter was 'blown in' for its trial run when it was demonstrated to be a complete success. Matte was produced which will, when all expenses are deducted, pay a good percentage on the investment. Owing to the fact that an addition will have to be made in the water supply, the continuous operation of the plant will not be commenced until September 1. After that time the smelter will run continuously the year round.
"I am sure that the venture will be a success, for it will make a market for the ores to be mined in the district. The product of the smelter can be shipped out at a profit, while without its help the miners could not have a market for the metals taken from their claims. With the successful operation of the smelter, we hope in time to secure easier transportation, and when that comes the mineral district of Southern Oregon will lead the state."
Mr. and Mrs. Tutt will leave this morning for their summer home on the Columbia, a short distance above Vancouver.
Weekly Gazette, Colorado Springs, Colorado, September 14, 1904, page 8
F. Perry of New York and J. F. Reddy of Spokane, Wash., have bought an interest in the Opp mines, west of Jacksonville, and they will install a 10-stamp mill.Josephine County.
Men are driving development work on the Almeda mine at Galice, says manager J. F. Wickham. Work is under way on two adits and in a crosscut. Work will be started on an opening between the two levels. The company will build roads that will give shorter mileage to the railroad, and which will make Leland its shipping point. It will also afford a direct route for hauling in mill machinery.
The dredger of A. Champlin, on Foots Creek, near Grants Pass, has resumed work after two weeks, overhauling and repairing for the winter.
The Albright & Co. quartz mines near Kerby have been bonded to T. F. Hopkins & Co. for $20,000, who will develop and equip them. The ore is low grade. Hopkins & Co. will begin work this week and will later put in a stamp mill.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 17, 1904, page 199
Douglas County.The Continental G.M. Co., operating on South Myrtle Creek, near Roseburg, will build a 40-ton milling plant, says manager W. B. Stewart. Three tunnels are being driven on the main vein and all opening up ore.
Bohemia reports say the main working tunnel of Le Roy M. Co. is now in 600 feet on the ledge, which shows concentrating ore. The ledge has been exposed by six tunnels and a shaft for 1200 feet, showing average width of 15 feet. A reduction plant will be built. Short aerial tramways will be built from the lower tunnels on either side of the canyon to the mill site on Champion Creek, near Bohemia, where water and timber is at hand. The company has an air compressor plant and drills. A sawmill will be installed to turn out lumber and timbers for the plant and bunk and boarding houses.
Work on the Grizzly group, near Bohemia, will be resumed next week. The upper tunnel is in 500 feet, showing a chute of ore 8 feet wide, with 180 feet of backs. About 200 feet lower down a crosscut tunnel is being run to cut the ledge. The property is on Grizzly Mountain, and the ore is concentrating and smelting. The mine has mill site, water power and timber.
In Champion basin at Bohemia the Oregon Securities Co. is running an 8x9 tunnel through Grouse Mountain to connect by electric railway the Musick mine on east slope of Bohemia Mountain with the new mill in Champion basin. This tunnel will be 1600 feet in length, of which 800 feet is completed, and work is progressing at the rate of 5 feet daily. From mouth of tunnel down the mountain has been built a double-track endless wire tramway for 2600 feet to the mill, and enclosed with snow sheds. The 30-stamp mill is being finished. The company has
an assay plant. The 500-H.P. electric plant of the company on Brass Creek, 5 miles below, is in operation. The sawmill, near the mill, is run with electricity. In the tunnel, at 400 feet, the Gray Eagle ledge has been cut, showing 6 feet of milling ore, and at 200 feet farther in, the Excelsior ledge has been cut, exposing 50 feet of milling ore. At 1000 feet the Champion ledge will be cut. All these ledges will have 1000 feet of backs from the tunnel level. One shift of two drills is driving, but a double shift will be put on next week.
F. J. Hard of the Vesuvius mine, near Bohemia, will add an electric lighting plant to his mill. The Vesuvius mill is about completed and will be ready to start work about Oct. 1st.
Jackson County.Opp, Reddy & Perry will put in machinery for a mill on Jackson Creek below their present mill, near Jacksonville. Manager J. W. Opp says ore can be brought to the mill on cars by gravity from the mine. A building for a 20-stamp mill will be erected and ten stamps will be first put in. Power will be electricity from one of the Rogue River power stations.
Progress is reported in development at the Blue Lead copper mine of Upper Applegate, near Applegate, under management of the Bradshaw M. Co. of New York. Twenty-five men are employed. Superintendent G. W. Geddes states his company will put in a compressor and drive the tunnels with power drills.
Josephine County.F. D. Million of Ashland and W. S. Love of Portland, with J. W. Thomasson, owners of the Blue Channel M.&D. Co., will put a hydraulic plant in on their claim in Robinson Gulch, near Wolf Creek. The property consists of three placer claims. Men are at work cleaning out ditches and sluice boxes, says superintendent Thomasson.
Ore carrying free gold and sylvanite values is being taken out at the Lewis & Clark mine on Canyon Creek, near Kerby. The mine is being opened up by the Lewis & Clark M. Co., of which M. Layman is manager, and headquarters are at Urbana, Ill. The formation is limestone and slate. The rich ores are from a depth of 100 feet in a tunnel on the vein. Development will proceed in this and also in five other tunnels. The company proposes to put in a milling plant soon. Electric drills are being used.
F. V. Metts, manager of the Silver Creek Basin placer mines near Grants Pass, says work is being carried on and 600 feet of tunnel is completed. The ditch is finished and the sawmill ready for operation. The tunnel will tap the basin at a depth of 210 feet from the surface, and 300 feet of tunnel remains to be run before the basin is tapped. After the tunnel is put through it will be enlarged and retimbered and double flumes put in.
C. Crane, superintendent of the Gold Lucky Queen mine on Jumpoff Joe Creek, near Grants Pass, says a 10-stamp mill will be put in this fall.… The Granite Hill mine reports developing an ore chute 500 feet long, the vein being 5 feet in width at the 200-foot level. The ore is milling rock. The company is steadily operating five stamps of the mill.
The Galice Con. M. Co. has opened a low bar on Rogue River, below Galice Creek, near Grants Pass, taking advantage of the low water stage. A flume has been extended into the river. The gravel is said to be yielding 50 cents per yard.
At the Mountain Lion mine, in Missouri Flat district, 12 miles south of Grants Pass, work is reported progressing under Crawford & Poindexter. Since June they have added 500 feet of tunnel, exposing two ore veins of an average width of 14 inches each. Two stopes have been opened. The 5-stamp mill and concentrator have been overhauled and remodeled. Assay office and other buildings have been put up. The Mountain Lion is under bond to J. S. Crawford, M. B. Smith of Minneapolis, Minn., and C. H. Poindexter.
In Sucker Creek district, south of Holland, the Sucker Creek M. Co. has holdings of placer ground on California Bar. The company is working the ground and determining its value for more extensive operations by pumping and hoisting. While it is prospect work, and being done to ascertain the width and depth of the pay channel, the gravel is being hoisted and dumped into a sluiceway provided with riffles, where the gold is washed out, says manager H. Warner. Two pumps supply water for the sluices and keep out the water from the drifts. A 7-mile ditch has been surveyed from the head of Sucker Creek.
T. T. Burkhart of Portland, interested in the Gold Bug mine in Mount Reuben district, near Grants Pass, says development is progressing. The 5-stamp mill is not running at present, but will be opened again next month. The Benton, Gold Bug, Kramer and other mines in same district are being opened up.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 24, 1904, page 215
Douglas County.Bohemia reports say work is progressing on the Utopian group, on Elephant Mountain. The group of five claims is owned by F. J. Hard of Portland. Several tunnels and open cuts have been run on the veins, showing bodies of ore. The main working tunnel is in 200 feet in milling ore.
The Jordan Creek M.&W.P. Co. of Portland, which owns a group of quartz and placer claims on Jordan Creek, between Riddle and Canyonville, expects to begin development work this month. A. Rowley, manager of the company, states that several tunnels have been run.
Jackson County.(Special Correspondence).--The Braden mine, near Gold Hill, is being worked by G. Patrick and J. B. McGee, lessees. Tunnels on this property have been run to extent of 1400 feet. In the main tunnel a shaft is being sunk to 300 feet. The ore at 100 feet in depth is free milling, with high-grade sulphurets. The ledge is from 1 to 4 feet wide. On the property is a 10-stamp mill, with a Wilfley concentrating table.
The Little Alice mine, 5 miles from Gold Hill, is in slate and developed by four tunnels, the longest 200 feet in, tapping the ledge 150 feet below the surface. The others are connected with raises and bodies of ore blocked out. On the property is a 2-stamp mill and cyanide plant.
Gold Hill, Sept. 27.(Special Correspondence).--The Opp mining group, near Jacksonville, has been under development for several years. The general formation in this locality is porphyry, diorite and slate, with ledges 3 to 10 feet in width and the ore free milling, with about $7 per ton values. The longest tunnel is in 200 feet with a 200-foot raise to the surface. There are 300 feet of drifting. In the strongest ledge the pay chute is over 5 feet wide. During development of the mine it has produced $100,000 from its oxidized ores. J. H. Reddy of Spokane, Wash., is associated with J. W. Opp in management and development, and the 3-stamp mill is being replaced by a new building containing ten 1000-pound stamps, with space to add ten more.
Jacksonville, Sept. 27.(Special Correspondence).--W. H. Jackson and I. L. Hamilton of Medford are developing at 30 miles from Medford a quarter section of land bought from the railroad grant and report opening up of cinnabar values. The breast of the 140-foot tunnel is 100 feet below the surface and in vein matter 10 feet in width. Development will be carried on during the winter months.
Milwaukee, Wis., men are negotiating with J. J. Houck of Gold Hill for his holdings consisting of a 2-stamp mill and the water of the river to the extent of 8000 H.P., and a ditch of 2000 feet and other appurtenances. The company is to build an electric plant to supply power and lights to mining and other properties and to the towns from Ashland to Grants Pass, a distance of nearly 50 miles. H. Schaeffer is manager.
Medford, Sept. 27.(Special Correspondence).--Operations are progressing on the Shorty Hope mine, near Ashland. In the 2000 feet of tunnel work eight ore chutes have been cut, the ledges being 3 to 8 feet in width and the ore 50% free milling, the balance high-grade sulphurets. They will sink a 500-foot shaft in the main tunnel, which point will admit of drifting and stoping ore 700 feet below the surface. On the property is a 10-stamp mill with two Frue vanners. While the property is equipped with 500 H.P. of water, it is proposed to contract with one of the Gold Hill electrical power plants to furnish power for using electrical drills and lighting.
Ashland, Sept. 28.(Special Correspondence).--Two miles from Gold Hill, E. T. Staples and C. E. McChesney are developing their holdings by a tunnel to crosscut the ledge. There are four ledges within 480 feet which are expected to unite. After striking the ledge a raise will be cut to the surface.
One of the well-developed properties in the district is the Lucky Bart on Sardine Creek, 6 miles from Gold Hill. The ledge is 40 feet in width, between diorite and serpentine, with payable ore, free milling, with 4% sulphurets. Development consists of 550 feet of work in the three tunnels and over 3000 feet of drifting at 170 feet below the surface. The ore from the Rita ledge averages $15 in gold to the ton. Shipments have been made to the Tacoma smelter. On the property is a 5-stamp mill and a Johnson concentrator. The mill is run by steam. J. H. Beeman is owner.
Gold Hill, Sept. 27.J. A. Whitman et al. of Medford have incorporated a company to develop and operate 2000 acres of placer ground in Jackson County. They are equipping the property.
Josephine County.(Special Correspondence).--The Seeley mine on Murphy Creek, 9 miles from Grants Pass, is being worked by C. Clark of Kerbyville and A. Fetsch of Grants Pass. There are two tunnels, one following in on a 12-foot ledge of free-milling quartz of $12 value per ton in gold. Other development consists of several shafts down 30 to 40 feet. Development will be increased.
The Old Dick mine of three claims on Jumpoff Joe Creek is being developed by S. W. Richards of Port Townsend, Wash. The 2000-foot tunnel is at its face 150 feet below the surface on a 4-foot ledge of free-milling quartz of the value of $12 per ton in gold.
Grants Pass, Sept. 28."Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 1, 1904, page 231
Douglas County.(Special Correspondence).--A ditch 4½ miles long is being built to convey 2000 inches of water from Reuben Creek to the Harris Flat placer, near the mouth of Grave Creek. It will be completed for next season's run. A. M. Scott and A. W. Shearer are rushing preliminary work on the placer claims of the Gold Flat M. Co.
Glendale, Oct. 4.Development this season on the Pittsburg group, near Bohemia, is reported showing satisfactory results. The group of six claims, owned by W. H. Shane and others, is at the head of Rock Creek, on the Monte Rico ridge, 2½ miles from the Musick mine, at Bohemia. Over 700 feet of tunnels have been run. The main crosscut tunnel, in 160 feet, will cut seven ledges in 1000 feet, and will then have vertical depth of 1000 feet. The group has timber, water power and mill site, and a wagon road will be built by which machinery will be taken in.
Bohemia reports say a body of milling ore is opened up in the Twin Rock group of nine claims, on Twin Rock Ridge. The main working tunnel is being driven and a crosscut shows 15 feet of ore. The owners of the properties in that section of the district are arranging to combine for construction of a wagon road to connect with the main stage route, to facilitate transportation of machinery next season.
Jackson County.(Special Correspondence).--The Bievenue Bros., on Rich Creek, intend to enlarge their operations this winter and will use a 6-inch pipe, 600 feet long, and have pressure enough to readily handle the red clay and gravel formation of their claims. The pipeline is completed, as are also the ditch and reservoir.
The Blue Ledge C. Co. has bonded the J. Bars land, owned by J. L. Willetts, consisting of 160 acres. In the tract are several acres of level land, having good water supply, which makes it desirable for a townsite. Stages make semi-weekly trips between Watkins and Jacksonville.
Watkins, Oct. 3.(Special Correspondence).--The Oregon Belle mine, on Forest Creek, 12 miles southwest of Jacksonville, is being developed. The group consists of nine claims in slate and diorite formations, with two ledges 4 feet in width, with a northeasterly trend. The Oregon Belle claim shows a pay chute of 18 inches, while the Gold King claim has a 3-foot ledge of free-milling quartz. Developments are mostly on the Oregon Belle, by several drifts and tunnels connected by raises. The 250-foot chute of pay ore is cut by these drifts at 100 feet apart. Work now consists in driving a crosscut tunnel to strike the ledge at 940 feet below its apex. After drifting 200 feet on the new level a crosscut will be run to cut the ledge of the Gold King 230 feet below the surface. The ore of the Oregon Belle is free milling, with values averaging $17 per ton, and that of the Gold King an oxidized ore with quartz, with average values of $8 per ton. The Oregon Belle has eight levels. The mill and lower tunnel are at an elevation of 3300 feet above sea level. An abundance of timber and water for all purposes is at hand. The equipments are a 3½-foot Huntington mill, a concentrating table, a return tubular boiler, just installed, and two 2½-inch machine drills. The property is owned by the New York & Western M. Co., with home office at Amsterdam, N.Y. W. S. Roberts is president and A. H. Gunnell, Grants Pass, western manager.
Jackson, Oct. 4.The Homestake mine, near Woodville, has its 5-stamp mill ready for operation. A body of high-grade ore has been developed.
R. A. Miller of Portland says he will resume development work on his quartz mining properties adjoining the Opp mine, near Jacksonville. A stamp mill will be built.
Josephine County.(Special Correspondence).--Three miles north of Leland, A. E. Reeves, representing Mullan, Idaho, parties, is developing a group of three claims, through which runs a 20-foot ledge enclosed in diorite and slate. The ore is quartz with chalcopyrite, carrying 7% copper and $2 in gold.
The Benton group of seventeen claims, in Mt. Reuben district, has over 4000 feet of development, including one tunnel of 1460 feet, with raises of 200 feet and other workings giving 500 feet of backs. The general formation is syenite and granite. About 20% of the ore is free-milling and 90% of the values can be saved by cyaniding. Sinking is the system of development and the ore is stacked on the dump ready for a cyaniding plant to be placed in the spring. Placer ground and mill sites are in connection with the property. J. C. Lewis and R. Jones have been developing this property.
The Ideal gravel mine, owned by Blaisdell and others, in Mt. Reuben district, covers 700 acres of bench land. The owners are starting to construct a ditch, including 6 miles of flume and piping, the whole to cost $50,000.
The Columbia gravel mine, owned by Lewis Bros. of Portland, near the Greenback quartz mine, works forty men during the winter season.
Five miles east of Leland, T. J. Mackin and A. J. Bennett are developing a free-milling proposition; the ledge matter is in granite and porphyry. A tunnel and an incline shaft have developed ore bodies which, by arrastra, yield $20 per ton in gold.
Leland, Oct. 1.(Special Correspondence).--Tho Copper Stain group of claims, in Mt. Reuben district, is being developed under management of W. H. Dana. The vein is in diorite. The lodge is 2 feet in width with quartz giving mill returns of $15 in gold. From the several levels are over 2000 feet of drifting. The mine is owned by Springfield, Ill., men.
Grants Pass, Oct. 4.(Special Correspondence).--On Jumpoff Joe Creek, near Grants Pass, and about 3 miles north of the Granite Hills property, is the Oro Fino group of three claims, owned by S. Chase of Portland. There are several ledges averaging 4½ feet in width in diorite. The pay streaks vary from 18 inches to 40 inches of free-milling ore near the surface, changing to high-grade sulphurets with depth. Development has reached a depth of 240 feet and is in ore. Values in the main ledge [are] $15 to the ton and in the laterals $30 in gold. The ledge of the Elkhart, an extension, has a 400-foot tunnel showing a 16-inch pay streak of $21 ore. Improvements are a roll crusher, Sturtevant rolls, a Fairbanks-Morse steam hoist of 25 H.P. and a 50-ton cyaniding plant.
One of the extensive gold-bearing channels in Southern Oregon is that owned by the Old Channel M. Co. on the benches above where Galice Creek empties into Rogue River, 20 miles west of Grants Pass. It has been proven 2400 feet in width in places, with banks of gravel averaging 120 feet in height. The holdings consist of 1500 acres, 900 acres being patented and extending 4½ miles in length. The property is worked by J. R. Harvey, part owner, under lease. With the available supply of water and an unlimited dump, he handles 10,000 cubic yards of gravel daily at an expense of 2½ cents per cubic yard. The ditch and flume, 12 miles in length, carry 5000 inches of water and deliver it at the mines under a pressure of 510 feet by three 6-inch nozzles with No. 4 giants. The gold of the channel is coarse, with a value of $19.33 per ounce, while that from the banks has a value of $18.25 per ounce. The lower gravel of this mine has been found to contain metals of the platinum group--platinum, osmium, ruthenium and iridium. The concentrates are easily saved, as 1300 yards of gravel make one cubic yard of concentrates, and in regular season one ton is saved every two days. Manager Harvey is repairing at all points, preparatory for a heavy season's work. The arrangement of the sluice channel is such that there is a constant gravity flow to the center and oil to the dumping ground.
Grants Pass, Oct. 4.J. T. Breeden has leased and will operate the Nunan hydraulic mines of Forest Creek, near Grants Pass. These mines cover 150 acres of placer ground. The water rights supply the diggings through two ditches, one giving 280 and the other 580 feet pressure.
Superintendent H. Foster of the Oregon Belle mine, on Forest Creek, near Grants Pass, reports improvements being made. The Oregon Belle is owned by the New York Western M. Co. Developments will be increased and they will put in a 10-stamp mill. Superintendent Foster says the compressor plant is ready to run. Two drills will be used and men put to work extending the two tunnels now opened.
Grants Pass reports say the Benton mine of Mount Reuben, which has been undergoing development for two years, is to have a 40-stamp mill. The Benton is owned by J. C. Lewis of Portland and R. Jones, the latter being superintendent. A 1400-foot tunnel has been driven, all on the vein.
The Golden Drift M. Co., at the Rogue River, near Grants Pass, is placing turbines to supply power and water to the Dry Diggings placers. There remains only the installation of the pump, the laying of pipes and the setting of giants. Manager Ament says this will be completed in November. The four turbines in place will give sufficient power for present requirements, and the number will be increased later. The company will supply power not only for its own uses, but for surrounding mines. The pumps for the Golden Drift dam are of the five-step centrifugal type, each one having a weight of 42,000 pounds, and each capable of delivering 9000 gallons of water per minute to a height of 800 feet and giving it to the giants in the diggings under an equivalent gravity head of 400 to 500 feet.
Foster & Gunnell of Grants Pass, who are developing the Oregon Belle mine of Forest Creek, will build a 10-stamp mill.
J. T. Breeden has leased and will operate the Nunan hydraulic mines of Forest Creek, near Grants Pass. These mines cover 150 acres of placer ground. The water rights supply the diggings through two ditches, one giving 280 and the other 580 feet pressure.
The Sylvanite G.M. Co. has been incorporated at Portland by J. T. Walls, Washington; T. Daniels, H. L. Pittock, F. J. Conway, Nampa, Idaho; J. K. Neill, Sumpter; B. C. Ely and A. L. Morris to work mines near Grants Pass.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 8, 1904, pages 247-248
Jackson County.(Special Correspondence).--The Hawkeye-American mine on Lanes Creek, 21 miles south of Gold Hill, is being worked under management of L. T. Pockman. This is a low-grade proposition, the body of ore being 25 feet in width between walls of porphyry and slate. Development is by tunneling, with breast of tunnel 100 feet below the surface. Ore values average $4 per ton free milling. San Francisco parties are principal owners.
The Shump mine on Lane Creek, owned by A. M. Allison of Iowa, is proving a high-grade proposition, as ore from a pocket gave returns up to $1000 to the ton. Development is by 300 feet of tunneling.
Gold Hill, Oct. 11.The Cohen mine of Sucker Creek has been bought by A. Gainer of Portland. Gainer has cleaned out the old workings, retimbered the tunnels and drifts, and is driving deeper into the mountain, uncovering a body of ore.
J. A. Whitman of Medford says he has bonded the Mixer placer mining property on Steamboat Creek, in Sucker Creek section, south of Ashland, and is fitting it up for operation during the winter. This is a few miles north of the Briggs find. He has built a ditch.
Josephine County.(Special Correspondence).--In Galice mining district, W. H. Moore, N. P. Hansen and J. C. Mattison of Moro own four claims which are at 4000 feet altitude, in schist, the ledges being about 4 feet in width and the ore chalcopyrite, assaying 25% copper, $6 gold and $1 silver. There are 350 feet of tunnels, the longest being 275 feet, beside several shallow shafts. Development is being increased.
The Rand M. Co. of Bellingham, Wash., owns five claims on the Big Yank ledge, in the Galice mining district, 20 miles west of Grants Pass and near Rogue River. The formation in general is diorite. Tunnels and drifting amounting to 1000 feet have been done, giving a vertical depth below surface of 300 feet. The ore carries values of $17 gold and copper. The company platted a town site of 100 acres on the banks of the river, and, with the sawmill in operation, erection of buildings will begin. The officers of the company are: F. J. Barlow, president: D. L. Smith, secretary and treasurer; L. B. M. Simons, manager.
The Galice Con. M. Co. owns 700 acres of gravel land along the banks of Galice Creek a distance of 4 miles above its emptying into Rogue River, and in width varies from 600 to 1200 feet. The banks are from 6 to 20 feet in depth from surface to bedrock. Equipments include two No. 1 giants, two No. 2 giants and a Campbell hydraulic elevator. There are over 12 miles of ditching and 1000 feet of piping. The 4-mile ditch carries 2000 inches of water to near the river, where the elevator is set. By extending the ditch from the north fork to the south fork another elevator can be put in and the season lengthened. There is a sawmill plant in connection with the property. The company is composed chiefly of Portland men. A. B. Cousins is manager and E. F. Terry superintendent, at the mines.
Galice, Oct. 11.At the Hammersley quartz mine in Jumpoff Joe district, between Jacques Creek and Brass Nail Gulch, near Grants Pass, the 5-stamp mill is ready for operation. F. H. Osgood is operator.
Transportation of ore from the Queen of Bronze and Lyttle copper mines, which, with the Cowboy, are supplying ore for the Takilma smelter at Takilma, is to be solved by building a cable tram. Survey has proved the grade sufficient to operate a tram by gravity, says manager C. Tutt. More bins are also being built at the smelter, both for ore and coke. Teams are hauling coke from Grants Pass to the plant, as it is desired that a supply will be on hand when the rains make heavy hauling impossible.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 15, 1904, pages 264-265
Mining in Oregon.The lower Rogue River Valley of Oregon may be taken as that portion of it lying between the mouth of Mule Creek and the Pacific Ocean; here the river passes between high mountains through what is more a canyon or gorge than a valley, to within 10 miles of its mouth, where it widens a little and presents more the appearance of a valley, with some ranch land. This lower valley lies entirely in the county of Curry, in the state of Oregon, and is about 60 miles long; the country is too mountainous, and taxpayers too few, to support a county road, and the entire distance, with the exception of 5 miles at the mouth of the river, must be passed over by means of a very poor and dangerous trail; this necessitates the packing of all machinery and supplies on muleback, except at certain times of the year when boats can be worked up the river. The river is swift and deep, with numerous rapids and stretches of "white water," but is navigable for canoes under an experienced hand for about 40 miles, except at lowest water in the fall.
Written for the Mining and Scientific Press by H. B. Keading.
Deer, grouse, salmon and trout abound; the mountains are covered with dense growths of red, yellow and white fir, some yellow pine, white cedar and sugar pine, and a little spruce. The undergrowth is dense and, in places, impenetrable; the ground is moist, and covered with ferns the year around, and water is abundant, every ravine running with plenty of good water.
Evidences of copper deposits are to be found, but, as yet nothing permanent has been discovered. Thirty miles from the mouth of the Rogue River the Illinois River empties into the Rogue, and in the country drained by the Illinois are to be found several superficial deposits of carbonate of copper ores, and also some metallic copper. This region is also crossed by the contact between the slates and granitic rocks, with occasional intrusive dikes of rhyolite, and in places on this contact true gossan occurs in deposits of considerable size, but no work has been done on these deeper than 50 feet, and at that depth no copper was found.
Several small, and occasionally rich, seams of gold-bearing quartz have been opened on the Rogue River, which are found to occur in the granitic rocks, no veins having yet been discovered on the slate-granite contact. As yet none of these quartz veins have been shown, on development, to have permanency. On the headwaters of Mule Creek some local people have been following a promising vein, and encountered some very good ore, and they are starting to install a 5-stamp mill, but on endeavoring to cut the ledge at a depth of 200 feet they failed to find it, and it now seems probable that it was merely a lens of ore in the granite.
Just above what is called Big Bend are what are known as the "Mule Mountain" mines, owned by Portland men, and now under the management of E. B. Burns. These comprise twenty or more claims, and on one of the claims there was a small lens of high-grade ore, which was extracted and shipped, but the lens was small and the supply soon exhausted. This company, however, is pushing development work, in the hope of finding something, and has a 3-stamp mill strewn along the river in various stages of transportation from the mouth, and hope to have the same in operation by next fall.
These two properties are the only ones in this region that have had any work done on them, and as far as the outlook at present is concerned, there is evidently nothing to be expected from these small seams in the granitic rocks; but should veins be discovered on the slate-granite contact they should prove more permanent.
The region, however, abounds in deposits of auriferous gravels. From Mule Creek to the mouth of the Rogue River is a succession of gravel bars, and portions of the old channel that show up well. Several of these have been worked by hand with rocker and sluice, and have yielded well; one was worked by hydraulic some time ago, and gave a good yield in bullion, although inexperienced management caused so much needless expenditure that the net profit was small. One mile below the Big Bend is the claim known as the Gold Bar mine, owned by parties living in Southern Oregon. These people have been at work for six or seven months ditching and fluming, and hope to begin operations this fall; they are the only ones operating at the present time.
Between the Big Bend and Mule Creek is what is known as Paradise Bar, and on this is located the Royal Flush mine; this comprises about 110 acres of the old channel, and while no work has been done on the claim except the cutting of two ditches, the outer rim appears to be intact, and this mine is as promising as any in the region. On all of these bars the gold is fairly coarse--"cucumber seed gold"--and while naturally the bulk of the mineral is on the bedrock, colors can always be found in the top dirt. The volume and considerable fall of the Rogue River, as well as the abundant water available in the creeks, timber, etc., make this region one in which hydraulic mining can be carried on under most favorable conditions.
All the ocean beaches, from Bandon to Crescent City, are rich in gold, platinum and iridosmine, which is present with the black sand; many of these beaches are being worked in winter with sluice, and pay well, despite the fact that much of the precious metal is lost by crude methods. There is little water to be had for beach mining and extensive operations would necessitate a pumping plant taking the water from the surf.
Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 22, 1904, page 271
Douglas County.At Bohemia, the 10-stamp mill of the Vesuvius mine has been put in operation. Ore is being broken in the stopes.
Josephine County.The Southern Oregon M. & Dev. Co., composed of Portland men, is shaping its placer mine of Jumpoff Joe district, near Grants Pass, for running this winter. The ditches have been cleaned and the flumes repaired, new piping laid and the whole property overhauled. The water supply will operate one giant night and day. The ground is an old channel, with banks from 5 to 20 feet deep, carrying values in coarse gold.
F. J. Catterlin et al. of Portland are making progress in development of the Bone of Contention mine of Williams district, near Grants Pass. Over 700 feet of development work is done and a body of ore is uncovered for the mill.
The group of seven claims owned by the Almeda M. Co. of Portland is on Rogue River, 25 miles west of Grants Pass and about 3 miles below Galice Creek post office. The ledge, 200 feet in width, strikes through the mountain nearly north and south, in slate formation, with diorite on the west. Rogue River, cutting through, exposes the entire width of the ledge. Covering the mineralized rook or ore body is an iron capping 40 feet in thickness. The lower tunnel which is developing the property is about 50 feet above Rogue River. This tunnel is in 275 feet and several crosscuts have been made which show the ledge 30 to 40 feet--all payable ore. The upper tunnel crosses the ledge 300 feet above and shows 30 feet of ore. The ore in lower tunnel assays from 1% to 8% copper and $2 to $10 in gold, while the upper tunnel ore gives values of $7 per ton. South of this property the company owns two claims in a different formation and having low-grade ore. There are 160 feet of tunnel work; the lowest point is at 150 feet below the surface. The company intends building a road from the mine to Leland station, on Southern Pacific, a distance of 11 miles, with about 5% grade to overcome. The company proposes building a 200-ton smelting plant, which will be installed this winter. There are fifteen men at present on payroll of the Almeda mine. Headquarters are at Portland; O. M. Crouch, president; R. C. Kinney, secretary; J. F. Wickham (at the mine), manager.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 22, 1904, pages 282-283
Douglas County.It is reported that the Oregon Securities Co. will start to operate its 30-stamp mill at Bohemia by Nov. 10th. Sufficient water is in sight to continue work. Development is progressing.
Jackson County.A cinnabar mine has been opened on Palmer Creek by J. H. Ray of Medford and A. McKee of Upper Applegate. A retort will be put up in the spring.
Josephine County.Grants Pass reports say thirty tons of machinery have arrived and is being set up at the power dam of the Golden Drift M. Co., near Grants Pass. Four turbines have been put in and connections of shafts, pulleys and wheels are being made. Centrifugal pumps of five-step type will be put in. The Golden Drift Co. is preparing its placer diggings in the red clay hills above the dam for increased work this winter.
W. Kramer of Myrtle Creek, owner of the Kramer & Palmer mine, on Whiskey Creek, near Mount Reuben, says he will put a stamp mill on the property. It is free-milling ore. Development work is being done on the Benton mine, owned by J. C. Lewis of Portland.
Grants Pass reports say the Wilson & Meredith hydraulic mines of the Illinois River district have been leased for the winter by A. K. Anderson. The property includes 200 acres of ground on both sides of the Illinois River, but operations are confined to a bar of forty acres. A 7-mile ditch supplies water, four giants and a grizzly being operated. The sluices are provided with undercurrents for catching the black sand and saving the platinum values.
Samples of high-grade cinnabar are reported taken out of a quicksilver prospect on Pickett Creek, north of Grants Pass, by J. M. Farmer. The ledge is said to be a contact between walls of shale and porphyry.
The Lucky Queen quartz mine at Leland is putting up a quartz mill.
The Maid of the Mist mine on Thompson Creek, owned by B. Thurston of Applegate and White & Armstrong of Grants Pass, has developed ore by tunnel driving. They will put in a mill and increase operations. They will start with a 3-stamp mill.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 29, 1904, page 299
The Granite Hill Mines of Southern Oregon.The Granite Hill mines of the American Gold Fields Company of Chicago, Ill., are on Louse Creek, Siskiyou Mountains, 8 miles from Grants Pass, Oregon. Deep sinking and the reduction of ores by improved and up-to-date machinery are rapidly changing the status of affairs in mining in Oregon; gold quartz mines are in demand and mining engineers are investigating for capitalists.
[FROM A STAFF CORRESPONDENT.]
The development of the Granite Hill mine was desultory and unsatisfactory and with frequent change of ownership; but five years ago the property came under the management of C. L. Mangum, who, with a few associates, expended thousands of dollars in development, aided by a 5-stamp mill. Before and at this time three arrastras were in use. The showing made two years ago determined the company to purchase the entire property for the American Gold Fields Company of Chicago, of which W. J. Morphy is general manager.
Since that time development has been constantly pushed; systematic and modern equipment has superseded primitive methods. There are 1200 acres of mineral land in the holdings, upon which there are seven distinct veins, occurring in two formations. The contact passes through the center of the property and has an east and west strike, which is parallel to the strike of the Granite Hill vein. Nearly all of the veins thus far developed strike east and west, with the exception of the Red Jacket and High Tariff, which have a nearly north and south course. On the northeast and lying against the granite is a dike of highly mineralized diorite.
Granite Hill is an almost solid body of granite, surrounded by diorite, with true fissure veins cutting through. The main ledge, upon which are the principal workings and improvements, is from 3 to 6 feet in width, with a dip of about 30°. The ore outcrops at the surface near the mill and can be traced continuously for 1000 feet, and, at intervals, for 2 miles. In development the ore is encountered in chutes of 50 to 100 feet or more. The vertical shaft is of two compartments of equal size, giving sufficient room for the pump and air line in one and ample room for the cage in the other. In sinking the shaft the ledge was cut through at about 160 feet, and a mill run of 100 tons at this depth gave $9 gold on the plates. The ore of this chute was heavy in galena, with free-gold quartz in close proximity. At the 207 level a station was cut in the shaft and drifts run 250 feet east and 350 feet west. On the 307 level drifts are run 100 feet west and 50 feet east. On the 107 level the drifts run 200 feet east and 100 feet west. Upraises at different points in chutes of ore connect the different levels, thereby giving good ventilation. The ore treated at the mill has been mostly from development until recently, when stoping began east and west of the upraise in a chute of ore in the second level.
At a depth of 230 feet in the shaft a watercourse was cut, which necessitated driving a crosscut 20 feet north of shaft and cutting a sump to hold 10,000 gallons. Beside the No. 9 pump, which was first installed, a second No. 9 pump is in position, pumping 150,000 gallons per day, and is capable of doubling that amount. The vein of the Granite Hill is a ribbon quartz, carrying galena, iron and copper sulphides, with considerable free gold, the greater values being next to hanging wall. The average value, as determined at the mill from the combination of the ore of the Red Jacket and Granite Hill mines, is about $20 to the ton, and assays of the tailings give 90 cents to the ton.
To the south of the Granite Hill shaft, 2000 feet, are the workings of the Red Jacket property. The vein is from 18 inches to 3 feet of mixed diorite and quartz, both walls being defined. This is intersected at intervals by cross fractures which form the ore chutes. The ore is free milling, with very little sulphurets. This ore will mill five tons to the stamp daily and is mixed with that of the Granite Hill sulphuret ore. Development consists of a 350-foot tunnel, a 75-foot and a 40-foot upraise, and a winze being sunk to 100 level, a 20-H.P. boiler and a self-dumping skip. At an early date an aerial tram will be placed between the Red Jacket and the mill on the Granite Hill claim. A sawmill is cutting 6000 feet of lumber and mining timber per day. On the 1200 acres is a large amount of timber.
The headframe and skip shown in one of the illustrations on the front page was erected a few weeks ago at the Red Jacket mine and is giving excellent satisfaction. The headframe is erected at the collar of an inclined shaft and does service for both prospecting and operative work. The double-compartment shaft is heavily timbered, though only one compartment is thus far used. It is calculated that the headframe will serve all purposes to a depth of 1000 feet, and even to greater depth, when a more powerful hoisting engine is installed later.
The headframe is simple and durable. It is built of 10x10-inch squared timbers of tough yellow fir, tied with ¾-inch iron rods and bolts. The formation of the mountainside at the collar of the shaft is very firm, affording a solid foundation, the hill being graded for the purpose, dispensing with the necessity of a concrete foundation.
The two main posts of the frame, which continue above the collar of the shaft, are at the same angle as the shaft. The posts are set well apart, to give ample room for the skip dump and a wide platform for loading and unloading timbers and other materials.
The entire mechanism is operated by one man, who serves also as engineer and firemen of the hoist engine and boiler. There are two automatic, or self-dumping, arrangements, one each for ore and waste. By a signal from below, the engineer knows whether ore or waste is coming up, and, by throwing in or out the short-hinged section of the skip track on the headframe platform, the dumping point of the skip is fixed, either for the waste pile or the ore bin.
In addition to their quartz mines, the placer ground of the American Gold Fields Company embraces about 400 acres in a basin between the Granite Hill and Red Jacket workings and may be worked by hydraulic method. To make this deposit available it will be necessary to drive a bedrock tunnel along the bed of an ancient river channel a distance of 1500 feet and this will be done next year. It will tap the basin at its lowest depression and give an outlet to the debris from the hydraulic plant. Test shafts have been put down at various points.
The Greenback mine is also in Josephine County, Or., on Grave Creek. In July, 1897, two months after its location, specimen ore was found in a feeder to the main vein and an arrastra was put to work. During the following year the owners took out about $2000 per month. In the early development the main vein was opened by four levels, the lowest 175 feet below the surface. In 1898 the property was bought for W. H. Brevoort of New York and D. Moffat & E. Smith of Denver, Colo. The whole control and ownership is now vested in Mr. Brevoort. The opening to the vein at the old mill is by a 275-foot crosscut, cutting it at 500 feet on its dip. At the new mill the 9th level tunnel follows the ledge, and by upraises and winzes the several levels to the 1200 will be connected and all ore will be taken to the mill through this tunnel. Sinking is also being vigorously pushed from the 1200 level. This mine has a pay chute 700 feet long, the values being uniform and comparatively high. It is developed on the 500 and 900 levels. The ground above the 500 level has been stoped out. The quartz is mixed with filling, giving the ore a mottled appearance. The pay ore occurs in a series of lenses, usually on the hanging wall of the fissure. The distance between walls ranges from 3 to 5 feet. The ledge has an east-west strike and is in greenstone. The value of the ore as treated is $12 to the ton. There are seven veins in various stages of development besides that of the Greenback proper. The walls are from 3 to 6 feet apart, the values being principally in small stringers of high-grade ore, in connection with tellurium. The tendency of the Greenback ledge is to show richness in spots and at the same time carrying values throughout the pay chute. The 200-foot winze sunk from the mill level gives a total depth on the vein of 1100 feet, and the proportion of gold saved on the plates at this point is as great as on the ore from higher levels. The percentage of sulphurets in the ore does not exceed 1%. The equipment comprises the old mill of 10 stamps, the new mill of 30 stamps, Wilfley concentrating tables and a cyaniding plant of 1000 tons daily capacity. The mine and plant is lighted by electricity, the drilling is done by machinery and ore is blocked out for four years' steady run of the milling plant. C. W. Thompson is superintendent.
Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 5, 1904, page 309
Curry County.Work is to be increased this winter by H. E. Matlock et al. of Portland on a copper mine in Curry County, 20 miles north of Crescent City, Cal. In the early days this mine is said to have shipped copper ore to Swansea, Wales, for reduction. Ore from one of the tunnels shows native copper.
Douglas County.Pending the erection of a concentrator and a leaching plant, manager H. Banfield of the Rainbow M.,M.&S. Co., near Bohemia, has suspended underground development. Banfield says the development completed on the Rainbow is 5000 feet. This work has been concentrated on one location. Six adit levels 100 feet apart have been established and drifts extended on the Rainbow main ore chute, blocking out ore. The Rainbow has essentially a copper ore, gold values also being present. The group, consisting of nine claims, is on Drew Creek, a tributary of the South Umpqua, both of which afford water power.
Superintendent W. B. Hartley, driving a tunnel on the mine of the Star Con. Co., near Bohemia, says a strike has been made. It is intended to put a 5-stamp mill to work next spring.
Josephine County.At the Royal Group placer mines of the Royal Group M. Co., near Galice, they have driven a tunnel into the auriferous gravel deposits, and loaded 8000 pounds of powder, firing it last week. This broke and loosened up the side of the mountain. Hydraulic giants will wash the loosened material into the sluices.
Manager L. B. M. Simons of the Rand M. Co. of Bellingham, Wash., is putting in machinery at the company's mines at Galice. A boiler, engine and machinery equipment for a sawmill are included, and must be hauled over a 14-mile mountain road to the Yank mine. The company is developing the Yank quartz ledge, is operating a placer mine and is installing a sawmill to cut lumber for building and mining purposes. The Yank mine is across the river from the Almeda mine and said to be on same mammoth lode. There are five locations in quartz in the Yank properties and 500 acres of placer ground. The placers are equipped with hydraulic plant and 5 miles of ditches, taking water from Bailey Creek. C. A. Chalmers has charge of the placers.
The Layman interests on Canyon Creek, near Grants Pass, including the Clark, Lewis, Iron Clad and Golden Age claims, have been sold to the Lewis & Clark M. Co., and J. L. Layman remains as manager. The ore is said to carry sylvanite.
The Carson & Miller placers, in Oscar Creek district, near Grants Pass, have been bought by Foster & Gunnel of Grants Pass for the New York & Western M. Co. for $7500. This ground will be added to the Oscar Creek hydraulic mines and is largely to give additional water rights and more dumping ground for the Oscar Creek placers. Foster & Gunnel have also bonded the Jewell & Moore hydraulic mines, which adjoin the Carson & Miller.
The W. J. Palmer interests in the Kramer & Palmer group of quartz claims, comprising the Madrona, Golden Queen, Elwilda, Little Granite, Riverside, Oakley and Golden Rule, have been sold to W. Kramer for $30,000. The Kramer & Palmer mine is on Whiskey Creek, in Mount Reuben district, near Grants Pass. The ledge is from 2 to 4 feet in width.
Preparations are made for increased work in the placers of north Josephine County, says J. Winton of the Wolf Creek D. Co., north of Grants Pass. The company will start as soon as the rains bring sufficient water to operate the four giants. A drift run into one of the company's claims shows payable gravel above bedrock in deep ground.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 5, 1904, pages 315-316
Coos County.Marshfield reports say the flooding of the Beaver Hill mine, which was on fire for a month, was completed last week and the fire extinguished.
Douglas County.The 10-stamp mill at the Vesuvius mine, near Bohemia, was started last week, says manager Hard.
About 150 feet more of tunnel will be driven in the mine of the Judson Rock M. Co., near Bohemia, says J. B. Keefer of Portland, president of the company. The quartz struck will pay $30 per ton. The property of the Judson Rock Co. is 2 miles north of Mineral.
Jackson County.A 10-stamp mill is being put in at the Opp mine, near Jacksonville. J. F. Reddy, to whom the mine is bonded, reports progress in development. He reports twenty men at work on the Blueleaf mine, which he also controls.
Josephine County.The New Channel placer is being operated by H. P. Schoenfeld and J. E. Verdin, on south side of Rogue River, 5 miles above Galice. It comprises 120 acres of places ground. The gold is said to be coarse particles. The mine is equipped with hydraulic plant, with No. 2 giant and 1000 feet of 10-inch pipe. A ditch 4½ miles in length has been completed. A 400-foot cable is stretched across Rogue River, fitted with cars for transportation of freight and passengers.
The Oro Fino mine has hauled the 50-ton cyanide plant from Merlin to the mine, 11 miles, and it is being set up. The mine, under superintendent Chase, has been opened and ore blocked out.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 12, 1904, pages 332-333
Douglas County.The Mayflower M. Co. is increasing development work on its properties near Bohemia. W. P. Ely of Kelso, Wash., is part owner. The company has been opening up ores of promising values and intends to put up a stamp mill.
Jackson County.The Oregon Belle mine being developed by the New York & Western M. Co. under supervision of H. Foster, near Jacksonville, is working fifteen men at the mine and is cutting wood for the steam plant. He has put in a 40-H.P. boiler and an eight-ton compressor and two drills. Two tunnels are being driven and ledges opened up. It is free-milling ore handled in a Huntington mill. Foster says the company will put in a 10-stamp mill next spring.
The Gold Hill & Bohemia G.M. Co. reports success in development of its Red Oak group of quartz claims near Gold Hill. There are five claims in the group. The first work to be done is driving a tunnel from the gulch, which will tap the ledge at depth of 350 feet. The Gold Hill & Bohemia expects to have the Oak group sufficiently developed by next summer to put in a mill.… The Millionaire mine of Gold Hill district, in which Portland men are interested, reports good showing with development. The company intends to have tho Millionaire opened up and developed by next spring so as to put in a 10-stamp mill.
Josephine County.It is reported the 10-stamp mill of the Eureka mine, near Grants Pass, which has been idle, will resume this week. Development has been increased.
The Champlin gold dredger on Foots Creek, near Grants Pass, is operating steadily with thirty men.
J. C. Lewis & Co. of Portland have bought the Benton mine, on Mount Reuben, near Grants Pass. Superintendent Jones will be retained in that capacity. A 1300-foot tunnel has been driven on the vein, and there are also several hundred feet of other workings. A 40-stamp mill will be put in next spring.
Grants Pass reports say the Gold Bug mine, of Mount Reuben, is held by option by McQueen & Burkhardt, of Portland. They have 25 men at work. New ore bodies are being opened, drifts and tunnels driven, and the old ones retimbered. Ore supply is blocked out, and the 5-stamp mill is in operation. The Gold Bug ledge is a contact vein, and carries values in free gold and concentrates.
Among the larger Southern Oregon hydraulic mines overhauled and repaired the past summer is the Sturgis of Forest Creek, near Grants Pass, sold to Los Angeles, Cal., mining men, L. A. Vance president. The main ditch has been widened from 3 to 5 feet and the headworks strengthened to increase the capacity of the reservoir. Another giant has been set, making a battery of three No. 3 monitors. The large boulders will be handled by a steam-power derrick. The mine is electric lighted, says manager Olmstead.
Progress is reported by the Bradshaw M. Co. in its development of the Blue Ledge copper mine of the Upper Applegate district, south of Grants Pass. Three tunnels are being driven on the vein. The Bradshaw Co. is also putting in a compressor and machine drills.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 19, 1904, page 349
Douglas County.Since the recent rains the Oregon Securities Co., operating in Bohemia, has water to run its electric plant to full capacity. More men have been added and the main tunnel is being driven ahead at rate of 6 to 10 feet per day and by Dec. 15 it is expected to reach the Champion vein, which has been opened on surface. The company has its mill and tram completed.… On the Riverside group during the past few weeks men have been putting in a flume from above the tunnel on Horse Heaven Creek to run the blower to force air to the breast of the tunnel, which is in 700 feet. The contractors will begin work on contract for 500 feet more.… The contractors on the Oregon-Colorado report progress. Work will be continued during the winter.
At the Vesuvius mine, near Bohemia, manager F. J. Hard reports the 10-stamp mill and the 2000-foot tram are working satisfactorily.
J. C. Lewis has bought nine claims on both sides of Rogue River at mouth of Whiskey Creek, near Glendale. They form the Royal Rogue group, and carry copper, nickel and gold.
Josephine County.The Mount Pitt M. Co., whose mines are on Jumpoff Joe Creek, 12 miles above Merlin, has completed two arrastras. The tubs are 12 feet in diameter and the power is furnished by a 50-foot overshot wheel, says superintendent Hoofer. He ran a crosscut, striking the vein at a depth of 60 feet, and cutting 8 feet of ore which carries free gold. The arrastras will handle four tons of ore in ten hours.… The Golden Wedge, on Rogue River, in Galice district, laid up for two months this fall, is equipped with a 2-stamp mill and has again started up, says superintendent Miller. The ore is high grade. A crosscut is being run, which will tap the vein 150 feet below the main tunnel and 80 feet below the present workings. The ledge is 4 feet in width.
Grants Pass reports say the owners of the Sterling placer mine, on Sterling Creek, V. Cook of Portland, manager, have shaped the hydraulic for increased operations this winter. The Sterling M. Co. is owner of the Sterling mine, with H. E. Ankeny, superintendent. A battery of four giants has been set. There is water enough to operate at least two giants day and night. The gravel banks of the Sterling are cemented, requiring blasting. The company has prepared to do the blasting from tunnels or drifts driven into the banks. The powder will be set in these and fired by an electric battery.
Near Grants Pass the 10-stamp mill of the Eureka mine of Soldier Creek, which has been idle while the mine has been undergoing overhauling and more extensive development, will be started again this week. The Eureka is owned by California men, and is under the management of A. P. Nelson.
Work for the winter's run has begun by the Galice Con. at Galice. Manager A. Cousin says he has started four giants of the battery of five. Two are being operated on Gambler's Bar, on the Rogue, below Galice, and the other two are at work on the high benches along the creek. Later two more will be put in operation.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 26, 1904, page 367
Douglas County.W. Cochran, working mines in Bohemia, says with O. G. Gilbertson he has been opening up City Creek bodies of both oxidized and sulphide ores. They expect to build a mill next season.
Jackson County.The Millionaire mine, 2 miles south of Gold Hill, was sold last week to W. R. McKeene of Terre Haute, Ind., for $40,000 cash.
Josephine County.M. Armstrong, with T. Reid of Medford, owning a placer mine on Taylor Creek, near Grants Pass, report they will start piping this week. Their equipment consists of a No. 2 giant, but another No. 2 will be put in this winter. Work will be started this week to put in another ditch of a mile in length, which will give a larger quantity of water and higher head than the present ditch, which is also a mile in length.
H. E. Booth of Pickett Creek, near Grants Pass, owning the Gold Standard group of six claims, says he is developing ledges of gold and copper-bearing rock, the copper assaying up to 13% and the gold ore $6. The copper is in a ledge 12 feet in width, and development work consists of 200 feet of tunnel and a 50-foot shaft. The gold is in a porphyry dike. The rock is decomposed, giving ore that is free milling. The group is on Pickett Creek which would afford water for power and other purposes, and is miles from the railroad at Merlin, with a wagon road of easy grade.
The placer season was opened in Southern Oregon last week by the beginning of operations on Galice Creek, near Galice. The Galice Con. has four giants at work in its diggings, and manager J. Harvey will begin operations in the Royal group next week. The Almeda and Rand mining companies are working men in quartz mining development. The new wagon road makes the district easier of access from Merlin.
Near Grants Pass the forty-ton cyanide plant, rolls, rock crusher, engine, boiler and other machinery for the Oro Fino have been set up at the mine on Jumpoff Joe. The Oro Fino is owned by Portland men. S. Chase is superintendent. The property is over the divide from the Granite Hill.
A. E. Dodson and J. Bumgardner on Oscar Creek, near Grants Pass, are opening up two claims, one a placer, the other quartz. The placer claim embraces the creek channel and the earth to be handled is from 1 to 12 feet deep, with a layer of gravel on bedrock that prospects well. Dodson & Bumgardner will put in a ditch 500 feet in length, which will give them a pressure of 60 feet to operate a hose in piping the earth through the sluices. The quartz claims are near the placer.
C. L. Mangum of Grants Pass owns in Silver Creek district the Old Glory group of quartz claims. He says the ore will be tested by cyanide and amalgamation. It is expected a mill will be built and the mine further developed.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 3, 1904, page 382
Douglas County.The Osgood placers on Illinois River, near Glendale, will be worked this winter with three giants, which are now being placed in condition. F. H. Osgood of Seattle is owner.
At the Hall mine, 10 miles from Myrtle Creek, owned by James and John Hall and J. Rice, the ore is being hoisted 75 feet to the surface by a whim, but the increasing output will necessitate the erection of heavier machinery to handle it.
Josephine County.At the Millionaire mine, Gold Hill district, machinery will be placed to facilitate development and, if the ore body warrants, a stamp mill will be placed next spring. M. Ward of Portland is manager.
J. F. Reddy and P. Clark of Spokane propose the installation of a 40-stamp mill before long at the Opp mine, near Jacksonville. Ten stamps are now dropping.
The Rogue River Courier gives the following list of producing quartz mines in Southern Oregon: Greenback mine, Grave Creek district--Two mills, one of ten, one of thirty stamps; 100-ton cyanide plant, output $40,000 monthly; C. W. Thompson, superintendent, Greenback. Gold Bug mine, Mt. Reuben district--Five-stamp mill, 30-ton cyanide; supposed production, $5000 monthly; R. Jones, superintendent, Glendale. Ajax mine, Mt. Reuben--Three-stamp mill; superintendent's address, Glendale. Kremer & Palmer mine, Mt. Reuben--Ten-stamp Parker mill; W. Kremer, superintendent, Myrtle Creek. Granite Hill mine, Louse Creek district--Ten-stamp mill; ten more will be added by July; L. Y. Wickersham, superintendent, Grants Pass. Gopher mine, Jumpoff Joe district--Five-stamp mill and equipment; superintendent, Dean, Grants Pass. Baby mine, Jumpoff Joe district--Undergoing development; 2-stamp mill operated; C. C. Higgins, superintendent, Grants Pass. Vulcan mine, Grave Creek district--Five-stamp mill and concentrators; superintendent's address, Placer. Yellow Horn mine, Grave Creek--Uses Vulcan's mill; superintendent's address, Placer. Eureka mine, Soldier Creek district--Ten-stamp mill and splendid equipment of boilers, engines, hoists and compressor; H. C. Nelson, superintendent, Grants Pass. Rising Star mine, Williams district--Five-stamp mill and plant; superintendent's address, Williams. Bone of Contention mine, Williams district-- Eight-stamp mill; manager, F. J. Catterline, Grants Pass. Mountain Lion mine, Williams district--Five-stamp mill; C. E. Harmon, Grants Pass. Braden mine, Gold Hill district--Ten-stamp mill and plant; more stamps to be added soon; R. C. Ray, Tolo. Bill Nye mine, Gold Hill district-- Five-stamp mill and plant; Bill Nye M. Co., Gold Hill. Golden Wedge mine, Galice district--Three-stamp mill; cyanide plant and other equipment to be added; Thien Bros., Golden Wedge, Galice. Harth & Ryan mine, Wards Creek district--superintendent, H. Harth, Grants Pass. Golden Standard mine, Gold Hill district--Five-stamp mill; Kubli Bros., Jacksonville. Hammersley mine, Jumpoff Joe district--Five-stamp mill, concentrator; F. H. Osgood, Grants Pass. Ida mine, Louse Creek district--Two-stamp mill; L. Y. Wickersham, Grants Pass. Comstock mines, Baldy district--J. M. Layman, Grants Pass. Mule mine, Rogue River district--Five-stamp mill; superintendent's address, Gold Beach. Oregon Belle mine, Forest Creek district--Four-stamp mill; Foster & Gunnell, New York & Western M. Co., Grants Pass. Oro Fino, Jumpoff Joe district--Forty-ton cyanide, with Sturtevant rolls, ore crushers: manager, S. Chase, Grants Pass. Opp mine, Jacksonville district--Ten-stamp mill, concentrators; manager, J. F. Reddy, Medford. Takilma Smelter, Waldo district--One hundred-ton copper smelting plant, Takilma Smelting Co., Colorado Springs, Colo.; manager, C. Tutt.
A rich strike has been made at the old Free and Easy mine, on the Illinois River, near Kerby. The property was recently purchased by the Siskiyou M. & Dev. Co. of Grants Pass, who are planning to install a cyanide plant.
The center of interest in platinum mining in the United States has shifted from Shasta and Trinity counties, Cal., to Southern Oregon, where, in the neighborhood of Grants Pass and Kerby, considerable platinum and iridosmium are found in the placer gold. In collecting this material another heavy mineral has proved commercially profitable--that is, the natural alloy of iron and nickel called josephinite, which is found associated with the platinum and gold. The quantity of pure platinum contained in the platinum sand, obtained in 1903, amounted to 110 ounces of refined metal, worth $2080.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 10, 1904, page 401
Derrick for Handling Placer Boulders.The derrick is becoming a fixed feature in the equipment of many Southern Oregon and Northern California placer mines, at least, in those diggings where huge boulders are encountered. The most disagreeable, annoying and expensive part of placer mining, in some channels, is "bucking" boulders. They are too large to be juggled by the giant, and even though moved in this way will later cause trouble by choking the sluice. The old way was to turn aside the giant, drill a hole in the big stone, put in a stick of dynamite, and the explosion did the rest. But this was an expensive method.
Written by Dennis H. Stovall.
A derrick, similar in construction to those used in stone quarries, is found to solve the problem completely. The main mast, which is made of tough, yellow fir, is from 35 to 50 feet high and is fitted by a revolving pin to a steel plate at the base. It is guyed by cables which are easily adjusted, and the whole affair can be quickly moved to accommodate the placer operations. The jib, or boom, is fitted with a joint at the foot of the mast, with block and pulley at the end, and the whole can be lifted and swung around when the load is raised. Loads of four or five tons are easily handled by the crane platform of this derrick.
Donkey engines are used in some diggings to supply power, but the most economical method is to use a water motor when the supply and pressure are adequate enough to permit. The motor is sometimes attached by a fire hose to the main pipeline.
Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 17, 1904, page 406 Click on the link for a photo of such a derrick.
J. F. Wickham, manager of the Almeda mine, is building a wagon road from Leland station, on the Southern Pacific, to the mine, which will be the main road to Galice. Merlin has been the point at which travel and traffic for Galice were diverted from the railroad, but to reach the Alameda property by that route required twice ferrying Rogue River, which at some seasons of the year is difficult and always consumes some time. Grades on the old roadway are heavy. The new road will have a maximum grade of 3%, will be 6 miles nearer to the railroad than by the present road, and will avoid crossing the river.
R. Sinden is operating a small quartz mill at his mine on Kane Creek, near Grants Pass. H. W. Reynolds has the Henry Wines placer mine, on Jumpoff Joe, adjoining the Cook & Howland mine, in order and ready for piping as soon as there is water in the creek. He will operate two giants, No. 2 to work on the bank and No. 1 to handle the tailings.
A new strike in copper has been made in the Butcher Knife, of the Josephine County mountains, in Deer Creek district. Seventeen claims have been taken up, some of which are already under development. The Improved Minerals Smelter Co. of British Columbia agrees to install a smelter on the ledge as soon as required. The owners of several adjoining claims are considering signing a contract with the smelter company for the installation of a plant.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 17, 1904, page 415
Douglas County.The Umpqua Coal Co. is opening up two coal veins at Elkton and propose a gravity tram line l½ mile from the mine to the Umpqua River. R. W. Fenn is secretary.
Josephine County.Dr. Ray of Gold Ray plans to put a dredger on the McDonough placer, near Tolo, which T. Kahler is working. Pumps and pipeline will be needed to force water 2 miles. Electric power will be used.
Power drills are to be put in at the Blue Ledge copper mine, on the divide between Elliott and Joe creeks. Surveys have been made for an electric transmission line and for a 27-mile railroad from Joes Bar to Jacksonville. C. W. Gedder is superintendent.
At Waldo the Waldo S.&M. Co. is prospecting its copper claims with a power drill under the management of M. Draper.… C. W. Thompson and Wm. Breevoort of Greenback will place a 10-stamp mill on the Scenic mine, on Coyote Divide. The wagon road from Wolf Creek to Greenback has been completed over the Coyote Divide.… The Golden Drift M. Co. at Dry Diggings has put in four turbines, generating 3000 H.P., and will operate four giants on its placers, water being carried 1 mile by a new pipeline from its power dam on Rogue River.… F. W. Lillegram is managing the Eagle mine, near Gold Hill.… A. C. Hoofer, manager of the Mount Pitt Hydraulic & Quartz M. Co., operating at Jumpoff Joe, near Grants Pass, intends to put in a 10-stamp mill.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 24, 1904, page 430
At the Golden Spike claim on Wagner Creek, near Talent, the main tunnel is in 670 feet and 180 feet of shaft has been sunk to connect with the tunnel.… J. T. Pierce & Co. of Gold Hill have bonded land on Kane Creek and are prospecting with two drills, intending to put in a dredger.… The Lois mine on Briggs Creek, operated by the Lois M. Co. of Portland, N. M. Bain manager, has 270 feet of tunneling and is milling with an arrastra, run by a water turbine wheel. Development work will be continued all winter and next summer; if the ledge continues to show up good a large mill will be erected.
The Crescent M.&M. Co., owning eighty acres of land on the Applegate, near Murphy, are developing their ledge and may put in a 10-stamp mill. C. Richton, secretary and manager, is at the mine. A. A. Pompe of Vancouver, Wash., is president.… The Maid of the Mist, on Thompson Creek, owned bv H. M. White of Portland and B. Thurston of Applegate, has 180 feet of development work.
The Strong ledge on Applegate, near Murphy, has been bought by the Michigan M.&M. Co., C. D. Peters, president, and R. L. Sowers, secretary and treasurer, at Charlotte, Mich. W. T. Perry of Portland is vice president and manager. The 100-foot shaft will be sunk another 100 feet and drifts will be run at the 50-foot level and 100-foot levels. If sufficient water can be had from the mine, the mill will be placed at the mine, otherwise on the banks of the Applegate River, ½ mile from the mine, and the ore transported by a gravity tram.
The metal occurring as black, irregular nuggets which has been found in the placers of western Josephine County has been identified by the chemists of the United States Geological Survey as a natural alloy of nickel and iron, containing 23.36% iron and 60.47% nickel, from which is deduced the chemical formula Fe5N15. It differs from meteoric iron in containing no phosphorus. The nuggets range in size from that of a grain of sand to a goose egg. They are found particularly along the serpentine belt of western and southern Josephine County. This is the only district in the world where the strange alloy is known to exist. It has been called josephinite.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 31, 1904, page 446
C. B. Hanson, superintendent of the Opp mill, Jacksonville, says that the new 10-stamp mill is working satisfactorily. The amalgamators are F. Hale and J. H. Erskine.… J. W. Opp of Jacksonville, J. F. Reddy and F. T. Perry are owners, and are contemplating putting in ten more stamps. Electric motors, with current from Gold Ray station, run the crusher, the stamps and the amalgamators.… The 10-stamp mill at the Lucky Queen on Jumpoff Joe, C. D. Crane of Grants Pass, manager, will be in operation in February. A turbine wheel, with water from Jumpoff Joe Creek, having a 30-foot head, will run the mill during the winter months. The mine will be lighted by electricity.… At Fiddlers Gulch J. H. Wittrock of Grants Pass is working the Pinal mine with an arrastra run by a 17-foot overshot wheel.… Piping has begun at the Booth & Dysert placer on Jumpoff Joe with three giants. J. Dysert is superintendent. H. W. Miller and C. T. Davidson of Jacksonville have leased the Howland & Cook placer mine on Forest Creek. J. Davies has leased the Spaulding placer mine on Forest Creek and will operate it this winter.… E. H. Perkins of Wolf Creek, H. A. Perkins and A. C. Spence have leased for three years the Marshall placer mine on Coyote Creek from W. Paine of Waldo. At the Gold Flat, reached from Reuben's siding, 3 miles of ditch is completed and 2 miles to finish. Operations will be commenced by end of January. Mr. Henley of Virginia City, Nev., is superintendent, A. W. Shearer, foreman.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 7, 1905, page 15
Jackson County.(Special Correspondence).--The Golden Spike on Wagner Creek is one of the Shorty-Hope group of claims owned by the Shorty-Hope M.&M. Co. of Ashland. G. S. Sanford, 130 East Terrace, Chattanooga, Tenn., is interested. The main drift is in 700 feet and the shaft is being sunk through an 8-foot vein of good ore.
Ashland, Jan. 9.
Josephine County.The Golden Drift M. Co. is putting in a 5-step centrifugal Jackson pump at its newly completed dam at Gold Ray, on the Rogue River, 3 miles above Grants Pass. Four 400-H.P. turbines have been placed for power and pipes have been laid from the dam to the Dry Diggings. The pump is designed to furnish 9000 gallons per minute under a 300-foot head to hydraulic giants at the placer mines. The company is now operating near the river with one 3-inch giant with water from Jones Creek under 500-foot head. This being insufficient throughout the year, it is hoped to work with water pumped from the Rogue River by power developed by the river. F. Ray of New York is interested.… H. E. Foster of Grants Pass is superintendent at the Oregon Belle mine in the Forest Creek district.… W. H. Brevort of New York and R. N. Bishop, engineer of the Greenback mine, have formed the Martha M. Co. to work the Scenic, Yellow Dog, Scorpion and St. Peter's claims at Greenback. It is reported that they will put in a 10-stamp mill on the Scenic, which R. N. Bishop is developing at Greenback.
The Blue Ledge Copper Co., working on tributaries of the Upper Applegate, intend to put in a compressor plant in the spring and to push development work on their copper chutes.… It is reported that a railroad will be built from Grants Pass to Takilma. T. W. M. Draper of Grants Pass is interested.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 14, 1905, page 30
The Greenback Gold M. Co. and the Martha Gold M. Co., operated under one management, have added to the Greenback claims the Scenic, Vulcan, Scorpion, Yellow Dog and St. Peters, and will develop them under the superintendence of R. N. Bishop at Greenback and W. Brevort. The Vulcan has a 5-stamp mill, and the Yellow Dog a 3-stamp. A 10-stamp mill will be put on the Scenic. Ore from the St. Peters will be brought by gravity tram to the 40-stamp Greenback mill.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 21, 1905, page 46
The Siskiyou M.&D. Co. has been formed at Ashland to develop and operate placer and quartz mines in Placer County, Oregon [sic], and Siskiyou County, Cal., by T. J. Nolton, Wm. Hulen, A. H. Findley, J. W. Potter.
"Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 28, 1905, page 62
C. D. Smith is working the White & Benson placer mine on Humbug Creek, 2 miles above Applegate.… The Sucker Creek M. Co. are prospecting on Sucker Creek, 10 miles above Illinois River, near Grants Pass. The method is to sink shafts to the bedrock, the creek bottom being cross-sectioned at regular intervals. Should the prospecting prove satisfactory the company will put in a dredging plant, but will use a steam shovel rather than a bucket dredger. P. Rowe is president, W. H. Townsend vice president and H. Warner secretary and treasurer, all of Seattle, Wash.; W. Symmes of San Francisco, Cal., is the manager. The work at the mine is under the supervision of H. Warner and W. H. Townsend.… On the Coast Range divide, 16 miles west of Kerby, H. J. Isaacs of Grants Pass and H. Mills, D. Mortiny and G. Howard of Placer have found a promising copper-gold vein.
A rich strike of free-milling ore has been made on the 300-foot level of the Granite Hill mine. The ledge at this point has a width of from 5 to 7 feet. The vein dips about 65°, and is close and compact with well-defined walls. W. J. Morphy is manager, L. Y. Wickersham, superintendent. The new turbine, developing 100 H.P., is installed. The power from the turbine is transmitted by dynamo and motor. The big pump has been moved from the 237-foot level to the 300, and a smaller pump is set in the old station. The three pumps installed obviate all danger of flooding, as they have a combined capacity of 22,000 gallons an hour. The present battery of ten stamps will be doubled.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 4, 1905, page 78
The Continental mine, on South Myrtle Creek, is running with a full crew. Superintendent W. B. Stewart reports that as soon as the season is advanced ore will be shipped to San Francisco. He also expects that machinery will be put in to reduce the low-grade ore early this year.
"Douglas County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 11, 1905, page 94
Manager A. B. Cousin and superintendent E. F. Terry of the Galice Con. placer mines, near Galice, state that the bedrock flume being built by the company to work the bed of Galice Creek from the Rogue River Bar is progressing rapidly, and that four giants are in steady commission. They intend to install the Campbell tubular elevator on Gambler's Bar, at the mouth of Rogue River, as soon as the spring freshet of the Rogue is past. As the bedrock of this bar is but a [few] feet above the river, it has never been deemed amenable to hydraulic methods. By means of the elevator this will be overcome and the Galice management will wash the entire bar, which embraces about sixty acres of promising placer ground. The high line ditch will be extended so as to reach the ground with a pressure of 300 feet to handle 1500 to 2000 cubic yards of gravel a day for seven or eight months of the year.
The Mt. Pitt M.&M. Co. are treating high-grade ore from the Climax mine in the upper Jumpoff Joe district in two tub arrastras run by water power. A. C. Hoofer has charge.… The Harmon-Green placer at Galice is being worked by T. K. Anderson.… F. V. Metts and O. L. Leigh have driven 900 feet of tunnel to drain the Silver Creek basin preparatory to mining the rich detrital deposit.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 18, 1905, page 111
Douglas County.C. C. Mathews, superintendent of the Oregon Securities Co., in the Bohemia district, reports that driving on the Champion vein is progressing rapidly, and that the ore encountered continues to improve. The mill was started, but the ice formed on the concentrates and it was closed down until the weather moderates.
Josephine County.The Grants Pass Miners' Association intends to oil the 45 miles of wagon road between Grants Pass and the Waldo copper mines. Under existing conditions the road is impassable to loaded wagons during the winter months, and, as a result, the smelter cannot be operated except in summer, when the hauling in of coke can be done on a scale sufficient to keep the plant running.
C. D. Crane, manager of the Lucky Queen mine at Winona, reports that the new 10-stamp mill is almost completed. It will be run by a 15-inch water wheel under a head of 31½ feet, from a ditch from Jumpoff Joe and Shorthorn creeks. It is intended to have the mill running by March 1. In the mine 2000 feet of tunnels have been run, blocking out considerable ore, which will be hauled 1 mile to the mill in wagons until the aerial tramway is completed. The post office will be discontinued on February 28, being superseded by the rural mail service on February 15 on the route from Grants Pass by way of the Jumpoff Joe Valley.… It is reported that E. F. Terry will equip the Carr & Ferry placer on Silver Creek, near Grants Pass, with hydraulic machinery.… A. H. Gunnell and H. E. Foster may build a 10-stamp mill on the Oregon Belle mine, near Jacksonville. Plans and an estimate have been prepared by F. E. Willett of Grants Pass, who recently completed the mill at the Opp mine.… The Enterprise M. Co. has started work on the Homestake mine, ½ mile north of Woodville, under the superintendence of F. Trowbridge, formerly with the Elkhorn mine, near Baker City. He will put in electric power so soon as the Gold Ray and Grants Pass electric line is completed.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 25, 1905, page 125
Douglas County.At the annual election of directors and officers of the North Fairview M. Co. at Eugene, a report of conditions was rendered and plans discussed for future operations. The company has 1800 feet of tunnels, the longest one of which is in 400 feet. Good values are found at this depth, the ore being mostly free milling.
Jackson County.The new 10-stamp mill at the Lucky Queen mine in the Gold Hill district is about completed.
D. B. Grant has bought the Sweepstakes Extension claim of T. W. Hill on Wagner Creek.
The Oregon Belle mine is to have a new stamp mill to be operated with electric power.
A. C. Hoofer of the Mt. Pitt M. Co. states that he has eight men at work and are running their arrastra night and day with good results, and that on their placer mine on Bummer Gulch they have a No. 1 giant at work, operated by 400 feet of 8-inch pipe under 100-foot pressure.
The Enterprise M. Co., near Woodville, are preparing to start their mill. F. Trowbridge of Baker City is manager. This company is operating the old Homestake mine.
At Woodville the Homestake will resume. Superintendent Trowbridge thinks steam power can be dispensed with, and electric energy from the Gold Ray line taken when the line is completed en route to Grants Pass. The property is owned by the Enterprise M. Co.
The Oregon Belle property, near Jacksonville, is to have a stamp mill. Foster and Gunnell are managers.
Josephine County.The old Jewett mine on Mount Baldy, near Grants Pass, abandoned for a long period, will be opened up again and developed by underground workings, and equipped with a reduction plant, cyanide tanks, etc.
The 100-ton smelter at Takilma will start up next month. The smelter has a capacity of 120 tons daily and will be operated full blast. Men are employed in both the Queen of Bronze and Cowboy mines blocking and removing ore as a reserve supply for the smelter.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 4, 1905, page 144
Jackson County.E. D. Briggs of Ashland has a bond on the Golden Wedge, on Galice Creek, from Thien Bros. for $15,000. Considerable development has been done and a 2-stamp prospecting mill is on the group. The new owners intend doing a large amount of work on the property immediately, and expect to erect a larger mill at an early date.
Shipments of from $800 to $2000 in dust and nuggets have been made regularly every week through the Jackson County Bank at Medford from the output of the Champlin dredger on Foots Creek. The dredger has made but a slight showing as yet on the vast acreage of ground it has available on Foots Creek, and will operate winter and summer, the water of Foots Creek being sufficiently high to float the machine by the system of wing dams placed below it. At present the dredger is closed down to change power from steam to electricity, the poles and wires having been strung from the power plant of the Condor Water & Power Co. at Gold Ray.
Josephine County.The Bybee quartz mine on Rogue River, 5 miles below Galice, has been purchased from Savage Bros. by E. Cassidy of Bellingham, Wash. The old workings will be reopened.
Superintendent R. N. Bishop of the Greenback M. Co. and Martha M. Co. says the recent find at the Greenback was made on the 500, 700 and 900-foot levels, and at the point now reached by the drifts the ledge shows a width of 21 feet of ore carrying good values. At the Martha mine, no large ore body has been found. Development will be continued with a double shift, men and power drills until the ledge is fully explored.
The Royal group of Galice is being operated by J. R. Harvey. Two giants are working under a pressure of 510 feet. The bank has a height of about 100 feet and carries gold from the surface to the bedrock. Few boulders are met, but the ground is compact, necessitating the use of a strong pressure behind the giants. Considerable powder is also used to loosen the ground and facilitate working. The mine has been in operation for forty years, and as yet, in comparing the ground worked with that which remains, only a beginning has been made. Since the mine has been operating under the present management, it has been improved in its equipment. The ditches have been enlarged and the pipe renewed with strength sufficient to withstand the whole pressure of 500 feet.
The Michigan M.&M. Co. is developing properties on Applegate River, south of Grants Pass. Buildings, shops, quarters and a mill are under construction. Power will be supplied by a 100-H.P. boiler and engine. Separators, vanners and a steam hoist, capable of developing the mine to a depth of 2000 feet, will be a part of the equipment. The work is done under the superintendence of W. T. Perry. The big Royal hydraulic mines of Galice are being worked with 2 giants under 510-foot pressure. J. Harvey is manager. The banks on the Rocky Gulch channel, where operations are under way on the Royal group this season, are 100 feet high and carry good values all the way down. Dumpage is over a sheer bank, 200 feet into Rogue River.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 11, 1905, page 159
Douglas County.G. W. Lloyd, president of the Crystal Con. Co., near Bohemia, says the Crystal Co. has enough water for the summer. The new milling plant will be started this spring.
It is expected that the wagon road will be finished this spring from Oakland to the Bohemia district.… W. W. Shane has charge of development work on the Pittsburg group at Bohemia.… The Frisco Con. Co. of Bohemia is trying to save zinc and lead values occurring with the gold in their ores. Concentrators will probably be used.
Jackson County.The 50-foot shaft of the Nellie Wright, near Gold Hill, is to be sunk another 100 feet and new machinery put in by manager Wetherell.
Josephine County.The Brantner placer mine, owned by Mansfield Bros. of Grants Pass, is shut down for this season, owing to the continued shortage of water. This mine is on the west side of Applegate River, 3 miles above Applegate post office, and water is had from Keeler and Chapman creeks.
A gold find has been made in Gold Ridge camp, the new district on Sucker Creek above Holland, southern Josephine County. A number of the claims have been operated, the richness of the quartz showing good returns by the crude light mill, mortar or sluice method. On the White Swan a 1-stamp mill has been improvised. Near the White Swan, the Koepp claim is being worked with good profit by hand. A 20-foot shaft on the Little Gem claim uncovers a 4-foot ledge of good quartz. J. Barnett will develop it.
Mining at Eureka is contingent on the success of navigation of Snake River, at least until there is improved transportation to the district, says the Oregon Journal. Senator W. B. Heyburn's success in having an appropriation of $25,000 made to improve the river between Lewiston and Eureka will result in clearing the channel over the worst rapids. Nothing definite has been received in the upper camp as to the time when Major Langfitt will be able to get the Wallowa dredge at this work. At the Eureka property fire partly destroyed the electric machinery. The management took the power drills out of the tunnel and put in single-jack shifts. The power plant will be rebuilt and new machine drills put in.… J. A. Hillicker, manager of the Western Union property, near Eureka, is building a road to the group and may put in a development plant this season.
At Grants Pass on March 20, B. Savage of the Almeda mine defeated Waters of Sumpter in a drilling contest of fifteen minutes straightaway, 29 15/16 inches against 26 inches. Savage on Saturday drilled 36 19/32 inches in fifteen minutes, but Waters did not drill on account of the rock splitting, and a return match was ordered to be drilled. Lockwood of Almeda turned for Savage and Seligo of the Granite Hill mine for Waters.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 25, 1905, page 194
Jackson County.The showing made by recent retorts of ores from the cinnabar mines of the Meadows quicksilver district, near Trail, has caused a revival of interests in the mining of mercury in this section. Eighty pounds of mercury to the ton is produced by the properties of the Rogue River Quicksilver M. Co. The ore reduces easily and is uniform in value. This mine has produced considerable quicksilver in recent years, but its development has been slow. A small plant is placed for development purposes mainly. The retort has a capacity of 1400 pounds of ore per day. The mine is opened to a depth of 200 feet.
A new camp called Gold Ridge is attracting attention. It is on the north slope of the Siskiyou, on upper Sucker Creek, at an elevation of 3000 feet. H. Siskron made the first discoveries.… In the Canyon Creek district, near Medford, manager Layman of the Lewis & Clark M. Co. is running an 1100-foot tunnel to tap the main ore body. He will put in an air compressor and machine drills this season, and plans to cyanide the ore.… One of the few Southern Oregon hydraulic mines that has been supplied with water for continual operation this season is the Sterling near Medford, the property of L. Ankeny and N. Cook of Portland. F. E. Ankeny of Jacksonville is superintendent. It is believed that the output of the Sterling for the present season, despite the absence of rain, will be $30,000.
Josephine County.Manager C. R. Ray of the Condor Water & Power Co. at Gold Ray says that the 2000-H.P. plant is to be increased to 3200 H.P. The dam across Rogue River raises the stream until its entire volume is given a drop of 22 feet.
S. Chase, owner of the Oro Fino mine on Jumpoff Joe Creek, near Grants Pass, reports that he will build a 50-ton cyanide plant at the mine this season.
The Rand Mining Co. has just completed a large reservoir, to store water for the company's placers, near Galice, which have been in operation since November. With the new reservoir they will have water to supply the giants until June.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 1, 1905, page 210
The Scenic mine at Greenback has been purchased by W. H. Brevort and will be known as the Martha mine.… T. J. Mackin and A. J. Bennett have formed the Leland M. Co. to raise money to put a mill on the Golden King quartz mine, 3 miles from Greenback.… It is reported that F. Clemens will start the Yellow Horn mill, near Placer.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 8, 1905, page 226
Jackson County.D. B. Grant, who is developing the discovery near Panther Butte, 4 miles southwest of Ashland, reports that the tunnel is in 150 feet on the ledge.
Josephine County.Manager J. F. Hopkins of the Calumet & Oregon M. Co., near Kerby, will commence work on the crosscut tunnel that is to open the vein system at the junction of the Illinois River and Rancheria Creek.
T. F. Hopkins has started work for the Calumet & Oregon M. Co. on the Golden Eagle group, 11 miles from Selma, on the Illinois River.… B. Healy of San Francisco, Cal., owner of the Jewett mine, on Mt. Baldy, 4 miles southeast of Grants Pass, is expected to put in a cyanide plant at the mine. J. S. Hoar has charge at the mine.
D. L. Smith of the Rand M. Co., operating on Rogue River, at Galice, reports that the main drift is in 600 feet.
F. Clemens intends to open the Yellow Horn 3-stamp mill near Leland.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 15, 1905, page 244
P. B. Wickersham and J. E. Loomis have a lease on a placer below Galice and are working it steadily.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 22, 1905, page 259
Jackson County.The Blue Jay mine and 10-stamp quartz mill, near Coles, has been sold to Los Angeles parties, who will operate it.… Five stamps are crushing eight tons of ore daily at the Homestake mine, in Evans Creek district, near Woodville, and five more will be added to the mill. An air compressor is to be put in. F. Trowbridge has charge.… Foster & Gunnell of Grants Pass, operating the Oregon Belle mine, near Jacksonville, will place a 10-stamp quartz mill on the property to replace the small Huntington mill.
A $3700 gold brick is result of a recent run at the Sturgis mine, of Forest Creek, 6 miles from Medford. The Sturgis is worked by L. A. Vance and associates of Los Angeles. W. E. Olmstead has charge.
Josephine County.(Special Correspondence).--Manager J. R. Harvey is cleaning up at the Royal diggings, after the first half of the season's run. Only one giant was used.… Supplies have been hauled to the Golden Eagle. Twelve miners will work during the summer months.
Galice, April 24.Superintendent L. B. Wickersham has returned to the Granite Hill mine, in Louse Creek district, near Grants Pass. Five machine drills are in the workings of the Granite Hill and one is being run in Red Jacket. The mill's ten stamps are dropping constantly.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 29, 1905, page 276
The longest electric power wire for Oregon is that to be strung from the power plant of the Condor Water & Power Co. at Gold Ray to the Greenback and Martha mines on Grave Creek. The distance from Gold Ray to Greenback is 45 miles. It is reported that arrangements have been made between the Condor Co. and the Greenback and Martha mining companies to supply all necessary power for the operation of these mines by electricity.… The placer season has been unusually short, owing to the light rain and snowfall, and already the streams are as low as they usually are in midsummer. The season has been a profitable one, and the amount of dust taken out will not fall far short of the average. The Galice Con. has done and is doing much preparatory work, and by the time the water comes again will be in shape for a big run.… At Silver Creek the season has been good. The Metz & Leigh tunnel is in 900 feet, and at the 100-foot [sic] mark an upraise will be put through to the surface. This company has a trail from Galice Creek 16 miles, and is preparing to build a wagon road from that point to its mines.
S. Chase, owning the Oro Fino, in the Joe Creek district, near Grants Pass, has been arranging to complete installation of his milling and cyanide plant this spring and commence treating ore. The plant consists of a Sturtevant breaker and one set of rolls combined, and leaching vats.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 6, 1905, page 291
The Homestake mine, ¾ mile west of Woodville, is shut down after a short run with the 5-stamp mill. It is stated that five stamps are to be added and that electric power is to be used.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 13, 1905, page 309
Douglas County.Director of the Geological Survey C. D. Walcott has informed the mine owners of the South Myrtle Creek district that the samples of black sand sent to him from their properties contain platinum in paying quantities. A. M. Armitage, who is superintending the Yellow Jewel work on South Myrtle Creek, sent the first samples.
Jackson County.The Sterling mine has been sold by H. E. Ankeny and V. Cook to P. J. Blakely and the Sterling Mine Co. J. D. Heard will be manager.
Josephine County.It is reported that the Takilma smelter is to be blown in on June 1, or as soon as the roads dry up sufficiently. The smelter has a capacity of five tons of matte per day. The Improved S.&M. Co. of Portland has completed plans for a 50-ton custom smelter in Grants Pass. J. V. Snowgoose is manager.… J. MacCann of Medford has a bond on W. Feheley's property on Upper Sucker Creek.
Superintendent W. I. Fleck of the Lewis & Clarke property, near Grants Pass, intends to put in a small compressor, to be run by water power.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 20, 1905, page 327
Douglas County.The Crystal Consolidated Co. at Bohemia is putting its mill into condition for active operations.… Work is progressing on the Oregon-Colorado at Bohemia.
The Continental G.M. Co., with headquarters at Portland, and operating the Continental mine at Nugget, 12 miles from Myrtle Creek, will let the contract for a mill with a capacity of fifty tons daily on June 1. W. B. Stewart is manager.
Jackson County.The Sterling placer mine, 9 miles south of Jacksonville, has been sold by H. E. Ankeny of Eugene and V. Cook of Portland to a company in which F. F. Blakeley of Portland is interested. J. D. Heard will have charge of work.
Josephine County.The drift on the main vein of the Martha, near Wolf Creek, has been driven 900 feet under the direction of manager Bishop of the Greenback Co.… A. Howland, superintendent of the Mt. Pitt mine, near Grants Pass, where a double-tub arrastra is operating, states that the management intends putting up a stamp mill this year. A. C. Hoofer is manager.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 27, 1905, page 343
Jackson County.J. H. Leggett and Co. of Oroville, Cal., are prospecting ground near Willow Springs, 9 miles from Medford, preparatory to putting in a dredger. Other companies are prospecting and bonding land in the same district.
Josephine County.In the Sucker Creek district the Gold Pick claim, located last year by F. Fowler, has been purchased by Matthews & Hull for $6000. The ledge outcrops on a steep hillside and into this two tunnels have been driven, tapping the vein to a depth of 120 feet.… The Briggs claims in the same district, sold last year for $110,000, are being developed by the Gold Bar M. Co. of Chicago.… The Sucker Creek district is on the boundary between California and Oregon and is reached by a wagon road 40 miles from Grants Pass to Holland and from Holland 20 miles by trail.… A. H. Mead of Grants Pass and C. C. Case of Cottage Grove are said to be opening up good ore in the Black Oak mine in the Jones Creek district, 3 miles east of Grants Pass.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 3, 1905, page 362
CALIFORNIA MEN BONDING PLACERSOregon Journal, Portland, June 3, 1905, page 12
Oroville Dredging Companies Are Seeking Promising Fields in this State.
THREE IMPORTANT DEALS RECENTLY CONSUMMATED
Prospects for Heavy Dredge Operations in Southern Sections Are Assuring.
(Special Dispatch to the Journal.)
Medford, Or., June 3.--Liggett & Co. of Oroville, California, recently bonded about 1,000 acres of the best mining ground in the neighborhood of Willow Springs, nine miles from Medford, and have received a carload of drills and prospecting machinery to test the ground and will soon have a complete plant installed. The soil in that territory has the advantage of having a light surface and but little hardpan or cement gravel to contend with, which ensures economical working and good dividends.
The district in which the company will work is largely composed of granite surface soil, in which much coarse gold is found. Many of the best specimens show a good deal of adhering quartz, proving conclusively that the gold was washed from ledges exposed on the hillsides above.
Galls Creek, Foots Creek, both branches of Jackson Creek, Poormans Creek, Forest Creek and all head in the range of hills west of Jacksonville and the Willow Springs belt, and most of the creeks named really have their sources within a short distance of the mountain in which is found what is now pronounced the mother lode of the range, the Holman ledge, more generally known as the Opp mine. For the last half century it has been common talk among local miners that this range of hills contained enough gold to pay the national debt if an economical method of working placers and quartz could be found. Dredging appears to be the solution of the problem so far as the placers are concerned.
Another Oroville company, Andrus & Coates, has recently bonded a large amount of land in the district lying over the hill from Medford, in the Applegate section, and also in the district along Bear Creek, between Medford and Ashland, for the purpose of putting in a dredger.
Still another company is preparing to operate in the Jackson Creek territory, below Jacksonville, in the great deposits of tailings from the old placer mines which have made Jacksonville famous from pioneer days to the present.
C. H. Shively of Oroville has been in Medford for several days closing options on the territory which the latter company intends to dredge, and has succeeded in securing the amount of land he wished to cover. Mr. Shively is a resident of San Francisco, but until recently lived at Oroville, and is one of the directors of the First National Bank of Oroville.
The territory about Oroville has been pretty thoroughly exploited in the dredging line and there are 32 dredgers in operation in the vicinity of the city, and all have proved profitable. The various companies preparing to remove to the Rogue River Valley to operate are thoroughly experienced as to the requirements of the business of dredging and know that the situation will justify the investment of large capital in the enterprise.
Several experiments in dredging have already been made in this section, with varying degrees of success, but recent changes in power conditions and the advanced knowledge of the methods most effective have determined capitalists to embark heavily in fields in which success is assured before the plant is even established. The fact that the electrical company is ready to equip dredging plants with cheap power, which is always ready for use, has doubtless been an incentive to immediate action, but the determined efforts of the believers in the mining future of Southern Oregon have also been deserving of much of the credit for recent transactions and deals.
Jackson County.The Lucky Bart mill, on Sardine Creek, started its stamps on ore taken from the Corporal G mine. This property is owned and being developed by J. R. McKay of Gold Hill.
L. B. Chase and S. M. Rhodes of Ashland, developing a vein on Cantrall Gulch, 2 miles west of Jacksonville, have made a shipment of smelting ore.
Josephine County.The Rogue River M.,S.&P. Co. has been formed with D. C. Westlake of Grants Pass as president and W. E. Williams of Wilmington, Ohio, as secretary. C. N. Jones of Portland will have charge of the building of the proposed smelter near Grants Pass, and W. I. Fleck of Grants Pass will be consulting engineer. A Corliss will be superintendent and will have charge of the work on the smelter building and the dam. C. L. Proebstel will be assayer and chemist for the smelter. The site for the smelter has been selected at Savage Rapids, on Rogue River, 5 miles east of Grants Pass. The company proposes to put in a dam in Rogue River and supply water and power for irrigation purposes. The dam is being built with the slag from the smelter.… The Rogue River M.&L. Co., under the management of L. W. Smith, are prospecting their gravel deposits on the left fork of Foots Creek, near Grants Pass, by drifts being driven through the channel showing a deposit to have a depth of not less than 30 feet.… While waiting for their electric machinery the Champlin Dredging Co. on Foots Creek are prospecting their ground on the right fork of the stream and blasting the ground ahead of where work is to be resumed. Holes are drilled to the bedrock at 50 feet apart and charged with 100 pounds of dynamite. It is estimated that each shot will loosen 3000 yards of gravel at the cost of 1½ cent per yard, and will facilitate digging when work is resumed.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 10, 1905, page 380
A 10-stamp mill is to be put in at the Michigan mine at Michigan City, 1 mile from Murphy. The mill is to be 2600 feet from Applegate Creek and 265 feet above it. The shaft has been sunk 120 feet and a drift run 70 feet from that level. Sinking is to be resumed for another 100 feet.… J. C. Mattison, manager of the Copper Eagle M. Co., on Peavine Mountain, west of Galice, states that the tunnel is in 300 feet. If the ore holds its high values shipments will be made to the Tacoma smelter. The wagon road from Leland now reaches within 3 miles of the mine, and the work of extending it to the mine will be begun this month.… The Mount Reuben Mining Association will begin operations in the Mount Reuben district, near Grants Pass.… A. F. Hoofer plans to put in a 5-stamp mill at the Mount Pitt mine on Jumpoff Joe Creek, near Grants Pass. A. Howland has charge of work in the mine.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 17, 1905, page 398
Jackson Connty.The Yellow Jacket mine, on Forest Creek, near Jacksonville, is being worked by H. A. Mears and W. F. Shaffer, who have shipped a carload of ore to the Tacoma smelter.
Josephine County.The American Gold Fields Co., W. J. Morphy president and manager, intends to add ten stamps to the mill at the Granite Hill mine, near Grants Pass, making twenty in all. L. Y. Wickersham is superintendent at the mine.
Deposits of variegated marble in the Cheney Creek district, 11 miles from Grants Pass, have been sold by H. K. Hanna and Bull Bros. to J. E. Chappell, A. Baker and J. Atkinson, all of Goldendale, Wash., and J. E. Verdin and B. T. Bull of Grants Pass.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 24, 1905, page 413
Manager A. F. Hoofer of the Mt. Pitt mine on Jumpoff Joe, near Grants Pass, plans to haul ore to the smelter being built near Grants Pass, using a traction engine and a stationary engine and cable for the grade from Jumpoff Joe to Evans Creek divide. H. B. Nye of Medford has leased the Bertha quartz mine, on Foots Creek, near Gold Hill, from Young & Meyer.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 1, 1905, page 15
Early work at the Takilma smelter has been to the satisfaction of manager Walters.… At Wolf Creek the Martha mine, owned by the Greenback Co., work for which is being done on the Coyote side of the Coyote-Grave Creek divide, has been equipped with a compressor, by means of which manager R. N. Bishop is driving adit levels on the vein. The lower drift is in 1300 feet.
W. E. Williams, manager Buckeye M. Co., reports ore carrying gold, copper and nickel in the Buckeye mine, near Grants Pass.
O. A. Halladay is visiting the stamp mills of Grants Pass with a view of selecting the kind of a mill they will put at the Michigan mine. They intend to put in a 10-stamp mill.
Considerable dredger prospecting is being done near Grants Pass. Several years ago a dredger was built on the China Diggings, near Waldo, and run for a short time, but became involved in litigation and has since been idle. While in operation it was said to be a success.… A Seattle company has been on Sucker Creek, in the south end of Josephine County, for over a year prospecting a tract, and has gone over the ground for 4 miles. The work has been done by a series of open cuts or holes; a pump was used to keep water out while the men are at work. This company insists that drills do not give so fair a test of the ground as hand work. Recently a larger engine and pump were installed to continue prospecting.… T. W. M. Draper has had a drill at work for some time near Waldo, and is testing the gravel at the Reames & Wimer mine also.… J. T. Layton has bonded his placer mine on Farris Gulch to an Oroville, Cal., dredging company for $60,000. There are 400 acres of red gravel running up the creek, which is from 10 to 30 feet deep. The mine is operated with water from Williams Creek by means of two ditches, 13 and 22 miles, respectively, in length. It is also equipped with a large reservoir. This mine has been operated for the past thirty years and has been a heavy producer. The gold runs from $16 to $17 an ounce. The company has also secured a bond on the land of E. N. Provolt for $10,000, and the farm of L. C. Hyde has been bonded for $4000.… On Evans Creek, near Wimer, an Eastern company has secured a bond on several hundred acres of land and proposes to install a dredger. J. W. Boileau of Pittsburgh and I. F. Peirsel of Brownsville, Penn., have inspected the property.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 8, 1905, page 34
Douglas County.The Continental G.M. Co. of Portland have made arrangements to put in a mill at the Continental mine on South Myrtle Creek. The lower tunnel is in 800 feet on the vein. Manager W. B. Stewart has charge.
On the Yellow Jewell, near Nugget, superintendent Armitage has been sinking from the tunnel level.
Jackson County.The Bliss mine, 3 miles south of Gold Hill, is being developed by the Bill Nye M. Co., who are driving a tunnel to tap the vein and also sinking a double-compartment shaft. Manager Andrus and treasurer F. C. Bellamy are at the mine.
Josephine County.The Overland M. Co. at Cable Cove is working a full force in good ore on the 250-foot level. The company has decided to place reduction machinery at the mine this summer. Secretary J. Fortin of Minneapolis is at the mine.
The Argo M. Co. has just finished a 5-stamp mill at its mine on the Galice Creek, near Grants Pass. For the present it is only run on a day shift, but in a short time a night shift will be put on. The mill is operated by water power from Snake Creek.… The Van Dorn copper property, at the mouth of Big Pickett Creek, on Rogue River, near Grants Pass, has been bonded by the Golden M. Co.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 15, 1905, page 50
Douglas County.At a meeting of the Bohemia Mine Owners' Association steps were taken to interest smelter men in Bohemia camp. One mining man stated that in case interested parties put up a smelter he would sign a contract to deliver fifty tons of ore per day. With this amount of ore from one man, it is considered an assured fact that a smelter would pay if once put in operation. Men who are now doing nothing with their properties would proceed to active development. A new wagon road is surveyed into Bohemia and work will be commenced soon. The road extends from Glenwood, on the county road, to Shane's Saddle, and will open up a very productive part of Bohemia. The road is not over 8% grade in any place, and is 2½ miles long.… It is reported that the Combination mine, on Martin Creek, owned by Sheridan & Co., will be reopened soon. This property consists of seven claims in the southern part of the district, and some very rich ore has been taken out. The ore is base and a smelting proposition.… The Great Eastern property, on China, Bear and Sailors Gulch creeks, consists of nineteen claims and shows bodies of high-grade smelting ore. This mine, from its No. 1 group on China Creek, could ship twenty tons of ore to the smelter per day. A wagon road up Martin Creek, a distance of 3 miles, would put this property on a shipping basis, as there are large ore reserves.… The Star Con. property is 4 miles up Martin Creek. A 5-stamp mill is on the property, but is not running. The ore goes into a sulphide as depth is gained, and it is said to be a good cyaniding proposition.… The Twin Rocks property of eleven claims, 3 miles south of Bohemia, is owned by Illinois and Oregon men. Lewis Hartley is in charge.… Manager F. J. Hard has started the 10-stamp mill of the Vesuvius mine at Bohemia. The plant was thoroughly overhauled before the stamps began to drop, and the aerial tram was retensioned after the winter's idleness, so that the mechanical plant is in shape for best results.
Jackson County.The granite quarry on Griffin Creek, 4 miles east of Jacksonville, owned by E. P. Geary of Portland, has been leased by S. and W. B. Penniston of Ashland, who will open it and begin quarrying rock. The granite is light, mottled with gray, and takes a high polish.… J. M. McPhee, one of the new owners of the Alice property, near Gold Hill, is arranging for heavier work. The Alice is on Galice Creek, near the Foots Creek district.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 22, 1905, page 67
Douglas County.The Bohemia correspondent to the Telegram reports that on the Hiawatha claims, on the west slope of Fairview Mountain, 450 feet of work has been done, and the management has again commenced operations for the summer. A 5-foot ledge is exposed. The property is owned by the Hiawatha M. Co. David Finn has charge. Much work will be done, and it is the intention of the management to put up a mill.… The Gold Hill & Bohemia M. Co. owns the Wall Street, adjoining the Vesuvius and Musick mines. Over 600 feet of work has been done, exposing three veins.… The Judson Rock nine claims, on the western slope of Fairview Mountain, are making a good showing as development proceeds. Over 1000 feet of work has been done on this property.… The Syndicate group, owned by C. E. Lockwood and E. Jenks, adjoins the Noonday and Helena No. 1. There are seven claims in the group, and the development consists of four tunnels, several crosscuts and surface openings.… The Phoenix group of three claims contains a good ledge. E. Jenks is the owner, and the property is on Horse Heaven Creek, south of the Riverside group.… J. B. Morgan owns two claims below the Riverside. He has a ledge 12 feet wide.… The Mineral King claims, owned by A. W. Zinicker, on Horse Heaven Creek, is below the Riverside.… The Mayflower claims, on Horse Heaven Creek, is owned by the Mayflower M. Co., W. P. Ely being the principal stockholder. This property is opened up by tunnels.… J. M. Peterson and J. Klucky, owning the Golden Star group, have over 400 feet of work done.… The Sweepstake eight claims, on the west slope of Fairview Mountain, S. J. Brund owner, is opened by a 250-foot crosscut and 200 feet of drifting on the lead.… The Three Monte group, on the slope of Fairview Mountain, is the property of A. Churchill, who has 250 feet of work done on the three claims.… The Knott property is developed by a 250-foot shaft.… G. Bohlman of Cottage Grove owns three claims on the west slope of Fairview Mountain.… F. Mackentire is developing the Clay property.… J. B. King, on the White Iron and Black Bear claims, is driving a crosscut.… The Pittsburgh claims, owned by W. H. Shane and F. Flesher, contains 800 feet of tunnel, the longest tunnel being 200 feet.
Jackson County.At the Oregon Belle mine, in the Forest Creek district, the crusher, stamps and concentrators are in place in the new mill and the plant will be in readiness for operation by Aug. 1.… At the Golden Standard property, near Jacksonville, P. S. Casey has men working. It is likely that a mill will be put in this fall or winter.
Josephine County.The Grouse Mountain mine, on Mt. Baldy, 2 miles from Grants Pass, has been sold to L. P. Larson and C. Jasper of Spokane, Wash. Development is under the management of A. L. Smith.… The Horace Greeley mine, owned by E. E. Blalock and H. H. Howe of Golden, has been bonded to the Greenback M.&M. Co. for $15,000.
As a result of the returns on ore shipped from its Pickett Creek property, the Oregon Timber, Mining & Development Co. has put in a mill and reduction plant near Grants Pass.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 29, 1905, page 83
Considerable work is being done in the Mule Creek district, near Marial P.O. Mendenhall & Co. of Gold Hill will put in a 3-stamp mill at the Mendenhall mine, on the west fork of Mule Creek, 2½ miles from Rogue River. T. Billings has charge.… A. E. Frye, F. Frye and E. A. Ruth have sold their gravel mine on Rogue River, 3 miles below Mule Creek, to Eastern parties, who will put in two hydraulic giants to be supplied with water from East Creek by a 26-inch pipe, 1¼ miles long.… At Big Bend a company of Minneapolis and St. Paul capitalists have bought 230 acres of placer ground and have had men preparing for a hydraulic plant. The water will be brought 4 miles, from Foster Creek. The stream will be 1½ foot deep and 4 feet wide, and the water will go to two No. 4 giants under a head of 300 feet.… H. J. Mattoon has been working the Mark placer at the mouth of Mule Creek.… Manager Frank Fowler, of the Gold Pick mine, on Bolen Creek, near Grants Pass, is putting in a 3-stamp mill and water wheel. A ditch, ¾ mile long, has been completed that will bring 250 inches of water from East Bolen Creek and deliver it to the wheel under a head of 225 feet. This will furnish power for a large mill and, Bolen Creek being fed from the mountains, the water supply will continue during the summer months. Lumber for the mill was hauled from near Selma to Sucker Creek and packed in over the trail.… A. W. Gilbert and C. E. Platts are developing copper claims on Bolen Creek.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 5, 1905, page 99
Douglas County.Manager W. B. Stewart of the Continental M. Co. at Nugget has shipped a third carload of ore to the Tacoma smelter. The winze being sunk from the 500-foot level is down 75 feet. A 50-ton concentrating plant is to be put up.
Josephine County.Manager C. R. Ray of the Condor Co. intends to resume drilling with the Keystone prospecting drill on the McDonough ranch, near Gold Hill, on which he took a bond last year.… Work on the High Line Ditch, which is being built at Gold Hill, proceeds on an increasing scale.
F. W. Blaisdell is preparing to finish his ditch from Reuben Creek to his placer mines on McNail Flat, in the Grave Creek district, near Grants Pass. The ditch will be about 8 miles in length when completed, and will have one inverted siphon.… A California company has a drill prospecting the Wimer mine, at Waldo.… T. W. M. Draper has a drilling machine at work prospecting in the Waldo section, and has recently located 2000 acres of placer ground.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 12, 1905, page 115
Jackson County.A controlling interest in the Opp mine, near Jacksonville, has been sold to Albany, N.Y., parties through Foster & Gunnell of Grants Pass, represented by R. Murphy.
Josephine County.Operation this summer at the Takilma smelter, 45 miles from Grants Pass, has been constant since the plant was blown in. The output of matte is twenty to twenty-three tons daily, the product carrying 30% copper and about $10 gold.
The Argo M. Co. of Bellingham, Wash., has started its new 5-stamp mill in the Galice district.
Because of the success of the pump at the power dam of the Golden Drift M. Co., operating hydraulic giants in the Dry Diggings, the company has begun enlarging the penstock and placing eight more turbines of 400 H.P. each. This will supply power for two more pumps the size of the one now operated, or will give water and pressure to a battery of six giants instead of two. The company is operating its giants continually.
The Greenback Co. has begun placing thirty additional stamps in its lower mill on Grave Creek, near Greenback. The addition of these thirty stamps, together with the forty already at work and other equipment that will be placed, will give the Greenback a daily capacity of 200 tons.
The Oregon Belle's new 10-stamp mill has been started.… A 5-stamp mill has just been placed on the Rogue River mine of Merlin district and a 5-stamp mill and equipment is being put up at the Gold Pick mine of Sucker Creek, having been hauled by wagon to Holland.
Consolidation of the Almeda and Rand mining properties on lower Rogue River at Galice has been perfected, the new company to be known as the Almeda Consolidated Mines Co. There is 1300 feet of work on the Almeda. Arrangements have been made to put up a smelter of 100 tons capacity. O. M. Crouch, formerly president of the Almeda Co., has been named president of the consolidated company, J. F. Wickham vice president and manager, R. C. Kinney secretary and treasurer and L. B. N. Simonds financial superintendent.… The Homestake mine, near Woodville, is to be opened up. There is a 5-stamp mill at the mine, run by a gasoline engine, which is being replaced by electric motors for power from the Condor Water & Power Co. The concrete foundation for the transformer and two dynamos have been put in, and it is expected to have the transformers and motors in place within the next two weeks. Water for milling has been secured from a gulch near the mine, but in dry seasons this supply fails, and to overcome this difficulty a pump will be put in to take the water from Rogue River, a distance of 1600 feet.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 19, 1905, page 131
A. B. Cousins, manager of the Galice Con. M. Co., operating on lower Rogue River, near Galice, states that his bedrock flume has been completed for 1800 feet from the Rogue River, with prospects of finishing dead work early this season. Washing gravel will begin a short distance beyond the present head of this work. They are cutting the flume down to 3 feet in bedrock and maintaining the width of 6 feet.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 26, 1905, page 147
The mill of the Oregon Securities Co., at Bohemia, has been shut down since August 1 on account of lack of water. Prior to the mill closing the stamps were treating between fifty and sixty tons a day. The management expects to start the mill on October 1, and keep it in continuous operation.
"Douglas County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 2, 1905, page 166
Douglas County.The Oregon Securities Co., at Bohemia, has completed arrangements for building an aerial tram from near the summit of the ridge between City Creek and Champion basin to the Musick mine. This plan of equipment was decided on by superintendent Archer when he took charge of the property, instead of continuing the crosscut through the ridge, and then building a surface tram from the City Creek portal to the Musick. Under the new arrangement ore mined at the Musick will be loaded on the aerial tram, transported about 3000 feet and will be delivered into a bin over an upraise made from the lower Champion tunnel level, which will discharge by gravity into a receiving bin 500 feet beneath. From this bin ore will be loaded into the cars operated by the surface tram, drawn 1000 feet through the crosscut tunnel and then 3600 feet down the incline to the 30-stamp mill. Champion ores which are being mined on the crosscut level will be loaded direct into the cars that are moved by the surface tram. The crosscut, which has been driven 1000 feet into the mountain, is 10x10 feet in the clear, has room for a double track and will accommodate the large electric motor put in by the company for traction work on this level. At the Oregon Securities mill twenty stamps have been dropping this summer on Champion ore.… A rich placer strike is reported on Twelve-Mile Creek, in the western part of this county. This new placer find is said not only to comprise the creek bed, but also its banks and even the high ground bordering thereon. This new discovery is in the Salmon Mountain, Johnson Creek and Sixes mining belt in the Coast Range Mountains.… At the last meeting of the Bohemia Mine Owners' Association, F. J. Hard, A. Y. Churchill and Frank McIntyre were chosen a committee to investigate the possibilities of having a smelting plant built in the district.
Josephine County.A 3-stamp mill and water power plant is being put in at the Gold Pick mill on Bolen Creek, near Holland, by manager Frank Fowler.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 9, 1905, page 183
Curry County.The Chetco M. Co. has been formed, with T. H. Gillham as manager, to work seventeen claims on Chetco Creek, near Chetco, and 20 miles from tidewater.
Douglas County.The Bohemia Smelting & Railway Co. has been incorporated at Portland by A. D. LeRoy, H. Daniel, J. W. Sherman, W. G. Woodruff and J. B. Keefer. The objects are to operate mines and a smelter and to build electric lines in the Bohemia district.
Josephine County.The Oroville Dredging Co. of California has done considerable prospecting of placer and dredger ground on Applegate and Illinois rivers, near Grants Pass, under the direction of manager Hanford. As a result they have already bought the Vroman and Bird's Eye [Birdsey?] ranches.… Down Rogue River, some 45 miles from Grants Pass, the Gold Bar M. Co. is making preparations to start hydraulicking with water from Foster Creek.… Manager A. C. Hoofer of the Mt. Pitt mine, near Grants Pass, has opened the main vein in the lower crosscut, 210 feet from the portal.… The Whitehead & Willeke placer ground on Grave Creek, near Leland, is to be worked by W. A. Krum and G. P. Furman.
The Hammersley mine has closed. W. H. Osgood of Seattle has a bond on the property and did considerable work under its terms before closing. The mine is located at the head of Jumpoff Joe Creek, near Grants Pass. A shaft is down over 200 feet.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 16, 1905, page 199
N. E. Emerson is getting the Dutch John placer mines ready for the winter run. The mine is on the south bank of Rogue River, between Shan and Pickett creeks, near Grants Pass. The equipment consists of two giants. The water supply is from Shan Creek and 1800 feet of pipe is used to give the head of 180 feet.
The smelter and reduction plant for Rogue River S.&M. Co. is being built in Spokane, and will soon be ready for shipment to Grants Pass. Ground has been cleared on the site, by Rogue River, 3 miles above Grants Pass. A straight line copper and gold furnace, 36x89 inches, will be put in. A dam will be built across the Rogue, by the dumping of slag from the plant. Coke can be delivered at the furnace for less than $9 a ton. One ton of coke will reduce six tons of ore, thus making the fuel charge $1.50 per ton. The company estimates that it will cost 50 cents a ton to handle the ore at the smelter. The nearest smelter is at Waldo, 45 miles from Grants Pass.… A new mill has been put in at the Gold Pick mine at Sucker Creek, near Grants Pass. Frank Fowler is manager.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 23, 1905, page 216
A rich strike in copper ore is reported from the Queen of Bronze mine, near Takilma, being developed by C. L. Tutt. The Takilma Smelting Co., from July 1 to September 1, shipped thirty-nine cars of matte and used thirty cars of coke besides lime rock.
Owners of placer mines are getting their diggings ready for piping. It has been a long, dry summer and the surface miners have had time to shape their properties for work. Ditches have been cleared and enlarged, new pipelines laid and flumes rebuilt. Two new hydraulic mines have been developed and equipped during the summer and will begin this winter. All of the old properties will operate again. The Galice Consolidated will have its bedrock flume finished. The Columbia will operate four giants instead of three, and the Royal group of Galice will have three giants at work. The Golden Drift Co., now operating two, will have its power dam enlarged and additional turbines placed so that four giants can be operated.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 30, 1905, page 233
Manager F. Fowler of the Gold Pick, near Holland, has completed packing the small stamp mill into that property. Reduction work is to be commenced soon.
The Alder Gulch M.&T. Co., of which A. Osburn is president and W. T. Perry secretary and treasurer, is working in the Oscar Creek district, near Murphy.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 7, 1905, page 250
Douglas County.The aerial tram connecting the Musick mine and 30-stamp mill, near Bohemia, has been finished. Development has been resumed in the mine.… The Bohemia
Mine Owners' Association will hold their annual meeting in November.… The Vesuvius mill at Bohemia has resumed operations after a shutdown for repairs.
Jackson County.The Maid of the Mist property, 4 miles from Applegate, is to be worked by E. M. Wright and brother of Union, Oregon, and C. Hawkins of San Francisco. They are building cabins and intend to put up a mill building soon, as there is said to be enough ore in sight to warrant construction of a small plant.
Josephine County.A good pay chute has been opened by the 525-foot tunnel at the Eureka mine, near Selma. A. F. Nelson is manager.… C. B. Kelton has started work on the Calumet main tunnel, near Selma.
Manager O. L. Tutt of the Takilma smelter says that he will have to close the smelter by November, owing to the condition of the roads. The 42-mile haul from Grants Pass becomes impossible when fall rains set in. During the winter the smelter management will rush development.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 14, 1905, page 267
A. Jeldness of Grants Pass has put men to work at the Blue Ledge copper mines at the head of Applegate River. J. F. Reddy of Jacksonville is interested.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 21, 1905, page 283
The Gold Standard copper mine, 4 miles from Merlin, has been sold by H. E. Booth to Metzger & Haviland of Toledo, Ohio.… On the Silver Creek properties, near Merlin, P. E. Metz, manager of the mine, is tunneling 1500 feet to tap gravel.… At the Lucky Queen mine, 2½ miles from Merlin, a 10-stamp mill is in place ready for operation.… The Baby mine, on Jumpoff Joe, has a 5-stamp mill in operation and the Mount Pitt mine is said to be opening up a body of rich ore.
The Takilma smelter has closed for the winter on account of the condition of the roads. An air compressor is being put in and a second matting furnace is expected to be in place for next season's run. Development work will be continued all winter at the Queen of Bronze, where rich copper ore was uncovered recently. Since the people of the district are made to feel that this important industry is compelled to suspend work because of bad roads, greater interest is aroused in the work of affording the smelter every possible convenience for steady work. Assurance is given that the smelter could have run for a considerable time yet, possibly all winter, if it was closely connected with the railway. The investigations made for installing a traction engine outfit on the road proved that this was impossible, for the bridges and culverts were too weak to sustain the weight.
The Frank Sickels placer mine, at the mouth of Deer Creek, southern Josephine County, has been sold to J. C. Anderson and R. D. Morris of Los Angeles. The property consists of old channel bars as well as river bottom, the low bars being from 8 to 10 feet deep and the high bars of the old channel from 8 to 40 feet. The new owners will dig a large ditch, which will furnish abundant water for the greater portion of the year.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 28, 1905, page 300
Douglas County.Manager W. B. Stewart, of the Continental mine at Myrtle Creek, has started the new 50-ton concentrating mill.
The Magnolia 10-stamp mill, near Granite, is to be started on ore from the Snow Bird mine under the direction of L. Durkee.… Work at the Black Jack mine at Alamo is under the direction of T. J. Sheedy.
Jackson County.The New York & Western Mines Co., which recently bought the Opp mine, near Jacksonville, has begun work under the direction of Foster & Gunnell of Grants Pass. Next summer a plant capable of treating 200 tons of ore daily is expected to be placed on the Opp. A carload of ore has been shipped from the Opp to Denver for treatment and analysis, that the best method of reduction might be ascertained. A building is being put up at the mine for a 10-drill compressor, which will be driven electrically. A double-track tunnel is being driven on the mill level to tap the Opp veins at depth, and all ore for the mill will come through this.
The Layton hydraulic placer mines, near Applegate, have been sold by J. Layton to G. P. Mimms. Six giants are to be added to the battery, and the capacity increased.
Josephine County.The affairs of the Lucky Queen M. Co. of Grants Pass are being readjusted. Work will be resumed under the management of C. D. Crane. A 10-stamp mill was put in last year.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 4, 1905, page 317
At the Greenback mine at Greenback, near Grants Pass, forty stamps are dropping. The concentrates are cyanided. The main shaft is down 1400 feet. Electric power has recently been put in. W. H. Brevort of New York City is owner.… Several placer mines are being worked along upper Grave Creek, 12 or 15 miles above Grants Pass. The Blalock mine will be operated all winter, and several others will start up as soon as sufficient water can be obtained.… Preparations have been completed for work on the hydraulic ground of the Columbia Mines Co., on the east fork of Grave Creek, 1 mile from Placer. C. E. Foss is superintendent. Some hydraulicking has already been done in cleaning bedrock that was stripped last winter and in cutting down a bank of red clay to the gravel level.
Superintendent L. B. Wickersham has the additional ten stamps for the Granite Hill mill, near Grants Pass, in place, making a total of twenty stamps. The American Gold Fields management, owning the mine, announces that twenty more stamps will he placed by May of next year. The double-compartment shaft opens the Granite Hill vein to a depth of 450 feet, and levels have been established on each 100-foot level.… The Condor Co. is stringing its wires into the Granite Hill camp, and the change from steam to electricity will be made before the new year.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 18, 1905, page 351
Jackson County.The Mountain Lion mine, on Miller Creek, near Applegate, is being worked and the 5-stamp mill will be started when water becomes available. In addition to the mill the mine is well equipped for operation. Bailey Bros., C. E. Harmon and L. L. Jewell of Grants Pass are the owners.
The Shorty-Hope M.&M. Co. announces that the mill on this mine, near Ashland, will soon resume operation.
Josephine County.R. E. Gilbert, superintendent of the Euchre Creek M.&M. Co., is developing the Half Moon and Black Bear placer mines on Lower Rogue River, below Grants Pass. A ditch flume 3 miles long supplies 2500 inches to the giants under a head of from 175 to 200 feet.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 25, 1905, pages 370-371
The long delayed rains and snows have arrived in Southern Oregon, ending one of the most extended droughts ever known in this section of the state. Fears were entertained that this winter would be a repetition of last, with scant rains and slack water supply for hydraulic plants. Most of the large placer mines have increased their capacity and several new ones have been equipped.
On Grave Creek, near Leland, the Blalock, Lewis, Goff, Van Brunt, Whitehead-Moore, Vindicator, Harris Flat, Archer and Columbia are to be worked. The Lewis mine, which J. C. Lewis manages, has a 65-foot gravel bank, and uses two No. 4 giants under a head of 250 feet. Water is secured through a 4-mile ditch, with an auxiliary supply from the lower ditch of the Columbia, the next mine above, of which L. A. Lewis is manager. Superintendent C. E. Foss of the Columbia has seventeen men putting the property in order and setting the giants. In four years the Columbia has washed a mile of channel, much of the lower gravel beds having a depth of 40 and 60 feet. The plant is lighted for night work by 1000 C. P. arc lamps, deriving their energy from the Columbia's electric lighting plant.… Manager J. R. Harvey will operate three giants on the Royal group diggings near Galice. The explosion of 5000 pounds of dynamite, which has been placed at the end of a long tunnel bored under the high gravel banks, will loosen the ground so that it will wash readily. Last season 8000 pounds of No. 2 giant powder were used for this purpose.
At the Greenback mine at Greenback, electric power has been put in and the ten additional stamps finished. The forty stamps are running continuously. The 1400-foot level has been reached and the vein is holding its size and values in a way that is most encouraging to the owner, Mr. Brevort. R. N. Bishop, the general superintendent of the Greenback mill and mine, has been in New York for some time on business in connection with the mine. He is expected back the last of this week. W. R. Thomas has been succeeded by I. L. Greninger as foreman of the mine.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 2, 1905, pages 388-389
Jackson County.Manager H. Foster is adding ten stamps to the Opp mill, near Jacksonville, making a total of twenty.
Josephine County.A. C. Hoofer of the Mount Pitt mine, near Grants Pass, says that he intends to put in a three-drill compressor.… The Black Channel M. Co. has sold its placer properties on Foots Creek, near Grants Pass, to W. P. Bailey, who is getting it ready for a winter run.
The bedrock flume on the Galice Con. Mines Co.'s property has been completed from the mouth of Galice Creek to Mill Bar, which the company expect to work this winter. There are 15 acres in this bar, bedrock varying from 6 to 10 feet. Four giants are operated and twenty men employed during the working season. The ancient channel, which crosses the Galice country at an elevation of 800 feet above Rogue River, is to be worked under lease by J. R. Harvey. Water is brought 5 miles from the Galice and three giants are used.… The Rand and Almeda properties, 3 miles below Galice, on the opposite side of Rogue River, are to be consolidated.… The Black Jack group on Quartz Creek, a tributary of Galice, is being opened up by R. Jackson.
"Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 9, 1905, page 404
The placer mines near Waldo have started up. The indications are that there will be plenty of water for a long mining season.
The Booth copper mines, at Pickett Creek, which were recently bonded by Haviland & Co. of Ohio for $100,000, have been taken over by the new owners. They will develop the property by tunnel and shaft. The wagon road from Merlin, the nearest railway point to the mine, will be rebuilt and improved to allow of heavy hauling at all seasons.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 16, 1905, page 421
An additional 10-drill compressor, pump and electric transformers at the Granite Hill mine, near Grants Pass, are being placed by superintendent Wickersham. Work is being done on the 500-foot level. The twenty stamps of the mill are operated continually, and sixty men are employed.
"Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 23, 1905, page 437
Last revised April 11, 2021